View Full Version : It was never a penalty - apparently!!

25-05-2019, 05:00 PM
Cup final thread on Kickback full of..........

It was a dive
VAR would have proved it
He was on his way down before contact was made
Blah, blah, blah

Well, at least it occurred in the chuffing penalty box which is more than can be said for the pen they got in 2012. These incidents even themselves out in time they say. Certainly came home to roost today.

Suck it up Jambos. Karma is such a b!tch.:greengrin

25-05-2019, 05:01 PM
Dear Kickback,

It was never a penalty in a month of Sundays.

Enjoy your weekend you losers.

25-05-2019, 05:02 PM
****** them, cheating a b**ch eh!!

25-05-2019, 05:02 PM
Pretty clear pen, mental to suggest otherwise

25-05-2019, 05:04 PM
Was never a penalty. I'd be utterly raging if I was a jambo right now. Being done by the wicked people that govern us, just like their blue pals tae the west. :agree:

BigKev
25-05-2019, 05:04 PM

Indeed. Can't even see how there is any kind of debate surrounding it.

25-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Never a penalty in my opinion.

Makes it even funnier. :faf:

HFC93
:loser:

They should worry more about Zlamal having Edouard as an anytime scorer :cb:greengrin a keeper who doesn't extend his arms to get to an easy penalty kick :cb

Hearts had the opportunity today to win it due to Celtic having an off day...............ach well :greengrin:na na:

gaz1875
25-05-2019, 05:06 PM
It was the type of penalty that diving ******* Naismith would get...good enough for him...

25-05-2019, 05:08 PM
As I said on the match thread a soft boiled egg is still a boiled egg.

Keepers foot caught Edouard. Could he have got out the way? Probably. Does he have any obligation to do so? Absolutely not. Goalkeeping error both to concede the penalty then let the kick itself go right through his hands.

25-05-2019, 05:11 PM
They can't complain, every time a hearts player had the ball and felt any sort of pressure from behind they crumpled into a heap and got a free kick. Berra and soutar most guilty

25-05-2019, 05:11 PM
It was a dive. Probably cost them the cup.

Shame.

They'll be even more bitter than usual.

Fantastic.

Daydreamer
25-05-2019, 05:12 PM
They should worry more about Zlamal having Edouard as an anytime scorer :cb:greengrin a keeper who doesn't extend his arms to get to an easy penalty kick :cb

Hearts had the opportunity today to win it due to Celtic having an off day...............ach well :greengrin:na na:

Said that to the rest of the Hibs crowd in my company today. He was asked to do 3 simple things today and Fu***d every one up. Zlamal must have had a large wager on the Tic.

25-05-2019, 05:12 PM
It wasn't a penalty. Even better.

25-05-2019, 05:13 PM
It was softer than Berra. Add the mistake by Berra and it could have been Hearts day. Thankfully it wasn't and Potter has another loser medal to add to his collection.

TheCabbage
25-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Shirt memories - remember the 1 CT have them 2012.

Absolutely delighted they have had it rammed up them with a penalty decision

FWIW it’s a penalty all day long

25-05-2019, 05:16 PM
I'd say it was a penalty, although Édouard was definitely looking for it.

25-05-2019, 05:17 PM
Should’ve been saved anyway. Dreadful goalkeeping.

25-05-2019, 05:18 PM
😂😂😂

25-05-2019, 05:19 PM
It wasn't a penalty. Even better.

Oh yes it was, wiz it no awe shame I thought it was a pen all day long.

25-05-2019, 05:19 PM
Didn't see any of the game but it was definitely a penalty. Suck it up losers. No Craig Thomson to help you out today

25-05-2019, 05:22 PM
I didn't think that it was a penalty a per the rules but if Alex Bruce got one for getting knocked over by a draught then this one was nailed on.

25-05-2019, 05:27 PM
Bit of a dive but they had loads of unreal luck getting the easiest Scottish cup draw in history to get there.

25-05-2019, 05:28 PM

It was a dive
VAR would have proved it
Blah, blah, blah

Well, at least it occurred in the chuffing penalty box which is more than can be said for the pen they got in 2012. These incidents even themselves out in time they say. Certainly came home to roost today.

It was 20 times more a pen than Craig Thomsons cheating brown envelope final penalty.

25-05-2019, 07:12 PM
I said at the time that while soft, it was still a penalty.

