View Full Version : Carlisle trip

Garymcl
03-06-2019, 10:12 PM
A few of us going down by train early in the day looking for a good pub (maybe with a beer garden ) weather permitting any info would be grateful Ggtth

04-06-2019, 05:59 AM
The Wetherspoons and Lloyds have large outdoor areas to the rear of the pubs, The Walkabout has a large seated area at the front (certain pints £2.50 all day), The Caledonian Hotel has a lot of cheap deals on a Tues (£1.65 for a pint of Strongbow etc) but, no outside sitting areas IIRC and The Border Rambler has a few tables at the front (all locations on Botchergate).

h18eeynick
04-06-2019, 07:44 AM
The Beehive outside the ground is also good and has a small beer garden . We also have a Brewdog now just up from Wetherspoons on the Botchergate. A bit more expensive though. I saw an article in the Sunday Mail at the weekend ( i know - dont shoot me down but only paper that I can get that covers Scottish footie ) that Carlisle is the cheapest place in England for beer at £2.35 against an average £3.10 in England. Fill yer boots !

04-06-2019, 08:05 AM
Which part of the ground will we be in?

Steven79
04-06-2019, 08:20 AM
Which part of the ground will we be in?

I'm sure we are going to be in this stand.

04-06-2019, 08:28 AM
5 hours each way for me.

Crazily I’m thinking about it.

Steven79
04-06-2019, 08:33 AM
5 hours each way for me.

Crazily I’m thinking about it.

I've already booked trains for it, I don't get back to Dunblane till half 12 at night but it should be a good trip.

SON OF PADDY
04-06-2019, 08:36 AM
Canny make this game due to work,sincerely hope that the police are not as heavy handed as the last time!
Herded like sheep with cameras recording everyone,welcome to English football.

It's a bloody friendly, go and enjoy it guy's.

04-06-2019, 08:57 AM
The Wetherspoons and Lloyds have large outdoor areas to the rear of the pubs, The Walkabout has a large seated area at the front (certain pints £2.50 all day), The Caledonian Hotel has a lot of cheap deals on a Tues (£1.65 for a pint of Strongbow etc) but, no outside sitting areas IIRC and The Border Rambler has a few tables at the front (all locations on Botchergate).

The Border Shambles as we call it. Do a tour of them when down for the races each year. Lad threatened to stab us last time at the Shambles. Teeth to person ratio is in single figures

04-06-2019, 09:58 AM
The Border Shambles as we call it. Do a tour of them when down for the races each year. Lad threatened to stab us last time at the Shambles. Teeth to person ratio is in single figures

It's a bit rough, good video jukebox though! 🎶

EI255
04-06-2019, 10:25 AM
The Beehive outside the ground is also good and has a small beer garden . We also have a Brewdog now just up from Wetherspoons on the Botchergate. A bit more expensive though. I saw an article in the Sunday Mail at the weekend ( i know - dont shoot me down but only paper that I can get that covers Scottish footie ) that Carlisle is the cheapest place in England for beer at £2.35 against an average £3.10 in England. Fill yer boots !

Beehive a good pub and away fans usually ok in here, although its a Carlisle pub. Outdoor seating too.
Carlisle Rugby Club on way down to the football stadium has large outdoor seating too and has a really good bar, though its been known as a gathering place for some local 'faces' looking for bother pre-match - though you'll get no bother if your not looking for it.

EI255
04-06-2019, 10:25 AM

Sounds about right.

04-06-2019, 10:26 AM
Canny make this game due to work,sincerely hope that the police are not as heavy handed as the last time!
Herded like sheep with cameras recording everyone,welcome to English football.

It's a bloody friendly, go and enjoy it guy's.

Sadly cant make this one now because its on a Tuesday night, shame because its an easy trip for us Borders Hibbies. You are right about the last time we played there, you would have thought the G7 was meeting it was so OTT ….. I cant believe its anything like that for normal Carlisle home matches.

04-06-2019, 10:30 AM
I've already booked trains for it, I don't get back to Dunblane till half 12 at night but it should be a good trip.

As far as I can see, I can't even get back to Kirkcaldy by train.

Steven79
04-06-2019, 10:40 AM

I had a quick look for you and the last train back to Fife (Via the inner circle to Glenrothes with Thornton) leaves at 23:19 while the train from Carlisle gets into Haymarket at 23:32.

Even going to Glasgow you would miss the bus back to Fife as it leaves at 23:03 while the train gets in at either 23:09 or 23:17.

04-06-2019, 11:43 AM

Last time we were allocated part of the side stand as well as the waterworks terrace behind the goals. It was a Sunday last time so probably only the seated section as travelling number won't be as great on a Wednesday night.

