View Full Version : Greatest Hibs players who never scored a goal

NGP
17-05-2019, 04:04 PM
Like most, I will have lump in my throat when Marv departs the pitch on Sunday. Apart from Goalkeepers, he must rate as one of the best players to play for the club, who has never scored.
Any other great servants of Hibs who never notched up a goal?

17-05-2019, 04:08 PM
Derek Collins.

NGP
17-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Derek Collins.

Decent shout

17-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Scored against Dunfermline didn’t he?

17-05-2019, 04:11 PM
Rowan Vine

17-05-2019, 04:11 PM
Scored against Dunfermline didn’t he?

In a Scottish Cup game IIRC. Brilliant third man run goal, sublime pass by Latapy.

17-05-2019, 04:20 PM
In a Scottish Cup game IIRC. Brilliant third man run goal, sublime pass by Latapy.

You could be right I’m sure he lobbed the goalie come to think of it.

Doh 😌

NGP
17-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Rowan Vine

Wouldn't class him as a great servant

17-05-2019, 04:29 PM
He of flowing locks and the incredible crossfield pass to where he thought Tam Mcmanus should be, the one, the only :

Yannick Zambernardi.

17-05-2019, 04:31 PM
Pat Carroll. One for the older fans and while he didn't play that many games for us he was with us a while and I always hoped he would make the grade.....

17-05-2019, 04:34 PM
He of flowing locks and the incredible crossfield pass to where he thought Tam Mcmanus should be, the one, the only :

Yannick Zambernardi.

Still blame that prick for the 4-4 game.

17-05-2019, 04:53 PM
Big Dave the Lithuanian?

MKHIBEE
17-05-2019, 05:08 PM
Conrad Logan

17-05-2019, 05:09 PM
Big Dave the Lithuanian?

Scored against Ayr

17-05-2019, 05:10 PM
Big Dave the Lithuanian?

Positive I remember him scoring from a bouncing ball on the spin from around the penalty spot? Maybe during the hammering of a team.. Stokesy’s first game back at us after the cup possibly?

Or have I made all of that up...

17-05-2019, 05:24 PM
Conrad Logan

Read the OP, excludes goalies

Archie70
17-05-2019, 05:28 PM

To be fair he was way more than just a goalie

17-05-2019, 05:29 PM
Chris Dagnal - cup hero

17-05-2019, 05:33 PM
Still blame that prick for the 4-4 game.

KICK THE BALL OUT YOU STUPID CUN..... aye I’d agree with you there

But he came close, he wrapped the Dundee goalie round the post with a very long range effort. julian speroni If memory serves me correctly

17-05-2019, 05:38 PM
Pat Carroll. One for the older fans and while he didn't play that many games for us he was with us a while and I always hoped he would make the grade.....

Scored direct from a corner at Tannadice IIRC.

17-05-2019, 05:50 PM

Was that his Debut ??

MKHIBEE
17-05-2019, 06:01 PM

I read the thread title, posted, then read the posts.

17-05-2019, 06:01 PM
Rowan Vine

Didn't he score for us at all?

He was terrible anyway and could never qualify as our best player never to score a goal.

17-05-2019, 06:07 PM
Was that his Debut ??

I think it was.

17-05-2019, 06:10 PM
Really? No recollection of that at all. Even double checked Wiki online to stop me making myself look like an arse....:greengrin

17-05-2019, 06:20 PM
Really? No recollection of that at all. Even double checked Wiki online to stop me making myself look like an arse....:greengrin

I can’t find anything at all about it either but I’m certain it happened! :greengrin

iHibs credits the goal to a Hamish McAlpine OG but that’s not how I remember it.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=10286

17-05-2019, 06:26 PM

The programme for the next home game v Celtic also credits Hamish the goalie with it.
I’ve been living a lie for 44 years ........

Halmyre Hibee
17-05-2019, 06:32 PM
I can’t find anything at all about it either but I’m certain it happened! :greengrin

iHibs credits the goal to a Hamish McAlpine OG but that’s not how I remember it.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=10286

I remember him scoring from a corner against Dundee Utd at Tannadice as the game was covered on Sportscene at the time. Checked You Tube but no video. I'm getting old that was 44 years ago but probably remember it because I had never seen a Hibs player score direct from a corner until that time.

17-05-2019, 06:34 PM
Wouldn't class him as a great servant

I’d class we are hibs as a persistent troll though.

17-05-2019, 06:42 PM

But he came close, he wrapped the Dundee goalie round the post with a very long range effort. julian speroni If memory serves me correctly

Did indeed. Pretty much the half way line, towards the South. I remember sitting right behind it thinking "hang on here......" then Speroni got in the way

17-05-2019, 07:05 PM
Mark Dempsey?

17-05-2019, 07:06 PM

Floated pass to Mixu still gives me nightmares. ****ing launch it to the corner for a throw 😂

17-05-2019, 07:25 PM
Rowan Vine

Lol. He was pitiful.

1959 Hibby
17-05-2019, 07:26 PM
Like most, I will have lump in my throat when Marv departs the pitch on Sunday. Apart from Goalkeepers, he must rate as one of the best players to play for the club, who has never scored.
Any other great servants of Hibs who never notched up a goal?

Did Erich Schaedler ever score for Hibs?

17-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Omeonga

17-05-2019, 07:42 PM
One of the Tornadoes - Jim Black.

Halmyre Hibee
17-05-2019, 07:54 PM

At least 2. Scored in the QF away to Partick in the Scottish Cup when we got humped by Celtic in the final. Also scored in that rearranged game away v Celtic in the league 1-1 in midweek after we were winning 2-0 on the Saturday until the fog came down with only several minutes to go. No way would that game have been abandoned if Celtic were 2-0 up.

17-05-2019, 08:09 PM
The programme for the next home game v Celtic also credits Hamish the goalie with it.
I’ve been living a lie for 44 years ........

I'm sticking with Pat Carroll then 😁

17-05-2019, 08:18 PM
I'm sticking with Pat Carroll then 😁

Bet not too many would have had Hamish down as a Hibs scorer in the charts though :greengrin

17-05-2019, 08:38 PM
Shefki Kuqi

17-05-2019, 08:40 PM
I think Jamie Insall scored a lot without ever playing... i know, i know im sorry.

17-05-2019, 08:41 PM
Shefki Kuqi

Aw ****, and to think I was optimistic he could prove a good short-term signing.

Stairway 2 7
17-05-2019, 09:07 PM
Good question and hard to answer seeing the comedy answers. Not that he was in any way a great did zembarnardi score or come close against Falkirk in a friendly at brockvile

Bobo
17-05-2019, 09:08 PM
Jock Govan has to be one of the greatest players never to score having played 297 games for Hibs without a goal while he was a member of the 3 League title winning sides of the Famous Five era.

17-05-2019, 09:09 PM
Good question and hard to answer seeing the comedy answers. Not that he was in any way a great did zembarnardi score or come close against Falkirk in a friendly at brockvile

To be fair there aren’t too many greats that have featured in the thread.

17-05-2019, 09:09 PM
Jock Govan has to be one of the greatest players never to score having played 297 games for Hibs without a goal while he was a member of the 3 League title winning sides of the Famous Five era.

We have a winner!

17-05-2019, 09:12 PM
I’d class we are hibs as a persistent troll though.

Was having a wee bit of a laugh you rocket.

17-05-2019, 09:13 PM
Pa Kujabi.

For *that* freekick alone.

17-05-2019, 09:18 PM
Kevin McBride was a decent player who never scored for us.

17-05-2019, 10:28 PM
You were the class swot weren't ye? :greengrin

Tom Hart RIP
17-05-2019, 10:33 PM

I remember Cilla scoring against Keflavik in the UEFA cup

17-05-2019, 10:37 PM
Craig Rocastle

17-05-2019, 10:44 PM

Magnificent answer. I got as far as Jarkko ***** Wiss.

Power
17-05-2019, 10:48 PM
Jarkko Wiss and Jorge Claros didn’t get on the scoresheet for us despite a fair amount of game time in 2 years each.

Power
17-05-2019, 11:01 PM
Nae goals for Andy Millen or Stephen Thicot either.

bob12345
17-05-2019, 11:03 PM
Jonatan Johanson

17-05-2019, 11:14 PM
Jonatan Johanson

Scored a goal in a pre season 0-4 win at Dunfermline, if that counts?

17-05-2019, 11:15 PM
Shefki Kuqi

Genuinely thought he was going to be fantastic when he signed. Still disappointed to this day that we never got to see the famous swan dive..

Kevvy1875
17-05-2019, 11:53 PM
Jim Leighton, close thread :greengrin

Would have said Andy Goram but that would be a lie.

18-05-2019, 12:08 AM

He is the one that sprang to my mind immediately

s2hart
18-05-2019, 12:11 AM
I would say Willie Miller, I don't recall him ever scoring but my memory is a bit jaded these days!

18-05-2019, 12:32 AM
The Legend that is Jimmy Boco never scored for us.

I'm pretty sure he didn't score a goal in his whole career.

I remember years ago hearing a story when he was playing in France that his team won a late penalty when they were comfortably ahead. His teammates told him to take it and he missed! Had a quick look but doesn't look like there's anyway to corroborate the story.

18-05-2019, 12:45 AM
The Legend that is Jimmy Boco never scored for us.

I'm pretty sure he didn't score a goal in his whole career.

I remember years ago hearing a story when he was playing in France that his team won a late penalty when they were comfortably ahead. His teammates told him to take it and he missed! Had a quick look but doesn't look like there's anyway to corroborate the story.

If Jimmy Boco never scored a goal for Hibs then close the thread, we have a winner!

18-05-2019, 02:19 AM

I remember him scoring against Partick in the cup at Firhill

houstonhibbee
18-05-2019, 05:10 AM
Indeed
the other was Alan Gordon’s first for the club

18-05-2019, 05:25 AM
Conrad Logan

Close the thread!

18-05-2019, 05:34 AM
Conrad Logan

And we had a reserve on the bench that knew how to score

Typical hibs

berwickhibee
18-05-2019, 05:57 AM
I would say Willie Miller, I don't recall him ever scoring but my memory is a bit jaded these days!

Remember him scoring at clyde in the scottish cup. Hibs won 2-0. Was the game on a monday night???

18-05-2019, 06:24 AM
He is the one that sprang to my mind immediately

Cilla scored against Keflavik I think.

18-05-2019, 07:21 AM
Willie Miller scored a cracking goal at Tannadice, unfortunately it was in his own net!

18-05-2019, 07:26 AM
Did Tom Smith ever score?

Bobo
18-05-2019, 07:43 AM
You were the class swot weren't ye? :greengrin

Lol, nah, only when I was arguing with jambo class mates about football :wink::scarf:

18-05-2019, 08:07 AM
I remember John Blackley scoring the best own goal I ever saw for Rangers at Ibrox but cannot remember him scoring for us. If own goals don’t count then I nominate Sloop John B

NGP
18-05-2019, 08:12 AM
I remember John Blackley scoring the best own goal I ever saw for Rangers at Ibrox but cannot remember him scoring for us. If own goals don’t count then I nominate Sloop John B

Sloop definitely scored, can't say against who, but he has got a least a couple

NGP
18-05-2019, 08:16 AM
Jimmy Bocco
Marvin Bartley
Andy Millen
Jim Black - I would say the best from this list.

tanfield
18-05-2019, 08:17 AM
Remember him scoring at clyde in the scottish cup. Hibs won 2-0. Was the game on a monday night???

Cheeky lob over the keeper. Was certainly a midweek game. This was at a time when we struggled to score more than 1 a game. His goal was highlighted on the cover of the next Hibs Monthly under the heading " Hibs kick ass!"

franck sauzee
18-05-2019, 08:20 AM

I'm thinking I remember him celebrating in the long sleeved green and white striped calor gas strip at Easter Road. Could be making this up as I was only around 10 years old at the time. Absolutely loved that and the away strip

18-05-2019, 08:32 AM
Roy Barry who played 36 games for Hibs in 75/76 and scored 0 goals. Dixie Deans had tormented Hibs until he game up against big ,bad Roy. Barry kicked him up and down the park and even, said Dixie, up and down the tunnel. We won 2-0 that day. I think it was Peter Latchford's (Celtic goalie) debut and he had a shocker.

18-05-2019, 09:11 AM

One of my first games was a 2-2 draw v Cowdenbeath, 1971. John Blackley equaliser.
Also scored in a draw at Arbroath in the SC with a replay that did not end well.

18-05-2019, 09:31 AM
Always remember the sloop hitting the ball into an empty net as the last thing before kick off. Players superstitions eh?

Leith's finest
18-05-2019, 09:35 AM
Zarabi?

Hibs1969
18-05-2019, 10:09 AM
I'm not sure if he counts as a great but I give you the incomparable...........Alan O'Brien.

According to Wikipedia he has scored a phenomenal 5 (yes 5) goals in a 15 year career.

18-05-2019, 10:45 AM
Jock Paterson trumps Jock Govan with 372 games and no goals.

Bobby Duncan played over 100 games and only scored 1 goal---but what a goal!

John Grant played 300 games and scored 2

Hugh Howie played 200 games and won a cuptie with his only goal-from halfway.International record olayed 1 scored1.

Joe MClelland 250 games scored 2 although also scored a beauty in a 5 goal friendly thrashing of Bolton(when they were a team).

Jackie McNamara 300 games 3 goals

Sweet Left Peg
18-05-2019, 10:51 AM

Hit the bar from half way at Brockville too.

18-05-2019, 10:56 AM
Jock Paterson trumps Jock Govan with 372 games and no goals.

Bobby Duncan played over 100 games and only scored 1 goal---but what a goal!

John Grant played 300 games and scored 2

Hugh Howie played 200 games and won a cuptie with his only goal-from halfway.International record olayed 1 scored1.

Joe MClelland 250 games scored 2 although also scored a beauty in a 5 goal friendly thrashing of Bolton(when they were a team).

Jackie McNamara 300 games 3 goals

You not read the thread title - Greatest Hibs players who never scored a goal.

You’ve mentioned players that have at least scored a goal

18-05-2019, 11:11 AM
If Jimmy Boco never scored a goal for Hibs then close the thread, we have a winner!

Did he not score in Kevin Thompson's testimonial match?

18-05-2019, 11:15 AM
Jimmy Boco and Zambernade ( excuse the spelling )
Big Marv goes up to first in the list imo .

18-05-2019, 11:19 AM
Mark Dempsie?

18-05-2019, 11:20 AM

So much wrong with this sentence.

18-05-2019, 11:25 AM
Jarko Wiss

Ray Wilkins

18-05-2019, 11:27 AM
So much wrong with this sentence.

😂😂

18-05-2019, 11:37 AM
You not read the thread title - Greatest Hibs players who never scored a goal.

You’ve mentioned players that have at least scored a goal

If all posters on here only stuck to the thread there’d be very few posts.Anyway as I posted Jock Paterson didn’t score a goal.

Tomsk
18-05-2019, 12:29 PM

I saw him score against Celtic at Parkhead. Mind you I don't think he was trying to score - he just lumped it into the box from about 40 yards out.

18-05-2019, 12:42 PM

Did I really type that?🤔😁🤭

18-05-2019, 01:10 PM
If all posters on here only stuck to the thread there’d be very few posts.Anyway as I posted Jock Paterson didn’t score a goal.

Craig’s auld man definitely wins. League winning legend, played hundreds of games and didnae score a goal. He was also a very nice guy, happy to talk about Hibs anytime I was in Thomson sports shop in Great Junction St.

18-05-2019, 01:12 PM
Did David Van Zanten ever score for us?

Lendo
18-05-2019, 01:13 PM
Got to be Miguel Nelom. What a signing

18-05-2019, 01:15 PM
Did I really type that?🤔😁🤭

😂😂

green with envy
18-05-2019, 02:54 PM
Derek Collins.

I've not had a look through all the posts but i'm sure he scored against Falkirk at Brockville from around 50 yards. I'm also sure it was Suazee's second game.

18-05-2019, 03:09 PM
I've not had a look through all the posts but i'm sure he scored against Falkirk at Brockville from around 50 yards. I'm also sure it was Suazee's second game.

Took a big deflection and looped up in the air and over the keepers head.

Not sure if he will have been credited with it though. Might have been an o.g.

18-05-2019, 03:57 PM

Scored a beauty in a home game v Dunfermline.

green with envy
18-05-2019, 04:54 PM

Forgot about that game. Bit of a screamer at the old Shawfield.

TelaStella
18-05-2019, 06:05 PM
Ian Murray never scored for us in his 112 game second spell

TelaStella
18-05-2019, 06:07 PM
Ian Murray never scored for us in his 112 game second spell

Or am I wrong? I have vague memories of him grabbing a last minute winner against St Mirren at ER in the Yogi days. Own goal perhaps

NGP
18-05-2019, 06:26 PM
Or am I wrong? I have vague memories of him grabbing a last minute winner against St Mirren at ER in the Yogi days. Own goal perhaps

Deflected cross, headed in at near post by defender. OG.

18-05-2019, 06:45 PM
Budgie Burridge

CyberSauzee
18-05-2019, 07:08 PM

I was at the Sotheby's auction where Jock's family sold his league winners medals (2003?). The same auction where Pele's 1970 World Cup Winning shirt was sold. I know Pele's shirt went for a lot, but I got my hands on a Hibernian league winners' medal. That was priceless.

Bobo
18-05-2019, 07:16 PM
I was at the Sotheby's auction where Jock's family sold his league winners medals (2003?). The same auction where Pele's 1970 World Cup Winning shirt was sold. I know Pele's shirt went for a lot, but I got my hands on a Hibernian league winners' medal. That was priceless.

Well done mate, what a great thing to have, glad you managed to get the medal and that it's in the possession of a Hibby :thumbsup:

18-05-2019, 07:22 PM
Deflected cross, headed in at near post by defender. OG.

Was it not Jack Ross?

davemcbain
18-05-2019, 09:44 PM
Emilio BottleOSherryOh Ole!

hibbydog
18-05-2019, 09:47 PM
Derek Collins.

Scored a beautiful lob against Dunfermline Scottish Cup 2000 following a killer pass from Latapy

20-05-2019, 06:19 PM
Just spoke to Jimmy Adjovi-Boco and he confirms he never scored any goal for Hibs in any game league, cup, reserves, friendlies.