View Full Version : Worst football chants and songs

29-05-2019, 08:20 PM
What are some of the worst football chants and songs you've heard over the years?

"oh the hibees are gay" was always a bizarre one and pretty cringey. The jambos creamed themselves over that one, thinking it was dead whitty and funny for ages which kind of sums up their mentality tbh.

"1 nil to the arsenal"

the "I believe that hibs will win" one. Sang years ago when it was "The 12th man" singing section in the East. Not very inventive and sounded like something you'd hear in a Primary school playground (sorry guys!)

Any of the political/religious bile that comes from the Ugly sisters. No more needs said about that other than embarrassing.

29-05-2019, 08:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG-jMjvnua8

29-05-2019, 08:39 PM

Guy's missing the game. And where did he get the mic from?

29-05-2019, 08:51 PM
“Do a deer” should be banned under the Geneva Convention and anyone singing it should be tried at The Hague.

29-05-2019, 08:54 PM
We're at Tynecastle, circa 2010-12. Hearts scored the first of at least a couple goals a good half hour ago and are comfortably keeping us at bay. Nothing of real excitement is happening on the pitch and the locals have started up some song about us not winning a cup or something.

..And there it is, regular as clockwork.

"His name is Craig Thomson, he comes from Gorgie Way..."

Every. Single. Time. :grr:

29-05-2019, 08:54 PM
Your teeth are offside
Luis Saurez your teeth are offside

29-05-2019, 08:58 PM
Your teeth are offside

29-05-2019, 09:00 PM
And it's Barnsley, Barnsley FC*
We're by far the greatest team
The world has ever seen

*Barnsley is an example. Other teams about whom such a claim is ridiculous eg Aberdeen also sing this dirge.

29-05-2019, 09:04 PM
The world has ever seen

*Barnsley is an example. Other teams about whom such a claim is ridiculous eg Aberdeen also sing this dirge.
I initially thought this was a reference to Barnsley fans mispronouncing the name of their own town/team in order to create a third syllable so that it fits better in to certain chants. Always wondered where “Barnusley” was.

29-05-2019, 09:06 PM
"Sttttauuuuund freee, wherauver you may be, way are tha famous Auberdeen"

Seekyit
29-05-2019, 09:12 PM
Celtc’s rendition of “Just Can’t Get Enough” is boak inducing.

29-05-2019, 09:20 PM

Yup, ruined the song for me now it's irreparably associated with them.

I mind someone used to post on here fairly regularly who's avatar was whatever Depeche Mode's latest release was at the time, would love to hear how they feel.. :wink:

Forever_Green93
29-05-2019, 09:31 PM
https://twitter.com/kellierowe/status/887464241531420678

29-05-2019, 09:39 PM
I initially thought this was a reference to Barnsley fans mispronouncing the name of their own town/team in order to create a third syllable so that it fits better in to certain chants. Always wondered where “Barnusley” was.

Other syllabic sinners

- Ayr as 2 “Ay-ur”.
- St Mirren as 2 “Saint Mirn”

****** weegies*!

* as good as

29-05-2019, 09:41 PM
That “hmfc, the team for me” one. Please god let us never have a chant as lame as that.

BigKev
29-05-2019, 09:45 PM
Aston Villa's Yippy aye eh is absolutely tragic.

https://www.fanchants.com/football-songs/aston_villa-chants/yippi-aye-eh-yippi-aye/

29-05-2019, 09:53 PM
"Sttttauuuuund freee, wherauver you may be, way are tha famous Auberdeen"

That’s pretty much Aberdeen’s whole songbook

Austinho
29-05-2019, 09:53 PM
“Oh when the saint/spurs/reds go marching in” is s**te enough, but the Tottenham version is the worst song in world football - an extraordinaryly slow dirge for 10 minutes before speeding it up. Dreadful.

Sheffield United’s Greasy Chip Buddy song is high up there in the cringe category.

29-05-2019, 09:55 PM
“Do a deer” should be banned under the Geneva Convention and anyone singing it should be tried at The Hague.

What is that song even about and why does the tartan army sing it?

29-05-2019, 09:55 PM

I'll raise you a Celtc SuperTramp rendition...