This angle has changed my mind. Eduarde couldn’t stick his foot out further to get contact if he tried.

https://twitter.com/derekminto/status/1132321680066514944?s=21

Just makes it all the sweeter tho.

25-05-2019, 07:15 PM

It was a dive
VAR would have proved it
Blah, blah, blah

They have a cheek !! if VAR was about in 2012 they wouldn't have had a penalty ! Black would have been shown a red card ! Complete weirdos

25-05-2019, 07:16 PM
It was a dive. Probably cost them the cup.

Shame.

They'll be even more bitter than usual.

Fantastic.

this This THIS!!

25-05-2019, 07:21 PM
Didn't watch it so I'm looking forward to highlights. Really hoping it wasn't a pen :greengrin

jakedance
25-05-2019, 07:21 PM
Looks a clear penalty from the refs angle but the post above shows a clear dive. Nae luck. No sympathy for a team that dived every time a Celtic player went near them.

25-05-2019, 07:23 PM
Didn't watch it so I'm looking forward to highlights. Really hoping it wasn't a pen :greengrin

When are they on?

25-05-2019, 07:30 PM
When are they on?

Don't have a scooby, but this is the age of the internet, so summat will turn up sooner or later :agree:

25-05-2019, 07:33 PM
When are they on?

BBC 1 tonight at 10-20pm.

25-05-2019, 07:33 PM
Don't have a scooby, but this is the age of the internet, so summat will turn up sooner or later :agree:

Over and over again, I hope

Crammond Hibee
25-05-2019, 08:01 PM
It wasn’t a pen

Ya beauty

25-05-2019, 08:04 PM
How on earth did the “goalie” not even get a hand to that? An absolutely terrible attempt.

25-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Genuinely thought it was a penalty regardless of who was playing.

25-05-2019, 08:07 PM
It wasn’t a pen

Ya beauty

Was a penalty all day long - the best thing was Zlamal's half ersed attempt to save it which looked decidedly dodgy :cb Hearts have their very own Zibi :greengrin

I'm just hoping Levein stays and he remains loyal to Berra :aok: Berra is a liability and costing them goals.

25-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Was a penalty all day long - the best thing was Zlamal's half ersed attempt to save it which looked decidedly dodgy :cb Hearts have their very own Zibi :greengrin

I'm just hoping Levein stays and he remains loyal to Berra :aok: Berra is a liability and costing them goals.

Nah, not a pen when you see it from behind

25-05-2019, 08:11 PM

Makes it even sweeter ! These creeps got a penalty against us which was yards outside the box , KARMA !!

25-05-2019, 08:13 PM

That's a clear dive.

Ain't Karma a bitch.

25-05-2019, 08:15 PM
First I`ve seen of the penalty is the clip above - crazy of the keeper to dive in like he did making it an easy decision for the referee. Obviously looks different from behind the goal but that's the risk of making these challenges. Unlucky to concede the penalty, but lucky he didn`t catch him with the lunge in.

25-05-2019, 08:19 PM
Dive and I hope he’s punished. The standards should stay the same no matter who is involved.

25-05-2019, 08:21 PM
Looks more like a foul on the keeper as the forward puts his foot in. Obvious dive.

25-05-2019, 08:22 PM

Felt at the time he left/put his foot in and that it wasn't a penalty. That angle confirms that. These things even themselves out over time... Karma... yada yada! :greengrin

25-05-2019, 08:23 PM
BBC 1 tonight at 10-20pm.

Thanks

25-05-2019, 08:24 PM
Soft pen but a pen. Crazy challenge by zlamal. As everybody has said karma is a bitch and we've all been waiting for this to come round after Thomson's shocker seven years ago. If Lennon gets the job I'm sure more than rangers will fancy their chances. Hecky must be licking his lips thinking if he could get a few quality players in what we could do. How anybody could actually want to watch that garbage is beyond me.

Bangkok Hibby
25-05-2019, 08:26 PM
Working with 2 Celtic fans and obviously they are saying penalty. A clear dive. Cheating twat should've been booked don't care who's playing.

25-05-2019, 08:30 PM

Outrageous dive by Berra. Can’t believe he wasn’t booked for that. Oh! And the bloke in the green and white strip seems to make sure the goalie has the chance to clean him out too 😂

25-05-2019, 08:32 PM
Working with 2 Celtic fans and obviously they are saying penalty. A clear dive. Cheating twat should've been booked don't care who's playing.

