View Full Version : Scotland vs Cyprus

Manxhibs
04-06-2019, 10:01 AM
£27 for a ticket! I was going to go as I’m in Edinburgh visiting family but that is obscene!

04-06-2019, 10:08 AM
£27 for a ticket! I was going to go as I’m in Edinburgh visiting family but that is obscene!

I paid 30 to be honest not sure it is that far out of kilter when you take into account normal SPFL prices and also the relative rarity of competitive international games. The main problem is that Hampden has so many poor views from seats particularly behind each goal.

04-06-2019, 10:10 AM

It’s £23 to see Hibs

04-06-2019, 10:19 AM
I paid 30 to be honest not sure it is that far out of kilter when you take into account normal SPFL prices and also the relative rarity of competitive international games. The main problem is that Hampden has so many poor views from seats particularly behind each goal.

Mine was £22 for Saturday for the west stand.

Looking forward to it.

Steven79
04-06-2019, 10:25 AM
I've got a spare going if anybody is looking for one.

North Stand right on the half way line.

04-06-2019, 11:03 AM
Nothing wrong with £27 for a ticket. Really looking forward to Saturday!

04-06-2019, 11:23 AM

Hold on to it and sell for £200 on the day :greengrin:wink:

04-06-2019, 11:25 AM
Nothing wrong with £27 for a ticket. Really looking forward to Saturday!

Should be a good day out mate.

04-06-2019, 01:43 PM
£130 for season tickets for me and my step son (£90 and £40). Great pricing this campaign.

04-06-2019, 04:25 PM
Why not charge a fiver like they did for the recent womans game? Would see a very good crowd.

Here’s Lucy!
04-06-2019, 04:28 PM
Why not charge a fiver like they did for the recent womans game? Would see a very good crowd.

All it's worth too.

04-06-2019, 04:36 PM

That was only because the attendance at that game would have been really low, so they managed to entice a record attendance with the pricing

04-06-2019, 05:18 PM

Because they have costs to cover? It’s not a charity and the SFA is already skint.

The majority of fans at the Woman’s game paid nothing. SSC members got in free as did thousands of school kids and youth football clubs. Kids tickets for Saturday are £8, that’s excellent pricing. They’ve also given out thousands of freebies to schools a clubs.

My ST works out at £22.50 per game, as I said in my earlier post, great pricing this campaign.

04-06-2019, 05:53 PM
The SFA get the dismal crowds that corrupt association deserves.

04-06-2019, 06:48 PM

.... but sadly not the crowds the new management team (that the vast majority wanted apparently) and the players deserve? I'll be there on Saturday. Cmon Scotland! :saltireflag

04-06-2019, 07:21 PM

Just like in years gone by at Hibs, I want the ‘board’ out but it doesn’t stop me supporting the team. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

tricky
04-06-2019, 09:11 PM

How much mate? Might be after one

04-06-2019, 09:15 PM

Agreed - not sure how anyone can support the SFA as they need disbanded.

Rotten to the core and a new head coach won’t change my mind.

Won’t be watching any of the national team games till they sort out the many issues they have in this country including the farce of a national stadium.

04-06-2019, 09:21 PM
Agreed - not sure how anyone can support the SFA as they need disbanded.

Rotten to the core and a new head coach won’t change my mind.

Won’t be watching any of the national team games till they sort out the many issues they have in this country including the farce of a national stadium.

They have agreed to buy the stadium to ‘sort it out’. Unfortunately they can’t afford the agreed fee or the millions to refurb it as folk won’t buy tickets. You see the problem?

04-06-2019, 09:33 PM
Edinburgh Tartan Army bus leaves at 11.00am arriving at the Clockwork Beer Co. at approximately 12.30 for a 19.45 kick off. That's what I call a day out! Looking forward to it although I will be pacing myself.....

04-06-2019, 09:36 PM
They have agreed to buy the stadium to ‘sort it out’. Unfortunately they can’t afford the agreed fee or the millions to refurb it as folk won’t buy tickets. You see the problem?

Surely that's an example of their incompetence then?

To spend months investigating an issue and eventually come up with a 'solution' that you can't pay for sounds like just the kind of thing posters on here are complaining about.

I'm pleased we've got Clarke in but unfortunately it's a plaster over a gaping wound. Might stem the bleeding for a bit but ultimately won't solve the problem.

