View Full Version : Season ticket experiment

20-05-2019, 09:15 PM
This season I purchased an adult & child season ticket FF Lower. It was their 1st season at Easter Road.

When the cold weather kicked in they weren't interested in attending & never went for the rest of the season.

At this point Hibs were saying if anyone gets caught using a kids ticket they would have ticket confiscated.

I then used the child ticket at every game whilst still having my own ticket as back up.

Every time I entered there was a security presence & not once was i stopped.

Are Hibs passing on the traffic light system to staff, or are the security just saying f#$k it why should i bother.

20-05-2019, 09:27 PM
This season I purchased an adult & child season ticket FF Lower. It was their 1st season at Easter Road.

When the cold weather kicked in they weren't interested in attending & never went for the rest of the season.

At this point Hibs were saying if anyone gets caught using a kids ticket they would have ticket confiscated.

I then used the child ticket at every game whilst still having my own ticket as back up.

Are Hibs passing on the traffic light system to staff, or are the security just saying f#$k it why should i bother.
Is that you Lee Wallace?

20-05-2019, 09:37 PM
Is that you Lee Wallace?

How long did it take you to think that up.

Dinnae apply for mastermind you only get 2 minutes in the big chair on your specialist subject.

If you do apply & ye dinnae ken the answer just say

Eh LEE WALLACE :aok:

20-05-2019, 09:42 PM

So, as well as having a pop at people on the HSL fundraising thread, you are on here bragging about how a person - if so inclined - could get in with a bairns season ticket?

An unkind person might think you were not in the slightest bit interested in giving Hibs money...................

20-05-2019, 09:50 PM

Dinnae apply for mastermind you only get 2 minutes in the big chair on your specialist subject.

Hahaha amazing🤭
Thanks for the love bro ❤️

Ps best 20 seconds of my life.

But seriously, the people should be checking the lights and hibs only lose out on money. If people are using child season tickets to get in... You should mention it to the club.

HFC93
20-05-2019, 09:54 PM

Odd behaviour.

21-05-2019, 06:45 AM

Was the whole point of your experiment that you could share your results with the club and prevent such fraud?

wearethehibs
21-05-2019, 07:04 AM
Maybe the stewards thought you were a pensioner

21-05-2019, 07:37 AM

You need to work harder at getting the kids interested, my 3 year old absolutely loves going and as she says, "I love the Hibees".

Last Minute
21-05-2019, 07:38 AM

Get a life eh LEE WALLACE

21-05-2019, 07:41 AM

"You're going or you're getting a Hearts top from Santa". Works every time.

Aim Here
21-05-2019, 08:59 AM
"You're going or you're getting a Hearts top from Santa". Works every time.

Risky strategy. Luckily your kids aren't bright enough to counter that with 'If you do that, I'll become a Jambo'.

21-05-2019, 10:43 AM
Get a life eh LEE WALLACE

Calm doon. I get his point. Anyone could use a concession without being challenged. That shouldn’t be the case.

21-05-2019, 10:43 AM
Odd behaviour

I don't think I would have conducted that experiment but if I had I would have brought the failings to the clubs attention immediately rather than wait till the end of the season when all that revenue had been lost if others were doing the same thing without the "experiment"

The lowest of the low are those who steal from the club and their fellow supporters and whilst nobody likes a grass I would have had no qualms whatsoever in bringing this shortcoming to the clubs attention.

At a time when every £ the club can raise makes a difference to what players are on the park, it is strange behaviour indeed to do as you have done.

Coupled with your animosity to HSL, is it maybe the case that you are uncomfortable with our progress and want to take us back to a situation when we were utter pap and you then could moan freely to all and sundry about how bad we were? Embrace progress (even as an experiment!)

Word to the wise though I wouldn't try smuggling in weapons or walking down to ER with your knob out for your next experiment, I don't think they will be so lax and the I was doing it for an experiment bit wont cut much ice.

Last Minute
21-05-2019, 10:57 AM
Calm doon. I get his point. Anyone could use a concession without being challenged. That shouldn’t be the case.

21-05-2019, 10:59 AM

I think people stealing should be reported.

Folk stealing from Hibs should be reported and banned.

21-05-2019, 11:07 AM

So... When is everyone else getting this reply then or is it just me? Hey atleast I have mastermind buddies.

21-05-2019, 11:12 AM
I don't see why the OP is getting a hard time. I wouldn't be happy if another adult other than a concession was paying less than what I paid for my season ticket.

21-05-2019, 11:33 AM
I don't see why the OP is getting a hard time. I wouldn't be happy if another adult other than a concession was paying less than what I paid for my season ticket.Cos he conducted a weird experiment.

21-05-2019, 11:36 AM
I don't see why the OP is getting a hard time. I wouldn't be happy if another adult other than a concession was paying less than what I paid for my season ticket.

Deliberately using the wrong season ticket to see if he was challenged by the stewards, while weird behaviour for a grown-up, isn't the issue.

If he was genuinely concerned enough by this problem to carry out his experiment, why is this not being highlighted to the club and Leeann to deal with instead of posting it on here.

The only reasons I can think of for doing that are to get attention, publically have a go at the club or to encourage other people to try and scam the club out of money by using concession tickets when they shouldn't. All of which are pathetic.

21-05-2019, 11:38 AM
Deliberately using the wrong season ticket to see if he was challenged by the stewards, while weird behaviour for a grown-up, isn't the issue.

If he was genuinely concerned enough by this problem to carry out his experiment, why is this not being highlighted to the club and Leeann to deal with instead of posting it on here.

The only reasons I can think of for doing that are to get attention, publically have a go at the club or to encourage other people to try and scam the club out of money by using concession tickets when they shouldn't. All of which are pathetic.

Although not as pathetic as people calling him out as a grass.

21-05-2019, 11:43 AM
Although not as pathetic as people calling him out as a grass.

Yup all two of them on this thread.

21-05-2019, 11:44 AM
If Hibs are paying a security company to provide stewards to ensure everyone entering the ground is using the correct ticket and it isn't happening then I can see why that's an issue.

It's all very funny calling someone a grass but, however you dress it up, people paying £25 for a ticket when they should be paying significantly more is nothing more than theft. If people can clear that with their own conscience then that's on them; if Hibs are putting measure in place to stop it then that should be happening.

I'm not suggesting I would have acted in the same way as the OP, in fact I definitely wouldn't, but whatever his motives he has highlighted a valid issue imo.

21-05-2019, 12:07 PM

Maybe it was the company and not the weather that put your kids off attending.

21-05-2019, 12:11 PM

That’s a bit of a low blow is it not?

21-05-2019, 12:17 PM
i love the end of season, when the results start coming in from any mid-season experiments :greengrin

Edinburgh Green
21-05-2019, 12:20 PM
That’s a bit of a low blow is it not?

Very. I honestly cant see why the guy is getting such a hard time for conducting a very basic experiment bearing in mind he has both season tickets on him? I'm glad he has highlighted it, hopefully Hibs will crack down on this.

21-05-2019, 01:07 PM
Funnily enough, my wife used one of my son's tickets by mistake and she got caught.

What gate did you go in?

21-05-2019, 01:08 PM
Yes I will share this with Hibs. Remember it was them that highlighted this in the press & social media.

I merely tried this to see how easy it was to gain entry to the stadium via a kids season ticket. Obviously it wasn't difficult.

Should I have highlighted this after 1 game or 9. I would say 9 as it shows how poor the vigilance was carried out.

As for whipping ma welt oot or taking in flares as an experiment I'll leave that to them who mentioned it.

Lee Wallace!! That's a new one on .net.

As for the child not want to attend when weather changed. I never forced them to go to games & if they decided not to return that is their choice.

I hope I don't look like a pensioner.

Attention seeker, dinnae think so.

I could have given ticket to someone else.

I would class it as ethical hacking.

No one was harmed in this experiment.

21-05-2019, 01:39 PM

What are you, 12?

21-05-2019, 01:41 PM

Some really poor comments on this thread but this tops the list. Have a word with yourself.

21-05-2019, 01:43 PM
Yes I will share this with Hibs. Remember it was them that highlighted this in the press & social media.

