View Full Version : English Championship playoffs

10-05-2019, 09:40 AM
Big day for Hibs tomorrow as SJM sets out to earn Hibs a big bonus.

Villa at home to WBA in the first leg. In the other match Derby at home to Leeds.

I think it will be a Villa v Derby final and hope Villa make it through.

Villa match is on Sky tomorrow lunchtime.

10-05-2019, 09:46 AM
Are we due a bonus?

10-05-2019, 09:49 AM
Are we due a bonus?

Promotion bonus apparently.

10-05-2019, 09:51 AM
Sounds good want Villa up regardless 👍

10-05-2019, 09:58 AM
Are we due a bonus?

We definitely are due something. I have heard 2 figures, the lower was £2m.

Perfect scenario is Villa win the playoffs and SJM gets a multi million pound move. I will settle for the playoff victory just now though.

10-05-2019, 09:59 AM
I put a tenner on -

Cardiff to go down
West Brom to go up
Barnsley to go up
MK Dons to go up
Celtic to win league
Bayern to win league
PSG to win league

Returns £760

Bayern isn't confirmed, but they're 4 clear with 2 games left

So just West Brom...and I cannae see them going up, Villa looking too good just now. :grr:

Cash out now is £162, I'll prob take it before the first leg of the playoff.

10-05-2019, 11:29 AM
I put a tenner on -

Cardiff to go down
West Brom to go up
Barnsley to go up
MK Dons to go up
Celtic to win league
Bayern to win league
PSG to win league

Returns £760

So just West Brom...and I cannae see them going up, Villa looking too good just now. :grr:

You could always lay some of it off in some way (and get better terms than the cashout). Could even take it game by game or tie by tie e.g. Have 100 odd on Villa to qualify from the semis - if they prove to be too strong you'll get around the value of your cashout from the Villa bet. If West Brom go through then you're still in the hunt (with a much bigger cash-out offer)

**assuming you're confident enough on Bayern ;)

10-05-2019, 11:34 AM
I cant really be bothered with the English Premiership (although I’ve enjoyed this title run in) but i really enjoy the championship. Really looking forward to these Play Offs, Villa seem to have the form and the momentum, excluding their last game that they rested loads of players, got s feeling they might fall a bit short though.

West Brom seem to have just been steadily consistent without ever looking brilliant, I think they might just go up. Not sure if they’ve even got a manager do they? Can’t remember hearing about them replacing the manager they sacked.

10-05-2019, 11:39 AM
We definitely are due something. I have heard 2 figures, the lower was £2m.

Perfect scenario is Villa win the playoffs and SJM gets a multi million pound move. I will settle for the playoff victory just now though.

Business just picked up then! Mon the Villa!

10-05-2019, 11:40 AM
I cant really be bothered with the English Premiership (although I’ve enjoyed this title run in) but i really enjoy the championship. Really looking forward to these Play Offs, Villa seem to have the form and the momentum, excluding their last game that they rested loads of players, got s feeling they might fall a bit short though.

West Brom seem to have just been steadily consistent without ever looking brilliant, I think they might just go up. Not sure if they’ve even got a manager do they? Can’t remember hearing about them replacing the manager they sacked.

No they have someone Shan as caretaker manager.

10-05-2019, 04:36 PM
Hoping Villa do it!

SJM deserves to play in the EPL

11-05-2019, 06:38 AM
Come on the Baggies!

11-05-2019, 07:28 AM
I put a tenner on -

Cardiff to go down
West Brom to go up
Barnsley to go up
MK Dons to go up
Celtic to win league
Bayern to win league
PSG to win league

Returns £760

West Brom v Villa is very even and wouldn't surprise me at all if Baggies win as they still have a number of Premier quality players.

11-05-2019, 08:43 AM
Come on the Baggies!

Hang the heratic.

11-05-2019, 11:18 AM
Live on Sky, build up on now. Big praise for SJM.

KdyHby
11-05-2019, 11:23 AM
'mon the Whites, we'll spy if we want

11-05-2019, 11:27 AM
Leeds v West Brom Final :)

then again

could be Derby v Villa , in which case mon villa

11-05-2019, 11:44 AM
Great save from Villa goalie

11-05-2019, 11:47 AM
1-0 Baggies

11-05-2019, 11:47 AM
What an awful mistake from Whelan

11-05-2019, 11:48 AM
1 0 WBA. Bad mistake from Whelan

11-05-2019, 11:50 AM
Does the away goal rule stand in the playoffs or not?

11-05-2019, 11:51 AM
Does the away goal rule stand in the playoffs or not?

