View Full Version : League cup group stage draw

HibeeMcGinn1
26-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Does anyone know when this is drawn? It’s usually about now but haven’t seen it mentioned anywhere. Thanks

smack
26-05-2019, 05:13 PM
It was 25th May last season

26-05-2019, 05:22 PM
Does anyone know when this is drawn? It’s usually about now but haven’t seen it mentioned anywhere. Thanks

Should be the next day or so. It’s a public holiday in Glasgow tomorrow, so possibly Tuesday or Wednesday

27-05-2019, 12:31 PM
Tomorrow 1330 on spfl you tube channel.

27-05-2019, 12:34 PM
Hopefully a new ground or 2 to go to.

27-05-2019, 12:57 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-draw-on-tuesday?fbclid=IwAR187Ai1p8piJS_O5LJ8stFlSfygHG_yo hZgK3EZQET0bbcxPGezJqxKvBM

Stenhousemuir, Stirling or Falkirk away please.

27-05-2019, 01:45 PM
What area are we in? North or south?

27-05-2019, 01:49 PM
What area are we in? North or south?

Link says won’t know until tomorrow
But the 8 group seeds will probably be

North
St Johnstone
Dundee
Hibs
Hearts

South
St Mirren
Hamilton
Livingston
Motherwell

28-05-2019, 11:19 AM
Do BT Sports still have the rights for this or has someone else got them now?

28-05-2019, 11:33 AM
North section - first seeds
1 Hibernian
2 Heart of Midlothian
3 St Johnstone
4 Dundee

South section - first seeds
5 Motherwell
6 Livingston
7 Hamilton Academical
8 St Mirren

North section - second seeds
9 Ross County
10 Dundee United
11 Inverness Caledonian Thistle
12 Alloa Athletic

South section - second seeds
13 Ayr United
14 Morton
15 Partick Thistle
16 Dunfermline Athletic

North section - unseeded teams
17 Arbroath
18 Forfar Athletic
19 Raith Rovers
20 Montrose
21 East Fife
22 Stenhousemuir
23 Brechin City
24 Peterhead
25 Stirling Albion
26 Cowdenbeath
27 Elgin City
28 Cove Rangers

South section - unseeded teams
29 Queen of the South
30 Falkirk
31 Airdrieonians
32 Dumbarton
33 Stranraer
34 Clyde
35 Edinburgh City
36 Annan Athletic
37 Queen's Park
38 Albion Rovers
39 Berwick Rangers
40 East Kilbride

28-05-2019, 11:36 AM
North section - unseeded teams
17 Arbroath
18 Forfar Athletic
19 Raith Rovers
20 Montrose
21 East Fife
22 Stenhousemuir
23 Brechin City
24 Peterhead
25 Stirling Albion
26 Cowdenbeath
27 Elgin City
28 Cove Rangers

We get two of these away as top seeds, so unless it's Raith and Cowdenbeath then at least one trip to a ground we haven't been to in ages. Will be delighted with any Angus team (even Arbroath), Stenny or Stirling.

Of course, it's going to be Raith and Cowdenbeath away.

28-05-2019, 11:36 AM
Hibernian = North Section
Dunfermline = South Section

???????????????????????????

28-05-2019, 11:38 AM

The SPFL don't have to make sense.

28-05-2019, 11:40 AM
We get two of these away as top seeds, so unless it's Raith and Cowdenbeath then at least one trip to a ground we haven't been to in ages. Will be delighted with any Angus team (even Arbroath), Stenny or Stirling.

Cowdenbeath in July should be warmer than the last time I was there, freezing cold November rain.

28-05-2019, 11:41 AM
The SPFL don't have to make sense.

Very True

28-05-2019, 11:45 AM

Do we get a home game against the 2nd seeds?

28-05-2019, 11:48 AM
Do we get a home game against the 2nd seeds?

007 Mickey Weir
28-05-2019, 11:50 AM
Hibs
Dundee Utd
Stirling Albion
Elgin City

Please

28-05-2019, 11:55 AM
Hibs, Alloa, Stenhousemuir, Stirling and Cove would be my pick.

