View Full Version : Today’s Football

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

04-05-2019, 06:01 PM
Cardiff 1-3 Palace

Cardiff going down. Can't stand Warnock; I hope he's really hurting.

04-05-2019, 06:02 PM
This is a game live on prime-time TV, across the whole of the UK, and I find the standard very poor.

Given the size of the crowd, I'm struggling to see why they held it at Wembley.

I watched bits of it and it’s dreadful.

Southend V Sunderland is also absolute pish. Oh and Plymouth have just been mugged right off.

04-05-2019, 06:07 PM
what a stupid clumsy penalty southend just gifted away...1-1 15 mins to stave of relegation

plymouth 3 s****horpe 2

04-05-2019, 06:17 PM
2-1 southend :)

the mask of Zorro, 15 fractured bones, 8 metal plates etc etc :eek:

04-05-2019, 06:21 PM
Could end up quite a decent day even though we look like missing Euro fitba.

Falkirk relegated, Neil Warnocks team relegated

04-05-2019, 06:29 PM
southend stay up, AFC wimbledon stay up instead of Plymouth, courtesy of ending 3 goals better off...

play-offs

Charlton(3) v Doncaster(6)
Pompey(4) v sunderland(5)

next up

Newcastle v Liverpool.. hope they beat each other :)

04-05-2019, 06:31 PM
Mark Oxley in goals for Southend

Kept his contact lenses in and everything

04-05-2019, 06:37 PM
Souness laying into sturridge about being unprofessional about 5 seconds before his phone rings live on air.

04-05-2019, 06:38 PM
Proud of Southend! Huge result. League 2 would have been a disaster.

04-05-2019, 06:41 PM
I don’t get it

The Southend fans ran on to celebrate and the Sunderland fans didn’t run on to start a fight

Isn’t that the done thing?

04-05-2019, 06:59 PM
1-0 this seasons soon to be runners-up, got my bet on just in time :)

04-05-2019, 07:01 PM
There's 40000 there. Over 50000 tickets sold, but the league wouldn't reschedule the west ham EPL game so lots of hammers fans didn't go.

Not a dig at you, but I find that hard to believe.

I saw some of the game on TV and it looked very sparsely populated, even with the top tier closed.

04-05-2019, 07:06 PM
newcastle 1 liverpool 1

really should have been a penalty and liverpool player red carded for stopping the ball on the line with his arm, better taking the goal i suppose

04-05-2019, 07:10 PM
newcastle 1 liverpool 1

really should have been a penalty and liverpool player red carded for stopping the ball on the line with his arm, better taking the goal i suppose

If I were Newcastle I would rather the ten men and take your chances from the spot tbh

04-05-2019, 07:13 PM
newky 1 liverpool 2.. salad

04-05-2019, 07:17 PM
Forgot I'd taken a skybet price boost on the thunderbird to score with a header.
seems like easy money now!
Mane to score and that's another price boost.
(although in fairness I do also have Newcastle to win, just to for cover.)

04-05-2019, 07:18 PM
If I were Newcastle I would rather the ten men and take your chances from the spot tbh

nah better taking the goal i think, maybe not now right enough

anyway, 3 goals already, more to come i would think

04-05-2019, 07:18 PM
Forgot I'd taken a skybet price boost on the thunderbird to score with a header.
seems like easy money now!
Mane to score and that's another price boost.
(although in fairness I do also have Newcastle to win, just to for cover.)

he just should/could have

04-05-2019, 07:50 PM
I see Luton won League One with James Collins up top and Andrew Shinnie in midfield.. and people claim that league is miles ahead of ours..

04-05-2019, 07:57 PM
2-2.

04-05-2019, 07:58 PM
Are Liverpool about to bottle it again

Mr Grieves
04-05-2019, 07:59 PM
2-2.

Nice finish by Rondon.

Gloucester Hibs
04-05-2019, 08:12 PM
Exciting game, either side could win it, ‘mon the Toon!

04-05-2019, 08:14 PM
Exciting game, either side could win it, ‘mon the Toon!

👌👍

04-05-2019, 08:14 PM
I bet Klopp wishes he had Firmino on the bench now. Hopefully Salah is OK.

04-05-2019, 08:29 PM
:thumbsup: Get in

04-05-2019, 08:30 PM
L/pool goal 2-3 my bets alive ;)

04-05-2019, 08:30 PM
Never a free kick, utter joke.

04-05-2019, 08:39 PM
as good as Liverpool have been this season they've carried a hell of a lot of luck.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

04-05-2019, 08:40 PM
as good as Liverpool have been this season they've carried a hell of a lot of luck.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Especially from referees.

04-05-2019, 08:42 PM

Nope.

04-05-2019, 08:43 PM
If they're getting decisions like that, just hand them the title now.

04-05-2019, 08:44 PM
Hahahaha I'm not even a Liverpool fan but some of the stuff on here is comical. They've been absolutely brilliant all season and would thoroughly deserve the title.

