View Full Version : 'Established' posters posting less ?

Eaststand
29-05-2019, 03:15 PM
I was away on hols recently with no internet signal for a couple of weeks, so I couldn't get my daily access to this site.
Now that I'm back into the site, it seems to me there are a few regular posters not posting much. Blackpoolhibs/DashingBob/Johnyboy, spring to mind.

Hope I'm not being too nosey here, but have I missed anything,(suspension from the site, or maybe illness) or are they all still doing fine, but just posting less than previously ?

This site has some decent posters, but those 3 always posted stuff worth reading.

29-05-2019, 03:20 PM
I was away on hols recently with no internet signal for a couple of weeks, so I couldn't get my daily access to this site.
Now that I'm back into the site, it seems to me there are a few regular posters not posting much. Blackpoolhibs/DashingBob/Johnyboy, spring to mind.

Hope I'm not being too nosey here, but have I missed anything,(suspension from the site, or maybe illness) or are they all still doing fine, but just posting less than previously ?

This site has some decent posters, but those 3 always posted stuff worth reading.

Jeez,you're easy pleased. 😁

29-05-2019, 03:28 PM
I’m here: hope that helps 👍😃

Silversand
29-05-2019, 03:43 PM

GGTTHThey 3 were banned for trying to bring fun into Hibs.net.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

29-05-2019, 03:45 PM
Jonnyboy is just pushing on a bit now, but he’s fine and well!

29-05-2019, 03:47 PM
They 3 were banned for trying to bring fun into Hibs.net.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
I heard they had all gone in excess of 90 days with completely dry sheets and the admin p**ks banned them for failing to uphold established standards at .net.....

29-05-2019, 03:49 PM
Someone posted a link to the Dundee United semi final match thread a few weeks ago.

There has been a high turnover of posters in recent years and a few recognisable names have fallen by the wayside.

29-05-2019, 03:50 PM
Blackpool Hibs' posts were always worth reading?!?

Have you been paying attention? :greengrin

29-05-2019, 03:51 PM
Jonnyboy is just pushing on a bit now, but he’s fine and well!

Pushing on? He was doing that back in the hibs net radio days. I don't know what you call it now! :wink:

Eaststand
29-05-2019, 04:00 PM
Some good replies there folks :-)

Hope they're all doing fine was what I was meaning

29-05-2019, 04:28 PM
I'm still here

29-05-2019, 04:29 PM
Me too!😎😎

29-05-2019, 04:54 PM
I'm not.

29-05-2019, 04:56 PM
I'm still here
.net is probably all you have to do to pass the time in NJ - how deep is the snow today?

29-05-2019, 05:00 PM
Blackpool Hibs' posts were always worth reading?!?

Have you been paying attention? :greengrin

I was wondering that as well.

Some people have wierd taste

29-05-2019, 05:00 PM
.net is probably all you have to do to pass the time in NJ - how deep is the snow today?

Snow?! Pah! It's 'nados and lightening storms today!

29-05-2019, 05:09 PM

Read that as Nandos

Here’s Lucy!
29-05-2019, 05:13 PM
Does one come under the 'umbrella heading' of 'Established poster' by being on here 24/7?

29-05-2019, 05:17 PM
31 degrees and no hurricanes, all good here :greengrin

29-05-2019, 05:18 PM
Does one come under the 'umbrella heading' of 'Established poster' by being on here 24/7?
You don't even have 1000 posts - don't post unless you are replying to a direct question......

Here’s Lucy!
29-05-2019, 05:22 PM
You don't even have 1000 posts - don't post unless you are replying to a direct question......

Sorry, wasn't aware of that 'rule".

29-05-2019, 05:29 PM
Sorry, wasn't aware of that 'rule".

It's today's equivalent of "don't speak until you're spoken to", or "know your place".

I'm sure you'll get the hang of it

;-)

29-05-2019, 05:35 PM
31 degrees and no hurricanes, all good here :greengrin

31? That's cold bro, nice 71 here with a touch of catastrophic tornado disaster

29-05-2019, 05:35 PM
Read that as Nandos

Far better fried chicken shops available here :greengrin

29-05-2019, 05:37 PM
31? That's cold bro, nice 71 here with a touch of catastrophic tornado disaster
Sorry mate, in UK mode there, 88 degrees here but into the 90's for the forseeable future I believe.....

29-05-2019, 05:41 PM

I’ve been on this site for 20 years and have never once thought of myself as one of the “established” posters. Probably because I never have been.

There was a Calendar Signing thread once though...

29-05-2019, 05:55 PM
I went off in the huff and only post on twitter now. :wink:

29-05-2019, 05:57 PM

Im in Hoboken next week. Please tell me its decent weather.

29-05-2019, 06:03 PM
ask/beg Filled Rolls to come back

pay him if necessary

Eaststand
29-05-2019, 06:04 PM

Only 24/7 !! Nah, not at all, there are loads of posters who do that but often the number of their posts worth reading is less than Craig Leveins medal haul.
Quality over quantity does it for me
.... and my missus agrees with me :-0

Eaststand
29-05-2019, 06:05 PM
I was wondering that as well.

Some people have wierd taste

Guilty M'lud ;-)

Eaststand
29-05-2019, 06:07 PM

pay him if necessary

And there's yet another one I could have added to my list of names.

29-05-2019, 06:07 PM

Any signing news?

29-05-2019, 06:08 PM

pay him if necessary

Nah. He was a bit of a panini.

29-05-2019, 06:11 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

29-05-2019, 06:36 PM
Doddie was a prolific on the post count but can’t recall any postings for a good while.
Some posters change user names which can be a bit confusing, so not sure if that’s what’s happened in this case.

29-05-2019, 06:38 PM
Im in Hoboken next week. Please tell me its decent weather.

Forecast to be decent, in the mid 70s. But this is New Jersey and the weather can and will change it's mind quickly.

Hoboken is a great place too.