04-06-2019, 09:48 PM
Surely that's an example of their incompetence then?

To spend months investigating an issue and eventually come up with a 'solution' that you can't pay for sounds like just the kind of thing posters on here are complaining about.

I'm pleased we've got Clarke in but unfortunately it's a plaster over a gaping wound. Might stem the bleeding for a bit but ultimately won't solve the problem.

They will come up with funds but it’s taking longer. Stay away fans are not helping. It’s not rocket science.

Sack the board, back the team. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

04-06-2019, 09:49 PM
Edinburgh Tartan Army bus leaves at 11.00am arriving at the Clockwork Beer Co. at approximately 12.30 for a 19.45 kick off. That's what I call a day out! Looking forward to it although I will be pacing myself.....

Aye we thought it was a 3pm KO when booked the busses. Ah well!

04-06-2019, 10:07 PM

Exactly - run my muppets.

Wouldn’t trust or give them any of my money.

The majority believe they are not fit for purpose / if people voted with their feet like they have been doing they then might finally get the message.

Severe lack of trust of those in charge.

04-06-2019, 10:52 PM

Presumably there will be circa 30k 'spare' tickets available?!

I didn't even know this game was on (not that I'd consider going). Why's it being played in the close season?

hibsboy07
04-06-2019, 11:57 PM

Should start shouting about sexual equality lol

05-06-2019, 07:47 AM

The majority believe they are not fit for purpose / if people voted with their feet like they have been doing they then might finally get the message.

I don’t disagree and doubt you’ll find a sing Scotland who who doesn’t want change however, just like when Hibs have had jokers in the board room, I’ll still go to every game to support the player and my country.

Incidentally, Ian Maxwell should be exempt from criticism. A proper football guy who should be given more control instead of the outdated committee set up.

05-06-2019, 07:50 AM
How many tickets have been sold?

jimbob07
05-06-2019, 08:52 AM

Murrayfield!

05-06-2019, 08:59 AM
Should start shouting about sexual equality lol

I'm all for equal pricing 😉

05-06-2019, 09:29 AM

I don’t disagree and doubt you’ll find a sing Scotland who who doesn’t want change however, just like when Hibs have had jokers in the board room, I’ll still go to every game to support the player and my country.

Incidentally, Ian Maxwell should be exempt from criticism. A proper football guy who should be given more control instead of the outdated committee set up.

05-06-2019, 10:35 AM
hope you Scotland fans enjoy the match...I have to say, despite previously following Scotland..not interested in this in the slightest.won't watch it..Kudos to those who do though - hope you get a decent performance..

05-06-2019, 11:48 AM
If the game's on a Saturday, why on earth is it being played at 7:45??????

05-06-2019, 12:12 PM
If the game's on a Saturday, why on earth is it being played at 7:45??????

A bunch of other games are on at 5pm and UEFA want to maximise potential viewers. TV comes first.

05-06-2019, 12:18 PM
Is it PATG or do you still have to be a member of that Caledonian Club thing?

05-06-2019, 12:22 PM
Is it PATG or do you still have to be a member of that Caledonian Club thing?

That Caledonian Club thing?

You can buy tickets at the SFA version of pods outside the ground.

You’ve never had to be part of the Scotland Supporters Club to buy for home games. Members are guaranteed tickets though and they cost a fiver less.

MartinfaePorty
05-06-2019, 12:23 PM
If your referring to the Scotland Supporters Club, then no, the tickets are available to the public. You will have to buy a ticket before you go to the turnstile, though.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

05-06-2019, 04:49 PM
A bunch of other games are on at 5pm and UEFA want to maximise potential viewers. TV comes first.

But surely the Scotland game could be on at 3pm.

wearethehibs
05-06-2019, 05:01 PM
This will be my first Scotland game in a long time. Looking forward to it.

05-06-2019, 05:52 PM
But surely the Scotland game could be on at 3pm.

There are games at 3, 5 and 7.45. All on the telly. Part of Platini’s ‘week of football’ pish

06-06-2019, 10:05 PM
hope you Scotland fans enjoy the match...I have to say, despite previously following Scotland..not interested in this in the slightest.won't watch it..Kudos to those who do though - hope you get a decent performance..