Daydreamer
28-05-2019, 11:56 AM
Hibs
Dundee Utd
Stirling Albion
Elgin City

Please
Pick another one there's 5 teams in each section

28-05-2019, 11:57 AM
Have to confess that I find the whole League cup group thing utterly underwhelming, it was binned for a reason back in the day. I'll still go to the games, but I doubt Hibs will make much, if any, money from the exercise no matter who we end up in a group with.

Steven79
28-05-2019, 12:07 PM
Dunfermline should be in the North section so they have a chance of drawing other Fife teams and Alloa should be in the South section.

28-05-2019, 12:09 PM
Have to confess that I find the whole League cup group thing utterly underwhelming, it was binned for a reason back in the day. I'll still go to the games, but I doubt Hibs will make much, if any, money from the exercise no matter who we end up in a group with.

Disagree, think it's a great start to the season and a welcome alternative to more pre-season friendlies. Means we get to go to a whole bunch of new grounds instead of Dunfermline and Berwick every pre season too.

28-05-2019, 12:13 PM

That’s where I am with it. It was an awful idea going back to this.

28-05-2019, 12:14 PM
That’s where I am with it. It was an awful idea going back to this.

Don’t you think it’s better than playing meaningless friendlies?

hibee62
28-05-2019, 12:15 PM

I think it’s a good thing as the early European rounds were threatening to become more hassle than they were worth. If you got knocked out by a Azerbaijan team halfway through their season for example you could well lose money. The offer of a bye to the 2nd round of the league cup adds more to play for and means the teams who qualified for Europe are not disadvantaged by an earlier start.

28-05-2019, 12:16 PM

It's Scottish football just go with it. It's fun.

28-05-2019, 12:18 PM

Remember this is one of three competitions that Hibs can win this season.

If we accept the League is out of reach then it accounts for half of our shots at silverware.

It’s not to be sniffed at.

Still don’t know whether this is better than pre seasons or not. Personally Hibs never come down to England anymore (I don’t count Berwick or Carlisle) so in that sense it’s a shame. I also wonder if it’s good for the squad to go straight into competitive games in July. But it is what it is and we must try our best to win the damn thing.

28-05-2019, 12:23 PM
Live on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT76xO5vSYw&fbclid=IwAR2j_tBv2OYR0yEpg_x6Gvtydco9mbPJsFjNUaQYe tf9jpHghi6NRd-75F0&app=desktop

28-05-2019, 12:23 PM
I don’t mind the idea of groups, but it should be much more regionalised. A group of hibs, hearts, Edinburgh city, Spartans and Dunfermline would be excellent.

28-05-2019, 12:25 PM

Indeed.

The argument that it would make up for the loss of games in a 16 team league doesn't hold water.

28-05-2019, 12:26 PM
I don’t mind the idea of groups, but it should be much more regionalised. A group of hibs, hearts, Edinburgh city, Spartans and Dunfermline would be excellent.

Even north, west, east and south regions would be good.

Steven79

I think it should be split further into 3 groups rather than just north and south.

Berwick Rangers are closer to Edinburgh than most of the teams that they will play in south section it's just bonkers.

Also Dunfermline being in the south just means that a chance of a Fife derby is gone with the other 3 Fife teams in the North section.

Even north, west, east and south regions would be good.

28-05-2019, 12:27 PM
Live on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT76xO5vSYw&fbclid=IwAR2j_tBv2OYR0yEpg_x6Gvtydco9mbPJsFjNUaQYe tf9jpHghi6NRd-75F0&app=desktop

Thanks.

The live chat is ehhh... interesting

28-05-2019, 12:27 PM
I think it should be split further into 3 groups rather than just north and south.

Berwick Rangers are closer to Edinburgh than most of the teams that they will play in south section it's just bonkers.

Also Dunfermline being in the south just means that a chance of a Fife derby is gone with the other 3 Fife teams in the North section.
:agree: They’ve taken a good idea and made a mess of it as usual.

28-05-2019, 12:31 PM
Thanks.

The live chat is ehhh... interesting

i did actually mean to mention about ignoring the live 'chat'

28-05-2019, 12:34 PM
Hibs first out :greengrin always the leaders

28-05-2019, 12:35 PM
i did actually mean to mention about ignoring the live 'chat'

Hiding live chat in all circumstances is a staple of surviving the internet the last decade and a half.

