View Full Version : Today's AUOB March in Glasgow

04-05-2019, 06:32 PM
Saw that today, as I was in town, and it was actually quite a sizeable number. The parade seemed to go on forever.

They definitely had a very nice spirit about them, as they were very friendly and there was no anti-Englishness (as is often the claim) as far as I could see/hear. It was also a very diverse group in terms of age, with loads of families and a lot of Seniors amongst the group.

No matter what you might think about their politics, I have to admire them for the way they represented their cause.

They seemed much nicer than the small group of Loyalists in George Sq holding a protest against the march. I'm sure the majority of Unionists would happily distance themselves from those people.

04-05-2019, 06:54 PM
They seemed much nicer than the small group of Loyalists in George Sq holding a protest against the march. I'm sure the majority of Unionists would happily distance themselves from those people.

To be fair, they did. There was about 30 of them in total. A "counter protest" according to the Herald. :embarrass

James310
04-05-2019, 06:58 PM
https://twitter.com/heraldscotland/status/1124660421808611329?s=19

What does shouting 'whose streets' and then replying 'our streets' mean?

Do they own the streets now? If you don't believe in their cause then what?

04-05-2019, 07:21 PM

“Oor streets”, surely!

04-05-2019, 07:23 PM

"Our streets" as in "Scotlands streets" perhaps?

But i'm sure you'll have some crazy anti-nationalist theory as to some inner deeper dark meaning behind it all that the rest of us are too daft to consider.

Mr Grieves
04-05-2019, 07:52 PM

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/16399120.meet-the-pro-union-activist-who-has-worked-for-the-orange-order-and-denies-jews-were-murdered-in-gas-chambers/

Extremists that in no way represent the views of the majority of unionists. Much like the idiots with the banner outside the SNP conference that do not represent the views of the majority of nats, despite what one poster on here would have you believe.

Hiya James, hiya pal

Curried
05-05-2019, 06:50 AM
Pretty impressive time-lapse of the march at Charing Cross:

https://twitter.com/tradasro/status/1123848752442290177

05-05-2019, 07:05 AM
The guys selling see you jimmy hats and blue facepaint must have made a killing.

James310
05-05-2019, 07:26 AM
Pretty impressive time-lapse of the march at Charing Cross:

https://twitter.com/tradasro/status/1123848752442290177

That was not the march yesterday. Look at the date.

05-05-2019, 08:37 AM

That was the dress rehearsal to prepare Glasgow City for the main event. 😉

Curried
05-05-2019, 10:18 AM

I didn't say it was, but seeing as you've shown an interest here's yesterdays march in full:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NE1qHItnjE

05-05-2019, 10:28 AM
The guys selling see you jimmy hats and blue facepaint must have made a killing.

Cheap digs, classy

What people were selling in great number was flags. Those guys must have made a fortune.

James310
05-05-2019, 10:28 AM
I didn't say it was, but seeing as you've shown an interest here's yesterdays march in full:

Yea ok, so you deliberately posted on a thread about the march yesterday a video of another march? Sure.

05-05-2019, 10:31 AM

Utterly pwned

James310
05-05-2019, 10:40 AM
Utterly pwned

Sure, that's me told.

05-05-2019, 10:53 AM
Sure, that's me told.

Dogmatists can't be told anything... except what they want to hear

Mr Grieves
05-05-2019, 01:15 PM
https://twitter.com/gavmacn/status/1124998628320395264?s=19

Wow :hilarious

05-05-2019, 01:30 PM

We should get her on here as a guest contributor to the currency debate. :wink:

05-05-2019, 01:30 PM

What a sweet little old lady.

05-05-2019, 02:03 PM

'He's goat a Ranjurrrs Jersey oan. Haw ****iiing traitor.'

Comedy gold.

Curried
05-05-2019, 02:14 PM
Dindnae take them long :

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/322509-anyone-know-this-****/

05-05-2019, 02:39 PM
Dindnae take them long :

I'm actually pleasantly surprised at the number of reasonable posts in that thread.

05-05-2019, 06:29 PM
Dindnae take them long :

Was hoping for better tbh. That's just a few zoomers spraffing ***** and rather more posters telling them to stop spraffing *****.

Much the same makeup as any number of threads on here quite frankly.

05-05-2019, 07:27 PM
Dogmatists can't be told anything... except what they want to hear

Just out of interest, did you not say on another thread that you had met thousands of English people and disliked almost all of them? If that’s not dogmatic........

05-05-2019, 07:57 PM
Just out of interest, did you not say on another thread that you had met thousands of English people and disliked almost all of them? If that’s not dogmatic........

Here we go... How is it dogmatic? I've met them and made a judgement based on the kind of people I like. I do the same for phones, tv's, websites... you name it. We all do it. Not seeing where dogma comes into it.

05-05-2019, 08:00 PM
Here we go... How is it dogmatic? I've met them and made a judgement based on the kind of people I like. I do the same for phones, tv's, websites... you name it. We all do it. Not seeing where dogma comes into it.

Thousands of people and they are all the same?