Thanks very much :rolleyes:

07-06-2019, 12:20 AM
There are games at 3, 5 and 7.45. All on the telly. Part of Platini’s ‘week of football’ pish

That "week of football" finished me off as a regular attender st Scotland matches.

07-06-2019, 05:43 AM
That "week of football" finished me off as a regular attender st Scotland matches.

You’re not the only one. Internationals should be Wednesday or Saturday.

08-06-2019, 04:16 PM
Has Raheem Sterling leaked the team news yet :wink:

08-06-2019, 04:24 PM
Just had a look at the list of mens games that are on at the moment. Hud me back.

08-06-2019, 04:37 PM
Looking forward to this.

Not expecting miracles and I'm probably being daftly optimistic but I think Clarke is the man to get a tune out of a very decent core group of players. Any win tonight will do but getting to know the sqaud and having them ready for the very winnable Finland game is the main aim imo.

08-06-2019, 04:39 PM
Think Scotland will win but I don't imagine it will be a classic.

Here’s Lucy!
08-06-2019, 04:40 PM
4-0 Scotland.

08-06-2019, 05:26 PM
Looking forward to this.

Not expecting miracles and I'm probably being daftly optimistic but I think Clarke is the man to get a tune out of a very decent core group of players. Any win tonight will do but getting to know the sqaud and having them ready for the very winnable Finland game is the main aim imo.

Is it confirmed that we are going to play Finland in the playoffs if neither of us qualify automatically through the groups? Not seen it announced anywhere. Would definitely take them over Serbia and Norway.

08-06-2019, 05:30 PM
Is it confirmed that we are going to play Finland in the playoffs if neither of us qualify automatically through the groups? Not seen it announced anywhere. Would definitely take them over Serbia and Norway.

I'm sure as it stands we play Finland. I did read that a while ago so it may well have changed since though soo could be wrong.

08-06-2019, 05:32 PM
Dunno why but I'm looking forward to the game tonight! Haven't been interested in the national team for years now. But looking forward to seeing us under Clarke. And McGinn, I always look forward to seeing McGinn.

08-06-2019, 05:33 PM
I'm sure as it stands we play Finland. I did read that a while ago so it may well have changed since though soo could be wrong.

Think it’s likely to be Finland and then If we beat them it’ll probably be Serbia who are in the other semi final? (Can’t mind who against, Romania maybe?)

08-06-2019, 05:34 PM
Think it’s likely to be Finland and then If we beat them it’ll probably be Serbia who are in the other semi final? (Can’t mind who against, Romania maybe?)

Would be against Norway

08-06-2019, 05:35 PM
Scotland team up now

Marshall
O’Donnell Mulgrew McKenna Robertson
McLean McGinn McGregor
Forrest Brophy Fraser

08-06-2019, 05:35 PM

So potentially Finland over 2 legs to get to a first major since 1998 ?..Or is their another game after Finland ?

MartinfaePorty
08-06-2019, 05:36 PM
1 more after that game

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

08-06-2019, 05:37 PM
Scotland team up now

Marshall
O’Donnell Mulgrew McKenna Robertson
McLean McGinn McGregor
Forrest Brophy Fraser

Not convinced by brophy or o'donnell, but I can see why they've been chosen.

08-06-2019, 05:37 PM
So potentially Finland over 2 legs to get to a first major since 1998 ?..Or is their another game after Finland ?

Final against either Serbia or Norway if we beat Finland

08-06-2019, 05:39 PM
Final against either Serbia or Norway if we beat Finland

Thought it was to good to be true ! :-(

Finland is the semi final. There would be a final after that.

I think either the semi final or final may be a one off game as well rather than a 2 leg affair but I may have just made that up.

Don't we have to win the game against the team from the other play-off match?

08-06-2019, 05:41 PM
Will the Finland game be a one off tie or will it be played over two legs? If it’s one off, I take it will be played at a neutral venue?

08-06-2019, 05:41 PM
Finland is the semi final. There would be a final after that.

I think either the semi final or final may be a one off game as well rather than a 2 leg affair but I may have just made that up.

I think they are both one off games.

08-06-2019, 05:42 PM
Is Eamon Brophy any good?

Suppose I’ll find out soon enough but can’t say he’s someone I’ve really noticed before.

08-06-2019, 05:44 PM
Is Scott Bain injured or has Clarke just decided he prefers Marshall?