28-05-2019, 12:36 PM
We've got Alloa - result!

Lendo
28-05-2019, 12:37 PM
Hibs and Alloa so far

Steven79
28-05-2019, 12:37 PM
We've got Alloa - result!

It's who I wanted with Dundee United the second choice.

28-05-2019, 12:39 PM
Stirling, yaaaaaaas. Please not at home.

Lendo
28-05-2019, 12:39 PM
Stirling Albion for us

28-05-2019, 12:40 PM
Hahahaha, we've got Arbroath again

Lendo
28-05-2019, 12:40 PM
and Arbroath

Steven79
28-05-2019, 12:42 PM
Cracking draw so far!

Hopefully away to Stirling as it's on my doorstep.

Hibs
Alloa
Stirling
Arbroath
Elgin

Hibs group C

Hibs
Alloa
Stirling Albion
Arbroath
Elgin

Steven79
Elgin isn't a team that I wanted.

Would have had Cowden instead.

Hibs group C

Hibs
Alloa
Stirling Albion
Arbroath
Elgin

Who have we got at home/away

28-05-2019, 12:43 PM
Elgin and Stirling away please

We'll definitely at home to Alloa, other ties are yet to be confirmed. Praying for Stirling away as they're a short drive from me.

not done yet billy

We'll definitely at home to Alloa, other ties are yet to be confirmed. Praying for Stirling away as they're a short drive from me.

Elgin at home please, long way if it’s a midweek gane

28-05-2019, 12:44 PM
Potter got two of his ex teams in the draw. Hopefully see them struggle again.

28-05-2019, 12:46 PM
Hibs group C

Hibs
Alloa
Stirling Albion
Arbroath
Elgin

Riveting

28-05-2019, 12:47 PM
There won’t be much travelling involved for the teams in group F

28-05-2019, 12:47 PM
Hibs group C

Hibs
Alloa
Stirling Albion
Arbroath
Elgin

Could end up playing Arbroath twice in the space of a week!

Steven79
28-05-2019, 12:49 PM
Elgin & Alloa at home

Stirling & Arbroath away please.

28-05-2019, 12:50 PM
so, for the travellers :greengrin

Elgin 172 miles 3 hrs 37 mins
Arbroath 80 miles 1 hour 45 mins
Alloa 37 miles 59 mins
Stirling 37 miles 59 mins

Elgin and Arbroath at home please

28-05-2019, 12:50 PM

It's seeded then regionalised. We're in different seeding groups.

28-05-2019, 12:53 PM
kind of takes away any remote chance of excitement of a live draw when you then have to wait to find out if it's home or away

28-05-2019, 12:53 PM
so, for the travellers :greengrin

Elgin 172 miles 3 hrs 37 mins
Arbroath 80 miles 1 hour 45 mins
Alloa 37 miles 59 mins
Stirling 37 miles 59 mins

Elgin and Arbroath at home please

I'd like Stirling and Arbroath away.

Alloa's a dump and Elgin's too far.

28-05-2019, 12:54 PM
It's seeded then regionalised. We're in different seeding groups.

Yes but in the second seeded group Dunfermline are South and Alloa are North. Why not the other way round?

Should be easy progression from group stage. Should be a tournament we go all out to win. Favourable draw and we're in semi.

Steven79
I'd like Stirling and Arbroath away.

Alloa's a dump and Elgin's too far.

Just like me...

Elgin at home can be one of the midweek games as it's not one that I'm fussy about as we went to the Scottish Cup game in January.

Stirling away can be midweek as well as I'm only 15 minutes away.

28-05-2019, 01:01 PM
If that draw doesn't get Flo and Shaw back in form and confidence brimming then nothing will. Doesn't get much easier than that

28-05-2019, 01:04 PM
Remember this is one of three competitions that Hibs can win this season.

If we accept the League is out of reach then it accounts for half of our shots at silverware.

It’s not to be sniffed at.

Still don’t know whether this is better than pre seasons or not. Personally Hibs never come down to England anymore (I don’t count Berwick or Carlisle) so in that sense it’s a shame. I also wonder if it’s good for the squad to go straight into competitive games in July. But it is what it is and we must try our best to win the damn thing.