Cardinal Hibernian
04-06-2019, 11:44 AM

22114According to the Carlisle United website it will be Section 5 of the Pioneer Stand. Not sure if that is the one shown in your picture.

https://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/news/2019/may/friendly-hibs-ticket-details-confirmed/

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk

04-06-2019, 11:44 AM
I had a quick look for you and the last train back to Fife (Via the inner circle to Glenrothes with Thornton) leaves at 23:19 while the train from Carlisle gets into Haymarket at 23:32.

Even going to Glasgow you would miss the bus back to Fife as it leaves at 23:03 while the train gets in at either 23:09 or 23:17.

Can't have it all ways, we're very luck to even be able to get a train back from Carlisle to Edinburgh at that time of night!

04-06-2019, 11:46 AM

You sound surprised? Leaving Carlisle at half 10 and wanting a connection to fife when you arrive in Edinburgh!? :confused:

04-06-2019, 11:55 AM
Unfortunately a stick on for quite a bit of trouble.

04-06-2019, 11:59 AM
Last time we were allocated part of the side stand as well as the waterworks terrace behind the goals. It was a Sunday last time so probably only the seated section as travelling number won't be as great on a Wednesday night.

I doubt anyone will turn up on the Wednesday night.

Steven79
04-06-2019, 12:13 PM
According to the Carlisle United website it will be Section 5 of the Pioneer Stand. Not sure if that is the one shown in your picture.

https://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/news/2019/may/friendly-hibs-ticket-details-confirmed/

Section 5 is more or less on the half way line.

04-06-2019, 12:18 PM
I doubt anyone will turn up on the Wednesday night.

Cart Smunt. :greengrin

04-06-2019, 12:22 PM

Not convinced. We hear this all the time "Aberdeen on a Friday night", "Hearts at half 5", "Rangers at Easter Road on a Friday" - there will be riots! Can't recall any proper violence. Drunken bam's galore but thats the worst off it, think this will be the same. Casuals are fewer in numbers (ones that actually scrap) and the ones that will travel will be easily identified and escorted somewhere and can live in their fantasist bubble. Edinburgh polis will be down in Carlisle too i'd imagine aswell Scottish transport police.

04-06-2019, 12:26 PM
Not convinced. We hear this all the time "Aberdeen on a Friday night", "Hearts at half 5", "Rangers at Easter Road on a Friday" - there will be riots! Can't recall any proper violence. Drunken bam's galore but thats the worst off it, think this will be the same. Casuals are fewer in numbers (ones that actually scrap) and the ones that will travel will be easily identified and escorted somewhere and can live in their fantasist bubble. Edinburgh polis will be down in Carlisle too i'd imagine aswell Scottish transport police.

My old man and my uncle are going, a prime example of two "old faces" that are turning out for this trip, wouldnae be surprised if they've already been to Asda to get new George t-shirts to mark the occasion! 😉

Garymcl
04-06-2019, 12:34 PM
So where’s everyone meeting which boozer :greengrin

04-06-2019, 01:01 PM
Im in Carlisle right now, its my base for the lakes, ive been in wetherspoons and the Griffin, cheap as chips, going to The Caledonian tonite. Locals seem friendly, and theres a few scots who who work here too.
B

04-06-2019, 01:08 PM
Im in Carlisle right now, its my base for the lakes, ive been in wetherspoons and the Griffin, cheap as chips, going to The Caledonian tonite. Locals seem friendly, and theres a few scots who who work here too.
B

Thats a cheap shop, at least it was when we were in the Championship. Also used to sell McEwans Lager on tap.

04-06-2019, 01:08 PM
B

If you have anybody with Celtic leanings in your company they'd probably enjoy a visit to Gallaghers (at the foot of Botchergate) the walls are festooned with Celtic/Irish stuff.

04-06-2019, 01:33 PM

04-06-2019, 01:43 PM

We got a full on police escort last time due to there being quite a few "well kent" faces.

04-06-2019, 01:43 PM

Section 5 is more or less on the half way line.

Is it ,my imagination, or is one of their stands built about twenty yards away from where it should be?

https://footballtripper.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/brunton-park-cover.jpg

04-06-2019, 01:50 PM
Is it ,my imagination, or is one of their stands built about twenty yards away from where it should be?

https://footballtripper.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/brunton-park-cover.jpg

There was plans to redevelop the ground and move the pitch but this never happened.

04-06-2019, 01:56 PM
There was plans to redevelop the ground and move the pitch but this never happened.

That makes sense.

I'll be getting the train down from Glasgow, so won't get home as late as some.

There's a train leaves at just after 22:00 but would have to be quick off the mark to catch that one. The 22:50 is gonna be really mobbed.