29-05-2019, 09:56 PM
Dont Hearts have a song for Levein to the tune of Abba's Dancing Queen?

29-05-2019, 09:57 PM

Two words - p1sh.

29-05-2019, 09:57 PM
Come on ye Spurs/Ton/Well etc etc, one of the most pathetic chants ever.

29-05-2019, 09:58 PM
Them College boys. What are they like?
Esp with early onset Parkinson's as well as dementia - seems to forget he's already done the "Seattle" and "fight and win" chants.

29-05-2019, 10:00 PM
I'll raise you a Celtc SuperTramp rendition...

Everything they touch turns to *****.

My heart would actually be broken if they tried anything on with Sunshine on Leith.

29-05-2019, 10:02 PM

It started at an away game v Austria and tragically caught on.

29-05-2019, 10:05 PM
Did Airdrie not have some weird and pish I E O Airdrie song or something?

Tomsk
29-05-2019, 10:27 PM
Any of the renditions of Daydream Believer - I'm cringing even thinking about them.
And "You Are My Larsson, My Only Larsson" - dear Lord!

29-05-2019, 10:47 PM
The world has ever seen

That chant always makes me cringe!

I’m glad we don’t have our own version!

Callum7
29-05-2019, 10:58 PM
Anything made up on this forum.

29-05-2019, 11:16 PM
Come on ye Spurs/Ton/Well etc etc, one of the most pathetic chants ever.

Disagree with this one. 'Come on ye paaaaars' is a decent chant. Maybe just sounds better with 'pars'.

29-05-2019, 11:31 PM
Uggy Uggy Uggy
Oih Oih Oih

What was that all about? Guilty of singing it on many occasions.

30-05-2019, 12:05 AM
The Kamberi song is a shocker. Cringe.

franck sauzee
30-05-2019, 02:26 AM
We're from the capital song is so cringe

30-05-2019, 02:45 AM
Your teeth are offside

Or the variation of that, Mezut Ozil your eyes are offside....

30-05-2019, 04:51 AM
In your Gorgie slums etc.
Demeaning for everyone.

30-05-2019, 05:45 AM
That “hmfc, the team for me” one. Please god let us never have a chant as lame as that.

I feel embarrassed for them singing that. Also Farts Farts watery Farts is an utter dirge and should have been left in the 60's.

linlithgowhibbie
30-05-2019, 06:30 AM
Did Airdrie not have some weird and pish I E O Airdrie song or something?

It went, E I E I E I O Airderie Airderie, repeated again and again.:thumbsup:

30-05-2019, 06:57 AM
All songs that Hearts sing. So that one.

'We're from the capital' is a poor one. Never a fan of the 'allez allez allez oh' either.

But the worst one that teams sing, and we've done it before, is 'he's one of our own'. Truly awful.

30-05-2019, 07:02 AM
Tin hat on but Hibs Hibs Hibs for the cup especially the yaaaay bit at the end

Juice-Terry
30-05-2019, 07:32 AM
"We are Hibs, we are guid, we have Celtc on the run."

CLASS!

30-05-2019, 10:11 AM

CLASS!

To the tune of Seasons in the Sun.

30-05-2019, 10:17 AM

CLASS!

Best ever hibs.Net chant I have ever had the pleasure of reading, the person was an utter genius and I will be telling my unborn children about him/her for years to come.

30-05-2019, 10:20 AM
Any of the renditions of Daydream Believer - I'm cringing even thinking about them.

It's ok with Craig Levein because with his name it rhymes and scans. For anyone else I cringe too.

30-05-2019, 10:22 AM

I think that doing a deer is probably already illegal under existing legislation...

...other than that the song should definitely banned and so should any one singing it.

Hannah_hfc
30-05-2019, 10:22 AM
The world has ever seen

This. I don’t know if it is just me but I seem to hear every English teams fans chant this. They can’t all be the greatest team.

The Spirit in the Sky one that Man Utd (and Aberdeen fans later adopted) was also really cringey

30-05-2019, 10:28 AM
Tin hat on but Hibs Hibs Hibs for the cup especially the yaaaay bit at the end

I take it you don’t have the single then?

Turnbulls tornadoes Is one of my favourite songs 👍

Terry Butcher Maurice Malpas to the 2 unlimited song.

Barman Stanton
The Hull City mauled by the tigers chant (and hand gestures) are as cringeworthy as it gets.

https://youtu.be/tgS1RFk1cU8

30-05-2019, 10:31 AM
Come on Butcher's Boys.....

That didn't go so well.

30-05-2019, 10:43 AM
Come on Butcher's Boys.....

That didn't go so well.

Not surprised, even when we were playing well under him that was one of the most half-hearted chants I can remember.

30-05-2019, 11:57 AM
Aston Villa's Yippy aye eh is absolutely tragic.

https://www.fanchants.com/football-songs/aston_villa-chants/yippi-aye-eh-yippi-aye/

I actually like that, what's wrong with it ?

30-05-2019, 12:51 PM
Hearts’ “we’re going to Europe” one is ******g awful

30-05-2019, 12:54 PM
The Hull City mauled by the tigers chant (and hand gestures) are as cringeworthy as it gets.

https://youtu.be/tgS1RFk1cU8

I went to see Bolton get thumped 6-0 at Hull earlier this year. Having to listen to that chant just topped it off!

BigKev
30-05-2019, 01:24 PM
I actually like that, what's wrong with it ?

It's dirge. Sung in the most annoying accent in the UK.

Sounds like a drunk man making up a song on his way home.

Marvellous
30-05-2019, 01:29 PM
"by far the greatest team the world has ever seen" sung by basically every English team and Aberdeen

Any Arsenal song

The Hearts European song

The Motherwell song Hearts copied word for word

30-05-2019, 01:38 PM
Sheffield Wednesday play "Hi Ho Silver Lining" just before kick off in both halves. They play the song from the start, everyone is quiet until "Hi Ho sheff-ield wed-nesday" and that's it.

Utter nonsense, theres no other words, no associated chant, nothing during the game. Perplexing!

I've noticed a couple other teams do it as well, Wolves being one of them.

30-05-2019, 01:49 PM
Terry Butcher Maurice Malpas to the 2 unlimited song.

I hate it when i think of the chants for The Butcher of Hibernian. Unworthy

Come on Butchers Boys....ends in FT hertz.
Not child friendly=)
And
Terry's Green and White Army
Hindsight eh?
I know when he came to the Holy Ground many thought ......Good appointment

LD knew the score with Terry and he got his gardening leave

Another season of him and his bullying sidekick would have emptied Easter Road.

EI255
30-05-2019, 02:12 PM
Not just cause it's THEM, but the Hearts song is sung in a truly awful way.

All you can make it is "YOU cant go wrong"....just WTF is that all about?

30-05-2019, 02:49 PM
Anything made up on this forum.

We’re dot net
We are good
We’ve got Elton on the run

30-05-2019, 05:17 PM
We’re dot net
We are good
We’ve got Bernie Taupin on the run

Had to fix that one.

30-05-2019, 05:39 PM
Had to fix that one.

Work of a comedy genius, or something.

30-05-2019, 05:41 PM
Work of a comedy genius, or something.

Something.

Newry Hibs
30-05-2019, 05:46 PM
What are some of the worst football chants and songs you've heard over the years?

"oh the hibees are gay" was always a bizarre one and pretty cringey. The jambos creamed themselves over that one, thinking it was dead whitty and funny for ages which kind of sums up their mentality tbh.

I first heard that at a certain semi final and thought it was 'oh the hibees again' as they put yet another 4 past us.
Was quite relieved when I found out I was gay, seemed less of an insult than getting humped again.

30-05-2019, 06:20 PM
Any song that every club sings. The latest being that “two nil down at tynie” song. Originally a good song but awful now that everyone sings it.

30-05-2019, 06:24 PM
Was quite relieved when I found out I was gay, seemed less of an insult than getting humped again.

One and the same surely?

Codheed
30-05-2019, 06:25 PM
About 15 - 20 years ago , Chelsea used to sing " one man went to mow ....... " - it dragged on for about 15 minutes - what a dirge !

A personal favourite , but not too PC was " you're going home like Sandy Richardson " ( one for the old timers and Crossroads fans )

30-05-2019, 06:26 PM
Any song that every club sings. The latest being that “two nil down at tynie” song. Originally a good song but awful now that everyone sings it.