29-05-2019, 06:40 PM
They are all too busy using their undercover accounts over on Keekback stirring the 💩💩💩

29-05-2019, 06:58 PM
Whatever happened to the poster Bob marleys Dug? He was prolific to say the very least

29-05-2019, 07:21 PM
What happened to that banger Keekaboo? Bet he's posting under a new name..... :greengrin

29-05-2019, 07:27 PM
Hibsbollah is still going strong 👍

29-05-2019, 07:36 PM
Hibsbollah is still going strong 👍

Best poster on here by a country mile :agree:

Callum7
29-05-2019, 07:42 PM
I could’ve became an established ‘dot counting’ poster, however, new technology came in and I was made obsolete. :violin:

29-05-2019, 07:53 PM
What happened to that banger Keekaboo? Bet he's posting under a new name..... :greengrin

He is, but he’s not as funny
Bring back Keekaboo

29-05-2019, 08:33 PM
Just checking in to say that I've not checked out :greengrin

29-05-2019, 08:50 PM
Whatever happened to kahoonas?

29-05-2019, 09:02 PM

:agree: absolutely.

29-05-2019, 09:03 PM

Pretty boy gets my vote, this could turn into a beauty contest:greengrin

29-05-2019, 09:06 PM
Clearly I am the best poster.

:hyper

Nothing beats it

29-05-2019, 09:07 PM
Clearly I am the best poster.

Nothing beats it

Slaver

29-05-2019, 09:08 PM
Slaver

Reported. :agree:

Here’s Lucy!
29-05-2019, 09:11 PM
It's today's equivalent of "don't speak until you're spoken to", or "know your place".

I'm sure you'll get the hang of it

;-)

Sure I will, squire.

Usually got much better things to do than sit on a football forum round the clock but, for you Keeks, I’ve made an exception.

29-05-2019, 09:15 PM
I liked BadMartini.

END OF

29-05-2019, 09:15 PM
It would be nice to catch upin person with people on here. Has that ever happened?

29-05-2019, 09:17 PM

You should know better than that!

29-05-2019, 09:17 PM
it would be nice to catch upin person with people on here. Has that ever happened?

asl?

29-05-2019, 09:19 PM
Whatever happened to the poster Bob marleys Dug? He was prolific to say the very least

If you don’t mind me asking, what is the deal with the dot before your username? When I used to just read on here always wondered that.

29-05-2019, 09:23 PM
What about sid the letter writer?

29-05-2019, 09:28 PM
MehHFC used to be a good poster

29-05-2019, 09:38 PM
What about sid the letter writer?Went freelance and doing very nicely as statement writer for Klub 1872 and grammar checker for Mrs Doctor Budge when it's time for another sermon from the mount.

29-05-2019, 09:47 PM
I’m still here.

29-05-2019, 09:58 PM
MehHFC used to be a good poster

He was ***** mate.

30-05-2019, 04:16 AM
Posted a lot less since May 2016. Club is in a more than decent place so no real complaints there. That was such a high back then that getting worked up about relatively minor issues seems a waste of time.

I suppose when you’ve been on here a long time the same arguments keep recycling and it all gets a little dull tbh. I can’t be bothered rewriting old posts on irresolvable circular issues; flag debate, stadium development, league structure, crowd behavior, catering etc and the ongoing footballing stuff plays out irrespective of my view on it.

Maybe I’m just older and jaded but everything has a shelf life and mine as a poster is sadly coming to a natural end, I fear.

30-05-2019, 06:38 AM
If you don’t mind me asking, what is the deal with the dot before your username? When I used to just read on here always wondered that.
Nothing suspicious. Just plain old ‘Sean’ was taken way back then:greengrin

Eaststand
30-05-2019, 08:20 AM
Posted a lot less since May 2016. Club is in a more than decent place so no real complaints there. That was such a high back then that getting worked up about relatively minor issues seems a waste of time.

I suppose when you’ve been on here a long time the same arguments keep recycling and it all gets a little dull tbh. I can’t be bothered rewriting old posts on irresolvable circular issues; flag debate, stadium development, league structure, crowd behavior, catering etc and the ongoing footballing stuff plays out irrespective of my view on it.

Maybe I’m just older and jaded but everything has a shelf life and mine as a poster is sadly coming to a natural end, I fear.

Chin up old chap. Knowing how things usually go with our Club, I reckon we'll all probably have something to grumble about soon though :-0

Glad you and the other names I mentioned in my post are all well.

Eaststand
30-05-2019, 08:21 AM
Just checking in to say that I've not checked out :greengrin

:-)
My morning cuppa will go down better now

Eaststand
30-05-2019, 08:23 AM

Normal service has been resumed, that's more like you :-)

30-05-2019, 08:49 AM

Oi!

I'm not THAT bad...

😜

30-05-2019, 08:54 AM

I miss your matchday 'style' reports. I no longer know what all the cool dudes are wearing.

30-05-2019, 09:28 AM

You need to continue posting to maintain the sartorial elegance of .net.

30-05-2019, 09:37 AM
That BIllyhibs was pretty damn good

Someone told me he left the country about three weeks ago and is currently cruising the Med just in case Hertz did the unimaginable

He need not have worried 😂

30-05-2019, 09:52 AM
Whatever happened to the guy who used to make all his posts in broad Scots? .. cant remember his name.

30-05-2019, 09:54 AM
Where's that nonshinyfish at?! :wink:

30-05-2019, 11:13 AM

A particular favourite of mine, along with Pedantic.

30-05-2019, 11:17 AM
Delighted I haven't been mentioned, nobody likes the truth

30-05-2019, 12:18 PM
Delighted I haven't been mentioned, nobody likes the truth

Who are you anyway?

30-05-2019, 12:21 PM

Is his real name Matt? I do hope so.

30-05-2019, 12:24 PM
Whatever happened to the guy who used to make all his posts in broad Scots? .. cant remember his name.

Was it Green n Glaikit or similar?

30-05-2019, 12:28 PM
Where's that nonshinyfish at?! :wink:Mostly lurking these days although I do find the time to post occasionally.

Life gets in the way.

30-05-2019, 12:33 PM
Nothing suspicious. Just plain old ‘Sean’ was taken way back then:greengrin

:greengrin cheers 👍

30-05-2019, 12:35 PM

It is that vacuum between end of season and the transfer Rumours getting going. They are all taking a well earned break at Butlins. Back next week when players are officially out of contract.

