View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies 2019/20

06-05-2019, 03:15 PM
Really hoping for a few before the league cup starts. Not a fan of using it as glorified pre-season matches. I want to smash the group and be flying come August 3rd.

Any whispers, rumours or confirmed games for us?

06-05-2019, 03:21 PM
If last season's anything to go by, we'll be starting our pre-season schedule at the start of July and play around three matches before the League Cup begins.

06-05-2019, 03:35 PM
Arbroath and Dunfermline. Both away. (Apparently)

06-05-2019, 03:57 PM

What about Berwick ??

06-05-2019, 05:14 PM

Any dates for these been mentioned mate?

06-05-2019, 05:18 PM
What about Berwick ??

We will probably take X11 to them too.

hibsforeurope
07-05-2019, 08:02 AM
What about Berwick ??

If we're going to play a Lowland League team how about Leithen Vale?

07-05-2019, 09:07 AM

Dunfermline 6th July

07-05-2019, 09:13 AM
I assume we’ll need to wait until the draw is made for the league cup before we arrange any pre-season matches?

Can’t see us playing Arbroath or Dunfermline in a friendly then again in a cup game a week or so later.

07-05-2019, 05:57 PM
We will probably take X11 to them too.

***** crowd that.

07-05-2019, 06:15 PM
]What about Berwick ??[/B]

Not this year is what I heard

Any dates for these been mentioned mate?

None yet, just early July

If we're going to play a Lowland League team how about Leithen Vale?

No borders matches this year it seems.

07-05-2019, 06:16 PM
Barnsley at home as well. Apparently

AZhibee
07-05-2019, 06:23 PM
Away to Anywhere in California...please...just a hope...

08-05-2019, 04:27 AM
Away to Anywhere in California...please...just a hope...

Away to NYRB please

08-05-2019, 06:41 AM
Away to NYRB please

We're due the annual 'would you accept Hibs being taken over by Red Bull' thread so that would help carry on a tradition if nothing else.

19-05-2019, 08:57 AM
I noticed on the Q and A text that the manager said we are playing Carlisle on July 9th. Anyone know if it's home or away?

19-05-2019, 09:02 AM
I noticed on the Q and A text that the manager said we are playing Carlisle on July 9th. Anyone know if it's home or away?Away 👍

19-05-2019, 09:16 AM
Away 👍

Wish it was a Saturday but should be a good wee outing.

19-05-2019, 10:00 AM
I noticed on the Q and A text that the manager said we are playing Carlisle on July 9th. Anyone know if it's home or away?

The day I come back from Florida. Oh well. Wonder who else we will be playing?

19-05-2019, 10:04 AM

Arbroath and Dunfermline.

19-05-2019, 10:19 AM

Think that will be more or less them all I’d have thought. We play in the Betfred Cup the following weekend

19-05-2019, 10:36 AM
Arbroath away Wednesday 3rd July

Dunfermline away Saturday 6th July

Carlisle away Tuesday 9th

19-05-2019, 10:52 AM

That should be good! £1.60 per pint in The Caledonian Hotel on Botchergate on a Tuesday 🍺

19-05-2019, 10:55 AM
Arbroath away Wednesday 3rd July

Dunfermline away Saturday 6th July

Carlisle away Tuesday 9th

Reserve team I presume will have some games too

19-05-2019, 12:23 PM
That should be good! £1.60 per pint in The Caledonian Hotel on Botchergate on a Tuesday 🍺

Gallaghers is worth a visit for the tricolour wavers amongst us. 😈

19-05-2019, 01:01 PM

Seriously mate, is there a boozer you've not been to? :greengrin

19-05-2019, 01:11 PM
Seriously mate, is there a boozer you've not been to? :greengrin

Just try to be of service to fellow Hibbies re places I've been! 🍻

19-05-2019, 01:12 PM
Just try to be of service to fellow Hibbies re places I've been! 🍻

I've never been to Bognor Regis so couldnae recommend anywhere there! 😁

19-05-2019, 10:05 PM
Have heard we are trying for game against Newcastle Unt

20-05-2019, 02:13 AM

20-05-2019, 02:26 AM
Wellington Phoenix away on the cards too apparently. :aok:

20-05-2019, 03:49 PM
Hibs and Dunfermline holding off until the Betfred draw is made.

20-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Carlisle away 9th July

BegbieHSC
20-05-2019, 05:46 PM
Carlisle away 9th July

Decent. Get a half day at work - 1hr15 on the train, and the Hibs take over Carlisle :top marks

Only thing is, the last train is at 2215, and it’s a 20 minute walk back from the station.

Auckland Hibs
21-05-2019, 08:20 AM
Wellington Phoenix away on the cards too apparently. :aok:

As long as it's played at Eden Park!

21-05-2019, 08:58 AM

Maybe we should explore the Tommy Block connection to arrange a friendly to rectify that😁

21-05-2019, 09:11 AM
Have heard we are trying for game against Newcastle Unt

A trip to Newcastle would be doable for me, but I'd prefer if we played Utd instead of Unt. :duck:

21-05-2019, 09:14 AM
A trip to Newcastle would be doable for me, but I'd prefer if we played Utd instead of Unt. :duck:

ER end of July

21-05-2019, 09:15 AM

More like Newcastle Uni😝

21-05-2019, 09:20 AM
ER end of July

Boo!

Predictable, but boo anyway.

21-05-2019, 09:21 AM
More like Newcastle Uni😝

I'd settle for that.

We might even be able to hold on for a draw.

green with envy
21-05-2019, 09:34 AM
Decent. Get a half day at work - 1hr15 on the train, and the Hibs take over Carlisle :top marks

Only thing is, the last train is at 2215, and it’s a 20 minute walk back from the station.

I've booked that train, in saying that I don't see that there's a problem if it's a 7.45 or 8.00 KO for that matter.

21-05-2019, 09:35 AM
I've booked that train, in saying that I don't see that there's a problem if it's a 7.45 or 8.00 KO for that matter.

It’s a 7.45pm ko

green with envy
21-05-2019, 09:52 AM
It’s a 7.45pm ko

Should be at the station for around 9.50pm and still have time for a quick pint at the spoony's outside the station.

21-05-2019, 10:27 AM
Train booked for 3 of us, £12.90 return each, not a bad deal.

21-05-2019, 11:38 AM
2 return tickets from Ayr to Carlise, £12.20 each...we're on our way!

21-05-2019, 11:44 AM
Anybody else booked into the County Hotel ?

21-05-2019, 01:59 PM
16.52 train arrives at 17.32. Last train 22.16
That will do me. Have travel pass so I think it’s free.

21-05-2019, 02:30 PM
Anybody else booked into the County Hotel ?

It's a bit worn around the edges these days but, perfectly located at the top of Botchergate.

21-05-2019, 02:59 PM
It's a bit worn around the edges these days but, perfectly located at the top of Botchergate.

Something it has in common with the rest of Carlisle...... (I do like the place though).

21-05-2019, 03:06 PM
Something it has in common with the rest of Carlisle...... (I do like the place though).

Aye, me too! I like the place and I'm worn round the edges too 😁

Daydreamer
21-05-2019, 03:26 PM
[QUOTE=Kojock;5792749]Anybody else booked into the County Hotel ?[/QUOTE

Yip, got the last triple room this morning. Can't complain £22 each with breakfast included. Meeting some of the Carlisle Hibs guys then Griffin and Cranemakers for a few. What time you down?

21-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Aye, me too! I like the place and I'm worn round the edges too 😁

I’ve a couple of worn out years on you C.....:greengrin

21-05-2019, 04:46 PM
[QUOTE=Kojock;5792749]Anybody else booked into the County Hotel ?[/QUOTE

Yip, got the last triple room this morning. Can't complain £22 each with breakfast included. Meeting some of the Carlisle Hibs guys then Griffin and Cranemakers for a few. What time you down?

Arrive 14:06 and on the 11:02 home the next day, £19 return. Didn't take up the breakfast option as I have a feeling I might be a bit hung over.

Daydreamer
21-05-2019, 05:01 PM
[QUOTE=Daydreamer;5792885]

Arrive 14:06 and on the 11:02 home the next day, £19 return. Didn't take up the breakfast option as I have a feeling I might be a bit hung over.

Not down till 4 and back on the 13.01. Same £19 return. Spoke to one of the Carlisle crowd and he says one of the boozers down the Botchergate is open till 1 through the week. Cumberland inn so looks like there till late.

21-05-2019, 05:06 PM
[QUOTE=Kojock;5792948]

Not down till 4 and back on the 13.01. Same £19 return. Spoke to one of the Carlisle crowd and he says one of the boozers down the Botchergate is open till 1 through the week. Cumberland inn so looks like there till late.

Sounds like a plan. GGTTH

21-05-2019, 06:00 PM
I'm sure the Walkabout is open late most nights.

21-05-2019, 06:17 PM
16.52 train arrives at 17.32. Last train 22.16
That will do me. Have travel pass so I think it’s free.

From where?

What kind of pass?

21-05-2019, 06:27 PM
Boo!

Predictable, but boo anyway.
That's definitely doable for me 😁

21-05-2019, 06:29 PM
Shame train south is so late. Drive it is. Hopefully a few meeting up as I'm off work that day.

21-05-2019, 06:33 PM
Away to NYRB please
Houston Dynamo to finish off the USA tour then please :greengrin

21-05-2019, 07:57 PM
From where?

What kind of pass?

Edinburgh to Carlisle. Travel pass from Scottish Govt .

21-05-2019, 08:01 PM
Edinburgh to Carlisle. Travel pass from Scottish Govt .

16:52 from Edinburgh gets to Carlisle at 18:10. http://www.realtimetrains.co.uk/train/P59212/2019/07/03/advanced

National entitlement card? Only the ones issued to persons who are visually impaired get free travel within Scotland on the trains however IIRC Carlisle and Berwick are covered. All other Council issued concession cards are not valid for free travel and usually only valid within the council area where issued.

james62
21-05-2019, 08:12 PM
[QUOTE=Kojock;5792948]

Stayed down there a couple of years ago after a midweek game away to Queen of the South, there was a boozer/night club just off of Botchergate that was open until 4 but I can't remember the name now. Carlisle is a lively enough place on a Tuesday night :aok:

Dublin07
21-05-2019, 08:30 PM
16:52 from Edinburgh gets to Carlisle at 18:10. http://www.realtimetrains.co.uk/train/P59212/2019/07/03/advanced

National entitlement card? Only the ones issued to persons who are visually impaired get free travel within Scotland on the trains however IIRC Carlisle and Berwick are covered. All other Council issued concession cards are not valid for free travel and usually only valid within the council area where issued.

It's not a concession card he is meaning it's a travel card which provides travel within Scotland for employees of issuing organisation. This includes Berwick and Carlisle.

22-05-2019, 02:00 AM
Houston Dynamo to finish off the USA tour then please :greengrin

US Hibs fans on tour!

22-05-2019, 04:04 AM
It's not a concession card he is meaning it's a travel card which provides travel within Scotland for employees of issuing organisation. This includes Berwick and Carlisle.

Can you PM me an example picture of one please?

22-05-2019, 07:10 AM
[QUOTE=Daydreamer;5792962]

Stayed down there a couple of years ago after a midweek game away to Queen of the South, there was a boozer/night club just off of Botchergate that was open until 4 but I can't remember the name now. Carlisle is a lively enough place on a Tuesday night :aok:

3am closure for Walkabout.