View Full Version : Good luck Super John McGinn
27-05-2019, 04:03 PM
How much is this worth to Villa?
The fact that Sky keep focusing on McGinn tells you just how highly thought of he is in England. I wouldnt be surprised if a bigger club move for him in the summer.
we get another 300k if SJM waves to the bald headed parasite
Villa fan on twitter - "we prefer Harry anyway to that bald twat" :greengrin
Chuffed tae bits for him, not only has he made us a few boab hes a great guy.
27-05-2019, 04:04 PM
McGinn motm on Villa twitter
Chris Wilder says SJM best midfielder in the Championship and will grace the Premier League.
Keith Andrews says he’s been out of this world all season.
Chris Wilder says SJM best midfielder in the Championship and will grace the Premier League.
Keith Andrews says he’s been out of this world all season.
Oh who am I kidding. £50m.
How much are we due to receive, anyone know?
“Out of this world” according to the pundits.
Derby is a place that is full of Huns by the way. Rotten with them.
Grealish salutes SJM!
https://twitter.com/SkyFootball/status/1133040475273875456
27-05-2019, 04:05 PM
So.. Anyone going to come in and bid £40M for him?
OxoHibby
SJM showing he's the only One in the squad practised in lifting a cup😀
Grealish salutes SJM!
https://twitter.com/SkyFootball/status/1133040475273875456
Quoted him earlier. Great words, they’re best mates apparently.
27-05-2019, 04:06 PM
Delighted for McGinn, but I just hope this supposed payday for the club isn't wishful thinking on our part.
The papers are all reporting it.
Petrie was robbed!
Delighted for McGinn, but I just hope this supposed payday for the club isn't wishful thinking on our part.
Steve Bruce said he'd seen the contract and that the clauses were some of the most hefty he'd seen
27-05-2019, 04:07 PM
“Out of this world” according to the pundits.
Derby is a place that is full of Huns by the way. Rotten with them.
I defer to an ex St Pats boy and his ability to sniff out a hun:agree:
27-05-2019, 04:08 PM
Think Villa will do quite well in the top division, got a good mix of players
On the evidence of the play off games I have seen,I don’t. They will need to strengthen big time in my opinion.
Petrie was robbed!
It would be the first time - whatever criticism RP gets it shouldn't be for contract negotiations. He seems to represent Hibs very well in that area....
McGinn in the Premiership.
https://youtu.be/mBS0OWGUidc
Steve Bruce said he'd seen the contract and that the clauses were some of the most hefty he'd seen
I bet they are.
For all his faults, Rod is a hell of a poker player :greengrin
How much is this worth to Villa?
The fact that Sky keep focusing on McGinn tells you just how highly thought of he is in England. I wouldnt be surprised if a bigger club move for him in the summer.
They just said it's worth £170m to Villa with this win.
27-05-2019, 04:09 PM
Heft. That sounds good. He's always had plenty of heft.
27-05-2019, 04:09 PM
Another wee amusing aside, the muppets on FF are seething at the Villa result as they were cheering on Derby and their former hero, Waghorn. Life’s a bitch. :greengrin
ben johnson
27-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Hibs foresight in obtaining a promotion clause in the McGinn transfer deal has gone down well with one fan
I believe there is a lone Hibs fan clapping on the mezzanine / plaza / car park at the back of the West
Happy for Aston Villa; a club that size should always play in the top division. Heartbreak for Derby, but they are also a big club and can keep improving.
I defer to an ex St Pats boy and his ability to sniff out a hun:agree:
They never take much sniffing out really my old friend from over the wall. :greengrin
McGinn motm on Villa twitter
Fully deserved. The fact the commentators are gushing praise says it all.
banarc7062
27-05-2019, 04:11 PM
Derby could have has a couple of goals in the last 5 minutes.
BUT THEY DID NOT :thumbsup:
Villa got themselves a massive bargain and they know it. The least they can do is chuck in a couple of loan players gratis, on top of the promotion bonus.
Silversand
27-05-2019, 04:12 PM
Steve Bruce said he'd seen the contract and that the clauses were some of the most hefty he'd seenPetrie!
[emoji16]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
27-05-2019, 04:12 PM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/applications/core/interface/imageproxy/imageproxy.php?img=https://media1.tenor.com/images/e397480de734fc500b734b32e4fee09d/tenor.gif?itemid=7976782&key=c4c9e51f01123fe8685dbb301a19c725910949b2bedbfa 46f0abadfddf2db0bc
27-05-2019, 04:13 PM
Hibs foresight in obtaining a promotion clause in the McGinn transfer deal has gone down well with one fan
I believe there is a lone Hibs fan clapping on the mezzanine / plaza / car park at the back of the West
I can hear one clapping in his hoose in Texas anaw......
Villa got themselves a massive bargain and they know it. The least they can do is chuck in a couple of loan players gratis, on top of the promotion bonus.