When you put it like that I’m tempted to say that maybe the thousands of English aren’t the problem, rationally how could they be? Maybe it is you :dunno:

05-05-2019, 08:04 PM
Thousands of people and they are all the same?

When you put it like that I’m tempted to say that maybe the thousands of English aren’t the problem, rationally how could they be? Maybe it is you :dunno:

Who said they were all the same?

06-05-2019, 12:31 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JA2XGrjjhU&feature=youtu.be

Shouldn't laugh at the vulnerable....... but..... :faf:

07-05-2019, 01:15 AM
Dindnae take them long :

That was actually quite an interesting read. As Pretty Boy said further up the thread the number of posts which are actually rational and even reasonable is surprising, especially when you consider the usual form of that particular forum :greengrin

Unsurprisingly there is the 'ah support the Gers so I have to be an anti independence unionist loyalist' and anybody who isn't shouldn't be a Berrrr types.
Then you have the more rational folk who believe that just because you support a particular football club doesn't mean you are obliged to hold a particular political opinion.

Perhaps the folk on there saying 'you never see folk with independence supporting badges or the like at Ibrox' or 'you never hear Rangurz fans talking about being pro independence in the boozer n' that' should have a read of some of the opinions espoused on that thread … its hardly a surprise you don't is it?

Had to laugh at the guy saying 'aye, but wearing a Gerz top tae an Orange walk isnae political coz the OO is a religious organisation' Would that be the same religious organisation that organised 10,000 folk to march to Holyrood in 2014 to oppose independence … non political ma arse :faf:

07-05-2019, 01:58 AM
That was actually quite an interesting read. As Pretty Boy said further up the thread the number of posts which are actually rational and even reasonable is surprising, especially when you consider the usual form of that particular forum :greengrin

Unsurprisingly there is the 'ah support the Gers so I have to be an anti independence unionist loyalist' and anybody who isn't shouldn't be a Berrrr types.
Then you have the more rational folk who believe that just because you support a particular football club doesn't mean you are obliged to hold a particular political opinion.

Perhaps the folk on there saying 'you never see folk with independence supporting badges or the like at Ibrox' or 'you never hear Rangurz fans talking about being pro independence in the boozer n' that' should have a read of some of the opinions espoused on that thread … its hardly a surprise you don't is it?

Had to laugh at the guy saying 'aye, but wearing a Gerz top tae an Orange walk isnae political coz the OO is a religious organisation' Would that be the same religious organisation that organised 10,000 folk to march to Holyrood in 2014 to oppose independence … non political ma arse :faf:

To be fair to them... :sick: they don't oppose independence for political reasons. They oppose independence purely for 17th century religious reasons.

07-05-2019, 03:12 AM
This one's a cracker. :faf:

The Saltire is now very obviously associated with independence, whether we like it or not. Even the taigs are waving it. Hijacked by them, like theyve hijacked everything else in this *****hole. It is a useful ruse to keep up the pretence in their ultimate goal of a republic

IF ever an indy, I would also hazard to guess that the Saltire disappears altogether with some feeble excuse for a new national flag to reflect the current populus and the new future and would hazard to guess, it will end up with green in it appease their taig electorate.

I would pose the question to Sturgeon if she has yet thought about it, but I'd bet she'd deny it, but that it wouldn't be off the table, but the reality is, here's one I made up earlier. I give you a tricolour of green, yellow and blue. Green for the taig republc, yellow for the papa and blue as a piece of tokenism for the rest of us.

Then what happens to the flag of the Union, in a change of Scotland's flag or not?

All speculation of course, but the way the omnishambles is playing out at Westminster, anything is possible and a second indy vote in the not too distant future. IF the yessers win, it would be a more painful divorce than Brexit.

Perhaps we should get this guy to promote independence to those Hibby's who still cling on to the union. The idea of a green national flag may just be the wee nudge that they need. :flag: :greengrin

07-05-2019, 08:16 AM
Dindnae take them long :

It must be a horrible existence to be a normal thinking human but to have inherited Rangerism from your parents.

07-05-2019, 08:22 AM
Of the Sevconians I know I'd say they're split 50/50 re independence.

Generally speaking, those who live in or near Glasgow, or those who actually set foot in Ibrox favour independence (although not all, obviously).

Hick town Huns (the type I grew up with) who get their Rangers fix from the Internet are more likely to be "staunch".

Bizarrely enough, I probably know a higher proportion of Unionist hibbies than I know Unionist Huns.

I used to go to Scotland games with a few Rangers fans. Great lads, and wouldn't be any more likely to get involved in any of their nonsense than I would IRA stuff.

09-05-2019, 06:46 PM
Of the Sevconians I know I'd say they're split 50/50 re independence.

Generally speaking, those who live in or near Glasgow, or those who actually set foot in Ibrox favour independence (although not all, obviously).

Like the guys above the Hibs Support at the weekend with the giant Union Jack with the wording...

"Scotland is British
No Surrender"

Definitely Independence Supporters

09-05-2019, 09:20 PM
Like the guys above the Hibs Support at the weekend with the giant Union Jack with the wording...

"Scotland is British
No Surrender"

Definitely Independence Supporters

I don't think the Sevconians I know are representative of their support as a whole.