30-05-2019, 12:46 PM

I remember he managed something like a 1,000 posts in less that a month! Very prolific to say the least 😂

One of them being in last seasons summers transfer thread that he would give everyone on the thread a tenner if Brandon Barker signed.

30-05-2019, 01:24 PM
I remember he managed something like a 1,000 posts in less that a month! Very prolific to say the least 😂

One of them being in last seasons summers transfer thread that he would give everyone on the thread a tenner if Brandon Barker signed.

He copied a lot of his rumours from other sources too.

30-05-2019, 01:37 PM

He left by mutual consent😟

30-05-2019, 01:43 PM

Muzzled

30-05-2019, 01:51 PM
Always wanted to know what happened to SJM, Firestarter, RubyHibee, Ivan Drago and Sauzee16?

30-05-2019, 01:53 PM
Time for Filled Rolls to return.

30-05-2019, 02:00 PM
CWG hasn't posted for a while from what I've seen. Hopefully he is still around and I've just missed them......

McSwanky
30-05-2019, 02:01 PM
Time for Filled Rolls to return.

Don't think there's much chance of that after Uncle James finished with him. A fate that met many 'established' posters who are sadly no longer with us.

30-05-2019, 02:13 PM
He left by mutual consent😟Does that mean he got emptied?

Least he’ll be able to solely focus on his transfer page on twitter but sadly he’ll be unable to lift rumours off the private forum!

30-05-2019, 02:38 PM
Who's the biggest lunatic to ever post? There are been a few radges in the years I've been a member; one or two clearly unhinged :greengrin

30-05-2019, 02:48 PM
Don't think there's much chance of that after Uncle James finished with him. A fate that met many 'established' posters who are sadly no longer with us.

Nae idea who Uncle James is referring too 🤨

30-05-2019, 02:56 PM
I remember the guy that always posted in rhyme his avatar was Rupert Bear :greengrin

McSwanky
30-05-2019, 03:04 PM

You're one of the lucky ones then. Probably better to keep it that way if you know what's good for you.

30-05-2019, 03:08 PM
You're one of the lucky ones then. Probably better to keep it that way if you know what's good for you.

I've heard about these dodgy uncles! 😲

30-05-2019, 03:22 PM
Only 24/7 !! Nah, not at all, there are loads of posters who do that but often the number of their posts worth reading is less than Craig Leveins medal haul.
Quality over quantity does its for me
.... and my missus agrees with me :-0

Indeed. Imho there are too many nonsense posts and not enough interesting ones. Each to their own I suppose.

30-05-2019, 03:27 PM

The only uncle James I can think of is Derek Riordan's uncle. Did Roundabout Tours :greengrin but buggered off to Kerrydale Street when Deeks went west.

31-05-2019, 12:46 AM

Wis that no the gadge who went by Desperate Dan?

31-05-2019, 04:55 AM
Wis that no the gadge who went by Desperate Dan?

Aka Jamiehibby

Here’s Lucy!
01-06-2019, 05:05 PM
So, what's the criteria required to become 'established'?

01-06-2019, 05:07 PM

A Levein on the pan post normally helps.

Here’s Lucy!
01-06-2019, 05:11 PM
A Levein on the pan post normally helps.

I'll give that a bash!!

01-06-2019, 05:27 PM

Moral outrage is a good one.

01-06-2019, 06:09 PM

01-06-2019, 06:10 PM
Who's the biggest lunatic to ever post? There are been a few radges in the years I've been a member; one or two clearly unhinged :greengrin

CanPeleKeepieUppie
YeomanJaniceRand

...possibly the same person.

01-06-2019, 06:10 PM

I really wish you would pack that in 🤬

01-06-2019, 06:23 PM
CanPeleKeepieUppie
YeomanJaniceRand

Don't recall them. How far back was this?

Eaststand
01-06-2019, 06:27 PM

I started this thread, and I thought the opening post made it clear, but to make it even clearer...
I mean posters who I think have been around this site for a few years and used to post more often than they have been doing lately.

Enjoy the Champions League Final

01-06-2019, 06:51 PM
Established.

Is that rhyming slang?

:cheers: :drunk: :drunk:

If so, there's one poster who meets the description better than any other. :wink:

Here’s Lucy!
01-06-2019, 07:20 PM
I started this thread, and I thought the opening post made it clear, but to make it even clearer...
I mean posters who I think have been around this site for a few years and used to post more often than they have been doing lately.

Enjoy the Champions League Final

I’m not enjoying the Final so far!

COYS!

01-06-2019, 07:29 PM
I’m not enjoying the Final so far!

COYS!

Hope Spurs can create a great chance.

01-06-2019, 07:48 PM
Back in the old days I used to be on here all day posting garbage. I still post garbage but not all day. Come on you reds.

01-06-2019, 08:28 PM
I post mostly from the ****ter. So there you go, mostly ****, from the ****ter.

01-06-2019, 08:33 PM

Just does it to wind people up...

Here’s Lucy!
01-06-2019, 08:55 PM
Hope Spurs can create a great chance.

They're running out of time now.

02-06-2019, 09:32 AM
The poor quality of my posts has not changed over the years.

However, my numbers could hardly be described as prolific.

Probably reduced over the last few years though, as being a grumpy Auld man, there hasn’t been much to moan about really.

02-06-2019, 09:37 AM
I'm still posting but I'm on that many posters ignore lists barely anyone will see this post. :greengrin

02-06-2019, 09:40 AM
Haven't seen Hermit Crab posting for a long time, is he still a member ?

02-06-2019, 09:42 AM
Haven't seen Hermit Crab posting for a long time, is he still a member ?

🤣🤣🤣

02-06-2019, 11:52 AM
A particular favourite of mine, along with Pedantic.

I still exist. Allegedly.

02-06-2019, 12:24 PM
Still here 17 years on.

02-06-2019, 01:18 PM

Never!

02-06-2019, 03:16 PM
Still here 17 years on.

And a forum legend :aok:

02-06-2019, 03:16 PM
Never!

