View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Aberdeen

19-05-2019, 12:33 PM
Time for our last game of the season; let's ruin Aberdeen's and give Bartley and Milligan a good send off.

19-05-2019, 12:46 PM
Any early team news?

19-05-2019, 12:49 PM
Any early team news?

Horgan back in. Kamberi sub

19-05-2019, 12:49 PM
Starting XI - Marciano, Gray (c), McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, Milligan, Mallan, Omeonga, Horgan, Murray, McNulty

Subs - Bogdan, Whittaker, Bartley, Slivka, Agyepong, Kamberi, Shaw

19-05-2019, 12:50 PM
No Bartley no party.

19-05-2019, 12:50 PM
Starting XI - Marciano, Gray (c), McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, Milligan, Mallan, Omeonga, Horgan, Murray, McNulty

Subs - Bogdan, Whittaker, Bartley, Slivka, Agyepong, Kamberi, Shaw

Would liked to have seen Bartley & Agyepong start

19-05-2019, 12:55 PM
No Gauld in the squad either

19-05-2019, 12:55 PM
Whittaker back in from nowhere...

Strange.

19-05-2019, 12:56 PM
What's happened to Mackie? Injured or just not being selected?

19-05-2019, 12:57 PM

He’s not injured, played this week for the Reserves

19-05-2019, 01:01 PM
Time for our last game of the season; let's ruin Aberdeen's and give Bartley and Milligan a good send off.

Wont really ruin aberdeens season. 4th will still get them into Europe when Celtic win the Scottish.

19-05-2019, 01:02 PM
Would liked to have seen Bartley & Agyepong startMe too disappointed in that line up tbh...we need more width and creativity in the starting 11..would deffo have started Wee Tam and Bartley surely deserved a start over Milligan for his last appearance?? Hey ho...mon the Hibees

19-05-2019, 01:03 PM
Wont really ruin aberdeens season. 4th will still get them into Europe when Celtic win the Scottish.

True but they will start want to finish 3rd so they don’t have to start a round earlier

19-05-2019, 01:11 PM
He’s not injured, played this week for the Reserves

Thanks. :aok:

Shame, I thought he looked good, would have played him infront of Lewis to see how he got on there. Hopefully gets a chance next season.

19-05-2019, 01:15 PM
True but they will start want to finish 3rd so they don’t have to start a round earlier

I don’t think they do. Only the team that finish second skip a qualifying round I think. Unless it’s changed from last year.

19-05-2019, 01:21 PM
I don’t think they do. Only the team that finish second skip a qualifying round I think. Unless it’s changed from last year.

Oops 😬

You probably are right

19-05-2019, 01:26 PM

Barely had any minutes under new regime..looks like they don’t fancy him.

19-05-2019, 01:28 PM

All 3 Scottish clubs in the Europa League will start in the 1st qualifying round.

007 Mickey Weir
19-05-2019, 01:29 PM
Whittaker back in from nowhere...

Strange.

His last game for Hibs.......

19-05-2019, 01:31 PM
All 3 Scottish clubs in the Europa League will start in the 1st qualifying round.

So take it has changed

Would have thought maybe it would have stayed the same as both ugly sisters and ourselves did our co-efficient a bit of good in Europe this season.

Aim Here
19-05-2019, 01:31 PM
His last game for Hibs.......

Possibly - but he still has a year on his contract, so that's not official, yet.

19-05-2019, 01:36 PM

He is out warming up with the subs I’d imagine he is the reserve player

ShadesLongThrow
19-05-2019, 01:37 PM
Nice bit of marketing today with the stickers on all the seats either thanking you for renewing or encouraging you to sign up and not lose the seat.

19-05-2019, 01:37 PM
He is out warming up with the subs I’d imagine he is the reserve player

19th man today by the looks of it, in case anyone gets injured in the warm up. I like this idea

19-05-2019, 01:44 PM
Unless I’m blind, I can’t see Kamberi anywhere on the pitch

19-05-2019, 01:46 PM
So take it has changed

Would have thought maybe it would have stayed the same as both ugly sisters and ourselves did our co-efficient a bit of good in Europe this season.

It's based on the previous season, Scotland moved down a spot based on the 17-18 rankings. Might have moved back up based on the 18-19 rankings, but not sure if they'll be available yet

19-05-2019, 01:48 PM
Unless I’m blind, I can’t see Kamberi anywhere on the pitch

I'm struggling as well, maybe that's why Mackie is out, maybe Flo picked up a knock?

19-05-2019, 01:51 PM
Nice bit of marketing today with the stickers on all the seats either thanking you for renewing or encouraging you to sign up and not lose the seat.

Really nice touch! Thank you for signing up...well done Hibs! Interestingly there seem to be no stickers in the FF lower (looking down from the West)?

19-05-2019, 01:53 PM
I'm struggling as well, maybe that's why Mackie is out, maybe Flo picked up a knock?

He started the warm up with a strapped knee.

19-05-2019, 01:55 PM
Really nice touch! Thank you for signing up...well done Hibs! Interestingly there seem to be no stickers in the FF lower (looking down from the West)?

I see that too, can't see any stickers on FF Lower seats (looking from East), though there are some in FF Upper.

19-05-2019, 01:57 PM
He started the warm up with a strapped knee.

Ta, he's still showing on the score board with the team line ups, so assume he's still on the bench

19-05-2019, 02:05 PM
Jambos one down after three minutes.

19-05-2019, 02:06 PM
Omeonga taken out while clear on goal, no foul.

19-05-2019, 02:09 PM
Killie pies 1-0 up v The Huns!

19-05-2019, 02:13 PM
Jambos one down after three minutes.

It was actually just into the second minute.

https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/live-match-celtic-v-hearts-1st-1-0-johnston-t135777-s40.html

Good goal. Jambos will be keeching themselves for the final. :greengrin

19-05-2019, 02:14 PM
Are Hearts/Celtic playing reserves?

19-05-2019, 02:15 PM
Are Hearts/Celtic playing reserves?

Nearly, there’s plenty missing from both teams that would expect to play

19-05-2019, 02:16 PM
McNulty with another pretty poor miss.

19-05-2019, 02:17 PM
McNulty with another pretty poor miss.

He’s not worth the money if we go for him on a permanent deal.

19-05-2019, 02:17 PM
Is the barrier going to be up post match?

19-05-2019, 02:18 PM
Dons fans silent now. Shame.

19-05-2019, 02:20 PM
Celtc 1 - 1 Hearts

19-05-2019, 02:22 PM
We've looked the better side so far

19-05-2019, 02:23 PM
Lennon is hopeless. Worried about this final.

19-05-2019, 02:23 PM
He’s not worth the money if we go for him on a permanent deal.

He’s no better than Simon Murray was IMO. Works hard but other than a good first 3-4 games very little end product.

19-05-2019, 02:24 PM
Murray has started well imo.

Tug Wilson
19-05-2019, 02:24 PM
It was actually just into the second minute.

https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/live-match-celtic-v-hearts-1st-1-0-johnston-t135777-s40.html

Good goal. Jambos will be keeching themselves for the final. :greengrin

I am beginning to keech myself that Celtic might mess up in the cup final.

19-05-2019, 02:25 PM
We've been by far the better side. Very decent start.

19-05-2019, 02:26 PM

Celtic resting a lot of first team players

19-05-2019, 02:26 PM

So are Hearts

19-05-2019, 02:27 PM
We've been by far the better side. Very decent start.

The midfield in particular are doing well so far.

Nothing really coming off for McNulty so far.

Their first team goalkeeper made the cock up.

He’s no better than Simon Murray was IMO. Works hard but other than a good first 3-4 games very little end product.
Simon Murray wasn't as poor a player as some make out.

19-05-2019, 02:28 PM
1-0.

Great through ball by Murray, cool finish from McNulty. 100% deserved.

Absolutely fantastic assist. Who was that?

The midfield in particular are doing well so far.

Nothing really coming off for McNulty so far.

Aye, nothing.

Mr Grieves
Yas! We've deserved that

SJNB Hibby
Nice goal we're looking good

19-05-2019, 02:29 PM
Absolutely fantastic assist. Who was that?

Fraser Murray.

1-0.

Great through ball by Murray, cool finish from M****ly. 100% deserved.

Simon Murray wasn't as poor a player as some make out.

Right now I'd love Murray back in the squad

OtleyHibs
Get in there, great pass from murray

McNulty doing what he does best.

19-05-2019, 02:30 PM

He reads the line far, far better than Murray.

What a great ball through from Murray, and a good finish. :top marks

Good effort from Murray, just wide.

Fantastic ovation for Bartley when he came out to warm up.

19-05-2019, 02:31 PM
Fraser Murray.

Thought it might be. Great prospect!

Ronster117
19-05-2019, 02:31 PM
Mon the Hibees

19-05-2019, 02:32 PM
Right now I'd love Murray back in the squad

Wouldn't go that far.

PiemanP
19-05-2019, 02:32 PM
Fraser Murray playing v well.

19-05-2019, 02:33 PM

Tell you what, Paul Hanlon doesn’t offer much more than Sean O’Hanlon.

Worth a try!

Inconsequential
He reads the line far, far better than Murray. … and has an end product too. :wink:

Hfc_Since1875
Gauld on the bench instead of Kamberi? Saw him out warming up first with a coach and now with the other subs? No sign of Kamberi warning up yet

19-05-2019, 02:34 PM
Fraser Murray playing v well.

We need him v Aberdeen though.

coco mc
This 100%
QUOTE=Peevemor;5790913]He reads the line far, far better than Murray.[/QUOTE]

Thought it might be. Great prospect!

He's started the match very strongly and is causing them big problems.

Milligan has been superb as well -dominating his area.

19-05-2019, 02:37 PM
Shinnie will get found out big time if Derby get promoted. Decent player but not much more than that.

HibeeLR
19-05-2019, 02:39 PM
How's the ref not seeing that on Horgan

19-05-2019, 02:42 PM
It's gone very scrappy from both sides the last few minutes.

19-05-2019, 02:42 PM
Shinnie will get found out big time if Derby get promoted. Decent player but not much more than that.

I think Lampard signed him thinking they'd be staying in Championship. Never an EPL player.

19-05-2019, 02:45 PM
I think Lampard signed him thinking they'd be staying in Championship. Never an EPL player.
Who thought that James Maddison or even Ryan Fraser would end up as EPL players/full internationals after leaving Aberdeen?

They've barely had a sniff and it's 1-1

1-1.

Keystone cops defending. All came from Hanlon shanking a free kick to nobody.

Paying for missed chances against Aberdeen AGAIN.

Killie 1 Huns 0

19-05-2019, 02:46 PM
Boooooo!

19-05-2019, 02:46 PM
FFS Hanlon :rolleyes:

19-05-2019, 02:47 PM
Another Hanlon mistake, he got a bit better but he's had one of his worst seasons for a long time.

Poor defending there!!

supermcginn
Hanlon ffs

19-05-2019, 02:49 PM
Bad slip from Paul at a poor moment but it’s been a great half of football

19-05-2019, 02:50 PM
Another Hanlon mistake, he got a bit better but he's had one of his worst seasons for a long time.

I think that has been his poorest season for us.

He has been a bit unlucky in that his mistakes have tended to be ruthlessly punished. He doesn't get away with much.

19-05-2019, 02:51 PM
Who thought that James Maddison or even Ryan Fraser would end up as EPL players/full internationals after leaving Aberdeen?

Surely not comparing Shinnie with those two players?

Very poor defending for the goal. At sixes and sevens at the back when they scored.

Pity as I thought we played some really nice stuff in that half.

Need to cut out these stupid mistakes.

We were dominating Aberdeen and now we’ve let them back in the game with poor defending!

Hanlon's mistake coupled with Gray always being out of position has spoilt an oetherwise decent first half performance ...

19-05-2019, 02:52 PM
Bad game management there has us drawing a game where we should be well ahead. A couple of misses, one bad which should have had us at least 2 ahead, then overplaying from Hanlon with a couple of minutes to go to half time, and there you have it 1-1.

We need to do a lot better with how we see games out to half time and full time, we've seen this too many times before.

19-05-2019, 02:53 PM
Hanlon's mistake coupled with Gray always being out of position has spoilt an oetherwise decent first half performance ...

I thought Gray had a great first half, nothing really got passed him and offered a lot going forward

jonny
19-05-2019, 02:53 PM
I thought Gray had a great first half, nothing really got passed him and offered a lot going forward

Absolutely this. The boy has some engine.

19-05-2019, 02:55 PM
Gauld in the pitch at ht warning up, is he a sub?

19-05-2019, 02:57 PM
Is there a defender in the league who slips at a crucial time more than Hanlon, he’s been doing it for years.

What is the banging from the speaker system all about?

Add Boyle and Allan and we're much better than this *****. Team of thugs.

Can't hear a thing in the East, sounds like the speakers are goosed. Sounds like someone is knocking on the mic constantly

Gauld in the pitch at ht warning up, is he a sub?

Can’t see Kamberi so maybe he replaced him at the last minute?

19-05-2019, 02:58 PM
What is the banging from the speaker system all about?

Think it's the mic actually. Music is fine.

19-05-2019, 02:59 PM
McNulty needs to be more ruthless in front of goal. Far too often, he’s looking to lay the ball off when he should just hit the target.

19-05-2019, 03:00 PM

I hope that Hecky has a plan to work on our game management.

19-05-2019, 03:01 PM
Should have been at least 2 up at half time - stupid free kick from Hanlon.

19-05-2019, 03:01 PM
McNulty needs to be more ruthless in front of goal. Far too often, he’s looking to lay the ball off when he should just hit the target.

He's taken the one big chance well, but other than that I think he's been pretty poor.

The midfield has been excellent but a wee bit of wastefulness up front and a moment of sloppiness at the back and we're drawing a game we've been dominating.

19-05-2019, 03:02 PM
I hope that Hecky has a plan to work on our game management.

If you don't have some faith in him at this point you never will. Look at how well we're playing with Lennon's mess. Trust him, he's good.

19-05-2019, 03:04 PM
If you don't have some faith in him at this point you never will. Look at how well we're playing with Lennon's mess. Trust him, he's good.

He is also in his own words playing in a completely different style to the way we are going to next season. He's adapting to the squad he has at his disposal. That's good management. Not shoehorning players into a system because you're stubborn.

19-05-2019, 03:04 PM

Gray being out of position is a regular occurence. He mostly gets bsck in time but we seem to leave a big gap at that side quite often.

19-05-2019, 03:12 PM
Who the **** is this referee? Another joker

19-05-2019, 03:14 PM

He seems determined to give Aberdeen every decision

19-05-2019, 03:15 PM

Norris I think is the ref. Pish as the rest, allow teams like Aberdeen to foul away with impunity

19-05-2019, 03:15 PM
David Gray trying to take a throw is one of the most boring things about watching Hibs.

19-05-2019, 03:16 PM
The ref has given them a foul when they were fouling us about 3 or 4 times already. That's incredible, I've never seen that happen so many times.

19-05-2019, 03:16 PM

Euan Anderson according to the BBC

19-05-2019, 03:20 PM
Should have been at least 2 up at half time - stupid free kick from Hanlon.

Willie Miller agreed with you right up until they equalised -

'Hibs have been sensational. The quality of football, the quickness of passing, the movement throughout their team has been wonderful. Aberdeen are really struggling. It should be at least 3-0 to Hibs'

19-05-2019, 03:20 PM
Surely not comparing Shinnie with those two players?
Of course not, I'm comparing the situations they were in when they all left Aberdeen. This "not at "x" level" posts are nonsense and meaningless.

19-05-2019, 03:21 PM
Sorry to say that was a fantastic goal.

1-2.

Yet again we have had countless chances, Aberdeen have had 2 and have been clinical. We just can't seem to find a way to beat them consistently.

Mr Grieves
That was so ****ing easy

19-05-2019, 03:22 PM
Great goal tbf

19-05-2019, 03:22 PM
More poor defending!!!

19-05-2019, 03:23 PM
Bartley on and given the armband for the last half hour.

berwickhibee
19-05-2019, 03:23 PM
Always the same against them at home. Dominate but cant win.

19-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Rangers equalise literally the minute they score.

19-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Our record against Aberdeen is pitiful.

19-05-2019, 03:25 PM
Ffs

Rangers equalise literally the minute they score.

Morelos booked for his celebrations. Done it for about 30 seconds at Easter road the ref and linesman done **** all

Today’s matches are now going tits up.

19-05-2019, 03:26 PM
We’ve been conned out of this game because the ref is thick as pig ?£!& and utterly incompetent.

one day maybe...
19-05-2019, 03:27 PM
Rangers fans showing their lack of class again, coming over loud and clear on the radio. Just when will they (The Club) be pulled over the coals

Our record against Aberdeen is pitiful.

It's actually quite embarrassing given their budget isn't massively higher than ours. Seems to be a real psychological block when we play them. Drives me mad as they are clearly a decent team but nothing special.

Rangers fans showing their lack of class again, coming over loud and clear on the radio. Just when will they (The Club) be pulled over the coals

Never

Every time i watch us play this lot, i never for one minute think we will win. I keep hearing how poor they are supposed to be, and how we have better players, i just dont see it myself.

They look much better than we do defensively, and up front the are clinical. I'd take every one of their players for ours.

19-05-2019, 03:28 PM
Another chance, another tame effort from within 10 yards of their goal.

19-05-2019, 03:29 PM
Every time i watch us play this lot, i never for one minute think we will win. I keep hearing how poor they are supposed to be, and how we have better players, i just dont see it myself.

They look much better than we do defensively, and up front the are clinical. I'd take every one of their players for ours.

They have been consistently better than us for years

19-05-2019, 03:30 PM
Mallan is hopeless

Lee Marvin
19-05-2019, 03:31 PM
Mallan is hopeless

Player of the year. I'd hate to see your assessment of the rest of our team

19-05-2019, 03:32 PM
Mallan is hopeless

I thought he was outstanding for an hour.

We’ve been conned out of this game because the ref is thick as pig ?£!& and utterly incompetent.

Ref hasn't been great but we only have ourselves too blame. Stupid mistakes at the back and not clinical enough up front. So many free headers have been wasted.

We are Aberdeen’s bitches

19-05-2019, 03:33 PM
I thought he was outstanding for an hour.

You could stick that on his and Horgans gravestones. 'Outstanding for an unspecified time significantly below 90 minutes'.

19-05-2019, 03:33 PM
Is Gray a wing back or a full back?

19-05-2019, 03:36 PM
One of Hecky's targets next season has to be to compete with ****ing Aberdeen.

19-05-2019, 03:37 PM
I know McNulty has scored, but today he's been so weak in his hold up play, he has to offer us more as a centre forward.

19-05-2019, 03:37 PM

They are where we should always be aiming to be. I'd be worried if it wasn't top of our agenda.

nickwhibs
19-05-2019, 03:38 PM
C'mon hibs let's get something out of this

hibIBZ
19-05-2019, 03:39 PM
Aberdeen are a horrible football team. Ref after ref allowing them to play bully tactics. 2 hands on the back at every opportunity, wrestling push players to the ground and by the 2nd half refs stopped calling it and no yellow cards. Don't get away with that against the old firm or in Europe so they get horsed

19-05-2019, 03:39 PM

I'd much prefer he aimed for ramming them in every game !

19-05-2019, 03:41 PM
Another good position, another woeful final ball.

The last few weeks have summarised us nicely. Better than the dross, quite a bit behind the teams above us.

19-05-2019, 03:42 PM
This is dire.

I know McNulty has scored, but today he's been so weak in his hold up play, he has to offer us more as a centre forward.
Totally agree, scored but has offered little else.

Imagine if Aberdeen tried to play attacking football every game.

That just sums us up, no composure at all. :rolleyes:

19-05-2019, 03:43 PM

That hasn't helped, but if we're ruthless in the final third and they're not, this is 4 or 5 nil to us.

19-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Gray has been murder 2nd half.

19-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Baffled as to why he hooked omeonga 🤔

19-05-2019, 03:45 PM
Killie penalty - 2-1 !!!!!

89th min as well - that's one ref who'll never get another Hun game !

19-05-2019, 03:45 PM
How the manager got us to 5th with this squad is anyone's guess

H18S NX
19-05-2019, 03:46 PM
We really are not that very good,the split has proven that,the game lasts ninety mins,we play for sixty,plus we have to put away the chances we make.

19-05-2019, 03:47 PM
McNulty MOTM. Someone is having a laugh.

19-05-2019, 03:48 PM
I think the post match lap of honour may be sparsely attended. Folk streaming out.

Bangkok Hibby

Beat me to it...WTF?????

How the manager got us to 5th with this squad is anyone's guess

The season's ended not a moment too soon. We need some better players in all areas or next year will be exactly the same or worse.

19-05-2019, 03:49 PM
How the manager got us to 5th with this squad is anyone's guessLooks like he done well to get us there and results since the split probably mean he's a free hand to do what he wants next window.

Big thanks to Neil Lennon for assembling this squad

Not played terrible but we are still gutless up front and get punished badly for our defensive mistakes.

I am struggling to see what others see

19-05-2019, 03:50 PM
We really are not that very good,the split has proven that,the game lasts ninety mins,we play for sixty,plus we have to put away the chances we make.

Heck said these games would let him know how competitive we were against the other top half teams, I expect he has answered a lot of those questions and we can see him starting to change it already by not renewing Bartley and Milligan. Excited for next season with the core team and the addition of what is missing.

Penalty Aberdeen. Looked 'soft'.

Mr Grieves
That's a pen

19-05-2019, 03:51 PM
We're just not as good as the 4 teams above us. That simple really.

Saved by Marciano. Awful penalty.

Gray has been murder 2nd half.

Now he's given away a pen. Honestly think a new right back could be considered.

Penalty Aberdeen. Looked 'soft'.

Can Marvin take it?

19-05-2019, 03:52 PM
Well done to Killie.

supermcginn
Now he's given away a pen. Honestly think a new right back could be considered.

You dont like him much do you lol.

Congratulations to Killie, 3rd and in Europe.

19-05-2019, 03:53 PM
Without major surgery, we’ll hover around the middle of the table next season.

Fill time. A season I'm glad to see the back off.

We're just not as good as the 4 teams above us. That simple really.

No thanks to Lennon.

Gutted. Congrats to Killie.

supermcginn
19-05-2019, 03:54 PM
Mass clearout required.

Heckingbottom out.:greengrin

Without major surgery, we’ll hover around the middle of the table next season.

Think that's a cert

hibIBZ
2nd half pretty much summed up our season. Just no cutting edge. Horgan again totally disappeared and looked so tired he could hardly play. Reffing was nothing short of a disgrace. McInnes is a well liked man in certain circles it would appear.

H18S NX
19-05-2019, 03:55 PM
Twice they have gave us a goal of a start and twice they have beaten us.

No good at all....defo not chuffed

Another abysmal post-split from us.

Mr Grieves
Well done killie, these sheep ****ging, diving, dirty thugs dinnae deserve it

Killie hang on despite SIX mins of injury-time !

Septic 2 Charity Thieves 1

nickwhibs
Glad Killie got third - can't stand Aberdeen. Yet again only got ourselves to blame for not taking advantage when we are the better team against them. Disappointing season overall but looking forward to next with some new signings

19-05-2019, 03:56 PM
You dont like him much do you lol.

Nothing personal, don't think he's been good today, poor for both goals and dreadful in giving away a pen.

Rediculous

Bobo
Aberdeen are a horrible shower of *******s, poor team who cheat and dive to gain advantage, we were piss poor today but I'm glad we're not them. Ref was a clown from start to finish and lived up to the lack of standard we've had to suffer all season. Glad it's over... here's to next season.

19-05-2019, 03:57 PM
Thank Christ it's the end of the season now rather than having to suffer another 4 weeks or whatever. This is where the hard work really begins for heckingbottom

19-05-2019, 03:57 PM
Decent first half, but 2nd half oh dear, lot of work needed at ER before next season.

Chorley Hibee
19-05-2019, 03:58 PM
Hibs better come and out and call that referee out for what he was today. Forget your incompetence, that was downright cheating and the diplomatic silence we employ is doing us no favours.

19-05-2019, 03:59 PM

It was over 7 minutes in the end.

Tug Wilson
19-05-2019, 03:59 PM
Cue some mass overreaction on here for the next few weeks.

Heckingbottom did well to get top 6 with an unbalanced and demotivated squad.

Yes some recruitment required. Mass clear out? Probably not.

With what the manager has shown over the last few months we have to have faith in the club to make the right decisions and improve next season.

Target is to get amongst Killie and Aberdeen for 3rd.

In Hecky I trust.

19-05-2019, 04:00 PM
It's not been much of a season but it's a bit harsh so few have stayed back to give the players a send-off.

That said, it took me a lot to bother my arse turning up in the first place today.

19-05-2019, 04:01 PM
500 miles really?

19-05-2019, 04:01 PM
Decent enough from Hecky to get us where we are given the squad he's had to work with. As has been said his real work starts now but I'm looking forward to next season already and more European nights at ER.

19-05-2019, 04:02 PM
A season to forget. Can't wait for next season. Scotty Allan and a few more in. Interesting times ahead. The last few games will have shown the manager a lot.

19-05-2019, 04:03 PM
Pretty poor 2nd half - too many mistakes at the back by people who should know better and nothing with any sense of urgency and bite up front - disappointing top 6 sequence of games for us .. I'd get rid of the loanies and as many others as possible - keep the goalie! :greengrin

19-05-2019, 04:07 PM
Heckingbottom out.:greengrin

Won't go that far but Heckingbottom's recordisn'tgreat afrer an initial bounce. Hopefully Hibs will be where he proves it's just a blip so far.

19-05-2019, 04:11 PM
Good 1st and average 2nd half, too many silly individual errors cost us again aided by another atrocious ref. I thought Murray played very well but tired, looks like a good load of players are needed if we want to advance.

19-05-2019, 04:15 PM
We need a bit of star quality, but we've got a decent team. One or two influencial additions to turn games like today in our favour, but huge changes would be a bit hysterical.

19-05-2019, 04:16 PM
Won't go that far but Heckingbottom's recordisn'tgreat afrer an initial bounce. Hopefully Hibs will be where he proves it's just a blip so far.

Yeah it’s not a popular view but I’m far from impressed with the manager.

hhibs
19-05-2019, 04:17 PM
I still feel our players need to be fitter and stronger, we are too easily bullied or pushed about by the likes of Aberdeen and Hearts,we need to be able to compete with their hammer throwers.

19-05-2019, 04:21 PM

He managed to beat the teams around us but has struggled up against the better teams. Bit harsh to judge him on the last three defeats given the squad is clearly not good enough for the top 3 or 4.

Thought we played ok today. Missed a couple of opportunities and a few players just simply not up to it.

19-05-2019, 04:22 PM
I think it's too often easy to pick faults in other teams and dismiss things as either luck or unlucky.

Aberdeen aren't lucky. They are cynical, clinical, have a solid defensive unit and a bit quality to hit on the break. On the other hand we aren't unlucky. We got into a few decent positions but consistently made poor decisions and were let down by a poor final ball or finish.

None of that is as a result of luck. Aberdeen have had the upper hand on us for years now because, contrary to the myth, they are a better team with a core squad of better players.

19-05-2019, 04:22 PM
He managed to beat the teams around us but has struggled up against the better teams. Bit harsh to judge him on the last three defeats given the squad is clearly not good enough for the top 3 or 4.

Thought we played ok today. Missed a couple of opportunities and a few players just simply not up to it.

But sticking with the players who’ve proven that they’re not up to it nevertheless.

19-05-2019, 04:24 PM
But sticking with the players who’ve proven that they’re not up to it nevertheless.

How does he change it now though? We’ve hardly got any options and I’d argue no one on the bench today is better than the ones that started. Give the guy a transfer window and see how it goes next season.

19-05-2019, 04:26 PM

Who would you replace them with?

19-05-2019, 04:27 PM

The ultimate hibs. Net comeback.

19-05-2019, 04:29 PM
It's not been much of a season but it's a bit harsh so few have stayed back to give the players a send-off.

That said, it took me a lot to bother my arse turning up in the first place today.Really poor from the West it was empty practically

19-05-2019, 04:30 PM
The ultimate hibs. Net comeback.

Well it's a bit daft to say he keeps playing the same players when there is no one else better in reserve

19-05-2019, 04:31 PM

Cause the teams around us are that we bit better with better quality players. He can only pish with the one he's got.

19-05-2019, 04:31 PM
Typical post split Hibs. After the highs and lows of the last few years I fear we are just back to where Fenlon left us - a middle table SPL team.

Big summer ahead for the manager and just hope he can pick up a few players from down south.

19-05-2019, 04:32 PM
But sticking with the players who’ve proven that they’re not up to it nevertheless.Hes had no choice due to injuries and the poorly balanced squad he inherited from Lennon. U cant blame the new manager for that?? He improved us from 8th to 5th
..let's give him a chance to get his own players in before we start the Hecky out nonsense shall we ..

hibIBZ
19-05-2019, 04:35 PM
I'm not saying a distant 5th is acceptable , but it is better than the fenlon days. Before last year our last top six finish yogi was in charge. The squad was always unbalanced right from the start. I think has had a few shockers in the transfer market/bringing back loan players who couldn't keep their form up

Tarrahib
19-05-2019, 04:39 PM
GMS for a start.

19-05-2019, 04:41 PM
GMS for a start.

That's not really an option though seeing as he doesn't play for us

19-05-2019, 04:43 PM
As disappointing as the season may have been, given our record since the SPL was formed with the split back in 1998 this is only the second time we have secured back to back top finishes so it really wasn't a disaster. The last time was under Mowbray.

I'm not for a second suggesting this season was what I wanted but it's not really comparable to the Fenlon days when we were lauding finishing 7th because we had been 6th for 'most of the season'.

Tarrahib
19-05-2019, 04:45 PM
That's not really an option though seeing as he doesn't play for us
No but he could be available.

19-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Thought we played some good stuff in patches today and that should have been enough to take the points. Poor finishing was our downfall. Gray, Mcgregor, Milligan, Mallan and Omeonga all had good games for me. Disappointing we couldn’t get at least an equaliser. Aberdeen know how to play the game though. A mechanical unit. Fifth place from where we were is a decent finishing position.

19-05-2019, 04:47 PM
No but he could be available.

I'm guessing you didnt read the posts before mine?

19-05-2019, 04:49 PM

I would’ve played ageypong more as soon as he was fit and I would’ve seen what Bigi and Spector offered, given the enthusiasm of the former and the calibre of the latter.

19-05-2019, 04:57 PM
Decent first half. Second half our passing was awful. Looking forward to seeing who PH brings in

19-05-2019, 04:59 PM
Decent first half. Second half our passing was awful. Looking forward to seeing who PH brings in

I'm hoping he brings someone in to replace PH.

Hibernian head coach Paul Heckingbottom: “Terrific performance. We got punished for two errors. Everything we did wrong came back to haunt us but everything we did right we didn’t get the rewards for.

“We have to recruit goals, we have to be more ruthless at the top end of the pitch.

"You can control so much with the things on the training ground and sometimes you just want to be on there to pass the ball in the net as well. It’s not just strikers, it’s all over the pitch."

Got to stop making the errors then.

I'm hoping he brings someone in to replace PH.

Pfft

19-05-2019, 05:00 PM

Yeah, beaten by a better team today but we did alright.

Finding it hard to be bothered at all, excited about the summer ahead.

19-05-2019, 05:04 PM
Quick, get on the phone to him, he probably hasn't thought of that

19-05-2019, 05:10 PM

I wouldn’t go as far as ‘far from impressed’ but I’m definitely not as impressed as most people seem to be.

hibIBZ
19-05-2019, 05:13 PM
Seeing everybody on here being a bit grumpy and down hearted, which is totally understandable, however if we had taken our early chances and won comfortably we would all be looking forward to next season. Hecky has made a good start and got us a 5th place finish where competing with Motherwell for 7th was more likely. Good off season and recruitment and we will be looking to get off to a good start

jakedance
19-05-2019, 05:14 PM
I thought we were decent in the first half but didn’t look much like scoring in the second. Aberdeen are cute, they commit 3/4 of a foul in every challenge. We need to learn how to play better against them and Hearts if we want to finish higher. Our record against nearest rivals isn’t good enough.

19-05-2019, 05:23 PM
I wouldn’t go as far as ‘far from impressed’ but I’m definitely not as impressed as most people seem to be.So what part of the 10 game unbeaten run and the jump from 8th to 5th didn't impress u??

It's far too early to be making judgements on our manager this place is a joke sometimes.

Let's at least give him 1 window...he inherited a mess from Lennon both in terms of a poorly imbalanced and demotivated squad and horrendous injuries. We were nowhere near top 6...all the post split has shown us is we aren't as good as the current top 4...which we pretty much all knew. And now so does Hecky so let's give him a chance to do something about it

coldingham hibs
19-05-2019, 05:26 PM
Thought we played well today definitely deserved at least a point and I don’t think anyone would argue if we got all 3. A couple of mistakes cost us dearly.

There will be a big turnaround of players and hopefully we get a bit more physicality and power.

19-05-2019, 05:29 PM
So what part of the 10 game unbeaten run and the jump from 8th to 5th didn't impress u??

It's far too early to be making judgements on our manager this place is a joke sometimes.

Let's at least give him 1 window...he inherited a mess from Lennon both in terms of a poorly imbalanced and demotivated squad and horrendous injuries. We were nowhere near top 6...all the post split has shown us is we aren't as good as the current top 4...which we pretty much all knew. And now so does Hecky so let's give him a chance to do something about it

He gets a minimum of one window (and that’s only if it’s a total disaster). We finished 5th because of Heckingbottom. It’s Lennon’s fault that we weren’t any higher than that. The run we went on during the winter period was awful. So many dropped points against the teams below us.

Surprised at the lack of support Heckingbottom seems to be getting considering the job he’s done since he arrived. Poor results in the last three games but we played the best teams in the league and don’t have a good enough squad to cope (again that’s Lennon’s fault).

19-05-2019, 05:39 PM
He's done enough with a very small, limited squad of other people's players to suggest that we should be looking forward with some optimism.

He made light work of the poor teams and did well against the ones around us but no manager in the world would have managed to get more from those players against the top teams.

There can be hiding place for him next season though. He's got a full summer, a relatively blank canvas, a few decent players and what should be a decent budget in order to get his own players in and make a real stamp on things.

I'm quite looking forward to next season, this one couldn't finish fast enough.

19-05-2019, 05:40 PM
He gets a minimum of one window (and that’s only if it’s a total disaster). We finished 5th because of Heckingbottom. It’s Lennon’s fault that we weren’t any higher than that. The run we went on during the winter period was awful. So many dropped points against the teams below us.

Surprised at the lack of support Heckingbottom seems to be getting considering the job he’s done since he arrived. Poor results in the last three games but we played the best teams in the league and don’t have a good enough squad to cope (again that’s Lennon’s fault).Absolutely 100% agree

Weegreenman
19-05-2019, 05:43 PM
Wasn’t happy at having to wait on the players coming back out. Took what seemed like an eternity. I got bored as did quite a few others and ended up ****ing off home! Poor show from the people who decided it would be a good idea to make us all hang around. Stadium must have been half empty when the players came back out.

Aberdeen had no such problems :rolleyes:

19-05-2019, 05:48 PM
Wasn’t happy at having to wait on the players coming back out. Took what seemed like an eternity. I got bored as did quite a few others and ended up ****ing off home! Poor show from the people who decided it would be a good idea to make us all hang around. Stadium must have been half empty when the players came back out.

Aberdeen had no such problems :rolleyes:

They were out after about 10 mins max ffs. Too much to ask for folk to wait?