View Full Version : Logo redesign

thorbs
29-04-2019, 04:33 PM
Just for a bit of fun...

Seen a couple of guys had a go at modernising/simplifying the club crest. What's everyone's thoughts on this?
I think if it were to be done then it should be similar to what Man City did and keep it simple.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BnwXOQcDsEm/

https://www.instagram.com/p/BsdGSVmBeRV/

https://www.instagram.com/p/BsdGiS7hZje/

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35175829

29-04-2019, 04:37 PM
I actually like the first one. That said I just can't see myself warming to anything other than the traditional crest.

I'm sure I'd get used to it if it were to happen down the line mind you...

nic81
Just for a bit of fun...

Seen a couple of guys had a go at modernising/simplifying the club crest. What's everyone's thoughts on this?
I think if it were to be done then it should be similar to what Man City did and keep it simple.

Only one winner and it’s the first link for me

Some nice designs but I much prefer and like our badge the way it is.

JXM73
29-04-2019, 04:40 PM
Current, when did a v go in edinburgh.. looks like a green brigade banner type effort...

No need for a redesign imo.
We already have a wonderful crest.

Dobosz83
I would simply join the top part and bottom park to make a full green circle to tie it up. I always feel the ‘1875’ is floating about! Other than that, happy with the current crest.

29-04-2019, 04:46 PM
We've had more crests than most. Think this is the best one we've ever had.

coldingham hibs
29-04-2019, 05:08 PM
We've had more crests than most. Think this is the best one we've ever had.

Agreed, out badge is excellent, no need to change it.

29-04-2019, 05:14 PM
I actually like the first one. That said I just can't see myself warming to anything other than the traditional crest.

I'm sure I'd get used to it if it were to happen down the line mind you...

The “traditional” crest that we have had for less than 20 years?

29-04-2019, 05:14 PM
I reall like the current crest; it's much better than past efforts. I get the point it's very detailed, but, if it was ever simplified, I would only want to return to the original crest of the large harp. It looks superb.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/7e/77/db/7e77db24f8ed06aa6d8d473199a914bc.jpg

29-04-2019, 05:29 PM
The “traditional” crest that we have had for less than 20 years?

Aye well traditional for my time supporting the club anyway 😂

29-04-2019, 05:32 PM
I love the badge as it is, I don't think it needs changed, personally.

The designs are quite cool, though.

29-04-2019, 05:38 PM
Just for a bit of fun...

The third one's OK, but I don't see a need to change.

29-04-2019, 05:45 PM
Some nice designs but I much prefer and like our badge the way it is.

Me too. The current badge is excellent and has achieved legendary status with the Cup win.

Marvellous
29-04-2019, 05:57 PM
Really not a fan of modern badges, prefer badges with as much character and detail as possible. Our current badge is one of the best around.

29-04-2019, 06:11 PM
Our badge should be our badge for the next 1000000000 years. It's perfect, don't change it.

29-04-2019, 06:15 PM
Just for a bit of fun...

No winners. Keep the one we have.

29-04-2019, 06:45 PM
It isn't broken, why fix it?

29-04-2019, 07:21 PM
Having seen the alternatives, I'll stick with what we've got.

speedy_gonzales
29-04-2019, 07:23 PM
Current, when did a v go in edinburgh.. looks like a green brigade banner type effort...

Everywhere apparently:rolleyes:

29-04-2019, 07:28 PM
Everywhere apparently:rolleyes:

:top marks. Not sure why some folk are so eager to try and associate Hibs with the lesser greens to begin with.

Badge is fine as it is. No harm in folk re-imagining it though.

29-04-2019, 07:33 PM
The only problem with the current badge - is the harp that's included. Not sure why we directly copied the Guinness harp, when it could have been a more unique design of harp.

29-04-2019, 08:20 PM
The only problem with the current badge - is the harp that's included. Not sure why we directly copied the Guinness harp, when it could have been a more unique design of harp.

It resembles the Guinness harp (there have been a few over the years) in that it's harp shaped, but outwith that it's pretty different.

29-04-2019, 08:41 PM
I like the the current badge but if we had to change then I'd want it festooned with crowns and brick turrets and stuff.

Just to annoy that Lord Lyon dick.

What's he going to do about it?

29-04-2019, 08:58 PM
To me the present crest is perfect

It is a simple design and tells everyone immediately with just one glance who we are, what we do, where we are based, what our colours are, where we came from and the year we were formed

Whats not to like?