I merely tried this to see how easy it was to gain entry to the stadium via a kids season ticket. Obviously it wasn't difficult.

Which gate did you use?

HibeeHibernian4
21-05-2019, 01:52 PM
I think people stealing should be reported.

Folk stealing from Hibs should be reported and banned.

You could just as easily make the argument that Hibs have stolen from us, in charging eye-watering amounts to watch a team that we, as a community, founded.

21-05-2019, 02:30 PM
You could just as easily make the argument that Hibs have stolen from us, in charging eye-watering amounts to watch a team that we, as a community, founded.

No, you couldn't.

HibeeHibernian4
21-05-2019, 02:46 PM
No, you couldn't.

You very much could, actually. Were Hibs set up with the intention of charging fans £400+ a season to watch their team play? No.

21-05-2019, 03:11 PM
You very much could, actually. Were Hibs set up with the intention of charging fans £400+ a season to watch their team play? No.

Would you be a Hibs fan if we were still essentially a church social team playing on the Meadows? Probably not. Things change.

21-05-2019, 03:19 PM
Why’s the OP getting so much grief??

All year folk have complained about empty seats in the FF lower and that something should be done about it.

He has highlighted that the club weren’t doing anything this season to prevent ticket abuse.

He might even save the club some money which I thought most of you would welcome ;)

21-05-2019, 03:31 PM
Why’s the OP getting so much grief??

All year folk have complained about empty seats in the FF lower and that something should be done about it.

He has highlighted that the club weren’t doing anything this season to prevent ticket abuse.

He might even save the club some money which I thought most of you would welcome ;)

Agreed it’s baffling. The OP has actually done not a single thing wrong. This should be highlight to the club as it’s effectively costing money down to piss poor stewards.

21-05-2019, 03:52 PM
Agreed it’s baffling. The OP has actually done not a single thing wrong. This should be highlight to the club as it’s effectively costing money down to piss poor stewards.

Well technically he has by using the wrong ticket, but I agree with the sentiment.

21-05-2019, 04:03 PM

Aye he has - even ignoring that he used a child ST which is actually grounds to have both STs removed...........if this was a genuine experiment, then why did it need to be every game since the cold weather started?

His words -

"Hibs were saying if anyone gets caught using a kids ticket they would have ticket confiscated.
Every time I entered there was a security presence & not once was i stopped"

Why not try it once, maybe twice and then inform Hibs, or one of the Fans reps on twitter or facepage or whatever that the system is open to abuse?

Posting it on here is just attention seeking, a bit like his HSL comments yesterday.

barcahibs
21-05-2019, 04:07 PM
Absolutely think this is something that should be being raised, I've not followed the OP across other threads (I'm rubbish at that) so no idea if there's some other agenda going on but it doesnt alter his basic point. Folk shouldn't be stealing from the club, and if they are they should be called out.

Incidentally the idea of anyone over the age of about 12 using the term 'grass' in anything but an ironic way is hilarious.

I think the Club's prices are reasonable but I do wonder if there is room in the 'accessible' category to include a few other groups - thinking especially of people out of work long term due to health issues which aren't currently covered. I didn't work for years due to mental health issues and Hibs were one of the few things in my life that really kept me going - but it was a struggle to afford it. I'm not in that category now - thankfully - but I'm sure there are many who are.

But I don't know how that would be done and I would fear the system being abused unfortunately.

21-05-2019, 04:09 PM
Well technically he has by using the wrong ticket, but I agree with the sentiment.

Technically but he did have his own ticket on him too.

21-05-2019, 04:10 PM
What are you, 12?

Only on his season ticket!

21-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Aye he has - even ignoring that he used a child ST which is actually grounds to have both STs removed...........if this was a genuine experiment, then why did it need to be every game since the cold weather started?

His words -

"Hibs were saying if anyone gets caught using a kids ticket they would have ticket confiscated.

Why not try it once, maybe twice and then inform Hibs, or one of the Fans reps on twitter or facepage or whatever that the system is open to abuse?

Posting it on here is just attention seeking, a bit like his HSL comments yesterday.

I would imagine if it was only one game it could have been a fluke. The fact it’s every game highlights the shambles of the stewarding potentially costing the club lots of revenue.

21-05-2019, 04:38 PM

His words -

My HSL comments were based on my opinion.
There was 21 points of a difference between Hibs & Killie season 17 - 18 & 18 - 19. They also have an average of 10k less than Hibs per home game. But they were streets ahead of us without the same financial backing.

More attention seeking as you have suggested.

21-05-2019, 04:43 PM

Yet another snide comment from you towards another poster.

21-05-2019, 04:43 PM
Absolutely think this is something that should be being raised, I've not followed the OP across other threads (I'm rubbish at that) so no idea if there's some other agenda going on but it doesnt alter his basic point. Folk shouldn't be stealing from the club, and if they are they should be called out.

Incidentally the idea of anyone over the age of about 12 using the term 'grass' in anything but an ironic way is hilarious.

I think the Club's prices are reasonable but I do wonder if there is room in the 'accessible' category to include a few other groups - thinking especially of people out of work long term due to health issues which aren't currently covered. I didn't work for years due to mental health issues and Hibs were one of the few things in my life that really kept me going - but it was a struggle to afford it. I'm not in that category now - thankfully - but I'm sure there are many who are.

But I don't know how that would be done and I would fear the system being abused unfortunately.

I have no agenda with Hibs.

If you don't go with the flow you are either

LEE WALLACE or

ATTENTION SEEKING

21-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Which gate did you use?

I used all gates upper & lower in FF as the ticket works in them all.

21-05-2019, 04:48 PM

Should I have highlighted this after 1 game or 9. I would say 9 as it shows how poor the vigilance was carried out.

As for whipping ma welt oot or taking in flares as an experiment I'll leave that to them who mentioned it.

Lee Wallace!! That's a new one on .net.

As for the child not want to attend when weather changed. I never forced them to go to games & if they decided not to return that is their choice.

I hope I don't look like a pensioner.

Attention seeker, dinnae think so.

I could have given ticket to someone else.

I would class it as ethical hacking.

No one was harmed in this experiment.

No problem with this, it demonstrates that there is a problem & hopefully Hibs will take note.

CathroMustStay
21-05-2019, 04:49 PM

What a cretinous comment.

21-05-2019, 04:52 PM
I think the person was only pointing out that it’s something Hibs should be clamping down on and they’re clearly not.

What’s with the ‘grass’ stuff? Surely only people under 15 and folk that want to excuse behaving like ***** come out with that stuff.

21-05-2019, 04:56 PM

If I was encouraging others to do this I would have posted it mid season. If you were aware this was an issue for Hibs during the season & it's obviously not been addressed.

HibeeHibernian4
21-05-2019, 04:59 PM
Would you be a Hibs fan if we were still essentially a church social team playing on the Meadows? Probably not. Things change.

We, as a fanbase, built Hibs into the club they are today. They, along with every other professional club in Britain, turned around and started charging us silly prices for the ‘privilege’ of attending something that our ancestors made possible. Seems a bit like stealing, to me.

21-05-2019, 05:07 PM
My HSL comments were based on my opinion.
There was 21 points of a difference between Hibs & Killie season 17 - 18 & 18 - 19. They also have an average of 10k less than Hibs per home game. But they were streets ahead of us without the same financial backing.

More attention seeking as you have suggested.

You dont actually know how much money Killies directors are putting in (neither do I , but they have publicly stated that they do prop up the club, and its clearly more than STF puts in to us annually, as he has said that we must be self sufficient).

I have no problem with you holding different opinions, but you should stop stating opinion as fact.

Back on topic, have you emailed the club about the ticket issue yet?

21-05-2019, 05:08 PM
We, as a fanbase, built Hibs into the club they are today. They, along with every other professional club in Britain, turned around and started charging us silly prices for the ‘privilege’ of attending something that our ancestors made possible. Seems a bit like stealing, to me.

Charging silly prices as players are paid silly wages.

21-05-2019, 05:10 PM
You dont actually know how much money Killies directors are putting in (neither do I , but they have publicly stated that they do prop up the club, and its clearly more than STF puts in to us annually, as he has said that we must be self sufficient).

I have no problem with you holding different opinions, but you should stop stating opinion as fact.

Back on topic, have you emailed the club about the ticket issue yet?

They have half the wage bill of us that’s been published.

barcahibs
21-05-2019, 05:27 PM

'We' as a fanbase demanded ever greater success and facilities. Those things require ever larger financial outlays from the Club.

Where should that money come from?

21-05-2019, 05:37 PM

You clearly don’t understand what stealing is then.

21-05-2019, 05:40 PM
Request to the OP:

Could you let us know what the reply was from the club, once you get it?

Cheers,

21-05-2019, 06:21 PM
They have half the wage bill of us that’s been published.

Not quite, they have average salary (allegedly) about 60% of the Hibs average.

However their average salary has risen by 22% in the last 18 months, thats not been paid for by gates.

21-05-2019, 06:50 PM
Request to the OP:

Could you let us know what the reply was from the club, once you get it?

Cheers,

Yes of course.

It will be interesting to see if Hibs deem this a weird experiment.

21-05-2019, 06:53 PM
'We' as a fanbase demanded ever greater success and facilities. Those things require ever larger financial outlays from the Club.

Where should that money come from?

You always want better success, but apart from talk of an indoor full size pitch what other facilities are the fans demanding apart from better pies.

21-05-2019, 07:38 PM
Yes of course.

It will be interesting to see if Hibs deem this a weird experiment.

Excellent, ta.

barcahibs
21-05-2019, 07:59 PM
You always want better success, but apart from talk of an indoor full size pitch what other facilities are the fans demanding apart from better pies.

Compared to what the club had when it was founded?

You can be a community club, playing down the park and serving the few fans who follow it or you can have the biggest football stadium in the city, play in the top national league and be an internationally known football 'name'.

There are regular threads on here asking Hibs to spend on the sound systems, the catering, the bathrooms, behind the goals.

I've seen requests for creches, statues, elevators, all things that I could see the club spending money on.

We have four high quality stands - two of which are 20 years old and probably starting to require decent amounts of maintenance.

We have Hibs TV, a high quality marketing team, stadium branding, all things folk would rightly complain about if they were to disappear.

There's been talk of autism rooms (something we really should have imo) and audio description (something we might already have?)

There was a thread on here not that long ago suggesting Hibs should be doing something about the internet connectivity in the stadium for mobile users - that seems a bit of a joke now but I reckon give it 10 years and that demand will be serious.

Folk are often taking about reintroducing standing - which I bet won't be cheap.

That's just off the top of my head and we haven't even mentioned players wages.

Hibs are a big club, and with that status comes big costs. What would you cut? Where would you like us to be?

21-05-2019, 08:17 PM

You can be a community club, playing down the park and serving the few fans who follow it or you can have the biggest football stadium in the city, play in the top national league and be an internationally known football 'name'.

There are regular threads on here asking Hibs to spend on the sound systems, the catering, the bathrooms, behind the goals.

I've seen requests for creches, statues, elevators, all things that I could see the club spending money on.

We have four high quality stands - two of which are 20 years old and probably starting to require decent amounts of maintenance.

We have Hibs TV, a high quality marketing team, stadium branding, all things folk would rightly complain about if they were to disappear.

There's been talk of autism rooms (something we really should have imo) and audio description (something we might already have?)

There was a thread on here not that long ago suggesting Hibs should be doing something about the internet connectivity in the stadium for mobile users - that seems a bit of a joke now but I reckon give it 10 years and that demand will be serious.

Folk are often taking about reintroducing standing - which I bet won't be cheap.

Hibs are a big club, and with that status comes big costs. What would you cut? Where would you like us to be?

I have copied While The Chief post on HSL as this is where I am 100%.

I think you guys do a terrific job and I don’t take anything you say in a negative way.

I’m wary of adding anything further as it may be taken as me trying to derail your efforts. I promise that is not my intention at all.

I’ll try and answer in as basic a form as I can, and again I’m only speaking for myself, not anyone else.

The basic principle of a typical fan donating cash to a business with a multi million pound turnover just doesn’t sit right with me. It used be that buying a ST was the way you supported your club financially, now that’s not enough.

I think fans in general pay more than enough already.

The constant mantra of “every little helps” is just BS. If I start donating £10 per month it will make zero difference to anything at the club. Now, the argument here is always that if 5000 of us paid the tenner then we can make a huge difference.

Well that’s a kind of if my auntie had balls argument.

My take on things from the outset were that STF couldn’t find anyone to buy the club and that this is a way for him to start to get shot of it. If it had simply been pay £225 to own a wee bit of the club then fine.

We are now constantly told that the only way to compete with Hearts or Aberdeen is for us to donate money to the club. I simply don’t agree with this one bit.

If that is the case and I’m wrong, then I think as a club we need to then just accept our place financially and do the best we can.

We’ve tried spending money we didn’t have in the past resulting in huge debts. Now we’re trying to spend money we don’t have by getting fans to donate it.

How about just spending the money we do have!

21-05-2019, 08:34 PM

Autism friendly room.Yes

Audio description Yes .We already have, but I'm sure you need to meet criteria to receive a headset on match days. My friends son uses it & it really keeps him engaged other wise his mind would be elsewhere

Safe standing.No

WiFi No. Just like smoking at half time. Your there to watch the match. If you can't do without your phone or a fag for 90 mins you have an addiction.

Tannoy No. Who cares whose birthday it is at half time.

Chreches, statues No Don't forget it was .netters who paid for the SC 2016 photo on the FF Stand

Elevators.Not after the fiasco of the FF upper lift carry on.

Hibs TV not fussed. I think this really benefits fans who are unable to attend ER. Is this self funded through subscription.

Maintenance. Any stadium should have a contingency in place for maintenance.

Only spend what we can afford.

HibbySpurs
21-05-2019, 08:54 PM
Autism friendly room.Yes

Audio description Yes .We already have, but I'm sure you need to meet criteria to receive a headset on match days. My friends son uses it & it really keeps him engaged other wise his mind would be elsewhere

Safe standing.No

WiFi No. Just like smoking at half time. Your there to watch the match. If you can't do without your phone or a fag for 90 mins you have an addiction.

Tannoy No. Who cares whose birthday it is at half time.

Chreches, statues No Don't forget it was .netters who paid for the SC 2016 photo on the FF Stand

Elevators.Not after the fiasco of the FF upper lift carry on.

Hibs TV not fussed. I think this really benefits fans who are unable to attend ER. Is this self funded through subscription.

Maintenance. Any stadium should have a contingency in place for maintenance.

Only spend what we can afford.

Just to pick up on your maintenance point, the club in the last year has appointed a major Construction/FM company to do the facilities management at the stadium following a successful spell with this organisation doing the FM at East Mains so there is most definitely a contingency in place on the front and this isn’t a small Mickey Mouse Construction/FM company it’s one of the top 20 in the UK

cookin_on_gaz
21-05-2019, 10:39 PM
Maybe it was the company and not the weather that put your kids off attending.I have to say that this is one of the most horrible things I have seen written on a forum, and that includes rangers media. Very very poor and saddening [emoji17]

Sent from my AGS-W09 using Tapatalk

21-05-2019, 10:45 PM
I have to say that this is one of the most horrible things I have seen written on a forum, and that includes rangers media. Very very poor and saddening [emoji17]

Must say I read it as someone just having a wee laugh, and certainly not meant to offend.

Maybe I'm in the minority though as it's my kind of humour.

cookin_on_gaz
21-05-2019, 10:57 PM
Must say I read it as someone just having a wee laugh, and certainly not meant to offend.

Maybe I'm in the minority though as it's my kind of humour.You could be correct, I just felt a bit bad for the Op getting a hard time.

The biggest problem with screen time becoming the social norm is the difficulty in achieving the correct context and tone. If the guy I quoted was intending it to be light hearted then maybe the use of smileys could have helped to convey this.

Anyhow, I will dismount my high horse and go make a cuppa [emoji846]