02-06-2019, 03:28 PM
Still here 17 years on.
Definate Legend!

02-06-2019, 03:32 PM
Definate Legend!

Is that you Ted?

02-06-2019, 03:43 PM
CanPeleKeepieUppie
YeomanJaniceRand

certainly was, and is not the last to use a few different usernames/accounts, any 'controversial' threads usually bring out the 'long time reader, my first post' and members with low post counts :agree:

02-06-2019, 03:53 PM
15 years a member, 2 spells as an admin and multiple thoughts of 'I'm never posting again'.

The one constant is my ability to be a dick and spout pish. It's a skill that comes naturally to me.

02-06-2019, 04:06 PM
15 years a member, 2 spells as an admin and multiple thoughts of 'I'm never posting again'.

The one constant is my ability to be a dick and spout pish. It's a skill that comes naturally to me.

Prick

02-06-2019, 04:07 PM
Prick

Reported

02-06-2019, 04:10 PM
Is that you Ted?

Bundy?

02-06-2019, 04:11 PM

You underestimate yourself, sir.

02-06-2019, 04:59 PM

Aye, but keep the Horse Racing tips coming
😁

02-06-2019, 07:01 PM
What happened to Filled Rolls? Decent poster, if quite patronising.

Has Andy74 left the building as well? Never see his contractual contrary posts anymore.

02-06-2019, 07:09 PM
Twelve years and counting. Three more and I'll have been a registered member of hibs.net for longer than I haven't been...

Here’s Lucy!
02-06-2019, 07:17 PM
Cropley was God seemed a decent fellow. Not seen that name for a few months.

02-06-2019, 07:23 PM
Bad Martini anyone?

02-06-2019, 07:27 PM
Twelve years and counting. Three more and I'll have been a registered member of hibs.net for longer than I haven't been...

Hadn't considered it that way, had a look and I passed that milestone last October!

02-06-2019, 07:28 PM

Looking through old threads I was surprised at the number of posters some fresh to the recent memory that have done a Neil Lennon and “ left by mutual consent”

02-06-2019, 07:39 PM
Bad Martini anyone?

Yes please. 🍸

02-06-2019, 07:48 PM
certainly was, and is not the last to use a few different usernames/accounts, any 'controversial' threads usually bring out the 'long time reader, my first post' and members with low post counts :agree:

Glad it wasn’t just me. :greengrin

02-06-2019, 07:55 PM

What ever happened to Gail?

son of haggart
02-06-2019, 08:34 PM
I guess I’m an Anti-establishedment poster on here, but still around, in a lurking sort of way. And to answer an earlier question there was at least one meeting of Hibs net members tho it may have been in the Rivals.net days. It was in the Guildford and I rather appropriately attended it without joining in. I thought it might be fun to gatecrash it. I went along had a pint and changed my mind about talking to anybody, and drifted off....

Quite a good metaphor for my time on here!

02-06-2019, 08:38 PM
What ever happened to Gail?
Mutually consented IIRC......

02-06-2019, 08:42 PM

My membership goes right back to the start of Hibs net. Lost the first account on an old computer and when I split up from my wife. Second account was long running and asked to be taken off at end of Hearts rescue as was getting threats from Jambos. Now this will be my last account. Moved permanently from Singapore to our home in the Philippines where there is a a former Hibs casual. May change user name slightly.

02-06-2019, 08:44 PM
I guess I’m an Anti-establishedment poster on here, but still around, in a lurking sort of way. And to answer an earlier question there was at least one meeting of Hibs net members tho it may have been in the Rivals.net days. It was in the Guildford and I rather appropriately attended it without joining in. I thought it might be fun to gatecrash it. I went along had a pint and changed my mind about talking to anybody, and drifted off....

You were fine when we met dahn sarf.

There, I've said it.

I've not been able to admit that until now.

#weightoffmychest :wink:

02-06-2019, 08:54 PM
I've no idea how long I've been a member on here. Over 20 years I'd guess.

I am responsible for starting the "Gregg's" annotation, and when I was an admin, I started hibsBay, and I think that it was my idea to get contributers names on the hibs.net flag.

I like it here, sometimes more than other times, but it's well run and it can be fun.

I like the puns and the jokes, but I miss Filled Rolls and Carlsberg although the latter may still be here under a different name.

02-06-2019, 08:58 PM
My membership goes right back to the start of Hibs net. Lost the first account on an old computer and when I split up from my wife. Second account was long running and asked to be taken off at end of Hearts rescue as was getting threats from Jambos. Now this will be my last account. Moved permanently from Singapore to our home in the Philippines where there is a a former Hibs casual. May change user name slightly.
Gallantes HIBS Development Squad Player recently called up by the Philippines....No?

02-06-2019, 09:04 PM

You've always posted reasonably on here IMO and the board is healthier for a balance provided by followers of other teams, most of the time,

If I picked things up right, did your son post for a while on here as well - he was alright but it was never going to be easy for him, especially as things were very febrile a few years back.

02-06-2019, 09:06 PM

I am responsible for starting the "Gregg's" annotation, and when I was an admin, I started hibsBay, and I think that it was my idea to get contributers names on the hibs.net flag.

I like it here, sometimes more than other times, but it's well run and it can be fun.

I like the puns and the jokes, but I miss Filled Rolls and Carlsberg although the latter may still be here under a different name.

:redindian: Me no know

02-06-2019, 09:08 PM
:redindian: Me no know

How.

02-06-2019, 09:09 PM

There, I've said it.

#dotnetMole

I think generally people just move on. real life changes as much as hibs.net has done over the years (it is the posters that make the site, after all).
Going back its funny to see how posters have changed over the years :greengrin

son of haggart
02-06-2019, 09:11 PM
You've always posted reasonably on here IMO and the board is healthier for a balance provided by followers of other teams, most of the time,

If I picked things up right, did your son post for a while on here as well - he was alright but it was never going to be easy for him, especially as things were very febrile a few years back.

No , in fact my son has only a vague interest in football. My daughter goes to occasional games but I think posting on a football forum would be beneath contempt in her world of Instagram/ snapchat or whatever it is they are up to now as 17 year olds.