I wasn't suggesting for a second that we shouldn't take the competition seriously, as you rightly say its one of only two trophies we realistically have any chance of winning, any fan outside of the uglies who thinks the League cup isn't worth bothering about needs a reality check. Just underwhelmed at the format and the draw just made kind of proves my point, if we cant qualify out of a group like that we should give up playing football and the turn outs for the home ties is going to reflect that.

hibsboy07
28-05-2019, 01:12 PM
For the NESH group I hope it's Elgin and Arbroath away

28-05-2019, 01:15 PM
Missed it, anyone got the draw in full?

Also apologies if already mentioned, but do BT Sports still have the exclusive rights?

28-05-2019, 01:15 PM
I hate the league cup. Less time for exciting pre-season friendlies abroad like playing Union Berlin etc. and more time spent travelling for hours to watch a second string Hibs team play a team of part timers for a foregone conclusion.

28-05-2019, 01:18 PM
Missed it, anyone got the draw in full?

Also apologies if already mentioned, but do BT Sports still have the exclusive rights?

They do

28-05-2019, 01:19 PM
kind of takes away any remote chance of excitement of a live draw when you then have to wait to find out if it's home or away

It does seem like something they could do at the time.

We know that the top seeds play the 2nd seeds at home, so just assign a formula to the remaining three teams in the order they come out, i.e.

Team 3 - team 1 (H), team 2 (A), team 4 (H), team 5 (A)
Team 4 - team 1 (A), team 2 (H), team 3 (A), team 5 (H)
Team 5 - team 1 (H), team 2 (A), team 3 (H), team 4 (A)

Then we'd immediately know that we'd have Alloa & Arbroath at home, and Stirling and Elgin away. It makes perfect sense which is probably why the SPFL don't do it.

28-05-2019, 01:25 PM
I hate the league cup. Less time for exciting pre-season friendlies abroad like playing Union Berlin etc. and more time spent travelling for hours to watch a second string Hibs team play a team of part timers for a foregone conclusion.

Prior to the new format being introduced we always played two of Dunfermline, Raith or Berwick away without exception, and then went abroad to play some unknown continential teams that most of us didn't have the time or money to go and see, with the only updates on Twitter. Great for people who live in Edinburgh and have the money but crap for everyone else.

The group stage gives us interesting teams every year and usually some that non-Edinburgh fans can get to fairly easily.

28-05-2019, 01:27 PM
It does seem like something they could do at the time.

We know that the top seeds play the 2nd seeds at home, so just assign a formula to the remaining three teams in the order they come out, i.e.

Team 3 - team 1 (H), team 2 (A), team 4 (H), team 5 (A)
Team 4 - team 1 (A), team 2 (H), team 3 (A), team 5 (H)
Team 5 - team 1 (H), team 2 (A), team 3 (H), team 4 (A)

Then we'd immediately know that we'd have Alloa & Arbroath at home, and Stirling and Elgin away. It makes perfect sense which is probably why the SPFL don't do it.

BT a will need to look at the games, see who they will televise

28-05-2019, 01:31 PM
Prior to the new format being introduced we always played two of Dunfermline, Raith or Berwick away without exception, and then went abroad to play some unknown continential teams that most of us didn't have the time or money to go and see, with the only updates on Twitter. Great for people who live in Edinburgh and have the money but crap for everyone else.

The group stage gives us interesting teams every year and usually some that non-Edinburgh fans can get to fairly easily.

Wish this applied to me too :boo hoo::boo hoo:

28-05-2019, 01:31 PM

Disagree, it's a chance for Hibernian to play teams who play a different style of football, we learn from them and also the local communities get to know more about Hibernian. We go, we play well, we may find it easier to sign players from abroad as it little by little increases our profile.

We just keep playing part time teams in Scotland, we don't increase our profile.

Nevi_SOL
28-05-2019, 01:36 PM
Elgin away for purely selfish reasons 🇳🇬😂

28-05-2019, 01:38 PM
Elgin Away is the one I want.

28-05-2019, 01:40 PM

That makes sense for the timing of the fixtures but not who plays who home and away. Why should TV get to decide that?