I hate diving and cheating in football, but really can’t feel any sympathy for that lot

25-05-2019, 08:35 PM
It's a wild lunge from Zlamal that doesn't win the ball, but impedes the attacker. The SFA will be able to justify that as a pen given modern interpretation. We've seen players booked for lunging tackles that haven't made contact I'm sure.

25-05-2019, 08:35 PM

Edouard is clever Callum but Zlamal takes him out and doesn't attempt to evade the player.........soft maybe but a pen for me. Can't believe I'm still up debating it because according to my Hearts mates I should be in my bed :greengrin

25-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Dive and I hope he’s punished. The standards should stay the same no matter who is involved.

Agree with this. Pretty dangerous kicking his foot towards the keeper like that. Still hilarious though

25-05-2019, 08:42 PM
Clear dive. I hope it really really hurts.

25-05-2019, 08:47 PM
Wasn't a pen. If you think it was then fair enough but I assume the majority are at the wind up in this thread.

25-05-2019, 09:06 PM
Wasn't a pen. If you think it was then fair enough but I assume the majority are at the wind up in this thread.

It shouldn't be a penalty when the forward initiates contact, but that event is usually given as a penalty so the decision was correct.

25-05-2019, 09:18 PM
It shouldn't be a penalty when the forward initiates contact, but that event is usually given as a penalty so the decision was correct.

The decision was wrong. It's just one of these wrong decisions that is given more often than not.

My heart bleeds for them tho...

25-05-2019, 09:22 PM

It's one of those penalties if it's given against you it's never a penalty but if it's for your team you scream for it.

Hearts just never got the rub of the green. Feel abit sorry for them actually, they could have won the cup if that 50-50 decision never went against them.

EI255
25-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Can you feel the PAIN??? [emoji16] [emoji16] [emoji16] [emoji16] [emoji16]

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

EI255
25-05-2019, 09:25 PM
Pretty clear pen, mental to suggest otherwiseYip.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

25-05-2019, 09:39 PM
They have a cheek !! if VAR was about in 2012 they wouldn't have had a penalty ! Black would have been shown a red card ! Complete weirdos

Aye they never greet when the decisions go their way but are the complete opposite when another team get a decision

25-05-2019, 09:56 PM
I don't think it was a pen, but they accepted the one in 2012 and kujabi sending off.

**** them

Risboro Hibby
25-05-2019, 10:00 PM
Replays do in my opinion confirm it was a penalty albeit it soft. Sad state of Scottish football though if the same incident had happened at the other end, I don’t think the ref would have given it

Mr Grieves
25-05-2019, 10:00 PM
It was never a penalty. Eduoard was going doon before the keeper was near him.

25-05-2019, 10:01 PM
It was never a penalty. Eduoard was going doon before the keeper was near him.

Beautiful xxx

angus hibby
25-05-2019, 10:11 PM
Not many complaints from the Hearts players tells a story.

25-05-2019, 10:30 PM
if it was given against us most on here would be going Ape :greengrin I am just glad it was given as Celtic were just so poor, even the pen should have been saved. I am shocked wee "lenny" got the job they were terrible and have been for weeks.

25-05-2019, 10:59 PM
They weren’t playing well when he went there.They’ll be better next season and will play at a much faster tempo.

Argylehibby
25-05-2019, 11:10 PM
When they won the cup against rangers in late 90's they got a penalty for a foul that was outside the box and late in game rangers were awarded a free kick on edge of the box when foul was committed inside. Then add the one against us and how that affected the result. Two finals they won on the back of dreadful penalty decisions so about time they got some decisions against them.

25-05-2019, 11:13 PM
When they won the cup against rangers in late 90's they got a penalty for a foul that was outside the box and late in game rangers were awarded a free kick on edge of the box when foul was committed inside. Then add the one against us and how that affected the result. Two finals they won on the back of dreadful penalty decisions so about time they got some decisions against them.

Same final 98 McCoist denied a stonewaller with about ten minutes to go I could not believe it was not given. Hearts fans and irony don't go :greengrin

25-05-2019, 11:28 PM
Nope wasn't even close to being a penalty. Makes it all the sweeter it was given ( and scored).
Wee shame.

25-05-2019, 11:38 PM
Ha ****ing ha.

Love it :-D

26-05-2019, 12:33 AM

Taking the Hibs tinted spectacles off, if they had VAR that would never have been given. Edouard is already going down before contact is made, which he initiated himself.

Which makes it all the sweeter!!!! 😊👍🏾

Bangkok Hibby
26-05-2019, 06:42 AM

So give a penalty (wrongly) often enough, it becomes correct?

26-05-2019, 06:52 AM
Hmmmm

I thought it was a penalty

More on the softer side but still the correct decision

Opinions eh?

26-05-2019, 06:52 AM
Having watched replay of incident many timessages to make my day there is no doubt contact was made and hence easy decision for ref

NC1875
26-05-2019, 07:00 AM
It was a penalty all day long. Keeper gave the ref no choice. The only one protesting was the keeper himself, that tells it’s own story.

26-05-2019, 07:43 AM
As I said on the match thread a soft boiled egg is still a boiled egg.

Keepers foot caught Edouard. Could he have got out the way? Probably. Does he have any obligation to do so? Absolutely not. Goalkeeping error both to concede the penalty then let the kick itself go right through his hands.

And then their defence totally switches off for the 2nd. Both Celtc goals gifted through awful mistakes.

Heart break!

Caversham Green
26-05-2019, 07:44 AM
It's a wild lunge from Zlamal that doesn't win the ball, but impedes the attacker. The SFA will be able to justify that as a pen given modern interpretation. We've seen players booked for lunging tackles that haven't made contact I'm sure.

I agree with this. If Edouard hadn't dived he would have had to take evasive action so the keeper's lunge unfairly prevented him from getting to the ball. Edouard just made sure the ref saw it.

26-05-2019, 07:47 AM

And Sparkys 35 yard screamer at ER the following season would have been given. As would Oli Shaws goal last season. And they would have had countless red cards.

26-05-2019, 09:36 AM

I said I don't think it should be a penalty.

However that incident is usually given by referees as a penalty so the award was consistent and therefore correct under the current interpretation of the laws.

26-05-2019, 09:41 AM
I thought it wasnt a pen also. Having seen it again i think it was a pen.

26-05-2019, 10:31 AM

Yeah, that's weird logic.

Hibernianinc
26-05-2019, 10:32 AM
I'd be absolutely spewing if that was given against us.

In a game where we're 1 up, the better team, and just 30 mins from lifting the trophy.

Spewing.

😁

26-05-2019, 10:53 AM
They weren’t playing well when he went there.They’ll be better next season and will play at a much faster tempo.

All they need do is push the boat out again in the summer and bring in more quality Levein signings to finish the jigsaw and dominate Scottish fitba for a generation.

Cannae wait :greengrin

26-05-2019, 10:56 AM

All they need do is push the boat out again in the summer and bring in more quality Levein signings to finish the jigsaw and dominate Scottish fitba for a generation.

Cannae wait :greengrin

How many players will Levein sign up in this window, I wonder.

What's his record so far?

26-05-2019, 10:56 AM
I'd be absolutely spewing if that was given against us.

In a game where we're 1 up, the better team, and just 30 mins from lifting the trophy.

Spewing.

😁

Would agree....although from the angle Collum had and he has 1 look at it looks a stonewaller. I was certainly shouting for it!

26-05-2019, 11:04 AM
The keeper made the ref's mind up with his hesitation then sliding in. Definitely enough contact for a pen so it was hardly the most controversial award I've seen.

More controversial was the keeper's pitiful attempt to save it. He had it covered but let it pass under his hands. He was holding his head in his hands almost before the ball hit the back of the net and to me it almost seemed like he let in deliberately.

26-05-2019, 11:15 AM
Why are folk debating this?? The ref gave a penalty regardless of what anyone thinks. Little or no sympathy for them as Berra dropped to the ground (Full Swan Dive) in numerous occasion in an attempt to gain an advantage, as did Souttar.

Karma is a real bitch and it’s come back to bite them on the arse yesterday.

I might start on online petition for Collum to be named ref of the year!

26-05-2019, 11:18 AM
The keeper made the ref's mind up with his hesitation then sliding in. Definitely enough contact for a pen so it was hardly the most controversial award I've seen.

