View Full Version : Bartley penalty

steelendhibs
16-05-2019, 02:02 PM
Seen as we can't move up nor down on Sunday, if we get a penalty is big Marv on it? Would love to see him score for the cabbage

Stokesy's on fire
16-05-2019, 02:10 PM
Seen as we can't move up nor down on Sunday, if we get a penalty is big Marv on it? Would love to see him score for the cabbage

surely!

16-05-2019, 02:11 PM
No chance unless we were 2 or 3 up at the time. This isnt a pub league game. :greengrin

16-05-2019, 02:13 PM
I'd throw the game on the chance to see Marv score. I wasn't on the pitch at the cup final but if Marv scores I'd riot.

16-05-2019, 02:14 PM
I'd throw the game on the chance to see Marv score. I wasn't on the pitch at the cup final but if Marv scores I'd riot.

That is the last thing the club needs. :greengrin

16-05-2019, 02:15 PM
Definitely let him take it. Nothing game for us.

16-05-2019, 02:33 PM
Definitely let him take it. Nothing game for us.

We still want to win it though.

16-05-2019, 02:35 PM
If he doesn't even start on sunday we riot.

16-05-2019, 02:43 PM
He'd probably still try and lay it off for someone else.

16-05-2019, 02:44 PM

16-05-2019, 02:50 PM
I don't know if I've ever seen Marv strike a ball with his laces in all the years playing for us - not that you need to do so to take a penalty, mind you.

Like the idea and would love to see him score - think we'll be taking the game more seriously than that though.

16-05-2019, 02:53 PM
Don’t think Marv will start and will only get on the last 10 min or so. Good luck big fella it was a pleasure to have met you.

16-05-2019, 02:55 PM
gie the baw tae Marv

16-05-2019, 04:04 PM
I'm flying in from Zurich for this game, the team had better be taking it seriously. We should be finishing above Hearts on more than goal difference.

But yeah, Marv scores we riot. :greengrin

16-05-2019, 04:32 PM
He has to start and if we get a penalty he has to take it. It’s a meaningless game and it’s not as if he’s become a liability. He’s been brilliant for us and he’d be brilliant if he plays on Sunday.

16-05-2019, 04:33 PM
He’d probably miss it like Ian Murray did in his testimonial

16-05-2019, 05:05 PM

16-05-2019, 05:21 PM
I assume he'd pass it to the keeper's feet, then tackle keeper and ball into the net.

16-05-2019, 05:26 PM

But would he also turn down the offer of the second one 5 minutes later?

16-05-2019, 06:15 PM
First and foremost Hibs should be trying to win to the best of their ability. Unless we're out of sight Marv shouldn't be anywhere near a penalty. Don't even think he should start to be brutally honest. Hope he gets a brilliant send off though.

16-05-2019, 06:18 PM
Don’t think Marv will start and will only get on the last 10 min or so. Good luck big fella it was a pleasure to have met you.

He will still get booked.

16-05-2019, 06:41 PM
I doubt very much he'll start or take any penalties but I certainly hope he gets on as he deserves a great send off - he's been a great servant to the Hibees :hibees:hibees:hibees

16-05-2019, 06:58 PM
In the unlikely event of us getting a referee decision on our favour against them, one hundred percent Marvin should take the penalty.

16-05-2019, 07:09 PM
We still want to win it though.

Of course. He’ll rip the net off.

16-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
A penalty against Aberdeen, what an imagination.

Or a memory from a year ago. :greengrin

17-05-2019, 06:10 AM
No chance, it’s not a testimonial it’s a league game and I would hope Hibs will remain professional throughout and leave the sentiment until after the final whistle. He would never normally get near taking a penalty and there is no reason he should on Sunday either.

17-05-2019, 06:43 AM
No chance unless we were 2 or 3 up at the time. This isnt a pub league game. :greengrin

:agree: 0-0 in the nintieth minute and Hibs get a pen. I'm sure Marv would want the team to win in his final game, so there won't be any sentiment involved in who takes the pen.

17-05-2019, 06:44 AM
Ha ha ha ha ha ha.
A penalty against Aberdeen, what an imagination.

Is Shinnie refereeing - err, sorry, playing? In which case, no pen! :greengrin

17-05-2019, 09:36 AM
Love Marv as much as the next man but I'd rather give a player with a future at the club the game time. If he were to come on as a sub for some reason I'd absolutely love it though. There'll be a few supporters with something in their eyes i think.

17-05-2019, 11:20 AM
I'd imagine he'll come on as a sub, hopefully he at least takes a shot. Even that would get a cheer.

17-05-2019, 11:22 AM
Hibs get a penalty against Aberdeen?...good yin!

I'd much rather see big Marv empty Shinnie with one last bone cruncher than score.

17-05-2019, 11:31 AM
There’s more chance of Marvin rattling one into the top bin from 35 yard after beating three players than there is of us getting awarded a penalty against them - their defenders are Teflon.

17-05-2019, 11:34 AM
Yep get him on pens and free kicks within 35 yards.

17-05-2019, 10:01 PM
Marv would need a guide book to find the penalty area and then he would probably square the penalty. :greengrin

You're a star Marv.

18-05-2019, 02:47 PM
What are the odds on him scoring an og?

18-05-2019, 02:54 PM
Hibs get a penalty against Aberdeen?...good yin!

I'd much rather see big Marv empty Shinnie with one last bone cruncher than score.

We got one at Pittodrie last season. McLaren missed.