Couple of big decisions in that team, glad he's made them and just hope they pay off.

08-06-2019, 05:50 PM

Couple of big decisions in that team, glad he's made them and just hope they pay off.

For some reason I just haven’t taken to Scott Bain, don’t think he’s as good as is made out. Craig Gordon a far better keeper for Celtc Imo.

Not sure what David Marshall is up to these days but happy enough to have him in instead of Bain.

08-06-2019, 05:51 PM
For some reason I just haven’t taken to Scott Bain, don’t think he’s as good as is made out. Craig Gordon a far better keeper for Celtc Imo.

Not sure what David Marshall is up to these days but happy enough to have him in instead of Bain.

I'm the same re Bain. Decent enough but not fantastic.

Sure Marshall was 1st choice for Hull last/this season.

08-06-2019, 05:52 PM

Think SC has just gone for experience in goals and at centre half

08-06-2019, 05:55 PM
Good team, no arguments with any of it.

I'm delighted Clarke's in charge.

A couple of pretty big calls too.

08-06-2019, 06:08 PM
About to leave the boozer for Hampden. C’mon Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

CorrieHibs
08-06-2019, 06:15 PM

I don’t rate Bain. Not made any high profile mistakes at Celtic, but doesn’t have much to do. I wouldn’t mind seeing Kelly given a shot, but Marshall is a good keeper.

Bain was our second choice and rightly so!

CorrieHibs
08-06-2019, 06:17 PM
Will the Finland game be a one off tie or will it be played over two legs? If it’s one off, I take it will be played at a neutral venue?

Finland won again. Could even qualify through their group.

08-06-2019, 06:17 PM
Don't rate Marshall either tbh.

08-06-2019, 06:25 PM
Finland won again. Could even qualify through their group.

That’s going to make things even more ******g confusing if they do 😂

CorrieHibs
08-06-2019, 06:26 PM
That’s going to make things even more ******g confusing if they do 😂

Tell me about 😂

08-06-2019, 06:32 PM
Come on Scotland, a good start under Clarke is required.

08-06-2019, 06:40 PM
Come on Scotland. We need to win this one.

08-06-2019, 06:44 PM
Come on Scotland, tbh I'm struggling to get excited, never really thought I'd feel so indifferent regarding the national team.

08-06-2019, 06:44 PM
Let’s go for this Scotland!

08-06-2019, 06:55 PM
One up front against Cyprus at home?

08-06-2019, 06:56 PM

It’s 3 up.

08-06-2019, 06:58 PM
It’s 3 up.

One striker.

08-06-2019, 06:58 PM

Mcginn, McGregor, forrest and Fraser only have the 70 goals/assists between them this season...

08-06-2019, 07:00 PM
One striker.

Three forwards

08-06-2019, 07:02 PM
Is Eamon Brophy any good?

Suppose I’ll find out soon enough but can’t say he’s someone I’ve really noticed before.

I'm glad Brophy got in the starting 11 ahead of McNulty. Don't want him raising his profile before he's signed for us. A goal for Brophy today please so he keeps his place for the Belgium game.

08-06-2019, 07:03 PM
Cyprus have 75% of the possession.

08-06-2019, 07:04 PM
Like Hibs in the championship, trying to unlock a 9 man defence.

08-06-2019, 07:05 PM
Belgium 1 up against Kazakhstan

Maybe after 3 mins they did? Scotland getting on the ball more now and moving it wide to run at them

Belgium 1 up against Kazakhstan

2 now

08-06-2019, 07:06 PM
This is gash.

We seem to be sitting off them and allowing them to have possession. Not much pressing at all.

I'm glad Brophy got in the starting 11 ahead of McNulty. Don't want him raising his profile before he's signed for us. A goal for Brophy today please so he keeps his place for the Belgium game.

I’m glad too but mainly because I don’t think McNulty is good enough for international football. I don’t think Brophy really is either and shows that with Griffiths out and Fletcher not being considered for whatever reason, we don’t really have a decent international quality centre forward.

Interestingly, the apparent three first choice strikers for Scotland (Griffiths, Brophy and McNulty) were all binned by Hibs as youths.

08-06-2019, 07:09 PM
This is a hard watch.

08-06-2019, 07:10 PM
Cyprus look a tough side.

08-06-2019, 07:11 PM
This is gash.