Nah, no away goal rule. If it's level after two legs it's ET and if needed pens.

11-05-2019, 11:53 AM
Whelan is a horrible excuse for a player

JXM73
11-05-2019, 11:56 AM
If there's no promotion add on for mcginn i hope villa get pumped...

11-05-2019, 11:58 AM
Nah, no away goal rule. If it's level after two legs it's ET and if needed pens.

I thought it only comes into play after extra time?

11-05-2019, 12:03 PM

They mentioned on the tv that the rule had been changed to no away goals at all

Nah man. Completely done away with it now.

West Brom v Villa is very even and wouldn't surprise me at all if Baggies win as they still have a number of Premier quality players.

I cashed out...

11-05-2019, 12:08 PM
i've only watched 15 mins of this and i think matt phillips has been very poor

Gloucester Hibs
11-05-2019, 12:09 PM
Jimmy Shan will be doing the Bluebell Polka tonight if WBA do the business..

11-05-2019, 12:10 PM
I cashed out...

11-05-2019, 12:22 PM
Half time 1-0 WBA

11-05-2019, 01:07 PM
Villa just cannot break down this WBA defence.

Edit: what a goal by Hourihane!

11-05-2019, 01:08 PM
1 1

11-05-2019, 01:10 PM
Penalty Villa

NZ Green
11-05-2019, 01:11 PM
Great goal, penalty now to boot

Penalty villa

Abraham scores

2-1 Villa

2 1

11-05-2019, 01:13 PM
Grealish going down before contact (if any) is made :rolleyes:

11-05-2019, 01:15 PM
that should have been a west brom penalty :agree:

quite clever lying down like he's been shot afterwards

11-05-2019, 01:20 PM
Gayle sent off

That’s a huge body blow for WBA. He’s their best player.

11-05-2019, 01:21 PM
bang goes west broms chances in the 2nd leg

11-05-2019, 01:34 PM
Full time 2 1 Villa.

McGinn wasn't great so room for improvement. WBA Still in it but will miss Gayle.

11-05-2019, 04:03 PM
come on Leeds, lets do this

https://imgc.allpostersimages.com/img/print/posters/male-cyber-spy-looking-through-binoculars_a-G-1858914-9201947.jpg

11-05-2019, 06:10 PM
FT Derby 0 Leeds 1, as usual leeds should have had a game out of reach

11-05-2019, 06:30 PM
so...sunderland v pompey

play up pompey
pompey play up

11-05-2019, 06:53 PM
so...sunderland v pompey

play up pompey
pompey play up
Very surprised at how many empty seats there are.

11-05-2019, 06:58 PM
Very surprised at how many empty seats there are.

stadium of emptyness

11-05-2019, 07:10 PM
Why is the ground so empty? I heard the owner has had enough and is ready to sell Sunderland

11-05-2019, 07:14 PM
No Dylan tonight, thought he might have at least been on the bench

11-05-2019, 07:15 PM
Can't believe McGeough doesn't get a start for Sunderland, they could certainly do with some football players.

11-05-2019, 07:16 PM
No Dylan tonight, thought he might have at least been on the bench

Injured?

11-05-2019, 07:16 PM
Injured?

Think he was on the bench last week

11-05-2019, 07:22 PM
Think he was on the bench last week

Came on last week, was ineffective and didn't cover himself in glory for the Southend winner. Based on that not surprised he isn't starting tonight.

11-05-2019, 07:23 PM
Came on last week, was ineffective and didn't cover himself in glory for the Southend winner. Based on that not surprised he isn't starting tonight.

Not even stripped though. Quite a slap in the face

11-05-2019, 07:31 PM
Why is the ground so empty? I heard the owner has had enough and is ready to sell Sunderland

saving their money for a spice girls concert at their ground

11-05-2019, 07:36 PM
On this showing Lewis Morgan will struggle to make it at Celtic

11-05-2019, 07:38 PM
On this showing Lewis Morgan will struggle to make it at Celtic

You have to remember he was playing well in the Scottish championship, not sure if he's played much in our Premier division
Big step up, even at this low English level

11-05-2019, 07:40 PM

That's all I've seen of him with Sunderland, but if that short appearance is typical of his performance with them I'm not surprised he isn't stripped tonight.

11-05-2019, 07:46 PM
I’ve a soft spot for Sunderland but this game has been poor. Think the last derby but worse.

11-05-2019, 07:47 PM
That's all I've seen of him with Sunderland, but if that short appearance is typical of his performance with them I'm not surprised he isn't stripped tonight.

He should never have gone to such a low level, he was a Scottish internationalist last summer, now can’t get in the squad of a piss poor English 3rd tier team. All his own fault, no one else

11-05-2019, 07:51 PM
goal sunderland

11-05-2019, 07:57 PM
Ozturk sent off

11-05-2019, 07:59 PM
Shocker of a decision from the ref

11-05-2019, 08:01 PM
Very tight Sunderland v Pompey.

Not a sending off for me. If the ref had given a yellow no one would have batted an eyelid.

11-05-2019, 08:10 PM

Not a sending off for me. If the ref had given a yellow no one would have batted an eyelid.

I’m sure Sunderland will appeal it, although doesn’t help them tonight

11-05-2019, 08:36 PM
26610 attendance, nothng to turn your nose up at obviously but well below Sunderlands regular season league average.

11-05-2019, 09:04 PM

Nice to see him walk though. Petty I know but **** him!

Auckland Hibs
11-05-2019, 09:16 PM
26610 attendance, nothng to turn your nose up at obviously but well below Sunderlands regular season league average.

I'm struggling to understand how 45% of the stadium is empty? Didn't Sunderland recently take 40,000 to Wembley for some Mickey Mouse Cup Final?!

In arguably their biggest game in years they didn't sell nearly half their tickets - strange.

11-05-2019, 10:51 PM

Dylan was meant to start infront of Gooch but he injured himself in the warm up

11-05-2019, 11:12 PM

Was that not McGeady?

I think the low crowd is down to rock-bottom morale and zero expectation of winning. They've been brutal for months.

They're down to the true core of their support right now.

Scrape through against Pompey though and there will be the usual clamour for tickets for the big final.

I honestly don't think Sunderland are ready to go up. They're pish and would have to sign an entire team in order to stay up.

12-05-2019, 06:45 AM

yeah, that was Mcgeady who injured himself in warm up..

15-05-2019, 06:09 PM
Villa will find out who they play tonight with Leeds in pole position.

They have bottled automatic promotion though so who knows?

15-05-2019, 06:10 PM
Raith vs Qos on Alba, wonder if young Gullan will get some playing time

15-05-2019, 06:20 PM
Cmon Leeds!

15-05-2019, 06:45 PM
marching on together

yonder1875
15-05-2019, 06:49 PM
What an atmosphere at Leeds!

JXM73
15-05-2019, 06:51 PM
****my leeds *******s

15-05-2019, 06:52 PM
Raith vs Qos on Alba, wonder if I'd you Gullan will get some playing time

Gullan starts. Ex Hibee Callum Crane playing left wingback.

15-05-2019, 06:57 PM
Derby much brighter this game so far, it's unusual watching this leeds team on the back foot early doors

15-05-2019, 07:07 PM
Dirty Derby :agree:

15-05-2019, 07:11 PM
get ******* in :cb agg 2-0

15-05-2019, 07:11 PM
Leeds Derby is already tasty with tackles going in.

Someone is going to see red this evening.

Leeds goal

15-05-2019, 07:14 PM
Derby will get a red tonight

No idea why that was a free kick against Leeds, or why the boy got booked.

15-05-2019, 07:15 PM
Derby will get a red tonight

No idea why that was a free kick against Leeds, or why the boy got booked.

That booking was a shocker

15-05-2019, 07:15 PM
Raith vs Qos on Alba, wonder if young Gullan will get some playing time

He’s playing, game is on Alba
2-0 Queens after 30 mins

15-05-2019, 07:17 PM
Bamford not learned anything from a few weeks back

15-05-2019, 07:19 PM
Other than the follow through the ref has been spot on with his decisions so far. Good to see. Scottish ref would've given that dive as a penalty every day of the week.

15-05-2019, 07:22 PM
6 bookings so far in the first half! :shocked:

15-05-2019, 07:31 PM
Come on Derby! :greengrin

15-05-2019, 07:31 PM
casilla ****s up again, i simply don't know why he gets a lot of admiration from leeds fans, i think he's a total liability

15-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Hope derby win, villa more chance to beat them!

15-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Game on

15-05-2019, 07:35 PM
Some goal keeper 😂

15-05-2019, 07:36 PM
Casilla is no Casillas.

15-05-2019, 07:36 PM
meanwhile, Q.o.s looking good to remain in the championship presently 2-0 for them @ stark's park

BigKev
15-05-2019, 07:49 PM
Come on the Rams!

15-05-2019, 07:49 PM
oh ffs

15-05-2019, 07:50 PM
Great game this.

15-05-2019, 07:55 PM
This is a cracking game

15-05-2019, 07:57 PM
cmon Derby ....whit a game

15-05-2019, 08:00 PM
Could go either way, the fitness of these players is unbelievable... PENALTY!!

15-05-2019, 08:00 PM
get shot of cooper for next season bielsa ffs man

BigKev
15-05-2019, 08:01 PM
Leeds are falling apart again 😂👊

15-05-2019, 08:01 PM
Leeds.

Leeds are falling apart.

Again.

15-05-2019, 08:02 PM
Penalty derby! 3-1!

yassss

First half Leeds were on easy street, football never fails to surprise you!

15-05-2019, 08:03 PM
I think Villa v Leeds would have been a cracker, just don’t get the same feeling with Derby

15-05-2019, 08:03 PM
Leeds are falling apart again 😂👊

Great minds eh?

Derby have been absolutely immense. Not often have I seen teams step up their performance in this way after they'd been weak for much of the first leg and the first half of this leg.

15-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Great game of football.

2-3 what a game!

2-3

Goal Leeds! 2-3!

15-05-2019, 08:06 PM
What a game! Superb.

This game is great

Renfrew_Hibby
Get it right ****en up them, Leeds *******s

15-05-2019, 08:07 PM
Leeds will go on and win this now which is unfortunate

BigKev
15-05-2019, 08:08 PM
This could end up just about any score line. Great match.

I’d be pleased with a Derby win 24-23 on pens for ultimate Dirty Leeds heartbreak.

15-05-2019, 08:10 PM
This game is great
It really is, what an atmosphere

15-05-2019, 08:14 PM
get clarke on for bamford, marcelo

15-05-2019, 08:14 PM
How does Shinnie get in this Derby team, 😂

15-05-2019, 08:17 PM

Exactly, not quick enough

15-05-2019, 08:18 PM
Both set of players what a level of fitness is on display.
As an aside has Effe ever played for Derby yet?

15-05-2019, 08:18 PM
Goal Leeds! 2-3!
Offside surely?

15-05-2019, 08:19 PM

He'll back at Aberdeen in no time at all. No skin off Derby's nose as they didn't pay a fee.

15-05-2019, 08:21 PM
Offside surely?

I saw that, it was.

Mind you, if you can spot that in real time then you should be running the line!

Red card for Leeds now

Dirty leeds

bye bye berardi you piece of crap

BigKev
15-05-2019, 08:22 PM
Leeds losing the plot. Bamford sailing close to the wind as well. Get them down to 9!

15-05-2019, 08:22 PM
Dirty leeds

Was just going to post that!

Bamford is a right dick.

15-05-2019, 08:23 PM
The more I see Bamford the more I dislike him.

Just me that thought the tackle wasn’t that bad?

The two were a cumulative yellow surely?

15-05-2019, 08:24 PM
possible 40 mins playing with 10, berardi will cost leeds this tie imo

15-05-2019, 08:24 PM
The two were a cumulative yellow surely?

Yellow was probably right but the way the commentators were going on you’d think it was a shocker.

15-05-2019, 08:27 PM
bielsa will you get off that ******* bucket and get bamford OFF ffs man

15-05-2019, 08:27 PM
4-2 Derby.

BigKev
15-05-2019, 08:28 PM
Get in Derby!

Derby hit the post!
And score!!!

Marriott again

KDY Hibs
Get in Derby!

Play offs are quality! Great game!

15-05-2019, 08:29 PM
4-1 Derby.

4-2...

Tell you what this is terrific

4-2...

Just noticed my mistake :na na:

15-05-2019, 08:30 PM
What a game

15-05-2019, 08:30 PM
Id imagine villa have a better chance against derby - but all sides are very good

Come on the Mcginn promotion money [emoji23]

15-05-2019, 08:31 PM
4 mins left and finally clarke gets on, bielsa is bad for leaving subs far too late

and again at last, Bamford finally off 25 ******* mins far too late

Id imagine villa have a better chance against derby - but all sides are very good

How much money do we get?

Absolutely bonkers.

Tell you what, I would fancy Derby v Villa to be a really interesting final.

There's still only one in it.

15-05-2019, 08:32 PM
Its been an absolute ding dong battle

Both teams just attacking all game

What football should be like

15-05-2019, 08:32 PM
Battle Royale.

What a superb game of football. End to end with s bit of everything thrown in.

15-05-2019, 08:33 PM
Want this game to go to extra time.

5 mins added on

Dallas good strike nice save

Villa beaten Derby 3 nil and 4 nil this season.

15-05-2019, 08:34 PM
Villa beaten Derby 3 nil and 4 nil this season.

Leeds beaten derby ever game this season...

Oh Free kick leeds

Derby down to 10 men too

15-05-2019, 08:34 PM
Malone off

15-05-2019, 08:35 PM
Malone off

Misses final if they get there now

Dangerous fk to leeds tho....

Dirty Derby

Hope for Leeds.

Ashley Cole coming on for Derby, didn't realise he was still playing.

15-05-2019, 08:40 PM
ah well;, derby deserved that, leeds players come up short yet again, getting beat against Wigan at home playing against 10 men for 75 mins was the killer

15-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Magic :thumbsup::top marks

15-05-2019, 08:41 PM
Lampard vs Terry for a place in the Premiership.

C'mon Frankie boy! :greengrin

I saw that, it was.

Mind you, if you can spot that in real time then you should be running the line!
I’m watching it on a 10 minute delay as Mrs.Ancient Hibee demanded I make her a coffee and a biscuit.

Well done Derby. Young team showed bags of character to come back from 2 goals down in a hostile environment.

I guess the EPL will just have to try and survive without Leeds for another year.

15-05-2019, 08:42 PM
Great game - 2 very good teams.

Couldn’t begrudge any if them winning in the end

Really thought leeds were stick on for automatic promotion earlier in the season

Villa derby all to play for now

Mason Mount best player on the park

Closely followed by Stuart Dallas

Callum7

Defiantly, considering their last two meetings have been 4-0 and 3-0 wins for Villa.

Great game, Championship is much more exciting than the Premier League in England. You’ll rarely see 2 teams in their top league playing as open as this

15-05-2019, 08:45 PM
as much as i dislike that **** john terry, mon Villa

15-05-2019, 08:46 PM
Fantastic viewing. Now that's what I call a real game of fitba! ⚽️⚽️⚽️⚽️👍

15-05-2019, 08:47 PM
Wonder if Premiership clubs will come in for Dallas?

15-05-2019, 08:48 PM
see yi's at Elland Road again next season Derby Co :cb

15-05-2019, 08:49 PM
Exactly 😀

15-05-2019, 08:50 PM
SJM money getting closer

15-05-2019, 08:52 PM
Why is the final on a monday at 3pm?

15-05-2019, 08:52 PM
Frank Lampard’s interview 😂👏🏻

15-05-2019, 08:53 PM

spring bank holiday

Bank Holiday.

No for me its not! [emoji23]

15-05-2019, 08:54 PM

That was brilliant

Really really enjoyed that

Icing on cake for me Leeds getting beat

Never forgiven them for going though on penalties against us after we completely outplayed them

15-05-2019, 08:56 PM
Great chance for both Villa and Derby. Villa will edge it as favorites going into game and will be delighted it’s not Leeds in final.

Leeds bottled it again on the big occasion given how long they were at top of league and now don’t even make final. Spy gate comes back to bite them big time.

Leanne might well get the expected windfall we hope for c£1.5m. And then SJM overall value is in the £20-30m bracket as a premiership player. Imagine if he was sold for that and we pocketed 15-20%.

15-05-2019, 08:57 PM
Great chance for both Villa and Derby. Villa will edge it as favorites going into game and will be delighted it’s not Leeds in final.

Leeds bottled it again on the big occasion given how long they were at top of league and now don’t even make final. Spy gate comes back to bite them big time.

Are Leeds the English Hearts?

15-05-2019, 08:58 PM
Leeds Utd have Leeds it again! 😂

Really hope Villa do it now. Would be great to see SJM in the EPL.

15-05-2019, 09:02 PM
Leeds Utd have Leeds it again! 😂

Really hope Villa do it now. Would be great to see SJM in the EPL.

Very pleasing. :agree:

15-05-2019, 09:11 PM
Derby, Leeds, Villa and West Brom are all good clubs that I'd like to see back in the Premier.

I loved that game tonight, can't think of many I've enjoyed as much as that that I've not had a vested interest in.

15-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Very pleasing. :agree:

Especially against the team involved in the spy gate scandal 😁

Cheaters never win

15-05-2019, 09:21 PM
Tough choice of what team to cheer on in the Final though.

On one side there's the smarmy, entitled and thoroughly unlikeable ex Chelsea bellend Frank Lampard. Whilst on the other you've his pal John Terry......

15-05-2019, 09:37 PM

On one side there's the smarmy, entitled and thoroughly unlikeable ex Chelsea bellend Frank Lampard. Whilst on the other you've his pal John Terry......

Or... maybe just get over any issues and just enjoy what could be another cracking game of football?

15-05-2019, 09:38 PM
I’m watching it on a 10 minute delay as Mrs.Ancient Hibee demanded I make her a coffee and a biscuit.

I'm impressed you managed to make the biscuits in 10 minutes

15-05-2019, 09:38 PM
spring bank holiday

Another one?

It's been spring for a while now.

15-05-2019, 09:39 PM
Derby, Leeds, Villa and West Brom are all good clubs that I'd like to see back in the Premier.

I loved that game tonight, can't think of many I've enjoyed as much as that that I've not had a vested interest in.

Brilliant game of football.

15-05-2019, 10:41 PM
I lumped on derby at 1-0 just before Marriott came on. 14/1.

was bricking it til they made it 4-2. Mrs says we're apparently getting the garden done off it...

fat chance.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

15-05-2019, 10:53 PM
Bielsa has a reputation as a coach whose teams are superb in the first part of a season, but collapse later because of the physical demands he puts on the players. Leeds' progress this season backs this up.

15-05-2019, 11:25 PM
I lumped on derby at 1-0 just before Marriott came on. 14/1.

was bricking it til they made it 4-2. Mrs says we're apparently getting the garden done off it...

fat chance.

Post pictures when the garden is finished mate......

16-05-2019, 01:44 AM
Just watched the highlights, Derby played some nice stuff and really counter attack with pace. I do think Villa might toil against them going by that performance.

16-05-2019, 02:56 AM
Gutted for Leeds fans everywhere. We all know that feeling of not making it up.

16-05-2019, 04:40 AM
Post pictures when the garden is finished mate......[emoji23] tbf having just moved house it does need done.

16-05-2019, 05:11 AM
Gutted for Leeds fans everywhere. We all know that feeling of not making it up.

I seem to recall that (I think and without Googling it) they got beat in the play offs back in 2005 by Preston. How many times have they now failed to get promotion via the play offs since getting relegated from the EPL? Difficult league to get out of unless aiming for division one.

16-05-2019, 06:45 AM
Bielsa has a reputation as a coach whose teams are superb in the first part of a season, but collapse later because of the physical demands he puts on the players. Leeds' progress this season backs this up.

Not much he could do with his goalie bizarrely going walkabout to cause the first goal. They were cruising it until then.

Think Villa will take the final now easier game v Derby IMO.

16-05-2019, 08:03 AM

It would seem to be the case last night. They were running on fumes.

16-05-2019, 08:40 AM
That keeper though 😂😂😂.. if he doesn’t make that mistake before half time it’s a completely different game

Renfrew_Hibby
16-05-2019, 09:12 AM

The richest game in football (Premiership play off final) has been played at 3PM on a Monday for a good few years now, proven that it maximises the TV audience when these kind of events are played on bank holidays.

16-05-2019, 09:24 AM

Surely every Hibs supporter wants Villa to win? Big pay day coming our way if they do. Couldn't care less about Villa or Derby but it benefits Hibs massively if Villa win.

MichaelBrown
16-05-2019, 09:42 AM
*I live close to Leeds and I'm a Leeds fan, I've said on this board before that my family were Hibs. Been a long time viewer and only just signed up.

Was at the game last night and I'm absolutely gutted that we messed up. Bielsa's worked absolute magic with a squad that prior to his arrival was poor at best. He's turned players who fans wanted to sell (such as Kalvin Phillips and Roofe) into PL-quality, KP in particular has been the best midfielder in this league. With the lack of depth England has at DM, he could easily play for them. Unfortunately, our transfer strategy (chairman wants to break even) means that we're more than likely going to sell our best players such as Jansson, Phillips or a promising youngster such as Jack Clarke.

On Heckingbottom, I know someone who works for Barnsley and he was a huge, huge fan of him. He was instrumental in promoting and improving players from the lower leagues/youth players and this model is crucial for a club like Barnsley as they sell on players for a profit. One of their big sales was Hourihane who plays for Villa, he's very good at Championship level. Heckingbottom was doing alright with Barnsley until they decided to sell their spine in the Jan. transfer window which was a little short sighted.

At Leeds, I think he was unfortunate. The football, admittedly, was dire but he'd walked into a club that had players from different eras and who different managers had signed. Our DoF, a bloke who'd failed at Boro (as well as us, imo, but that is a debatable issue with our fans) is responsible for the amount of ***** we've signed. He didn't help his cause with fans when he openly admitted that he hated us though. For Hibs, I think the football won't be expansive, possession-based but I do think it'll be relatively successful for where Hibs want to be. I've got to say though, I hope McNulty doesn't join permanently. Really dont think he's good enough if Hibs want to challenge for Europe.

Does anyone know how to change my username?

16-05-2019, 12:39 PM
The richest game in football (Premiership play off final) has been played at 3PM on a Monday for a good few years now, proven that it maximises the TV audience when these kind of events are played on bank holidays.

Think last year it was on the Saturday.

16-05-2019, 12:47 PM
KP in particular has been the best midfielder in this league.

Mr McGinn would like a word

16-05-2019, 12:56 PM
Think last year it was on the Saturday.

Thought that was the case but previously had always been the Monday. Division 2 playoff Saturday, Division 1 Sunday, building up to the Championship on the Monday.

HAZ2000
16-05-2019, 01:08 PM
Only ever met one Leeds fan in my life while on holiday. He spent half an hour explaining to me that "the only reason Man UTD are such a big club is due to the plane crash" Strange deluded bunch from what ive heard.

16-05-2019, 01:29 PM
Thought that was the case but previously had always been the Monday. Division 2 playoff Saturday, Division 1 Sunday, building up to the Championship on the Monday.

Agree a good reason to WFH that day. :greengrin

16-05-2019, 01:35 PM
Only ever met one Leeds fan in my life while on holiday. He spent half an hour explaining to me that "the only reason Man UTD are such a big club is due to the plane crash" Strange deluded bunch from what ive heard.

You'd be surprised at how many folk think that. The amount of publicity and (understandable) sympathy that came after the plane crash gave them more exposure than winning the European cup would have done. They became marketable throughout the world as a result and stayed in that limelight ever since. Of course there is more to it than that and they have had a few excellent managers, most notably Ferguson, who produced a number of great teams over his term of office.

MichaelBrown
16-05-2019, 01:44 PM
Mr McGinn would like a word

They are totally different players tbf.

16-05-2019, 01:50 PM
I met a girl from near Leeds on holiday one year and went out with her for a while after we came back.

Her family were absolutely wonderful people, very generous and real salt of the Earth folk. Until you got onto the subject of football and it just got them all very angry indeed. They hated everyone, especially Mancs, Southerners, Argentinians and Germans. It was vicious and hun-like. Funnily enough, with the success Scots have enjoyed at Leeds they loved Scots and they made me very welcome.

Very strange but I have to say that I have nothing other than fond memories of that spell.

16-05-2019, 04:15 PM

What has Lampard done to be put on that same level as Terry, a cheating racist?

16-05-2019, 06:40 PM
so, after the devastation of one of englands very finest teams losing out last night :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo: on to tonight

Portsmouth v Sunderland(0-1) for the right to play the winners of Charlton v Doncaster who play tomorrow night (Agg 2-1)

play up pompey

16-05-2019, 06:52 PM
yellow card for pompey player after just 3 mins...silly boy

16-05-2019, 07:03 PM
Been a feisty start to this game! If it finishes 11 v 11, I'll be surprised!

16-05-2019, 07:06 PM
No Dylan either, not sure if he’s injured
However looking at the brutality of some of the tackling, not surprised it’s not gone too well for him in League 1
I’m sure he could have done much better after leaving Hibs

16-05-2019, 07:07 PM
No Dylan either, not sure if he’s injured
However looking at the brutality of some of the tackling, not surprised it’s not gone too well for him in League 1
I’m sure he could have done much better after leaving Hibs

I think he will be back up in Scotland next season.

16-05-2019, 07:22 PM
Been a feisty start to this game! If it finishes 11 v 11, I'll be surprised!
Not much quality on show.

16-05-2019, 07:26 PM
Pompey have "Leveined" the pitch.

The players are slipping all over the shop.

16-05-2019, 07:28 PM
point blank save by the sunderland keeper, i think a goal might have been the easier outcome

16-05-2019, 07:32 PM
point blank save by the sunderland keeper, i think a goal might have been the easier outcome

Ex hearts goalie, decent keeper.

16-05-2019, 07:32 PM
that's one heck of travelling distance the sunderland fans had to make for tonight

333 miles, 5 hours 45 mins...

16-05-2019, 07:33 PM
Ex hearts goalie, decent keeper.

didn't know that, did ozturk play for them ? or am i thinking of someone else

16-05-2019, 07:36 PM
Now that McGregor has retired, I think he's the best Scottish goalie around at the moment.

He's had a brilliant season and his all-round game has been immaculate this half - communicating with defenders, claiming crosses, making saves when he needs to and coming out his box to sweep up when necessary.

An excellent player.

16-05-2019, 07:37 PM
our gareth evans would have buried the header that portsmouth's gareth evans missed

16-05-2019, 07:38 PM
Now that McGregor has retired, I think he's the best Scottish goalie around at the moment.

He's had a brilliant season and his all-round game has been immaculate this half - communicating with defenders, claiming crosses, making saves when he needs to and coming out his box to sweep up when necessary.

An excellent player.

Totally agree. Fantastic goalie. Still want him and his ex hearts pals pumped though.

16-05-2019, 07:40 PM
Totally agree. Fantastic goalie. Still want him and his ex hearts pals pumped though.

Don’t think Jack Ross thinks Hearts are his pals. Left for an unknown reason at Hearts, when he was the Development team manager, and Craig was Dr of non Football

16-05-2019, 07:44 PM
Don’t think Jack Ross thinks Hearts are his pals. Left for an unknown reason at Hearts, when he was the Development team manager, and Craig was Dr of non Football

He’s signed a couple of their player though. I know what you mean also. I would love Jack to make a name for himself solely to get it up that or I’m Levein.

Coupon dictates a Pompey won though. 😂

16-05-2019, 07:54 PM
didn't know that, did ozturk play for them ? or am i thinking of someone else

Very funny...

Newry Hibs
16-05-2019, 07:55 PM
How annoying is that guy who rings the bell constantly. Imagine being sat/stood near him.

16-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Pish game, certainly not a patch on the last two nights.

16-05-2019, 08:07 PM
How annoying is that guy who rings the bell constantly. Imagine being sat/stood near him.

Did he not change his name to Portsmouth Football Club or something?

16-05-2019, 08:11 PM
Jack Ross is obviously trying to play League One football hence no Dylan. Brutal game of hoofball.

16-05-2019, 08:12 PM
Jack Ross is obviously trying to play League One football hence no Dylan. Brutal game of hoofball.

Dylan injd himself im warm up before the first leg

He was meant to be starting

16-05-2019, 08:12 PM
Pompey don't half have some utter wallopers in their support.

Fat boy with the blue hoody on should be halfway toward a police station already - launched 2 kicks at O'nein and then spat at Cattermole, before trying to fight anyone that looked at him. Egged on by a baying horde around him.

16-05-2019, 08:15 PM

Really? He was on the bench for weeks when fit.

I thought he got injured a couple of weeks before.

Newry Hibs
16-05-2019, 08:15 PM
Did he not change his name to Portsmouth Football Club or something?

He's certainly a character. Not sure all his dogs are barking.

ShadesLongThrow
16-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Some real charmers in this crowd. Think there might be some fun and games if the score remains the same.

Hibs1972
16-05-2019, 08:24 PM
Pompey don't half have some utter wallopers in their support.

Fat boy with the blue hoody on should be halfway toward a police station already - launched 2 kicks at O'nein and then spat at Cattermole, before trying to fight anyone that looked at him. Egged on by a baying horde around him.
Surprised he’s not been lobbed out,definitely caught the Sunderland player with a slap or punch to the back,that ugly doubtful Jeremy Kyle would have even have had him on his show!!

16-05-2019, 08:27 PM

Think you might be confusing Dylan with Aiden McGeady? He dropped out and Lyndon Gooch started in his place.

Dylan hasn’t been in their squad for a while.

16-05-2019, 08:30 PM
Pretty crap game compared to the last two nights, Pompey are gash.

16-05-2019, 08:34 PM
Pretty crap game compared to the last two nights, Pompey are gash.

Both teams have been pish. Standard in League One is not all it’s made out to be.

16-05-2019, 08:38 PM
Edin city would beat both these teams

ShadesLongThrow
16-05-2019, 08:38 PM
This is like watching Hearts vs Hearts Reserves. Two awful teams playing route 1 and kicking lumps out of each other.

16-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Think you might be confusing Dylan with Aiden McGeady? He dropped out and Lyndon Gooch started in his place.

Dylan hasn’t been in their squad for a while.

Might be right actually - heard the comm say it but maybe it was mcgeady not mcgeough

16-05-2019, 08:45 PM
A truly awful game of football.

16-05-2019, 08:46 PM
Sunderland’s 3 centre midfielders are classic industrial types, couldn’t lace McGeouch’s boots. But if they win the final then I suppose Jack Ross has made the right calls. Anything to get promotion basically.

They’ll have a tougher game in the final, that’s for sure.