Pretty much applies to our entire song book at the moment to be honest.

30-05-2019, 06:37 PM
I first heard that at a certain semi final and thought it was 'oh the hibees again' as they put yet another 4 past us.

You found out you were gay after the semi final and then felt retrospectively relieved? Is there an 'I' being misplaced for an 'it' here?

TelaStella
30-05-2019, 06:37 PM
Any version including our own of the Allez Allez Allez Liverpool thing

30-05-2019, 07:11 PM
About 15 - 20 years ago , Chelsea used to sing " one man went to mow ....... " - it dragged on for about 15 minutes - what a dirge !

A personal favourite , but not too PC was " you're going home like Sandy Richardson " ( one for the old timers and Crossroads fans )

I liked the Nade version though! [emoji106]

celthedd1
30-05-2019, 08:27 PM
I liked the Nade version though! [emoji106]

We are the champions,champions of Europe scarf twirling has been sung for decades by Leeds, look superb but the words are rank but will forever stick, I think that mouled by the tigers with their hands from Hull is quite funny, not that is sung often!!

30-05-2019, 08:40 PM
That I believe that Hibs will win song was horrendous as well.

30-05-2019, 08:48 PM
That I believe that Hibs will win song was horrendous as well.

Yep that was awful

Glad we don’t sing it anymore

e2los
30-05-2019, 08:49 PM
We're from the capital song is so cringe

Yeah think that is terrible one.

Wouldn't be so bad if everyone behaved.

A wet Dunfermline pre season friendly; quite a few years ago can't remember when. We won 2-1 or 3-2.... Ridiculously drunk/drugged one of our fans at the beginning of the game was being a complete annoyance to the embarrassment of his 2 friends and everyone else. Idiot thankfully slept though most of the game.

We're from the capital was one of the main songs I recall hearing that day.

On the slow (weren't sprinting), walk back towards the bus station we; (parents and I), walked past the east port bar which was surrounded by police; obviously gave that a miss and went to the commercial to be told on enquiry that our (hibs fans), had smashed up the toilets in the east port bar, hence the fracas.

We have another friendly 6th of July, I'll be there (with my parents).

Politely asking in advance if: "We're from the capital", isn't sung or if it is that everyone has a good time and doesn't smash up toilets or act like lunatics.

Dunfermline isn't the best of places and most likely it would appreciate us not making it any worse.

Just saying.

30-05-2019, 11:50 PM
Check out verse 4 and 5 from this German quartet. They know the score :wink:

https://youtu.be/Etx__3wuOw4

yonder1875
30-05-2019, 11:56 PM
Any version including our own of the Allez Allez Allez Liverpool thing

Yep. All of the Allez Allez Allez songs by seemingly every British team sound terrible, our one being right up there with the worst - leave it to the

Oh when the Hearts/Dons/Saints go marching in, beyond cringe.

31-05-2019, 05:45 AM

Recall Aberdeen singing that too

NthCarolinaHibs
31-05-2019, 05:56 AM
Chant that gets right under ma nails is in england,when the keeper is taking a goal kick,and the opposing fans shouting out,ooh ahh, then it all ends in a 'ha ha ha' ...wtf is that all about🤔

31-05-2019, 06:00 AM
"Championees / we're gona win the league"

Tynecastle, circa October 2018

JXM73
31-05-2019, 06:08 AM
Hail, hail....etc

31-05-2019, 07:26 AM
"Championees / we're gona win the league"

Tynecastle, circa October 2018

And "we shall not be moved". Apart from by Celtic, Rangers, Killie, Aberdeen and Hibs. Fair play for getting all those teams in one song.

31-05-2019, 09:15 AM
Chant that gets right under ma nails is in england,when the keeper is taking a goal kick,and the opposing fans shouting out,ooh ahh, then it all ends in a 'ha ha ha' ...wtf is that all about🤔

Its when the keeper is about to kick it they shout, Ooohhhhhhhhh, you're 5hit ha ha ha ha ha......

hibby rae
31-05-2019, 09:16 AM
'Same old Alloa, always cheating' 😂

https://youtu.be/I7_dkhhk1ZU

God bless the Banter Years