Famous for weather forecasts on PM board🤣

Bad Martini anyone?

One of my favourite posters , Talked a load of shight at times :greengrin But his overall point was always on the button for me

I've been on here 17 years with a fairly low post count for the overall time but I'm certain I had to reregister for Hibs net and my posts and year joined only go back to then. Username was the same.

Think I had around 1000 posts on the early incarnation. Had more time on my hands then! Was this the rivals site then? Is there a Hibs net hibstorian?!!

son of haggart
02-06-2019, 09:15 PM

There, I've said it.

You were unbearable

Have to admit your were fine too, about 18 years ago I’d guess. I’ve met a few of others on here none of whom post that frequently though they are still around except perhaps Kev?

02-06-2019, 09:16 PM
Famous for weather forecasts on PM board🤣

More ripping the pish out of the Daily Express forecasts, but I'll accept the plaudits. :greengrin

I'm also Hibs.net's version of Mark Kermode. Or was.

02-06-2019, 09:17 PM
It would be interesting to see how the demographic has changed since inception if at all...?

More young or older people logging on now compared to twenty years ago

No one seems to remember standing in the shed in the FF lower sucking the ball into the opposition net nowadays???

02-06-2019, 09:17 PM
No , in fact my son has only a vague interest in football. My daughter goes to occasional games but I think posting on a football forum would be beneath contempt in her world of Instagram/ snapchat or whatever it is they are up to now as 17 year olds.

Ah, my mistake. It was a poster called Stanley and for whatever reason I think I got it in my head you were related :greengrin

Similarly, my children have a very loose attachment to Hibs, despite STs, merchandise and subliminal influence all their lives. I dread to think what they would make of football forums.

02-06-2019, 09:19 PM
Mutually consented IIRC......

Gail was someone that could have found negatives from the Scottish Cup win...

02-06-2019, 09:21 PM
There is something particularly satisfying about seeing a new name next to a few thousand posts and working out who they used to be.

02-06-2019, 09:23 PM
There is something particularly satisfying about seeing a new name next to a few thousand posts and working out who they used to be.

Gail = Hermit Crab?

02-06-2019, 09:23 PM
Gail was someone that could have found negatives from the Scottish Cup win...
I've thought for a couple of weeks that Gail is back under a new nom de plume......

02-06-2019, 09:24 PM
It would be interesting to see how the demographic has changed since inception if at all...?

No one seems to remember standing in the shed in the FF lower sucking the ball into the opposition net nowadays???

Oh I do. :agree:

02-06-2019, 09:28 PM
Oh I do. :agree:
Time to bring it back then

We need all the help we can get

You must be as old as me?

That’s two auld gits

02-06-2019, 09:29 PM

not, at least, in written form. BvH appears to have that honor

02-06-2019, 09:34 PM
Time to bring it back then

We need all the help we can get

You must be as old as me?

That’s two auld gits

Make that three :greengrin

02-06-2019, 09:46 PM
not, at least, in written form. BvH appears to have that honor

I can't be 100% sure, but I know I had something to do with it.

I do remember writing to RP asking if he would donate a fiver for his name on the flag.

I think the Proclaimers are on there too, no?

02-06-2019, 09:55 PM

My biggest memory of standing in the shed was buying and eating five mince pies at half time. Happy days.

02-06-2019, 10:01 PM
Aye old posters. Liverpool Hibs was a full on Marxist if i recall. HibernianBlade and BerwickHibs. I met LancashireHibs or was it LancsHibs (Matt) at the second Blackpool away game and five of us ended up in my hotel's 24 hour bar. 4 bottles of peroni for a tenner. Happy days!

02-06-2019, 10:15 PM
My biggest memory of standing in the shed was buying and eating five mince pies at half time. Happy days.
Remember taking my pie off the slabs as they got passed through at head height to the Pie Stand 😁

02-06-2019, 10:20 PM
What happened to Filled Rolls? Decent poster, if quite patronising.

Has Andy74 left the building as well? Never see his contractual contrary posts anymore.

FR was mutually consented I think. It's lodged in my memory that it happened in the course of, or just after, an abrasive exchange with me. I could be wrong about that because my memory is terrible.

Now that others have raised time served I can't quite believe I've been posting here for 12 years. Not sure if this is right or not but it feels like there are less posters/less posting recently.

02-06-2019, 10:21 PM
Aye old posters. Liverpool Hibs was a full on Marxist if i recall. HibernianBlade and BerwickHibs. I met LancashireHibs or was it LancsHibs (Matt) at the second Blackpool away game and five of us ended up in my hotel's 24 hour bar. 4 bottles of peroni for a tenner. Happy days!

I thoroughly enjoyed Liverpool Hibs' posts though I rarely agreed with any of them. I'm sure he posted something not that long ago after what appeared a lengthy absence.

02-06-2019, 10:28 PM

One of my favourite posters , Talked a load of shight at times :greengrin But his overall point was always on the button for me

A bit like how I see yourself:wink:.........

02-06-2019, 10:43 PM

4 now and counting.

02-06-2019, 10:55 PM
FR was mutually consented I think. It's lodged in my memory that it happened in the course of, or just after, an abrasive exchange with me. I could be wrong about that because my memory is terrible.

Now that others have raised time served I can't quite believe I've been posting here for 12 years. Not sure if this is right or not but it feels like there are less posters/less posting recently.

Some of us have been here an awfy long time now :-)

02-06-2019, 11:19 PM
Gallantes HIBS Development Squad Player recently called up by the Philippines....No?
Yes will be a actively marketing him to boost Philippines Hibs Supporters Club.

02-06-2019, 11:20 PM
Cropley was God seemed a decent fellow. Not seen that name for a few months.

Aye, haven't seen CWG around in a while. Hope he's okay and back soon.

02-06-2019, 11:28 PM

iirc it was because of another topic with another poster and an admin

i could be wrong of course

#bringbackfilled rolls/phil de rolls/jeremy kyle/etc/etc/etc

02-06-2019, 11:45 PM

I think the tone of many exchanges has become too much like Twitter tbh. Too much (over)reacting, instant hitting out, needless sarcasm and undermining others over the most trivial of statements. IMHO. That’s a change for the worse. That’s just how I see it and I know it’s not just me that thinks this either. DBS mentioned a shelf life. I’ve been on here for 20 years. Maybe mine has come and gone. Either way, I don’t post or even visit anything like as much as I used to.

02-06-2019, 11:54 PM
Who was that Scouse that used to post?

He'll be in his cups.

03-06-2019, 12:08 AM
Who was that Scouse that used to post?

He'll be in his cups.

Yes, Scouse Hibby has been away for a couple of months. IIRC he'd just lost his dad (I'm sure that was SH) and probably has other things on his mind. I'm sure he'll be back.

Silky
03-06-2019, 06:39 AM
I've been here for many years. Don't post as much as I did, mainly due to work, kids etc. Used to be a member of erinweb or whatever it was when at uni 20 odd years ago (different user name) then came here.

Now, a degree, a job, a marriage, 2 kids and a Scottish Cup later I'm still kicking around. The only constant in my life!!

03-06-2019, 06:54 AM
Yes, Scouse Hibby has been away for a couple of months. IIRC he'd just lost his dad (I'm sure that was SH) and probably has other things on his mind. I'm sure he'll be back.

I thought he’d just changed his username!

Eaststand
03-06-2019, 06:59 AM

Another very good poster.
If you do read this Scouse, hope you're doing OK bud.

03-06-2019, 07:02 AM
iirc it was because of another topic with another poster and an admin

i could be wrong of course

#bringbackfilled rolls/phil de rolls/jeremy kyle/etc/etc/etc

He reverted to Jeremy Kyle after I likened him to same during a debate that he needlessly drew out over the Dutch aircraft that was blown out of the air (among the casualties were two Newcastle fans off to a pre season tour of Thailand).
I’m glad he’s gone.

03-06-2019, 07:03 AM
Another very good poster.
If you do read this Scouse, hope you're doing OK bud.

Probably still out celebrating his teams CL win

Simples!

Eaststand
03-06-2019, 07:07 AM
Probably still out celebrating his teams CL win

Simples!

Aye, I hope so Billy and it must have been some weekend for the red half of Liverpool eh

03-06-2019, 07:33 AM

I always really look forward to your posts. You have also been part of some of yhe best threads and banter on here over the last 14 years on here i can remember.

03-06-2019, 07:37 AM
I'm still posting but I'm on that many posters ignore lists barely anyone will see this post. :greengrin

I didn't realize you could ignore people. How do you do it?

03-06-2019, 07:42 AM
Calumhibee1 must be on holiday

He been too quiet :greengrin

03-06-2019, 08:24 AM
I lied about my age to make an account when I was 12.

Logged on and made my first post. I called Colin Nish, 'Colin Pish' and got told off for insulting a Hibs player. 😔

I'm a better man now.

03-06-2019, 08:25 AM
I've been here for about 20 years. I used to post under a different name and more often.

like others so much change happens in real life that often hibs and in turn this forum remain a constant.

I met plenty good people through this board and passionate hibs fans

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

03-06-2019, 08:29 AM

Logged on and made my first post. I called Colin Nish, 'Colin Pish' and got told off for insulting a Hibs player. 😔

I'm a better man now.

I remember that. 2010ish?

People were outraged. Gnashing of teeth, women fainting, that sort of thing.

I'm surprised the admin pricks let you back in. In fact, I'm disappointed. :greengrin

03-06-2019, 08:36 AM

I'm a better man now.

Too young to get clapped in irons at the bottom of Easter Road and have women throw stones at you then :greengrin

03-06-2019, 08:38 AM
I remember that. 2010ish?

People were outraged. Gnashing of teeth, women fainting, that sort of thing.

I'm surprised the admin pricks let you back in. In fact, I'm disappointed. :greengrin

I've heard that parts of Edinburgh have never recovered. Single-handedly ended Collin's career too.

I've performed my penance and recited 100 'Hail Sauzees,' I just hope that society is ready to move on. 😔

03-06-2019, 08:41 AM

I'm a better man now.

I hope you haven't lost that talent for spotting a player! :wink:

03-06-2019, 08:42 AM
Too young to get clapped in irons at the bottom of Easter Road and have women throw stones at you then :greengrin

I tried to argue that point at the time but they weren't having any of it! Would have been far less traumatic had they let me keep my clothes on.

03-06-2019, 08:46 AM
Been sporadically posting pish on here for the past 20 years! A lot of other similar forums I post(ed) on have died due to the growth of Twitter/Reddit/Discord etc. but it’s nice to see Hibs.net still going strong. The userbase has definitely changed throughout the years. Back in the day it was only really the geeks who used the internet like this!

03-06-2019, 09:03 AM
Been sporadically posting pish on here for the past 20 years! A lot of other similar forums I post(ed) on have died due to the growth of Twitter/Reddit/Discord etc. but it’s nice to see Hibs.net still going strong. The userbase has definitely changed throughout the years. Back in the day it was only really the geeks who used the internet like this!

I don’t post as much as I used to.

Hibs.net has been infected by social media imo. Used to be that people would just let nonsense go, now it seems every comment can trigger a mass argument.

The quality of opinion and knowledge on here is still way above twitter or fb but I don’t think it’s as much fun as it used to be.

03-06-2019, 09:06 AM
I don’t post as much as I used to.

Hibs.net has been infected by social media imo. Used to be that people would just let nonsense go, now it seems every comment can trigger a mass argument.

The quality of opinion and knowledge on here is still way above twitter or fb but I don’t think it’s as much fun as it used to be.

It doesn't help when posters get accused of being a Hearts fan for simply disagreeing with a post or not sticking the boot into Hearts when it is simply not needed.

I also think there are less people posting these days.

03-06-2019, 09:15 AM
It doesn't help when posters get accused of being a Hearts fan for simply disagreeing with a post or not sticking the boot into Hearts when it is simply not needed.

Well yes although everyone has probably been accused at one time or another!

03-06-2019, 09:35 AM
I've heard that parts of Edinburgh have never recovered. Single-handedly ended Collin's career too.

I've performed my penance and recited 100 'Hail Sauzees,' I just hope that society is ready to move on. 😔

I'm afraid it's not quite as easy as that.

"You sh*g one sheep ..."

03-06-2019, 09:47 AM

Sounds like the sort of thing an undercover Hearts fan would post.

03-06-2019, 09:53 AM
Sounds like the sort of thing an undercover Hearts fan would post.

To be fair to him, he's a professional.

He goes to all the Hibs games, home and away, and spends hours on this message board building his cover.

He's a yam, alright. Hidden in plain sight.

03-06-2019, 10:31 AM

I'm a better man now.

**** me, talk about changed days. I think you'd have to actually assault a Hibs player to get banned these days.

Lincoln Green
03-06-2019, 10:57 AM
Maybe long standing members don't post now because when they do they get called a lurker or even an undercover yam?

Hibees of over 40 years might get a tad pissed off at that?

To be fair at least my account has never been deleted on here unlike the bounce.

03-06-2019, 11:04 AM
Maybe long standing members don't post now because when they do they get called a lurker or even an undercover yam?

Hibees of over 40 years might get a tad pissed off at that?

To be fair at least my account has never been deleted on here unlike the bounce.

80 posts in 17 years must be a record, mate :greengrin

Lincoln Green
03-06-2019, 11:05 AM
80 posts in 17 years must be a record, mate :greengrin

Quality not quantity.

03-06-2019, 11:07 AM
Quality not quantity.

03-06-2019, 11:07 AM

Or accused of being a troll for having the cheek to post a somewhat unpopular opinion or prediction that ends up being true anyway 😂

03-06-2019, 11:09 AM
Or accused of being a troll for having the cheek to post a somewhat unpopular opinion or prediction that ends up being true anyway 😂

:troll:

03-06-2019, 11:09 AM
Filled Rolls fancied himself as a comedian, but wasn’t as funny as he thought he was.

03-06-2019, 11:12 AM
I think it made a big difference when it became more accessible on mobile devices, I think when people mainly accessed the site with a keyboard they took more time over posts and gave longer, more considered responses.

Twitter, along with posting from mobiles, means that everything is done quicker and often with less thought put into it.

That said, I'd still discuss Hibs on here ahead of anywhere else, including twitter or the facebook groups, every day of the week. I'm very proud of this site, and think we're very fortunate to have the user base that we do.

03-06-2019, 11:17 AM
I think it made a big difference when it became more accessible on mobile devices, I think when people mainly accessed the site with a keyboard they took more time over posts and gave longer, more considered responses.

Twitter, along with posting from mobiles, means that everything is done quicker and often with less thought put into it.

That said, I'd still discuss Hibs on here ahead of anywhere else, including twitter or the facebook groups, every day of the week. I'm very proud of this site, and think we're very fortunate to have the user base that we do.

You could be right there. Perhaps posting style has changed with the maximum 200 characters era. I don't do Twitter, Snap Chat etc, but the young yins (twenties) have been brought up with it. Those of us old enough to remember dial up are ancient and out of the loop :greengrin

03-06-2019, 11:18 AM

Yes, a lot of truth in that. Getting home from games and having your tea before logging on, by which time anger after an inept performance had subsided a little. Now it’s as soon as the final whistle goes and even during the games itself. Thankfully the bad ones have been fewer in recent years but when it does kick off it can be quite a toxic forum for a couple of hours or so.
Still the best place to discuss and debate all things Hibs. Can’t imaging trying to do it on the Facebook groups instead - dreadful pages.

03-06-2019, 11:24 AM
Yes, a lot of truth in that. Getting home from games and having your tea before logging on, by which time anger after an inept performance had subsided a little. Now it’s as soon as the final whistle goes and even during the games itself. Thankfully the bad ones have been fewer in recent years but when it does kick off it can be quite a toxic forum for a couple of hours or so.
Still the best place to discuss and debate all things Hibs. Can’t imaging trying to do it on the Facebook groups instead - dreadful pages.

By far. .net is the only interactive platform I use now.

03-06-2019, 11:32 AM
I think the tone of many exchanges has become too much like Twitter tbh. Too much (over)reacting, instant hitting out, needless sarcasm and undermining others over the most trivial of statements. IMHO. That’s a change for the worse. That’s just how I see it and I know it’s not just me that thinks this either. DBS mentioned a shelf life. I’ve been on here for 20 years. Maybe mine has come and gone. Either way, I don’t post or even visit anything like as much as I used to.

Yep spot on. Some of the over-reactions on here to having what vaguely passes for an opinion are enough to put folk right off posting. Bad enough on the PM board so I hardly post much on the MB.

03-06-2019, 11:34 AM
Yep spot on. Some of the over-reactions on here to having what vaguely passes for an opinion are enough to put folk right off posting. Bad enough on the PM board so I hardly post much on the MB.

We don't have as many funny threads these days either.

The Blame Rod Petrie and Calendar Threads were good fun.

The most recent one that was similar was the Hearts Cup DVD one, but there's definitely a drop in the amount of humour on the site.

I think Pedantic is culpable here, if he posted more often we'd get more laughs.

03-06-2019, 11:43 AM
Quite enjoy people posting in a state of rage after a few beers post match after a disappointing result and then going awol for a few days 😁

03-06-2019, 11:43 AM
Could it be that some posters who have been more prolific in their time are posting less due to a sentiment of déjà vu - that often threads end up us reruns of others prviously posted numerous times and we end up going round in circles?

For example, currently on the main forum we have

New strip - bottle or dark green, collars, white shorts green shorts, purple/yellow/black change strip, why the need for a 3rd kit, etc. It's the same every season

European cup/CL winners to haave played for Hibs - been done

Celtic's poaching - we've been speaking about the ugly sisters doing this for years

McGeouch - again, has been discussed plenty both during and after his time at ER

Grant Holt - ditto McGeouch

Hearts/Levein medals - good fun but already done

I'm in no way criticising those who started these threads nor those who have contributed. For example, Holt brings out a book, it's news and there's Hibs content so it's normal that there's a thread, but then we get into whether Holt was decent or not, should we have kept him, etc. It's not surprising that those who voiced their opinions on Grant Holt in numerous relatively recent threads can't be bothered doing so again.

03-06-2019, 11:45 AM
Quality not quantity.

Don't overdo it now.

03-06-2019, 11:53 AM
I thought he’d just changed his username!

Yeah Scouse is Silent Boatman now. Still here and posting.

03-06-2019, 11:53 AM
Quite enjoy people posting in a state of rage after a few beers post match after a disappointing result and then going awol for a few days 😁

We've all been there. Very embarrassing the next day, but we're all human and sometimes you just have to get it off your chest.

03-06-2019, 11:58 AM
We've all been there. Very embarrassing the next day, but we're all human and sometimes you just have to get it off your chest.

Agree done it myself

Always difficult to back track from saying something controversial in the heat of the moment while frustrated and under the influence

Never post whilst pished

Still funny though 😁

03-06-2019, 12:00 PM
Could it be that some posters who have been more prolific in their time are posting less due to a sentiment of déjà vu - that often threads end up us reruns of others prviously posted numerous times and we end up going round in circles?

For example, currently on the main forum we have

New strip - bottle or dark green, collars, white shorts green shorts, purple/yellow/black change strip, why the need for a 3rd kit, etc. It's the same every season

European cup/CL winners to haave played for Hibs - been done

Celtic's poaching - we've been speaking about the ugly sisters doing this for years

McGeouch - again, has been discussed plenty both during and after his time at ER

Grant Holt - ditto McGeouch

Hearts/Levein medals - good fun but already done

I'm in no way criticising those who started these threads nor those who have contributed. For example, Holt brings out a book, it's news and there's Hibs content so it's normal that there's a thread, but then we get into whether Holt was decent or not, should we have kept him, etc. It's not surprising that those who voiced their opinions on Grant Holt in numerous relatively recent threads can't be bothered doing so again.

When is the Leigh signing thread starting?

03-06-2019, 12:02 PM
Filled Rolls fancied himself as a comedian, but wasn’t as funny as he thought he was.

Agree and there’s plenty others still posting who aren’t content just to talk Hibs and football in general ... they try to create a persona or something that makes them stand out and it’s rarely anything other than a bit annoying. Being a dry wit or appearing to have some kind of vague inside knowledge (not necessarily someone claiming to be ‘ITK’) are quite common.

03-06-2019, 12:08 PM

I don’t think it’s embarrassing at all. It’s what makes football so great imo. Give me the raw passion of the emotional outburst over the dull, boring and sanitised measured response every day of the week

03-06-2019, 12:15 PM
I don’t think it’s embarrassing at all. It’s what makes football so great imo. Give me the raw passion of the emotional outburst over the dull, boring and sanitised measured response every day of the week

Shut yer ******* puss ya ******* ******!

03-06-2019, 12:24 PM
Don't overdo it now.

03-06-2019, 12:25 PM

Yam

03-06-2019, 12:26 PM
I've thought for a couple of weeks that Gail is back under a new nom de plume......

Also a female name?

03-06-2019, 12:28 PM

The difference is no mods on Twitter, Facebook etc.

03-06-2019, 12:32 PM
it doesn't help when posters get accused of being a hearts fan for simply disagreeing with a post or not sticking the boot into hearts when it is simply not needed.

ltyf

03-06-2019, 01:16 PM
I joined when the East stand was getting built because I wanted to see the photos that Doddie was posting and I had to make an account to see them.

EDIT: It was actually Disc ‘O Dave that posted the photos

03-06-2019, 01:28 PM
I joined when the East stand was getting built because I wanted to see the photos that Doddie was posting and I had to make an account to see them.

Mind the live webcam that was on the official site when it was being re-developed? Yes, I was sad enough to take numerous looks :greengrin

03-06-2019, 01:32 PM
Whatever happened to Lennons Lip? 😁

03-06-2019, 01:33 PM
Whatever happened to Lennons Lip? 😁

Has he left/been emptied?

03-06-2019, 01:35 PM
Mind the live webcam that was on the official site when it was being re-developed? Yes, I was sad enough to take numerous looks :greengrin

I completely forgot that! Yes, I checked it almost every day :greengrin

03-06-2019, 01:37 PM
His name sake left by mutual consent 😂

03-06-2019, 01:47 PM

goes by Heckys Halo now

03-06-2019, 01:50 PM
goes by Heckys Halo now

From what I saw of him, he seemed a decent guy. What happened there?

03-06-2019, 01:55 PM
Agree and there’s plenty others still posting who aren’t content just to talk Hibs and football in general ... they try to create a persona or something that makes them stand out and it’s rarely anything other than a bit annoying. Being a dry wit or appearing to have some kind of vague inside knowledge (not necessarily someone claiming to be ‘ITK’) are quite common.

Few and far between are the 'ITK' now a days.

03-06-2019, 02:02 PM

From what I saw of him, he seemed a decent guy. What happened there?

iirc one of his last posts were indicating a name change, maybe couldn't do it so opened a new account instead :greengrin but, just wait until england next play and posters mention ABE and he will be on lecturing us all how wrong we are to not want success for our southern neighbours....the mask will slip :)

03-06-2019, 02:02 PM
Few and far between are the 'ITK' now a days.

Whatever happened to The Cat?

03-06-2019, 02:05 PM
Whatever happened to The Cat?
IIRC he was hounded off here by some posters who have been on here long enough to get away with trolling and bullying

03-06-2019, 02:08 PM
IIRC he was hounded off here by some posters who have been on here long enough to get away with trolling and bullying

03-06-2019, 02:16 PM

I really hope not. He was a very good forum member.

03-06-2019, 02:22 PM
I agree with Peevemore, the longer you've been on here the more you see the same threads and discussions happening over and over again and the less engaged you become in it.

I also quite often find myself typing up replies to posts and then changing my mind halfway through and scrapping it as its not worth the bother. Sometimes trying to have a discussion on here can feel like p*ssing in the wind, particularly after a bad result or during things like the Lennon sacking this year.

I would also say that a lot of "established posters" will have been here for a number of years and life has probably got in the way of them posting as frequently as time goes on.