04-05-2019, 08:45 PM
If they're getting decisions like that, just hand them the title now.

You seem upset. :greengrin

04-05-2019, 08:45 PM
so, advantage plucky liverpool, onto monday night now when man city play the team that liverpool are trying to emulate by winning the premier league for the first time

p.s. ta for my £60 tonight liverpool :cb

04-05-2019, 08:52 PM
Hahahaha I'm not even a Liverpool fan but some of the stuff on here is comical. They've been absolutely brilliant all season and would thoroughly deserve the title.

:agree: Both teams have been historically good.

04-05-2019, 09:12 PM
Falkirk relegated lol

I was at the game and am delighted with the outcome :greengrin

Falkirk down and Ray McKinnon took them there :faf:

hibby rae
04-05-2019, 09:29 PM

I like the idea that it was the Falkirk supporters who relegated their club. They go one nil up against QOS and promptly invaded the pitch to celebrate, in the time that was added on because of this QOS then equalised! :greengrin

04-05-2019, 09:30 PM
Well played Liverpool. Newcastle tried to kick you off the park but it didn't work. It was like Hibs v Hertz except on this occasion the good guys won thru.

😁

ED Hibee
04-05-2019, 09:35 PM

Down here Liverpool fans are as bad if not worse than Old Firm when it comes to the “more than just a club” nonsense that the likes of them and the old firm come out with. Half the footballing media are their ex players and they do seem to get more than their fair share of refereeing decisions. Their fans are worse than Celtic when it comes to conspiracy theories!

I used to quite like them before I moved south. However I’ve now Developed the same irrational hatred for them as I have the Old Firm and take great delight in seeing them fail.

In saying that they have played some great football at times and given their the luck going there way with no long term injuries to any of their key players (before tonight) and key decisions going their way, I reckon they are stick ons for the title.

04-05-2019, 09:44 PM
You seem upset. :greengrin

I just don't like cheating.

It probably won't bother him as it may well go on to win his team the title but Fabinho should be banned for that incident. It was ridiculous.

04-05-2019, 09:56 PM
It keeps it going to last game but Man City will beat both Leicester and Brighton and win it.

04-05-2019, 10:00 PM
I just don't like cheating.

It probably won't bother him as it may well go on to win his team the title but Fabinho should be banned for that incident. It was ridiculous.

Think it was a foul initially but he certainly made a meal out of it.

Paul Scholes had a good quote recently saying it just shows how far United have fallen as the height of their ambition this season is to hope Liverpool lose.

04-05-2019, 10:06 PM
Think it was a foul initially but he certainly made a meal out of it.

Paul Scholes had a good quote recently saying it just shows how far United have fallen as the height of their ambition this season is to hope Liverpool lose.

I didn't see any foul at all and I've watched the incident about 5 times now.

05-05-2019, 12:01 AM
I didn't see any foul at all and I've watched the incident about 5 times now.

Try it with your eyes open.

05-05-2019, 12:28 AM
https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2019_05/D5wYTXVXoAYbO4x.jpg.a7930dce51466f0b37faff09d901b8 c2.jpg

05-05-2019, 01:27 AM
Try it with your eyes open.

Tried that too. :aok:

05-05-2019, 12:11 PM
Derby and Middlesbrough both winning, going to be a nervy second half.

05-05-2019, 12:14 PM

You went there so that you could have the pleasure of seeing Falkirk relegated? I like your style. :aok:

05-05-2019, 01:29 PM
Well done Norwich, played some cracking stuff this season, a joy to watch. 👏

05-05-2019, 01:35 PM
Well done Norwich, played some cracking stuff this season, a joy to watch. 👏

And well done their board for remaining supportive of the manager :aok: last season there were calls for him to go but they've done what boards should do and given him time to build the side :agree: good to see Kenny McLean doing well there too - very good player, much like McGinn in outlook and temperament.

05-05-2019, 01:51 PM
Thought they'd be pleased. They've pretty much killed off Europe for us.

They likely realised losing to Killie was a better way to stop us getting Europe than them having to beat Celtic in the SCF.

Well at least we can now watch the Cup final without worrying about a double whammy 😊

05-05-2019, 02:19 PM

Good grief .....😂😂😂

05-05-2019, 05:23 PM
Arsenal hahahahah

05-05-2019, 05:24 PM
arsenal 'arsed' it again

do they go into the CL next season if they win the europa league ?

question answered...yes

05-05-2019, 05:27 PM
I quite enjoyed the Arsenal Brighton game, good chances at both ends, it helped me get over our game, well a little.

05-05-2019, 05:41 PM
arsenal 'arsed' it again

do they go into the CL next season if they win the europa league ?

question answered...yes

It's now their only way of qualifying. If Chelsea beat them in the final the Champions League spot would go to 3rd place in Ligue 1

KdyHby
07-05-2019, 10:59 AM
Off to the Rovers v Forfar play off match tonight, £10 entrance

07-05-2019, 01:08 PM
It's now their only way of qualifying. If Chelsea beat them in the final the Champions League spot would go to 3rd place in Ligue 1

Why would the French league get the extra spot?

07-05-2019, 01:36 PM

They bagsied it first? :dunno:

07-05-2019, 01:55 PM

I thought it was just me! 😉

07-05-2019, 02:06 PM

Because England already has 4 participants. The only way to get 5 is if a team out with the qualifying part (e.g. England's top 4) wins either the CL or the EL.

If Chelsea win it, they've already qualified, so the place needs to go elsewhere. France presumably have the highest coefficient that doesn't already have 4 teams in the CL.

07-05-2019, 02:15 PM
Because England already has 4 participants. The only way to get 5 is if a team out with the qualifying part (e.g. England's top 4) wins either the CL or the EL.

If Chelsea win it, they've already qualified, so the place needs to go elsewhere. France presumably have the highest coefficient that doesn't already have 4 teams in the CL.

Ah well, if that's the case, every day is a school day.

07-05-2019, 03:13 PM

that was going to be my next question, i think chelsea will win the final...assuming both teams progress

what's the chances of a London pals act :)

07-05-2019, 04:39 PM

Ahh right, cheers for clarifying. Learn something new everyday.

07-05-2019, 06:38 PM
Robbie Fowler raging at Suarez having the audacity to want to win the game and celebrate scoring against Liverpool.

07-05-2019, 06:41 PM
Robbie Fowler raging at Suarez having the audacity to want to win the game and celebrate scoring against Liverpool.

He’s more raging at the Liverpool fans who still idolise Suarez yet have nicknamed Owen Judas for signing for Man Utd, that was what he was getting at

07-05-2019, 06:49 PM
He’s more raging at the Liverpool fans who still idolise Suarez yet have nicknamed Owen Judas for signing for Man Utd, that was what he was getting at

And fair enough to be fair.

07-05-2019, 06:56 PM
Ayr v Caley not on the tellybox :( ah well, mon barca

07-05-2019, 07:07 PM
1-0 Liverpool

07-05-2019, 07:07 PM
Pleasing start

07-05-2019, 07:08 PM
barca keeper pawed it out to the liverpool player :rolleyes: must be some betting going on

07-05-2019, 07:14 PM
Can't really top Anfield for atmosphere on a night like this to be fair.

07-05-2019, 07:24 PM
suarez up to his tricks again, nae need

07-05-2019, 07:26 PM

Liverpool fans never complained when he did it in a red shirt, so their chants of "cheat, cheat, cheat" fair tickled me :greengrin

Liverpool looking good so far - Robertson really is shining on this stage.

07-05-2019, 07:30 PM
Suarez being disgracefully goaded here imo

07-05-2019, 07:30 PM

That’s how he plays the game, did the same as a Liverpool player.

07-05-2019, 07:40 PM
Suarez is a rat of the highest order. Naughty kick out at Robertson there. Sneaky bar steward

07-05-2019, 07:47 PM
Commentators last week going on about Barcelona players play acting every 2 minutes. Fabinho goes down holding his head despite not being touched in the head and silence from the same two morons.

07-05-2019, 07:52 PM
Shaqiri is a weak link. He's having a mare.

07-05-2019, 07:52 PM
Commentators last week going on about Barcelona players play acting every 2 minutes. Fabinho goes down holding his head despite not being touched in the head and silence from the same two morons.

Why do you think that is?

07-05-2019, 07:53 PM
Good show by the Reds but you've got to reckon Barca are going to capitalise on one of these breaks.

07-05-2019, 07:54 PM
Why do you think that is?

Because they're biased. On a television station that should be neutral.

07-05-2019, 07:57 PM

😂 I’m pretty sure someone came out with the same nonsense last week, it may have been you.

07-05-2019, 07:59 PM

It's a British TV station, broadcasting to a British audience, covering a matching between a British side and a Spanish side.

Do you think the Spanish TV companies covering the game will be "neutral"?

07-05-2019, 07:59 PM
😂 I’m pretty sure someone came out with the same nonsense last week, it may have been you.

On what way is it nonsense? What's a nonsense is commentators favouring sides on a nationwide tv platform. This isn't Liverpool tv. Would everyone be saying the same if Andy walker was going on the same about Celtic? Or Sutton? Or Stewart about hearts? It's ludicrous.

07-05-2019, 08:00 PM
It's a British TV station, broadcasting to a British audience, covering a matching between a British side and a Spanish side.

I couldn't care less what the Spanish tv companies are doing..I'm not paying monthly fees to watch and listen to their coverage. But I am for BT and I don't think it's much to ask to have unbiased commentary.

07-05-2019, 08:01 PM

I'm quite sure Spanish TV stations will be cheering on Liverpool as loudly as BT Sport :greengrin

07-05-2019, 08:03 PM
I couldn't care less what the Spanish tv companies are doing..I'm not paying monthly fees to watch and listen to their coverage. But I am for BT and I don't think it's much to ask to have unbiased commentary.

Don't worry, Linekar will be running on the pitch in his pants when Messi scores another screamer.

07-05-2019, 08:05 PM
Robertson out of the game after his interaction with Suarez.

Real shame, and a big blow for Liverpool.

07-05-2019, 08:06 PM
On what way is it nonsense? What's a nonsense is commentators favouring sides on a nationwide tv platform. This isn't Liverpool tv. Would everyone be saying the same if Andy walker was going on the same about Celtic? Or Sutton? Or Stewart about hearts? It's ludicrous.

It’s already been pointed out to you why, but you already know why and are just trolling for a reaction again!

07-05-2019, 08:06 PM
I couldn't care less what the Spanish tv companies are doing..I'm not paying monthly fees to watch and listen to their coverage.

Of course not, but maybe you should given your lack of understanding of how every nation's media approach their coverage of their home teams against foreign opposition.

Contact Britain Telecommunications about it and let us know what they say.

No point whinging about it on here.

07-05-2019, 08:07 PM
Jamie Gullan puts Raith 2-1 up.

07-05-2019, 08:07 PM

Get a grip FFS

07-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Jamie Gullan puts Raith 2-1 up.

Hammer scores for Raith

07-05-2019, 08:08 PM
It’s already been pointed out to you why, but you already know why and are just trolling for a reaction again!

I'm trolling because I think an impartial sports broadcaster is out of order for favouring one side over another? Aye ok.

07-05-2019, 08:10 PM
I'm trolling because I think an impartial sports broadcaster is out of order for favouring one side over another? Aye ok.

Are you still here 😂

07-05-2019, 08:11 PM
I'm quite sure Spanish TV stations will be cheering on Liverpool as loudly as BT Sport :greengrin

Viva Catalonia!! 😊

Are you still here 😂

Trolling is against forum rules.

Surely the Gary Lineker 'incident' last week blows the whole 'all English commentators love English clubs getting it up the foreigners' nonsense out the water?

And as an important aside BTSport are under no obligation to be 'impartial' in their football coverage.

07-05-2019, 08:12 PM

In what way are they impartial? They're investors in English football, and the English teams doing well in the biggest club football competition on the planet adds £££ to their product.

Perfectly acceptable that a UK broadcasters "favour" a UK side, when it stands to enhance their own interests.

Newry Hibs
07-05-2019, 08:12 PM
What is it with BT sport and their action replays? Too many of them when play is ongoing.

07-05-2019, 08:13 PM
Get in there.

07-05-2019, 08:13 PM
2-0 Liverpool

07-05-2019, 08:14 PM
2-0!

Wijnaldum.

Superb play from Arnold!

Impetus with Liverpool now

Yaaaaaa game on

07-05-2019, 08:15 PM
3-0!!

Yaaaaaaaaa

Boom!

Scenes utter scenes

07-05-2019, 08:16 PM
Don’t know why anyone bothers with the commentaries.I stop having it that loud when they decided they needed two commentators chuntering away.It’s like having two guys behind you at the match who never shut up.

barca have blown it lol

WOW!!!

3-0 Liverpool. Wijnaldum again!

pontius pilate
07-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Would love to be in the kop on a night like this absolute scenes. To think everyone had wrote liverpool off after the 1st leg. Amazing I really hope they get through now

Ffs.

Mental

07-05-2019, 08:18 PM
****ing mad

Benny Brazil
07-05-2019, 08:19 PM
***king hell - Liverpool deserve this

07-05-2019, 08:23 PM
Barca will score.

How many times can Henderson cross a ball without the commentator (Fletch?) avoiding Henderson to deliver 😂

07-05-2019, 08:23 PM
Even if they lose the tie, this is just beautiful. What a team.

07-05-2019, 08:24 PM
Don’t know why anyone bothers with the commentaries.I stop having it that loud when they decided they needed two commentators chuntering away.It’s like having two guys behind you at the match who never shut up.

Sounds like the blokes behind me in the East :greengrin

07-05-2019, 08:26 PM
Jamie Gullan scores for Raith Rovers to make it 2-1

Apologies if already posted

Saint Hibee
07-05-2019, 08:26 PM
Steve McManaman is a disgrace. The most biased pundit I’ve ever heard. Suarez gets studs raked down him and it’s apparently because he’s “sneaky “ ...

07-05-2019, 08:28 PM
Even if they lose the tie, this is just beautiful. What a team.They've been the best team to watch in engerlund in the last couple of years whoever buys the league title.

07-05-2019, 08:35 PM
Come on Barca FFS!

07-05-2019, 08:36 PM
Barcelona will sneak this.

07-05-2019, 08:38 PM
They've been the best team to watch in engerlund in the last couple of years whoever buys the league title.

You just cant argue with this. This is Messi's Barca we're talking about, with Liverpool missing Salah and Firmino :faf: just ridiculous.

4-0!

Holy ****.

JoeT
07-05-2019, 08:39 PM
Wow

Caught them napping

green with envy
Absolutely superb.

Mugged! :faf:

Game over!

4-0 Liverpool...

07-05-2019, 08:40 PM
http://i.imgur.com/EUHneIb.jpg

07-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Game over!

4-0 Liverpool...

Not tie over though.

07-05-2019, 08:41 PM
Only just switched the game on because of a meeting for work. Lol, lol and lol again....

07-05-2019, 08:42 PM
Barca thought they had it in the bag

Same as last year

Haunted

Benny Brazil
07-05-2019, 08:42 PM
Wow - Barca havent been great but fair play to Liverpool

07-05-2019, 08:43 PM
Plastic United and City fans quiet tonight. Absolutely amazing turnaround.

Crazy!

Hope they can hold on.

Think Pool need another to be sure

Plastic United and City fans quiet tonight. Absolutely amazing turnaround.

Yes where are the plastic fans :greengrin

Barca score and still go through on away goals. Am I right in thinking this is changing, maybe from next season? Sure I read something about it.

Finger out Barca

jakedance
07-05-2019, 08:44 PM
That has to be the second best corner I’ve ever seen.

Pathetic from barca at the corner.

Fantastic 4th goal and fantastic performance if it stays like this....

07-05-2019, 08:45 PM
Can see Barca scoring.

Unbelievable Jeff.

NC1875
Get it up you Suarez

AltheHibby
07-05-2019, 08:48 PM
Reminds me of us when we put 5 past Dino Zoff. Simply amazing.

07-05-2019, 08:49 PM
Yes where are the plastic fans :greengrin

Hey, you're not one of the insufferable ones with the ''Liverpool competing with the big boys like City'' patter. Nothing cringier on here.

07-05-2019, 08:49 PM
Hey, you're not one of the insufferable ones with the ''Liverpool competing with the big boys like City'' patter. Nothing cringier on here.

I dunno about that like :greengrin:wink:

07-05-2019, 08:54 PM
Unlike the Liverpool supporters from West Lothian?

07-05-2019, 08:55 PM
4-0 full time.

Utter *****, I'm away to my bed.

07-05-2019, 08:55 PM
One of the greatest comebacks in history.

07-05-2019, 08:56 PM

GIRUY Barca, Madrid, PSG, Bayern and Juventus. The CL will finally be won by a team I like.

07-05-2019, 08:57 PM
And Liverpool prove once again that they are the greatest ever English team in Europe

07-05-2019, 08:57 PM
GIRUY Barca, Madrid, PSG, Bayern and Juventus. The CL will finally be won by a team I like.

Yeah, Ajax. :aok:

07-05-2019, 08:58 PM
Come on Barca FFS!

07-05-2019, 08:58 PM
barcelona players got exactly what they deserved..**** all, that player they brought on that was playing far right wouldn't get a game for east kilbride, he was terrible

07-05-2019, 08:59 PM

Are you talking about me? I'm a Hibs supporter? If I was a Liverpool supporter I'd be at the match tonight. If anything I follow Arsenal as a 2nd side.

And Liverpool prove once again that they are the greatest ever English team in Europe

That's not even up for debate. Domestically though they are behind Man Utd.

I don't support an English team but it's in black and white for both.

Roll on Ajax to win !

**** me that was exciting. Delighted for Liverpool - Klopp in particular.

Amazing!!

07-05-2019, 09:00 PM
Yeah, Ajax. :aok:

Happy with any of the three.

Didn’t even bother listening to it as I didn’t think there was any way they could overturn the first leg loss. Over the piece I think Liverpool got what they deserved as result in Barcelona was harsh.

Well done but I hope Ajax or Spurs win it. Both do things the right way.

Have to say well done to Liverpool, who must be huge favourites for the final. Incredible comeback and they deserve to go through. They are having a tremendous season.

That was a totally unexpected, but fantastic performance.

I'm no Liverpool fan, but that's wonderful.

07-05-2019, 09:01 PM
Great scenes at the end. Almost as good as Sunshine on Leith.

07-05-2019, 09:02 PM
Have to say well done to Liverpool, who must be huge favourites for the final. Incredible comeback and they deserve to go through. They are having a tremendous season.

You have to tip your hat. They’re finally competing with the big boys like City.

07-05-2019, 09:03 PM

You have to tip your hat. They’re finally competing with the big boys like City.

In Europe's premier competition City are small fry.

If City win the league at the weekend we should give a prize to the first daftie that comes on here and says Klopp is a bottler.....😂😂

Anyway! As I was saying Jamie Gullan scores the winner for Raith

Get in!

07-05-2019, 09:04 PM
Ajax won't beat liverpool

07-05-2019, 09:05 PM
Would prefer Spurs to win it ultimately but still, that was quite special. Good to see Kenny Dalglish there celebrating.

07-05-2019, 09:05 PM
In Europe's premier competition City are small fry.Also rans like PSG

07-05-2019, 09:06 PM
Enjoyed watching Liverpool of the 70s and 80s and thought 2005 Final comeback was as good as it gets, but tonight is up there with anything Shankley and Paisley every produced. Klopp is a genius and deserves every success. Incredible performance.

Not sure about that but can’t wait for the final! What a brilliant tie that was.

No, I can't see it.

Brilliant brilliant night. Liverpool are a real club, full of passion and pride. Very few tourists and phone obsessed fans.

So IF Liverpool won the CL I assume that is bigger achievement than winning the premier league? Genuine question, would they swap it for a league win. City would!!

07-05-2019, 09:07 PM
Have to give Liverpool a pat on the back for that performance.

07-05-2019, 09:08 PM
Brilliant brilliant night. Liverpool are a real club, full of passion and pride. Very few tourists and phone obsessed fans.

So IF Liverpool won the CL I assume that is bigger achievement than winning the premier league? Genuine question, would they swap it for a league win. City would!!Citeh might buy it but winning it might be harder[emoji6]

07-05-2019, 09:09 PM

So IF Liverpool won the CL I assume that is bigger achievement than winning the premier league? Genuine question, would they swap it for a league win. City would!!

Very good question. I think they'd take the league.

07-05-2019, 09:10 PM

If City win the league and Liverpool the CL they’ve probably both got their 2nd choice!

07-05-2019, 09:12 PM
Ayr 1 - ICT 3

Shame for Ayr as they play good football and I would’ve enjoyed going to an old school ground. Still, if there’s one thing we can learn from tonight is that it’s never over ‘til it’s over.🤔

07-05-2019, 09:14 PM

City are miles off competing against the best in Europe, I said all along they are minnows in Europe compared to Liverpool. Liverpool will most likely only be one point away from winning the league. To Liverpool though the League is what they cherish.

07-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Ajax have been very good.

07-05-2019, 09:17 PM
City are miles off competing against the best in Europe

City ARE one of the best in Europe. :agree:

07-05-2019, 09:17 PM
Superb from Klopp: "The boys were ****ing unbelievable" live on Sky. :top marks

07-05-2019, 09:18 PM
Not sure about that but can’t wait for the final! What a brilliant tie that was.

i'l be betting on a liverpool win....consolation for them finishing runners-up in the league, english football would rightfully be cock a hoop if spurs were to overcome Ajax tomorrow night, it's very much looking like arsenal and chelsea will also be in a european final, looks like all that foreign investment/money laundering is going to pay off :greengrin

07-05-2019, 09:18 PM
That was incredible

07-05-2019, 09:20 PM
City are miles off competing against the best in Europe, I said all along they are minnows in Europe compared to Liverpool. Liverpool will most likely only be one point away from winning the league. To Liverpool though the League is what they cherish.

They really aren't. Bar a hairline (but correct) offside against aguero in the quarter final they would have been in the last four.

07-05-2019, 09:21 PM

Fine me! :greengrin

If City win the league and Liverpool the CL they’ve probably both got their 2nd choice!I think you`re probably right there at least for supporters . Klopp might value CL more than English League .
Other point , without putting a dampener on those who get excited about success for English clubs , but am I the only one here who thought the football produced by two of the richest clubs in the world wasn`t great ? Realise that there are loads of people including on hibs.net who care about results of Liverpool and other English clubs but many will be like me who couldn`t care less who won tonight but hope to see good football from world`s top players .

i'l be betting on a liverpool win....consolation for them finishing runners-up in the league, english football would rightfully be cock a hoop if spurs were to overcome Ajax tomorrow night, it's very much looking like arsenal and chelsea will also be in a european final, looks like all that foreign investment/money laundering is going to pay off :greengrin

Pity there's no way for both teams to lose in an Arsenal Chelsea final.

07-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Pity there's no way for both teams to lose in an Arsenal Chelsea final.

nah don't mind much arsenal winning it, i do chelsea though

07-05-2019, 09:29 PM
Very good question. I think they'd take the league.

A big Liverpool fan I know certainly would give it all to just have that premier league win, so much so I got the impression he’d not have been that upset at getting knocked out the champions league nearer the start of the year. I suspect the league priority will apply to majority of scousers.

Not a bad second prize should they go on to win the champions league instead though, which I would generally consider the bigger fish.

Personally I hope it’s Ajax that win.

07-05-2019, 09:31 PM
City ARE one of the best in Europe. :agree:

Results say otherwise they need to prove it in actual European competitions. As I say minnows compared to Liverpool in Europe

07-05-2019, 09:32 PM
Reminds me of the discussion - would you choose promotion or winning the cup. We all know how that turned out. 🏆🏆🏆🏆

City ARE one of the best in Europe. :agree:7th or 8th based on actual achievement? Not a great return for all they've spent. Pleasing on the eye at times but they don't do really big games like Liverpool did tonight.

The truly brilliant thing about a result like tonight is that almost no one is indifferent to it. People either love what happened or they hate it.

That's what makes football such a great game.

07-05-2019, 09:33 PM
They really aren't. Bar a hairline (but correct) offside against aguero in the quarter final they would have been in the last four.

Ifs buts and maybes. They really are, and it hurts them.

07-05-2019, 09:34 PM
A big Liverpool fan I know certainly would give it all to just have that premier league win, so much so I got the impression he’d not have been that upset at getting knocked out the champions league nearer the start of the year. I suspect the league priority will apply to majority of scousers.

Not a bad second prize should they go on to win the champions league instead though, which I would generally consider the bigger fish.

Personally I hope it’s Ajax that win.

Almost impossible not to have a big soft spot for Ajax. That strip, the history, Cruyff, they way they run the club, all good.

07-05-2019, 09:39 PM
The truly brilliant thing about a result like tonight is that almost no one is indifferent to it. People either love what happened or they hate it.

That's what makes football such a great game.

Very much so. I have a look on my coupon like I've just caught my walloper in my zip, but at the same time I have to say Liverpool deserve it.

07-05-2019, 09:40 PM
What a performance by LFC. But they haven't won anything yet.
There are two other teams determined to win the cup too and having watched Spurs at their best this season I wouldn't put money on anyone in particular winning it.

07-05-2019, 09:41 PM
Almost impossible not to have a big soft spot for Ajax. That strip, the history, Cruyff, they way they run the club, all good.

Yes and the current team almost solely developed through Ajax system, unfortunately the money clubs are already circling so this perhaps their one shot before the team is dismantled.

07-05-2019, 09:41 PM
One of the most incredible comebacks in football history. I'm not a big fan of Liverpool and were gutted it was them who did it but hats off to them, that was special.

Now for a loss to Ajax or Spurs in the final. Come on you Spurs.

07-05-2019, 09:43 PM
There are two other teams determined to win the cup too and having watched Spurs at their best this season I wouldn't put money on anyone in particular winning it.

Spurs with a fully fit team could beat anyone. Man City at home is a great example. It's going to be a great game tomorrow, it will test Ajax's mentality that's for sure.

KDY Hibs
07-05-2019, 09:47 PM

Yes they will.

07-05-2019, 09:54 PM
Yes
Reminds me of the discussion - would you choose promotion or winning the cup. We all know how that turned out. 🏆🏆🏆🏆i mind some on hibs net were wanting promotion instead of a cup win if you could pick, utter nuts.

07-05-2019, 10:04 PM
If City win the league and Liverpool the CL they’ve probably both got their 2nd choice!

The League is certainly first choice for City supporters. The owners may think different.

07-05-2019, 10:37 PM
I'm still wondering if the 4th goal was quick thinking by Alexander-Arnold or a training ground routine?

07-05-2019, 10:44 PM
I'm still wondering if the 4th goal was quick thinking by Alexander-Arnold or a training ground routine?

It looked all his own work to me, Origi only just turned to see the ball in the nick of time.

07-05-2019, 10:50 PM
It looked all his own work to me, Origi only just turned to see the ball in the nick of time.
Just read his interview where he said he saw the opportunity and went with his instinct. Fair play to him, brilliantly done.......

07-05-2019, 10:58 PM
Yes i mind some on hibs net were wanting promotion instead of a cup win if you could pick, utter nuts.

And you think voting for another year in the championship isn't nuts?

Sorry but it will still be a cold day in hell before I ever see hibs staying in the championship as an acceptable option.

Just saying.

07-05-2019, 11:00 PM
Best corner since May 2016. That was just incredible.

As someone with family ties to Everton I don't much like Liverpool FC but tonight was just wonderful. They need to win it now.

An unbelievable performance and the reason why I love this game.

Football at times never ceases to amaze.

HibeeBigFly
07-05-2019, 11:01 PM
They need to rebrand this joke of a competition!

Roma last title win 2000, Liverpool even before that. The whole thing is striking me as a glorified old uefa cup!

07-05-2019, 11:24 PM

Scousehibby

Well done your team mate. Legend result against the favourites!

07-05-2019, 11:28 PM

Roma last title win 2000, Liverpool even before that. The whole thing is striking me as a glorified old uefa cup!

Get back in the box you miserable git. Them's the rules. Barca beat after being 3-0 up. history made - suck it up. GB rules!

07-05-2019, 11:31 PM
One of the most incredible comebacks in football history. I'm not a big fan of Liverpool and were gutted it was them who did it but hats off to them, that was special.

Well certainly the biggest since Roma did exactly the same thing to Barcelona in the QF last season.

07-05-2019, 11:32 PM
Been out at a work dinner.. some result for Diverpool.

How many of the 4 goals were affside, not a free-kick or a dive? :greengrin

HibeeBigFly
07-05-2019, 11:36 PM
Get back in the box you miserable git. Them's the rules. Barca beat after being 3-0 up. history made - suck it up. GB rules!

Whilst the ‘champions league’ is not my thing. Barcelona being knocked out means we have no actual league winners in the final!

08-05-2019, 02:23 AM
i was reading earlier Leicester striker iheanacho got a load of racist abuse on twitter after he missed a sitter against man city, wonder who on earth would be so annoyed at him to give such abuse :confused: Mmmm

08-05-2019, 03:19 AM

That was hilarious. He said he couldn't think of the words to describe his team's performance and that all the kids should be tucked up in bed anyway. Just be a great manager to play for. Barca are in decline but still an awesome performance. The header for the third was a thing of beauty. They so deserve to win at least one trophy this year as they have been breathtaking at times.

08-05-2019, 05:25 AM
Despite all the plaudits Barcelona get thats two years in succession they've completely bottled a massive fist leg lead

08-05-2019, 06:36 AM
Jake will be regretting this post I think.

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/800/cpsprodpb/175F5/production/_106833759_jake.png

08-05-2019, 07:53 AM

The name is for branding and Liverpool proved last night they are more than good enough for it. It's a competition for the best teams and the best teams are in it. Simple.

08-05-2019, 08:36 AM
Best match report I've read in years ...

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/liverpool-barcelona-divock-origi-georginio-wijnaldum-goals-champions-league-final-result-latest-a8903876.html

08-05-2019, 08:40 AM
Is it just me or is it not totally ridiculous that the game wasn't on terrestrial TV or any highlights for that matter. It's no coincidence imho that far less kids are playing a sport since virtually everything is now pay TV. A sad sign of the times and probably a factor in the obesity crisis. I'll just get off my high horse now.😀

08-05-2019, 08:53 AM

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/liverpool-barcelona-divock-origi-georginio-wijnaldum-goals-champions-league-final-result-latest-a8903876.html

Great report!

Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

08-05-2019, 08:53 AM
Is it just me or is it not totally ridiculous that the game wasn't on terrestrial TV or any highlights for that matter. It's no coincidence imho that far less kids are playing a sport since virtually everything is now pay TV. A sad sign of the times and probably a factor in the obesity crisis. I'll just get off my high horse now.😀
So not putting a football match on Council TV is causing obesity?

I have lost your logic there.

08-05-2019, 09:00 AM

That was a great read, thanks.

08-05-2019, 09:07 AM
Just watched the game again, brilliant, Klopp is a genius.

Garymcl
08-05-2019, 09:20 AM
Does any one know of a Pub in Edinburgh which is near to or themed like boozer for Liverpool fans to watch the final on 1st June

08-05-2019, 09:46 AM
Whilst the ‘champions league’ is not my thing. Barcelona being knocked out means we have no actual league winners in the final!

Makes a mockery of the competition. As does having four teams from the same country in it.

08-05-2019, 09:47 AM
Makes a mockery of the competition. As does having four teams from the same country in it.

It's just a name.

Call it the European Cup instead.

08-05-2019, 09:56 AM

I didn't watch the game and haven't seen any highlights but I absolutely loved reading that.

Cheers.

08-05-2019, 10:15 AM

I read something similar in the Scotsman.

Well, errrr, naw I didnae really I was just joking lol...... I wish there was a Scottish writer who could produce something like that....

08-05-2019, 10:29 AM
I read something similar in the Scotsman.

Well, errrr, naw I didnae really I was just joking lol...... I wish there was a Scottish writer who could produce something like that....He's a really good sports journalist. Edinburgh university graduate.

08-05-2019, 10:38 AM

Not my experience recently.. no shame in it however..

As a City fan - I know we want EPL more.

08-05-2019, 10:45 AM

Makes it better because the best teams are in it. It's football, stop overthinking.

08-05-2019, 10:59 AM
It's just a name.

Call it the European Cup instead.

Yep, that's what it should be called. Champions League has never made any sense when you can play in it by finishing fourth in the Premier League.

Great win for Liverpool but how overrated are that Barca side? The first leg score flattered them and they were badly found out last night. After all the talk of mountains to climb, Barca presented little more than a molehill for Liverpool to negotiate.

08-05-2019, 11:04 AM

Really this is tiresome chat and has been for years. The CL this year has been one of the best to watch, your making a mockery comment is just nonsense. It’s called the Champions league because the winners are the champions of Europe, nothing to do with individual champions and never has been since they changed the format.

08-05-2019, 11:07 AM
I would rather it was called the CL and keep the theme song st the start rather than rebrand it because a few don’t agree with the name. Each to their own I suppose.

08-05-2019, 11:19 AM
Looks as if English clubs will dominate European football for sometime to come.

08-05-2019, 11:43 AM
Klopp totally gets Liverpool and is the perfect fit for that club. Football is at its best when there is a good helping of emotion and they surely know how to serve that up.