Switch over to the cricket 😉

Sioux
08-06-2019, 07:12 PM
So much for SC being the master tactical magician. Over-hyped.

We'd be better with Potter.

Switch over to the cricket 😉

He can’t... he’d need to get his wife back from the Spice Girls to phone Sky up :faf:

OxoHibby
But one striker up front against at home Cyprus. Says a lot about where Scotland are as an international side

08-06-2019, 07:14 PM
Really poor and the fans getting agitated. SJM looks like one of the few who know what they're doing. Strange to just let Cyprus control the game at Hamdump.

30 minutes into his debut and he's written off...😂😂

Nevi_SOL
Still upsets me hearing “good play by the villa midfielder” when talking about mcginn

08-06-2019, 07:15 PM
Assume there's no VAR?

But one striker up front against at home Cyprus. Says a lot about where Scotland are as an international side

Does it? How many nations play with 2 up out of interest?

What a pass that was by SJM!

08-06-2019, 07:16 PM
30 minutes into his debut and he's written off...😂😂

Should be winning 6-0 by now Harry. Clarke out, embarassing etc

It’s not been that bad, it’s early doors and a new management style to get used to.

That didn't take long. Away and do one with stupid comments like that after 21 minutes. FFS

08-06-2019, 07:18 PM

Clueless

08-06-2019, 07:18 PM
Robbo and Fraser been linking up well

08-06-2019, 07:20 PM
Love watching Ryan Fraser. "Fraser is only 2nd to Eden Hazard in having the most assists out of all the top 5 leagues in Europe"

We're very lucky to have him. All the threat looks to be going through him this first half

08-06-2019, 07:20 PM
Come on Scotland, move the ball quicker, press and up the tempo and see the difference.

08-06-2019, 07:22 PM
Some really nice football and some truly dreadful final balls in the last 10 minutes.

08-06-2019, 07:22 PM
Come on Scotland, move the ball quicker, press and up the tempo and see the difference.

Or just hoof it like McKenna did there...:rolleyes:

08-06-2019, 07:23 PM
Love watching Ryan Fraser. "Fraser is only 2nd to Eden Hazard in having the most assists out of all the top 5 leagues in Europe"

We're very lucky to have him. All the threat looks to be going through him this first half

Our left flank should be among the best in the world tbqh.

08-06-2019, 07:24 PM
Or just hoof it like McKenna did there...:rolleyes:

I really don’t get the hype about McKenna. I know he’s a Merrick but I’d rather have Souttar in there I think.

Sioux
08-06-2019, 07:25 PM
That didn't take long. Away and do one with stupid comments like that after 21 minutes. FFS

Dry your eyes FFS.

Was the reference to Potter too subtle for you?

:faf::faf::faf:

08-06-2019, 07:25 PM
Robertson is wasted in that team. Mostly 5hite playing around him.

08-06-2019, 07:26 PM
I really don’t get the hype about McKenna. I know he’s a Merrick but I’d rather have Souttar in there I think.

Flatters to deceive imo.

That looked like hand ball to me.

That's a penalty surely?

08-06-2019, 07:27 PM
Cyprus unlucky there, that should have been number 2.

Robertson, McGregor and Fraser as a trinity on the left looks like it could have a fair bit of promise.

Apart from that it hasn't been great. Clarke is a football manager though and not a miracle worker so it was never going to be pretty.

OxoHibby
Does it? How many nations play with 2 up out of interest?

Sorry I don't have the stats on the whole of the world but 2 up front would be a statement of intent

08-06-2019, 07:28 PM
Should of been a penalty for us. Exact same as Champions league final

100%.

I know a few Aberdeen fans and even they don't really rate McKenna. Decent in an old fashioned sort of way but Souttar is a better football player imo.

So much for the Hampden Roar.

Cyprus unlucky there, that should have been number 2.

But it wasnt due to GOOD goal keeping?....
Anyway first was a half chance behave yourself

08-06-2019, 07:30 PM
I'm at Hampden and the place is like a library. Feels like a pre season game.

08-06-2019, 07:32 PM

Would be better if there was a game on :rolleyes:

08-06-2019, 07:33 PM
McGregor lucky to get away with a yellow card there IMO

HT whistle couldn’t have come soon enough.

I’m here too and it’s been *****.

08-06-2019, 07:34 PM
Tomorrow's game floats my boat more than this.

08-06-2019, 07:35 PM
Tomorrow's game floats my boat more than this.

Mines too tbh

Think it's a yellow. But if the ref had brought out the red, you would struggle to argue.

But it wasnt due to GOOD goal keeping?....
Anyway first was a half chance behave yourself

They've had a clear shot at goal earlier on after a McGinn!! Half chance my arse.

08-06-2019, 07:36 PM

It was an ugly challenge, and the type that can have refs rushing for the red.

Probably just a yellow.

08-06-2019, 07:36 PM
This is really poor, I can’t see Brophy putting much fear into many international teams. Come back Leigh Griffiths. 😕

08-06-2019, 07:37 PM
Blinding. Drawing at home with Cyprus is quite the statement of intent.

08-06-2019, 07:39 PM
We'll win it 2nd half. New management team with new methods and trying to implement a new style. Its not like we're losing, Cyprus have shown to be stubborn in previous games. Still be a Scotland win by a goal or 2.

Looks like one of the wee boys behind Mackay just did the white power "OK" symbol?

I’m here too and it’s been *****.

Pathetic. If Broughy & McLean are international class then I’m a Dutchman. Proven staring SJM when he is the only one willing to get stuck in.

08-06-2019, 07:40 PM
Sorry I don't have the stats on the whole of the world but 2 up front would be a statement of intent

Fraser, McGinn, Forrest, Mcgregor with their combined 70 goals/assists this season isn't enough intent?

Pathetic. If Broughy & McLean are international class then I’m a Dutchman. Proven staring SJM when he is the only one willing to get stuck in.

To be fair Brophy has been ok but McGinn almost cost Scotland a goal by diving in.

ben johnson
SC has always believed in being in the game at the business end of the game. Let’s see how it unfolds
Cypriots no mugs as their Clubs in Europe have showed recently.
3 points are all we need

08-06-2019, 07:41 PM
It’s not great. No matter how big a fan of the national team you are. They just aren’t very good. At least the women are decent.

08-06-2019, 07:42 PM

McLean will be a premier league player in August. Maybe just having an off game

08-06-2019, 07:42 PM
Forgot Forrest was even playing. Been anonymous.

08-06-2019, 07:44 PM
Looked good in spells but far too slow. Need to up the tempo and move the ball faster

Individually middle to front all the players have had decent seasons. Unsure on Brophy but its his debut so won't be too critical

08-06-2019, 07:44 PM
We'll win it 2nd half. New management team with new methods and trying to implement a new style. Its not like we're losing, Cyprus have shown to be stubborn in previous games. Still be a Scotland win by a goal or 2.

Honest qn. Is there a change in style?

08-06-2019, 07:47 PM
It's only half time. No point in going gung ho in his first game, let's get settled in and press on in the 2nd half.

08-06-2019, 07:47 PM
Gave it a go. It's hard to watch. Not being sexist being honest.

Can't wait for the big game tomorrow.

08-06-2019, 07:48 PM
To be fair Brophy has been ok but McGinn almost cost Scotland a goal by diving in.

Broughy has been ok mate ? Sorry but I expected more. Get McNultu on. We are playing far too deep. Every player needs to squeeze the game.

08-06-2019, 07:48 PM
Not sure what folk are expecting here.

Cyprus aren't the pushovers they once were.

We've been decent enough without finding a final ball or bit of quality to cut through them yet, as you'd probably expect from a team whose weakness is up front.

The defence has looked more solid, a bit of patience and one goal wins this.

Three points, however they are achieved, is a big result here. That would be enough of a "statement of intent" for me, given our record at this level for more than 20 years.

08-06-2019, 07:49 PM
Not sure what folk are expecting here.

Cyprus aren't the pushovers they once were.

We've been decent enough without finding a final ball or bit of quality to cut through them yet, as you'd probably expect from a team whose weakness is up front.

The defence has looked more solid, a bit of patience and one goal wins this.

Three points, however they are achieved, is a big result here. That would be enough of a "statement of intent" for me, given our record at this level for more than 20 years.

08-06-2019, 07:49 PM
They've just got to keep battering away. No need to form the mouth into the familiar Boooo shape yet.

08-06-2019, 07:50 PM

08-06-2019, 07:51 PM
Same ****, different manager. I didn't expect miracles, but I expected some renewed enthusiasm from the players. I'm not convinced that's the case.

08-06-2019, 07:52 PM

I know you are joking but I honestly think I am more interested in watching tomorrow's game than this.

08-06-2019, 07:55 PM
Another very good chance for Cyprus!!

08-06-2019, 07:57 PM
They are ripping the pish out of us - utterly pitiful.

08-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Another very good chance for Cyprus!!
Was it? You don’t half look for the negatives.

08-06-2019, 07:58 PM
They are ripping the pish out of us - utterly pitiful.

:agree:, the 3 best chances in the game have been for Cyprus!

08-06-2019, 07:59 PM
Unfortunately that dross is on in the pub a group of us are in before heading for dinner. Thankfully off to a TV free zone now as Scotland look as hopeless as ever.

Was it? You don’t half look for the negatives.

What? Clean through one on one, thats a good chance for any team.

:agree:, the 3 best chances in the game have been for Cyprus!
None of which have been close to a goal.

This is terrible

skyhibs
Terrible show from Scotland, but didn’t expect anything else... no pressure on Cyprus and too many back passes with the captain being the main culprit.... nothing less than 3 points any good

08-06-2019, 08:00 PM
What? Clean through one on one, thats a good chance for any team.
It wasn’t a clear one on one.

08-06-2019, 08:00 PM
Don’t think the Cyprus GK has even been properly tested other than the Mulgrew free kick.

Just look toothless in the final 3rd

08-06-2019, 08:01 PM
I’ve switched off. It’s rubbish

08-06-2019, 08:02 PM
This is terrible

And Davie Provan 🤨

08-06-2019, 08:03 PM
And Davie Provan 🤨

I wish Sky would bin him.

08-06-2019, 08:03 PM
None of which have been close to a goal.

Can someone please explain why people make such a big fuss about Callum Macgregor? He's an absolute huddy.

08-06-2019, 08:04 PM
I wish Sky would bin him.

If only

Unfortunately that dross is on in the pub a group of us are in before heading for dinner. Thankfully off to a TV free zone now as Scotland look as hopeless as ever.

Dinner?

Very good goal!

Get in!

08-06-2019, 08:05 PM
Pick that out!

Yes

Assist by SJM

Yaaaas Robbo

Against the run of play.

That’s what I call a chance and a goal 1-0 Robertson.

Mr Grieves
What a strike!

Wahey!

‪Needed something special, and there it is. Take. A. Bow. ‬

Great finish! Good bit of football in the build-up too, including the lay-off by McGinn.

Thank ****.

McGinn assist

08-06-2019, 08:06 PM
SJM with an assist !! And quite a good strike by the captain too.

Get in.

When we actually qualified for tournaments it wasn't always pretty but we ground out results. If we do the same tonight I couldn't really care less how bad the performance is.

What a strike Robertson!! Shut the moaners up!

Good goal. 😂😂

08-06-2019, 08:07 PM
I think McGinn fancied a shot himself but couldn’t get his shot away, so passed for that cracker!

08-06-2019, 08:08 PM
Get in.

When we actually qualified for tournaments it wasn't always pretty but we ground out results. If we do the same tonight I couldn't really care less how bad the performance is.

We’re not playing that bad imo, just struggled to break them down

Get in Robbo

Now that we’ve got the crucial opening goal, just hope the players play with a bit of confidence and freedom now

08-06-2019, 08:10 PM

As I said before, Hibs against lower championship teams.

ben johnson
08-06-2019, 08:11 PM
Against the run of play.

Tends to happen when 1 team is neat and tidy but without a cutting edge and the other team has a World Class player who could play for any team
In the World if he so wished.

08-06-2019, 08:12 PM

I don't think we have been all that bad either but the general consensus, prior to the goal, seemed to be building towards us having being terrible.

Sometimes when you come up against a team like Cyprus appear to be you might only get a couple of real chances and it's taking one and seeing it out that matters.

08-06-2019, 08:14 PM
I don't think we have been all that bad either but the general consensus, prior to the goal, seemed to be building towards us having being terrible.

Sometimes when you come up against a team like Cyprus appear to be you might only get a couple of real chances and it's taking one and seeing it out that matters.

We’ve hardly created a chance and Brophy up front for me has been awful, he’ll score now that I’ve said that 😂

08-06-2019, 08:16 PM
It'll be a long time before I let Scotland get my hopes up again, way too many previous disappointments. Great if we could qualify for something for a change though.

I just hope they don't ruin a good Scottish manager's career on the journey of trying.

Leigh Griffiths v Falkirk, carbon copy.

Spot on, some on here being negative for the sake of being negative.

08-06-2019, 08:19 PM
you've got the foul mcgregor now get on with the game son ffs stop trying to get yellow cards for opponents

08-06-2019, 08:21 PM
Leigh Griffiths v Falkirk, carbon copy.

Praise indeed...👍

08-06-2019, 08:22 PM
That would have been a very good goal. Just fell to the wrong person at the crucial moment.

O'Donnell should be burying that.

skyhibs
Should be scoring from there

McGinn off for McTomeney? Strange one.

HibbySpurs
08-06-2019, 08:24 PM
This is like watching paint dry to be honest. Scotland huffing and puffing their way past another no mark team.

Look at what Russia did to San Marino earlier, ruthless and merciless. I fear we could get a doing from Belgium.

08-06-2019, 08:26 PM
This is like watching paint dry to be honest. Scotland huffing and puffing their way past another no mark team.

Look at what Russia did to San Marino earlier, ruthless and merciless. I fear we could get a doing from Belgium.

I really hope we can raise our game for better opposition, or we will still be struggling

skyhibs
08-06-2019, 08:27 PM

Hope not but if we play like this then we will

08-06-2019, 08:28 PM
I really hope we can raise our game for better opposition, or we will still be struggling

Better opposition will allow us more space.

HibbySpurs
08-06-2019, 08:29 PM
Hope not but if we play like this then we will

Maybe we’ll raise our game but Belgium and the Russians will beat us with ease on this performance.

To be fair the Cyprus goalie is on his game and not afraid to make a decision.

Still at least we’ve got a playoff.

08-06-2019, 08:30 PM
1-1

HibbySpurs
And there it is FFS

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!! :faf:

Clarke out.

FFS!

Typical Scotland!

You have got to be f****** joking

HibbySpurs
Sack the manager 🤣🤣🤣

It’s the Scotland way

Absolutely embarrassing

Awful from Robertson

Ffs Robbo’s man

I've just noticed that there are no goal line assistants.

08-06-2019, 08:31 PM
**** sake.

That's unacceptable.

How Hanlon doesn’t get a game is beyond me. Scotland CHs are pish.

Seen pub teams defend better at corners than that

08-06-2019, 08:32 PM
first away goal for cyprus since 2010 ?, go scotland

2-1 Burke

Still rubbish.

Yaaasaasa get in

Thank f*** for that!

Never in doubt. 2-1

Awful from Robertson

***n brutal from Robertson. Couple of good goals for us but in general hes been poor for us

Scorer didn't even have to jump.

Still rubbish.

This!!

HibbySpurs
So lucky to avoid a red face.

Thank **** though

Mr Grieves
08-06-2019, 08:33 PM
Thank **** for that

Well done Burke.

Jesus Christ...

A proper centre forwards goal !! 2-1.

Clarke out.

I know your joking but manager has to accept responsibility for playing Brophy for 70mins. Absolute garbage.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!! :faf:
You were saying
:faf: Sometimes your misery makes you look stupid.

08-06-2019, 08:34 PM
Well played by Burke there, deserved the luck of it bouncing off the post straight back to him.

Are we, objectively measured, the 5hittest of the home nation sides? I mean, are N Ireland better than us?

That wee bit of luck that normally goes against Scotland.

I know your joking but manager has to accept responsibility for playing Brophy for 70mins. Absolute garbage.

Prob gets a percentage of his next deal. 😂.

08-06-2019, 08:35 PM
Pleasant surprise that Scotland were able to raise the intensity so quickly.

Now need 20 booking points for my bet to come in so a bit of timewasting wouldn’t go amiss!

How Hanlon doesn’t get a game is beyond me. Scotland CHs are pish.

i only started watching 10 mins before we scored and i think o'donnell has been utterly rank, lets not start calling up killie players

HibbySpurs
My Mrs makes a good point. What is it with Scotland that we can run England ragged for 45 minutes and so nearly beat them to being unable to dispense with lowly teams like Cyprus?