Thought we’d have got a cheeky pre season at Villa Park.
Would have loved that.
Petrie!
[emoji16]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Disgusting I know, because let's face it, he and Farmer will be pocketing 90% of that money for themselves
27-05-2019, 04:14 PM
Disgusting I know, because let's face it, he and Farmer will be pocketing 90% of that money for themselves
And stealing the rest on top of a 10% commission ....
27-05-2019, 04:15 PM
Villa fans claiming McGinn is the bargain of the century.
They love him.
It was like old times on here reading a match thread with someone saying SJM had been poor. Best player on the park just like he was in the 2nd West Brom game. Boy is an absolute beast of a player and everyone else can see it except clueless Celtic fans and a small minority of Hibs fans.
It must be enough to fill in the corners, put in a helipad and make it a free bar for everyone.
27-05-2019, 04:16 PM
Cigar smoke spotted wofting out a window of West stand...
27-05-2019, 04:16 PM
How much are we due to receive, anyone know?
£1.5m+ to the Hibees was the figure banded about. A decent amount if true.
27-05-2019, 04:17 PM
:hyper
That would be braw!
Even if it's as little as 300k it helps towards getting McNulty and/or Omeonga back so all good
It would be the first time - whatever criticism RP gets it shouldn't be for contract negotiations. He seems to represent Hibs very well in that area....
I should have added a smilie to my post. I am an RP fan.
BlackSheep
I’d heard upwards of that... who knows... only Hibs and Villa... and Steve Bruce apparently
27-05-2019, 04:18 PM
I hope you are right!
That’s an incredible sum of cash!
27-05-2019, 04:18 PM
The commentators talking about how well Villa done in spotting SJM. We could have guaranteed he’d be one of the best players in that league or their money back. They didn’t spot anything, the guy was too good for that league when he left us, never mind now. He’s off where he belongs, the top level of football.
27-05-2019, 04:19 PM
I should have added a smilie to my post. I am an RP fan.
Sorry mate - I didn't think otherwise. I was just defending RP too......
I can see a huge European club offering silly money for SJM.
The commentators talking about how well Villa done in spotting SJM. We could have guaranteed he’d be one of the best players in that league or their money back. They didn’t spot anything, the guy was too good for that league when he left us, never mind now. He’s off where he belongs, the top level of football.
Already a full international who got MOTM on his Scotland debut
Sky presenter: “cost just £2.5M - can times that by ten now”
Graylish giving SJM a massive chuck up
“2.5m, the bargain of the season”.
hibby rae
27-05-2019, 04:20 PM
What flavour MD 20 20 will SJM be on tonight then?
27-05-2019, 04:20 PM
John McGinn "we're going to get steaming" 😂
27-05-2019, 04:21 PM
What flavour MD 20 20 will SJM be on tonight then?
All of them :greengrin
27-05-2019, 04:21 PM
Sky presenter: “cost just £2.5M - can times that by ten now”
The tache's stauner can be seen across town. :greengrin
27-05-2019, 04:22 PM
The real question is. How many times more than Hearts Football Club is SJM worth?
27-05-2019, 04:22 PM
27-05-2019, 04:23 PM
derby made it one helluva final :rolleyes:
aye for a whole 10 mins
Shades of Saturday.
A warm congratulations to John McGinn! Well done mate, you more than deserve it.
27-05-2019, 04:23 PM
Speculating wildly, I could see the logic in Villa agreeing to a fair chunk of cash based on them getting promoted. Its the kind of clause you'd be happy to have in as you'd be getting a £170m cash injection, so what is 1% of that to Hibs?
27-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Heckingbotton will be knocking on Petrie’s & Dempster's door now for some of that cash.
😁
Speculating wildly, I could see the logic in Villa agreeing to a fair chunk of cash based on them getting promoted. Its the kind of clause you'd be happy to have in as you'd be getting a £170m cash injection, so what is 1% of that to Hibs?
Should be 10%. They’d still have a bargain.
I wonder if with all these supposed clauses SJM will end up overtaking Brown as our most profitable player sale.
hibby rae
27-05-2019, 04:25 PM
emmmm £1.7m
27-05-2019, 04:26 PM
Wonder if there'll be a solo clapper cutting around in Derby?
27-05-2019, 04:28 PM
On the evidence of the play off games I have seen,I don’t. They will need to strengthen big time in my opinion.
They have obvious strengths and clear deficiencies, which makes it easier for them.
If all of their players were ok and they needed to replace everyone with something a bit better then it would be trickier.
27-05-2019, 04:28 PM
Wonder if there'll be a solo clapper cutting around in Derby?
This has legs :greengrin:greengrin
jax67
27-05-2019, 04:29 PM
Congratulations SJM. A season away and still taking care of the Hibees.💚👌
jakedance
27-05-2019, 04:30 PM
There must be a few clubs and scouts regretting not putting a bid in for John. I’m sure they were aware enough of him and the kind of money he’d be sold for. I couldn’t believe at the time there wasn’t more interest so it’s great to see our love for SJM is validated.