More controversial was the keeper's pitiful attempt to save it. He had it covered but let it pass under his hands. He was holding his head in his hands almost before the ball hit the back of the net and to me it almost seemed like he let in deliberately.

Yep....was a very half hearted attempt.....especially when you see from behind the goals.

InchHibby
26-05-2019, 12:43 PM

It was a dive
VAR would have proved it
Blah, blah, blah

👍👍👍

Bangkok Hibby
26-05-2019, 12:50 PM
I said I don't think it should be a penalty.

However that incident is usually given by referees as a penalty so the award was consistent and therefore correct under the current interpretation of the laws.

Sorry wasn't meant as having a go at your opinion. More a comment on the state of the game nowadays.

ZAGREB RED
26-05-2019, 01:06 PM
At the time I thought it was a stonewaller, looked as though maybe Berra and the keeper had combined to bring him down. Seeing the replays it's not as clear cut, but the keeper brings him down. Soft-ish but still a penalty.
I think the keeper was the only Hearts player that protested, Berra didn't say an awful lot to Collum ?

Brunswickbill
26-05-2019, 01:10 PM
Penalty was straight out of Hertz play book. If you live by the dive, you lose by the dive. :agree:

26-05-2019, 01:21 PM
Never a penalty in my opinion.

Makes it even funnier. :faf:

My thoughts exactly.

26-05-2019, 01:52 PM
The ref was right to give it (from his angle it must be a stone waller.)

From the reverse angle, it's clear that he goes past the keeper, kicks him and goes down. So it probably wasn't a penalty.

If he doesn't stick his leg out though, I think the keeper would have taken him out.

26-05-2019, 03:48 PM
If a goalie goes in like that and doesn’t come out with the ball most refs will give a penalty.That one was the kind that your opinion depends on which end it is.

26-05-2019, 04:07 PM
I don't think it was a penalty, but it was one of those refs always seem to give, whereby the forward leaves out his leg and makes contact with the keeper. I don't know why referees always fall for it.

SANH 1875
26-05-2019, 04:34 PM
This for me, keeper throws out leg across natural path of striker. If Edouard just carry's on running then keepers leg would hamper him unfairly. So it's not about Edouard diving but keeper lunging for ball and missing it. Penalty us correct technical decision. Just happens to be a very pleasing one too.

26-05-2019, 06:27 PM
So what was the fifth official behind the goal line doing and what did he see? Or why didn't the linesman intervene?

The answer is because both are on the same side of the pitch for some inexplicable reason, and that was the other side to the incident.

26-05-2019, 07:29 PM
So what was the fifth official behind the goal line doing and what did he see? Or why didn't the linesman intervene?

The answer is because both are on the same side of the pitch for some inexplicable reason, and that was the other side to the incident.

Magical, isn’t it?

26-05-2019, 07:35 PM
stonewaller for me

but ive saw it yet

Coach Jon
27-05-2019, 04:23 AM
This for me, keeper throws out leg across natural path of striker. If Edouard just carry's on running then keepers leg would hamper him unfairly. So it's not about Edouard diving but keeper lunging for ball and missing it. Penalty us correct technical decision. Just happens to be a very pleasing one too.
Correct decision, the keeper misses the ball and impedes the player. Definite pen. Goalie at fault, not the ref.

27-05-2019, 05:41 AM
Very soft pen. But game was full of players "using their experience" to gain advantage. The one early on where Berra took a flying dive across the Celtic player on the touchline, and claimed foul was laughable. No attempt to play the ball and all about conning the referee (ie cheating). No point in crying when similar happens to them.

27-05-2019, 08:09 AM
Disgraceful decision. Clear goal scoring opportunity denied. The keeper should have been off.

27-05-2019, 10:05 AM
Disgraceful decision. Clear goal scoring opportunity denied. The keeper should have been off.

Double jeopardy rules nowadays, wouldn't be a red card.

27-05-2019, 10:11 AM
Double jeopardy rules nowadays, wouldn't be a red card.

It's only not a red card if the player makes a genuine attempt to get the ball.

A player will still be sent off if the referee doesn't believe they have attempted to win the ball.

27-05-2019, 09:11 PM
Awck away, if Uche or Naismith had done that they'd be lapping it up.

They've had countless dodgy decisions against us over the years, didn't hear them complaining then.

Suck it up Jambos, Karmas a bitch :na na: