View Full Version : Saturday afternoon

23-05-2019, 05:59 PM
What are folks up to when the Final is on? Watching it? Doing something else? I'm not sure what I'm going to do.

23-05-2019, 06:15 PM
Watching a Celtic massacre. I’ll even enjoy Potter and Locke getting their hopes up.

23-05-2019, 06:16 PM
Watching it and hoping for a Celtic win, if Hearts win I can cope as I’m a big boy now.

23-05-2019, 06:20 PM
I'll be out doing something. I'll check score at half time and if satisfactory I might head home and get the popcorn out.

23-05-2019, 06:21 PM
Watching it but bricking it.

23-05-2019, 06:48 PM
i'l be flicking between the rugby union sevens at twickenham and rugby league magic weekend fixtures from anfield

might look in here for SC updates, if sellick go 2 up early doors i might start watching it instead

23-05-2019, 06:56 PM
Taking great delight in watching Celtic thrash the trash.

23-05-2019, 06:59 PM
I’m going away for the weekend. If they scrape a win I’ll make sure I’m back much later than the parade finishes as well.

23-05-2019, 07:07 PM
Heading to Carlisle with my old man and my uncle for a day out.

Antonyopus
23-05-2019, 07:08 PM
Hearts to win the cup is a generally available 7/2 or to win in 90 min 8/1. I will not be watching the game - zero interest however I will be putting a bet on Hearts just in case. I hope and want Celtic to win but I will take comfort in a substantial return if Hearts win.

23-05-2019, 07:14 PM
Watching and hoping Celtic get 2 up early on so I can relax and enjoy the game.

Newry Hibs
23-05-2019, 07:51 PM
Hertz are 8/1 to win in 90 mins.

40/1 celtc to win 5-1

23-05-2019, 07:54 PM
I've got a garden to dig. Might listen to it on headphones. Or I might listen to some of my spotify lists.

Is there any way both teams can lose?

green with envy
23-05-2019, 08:02 PM
Cameo in the morning to watch the E Frankfurt film, then down to the Harp to watch herts get pumped.

TheGreenMan
23-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Not that my nerves could handle it but if you could guarantee a 92nd minute winner for Celtic to sicken that lot, I'd take this all day long!

23-05-2019, 08:07 PM
I'd rather if celtic score in the 92nd minute that it's their fifth or sixth of the afternoon!!

23-05-2019, 08:09 PM
Edinburgh Tartan Army sports day at The Ballroom. Pool, darts & table tennis, a few pints and watch the game.

23-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Trip to cinema for Paw Patrol the movie with my youngest daughter. Watching the Cup Final would probably be the more appealing of the two.

23-05-2019, 08:18 PM
For anyone at a loose end. The Cameo Cinema at Tollcross will be showing a German football film made by Warner Bros. Behind the scenes and match footage of Eintracht Frankfurt's eventful 2018 German cup win over Bayern Munich. The Film earned rave reviews throughout Germany so will definitely appeal to football fans in general. This is first showing of the newly released English version

It's an 11am start, 90mins film duration and the £10 entrance can be paid on the day and will be donated in full to this charity: https://sands-lothians.org.uk/ now that the screen hire cost has been fully covered.

We're expecting around 100 to be in attendance with over 80 already paid. No charge for children.

Edinburgh Adler facebook page has more info if needed. Bier Hoose in Leith Walk for the after party!

23-05-2019, 08:19 PM
What are folks up to when the Final is on? Watching it? Doing something else? I'm not sure what I'm going to do.

Doing the garden if the weather is decent with no radio on. I’ll check the score just after half time.

23-05-2019, 08:33 PM
Golfing.

BigKev
23-05-2019, 08:37 PM
I'll watch it. Celtic will pump them.

Hertz have had the easiest route to a final ever.

Celtic will win comfortably. 4 nil is my prediction.

The Gorgie mob are due an absolute horsing in a cup final. Saturday will be that day.

23-05-2019, 08:39 PM

40/1 celtc to win 5-1

Those odds seem the wrong way around to me.

23-05-2019, 08:48 PM
Going down to my caravan in Berwick tomorrow and wont be back til late Sunday just in case. Wont be watching it until I know they are getting pumped.

23-05-2019, 08:50 PM
Going down to my caravan in Berwick tomorrow and wont be back til late Sunday just in case. Wont be watching it until I know they are getting pumped.

Day out selling pegs while you're there?

23-05-2019, 08:54 PM
I fully intend to be at a beach somewhere and doing a bit of fishing, blissfully unaware of anything involving the Gorgie tramps.

23-05-2019, 08:57 PM
Day out selling pegs while you're there?

Yip got to fund my meth habit

23-05-2019, 09:01 PM
In a sheep pen at Dingwall Mart 🐑😉

hibsfan7
23-05-2019, 10:37 PM
I will be watching time for heroes again

Brunswickbill
23-05-2019, 10:45 PM
Decorating my daughter’s flat with the tv in the background to make sure that I don’t miss any humiliating moments. 🤞🏻

23-05-2019, 10:53 PM
I'll be watching it and praying for a Celtic win. I have a bad feeling now though, I hope I'm wrong. I've not been all that impressed by Celtic for a while now.

They absolutely should be beating Hearts but it's a one off game and anything can happen.

24-05-2019, 05:35 AM
Hearts are 8/1 for a reason. Bookies are rarely wrong.

24-05-2019, 06:07 AM
I'll be watching it and praying for a Celtic win. I have a bad feeling now though, I hope I'm wrong. I've not been all that impressed by Celtic for a while now.

They absolutely should be beating Hearts but it's a one off game and anything can happen.

They will do the same to Hearts as they did to Aberdeen in the semi's - turn it on and steamroller them.

I'll putting a fiver on Hearts in case though 😂

jakedance
24-05-2019, 06:25 AM
I’m quite confident Celtc will turn them over. I’ll switch it on if they’re winning comfortably, but as long as Hearts have a chance I’m not watching any of it.

24-05-2019, 07:05 AM
I wish both of them could lose. I won't be watching it, as I can't stomach the thought of listening to the Celtc fans for 90 minutes, especially when it becomes obvious they're going to win their treble treble. They'll be bloody insufferable.

Looking forward to the Glasgow vs Leinster game in the evening though!

24-05-2019, 07:07 AM
The football season finished for me weeks ago.

24-05-2019, 07:23 AM
Midnight kick off where I am.

Not even sure it’s on the sports channels live here, certainly haven’t checked.

I’ll sleep through it, and read of Hearts humiliation on Sunday morning.

SON OF PADDY
24-05-2019, 07:23 AM
I have a feeling that the hearts are going win it,and have got a wee £5 bet on both teams to score and heart's to win 14/1.
There's more important things in life to worry about than heart's winning the Cup.

24-05-2019, 07:24 AM

That seems short to me. They definitely have a chance and Lennon's record in the cup recently hasnt been great. Celtic arent as good as under Rodgers however they have enough big game players who usually turn up. Wouldnt rule out a closer game but a last man sending off or something like that and could easily swing it. Hearts score first then game on.

24-05-2019, 08:16 AM

While they get most of them right, with the amount of games/sports to bet on, they still get quite a fair amount wrong too.

Hearts shouldn't be that big a price. Say what you will about their form, Celtic are not good under Lennon and he's somehow managed to take the goals away from that team. The Celtic that performed at Ibrox the other week turn up, Hearts will win it.

24-05-2019, 08:21 AM
While they get most of them right, with the amount of games/sports to bet on, they still get quite a fair amount wrong too.

Hearts shouldn't be that big a price. Say what you will about their form, Celtic are not good under Lennon and he's somehow managed to take the goals away from that team. The Celtic that performed at Ibrox the other week turn up, Hearts will win it.

What if they turn up against the hearts that regularly turn up at Ibrox including the last time when they got horsed 3-0? Hearts are utter rank. They have no chance.

24-05-2019, 08:21 AM
That seems short to me. They definitely have a chance and Lennon's record in the cup recently hasnt been great. Celtic arent as good as under Rodgers however they have enough big game players who usually turn up. Wouldnt rule out a closer game but a last man sending off or something like that and could easily swing it. Hearts score first then game on.

Celtic look a different team in the cup, even under Lennon. With the likes of Forrest and Tierney back in i think they'll win comfortably. Especially on that huge park. Think we'll see similar to 2013.

penihibs
24-05-2019, 08:37 AM

40/1 celtc to win 5-1

I've got 50/1 from Skybet.
How good would that be!!

24-05-2019, 08:37 AM
Would rather be skint than a hearts winning bet.

Topographic Hibby
24-05-2019, 08:53 AM
There's more important things in life to worry about than heart's winning the Cup.Pre May-2016, the prospect of Hearts lifting the Scottish Cup while we still wait to overcome the 1902 hoodoo, would be excruciating in the extreme.

Basking now in the glory of that day, i really couldn't be that bothered. Might watch it, might not.

I like the F1 and will be watching all the stuff from Monaco and tributes to Niki Lauda etc. If its sunny, I'll be in the garden with the grand-kids. If Celtic are winning by a goal fest, I might sit and gloat. I have two neighbours who are Jambos. so might take the dog for a long walk areund 4.45 if they are winning. :rolleyes:

TBH, really couldn't care that much. The memories of 21/5 will live with me and a Hearts cup win can never take that away.

24-05-2019, 08:56 AM
Pre May-2016, the prospect of Hearts lifting the Scottish Cup while we still wait to overcome the 1902 hoodoo, would be excruciating in the extreme.

Basking now in the glory of that day, i really couldn't be that bothered. Might watch it, might not.

I like the F1 and will be watching all the stuff from Monaco and tributes to Niki Lauda etc. If its sunny, I'll be in the garden with the grand-kids. If Celtic are winning by a goal fest, I might sit and gloat. I have two neighbours who are Jambos. so might take the dog for a long walk areund 4.45 if they are winning. :rolleyes:

TBH, really couldn't care that much. The memories of 21/5 will live with me and a Hearts cup win can never take that away.

Well said. Would still be pish if they won it but would have been worse if we hadn't had the greatest day in history.

24-05-2019, 08:59 AM
After I play golf, and while the maroon saboteurs are otherwise engaged, I'll be sitting on my phone, voting for SJM, deleting my cookies, voting for SJM, deleting my cookies, voting for SJM ... :greengrin:

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11688/11722446/vote-championship-goal-of-the-season

24-05-2019, 09:08 AM
Is there a game on??????????

24-05-2019, 10:00 AM
I'll watch it. Celtic will pump them.

Hertz have had the easiest route to a final ever.

Celtic will win comfortably. 4 nil is my prediction.

The Gorgie mob are due an absolute horsing in a cup final. Saturday will be that day.

Positive thoughts....I like it

JXM73
24-05-2019, 10:04 AM
Are we the last team to win anything before celtics run of 8 trophies on the bounce?

I'll no be watching...

24-05-2019, 10:17 AM
Are we the last team to win anything before celtics run of 8 trophies on the bounce?

I'll no be watching...

Yes, the last team to break the stranglehold.

24-05-2019, 10:29 AM
£15 on the grunts @ 8/1 will soften the blow should they win :cb

although if they win after ET i'l be doubly sad :(

24-05-2019, 11:00 AM
£15 on the grunts @ 8/1 will soften the blow should they win :cb

although if they win after ET i'l be doubly sad :(

9/2 to win the Cup in 90, ET or penalties.

24-05-2019, 11:04 AM
To be pissing down in Glasgow tomorrow which is nice. Hope it adds to the miserable experience for the Hearts supporters

24-05-2019, 11:16 AM
Not that my nerves could handle it but if you could guarantee a 92nd minute winner for Celtic to sicken that lot, I'd take this all day long!
Poor shout. You should be ashamed of yourself.
If anything could be guaranteed it should be a 95th min very soft penalty award to 10-man Celtic and a panenka to win it 1-0. Oh and an earlier "goal" by Them wrongly disallowed for offside.

24-05-2019, 11:18 AM
Can't really see Hearts beating Celtic tomorrow, but if they do then fair play to them. It wouldn't bother me much although I'd prefer a Celtic win. If they were playing the Rangers in the Final then I'd be rooting for Hearts 100%.

Not sure if I can be arsed watching the game. Just love the Hibs:flag:

24-05-2019, 11:57 AM
Can't really see Hearts beating Celtic tomorrow, but if they do then fair play to them. It wouldn't bother me much although I'd prefer a Celtic win. If they were playing the Rangers in the Final then I'd be rooting for Hearts 100%.

Not sure if I can be arsed watching the game. Just love the Hibs:flag:

Hate Rangers but no way would i want Hearts to beat them in any game never mind a final.

24-05-2019, 11:59 AM
Heading to Outer Hebrides on 8 day tour so even if the unthinkable happens I’m well out of dodge

CorrieHibs
24-05-2019, 01:26 PM
Heading to Carlisle with my old man and my uncle for a day out.

Hahaha I went there when they played Gretna in the final.

24-05-2019, 02:05 PM
After I play golf, and while the maroon saboteurs are otherwise engaged, I'll be sitting on my phone, voting for SJM, deleting my cookies, voting for SJM, deleting my cookies, voting for SJM ... :greengrin:

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11688/11722446/vote-championship-goal-of-the-season
I'm with you mate - this is where I will be during the game

http://www.riverplantationgolfclub.com/about_us/

24-05-2019, 03:57 PM
Going away for the weekend. Too busy on Cup Final day if U live near Hampden

Here’s Lucy!
24-05-2019, 04:05 PM
Hate Rangers but no way would i want Hearts to beat them in any game never mind a final.

Never want them to win.

24-05-2019, 04:48 PM
I will be too busy packing for 10 days in Menorca 🌞

24-05-2019, 05:01 PM
I have already mentioned I'm in Dingwall. In the Mallard just now and there is a Hibs crest above the bar. I'm on my phone and don't know how to attach it.

24-05-2019, 05:05 PM
Now that Hibs have won the cup in recent times, hearts winning it tomorrow would be no more than a slight disappointment disappointment.

I entirely want them to get stuffed but a win wouldn't put me in hiding for days on end!

24-05-2019, 05:14 PM
9/2 to win the Cup in 90, ET or penalties.

i thought FT is 90 mins= 8/1, then to lift the trophy is after ET = 9/2 or have i got it the wrong way around :eyes:

24-05-2019, 05:21 PM
i thought FT is 90 mins= 8/1, then to lift the trophy is after ET = 9/2 or have i got it the wrong way around :eyes:

You are correct 8/1 is, to win in 90. 9/2 is to win the Cup no matter which way it is in 90, after ET or on penalties.

24-05-2019, 05:22 PM
I'll be walking. Charity walk 55 miles to Blackpool.

Day one is Halifax to Blackburn 29 miles. Setting off early but don't think will arrive to see any of the game.

24-05-2019, 05:25 PM
I will watch the game, but, if Hearts get the first goal, the TV will be switched off.

24-05-2019, 05:37 PM
I will watch the game, but, if Hearts get the first goal, the TV will be switched off.

But that will make it more painful for them when they still lose.

24-05-2019, 05:38 PM
But that will make it more painful for them when they still lose.

Hearts leading until the 89th minute then conceding 2 injury time goals would be the best way but It would be torture for 89 minutes.

24-05-2019, 05:41 PM
I’m not believing anyone who says they won’t be fussed if hearts win it, I’ll be ****ing gutted

Hope Celtic dispatch them with ease

24-05-2019, 05:41 PM
Still not sure of my plans. I like the sound of a holiday to Menorca or a trip to the Hebrides, but I've probably left it a bit late for that.

Not that I'm trying to avoid it. If I watch it, I watch it. And, if hearts win it, they win it. I'm pretty cool about it. In fact, them winning a trophy with their own cash for the first time since 1962 would be a pretty impressive feat.

Deeds
24-05-2019, 05:53 PM
£5 on Celtic -2

24-05-2019, 05:59 PM
Our cup win and the way it was won (beating them on the way) definitely has made me feel different about tomorrow.

Of course you don’t want your rivals to win but I still wouldn’t change anything for the feeling we felt when we won it and coming from behind to end 116 years.

The thing is I don’t trust Lennon - I just hope the Celtic players show up as they were awful in the recent Bigot fest at Ibrox.

Won’t be watching it as I’m away so will just check at full time.

24-05-2019, 06:06 PM
Credit to Levein for his joke about Hearts going for the single single. Probably the first time I've found one of his jokes or his banter funny.

24-05-2019, 06:12 PM
Our cup win and the way it was won (beating them on the way) definitely has made me feel different about tomorrow.

Of course you don’t want your rivals to win but I still wouldn’t change anything for the feeling we felt when we won it and coming from behind to end 116 years.

Don't exaggerate, it was only 114.

:tsk tsk:

24-05-2019, 06:19 PM
Credit to Levein for his joke about Hearts going for the single single. Probably the first time I've found one of his jokes or his banter funny.

I thought it was a bit embarrassing. Opinions!

24-05-2019, 06:46 PM
Couldn't think of many things worse than Hearts winning the Scottish Cup and riding their double decker bus through the west of the city on Sunday. Hope Celtic give them a good doing. Even better if the Jambos have at least one player sent off. Five or six nil would be pleasing.

24-05-2019, 07:03 PM
Two goals in the first 20 mins will suck the remaining life out of them.

Levein doesn’t do adventurous and they will just kick harder.

3-0 down at half time and down to 10 men.

Then Celtic destroy them in 2nd half and they win 6-0.

No shots on goal and half the crowd away home at half time.

24-05-2019, 07:17 PM
I'm buggering off to Newcastle with the Mrs for a night out. Staying down there as well, I will watch it in a boozer down there with my good friend Mr Lager which will sort me out whether they win it or not.

Fancy 2-0 Celtic or 3-1 if I had to choose btts and win. Will put a tenner on Hearts at 8s to soften the blow if they win it as that is a crazy price for a one off game involving a stuttering Celtic team.

24-05-2019, 07:18 PM

I'll no be watching...

Yes, the last team to break the stranglehold.

I've been telling Celtc supporting friends that our two clubs have won the last nine trophies between us.

It's actually very entertaining watching them try to work it out.

24-05-2019, 07:23 PM
If Hearts were to win would they be the worst side ever to win the Scottish cup? I can't think of a worse one. Dundee United in 1994 maybe? Killie in 97?

24-05-2019, 07:31 PM
If Hearts were to win would they be the worst side ever to win the Scottish cup? I can't think of a worse one. Dundee United in 1994 maybe? Killie in 97?

They wold certainly have had the easiest run in EVER to get to a final , Jammy barstewards

I will console myself with the fact they have no chance tomorrow though , Very confident :cb

24-05-2019, 07:41 PM

Hearts v Gretna

24-05-2019, 07:41 PM
Hearts v Gretna

That was a very decent Hearts side to be fair

The Pointer
24-05-2019, 08:08 PM
I'm in Turkey so will be on a long cycle ride in the afternoon with a mate before sitting down for a feed and beers with our friends prior to watching the rugby. The Cup Final can gtf as we're not playing.

hibeejoy
24-05-2019, 08:19 PM
First half in the background for me then off to play football.

24-05-2019, 08:21 PM
That was a very decent Hearts side to be fair

I've nae interest in being fair to them. 😉

24-05-2019, 08:41 PM
They ****s won’t win the cup tomorrow. Not an actual hope. Teresa May then Ann Budge greeting two days in a row. Two self important pricks who haven’t got a clue.

24-05-2019, 08:42 PM
Would rather be skint than a hearts winning bet.

I couldn't agree more.

I could never bet on Hearts to win any match, never mind a Scottish Cup final.

Them winning wouldn't soften anything.

24-05-2019, 08:46 PM
They ****s won’t win the cup tomorrow. Not an actual hope. Teresa May then Ann Budge greeting two days in a row. Two self important pricks who haven’t got a clue.

Thread of the day for me
Would love this!