27-05-2019, 04:31 PM
Some pundit on Sky Sports - "I know there's some big clubs looking at John McGinn".
27-05-2019, 04:32 PM
Leroy Rosenior: “I know that big clubs are looking at John McGinn, with good reason”
Someone from sky said the big clubs are looking at buying McGinn.
27-05-2019, 04:34 PM
Looking forward to us losing a game early next season and threads appearing about ''where is the ****ing McGinn money''
Some pundit on Sky Sports - "I know there's some big clubs looking at John McGinn".
That can only mean one of the big six. Tottenham/Arsenal maybe?
"John McGinn owned Wembley today".
27-05-2019, 04:35 PM
Leroy Rosenior: “I know that big clubs are looking at John McGinn, with good reason”
I am sure the lesser greens were interested last year...maybe they can have another check in the biscuit tin and make a cheeky bid?
27-05-2019, 04:35 PM
As Dr Evil would say, ONE HUNDRED BILLION DOLLARS!
27-05-2019, 04:36 PM
I was thinking more the likes of Everton, maybe. Were they not credited with an interest before?
27-05-2019, 04:37 PM
Pundits unanimous in their praise and belief that he’s purpose built for the EPL.
So with the suggested £1-2m add on fee we may receive from Villas promotion, we have ended this fine bank holiday weekend pocketing more then the jumbos did from their Hampden appearance.
lol.
Celtic must be absolutely spewing right now. Hahaha
I am sure the lesser greens were interested last year...maybe they can have another check in the biscuit tin and make a cheeky bid?
I remember Celtic fans and the Scottish commentariat last year - "Hibs should be grateful to get £1.5 million from Celtic. He'll be a squad player if he's lucky".
27-05-2019, 04:38 PM
McGinn would be a revelation in that Arsenal midfield. Don’t think he’d look out of place at Tottenham either when the likes of Dier get a game.
All of hibs is behind you John.
Used to watch villa when I worked down there, was the European Cup winning team.
I've followed them ever since Des Brenner went there & won the European Cup,
scooby
27-05-2019, 04:41 PM
They should be paying us 10% of the 170m, he was an absolute steal.
Well done SJM we're all proud of you 💚
hibby rae
27-05-2019, 04:43 PM
Someone from sky said the big clubs are looking at buying McGinn.
Celtic must be preparing their £1.5m bid in installments as we speak.
27-05-2019, 04:44 PM
I've followed them ever since See Brenner went there & won the European Cup,
Don't remember him :greengrin
27-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Celtic must be preparing their £1.5m bid in installments as we speak.
Remember their fans - we'll let him run down his contract, then we'll get him for nowt. :greengrin
27-05-2019, 04:45 PM
McGinn would be a revelation in that Arsenal midfield. Don’t think he’d look out of place at Tottenham either when the likes of Dier get a game.
Think thats a bit of an exageration, he's a bit away from walking into Arsenals side.
I've edit & your not that young surely 😊
27-05-2019, 04:46 PM
Think thats a bit of an exageration, he's a bit away from walking into Arsenals side.
I see Arsenal on the telly every week and no, he really isn't.
27-05-2019, 04:47 PM
Austrian I think - great passer. :wink:
I remember Celtic fans and the Scottish commentariat last year - "Hibs should be grateful to get £1.5 million from Celtic. He'll be a squad player if he's lucky".
:greengrin Celtic going backwards as SJM passing them in the fast lane, without looking back. He's beyond their price range now and has a proper footballing career ahead of him.
As I said on another thread a few weeks back, he would walk into the Man Utd midfield no problem at the moment.
27-05-2019, 04:48 PM
I've edit & your not that young surely 😊
You might want to go edit it a second time and get his last name fixed then ya daft old goat :greengrin
SJM wouldn't look out of place in the Arsenal team. Infact i think he'd improve it.
I see Arsenal on the telly every week and no, he really isn't.
He really is. Blinkers off, still plenty to prove. After next season we'll see.
27-05-2019, 04:50 PM
Disagree, he’s maybe not as good on the ball as the likes of Xhaka, but Arsenal are still soft. Admittedly with a woeful defence, but they are still very brittle in the middle of the park. McGinn has all the attributes they need and have done for years, energy, drive, dig etc etc.
I see a lot of parallels between McGinn and Andy Robertson.
27-05-2019, 04:50 PM
The other good thing about Villa going up is, they are likely to go after Ryan Kent, means he won’t be back at Rangers
You might want to go edit it a second time and get his last name fixed then ya daft old goat :greengrin
I hoped all you young ones wouldn't spot it, oh well, use to live round the corner from me in his Hibs days, great lad.:agree:
27-05-2019, 04:51 PM
He really is. Blinkers off, still plenty to prove. After next season we'll see.
No blinkers here mate. Complete dispassion from me watching English footie, I don't have a favorite. I'm looking at Arsenal through critical eyes, not at SJM with green coloured specs....
27-05-2019, 04:52 PM
If i was one of the big clubs I'd be seriously looking at SJM. Must be a managers dream that boy. Wonder if he's still in Leicesters price bracket now.
Disagree, he’s maybe not as good on the ball as the likes of Xhaka, but Arsenal are still soft. Admittedly with a woeful defence, but they are still very brittle in the middle of the park. McGinn has all the attributes they need and have done for years, energy, drive, dig etc etc.
I see a lot of parallels between McGinn and Andy Robertson.
Torriera gives exactly that and is better and younger than Mcginn. Arsenal are soft at the back, their midfield isn't actually that bad and they'd need a better player than McGinn to improve it. He would be a good replacement for Ramsay but he wouldn't walk into the side when even Ramsay and Ozil haven't been nailed on starts.
Ok let’s not go overboard here, he’s not a top 6 in the premier league player. That’s not saying he won’t be, but not yet.
Team I could see him going to is Leicester with Rodgers however not this season anyone as I think he will show loyalty and stay with Villa.
Unless of course it’s a ridiculous offer and villa want the money which I doubt.
27-05-2019, 04:54 PM
Liverpool.
27-05-2019, 04:56 PM
Torriera gives exactly that and is better and younger than Mcginn. Arsenal are soft at the back, their midfield isn't actually that bad and they'd need a better player than McGinn to improve it. He would be a good replacement for Ramsay but he wouldn't walk into the side when even Ramsay and Ozil haven't been nailed on starts.
It's Ozil's lack of workrate off the ball that landed him on the bench, not a criticism that could be thrown at McGinn. As you said we will see, but I think you are wrong....
27-05-2019, 04:56 PM
It's Ozil's lack of workrate off the ball that landed him on the bench, not a criticism that could be thrown at McGinn. As you said we will see, but I think you are wrong....
And its Ozils world class technically ability that makes him a much better player than McGinn.
27-05-2019, 04:57 PM
I hope he stays at villa for at least another season.
27-05-2019, 05:01 PM
And its Ozils world class technically ability that makes him a much better player than McGinn.
Still can't get him a game for Arsenal. I'll be amazed if Ozil is still there at the end of the window, it's crystal clear that Emery wants him gone, Ozil doesn't fit with his game plan....
27-05-2019, 05:03 PM
Still can't get him a game for Arsenal. I'll be amazed if Ozil is still there at the end of the window, it's crystal clear that Emery wants him gone, Ozil doesn't fit with his game plan....
That is true, he doesn't fit the managers style. He isn't going to be rushing out to get McGinn as a replacement though. He's not even the mostly likely Aston Villa player to replace Ozil.
Wednesday is Arsenals most important game in years, I'll be pretty shocked if Ozil doesn't start it.
27-05-2019, 05:04 PM
McGinn is not good enough for Arsenal or Spurs or any of the big 6 in the EPL. Rogers night take him at Leicester though.
27-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Ozil is of course a much much better player than McGinn, but talent only gets you so far. The likes of Darren Fletcher show there is more to being a top player than technical ability. I think McGinn would considerably improve the likes of Arsenal or a Man U. He would improve the team and make them greater than the sum of their parts while not necessarily being as good as some of the players on paper.
27-05-2019, 05:06 PM
McGinn is not good enough for Arsenal or Spurs or any of the big 6 in the EPL. Rogers night take him at Leicester though.
Everton 👍
27-05-2019, 05:08 PM
Winning goal in a Wembley play off, POTY, heading for the EPL, we get a big old fat cheque and Hearts lost in a final. Carlsberg, I love your weekends.....
John McGinn "we're going to get steaming" 😂
Full line is -
'"We'll get steaming," joked John McGinn - aye, he's joking .................
This has legs :greengrin:greengrin
Agree - and with the holiday season coming-up I can see photos of Hibees on their hols clapping their pub/hotel/topless-woman ..............
27-05-2019, 05:08 PM
Everton 👍
Thats the type of club I could see him at, Leicester, Everton or Newcastle etc.
Lee Marvin
27-05-2019, 05:10 PM
Thats the type of club I could see him at, Leicester, Everton or Newcastle etc.
None of which are bigger than villa.
27-05-2019, 05:12 PM
I can see McGinn ending up a Liverpool player. He is the kind of player their fans love and their club associates themselves with. Of course he still has a way to go before that, but he could be a good replacement for players like Milner. He has the drive to make it to the top.
How lucky we were to have him for as long as we did and to watch him lift the Scottish Cup.
27-05-2019, 05:13 PM
Ozil is of course a much much better player than McGinn, but talent only gets you so far. The likes of Darren Fletcher show there is more to being a top player than technical ability. I think McGinn would considerably improve the likes of Arsenal or a Man U. He would improve the team and make them greater than the sum of their parts while not necessarily being as good as some of the players on paper.
That situation reminds me of when Man United signed Roy Keane from Forest. Wasn't a Robson or Ince but offered dig and drive. The rest is history. Would be amazed if the big clubs weren't looking at him.
27-05-2019, 05:14 PM
The whole is greater than the sum of its parts though HC. Great teams need players who may not appear to be 'world beaters' per se, but provide the platform for said players to showcase their talent. SJM has an abundance of energy, skill, and enthusiasm and lifts a side at important periods in games (and the crowd). That's invaluable.
Andy Robertson, Victor Wanyama, and Van Dyk have proved they can play (regularly) in top 3 sides and none of them you would have said two/three years ago would be in Champions League finals.
For example, I don't think on his own Jordan Henderson is a world class player, but he's a crucial part of a world class side who improves year on year. Aaron Ramsay likewise.
27-05-2019, 05:15 PM
It's only a stupid bleeding whistle!
27-05-2019, 05:16 PM
None of which are bigger than villa.
Disagree, all 3 are established EPL clubs, only really Newcastle struggled the season. Villa on the other hand are a yo yo team.
27-05-2019, 05:17 PM
Disagree, all 3 are established EPL clubs, only really Newcastle struggled the season. Villa on the other hand are a yo yo team.
Newcastle are a yo-yo club.
PeeKay
27-05-2019, 05:19 PM
SJM certainly leading the way, but a great weekend for the McGinn family all round.
27-05-2019, 05:20 PM
Hope he stays at Villa. I'm an Everton fan and would love him to play there but why would he leave Villa unless it was one of the top 6 clubs? And folk asking about going to Leicester, seriously? Why would he do that. Definite step backwards in terms of size of club and potential.
He is now officially my favourite Hibs player ever. Has overtaken Ally McLeod and Des Bremner, ironically another Hibs/Villa legend
27-05-2019, 05:22 PM
Hope he stays at Villa. I'm an Everton fan and would love him to play there but why would he leave Villa unless it was one of the top 6 clubs? And folk asking about going to Leicester, seriously? Why would he do that. Definite step backwards in terms of size of club and potential.
He is now officially my favourite Hibs player ever. Has overtaken Ally McLeod and Des Bremner, ironically another Hibs/Villa legend
Ally McLeod? Are you drunk? :greengrin
27-05-2019, 05:22 PM
Still one of my favourite players :aok::agree:
27-05-2019, 05:26 PM
Bit like Ally most games he played :greengrin he was a cracking player.
27-05-2019, 05:26 PM
High on life after watching Super John get what he deserves and earning Hibs more cash😀😀. Ally was a genius, just not a very fast or hard working one.
27-05-2019, 05:34 PM
One things for sure .. Mcginns next move will be for big money , thankfully we will get a slice of it..
27-05-2019, 05:41 PM
High on life after watching Super John get what he deserves and earning Hibs more cash😀😀. Ally was a genius, just not a very fast or hard working one.
Would love to see his penalty stats - always reliable from the spot :aok:
sadtom
27-05-2019, 05:49 PM
Villa a 'yoyo team'?!?!
Possibly the most inaccurate comment i've read on here.
When they got relegated a few years ago it was the 1st time for 30 years.
Only Everton have spent more seasons in the top flight than Villa.
Why would he take a step down to Leicester ?
27-05-2019, 05:59 PM
A step down? :confused:
27-05-2019, 06:00 PM
One things for sure .. Mcginns next move will be for big money , thankfully we will get a slice of it..
I don't think the Villa owners would sell SJM.
They turned down £ 40 million for Grealish at the beginning of the season .
27-05-2019, 06:01 PM
Villa are a bigger club, and he won’t leave them this summer, but I reckon Leicester will do well under Rodgers.
Next season could be a struggle for Villa. They’ve got a lot of work to do to be competitive in the Premier League IMO.
27-05-2019, 06:04 PM
Think there are a number of criteria one can apply to saying who a big club is and isn’t.
Villa have it in terms of history, fan base and the fact they pocketed a European Cup. Growing up, Villa always felt like a big team in England perhaps helped by the fact that Villa Park was almost always a neutral venture for the FA Cup semi-finals.
Leicester have their recent success to point to, Newcastle are undoubtedly big in terms of fan base and infrastructure. Everton went through a spell of being amongst the best of the teams outside the top few.
For me, out of that four, then Villa are the ‘biggest’ followed by Everton, then Newcastle, then Leicester.
27-05-2019, 06:17 PM
Leicester's infrastructure is incredible. They're building the best training complex and academy in Europe and are owned by billionaires. They'll be major players again very soon under a great manager.
Todi114
27-05-2019, 06:38 PM
Winner 2 Hampden finals and Wembley man of the match
one word LEGEND
27-05-2019, 06:40 PM
I hope he stays at villa for at least another season.
I agree. Best for the player and best for us. They sell this summer and he'll be a £25m player. 1 good season in the EPL and that could jump to £40m+.
If he's as settled down there as he seems stay put for another year and see how Villa do and then who comes calling.
Cardinal G
27-05-2019, 06:44 PM
Agree totally, could definetly see him at Arsenal or perhaps Liverpool, he's going to go onto the next level that's for sure, Grealish post match interview shows how much other players appreciate him. Like a proud father I love seeing John doing so well.
27-05-2019, 06:45 PM
I agree. Best for the player and best for us. They sell this summer and he'll be a £25m player. 1 good season in the EPL and that could jump to £40m+.
If he's as settled down there as he seems stay put for another year and see how Villa do and then who comes calling.
That’s how I see it. I’d love to see him do well for villa in the premiership. I’ve always had a soft spot for villa. A good season will add millions to his value and could easily see us get more for a sell on fee than we did for the original transfer.
shetlandhibee
27-05-2019, 06:56 PM
IMO villa will offer him a more lucrative contract(with extension) in the comeing weeks :agree:
pontius pilate
27-05-2019, 06:58 PM
I reckon a decent season for villa as a whole ie mid table the imo Grealish and Sjm will move on for alot more than Maddison went for I rate the two of them more than Maddison
Cardinal G
27-05-2019, 06:58 PM
Big Shout that, ahead of our hero Ally but your right, love John, feel like I said elsewhere like a proud father watching him progress.
27-05-2019, 07:01 PM
£30m to Lerner. 3 year promotion payout agreed in the takeover.
27-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Life must be pretty exciting being John McGinn right now. Personally, I'd have been happy just running out for Hibs but there you go. :greengrin
27-05-2019, 07:51 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2019/may/27/bargain-john-mcginn-proves-worth-aston-villa-promotion
Imagine being John McGinn.
LustForLeith
27-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Apologies is this has been mentioned but if he signs for another club in the summer do we get a percentage of that money and also the money for Villa bring promoted?
27-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Absolutely delighted for John. A true hibs legend that deserves all the success in the world. Absolutely cracking player, can't wait to watch him in the PL next season.
Celtic must be absolutely SPEWING that they missed out on him by tryna play funny buggers with the money. They even tried to console themselves with "awck well didn't want him anyway, he wouldn't get into our starting 11". Well that turned out to be a lot of *****, they were honkin on Saturday and crying out for a player like McGinn.
27-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Apologies is this has been mentioned but if he signs for another club in the summer do we get a percentage of that money and also the money for Villa bring promoted?
Yes if there is a clause for both.
27-05-2019, 08:10 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2019/may/27/bargain-john-mcginn-proves-worth-aston-villa-promotion
Imagine being John McGinn.
Great read and brilliant to see SJM being written up by an English football writer, it will raise his profile. Good to see Grealish getting plaudits too, he and McGinn just seem to have hit it off playing alongside each other. Grealish will always get attention down south as a possible England cap and it won’t hurt McGinn to be linked to him.
Was in a pub today with a few Villa fans and to be fair, they love Grealish but it was all about McGinn for them, they love him.
LustForLeith
27-05-2019, 08:13 PM
Was it Steve Bruce who signed both Andy Robertson and John McGinn from Scottish teams?
DetroitHibs
27-05-2019, 08:14 PM
Just look at the lad McTominay at Man Utd. McGinn is head and shoulders better than him.
27-05-2019, 08:18 PM
SJM certainly leading the way, but a great weekend for the McGinn family all round.
Apart from Jack and the Celtic family.
They lost 1-0 on Saturday according to Andy Hallidays Twitter 😭
27-05-2019, 08:19 PM
I went to Villa games for a few years when Tony Daley played. I wish I could go to a few games next season - McGinn and Grealish are a great pair to watch.
Nice if Hibs collect a bonus too.
27-05-2019, 08:19 PM
Was it Steve Bruce who signed both Andy Robertson and John McGinn from Scottish teams?
Yes. Signed at the same time as Harry McGuire.
27-05-2019, 08:23 PM
What I love about McGinn is his general enthusiasm for football. With a lot of player you know it's just a job for them but when you see McGinn going mental after he scored today you can just tell he'd be doing exactly the same if he scored in a Sunday league mid table game.
He's a great example to young players everywhere. Treat every game like it matters (because it does), treat every club you play for with respect and make the right choice rather than the easy one. I'm genuinely delighted for him; he's going to make Aston Villa a lot of money in the not too distant future and we should all be proud Hibs played a big part in shaping him.
27-05-2019, 08:27 PM
Ross McCormack apparently gets a massive wage rise next season due to Villa’s promotion. [emoji23]
Clarence Beeks
27-05-2019, 08:32 PM
Would top off a splendid few days
God bless the Hibees, god bless John McGinn, up the Villa, love you all, amen .
27-05-2019, 08:43 PM
Ross McCormack apparently gets a massive wage rise next season due to Villa’s promotion. [emoji23]
Perfect example Ozy. Two players with talent, one who wants to make the most of his and McCormack who has wasted his.
Nice bank balance though
But boy could he bit a ball !!:agree:
villahibs
27-05-2019, 08:58 PM
Villa were relegated for the first time in 2016... hardly a yo yo team 🙈
27-05-2019, 09:00 PM
Austrian I think - great passer. :wink:
Couldn't let this pass without appreciating the clever humour :top marks
Leicester's infrastructure is incredible. They're building the best training complex and academy in Europe and are owned by billionaires. They'll be major players again very soon under a great manager.
Leicester will struggle to hold onto their better players as the truly big clubs come in with bids, middle of the table again next season.
27-05-2019, 09:26 PM
What I love about McGinn is his general enthusiasm for football. With a lot of player you know it's just a job for them but when you see McGinn going mental after he scored today you can just tell he'd be doing exactly the same if he scored in a Sunday league mid table game.
He's a great example to young players everywhere. Treat every game like it matters (because it does), treat every club you play for with respect and make the right choice rather than the easy one. I'm genuinely delighted for him; he's going to make Aston Villa a lot of money in the not too distant future and we should all be proud Hibs played a big part in shaping him.
Agree 100% he’s not a prima donna football player who is only in it for himself. He will be a breath of fresh air down there, very much like Andy Robertson.
27-05-2019, 09:26 PM
Couldn't let this pass without appreciating the clever humour :top marks
Ithengyew :greengrin
I did wonder if anyone would get it.
27-05-2019, 09:30 PM
Leicester will struggle to hold onto their better players as the truly big clubs come in with bids, middle of the table again next season.
Leicester are extremely rich, they'll only sell for enormous fees and sign good replacements.
27-05-2019, 09:48 PM
In what way are Villa a yo yo team? Until their relegation they were a regular top team, Newcastle are surely the yo yo team.
27-05-2019, 11:44 PM
Agree totally, could definetly see him at Arsenal or perhaps Liverpool, he's going to go onto the next level that's for sure, Grealish post match interview shows how much other players appreciate him. Like a proud father I love seeing John doing so well.
Agree 100%.
28-05-2019, 12:02 AM
Celtic must be absolutely spewing right now. Hahaha
Still a few insisting he's not that good but a lot of resigned looks on a few faces the higher sjms profile gets. Also he's very rarely injured which Lennon will now appreciate given his list of injuries. A very smart decision all round going to villa. You can never tell if a move will work out but as sjm said at the time,villa just felt right. Really chuffed for him and of course our nice wee windfall. Never doubted he was heading for the top.
28-05-2019, 12:09 AM
That's the money for getting to the pl and the parachute payment if they go straight down. Totally crazy money.
28-05-2019, 02:58 AM
I hope all the up & coming young players will look at what this lad has done. Learn your trade in Scotland, work hard & you'll get the big move down south. So proud of John, and hope his career in the premier league is as successful.
28-05-2019, 04:40 AM
Cropley went to Villa eventually. Another sweet left peg.
Happy days.
Chorley Hibee
28-05-2019, 05:34 AM
That's the money for getting to the pl and the parachute payment if they go straight down. Totally crazy money.
Up to 300 million if they avoid relegation the first season too.
28-05-2019, 05:37 AM
Still a few insisting he's not that good but a lot of resigned looks on a few faces the higher sjms profile gets. Also he's very rarely injured which Lennon will now appreciate given his list of injuries. A very smart decision all round going to villa. You can never tell if a move will work out but as sjm said at the time,villa just felt right. Really chuffed for him and of course our nice wee windfall. Never doubted he was heading for the top.
It was a shrewd decision going to Villa. Huge club that was always likely to bounce straight back to EPL. Think Dylan had same thought about Sunderland and the Championship but that backfired spectacularly. Got to have a bit of luck on your side too.
28-05-2019, 06:21 AM
Ithengyew :greengrin
I did wonder if anyone would get it.
I've never seen that written before 😂😂😂
28-05-2019, 06:24 AM
So he's been voted POTY at villa, scored a goal of the season contender, scored at the play off final in which he was also MOTM and won promotion to the premier league in what's commonly known as the most valuable final in world football.
He has also made Hibs and St Mirren money in the process, while being an all round good guy.
And Celtic said he would be a squad player 😂.
28-05-2019, 07:10 AM
Wonder if Scottish football is still classed as a farmers league down there? A player who wasn't even the player of the year at Scotland's 3rd biggest club :wink: has gone down to Villa, got their player of the year, won the goal of the season and dragged them up by the bollocks to the EPL. Tinpot league indeed.
28-05-2019, 08:51 AM
Good article about McGinn in today’s guardian. Sorry can’t post link on my phone
28-05-2019, 09:13 AM
So he's been voted POTY at villa, scored a goal of the season contender, scored at the play off final in which he was also MOTM and won promotion to the premier league in what's commonly known as the most valuable final in world football.
He has also made Hibs and St Mirren money in the process, while being an all round good guy.
And Celtic said he would be a squad player 😂.
I think he won Goal of the Season for his effort.
And yes we were told he'd be a squad player at Celtic and that we should bite their hands off for £1.5 million - bet Celtc wish they'd ponied up the cash earlier now.
Villa was the perfect move for McGinn, a Championship team with strong EPL ambitions, if they hadn't gone up this season or next, if he had continued to put in performances like he has this season, an EPL team would have bought him.
Now he gets to play in one of the most watched sporting leagues in the world - the future is bright for John McGinn
28-05-2019, 09:14 AM
Good article about McGinn in today’s guardian. Sorry can’t post link on my phone
Here is the article that Scorrie was talking about
28-05-2019, 02:40 PM
Everton 👍
Come to daddy! 👍
28-05-2019, 02:43 PM
I think he won Goal of the Season for his effort.
And yes we were told he'd be a squad player at Celtic and that we should bite their hands off for £1.5 million - bet Celtc wish they'd ponied up the cash earlier now.
I didn't read or hear anyone saying either of those things, tbh.
There was an argument that we shouldn't let him walk away for nothing at the end of the following season, but nothing else.
28-05-2019, 03:01 PM
I didn't read or hear anyone saying either of those things, tbh.
There was an argument that we shouldn't let him walk away for nothing at the end of the following season, but nothing else.
It was Tom English who said that £1.5m wasn't derisory and that he'd be a squad player at Celtc - https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1022841010664222720
28-05-2019, 03:03 PM
It was Tom English who said that £1.5m wasn't derisory and that he'd be a squad player at Celtc - https://twitter.com/TEnglishSport/status/1022841010664222720
Wow!
Sorry Ryan, I hadn't seen that.
28-05-2019, 03:27 PM
Wow!
Sorry Ryan, I hadn't seen that.
Not a problem, I had no idea either until someone else retweeted it to my timeline.
It only serves to further the notion that Tom English is a total arse and now seeks only to curry favour with the Bigot Bros
wallpaperman
28-05-2019, 04:04 PM
Wonder if Scottish football is still classed as a farmers league down there? A player who wasn't even the player of the year at Scotland's 3rd biggest club :wink: has gone down to Villa, got their player of the year, won the goal of the season and dragged them up by the bollocks to the EPL. Tinpot league indeed.
It certainly was the other day on Twitter when some of the Reading fans were insulting McNulty/Hibs.
Sad getting belittled by a run of the mill English club who have little to shout about in their entire history, but happen to find they are many times richer than the likes of Hibs due to hanging onto the coat tails of the massive English billionaire owned clubs.
Not a problem, I had no idea either until someone else retweeted it to my timeline.
It only serves to further the notion that Tom English is a total arse and now seeks only to curry favour with the Bigot Bros
Hadn’t seen that before. What a ridiculous statement. Has anyone asked him if he still believes it? Haha.
It certainly was the other day on Twitter when some of the Reading fans were insulting McNulty/Hibs.
Sad getting belittled by a run of the mill English club who have little to shout about in their entire history, but happen to find they are many times richer than the likes of Hibs due to hanging onto the coat tails of the massive English billionaire owned clubs.
And it will not change anytime soon, probably get worse to be honest.:confused:
28-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Don't do Twitter, but is it possible to tweet that back to him? :greengrin
28-05-2019, 08:28 PM
That's hilarious.
28-05-2019, 08:30 PM
Daftie should stick with rugby. I liked him before he joined the BBC but the decline was rapid after he did join.....
28-05-2019, 08:42 PM
What an absolute fool.
Hopefully he’s had that re-retweeted back to him to show what an absolute pathetic tweet that was.
28-05-2019, 08:48 PM
Don't do Twitter, but is it possible to tweet that back to him? :greengrin
Plenty already have. Lots of Hibs fans calling him out on it.
28-05-2019, 08:49 PM
i bet he's glad it's the end of the football season, will need reminding the start of next season though
for the radio anyway
SJNB Hibby
30-05-2019, 11:23 AM
Here is the article that Scorrie was talking about
He also made the Guardians Championship Team of the Year
:aok::aok:
30-05-2019, 12:00 PM
He also made the Guardians Championship Team of the Year
:aok::aok:
The Guardian's Scottish football correspondent Ewan Murray was another journalist who made similar comments to Tom English re McGinn. A snidey Jambo weasel who hates anything not Hearts.
Plenty already have. Lots of Hibs fans calling him out on it.
Can you post a link? I would love to see what he has to say!