29-04-2019, 09:04 PM
It resembles the Guinness harp (there have been a few over the years) in that it's harp shaped, but outwith that it's pretty different.

There are differences, but its essentially the same harp, but reversed.

29-04-2019, 09:08 PM
There are differences, but its essentially the same harp, but reversed.

A harp's a harp, especially in heraldry. There's not much you can change without it becoming something that doesn't look like a harp.

29-04-2019, 09:53 PM
The second one isn't too bad, but as for the first one 'Leith Edinburgh? Hibs have a connection with Leith because the club has played there for most of its history and it draws more support from there than any other part of the city … but having Leith in the badge would imply that we are a Leith football team and we aren't, we are and always will be an Edinburgh club.

All that aside, the current Hibs badge is perfect and far and away one of the best badges in Scottish football, so why change it? …. I mean if we have musings about redesigning our badge imagine what it must be like supporting Aberdeen, their badge is truly minging.

Greenfly
29-04-2019, 09:57 PM
To me the present crest is perfect

It is a simple design and tells everyone immediately with just one glance who we are, what we do, where we are based, what our colours are, where we came from and the year we were formed

Whats not to like?

Indeed. The current badge is excellent. I appreciate that all logos have a life span and may need a wee tweak every now and then but it needs a generation or two at least. This one has got plenty life in it yet.

AZhibee
29-04-2019, 10:47 PM
No, No, and No! Why?

malcolm
29-04-2019, 10:53 PM
Indeed. The current badge is excellent. I appreciate that all logos have a life span and may need a wee tweak every now and then but it needs a generation or two at least. This one has got plenty life in it yet.

Thankfully what is on the shirt and on the west stand is not a logo but I also see no reason why it would be affected by the passage of time and can so remain fresh, relevant and encompassing the historic and symbolic. :greengrin There could be room though for a logo to be used where the detail in the badge is problematic:wink:

thorbs
30-04-2019, 06:58 AM
I don't think there is anything wrong with the crest, I just came across the posts and it thought it would be a fun topic.
It seems to be quite common for teams to be updating crests atm. Man City, Juventus and seemingly Chelsea on the way too.

The current Hibs crest for me is the best we've had and don't see much wrong at all.

30-04-2019, 07:03 AM
Our current badge is absolutely perfect the way it is and embodies everything we are as a club perfectly and clearly. Only thing we could add would be Sir David Grays head.

30-04-2019, 07:15 AM
This is the first crest in my lifetime which has the approval of all sections of the support because it reflects all sections of the support in the various symbols used.

No need to tinker, tweak or tamper with it. Its an excellent representation of all the strands that have made Hibs.

30-04-2019, 08:52 AM
No need for a redesign imo.
We already have a wonderful crest.

Absolutely.

HibeeHibernian4
30-04-2019, 08:56 AM
No to the badge change.

Did click on Cabbage and Ribs Store's page though, and they have some really nice t-shirt designs on there. How long have they been going? Not seen them mentioned on here before.

Exactly the sort of merchandise that the club shop should be investing more money into. I'm too old for replica tops now, but definitely would buy some slightly more subtle Hibs-related tops like this one: https://www.instagram.com/p/BwzcCYcF0yv/

19Leith75
30-04-2019, 11:39 AM
I have a couple of those tees. Whoever is behind it seems to have a fantastic grasp on Hibs history and culture. This is a personal favourite https://cabbageandribs.bigcartel.com/product/hands-off-white

30-04-2019, 11:41 AM
[QUOTE=19Leith75;5777052]I have a couple of these tees. Whoever is behind it seems to have a fantastic grasp on Hibs history. This is a personal favourite https://cabbageandribs.bigcartel.com/product/hands-off-white[/QUO
There are some belters on there!

30-04-2019, 11:50 AM
A harp's a harp, especially in heraldry. There's not much you can change without it becoming something that doesn't look like a harp.

Seemingly the Irish govt uses a harp with the soundboard on the right because Guinness had already trademarked the reverse.

30-04-2019, 11:53 AM
[QUOTE=19Leith75;5777052]I have a couple of these tees. Whoever is behind it seems to have a fantastic grasp on Hibs history. This is a personal favourite https://cabbageandribs.bigcartel.com/product/hands-off-white[/QUO
There are some belters on there!
The Rolling Stones one/ green white black inion flag one is class. Be getting that for my holidays

19Leith75
30-04-2019, 12:10 PM
The Rolling Stones one/ green white black inion flag one is class. Be getting that for my holidaysThe UJ isn't for me, but I have the Famous Five one in the style of the Beatles tees, and it's class.

30-04-2019, 12:16 PM
None of the new designs are close to being good enough but maybe some artistic genius might come up with something interesting in future.

30-04-2019, 12:16 PM
our current badge is absolute perfection IMO.

Austinho
30-04-2019, 02:23 PM
I designed the 2nd and 3rd crest in the original post.

The main reason is, whilst I think the crest represents the club very well, the overall design is a little bit cluttered. It seems to have been designed to work on a white background originally, with not too much consideration on how it translates onto a green background. It can appear quite spindly on the home shirt in just a white outline. Comparing the two side by side, I’ve tried to keep most of the elements, but make it bolder and stronger:

https://i.imgur.com/Us0ND7a_d.jpg?maxwidth=640&shape=thumb&fidelity=medium

That said, the original crest is still very good, and there clearly isn’t much appetite to change it. Perhaps I’ll revisit it at some point and only tweak the original ever so slightly. It was only a bit of fun anyway really.

30-04-2019, 02:30 PM

The main reason is, whilst I think the crest represents the club very well, the overall design is a little bit cluttered. It seems to have been designed to work on a white background originally, with not too much consideration on how it translates onto a green background. It can appear quite spindly on the home shirt in just a white outline. Comparing the two side by side:

That said, the original crest is still very good, and there clearly isn’t much appetite to change it. Perhaps I’ll revisit it at some point and only tweak it ever so slightly. It was only a bit of fun anyway really.

I really like the shield, but I don't think we need to change.

thorbs
30-04-2019, 02:31 PM

The main reason is, whilst I think the crest represents the club very well, the overall design is a little bit cluttered. It seems to have been designed to work on a white background originally, with not too much consideration on how it translates onto a green background. It can appear quite spindly on the home shirt in just a white outline. Comparing the two side by side:

That said, the original crest is still very good, and there clearly isn’t much appetite to change it. Perhaps I’ll revisit it at some point and only tweak it ever so slightly. It was only a bit of fun anyway really.

I like what you've done to bring the 1875 into the shield but I like the Hibernian and Edinburgh around the original too. Could make a complete circle around your redesigned shield with the wording inside the circle.

Austinho
30-04-2019, 02:31 PM
Did click on Cabbage and Ribs Store's page though, and they have some really nice t-shirt designs on there. How long have they been going? Not seen them mentioned on here before.

Exactly the sort of merchandise that the club shop should be investing more money into. I'm too old for replica tops now, but definitely would buy some slightly more subtle Hibs-related tops like this one: https://www.instagram.com/p/BwzcCYcF0yv/Cabbage and Ribs is my project - I design all the gear, and I have a couple of mates in the UK who produce and supply. Started off originally as I just wanted some cool casual Hibs tees to knock about in for myself and wasn’t excited by the options in the Clubstore. Then we started selling them and it blew up from there.

Sadly I haven’t been to Easter Road for a while to see fans at the game wearing them, so if anyone wants to send photos of them at the games in them, I’d love to see them and post them on our twitter and instagram 👍🏼

Austinho
30-04-2019, 02:34 PM
I like what you've done to bring the 1875 into the shield but I like the Hibernian and Edinburgh around the original too. Could make a complete circle around your redesigned shield with the wording inside the circle.I did actually try that a couple of years ago. Will see if I can post it tomorrow.

30-04-2019, 02:40 PM
As a matter of interest, why was Edinburgh incorporated into the crest, when it isn't actually part of the club's official name? It's a bit like Arsenal putting London on their crest. We all know where both clubs are situated.

HibeeHibernian4
30-04-2019, 02:46 PM

The main reason is, whilst I think the crest represents the club very well, the overall design is a little bit cluttered. It seems to have been designed to work on a white background originally, with not too much consideration on how it translates onto a green background. It can appear quite spindly on the home shirt in just a white outline. Comparing the two side by side, I’ve tried to keep most of the elements, but make it bolder and stronger:

That said, the original crest is still very good, and there clearly isn’t much appetite to change it. Perhaps I’ll revisit it at some point and only tweak the original ever so slightly. It was only a bit of fun anyway really.

I do like this, but am I not right in thinking that the Lord Lyon heraldry laws are an absolute minefield, and from memory objects like shields are one of the biggest no no's?

30-04-2019, 02:54 PM
I do like this, but am I not right in thinking that the Lord Lyon heraldry laws are an absolute minefield, and from memory objects like shields are one of the biggest no no's?

I can't remember what the thing is with shields, but plenty of clubs have them.

http://www.internationalheraldry.com/#shield

When the current crest was chosen, from what I remember the original proposal was to split it into 4 parts instead of 3 (with the football being the 4th), but this was KBed as this would normally signify a marriage or a merger.

30-04-2019, 03:13 PM
As a matter of interest, why was Edinburgh incorporated into the crest, when it isn't actually part of the club's official name? It's a bit like Arsenal putting London on their crest. We all know where both clubs are situated.

To be honest I would imagine more folk around the world know where Arsenal come from than Hibs :greengrin I don't have any problem with having Edinburgh in the badge. If it said 'Edinburgh Hibernian' then that would look like it was the clubs name, but ( at least to English speakers ) the arrangement on the badge clearly signifies the clubs name is Hibernian and Edinburgh is its location. Have West Ham not included London in their badge recently?

The thing that always miffed me a wee bit was the ball …. when the badge first came out it spoiled the symmetry of the badge for me and looked far too random, I get that Hibs included it to signify that we were a football club … we could have had two footballs framing the 1875 bit to even it up, but then it would look like we had copied Man Utd who do that in their badge.

30-04-2019, 03:20 PM

Indeed … I have an old black Hibs sweatshirt and the badge looks absolutely cracking on that. Could we ( Hibs ) not change the harp ship and castle to be green and the colour of the white chevron to purple …. It would be interesting to see how that would look. The chevron would have to be a different colour to white or green for it to work and purple is our second colour.

30-04-2019, 03:24 PM
I can't remember what the thing is with shields, but plenty of clubs have them.

http://www.internationalheraldry.com/#shield

When the current crest was chosen, from what I remember the original proposal was to split it into 4 parts instead of 3 (with the football being the 4th), but this was KBed as this would normally signify a marriage or a merger.

Ayr had to change theirs because it has a saltire in a shield.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/34882922

Their new badge has a saltire not in a shield and that seems to be ok. Loadypish if you ask me.

30-04-2019, 03:57 PM
Cabbage and Ribs is my project - I design all the gear, and I have a couple of mates in the UK who produce and supply. Started off originally as I just wanted some cool casual Hibs tees to knock about in for myself and wasn’t excited by the options in the Clubstore. Then we started selling them and it blew up from there.

Sadly I haven’t been to Easter Road for a while to see fans at the game wearing them, so if anyone wants to send photos of them at the games in them, I’d love to see them and post them on our twitter and instagram 👍🏼
Donate me one of the UJ ones and I’ll kindly endorse it on my holidays and at ER :greengrin

30-04-2019, 04:30 PM
Our current badge isn’t all that old, in historic terms, and it’s aged well.

The circular layout seems to have become rather popular with other club badge redesigns in recent years. I suppose it works very well in square social media applications etc too.

In short, other than maybe a little simplification / tidying up, I wouldn’t change the current one. I imagine it’ll be around for a long time yet!

30-04-2019, 11:47 PM
I have a couple of those tees. Whoever is behind it seems to have a fantastic grasp on Hibs history and culture. This is a personal favourite https://cabbageandribs.bigcartel.com/product/hands-off-white

Liking a few of the jumpers on there plus some of the t shirts. :aok:

01-05-2019, 12:59 PM

See my post #54 on this thread Austinho …… I'm expecting you to construct a mock up of my suggestion so I can see what it looks like, c'mon hurray up :greengrin

Austinho
01-05-2019, 01:13 PM
See my post #54 on this thread Austinho …… I'm expecting you to construct a mock up of my suggestion so I can see what it looks like, c'mon hurray up :greengrinI got enough stick on social media just for sticking everything in a shield - imagine the uproar if I turned half of it purple too 😜

That said, I’ll see if I can do a tweak or two and post in the next couple of days...

01-05-2019, 02:34 PM
I got enough stick on social media just for sticking everything in a shield - imagine the uproar if I turned half of it purple too 😜

That said, I’ll see if I can do a tweak or two and post in the next couple of days...

Cheers mate :aok: …. I suppose maybe a darker green in the chevron might work just as well, dunno :greengrin