Niffy
28-05-2019, 01:43 PM
Berwick still in it, thought they were dropped into the Scouts dib dib dib league ?

davhibby
28-05-2019, 01:46 PM

We do know. We'll be at home to Alloa and Arbroath. Top seeds are at home against teams 2 and 4. They never came out and said it but that's the way it's been done ever since it started

Aim Here
28-05-2019, 01:47 PM
Berwick still in it, thought they were dropped into the Scouts dib dib dib league ?

They don't get to be in next year's Betfred Cup, unless they somehow manage to win the Lowland League next year.

28-05-2019, 01:47 PM
We do know. We'll be at home to Alloa and Arbroath. Top seeds are at home against teams 2 and 4. They never came out and said it but that's the way it's been done ever since it started

So it's the thing that I said should be a thing a couple posts up there?

EDIT: You're absolutely right. Compare the fixtures from last season (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018%E2%80%9319_Scottish_League_Cup) to the order they came out (https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-group-stage-draw-69) in the draw. The top seed plays the 2nd seed and 4th drawn team at home in every group, no exceptions. Therefore, we'll get the following:
Hibs v Alloa
Stirling v Hibs
Hibs v Arbroath
Elgin v Hibs

The question is, why don't they just come out and say this in the first place?

davhibby
28-05-2019, 01:53 PM
So it's the thing that I said should be a thing a couple posts up there?

Sorry missed that, yeah I'm pretty certain that's how they do it.

King Cosell
28-05-2019, 01:55 PM

Premier Sports have exclusive rights.

Sergio sledge
28-05-2019, 01:58 PM
Elgin away for purely selfish reasons 🇳🇬😂

:agree: 40 mins down the road for me.

davhibby
28-05-2019, 01:59 PM

BT still have a year left

28-05-2019, 02:10 PM

FFS! Seriously who buys Premier Sports.

I’ve got Sky and BT. Dammed if I’m sparking out for another channel.

That said I did pay for one month £9 offer last season and get all Hibs European games. Then cancelled straight away.

28-05-2019, 02:10 PM
BT still have a year left

Thanks

28-05-2019, 02:11 PM
Stirling away in a Saturday would be good day-out wise 🍻

28-05-2019, 02:18 PM

Oops sorry, thought that BT Shad retained it
So other than Champions and Europa League, BT have nothing else?

King Cosell
28-05-2019, 02:27 PM

I got that wrong. BT Sport have 1 more year.

28-05-2019, 02:43 PM
I got that wrong. BT Sport have 1 more year.

No worries

28-05-2019, 06:18 PM
Elgin at home please, long way if it’s a midweek gane

Elgin away please, never been there yet.

28-05-2019, 06:19 PM
Elgin away for purely selfish reasons [emoji1184][emoji23]

Same, I can walk there!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

28-05-2019, 06:36 PM

Cracking wee ground and the first place I saw the Hibees play.

28-05-2019, 06:43 PM
Will Elgin away be a Saturday?

greenlad
28-05-2019, 06:46 PM

BT has:

-half the Scottish Premiership (and all the playoffs) next season after which it moves over to Sky

-the Betfred League Cup next season after which it moves over to Premier.

-Champions League and Europa League until 2021 (may yet retain)

-English Premiership second choice games (mostly Sat lunchtime) until 2022.

-Seemingly getting the WWE from next year.....🤣

Hibeewilly
28-05-2019, 06:48 PM
[QUOTE=Hermit Crab;5799738]Will Elgin away be a Saturday?[/QUOTE
You would hope common sense will prevail and it will be......4 hours on the bus

28-05-2019, 06:48 PM
Will Elgin away be a Saturday?

No-one knows yet, the fixtures haven't been announced yet. There's two midweek fixtures.

28-05-2019, 06:52 PM
No-one knows yet, the fixtures haven't been announced yet. There's two midweek fixtures.

You want that as a Saturday game, benefits both clubs. We would take a decent crowd up there on a Saturday and Elgin would get some decent cash compared to a midweek jaunt.

28-05-2019, 06:53 PM
[QUOTE=Hermit Crab;5799738]Will Elgin away be a Saturday?[/QUOTE
You would hope common sense will prevail and it will be......4 hours on the bus

I'd get the train and probably stay over in either Inverness or Aberdeen.

28-05-2019, 07:14 PM
Yes but in the second seeded group Dunfermline are South and Alloa are North. Why not the other way round?

Alloa is further north.

Given the number of west teams in the south, it should maybe be split by more diagonally.

28-05-2019, 07:16 PM
You want that as a Saturday game, benefits both clubs. We would take a decent crowd up there on a Saturday and Elgin would get some decent cash compared to a midweek jaunt.

Since when was benefit to the clubs a priority for the GFA pricks? Call me an auld cynic, but that's got midweek or Sunday lunchtime written all over it.

F*** the fans... Look at this lovely cheque from the telly people

... Or maybe I'm just having a bad day :greengrin

28-05-2019, 07:20 PM
Since when was benefit to the clubs a priority for the GFA pricks? Call me an auld cynic, but that's got midweek or Sunday lunchtime written all over it.

Can't see any of our games being on tv. Hearts v Dundee utd will be a tv game imo.

Hibernian32
29-05-2019, 02:20 AM
When do these games start? Beginning of July?

29-05-2019, 02:44 AM
When do these games start? Beginning of July?

Betfred Cup group stage

MD1 Weekend of July 13/14, 2019

MD2 Midweek of July 16/17, 2019

MD3 Weekend of July 20/21, 2019

MD4 Midweek of July 23/24, 2019

MD5 Weekend of July 27/28, 2019

Betfred Cup round 2
Weekend of August 17/18, 2019

Betfred Cup quarter-finals
Midweek of September 24-26, 2019

Betfred Cup semi-finals
Weekend of November 2/3, 2019

Betfred Cup final
Weekend of December 7/8, 2019

29-05-2019, 07:51 AM
I'll try and make it along to both home games and Stirling away.

29-05-2019, 08:16 AM
Surely Hibs will price the home games sensibly for a change given the opposition and time of year

29-05-2019, 08:20 AM
Surely Hibs will price the home games sensibly for a change given the opposition and time of year

It isn't just up to Hibs

29-05-2019, 08:56 AM

Hibs don't have full control of the prices at our home cup ties. Both clubs need to agree on a price otherwise it goes to the standard ticket price.

29-05-2019, 09:08 AM

As usual i suspect we'll have the dearest tickets in the round but again but it won't be Hibs' fault - it'll be some league 2 diddy clubs fault :rolleyes:

In all seriousness £10 and £5 would be fair for these ties however I suspect it'll be nearer £15 and £10.

Would be good to get the home/away/dates confirmed for a wee potential trip away.

29-05-2019, 09:12 AM
As usual i suspect we'll have the dearest tickets in the round but again but it won't be Hibs' fault - it'll be some league 2 diddy clubs fault :rolleyes:

In all seriousness £10 and £5 would be fair for these ties however I suspect it'll be nearer £15 and £10.

Would be good to get the home/away/dates confirmed for a wee potential trip away.

It was £15 and £10 last time, plus a wee reduction of £2 if you were a season ticket holder
Did we not also have Cup top up, last time we were in the group stages?

29-05-2019, 09:15 AM
It was £15 and £10 last time, plus a wee reduction of £2 if you were a season ticket holder
Did we not also have Cup top up, last time we were in the group stages?

We did away with it because of the group stages.

29-05-2019, 09:27 AM
If I remember, only top 4 group winners are seeded for the next round, so we want to win every game

29-05-2019, 09:33 AM

Both teams need to agree the prices though.

29-05-2019, 09:46 AM
Was it not Elgin City who demanded high prices for our SC tie v them last season? £22 and £14 IIRC and it was a very poor turnout because of that? Maybe this time they won't be so greedy and will agree to set prices appropriately.

29-05-2019, 11:41 AM
Was it not Elgin City who demanded high prices for our SC tie v them last season? £22 and £14 IIRC and it was a very poor turnout because of that? Maybe this time they won't be so greedy and will agree to set prices appropriately.

It was you are spot on.

However someone did post some figures showing Hibs and Elgin still earned more than Hearts who had more fans at a reduced price. So maybe Elgin were right to do so!

Daydreamer
29-05-2019, 12:45 PM
I was under the impression that because in the League Cup you get two home games and two away the home club keeps the gate receipts for each game in the Group stages. Correct me if I'm wrong

King Cosell
30-05-2019, 03:05 PM
Understand the TV picks might take a while but they could tell who we've got home/away. This is silly.

30-05-2019, 03:06 PM
Understand the TV picks might take a while but they could tell who we've got home/away. This is silly.

We know who we've got home and away but they don't tell you for some reason at the time. It's based on the order of the draw. We have Alloa & Arbroath at home and Stirling & Elgin away.

30-05-2019, 03:08 PM
We know who we've got home and away but they don't tell you for some reason at the time. It's based on the order of the draw. We have Alloa & Arbroath at home and Stirling & Elgin away.

Are you certain about that?

Ardenttwo
30-05-2019, 03:19 PM

Its where I live.

30-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Are you certain about that?

Yes. Check the SLC Wikipedia page, all the ties on the little 2x2 grid are shaded in.

30-05-2019, 03:26 PM
Its where I live.

Elgin away works for me too

31-05-2019, 08:32 PM
I'm in Lossiemouth the 1st week in July, guaranteed we'll be away to Elgin the following week.

04-06-2019, 01:21 PM
Any idea about dates for these matches yet?

04-06-2019, 01:50 PM
Any idea about dates for these matches yet?

Must be imminent, were released on 2nd June last year

northern-hibee
04-06-2019, 02:50 PM
Elgin away works for me too

Me too, I also live in Elgin

04-06-2019, 03:02 PM
Me too, I also live in Elgin

We need to get a wee Elgin Hibees group going, wee pint before or after the game ( if it’s away)

04-06-2019, 03:02 PM
Elgin away on a Friday night 🙈

Saturday 13 July – Stirling Albion (A), 3pm kick-off
Saturday 20 July – Alloa Athletic (H), 3pm kick-off
Tuesday 23 July – Arbroath (H), 7:45pm kick-off
Friday 26 July – Elgin City (A), 7:45pm kick-off

northern-hibee
04-06-2019, 03:07 PM
We need to get a wee Elgin Hibees group going, wee pint before or after the game ( if it’s away)

Count me in!

Ardenttwo
04-06-2019, 03:10 PM
Count me in!

And me.

04-06-2019, 03:12 PM
Looking forward to Elgin, one off the list. Never made it on any of those pre-season sorties long ago.

04-06-2019, 03:14 PM
BOOM ! It’s away, woo-hoo Elgin drinkies it is

04-06-2019, 03:18 PM
Friday night for Elgin away is a disgrace. BT sport ****ers.

04-06-2019, 03:20 PM

Sounds like a good trip to me.
Ach well, at least you haven’t had to weigh in for a ticket on your AST.

04-06-2019, 03:20 PM
Was it them that pumped Hearts recently or was that Peterhead?

04-06-2019, 03:22 PM
Hibs at home to Alloa and then off to the Proclaimers gig at the castle. Winner

04-06-2019, 03:23 PM
Sounds like a good trip to me.
Ach well, at least you haven’t had to weigh in for a ticket on your AST.

I'll still be going. Just ****s a lot of fans over due to it being a Friday night mate.

Steven79
04-06-2019, 03:23 PM

I'm also going to the concert so it's a great weekend in prospect!

04-06-2019, 03:24 PM

Excellent day oot !

04-06-2019, 03:24 PM
I'll still be going. Just ****s a lot of fans over due to it being a Friday night mate.

Plenty will go simply because it’s a Friday night....
Dingwall was busy on a Friday season before last.

04-06-2019, 03:27 PM
we can't complain too much with both our home games kicking off @3pm which shouldn't have too bad an effect on our gate

really wanted both Stirling and Alloa away games but as meatloaf once sang...one out of two ain't bad

hibeesboii
04-06-2019, 03:39 PM
Home game in Elgin for me 😁

04-06-2019, 03:45 PM
we can't complain too much with both our home games kicking off @3pm which shouldn't have too bad an effect on our gate

really wanted both Stirling and Alloa away games but as meatloaf once sang...one out of two ain't bad
Nope, look again

04-06-2019, 03:47 PM
Nope, look again

Aye, one out of two looks about right.

04-06-2019, 03:59 PM
Hotel booked. Train up and back. Perfect.

04-06-2019, 04:00 PM
Nope, look again

We are away to Stirling unless you've got a different set of fixtures to us. :confused:

04-06-2019, 04:03 PM
Hotel booked. Train up and back. Perfect.

It’s perfect now? You one of those sideways crabs? :greengrin

04-06-2019, 04:06 PM
It’s perfect now? You one of those sideways crabs? :greengrin

Its perfect now I've worked out my roster and I'm long weekend. A few of my mates might be struggling though. Saturday would have been better obviously.

04-06-2019, 04:10 PM
You can't get a train via Aberdeen by the way, engineering works mean you get a train from Edinburgh as far as Dyce then you have to get on a bus from Dyce to Huntly which takes 1hr 15m then another train from Huntly to Elgin. Total journey time of 5 hours. Better going via Inverness

King Cosell
04-06-2019, 04:12 PM

Suits me, sir!

hibeesboii
04-06-2019, 04:56 PM
Home game in Elgin for me 😁

04-06-2019, 04:57 PM
Elgin away on a Friday night is taking the piss!

Utter disgrace.

04-06-2019, 05:01 PM
Elgin away on a Friday night is taking the piss!

Utter disgrace.

It is, theres also not too many hotels in Elgin either, fans really restricted with this fixture.

04-06-2019, 05:33 PM
It is, theres also not too many hotels in Elgin either, fans really restricted with this fixture.

Loads of caravans though

04-06-2019, 05:37 PM

I would have expected this to be a mid week fixture so not sure what difference it being on a Friday makes. I haven’t seen a lack of hotel rooms cited as a reason not to attend Ross County Away on any day of the week either.
Plenty here lauded Friday night fitba as a good thing in the past. Is that only until we have to travel North of Dundee? Lighten up ya miserable sod, it’s a cracking wee town and ground, you’ll be glad you made the effort. :greengrin

04-06-2019, 05:50 PM
I would have expected this to be a mid week fixture so not sure what difference it being on a Friday makes. I haven’t seen a lack of hotel rooms cited as a reason not to attend Ross County Away on any day of the week either.
Plenty here lauded Friday night fitba as a good thing in the past. Is that only until we have to travel North of Dundee? Lighten up ya miserable sod, it’s a cracking wee town and ground, you’ll be glad you made the effort. :greengrin

Don't get me wrong I'm looking forward to it and have already booked up plus its another ground ticked off the list. Just feel that for any Friday night or midweek matches then consideration should be taken in the geography of both clubs. Elgin have to travel to Alloa on a Tuesday night as well.

04-06-2019, 05:57 PM
Don't get me wrong I'm looking forward to it and have already booked up plus its another ground ticked off the list. Just feel that for any Friday night or midweek matches then consideration should be taken in the geography of both clubs. Elgin have to travel to Alloa on a Tuesday night as well.

I was looking forward to going to Elgin for the first time, not many SPFL grounds i've not been to but just won't make it on a Friday night when i'm working until 5pm.

04-06-2019, 05:58 PM

Where's my coconut? :rolleyes:

Not quite midweek, but certainly a bitch of a time slot for travelling fans

04-06-2019, 05:59 PM
I was looking forward to going to Elgin for the first time, not many SPFL grounds i've not been to but just won't make it on a Friday night when i'm working until 5pm.

Thats a bit of a pisser like. I was hoping it would be a Saturday purely so a group of us could go up, stay over and sample the nightlife and local points of interest in Elgin :greengrin. As it turns out only 2 or 3 of us out of a group of 6 or so will be able to make it.

04-06-2019, 06:02 PM
Where's my coconut? :rolleyes:

Not quite midweek, but certainly a bitch of a time slot for travelling fans

Yep, its not the best. Elgin will be raging as well as the crowd will be impacted by the move for tv although they will get some of the tv money. All likelihood is that group will be wrapped up by then barring a complete disaster from Hibs. I expect Hecky and the team to take these games seriously.

05-06-2019, 02:12 PM

I’ve just realised I have a family wedding to go to that day.
So I’ve changed my mind. It’s a disgrace having the fixture on a Friday night. :greengrin