View Full Version : Josh Taylor

18-05-2019, 06:50 PM
Anyone any idea what channel it’s on tonight please?
Thanks.

18-05-2019, 06:51 PM
Sky Sports Action.

Looking forward to it.

18-05-2019, 06:53 PM
Thanks mate 👍 mon the hibby.

18-05-2019, 06:55 PM
What time?

Weegreenman
18-05-2019, 06:57 PM
What time?

Programme starts at 9 o’clock

18-05-2019, 07:06 PM
Programme starts at 9 o’clock

Any idea what time he’s due to fight?

18-05-2019, 07:18 PM
Any idea what time he’s due to fight?

18-05-2019, 08:35 PM
Thanks guys coming up now.

18-05-2019, 08:51 PM
Can ram that union jack up his arse. Hope the other guy leathers him.

18-05-2019, 08:51 PM

Why?
Hibs shorts on too.

18-05-2019, 09:19 PM
sky sports action? can't find it on virgin? someone pm me a link?

18-05-2019, 09:20 PM
sky sports action? can't find it on virgin? someone pm me a link?

It’s channel 517 on virgin

18-05-2019, 09:22 PM
cheers bud.

porthibbie
18-05-2019, 09:23 PM
It’s channel 517 on virgin

http://www.hesgoal.com/news/46545/Boxing_-_Ivan_Baranchyk_vs_Josh_Taylor.html

18-05-2019, 09:28 PM

Wtf

18-05-2019, 09:29 PM
the wee man packs a fair punch

18-05-2019, 09:31 PM
IF he wins, he should be on the pitch at half time tomorrow.

18-05-2019, 09:36 PM
Cracking fight. 2 proper world class boxers.

JT just needs to box smart now.

18-05-2019, 09:40 PM
Very good fight.

Taylor only just I’d say. The 6th round with the two knockdowns were huge for Josh

18-05-2019, 09:43 PM
that's some list of scottish boxers

18-05-2019, 09:44 PM
117 - 109???

Other two judges were about right Imo.

18-05-2019, 09:44 PM
Shouldn't this thread be on the Other Sports forum?

18-05-2019, 09:45 PM
Well done, Josh, new world champ :flag:

18-05-2019, 09:45 PM

Yes. Well done Josh. :greengrin

18-05-2019, 09:46 PM
Well deserved. Both boxers contributed to a great fight and the Co main event was a bit special as well.

18-05-2019, 09:47 PM
Yes. Well done Josh. :greengrin

I find boxing boak inducing :wink:

18-05-2019, 09:47 PM
:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag

18-05-2019, 09:48 PM

Unless you're offended then no, A Hibee just won.

mentalhibee
18-05-2019, 09:52 PM
Great win. Nice green t-shirt at the end!

18-05-2019, 09:53 PM
This fight will stand Josh in good stead for the future.

Very good win and well done Josh 👍🏾

18-05-2019, 09:54 PM
Why was a belt not presented?

18-05-2019, 09:55 PM
Brilliant, a Scottish, Hibby, world champion. What's not to like about that. 🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

18-05-2019, 09:57 PM

Barman Stanton
18-05-2019, 10:02 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190518/a5d017268809d51147696cb59a4738be.jpg

son of haggart
18-05-2019, 10:06 PM
Brilliant, a Scottish, Hibby, world champion. What's not to like about that. 🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇳🇬🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Just the Hibby bit :-0

Seriously - well done to him - that guy was a tough opponent and he handled him really well. best since Buchanan I think

murray26
18-05-2019, 10:13 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190518/a5d017268809d51147696cb59a4738be.jpg

Great picture 💚💚

Amazing performance 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

18-05-2019, 11:02 PM
I was really looking forward to tonight. Unfortunately my sister and brother and law came through to Edinburgh tonight so I
Missed the bout. Knew JT was gonna win but looking forward to seeing it on you tube now. Josh is a class boxer and he will unify the belt when he fights Prescott. It’s just a bonus the boys a hibee.

18-05-2019, 11:39 PM
I’m no boxing expert but I thought the other guy was the better of the two.

BobMilne
18-05-2019, 11:48 PM

Lolz. The irony

Auckland Hibs
18-05-2019, 11:57 PM

Lol - Taylor stuck to his game plan and took the guy apart round by round.

In what part of the fight did you think that Josh was inferior?

19-05-2019, 12:31 AM
I’m no boxing expert but I thought the other guy was the better of the two. Plenty courage but the better boxer won.

19-05-2019, 12:55 AM
I’m no boxing expert.

Correct

19-05-2019, 07:05 AM
117 - 109???

Other two judges were about right Imo.

That judge’s score was crazy. If u take away the 10-7 round then Josh was 1 round up according to the other 2 judges. That seems bang on. Tough guy but Josh’s boxing keep him mostly at arms reach.

19-05-2019, 07:07 AM
Be great if we could get him on the pitch at ht.

OstKurve Hibs
19-05-2019, 07:29 AM

My first thought was why is fighting under that rag !?
I think it's an international tournament so as we are unfortunately classed as the UK he had no choice.
Had the saltire out at the end tho !

19-05-2019, 07:33 AM

Oh great another flag debate :flag:

19-05-2019, 07:39 AM

He really wasnt, Taylor was in control most of the match, he had it by at least 3 rounds imo

murray26
19-05-2019, 08:13 AM
Even without the 10/7 round I thought Taylor shaded it.. fantastic bout and credit to both boxers.

Tobias Funke
19-05-2019, 08:15 AM
I’m no boxing expert.

You should have just stopped there mate.

19-05-2019, 08:29 AM

Not sure if this is serious or not [emoji85] He didn’t have a choice with that though, obviously.
Superb again from Josh last night [emoji1376][emoji1628][emoji1363]

son of haggart
19-05-2019, 08:50 AM
That judge’s score was crazy. If u take away the 10-7 round then Josh was 1 round up according to the other 2 judges. That seems bang on. Tough guy but Josh’s boxing keep him mostly at arms reach.

That's the way I saw it too. Taylor did well not to get drawn in too often to close-in exchanges as the guy was tough durable and hit hard. I think Taylor will not be favourite in the next fight as Prograis is a class act, but he has a chance, and if he succeeds it will solidify his position as one of the best two or three Scottish boxers ever IMO -all after just a few fights.

19-05-2019, 09:02 AM
If you take out the 6th round 10-7 , then i had taylor by 2 rounds. Thought he won quite comfortably in the end. He didn’t allow himself to be drawn into a scrap , thats what won him the fight.

19-05-2019, 09:05 AM

Looked like Hibs tartan trunks too on the night 😃

19-05-2019, 09:07 AM
Brilliant performance and win against a tough opponent.

Very smart boxer with quick feet and hands. Josh will only get better imo.

19-05-2019, 09:08 AM
I only caught the last 5 rounds but Josh looked in full control

19-05-2019, 09:26 AM

That was bizarre but certainly not if JT’s doing. When the WBSS used a YJ in the early promo material Josh insisted they change the image to a Saltire. Hope you enjoyed ‘the other guy’ getting leathered.

19-05-2019, 09:29 AM
It was a fantastic night out.

We had a group of Japanese fans on one side of us, one of them was a student at Edinburgh Uni but the other 4 had travelled over from Nagano just for the fight. Inoue was frighteningly good and his power was spectacular.

Thought Taylor won pretty comfortably even without the 2 knockdown round. I didn't feel at any point he was in danger of losing the fight.

Finally whilst it was a very good crowd last night, in the unlikely event of the final coming to Scotland it would be good to see another couple of thousand fans come out.

19-05-2019, 09:41 AM
Next fight at The Castle or better still at ER

19-05-2019, 09:46 AM

I'd be stunned if that happened. The final of the last WBSS final between 2 British boxers last year was in Saudi Arabia!

19-05-2019, 09:49 AM
Easter Road would be brilliant. Probably be a few fights down the line though.

Godsahibby
19-05-2019, 09:59 AM
He’s said before his dream is to fight at the castle.

19-05-2019, 10:10 AM
Out of the 6 Scottish boxers to hold world champion belts 3 were Hibbies Buchanan , Arthur and now Taylor. Watt was a hun, Burns was ‘Tic. No idea who Harrison supposed Jonny Walker maybe.

19-05-2019, 10:13 AM
Out of the 6 Scottish boxers to hold world champion belts 3 were Hibbies Buchanan , Arthur and now Taylor. Watt was a hun, Burns was ‘Tic. No idea who Harrison supposed Jonny Walker maybe.
Ken Buchanan definitely isn’t a hibby. :faf: He’s a Jambo.

19-05-2019, 10:14 AM

Nope, he's a Hobby.
Well done JT.

19-05-2019, 10:15 AM

Yep.

His Dad was a big Hibby though, sat in front of me for years in the FF upper. Always blethered away to my Grandad. Nice guy.

19-05-2019, 10:18 AM
Yep.

His Dad was a big Hibby though, sat in front of me for years in the FF upper. Always blethered away to my Grandad. Nice guy.
I never met his dad. I’ve met Ken loads of times and he’s such a funny guy. I’ve not seen him for a while, hopefully that means he’s not drinking as much.

19-05-2019, 10:20 AM

Read his book mate clearly said was a Hibs fan as a young boy from Magdalene but boxing took over.

19-05-2019, 10:23 AM
Read his book mate clearly said was a Hibs fan as a young boy from Magdalene but boxing took over.
He’s definitely a Jambo now. I was finding it funny because he used wear maroon suits all the time. I think he used to go to Easter Road with his dad when he was getting older.

ps is his book any good? I’ll have to look out for it.

19-05-2019, 10:34 AM
My first thought was why is fighting under that rag !?
I think it's an international tournament so as we are unfortunately classed as the UK he had no choice.
Had the saltire out at the end tho !

I've always considered myself Scottish, not British, but if the guy is happy to be classified as British, then that's his choice, surely.

19-05-2019, 10:40 AM
If I can find it I will give u it. One funny story about when he shared a dressing room with Mohamed Ali at Madison Square Gardens. The bold Ken got a piece of chalk and drew a line on the floor. Righ said Ken ‘ this is ma hawf an that’s your hawf.
Ken was top of the bill with Ali only second

19-05-2019, 10:42 AM
If I can find it I will give u it. One funny story about when he shared a dressing room with Mohamed Ali at Madison Square Gardens. The bold Ken got a piece of chalk and drew a line on the floor. Righ said Ken ‘ this is ma hawf an that’s your hawf.

Apartheid in action!

:duck:

19-05-2019, 10:43 AM

Scott Harrison is a Celtic fan. Buchanan is a Hearts fan.

19-05-2019, 10:50 AM

What about Benny Lynch and Paul Weir?

19-05-2019, 10:56 AM
Haha I’d head that story.

19-05-2019, 12:20 PM
Good to see Terry McCormack in the corner with our new champion, another good Hibby.

Massive fight up next for Josh, here’s hoping he can unify the titles. That would be some achievement for the laddie.

19-05-2019, 01:18 PM
Scott Harrison is a Celtic fan. Buchanan is a Hearts fan.

And Arthur is a Celtic fan.