EI255
04-06-2019, 02:11 PM
According to the Carlisle United website it will be Section 5 of the Pioneer Stand. Not sure if that is the one shown in your picture.

It is the one in the picture, the new stand, and off to the end part of it.

04-06-2019, 02:49 PM

The Howard Arms on Lowther Street is a decent old school type pub with a small seated area at the back, a bit more expensive than the previously mentioned establishments.

04-06-2019, 03:40 PM
The Howard Arms on Lowther Street is a decent old school type pub with a small seated area at the back, a bit more expensive than the previously mentioned establishments.

The Howard is the old place with the tiled front? That is a tidy little boozer and very well preserved. When you sit in there you wouldn’t think you were sharing the same postcode as Botchergate.....

04-06-2019, 03:42 PM
We got a full on police escort last time due to there being quite a few "well kent" faces.

If I remember rightly it was the Sunday after Maribor and a great deal of people were still knackered.

04-06-2019, 04:03 PM
The Howard is the old place with the tiled front? That is a tidy little boozer and very well preserved. When you sit in there you wouldn’t think you were sharing the same postcode as Botchergate.....

That's the one.

04-06-2019, 04:06 PM
If I remember rightly it was the Sunday after Maribor and a great deal of people were still knackered.

Correct, I remember telling folk in The Rambler to back Carlos Vela first scorer for Arsenal v Celtic in some friendly tournament at The Emirates, think he scored after about 3 mins IIRC. 🍺

04-06-2019, 04:07 PM
That's the one.

Great old boozer and interesting stuff about the state owned pubs remain on the walls. You see that about a few in Carlisle where the government were trying to control drinking in the earlier part of the 20th Century by controlling the establishments. Worked a treat!

04-06-2019, 04:10 PM
Great old boozer and interesting stuff about the state owned pubs remain on the walls. You see that about a few in Carlisle where the government were trying to control drinking in the earlier part of the 20th Century by controlling the establishments. Worked a treat!

Aye, I've read that stuff, very interesting.

04-06-2019, 04:13 PM

If you go to the Cranemakers at the bottom of Botchergate there's pictures on the walls in the gents that are just as interesting for completely different reasons 😲

04-06-2019, 06:54 PM
In the Caledonian tonite, a pint of Murphys stout and a Bottle of Sauvignon 75cl is £7.50 Thats £2.50 for stout and a £5 for full bottle of wine. Its happy hours down here, it called midweek madness....lovely jubbly
B

04-06-2019, 07:10 PM
I got that wrong, its £2 for Murphys stout, and a £5 for the Sauvignon white, £7, all in think its going to be a late nite....:)

04-06-2019, 07:24 PM
I got that wrong, its £2 for Murphys stout, and a £5 for the Sauvignon white, £7, all in think its going to be a late nite....:)

The Cumberland Sausages from the chippy about 4 doors up take a fair bit of consuming.

04-06-2019, 07:28 PM
Wee word of warning guys.
The city centre is like the wild west after closing time.
Be careful out there 😉

04-06-2019, 09:18 PM

I was knackered as I went straight from my stag do in Newcastle 😂

05-06-2019, 06:24 PM
Was it The Howard Arms, we had a look this evening, its shut, loads of pubs down here doing happy hours, trying to compete with Wetherspoons, for some reason, met a lot of AV fans today, was told its not Super John McGinn. Its SIR JOHN McGINN !!!! Steal of the season they were saying, i agreed.
B

05-06-2019, 08:06 PM
Was it The Howard Arms, we had a look this evening, its shut, loads of pubs down here doing happy hours, trying to compete with Wetherspoons, for some reason, met a lot of AV fans today, was told its not Super John McGinn. Its SIR JOHN McGINN !!!! Steal of the season they were saying, i agreed.
B

***** news that.

at last 61
07-06-2019, 04:33 PM

There was the last time especially walking past the beehive

Hibernian32
09-06-2019, 06:50 PM
Will there be busses going down? Not seen anything yet still a bit early but looking for 3 seats

09-06-2019, 06:53 PM
Will there be busses going down? Not seen anything yet still a bit early but looking for 3 seats

I can't speak for other branches but I know my branch (Carlton) are not planning to run any buses to the friendly matches. Subject to change of course.

You can get a train home from Carlisle at 22:16

Hibernian32
09-06-2019, 07:07 PM
I can't speak for other branches but I know my branch (Carlton) are not planning to run any buses to the friendly matches. Subject to change of course.

You can get a train home from Carlisle at 22:16
No worries mate cheers

EI255
09-06-2019, 08:45 PM
Wee word of warning guys.
The city centre is like the wild west after closing time.
Be careful out there [emoji6]Not on a Tuesday night it's not.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk