View Full Version : New sectarian one from Hearts today...

EI255
28-04-2019, 01:05 PM
"Bouncy Bouncy"

I'm presuming they know exactly what the background of this childish ditty is?

And once again, congratulations to being up to their knees in Fenian blood. Well done.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

28-04-2019, 01:11 PM
"Bouncy Bouncy"

And once again, congratulations to being up to their knees in Fenian blood. Well done.

They were clearly singing Uche. Making something of nothing here....

28-04-2019, 01:15 PM
They were singing Uche.

28-04-2019, 01:30 PM
Their paras flag was pretty ****my but not unexpected

28-04-2019, 01:41 PM
Singing the hearts song during the minutes applause was pretty appalling.

28-04-2019, 01:45 PM
Cringefest.

More union jacks every derby - search Gorgie Loyal etc on twitter and you see the lowlife they have attached to them.

Add in the broken seats - at least 100 I saw when leaving.

Signing during a minutes applause too..stay classy.

No songs so they sing rangers songs and change the lyrics.

Just glad I support Hibs and not that mob as couldn’t bring myself to join in with their mini rangers party.

28-04-2019, 01:48 PM
They were singing Uche.

I think they did start with bouncy, but then changed it to Uche. Who really cares though?

Marvellous
28-04-2019, 02:20 PM
Tommy Robinson Loyal

28-04-2019, 02:36 PM
Heard a few boos from the Hibs fans in the East towards the yams near the end of the minutes applause for Billy McNeill. I was sat in the F5 and wasn’t sure what happened. Anyone shed some light?

28-04-2019, 02:37 PM
Heard a few boos from the Hibs fans in the East towards the yams near the end of the minutes applause for Billy McNeill. I was sat in the F5 and wasn’t sure what happened. Anyone shed some light?

Hearts fans in the bottom corner started singing during the minutes applause.

28-04-2019, 02:42 PM
More like mini Rangers with every passing season. Fannies

28-04-2019, 02:43 PM

Might explain the larger number of stewards in the area

28-04-2019, 02:51 PM
Do they bring out all the Union Jacks when they play the huns too ?

They are all kids about 15 years old but I know most of my Yam friends can’t stand them and their wannabe Rangers links. Thought I actually saw a rangers scarf at one point also. Wouldn’t have surprised me.

28-04-2019, 02:52 PM

They are all kids about 15 years old but I know most of my Yam friends can’t stand them and their wannabe Rangers links. Thought I actually saw a rangers scarf at one point also. Wouldn’t have surprised me.

Definitely a “King Billy’s on the Wall” scarf in there

Besties Debut
28-04-2019, 02:54 PM
I dont give a flying one what a bunch of teenagers were singing....im more upset at Slivika who cant score a header from 5 yards out and lazy arsed McNulty who cant take a penalty

Marvellous
28-04-2019, 03:04 PM
I dont give a flying one what a bunch of teenagers were singing....im more upset at Slivika who cant score a header from 5 yards out and lazy arsed McNulty who cant take a penalty

You've come to the right thread then

28-04-2019, 03:05 PM
"Bouncy Bouncy"

You're making **** up now. Clearly singing Ulche, Ulche

28-04-2019, 03:48 PM
"Bouncy Bouncy"

Was this what it sounded like on the telly for you.
Sorry to tell you it wasn't bouncy bouncy.
So stop talking $h1t3 & shut doon the thread.

28-04-2019, 04:02 PM

28-04-2019, 04:08 PM

I'm sure I saw a red, white and blue scarf in the away end too. Their "singing section" has a nasty loyalist taint to it.

28-04-2019, 04:11 PM
Sadly this seems to be a Billy Boys/Gorgie Boys discussion

They definitely had too many union flags (diet Huns) in the away end for my liking and there song book has been destroyed since we won the cup

There was definitely orange singing towards the end of the McNeil testimonial applause

They are looking for an identity in all the wrong places if you ask me and another football fan

28-04-2019, 04:21 PM
Least it will cost them more ££ to fix the broken seats and give us new seats. Free upgrades :)

28-04-2019, 04:23 PM
Least it will cost them more ££ to fix the broken seats and give us new seats. Free upgrades :)

No enough and barely masking the issue

AnnBudge is quick to point the finger

28-04-2019, 04:36 PM
They're living proof that people need to be mentally screened before entering the ballot box.

28-04-2019, 04:37 PM
I'm sure I saw a red, white and blue scarf in the away end too. Their "singing section" has a nasty loyalist taint to it.

There were a few scarfs from "another club" that I spotted in there. One of them was even orange....

28-04-2019, 05:05 PM
There were a few scarfs from "another club" that I spotted in there. One of them was even orange....

Saw that from where i was in the east, the mutant took great delight in showing it to the east stand, probably showing his allegiance with his "big brothers"

28-04-2019, 05:09 PM

That's bizarre. If we had guys openly flaunting Celtic gear they'd be kicked out pretty quickly.

28-04-2019, 05:11 PM
You're making **** up now. Clearly singing Ulche, Ulche

I’ve no idea why you always feel the need to defend them.

Did your pals sell out their tickets after all this lunchtime?

Why did your friends start singing during the applause for one of the most harmful characters in Scottish football history?

28-04-2019, 05:11 PM
The disrespect of the minutes applause was bloody poor in the extreme, absolutely classless. Their song book these days does just seem to be Rangers songs with different words and Rangers songs with the right words thrown in.

Hertz really need to sort out this nasty element which has crept into their support. The Hearts fans were always pricks, but at least they were original pricks … calling them 'diet Huns' used to be a bit of banter, now they seem to be working really hard at making it a fact.

28-04-2019, 05:13 PM

Why did your friends start singing during the applause for one of the most harmful characters in Scottish football history?

He’s no really defending them, it was clear they were singing “Uche Uche” and not “bouncy bouncy”

28-04-2019, 05:18 PM
**** singing about Liam Miller . At least one decent poster on KB totally condemning the sickos .

28-04-2019, 05:31 PM
I was waiting at the West Stand gate shortly before the game and heard loads of Sectarian singing as they were going past, plus shouts of No Surrender and Fenian B*****ds towards passing Hibs Fans.

One skinheaded guy in particular was giving it laldy but proceeded to **** himself when I started walking in his direction.

....I was actually just moving out into the street so my old Dad could see me :greengrin

StevesFamau5
28-04-2019, 05:44 PM
I was waiting at the West Stand gate shortly before the game and heard loads of Sectarian singing as they were going past, plus shouts of No Surrender and Fenian B*****ds towards passing Hibs Fans.

One skinheaded guy in particular was giving it laldy but proceeded to **** himself when I started walking in his direction.

....I was actually just moving out into the street so my old Dad could see me :greengrin

Similar to what you said I had a boy of about 15/16 shout "fenian c**ts" at me and my old man. My old man just burst out laughing at him. Boy didn't know where to look. Utterly pathetic bunch of UKIP supporting neanderthals.

linlithgowhibbie
28-04-2019, 05:52 PM

Hermit is merely telling the truth, it was Uche Uche, so suggest an apology is due to him!

28-04-2019, 05:58 PM
Hermit is merely telling the truth, it was Uche Uche, so suggest an apology is due to him!

Sounded like that to me as well.

28-04-2019, 05:59 PM

However, people are being naive if they don't think it's nod to the full hun version.

Union flags, scarfs, red hand flags. Absolute ****.

28-04-2019, 06:06 PM
However, people are being naive if they don't think it's nod to the full hun version.

Union flags, scarfs, red hand flags. Absolute ****.

Deliberately naive. It's always the same posters.

28-04-2019, 06:42 PM
They're terrible inbred types.

28-04-2019, 06:45 PM
It's getting worse from that lot.

hibeerealist
28-04-2019, 06:45 PM

Dont think it was only that group in the bottom corner there was more than that singing c a n t s

28-04-2019, 06:48 PM
It's getting worse from that lot.

I would agree.

Serious danger of the derby turning into a mini bigot fest. It wouldn't surprise me if Budge did a mass ban of anyone engaging in sectarian behaviour, which would probably be backed up by the majority of their fans.

I also notice there's a lovely photo going round of the usual fans holding a big tricolour pointed towards the away end. What is the point?

hibeerealist
28-04-2019, 07:04 PM

Dont think it was only that group in the bottom corner there was more than that singing c a n t s

28-04-2019, 07:09 PM
I would agree.

Serious danger of the derby turning into a mini bigot fest. It wouldn't surprise me if Budge did a mass ban of anyone engaging in sectarian behaviour, which would probably be backed up by the majority of their fans.

I also notice there's a lovely photo going round of the usual fans holding a big tricolour pointed towards the away end. What is the point?

You mean the Ivory Coast flags? Those idiots in the East had two of them, one was the wrong way round 😂

FWIW I think the problem is significantly worse with them, as long as we don't have the idiots on our side try to start some mini-bigot fest oneupmanship.

28-04-2019, 07:19 PM
https://www.snsgroup.co.uk/image/167/18947910/18947910_450_450_73045_0_fit_0_0e8818073cfa8021d1b c7179731ca2b4.jpg

28-04-2019, 07:19 PM
Although this thread was started by someone who has misheard one of their songs from today, there's no doubt that their fans are becoming worse. We have clowns on our side as well but the problem seems a lot worse at Hearts.

There appears to be a growing bigoted element within the Hearts support who would be more at home at Ibrox.

It's a shame because I don't believe the majority of Hearts fans want anything to do with that nonsense.

28-04-2019, 07:22 PM
https://www.snsgroup.co.uk/image/167/18947910/18947910_450_450_73045_0_fit_0_0e8818073cfa8021d1b c7179731ca2b4.jpg

That's the one. What the actual ****?

28-04-2019, 07:24 PM

What a spoon.

Thief
28-04-2019, 07:27 PM
Evening news doesn’t miss them!

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-fans-disrupt-minute-s-applause-for-celtic-legend-billy-mcneill-at-edinburgh-derby-1-4916608

28-04-2019, 07:29 PM
They're living proof that people need to be mentally screened before entering the ballot box.

That'll really upset them

28-04-2019, 07:34 PM
With regards to Billy McNeill, what beef did Hearts have with him to disrupt a tribute to mark his passing?

28-04-2019, 07:38 PM
Can’t say if this guy was engaging in any sectarian chanting or not, but it did remind me that I’m running low on chip oil and need to stock up.

https://i.postimg.cc/W3LJqB4S/0-A171-B5-B-826-D-4-F5-A-A26-B-ED3-F8-A0-EDA7-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/CZ7KW6kf)

28-04-2019, 08:29 PM
Why do we tolerate a tiny minority peddling their extreme politics at football matches. Time for the majority to pressure our clubs to eradicate this divisive behaviour once and for all.

Let’s be honest we are not exactly squeaky clean ourselves on this matter. Get our own house in order first then get Leeann to work with Budge on a joint campaign?

28-04-2019, 09:42 PM

Wow just wow.

I thought I could see this from the East but thought surely not ?

I would be embarrassed if I was a Hearts fan with the Union Jack nonsense and these type of scarfs.

It doesn’t make me angry or wind me up it just makes me cringe. Edinburgh teams should be well above that nonsense but seems Budge is turning a blind eye to it as she must have been at the game today to witness it first hand.

skankomcphee
28-04-2019, 10:09 PM
Wow just wow.

I thought I could see this from the East but thought surely not ?

I would be embarrassed if I was a Hearts fan with the Union Jack nonsense and these type of scarfs.

It doesn’t make me angry or wind me up it just makes me cringe. Edinburgh teams should be well above that nonsense but seems Budge is turning a blind eye to it as she must have been at the game today to witness it first hand.

We saw it from the east too and I am pleased the photographer managed to get a good shot of this - he seemed to be playing a game of cat and mouse with the scarf holder pre-match. I wonder what his employer makes of this?

28-04-2019, 10:23 PM

that's really quite sad seeing something like that at an edinburgh derby, it's been creeping in for years now at that club, sad

28-04-2019, 10:56 PM

Genuinely saddens me as I really thought the Edinburgh rivalry was above all that crap.

Seemingly not, shame.

28-04-2019, 10:57 PM

A grown man!

Austinho
28-04-2019, 11:56 PM
What have Hearts got to do with Northern Ireland? Any connection whatsoever?

29-04-2019, 06:41 AM
Why do we tolerate a tiny minority peddling their extreme politics at football matches. Time for the majority to pressure our clubs to eradicate this divisive behaviour once and for all.

Let’s be honest we are not exactly squeaky clean ourselves on this matter. Get our own house in order first then get Leeann to work with Budge on a joint campaign?

We’re not squeaky clean ourselves? Get our own house in order.......Aye, ok.

Can we not just finally reach a consensus which acknowledges that Hearts have an issue with sectarianism amongst an element of their support without trying to tarnish Hibs fans?

Failure to recognise this reality colludes with the status quo and means you are part of the problem, not part of the solution.

29-04-2019, 06:51 AM
Can’t say if this guy was engaging in any sectarian chanting or not, but it did remind me that I’m running low on chip oil and need to stock up.

https://i.postimg.cc/W3LJqB4S/0-A171-B5-B-826-D-4-F5-A-A26-B-ED3-F8-A0-EDA7-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/CZ7KW6kf)

Not a pretty sight in more ways than one, Neanderthal Loyal Hertz supporters branch

skankomcphee
29-04-2019, 07:12 AM
https://twitter.com/RandomSection/status/1122627161129721856?s=19 - not sectarian in itself, but I wonder how quickly Hearts will identify this individual?

29-04-2019, 07:27 AM
We’re not squeaky clean ourselves? Get our own house in order.......Aye, ok.

Can we not just finally reach a consensus which acknowledges that Hearts have an issue with sectarianism amongst an element of their support without trying to tarnish Hibs fans?

Failure to recognise this reality colludes with the status quo and means you are part of the problem, not part of the solution.

Hearts mimic Rangers on the Sectarian front. Have done as long as I can remember - A grown man with an orange scarf punched me full in the face when I had barely turned 13. However this tiny element does not represent Hearts any more than the Tommy Robinson loving, Union Jack sporting brigade represents our fine club.

I think the vast majority of all football fans hate people who use our game as a cover to peddle their racist and sectarian agenda. It’s a cancer that is curable - but only with a willingness by clubs, national football authorities and government to stamp it out.

I agree that the Hearts ‘UDA Section’ behaviour is more in your face but we need zero tolerance of politics in football for any campaign to succeed in my opinion

29-04-2019, 07:48 AM
https://twitter.com/RandomSection/status/1122627161129721856?s=19 - not sectarian in itself, but I wonder how quickly Hearts will identify this individual?

At least the vast majority of Hearts fans disapprove of this and are actively trying to get rid of them.

Seriously, anyone on either side who wants to bring this ***** to the football - **** off to Celtic Park or Ibrox. We don't want you here and you're embarrassing the rest of us. Just **** off.

29-04-2019, 07:51 AM

Hahaha 👍

29-04-2019, 08:04 AM

Can't wait to see the hearts sympathisers on here defend that one. Probably a "photoshop" eh?

29-04-2019, 08:06 AM
Look at all the Hearts fans in the background finding it hilarious. Minority aye? Do me a favour.

29-04-2019, 08:08 AM
I’m surprised that this moron isn’t getting stick from fans around him. Even the Sickbaggers are pretty united in condemning the fool and others like him.

29-04-2019, 08:18 AM
I’m surprised that this moron isn’t getting stick from fans around him. Even the Sickbaggers are pretty united in condemning the fool and others like him.

That wee group are the problem. Look like the alt-right pro-Tommy Robinson kids to me.

29-04-2019, 08:25 AM
A grown man!

Yep. We're doing them a favour saying the problem lies with the young team.

This picture is genuinely quite amazing...Budge will be fuming.

29-04-2019, 08:36 AM
That wee group are the problem. Look like the alt-right pro-Tommy Robinson kids to me.

Not just kids. That’s SDL FLA corner right there!

29-04-2019, 08:58 AM
Can't wait to see the hearts sympathisers on here defend that one. Probably a "photoshop" eh?

I think you’ll be waiting a while. Which posters exactly do you expect to see trying to defend this?

Marvellous
29-04-2019, 09:10 AM

I would love to hear someone like this explain their views. Does this guy get involved in a lot of religious activism or does he save it all for when he is watching sports?

29-04-2019, 10:01 AM
Genuinely saddens me as I really thought the Edinburgh rivalry was above all that crap.

Seemingly not, shame.

Mmm, Hearts have had that element in their support for decades. Sometimes they are prominent sometimes not so much.

29-04-2019, 10:12 AM

Does anyone even get wound up by that? I just find it it cringe and extremely embarrassing. Shows the guy up to be completely brain dead.

All round utterly pointless.

29-04-2019, 11:45 AM
The guy appears to be standing on the perimeter wall with stewards behind him, why was he not grabbed and kicked out of the ground???
What are the steward there for? Should have dealt with him there and then!!!!

29-04-2019, 12:21 PM
The guy appears to be standing on the perimeter wall with stewards behind him, why was he not grabbed and kicked out of the ground???
What are the steward there for? Should have dealt with him there and then!!!!

Was wondering that myself. What happened to the Zero Tolerance policy?

29-04-2019, 12:44 PM
What does "King Billy on the Wall" even mean?

Aim Here
29-04-2019, 12:47 PM

Lyrics from a loyalist song about a mural that depicts William of Orange painted on the gable end of some Belfast wall or something.

29-04-2019, 12:48 PM

Nothing whatsoever to do with football.

29-04-2019, 01:58 PM

They do seem to be ratcheting up the mini-Hun persona in the derby, don't they? Mimicking their heroes in Govan, no doubt; it's sad to see.

29-04-2019, 04:13 PM

Imagine if someone who knew him was to name and shame him...

29-04-2019, 04:44 PM
They do seem to be ratcheting up the mini-Hun persona in the derby, don't they? Mimicking their heroes in Govan, no doubt; it's sad to see.

Other than outside Ibrox, where else would you get one of those scarfs? (I’m taking a guess that the boys never set foot in Ireland and got one over there)

29-04-2019, 05:06 PM
Other than outside Ibrox, where else would you get one of those scarfs? (I’m taking a guess that the boys never set foot in Ireland and got one over there)

Probably bought it online. Then again, they are probably available on the high street in Larkhall, Airdrie, Broxburn, Uphall and several other places :greengrin

29-04-2019, 05:13 PM
Take objection to the statement re scarves on sale on the high street in Broxburn and Uphall. Stay in the area and have not seen any sign of them.As a matter of interstate are you from that area.

29-04-2019, 05:17 PM
Take objection to the statement re scarves on sale on the high street in Broxburn and Uphall. Stay in the area and have not seen any sign of them.As a matter of interstate are you from that area.

It was tongue in cheek, mate. I doubt they are on sale on the high street in Larkhall and Airdrie either. No question all four towns are very loyalist though.

29-04-2019, 05:40 PM

..brillaint typo bud, went all William Burroughs for a sec...

Re the general discussion - get a bit with the nuanced discussion around Hearts fans. They are all fannies, some sectarian fannies and some not but fannies none the less.

29-04-2019, 05:57 PM
I have a theory on the recent increase in sectarian nonsense from that lot.

Three years ago, we killed their songbook and they can no longer lord it over us like they did in their overspending years.

They've had to go back to a much earlier time to replace their songs, so 1970s era bigotry is all they have left.

29-04-2019, 06:04 PM

Three years ago, we killed their songbook and they can no longer lord it over us like they did in their overspending years.

They've had to go back to a much earlier time to replace their songs, so 1970s era bigotry is all they have left.

That could well be a factor. I think the independence referendum made some of them retreat into hardline unionism and really go with the mini-Hun identity. Ironic, as Alex Salmond is a Jambo.

29-04-2019, 06:09 PM

I'm just waiting for the flares and loon pants to start showing up... teamed with too small jerseys, natch! :aok:

Edinburgh Green
29-04-2019, 06:12 PM
Met a couple of my jambo mates after the game and they were saying that the wee oddball Asian EDL member who supports Rangers (you may have seen him on tv) was in amongst the Hearts fans yesterday. Apparently folk were falling over themselves to get selfies with him.

29-04-2019, 06:15 PM
Met a couple of my jambo mates after the game and they were saying that the wee oddball Asian EDL member who supports Rangers (you may have seen him on tv) was in amongst the Hearts fans yesterday. Apparently folk were falling over themselves to get selfies with him.

That's worrying, coming after Tommy Robinson proclaimed his love for all things Hearts. The mainstream in their support need to act and not allow the club to be hijacked by nutters. The EDL guy you refer to definitely needs help.

EI255
29-04-2019, 09:00 PM
That's worrying, coming after Tommy Robinson proclaimed his love for all things Hearts. The mainstream in their support need to act and not allow the club to be hijacked by nutters. The EDL guy you refer to definitely needs help.I'd replace the word worrying with immature. Saturday lager faces who refuse to grow up. Absolute fuds.

29-04-2019, 10:42 PM
That could well be a factor. I think the independence referendum made some of them retreat into hardline unionism and really go with the mini-Hun identity. Ironic, as Alex Salmond is a Jambo.

And yet I personally know 2 hard line rabid match going Jambos who are both supporters of independence and during the referendum there was a young guy with a Hearts top on manning a 'yes' campaign stall in the main street in Gala, I even had a wee bit of banter with him.

This is the problem Hearts have at the moment … I genuinely think the tail is wagging the dug at that club and their couple of hundred or so Billy Boy right wing ultra unionist wannabes are drowning out the vast majority of Hearts fans who if not Scottish nationalists at the very least want nothing to do with the diet Hun Billy Boy stuff or right wing politics.

But the profile the hard of thinking brigade are giving Hearts just now is like a magnet to the Tommy Robinsons and Ulster Loyalist groups of this world …. Where they see any chance of polluting young minds they will be all over it and the folk running Hearts and the sensible majority of the clubs fans need to find a way to nip it in the bud before it becomes a far bigger problem.

I've said it before on here. The last thing we need to happen is for our own thankfully tiny dafty element to start responding in kind to the Billy Boy stuff … the last, the very last. thing the Edinburgh derby or its football rivalry in general needs is for it to become a poor mans Weegie bigot fest … lets hate each other with a bit of class eh!

29-04-2019, 10:56 PM
And yet I personally know 2 hard line rabid match going Jambos who are both supporters of independence and during the referendum there was a young guy with a Hearts top on manning a 'yes' campaign stall in the main street in Gala, I even had a wee bit of banter with him.

This is the problem Hearts have at the moment … I genuinely think the tail is wagging the dug at that club and their couple of hundred or so Billy Boy right wing ultra unionist wannabes are drowning out the vast majority of Hearts fans who if not Scottish nationalists at the very least want nothing to do with the diet Hun Billy Boy stuff or right wing politics.

But the profile the hard of thinking brigade are giving Hearts just now is like a magnet to the Tommy Robinsons and Ulster Loyalist groups of this world …. Where they see any chance of polluting young minds they will be all over it and the folk running Hearts and the sensible majority of the clubs fans need to find a way to nip it in the bud before it becomes a far bigger problem.

I've said it before on here. The last thing we need to happen is for our own thankfully tiny dafty element to start responding in kind to the Billy Boy stuff … the last, the very last. thing the Edinburgh derby or its football rivalry in general needs is for it to become a poor mans Weegie bigot fest … lets hate each other with a bit of class eh!

The day that the Edinburgh derby becomes a miniature version of the Glasgow derby and we become a clone of Celtic is the day I pack it all in.

29-04-2019, 11:48 PM

Well said!

30-04-2019, 05:48 AM
It was tongue in cheek, mate. I doubt they are on sale on the high street in Larkhall and Airdrie either. No question all four towns are very loyalist though.

You don't live in Uphall or Broxburn clearly.

30-04-2019, 07:22 AM
It will be interesting to hear the Hertz songbook when they play Celtc in the final.

While I don't think their diet hun element is substantial I do think it is a significant minority and the SCF may well show its in the thousands rather than the hundreds.

30-04-2019, 07:27 AM
You don't live in Uphall or Broxburn clearly.

No, I'm Leith. However, couple of months back I did write a post in a thread about a girl I used to go out with from Uphall. First time I went to her house her parents were putting photos in an album from their day at the 'big walk' in Broxburn. They were very nice until I told them I'm a Hibs fan who was raised Catholic. They went a bit pale then. Never got asked back:greengrin

Plenty of maroon shirts in those photos too I remember.

Deep inside Orange County there :greengrin

30-04-2019, 07:42 AM
The day that the Edinburgh derby becomes a miniature version of the Glasgow derby and we become a clone of Celtic is the day I pack it all in.
Me too.

Standing at the bottom corner of the stand, pointing at the opposition and motioning them outside, pretending you’re hard behind the safety of the stewards and polis when in reality you’re probably a wee *****bag who’d run a mile, waving a poundshop green, white and gold tricolour or a red, white and blue union flag, is the height of embarrassing.

Some on both sides, moreso Hearts IMO although we’ve got plenty wee bams who come crawling out for Hearts/ Rangers and pretend they’re some kind of hardline Irish Republican, seem determined to turn the Edinburgh Derby into a mini Old Firm. I couldn’t give a flying **** about Irish politics or battles fought 400 year ago and neither could 99% of us.

30-04-2019, 07:51 AM
Me too.

Standing at the bottom corner of the stand, pointing at the opposition and motioning them outside, pretending you’re hard behind the safety of the stewards and polis when in reality you’re probably a wee *****bag who’d run a mile, waving a poundshop green, white and gold tricolour or a red, white and blue union flag, is the height of embarrassing.

Some on both sides, moreso Hearts IMO although we’ve got plenty wee bams who come crawling out for Hearts/ Rangers and pretend they’re some kind of hardline Irish Republican, seem determined to turn the Edinburgh Derby into a mini Old Firm. I couldn’t give a flying **** about Irish politics or battles fought 400 year ago and neither could 99% of us.

I think there's far more tolerance of a range of views in the Edinburgh derby, thankfully. You don't have to subscribe to a particular set of political or religious views to be a fan, whereas in Glasgow it's much more difficult to diverge from views deemed acceptable. We have supporters of diverse backgrounds and opinions: just look at the debates in the Holy Ground, for example, which I think is a huge positive. What folk believe in outside of football is their own business; we are not a political party or a religious institution, which is where the Old Firm so often go wrong, in my opinion.

30-04-2019, 08:11 AM

He was standing outside the West Stand entrance, encouraging passing Yams to shout 'No Surrender'.

What a wierdo.

30-04-2019, 08:17 AM
He was standing outside the West Stand entrance, encouraging passing Yams to shout 'No Surrender'.

What a wierdo.

I wonder how he got a ticket - he's a Rangers fan, after all.

30-04-2019, 08:25 AM

What a wierdo.

He’s an absolute roaster if it’s who I’m thinking of. Imagine some of them actually wanting a selfie with him [emoji85]

30-04-2019, 08:37 AM
He’s an absolute roaster if it’s who I’m thinking of. Imagine some of them actually wanting a selfie with him [emoji85]

I'm sure you will be thinking of the right guy. There can't be many Asian EDL members!

30-04-2019, 09:48 AM
I'm sure you will be thinking of the right guy. There can't be many Asian EDL members!

Maybe one. :greengrin

Aim Here
30-04-2019, 09:59 AM

Actual Hearts fans were so lackadaisical about this game that the tickets went on general sale, remember. Presumably all he needed was to know someone who was on the HMFC database to buy him a ticket, and no doubt someone in among the Gorgie Staunch Set sorted him out.

30-04-2019, 10:21 AM
Me too.

Couldnt agree more and you have summed it up. Was at the game at tynecastle when both sets of fans apart from lob coins at each other all alot did was as you describe with flags etc average age about 15. Embarrassing.

30-04-2019, 11:17 AM
Me too.

Exactly this. It goes towards an opinion I've espoused on more than one thread regarding football rivalry and symbolism. Why cant we just leave the nationalistic flags at home, Union flags, red hand of Ulster flags, Tricolour flags, Erin go Bragh flags … who gives a toss who has or hasn't got a right to wave what, their use is helping to perpetuate sectarianism and no amount of protestations about history and culture changes that fact … If it bothers you that much ram it up a ruddy great flagpole in your garden. What's so bad about just waving a green & white flag or a maroon & white flag at the fitba if you want to bring a flag with you?

Alternatively, I've seen Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and IIRC Dundee Utd fans wave Saltire flags in their club's colours … The Hibs ones of that design are pretty classy in my opinion.

Do that and we would have made a significant dent in the sectarian issue.

19Leith75
30-04-2019, 11:54 AM
Kind puts to bed the argument that Hibs and Hearts both have the save problems with sectarianism.

30-04-2019, 12:03 PM
Kind puts to bed the argument that Hibs and Hearts both have the save problems with sectarianism.

For some reason this fundamental fact evades people.

Out of interest, dos anyone think we should remove the harp from our crest in order to stop antagonising some sections of our footballing community. Maybe, a wee name change or change of club colours whilst we’re at it?

Where do you draw the line with pandering to the morons?

Personally, I’m much more concerned about Hearts fans and their flute bands, fascination with extreme right wing views, sectarianism etc than anything emanating out of ER for decades. The odd republican bampot isn’t comparable with an entrenched and sizeable minority culture.

Recognise the differences here anyone?

Lendo
30-04-2019, 12:03 PM

Is the fella not banned from every football ground in Scotland? If he was in the stadium some questions need to be asked about the stewarding/policing

19Leith75
30-04-2019, 12:08 PM

Out of interest, dos anyone think we should remove the harp from our crest in order to stop antagonising some sections of our footballing community. Maybe, a wee name change or change of club colours whilst we’re at it?

Personally, I’m much more concerned about Hearts fans and their flute bands, fascination with extreme right wing views, sectarianism etc than anything emanating out of ER for decades. The odd republican bampot isn’t comparable with an entrenched and sizeable minority culture.

Recognise the differences here anyone?If anything, the fact that we have a harp, an Irish name, green colours etc yet very, very few behave in a sectarian manner is absolutely testament to the club and supporters for not indulging in it. Hearts have little to no connection to the IRE/NI but it all seems to be far more prevalent on that side of the city. Seems mind-blowing ridiculous to me.

30-04-2019, 12:10 PM
Exactly this. It goes towards an opinion I've espoused on more than one thread regarding football rivalry and symbolism. Why cant we just leave the nationalistic flags at home, Union flags, red hand of Ulster flags, Tricolour flags, Erin go Bragh flags … who gives a toss who has or hasn't got a right to wave what, their use is helping to perpetuate sectarianism and no amount of protestations about history and culture changes that fact … If it bothers you that much ram it up a ruddy great flagpole in your garden. What's so bad about just waving a green & white flag or a maroon & white flag at the fitba if you want to bring a flag with you?

Alternatively, I've seen Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and IIRC Dundee Utd fans wave Saltire flags in their club's colours … The Hibs ones of that design are pretty classy in my opinion.

Do that and we would have made a significant dent in the sectarian issue.

Totally agree. Any time this comes up, someone comes along accusing us of being ashamed of our roots or asking what's offensive about an Irish flag etc but you're bang on. Nobody is really concerned about "celebrating our heritage" by bringing a tri-colour along to Hibs games. Hearts fans can apply the same logic and ask what's wrong with them flying a union flag when their club was founded in Great Britain etc etc.. before you know it we have an Edinburgh version of the ugly sisters and everyone is within their rights!

The reality, for me, is that it's a lot of sh**e and no grown man, or growing adolescent, is genuinely concerned about their club's heritage/roots/history being celebrated on matchdays and just wants to revel in the goading and the pish that we associate with the West. Thankfully we have nothing like the scale or number of issues as Hearts but I'd hate to see the day where we are having to discuss what steps can be taken to eradicate the problems like they are now. We can all do our bit right now to ensure any tiny minority are not allowed to let such an element creep into our support.

Count me in the group packing it in when we become the Edinburgh old firm.

30-04-2019, 12:27 PM
Totally agree. Any time this comes up, someone comes along accusing us of being ashamed of our roots or asking what's offensive about an Irish flag etc but you're bang on. Nobody is really concerned about "celebrating our heritage" by bringing a tri-colour along to Hibs games. Hearts fans can apply the same logic and ask what's wrong with them flying a union flag when their club was founded in Great Britain etc etc.. before you know it we have an Edinburgh version of the ugly sisters and everyone is within their rights!

The reality, for me, is that it's a lot of sh**e and no grown man, or growing adolescent, is genuinely concerned about their club's heritage/roots/history being celebrated on matchdays and just wants to revel in the goading and the pish that we associate with the West. Thankfully we have nothing like the scale or number of issues as Hearts but I'd hate to see the day where we are having to discuss what steps can be taken to eradicate the problems like they are now. We can all do our bit right now to ensure any tiny minority are not allowed to let such an element creep into our support.

Proud of our heritage of being founded by refugees and our Irish heritage. James Connolly the greatest Hibee ever. But never support the lunatic republican fringe. The harp on our bagde is enough is enough remembrance. We have Polish, Sikhs and other refugees myself included who feel at home at Hibs. We have a small number of racists and bigots - lets keep it at that. I stand up and shout the refuge song and any other racist bile from our fans. Lets be vigilant and keep it to tens rather the hundreds or thousands at our neighbours.

30-04-2019, 12:28 PM

I've never heard anybody suggest such a thing and nobody is going to. The persona of the club vis a vis colours, name and what is in its badge are entirely in keeping with where the club's founders came from and the community from where it draws its support. Nobody can have a problem with the actual club reflecting its history and the people who founded it and in all honesty its a red herring in this debate to even suggest it could be an issue.

30-04-2019, 12:46 PM
I've never heard anybody suggest such a thing and nobody is going to. The persona of the club vis a vis colours, name and what is in its badge are entirely in keeping with where the club's founders came from and the community from where it draws its support. Nobody can have a problem with the actual club reflecting its history and the people who founded it and in all honesty its a red herring in this debate to even suggest it could be an issue.

I’m not seriously suggesting that, I was making the point that our name, colours, badge and history are an affront to some. How do we appease them ( the answer is that we can’t, it needs much more profound societal change)?

I’ve also said very strongly that we shouldn’t tarnish Hibs with the same brush as other teams with a very visible sectarian element in their support. A few tricolours waving fuds aren’t comparable to our neighbours, who have a multitude of red hands, fascist saluting, flute band supporting, fascination with right wing extremism section of their support.

30-04-2019, 12:56 PM
Is the fella not banned from every football ground in Scotland? If he was in the stadium some questions need to be asked about the stewarding/policing

He got a 5 year ban in 2011 so it will have expired.

30-04-2019, 01:10 PM
I’m not seriously suggesting that, I was making the point that our name, colours, badge and history are an affront to some. How do we appease them ( the answer is that we can’t, it needs much more profound societal change)?

I’ve also said very strongly that we shouldn’t tarnish Hibs with the same brush as other teams with a very visible sectarian element in their support. A few tricolours waving funds isn’t comparable to our neighbours, who have a multitude of red hands, fascist saluting, flute band supporting, fascination with right wing extremism section of their support.

I know you weren't seriously suggesting it mate :aok:

I also acknowledge that our fanbase has few signs of being on board with sectarianism, certainly compared to one of the other clubs in the city who unfortunately appear to have a growing problem. However, it annoys me when folk talk about any notions that our fans stop using tricolours or Erin go Bragh flags is 'appeasement' ….. In my opinion if we were to stop doing so it would remove the go to stance of 'whitabootery' used by both sides which is one of the main drivers of the never ending circle of sectarianism.

30-04-2019, 01:23 PM
He got a 5 year ban in 2011 so it will have expired.

How did he get on with his sectarian singing charge in 2017?

30-04-2019, 01:27 PM
Proud of our heritage of being founded by refugees and our Irish heritage. James Connolly the greatest Hibee ever. But never support the lunatic republican fringe. The harp on our bagde is enough is enough remembrance. We have Polish, Sikhs and other refugees myself included who feel at home at Hibs. We have a small number of racists and bigots - lets keep it at that. I stand up and shout the refuge song and any other racist bile from our fans. Lets be vigilant and keep it to tens rather the hundreds or thousands at our neighbours.

Screw that mate, lets get rid of every one of the buggers. Thankfully the incidents of racism I have personally witnessed from the Hibs support have been very few and far between, but even one incident should be one too many for any Hibs fan. Of all the clubs in this country Hibs and the folk who support us should be welcoming to anybody regardless of race, creed or colour who wants to support the club, certainly if they have any idea of the club's history.

If anybody who claims to support this club founded by migrants cant see the absolute hypocrisy and contradiction of treating new migrants to Edinburgh, or folk of different nationality or colour for that matter, in exactly the same way the original founders of this club were treated, then they have chosen the wrong club to support, they aint welcome here and they should be bloody well told so.

30-04-2019, 01:30 PM

I also acknowledge that our fanbase has few signs of being on board with sectarianism, certainly compared to one of the other clubs in the city who unfortunately appear to have a growing problem. However, it annoys me when folk talk about any notions that our fans stop using tricolours or Erin go Bragh flags is 'appeasement' ….. In my opinion if we were to stop doing so it would remove the go to stance of 'whitabootery' used by both sides which is one of the main drivers of the never ending circle of sectarianism.

I don't have an issue with flags; they are national symbols which portray a sense of identity and are not inherently sectarian. Union flags and tricolours are harmless, IMO. Football is tribal and we mustn't lose that; however, it's the sectarian/racist/homophobic chanting which must be completely eradicated, along with the clowns who launch things.

30-04-2019, 01:36 PM
I support Hibs cause it’s the club my dad supports and he took me to the games.

I didn’t choose to support Hibs cause of their history or anything to do with immigrants.

To say that Hibs fans should be more tolerant than others due to our history is absurd. We should be tolerant cause it’s the decent way to be, same as everyone else.

There will always be some racists in society and by extension some Hibs fans will be too.

30-04-2019, 01:43 PM
How did he get on with his sectarian singing charge in 2017?

5 year ban so if it’s the same guy he shouldn’t have been at ER. Also uses the name Abdul Salaam.

Muslim Rangers supporter who chanted sectarian remarks at a game at Ibrox Stadium has been fined £600.
Abdul Rafiq, 41, the only Muslim member of the English Defence League, was arrested at Rangers friendly game with Chelsea on 6 August.
At Glasgow Sheriff Court he pleaded guilty to religiously aggravated breach of the peace by shouting, swearing and uttering sectarian remarks.
Sheriff John McCormick also imposed a five year football banning order.
The court heard that Rafiq, from Kelvinbridge, Glasgow, was heard shouting phrases which hit out at Catholics and the Pope.

30-04-2019, 01:51 PM
5 year ban so if it’s the same guy he shouldn’t have been at ER. Also uses the name Abdul Salaam.

Muslim Rangers supporter who chanted sectarian remarks at a game at Ibrox Stadium has been fined £600.
Abdul Rafiq, 41, the only Muslim member of the English Defence League, was arrested at Rangers friendly game with Chelsea on 6 August.
At Glasgow Sheriff Court he pleaded guilty to religiously aggravated breach of the peace by shouting, swearing and uttering sectarian remarks.
The court heard that Rafiq, from Kelvinbridge, Glasgow, was heard shouting phrases which hit out at Catholics and the Pope.

Forty-one years old, too. What a sad wee man.

30-04-2019, 01:54 PM

That's the one from 2011. I could only see that he was charged for similar in a game against us in 2017 but no follow up reports.

Probably dropped when footage showed stewards and police leading the singing:greengrin

30-04-2019, 02:01 PM
I don't have an issue with flags; they are national symbols which portray a sense of identity and are not inherently sectarian. Union flags and tricolours are harmless, IMO. Football is tribal and we mustn't lose that; however, it's the sectarian/racist/homophobic chanting which must be completely eradicated, along with the clowns who launch things.

In an ideal world that is a reasonable view. But this isn't an ideal world and for decades in Scottish football the waving of Tricolours or Union flags has only ever had one interpretation, I am not denying for a second that that is incredibly sad, but it is a fact. Any notion that there will come a time where that interpretation is consigned to history is pure fantasy.

I know you will be aware of this so please don't get any impression that I am being patronising, its not my intention. It is common knowledge that for centuries the swastika symbol was the preserve of Hinduism and Asian spirituality and its meaning was benign … But to western eyes the use of that symbol in the modern era only conveys one meaning …. I could get one tattooed on my arm tomorrow and then go for a holiday in Germany or Israel and see how long it takes me to get beaten up or arrested or both, no matter how much I protested that my swastika was intended to be a sign of spirituality. This is all about perception.

And if as you correctly say flags convey a sense of national identity then I'm not sure where that places your average Hibs fan when it comes to tricolours anyway …. I've been following Hibs home and away for over 40 years and in all that time I genuinely cant recall ever meeting an Irish Hibs fan, though I am aware we do have one or two. I couldn't make an argument against the Dublin Hibs lads having a tricolour with Dublin Hibs written on it, that is indeed their identity ….. but these days the vast majority of Hibs fans are about as Irish as Crawford's shortbread.

30-04-2019, 02:02 PM
Can remember after we gubbed the huns at ibrox 3-2 Last season that Abdul was standing on a wee hill as our bus was leaving waving his union Jack and dressed in a blue tracksuit. He's an absolute weirdo. I know the majority of rangers fans are but I think he's one of the worst.

30-04-2019, 02:25 PM
That's the one from 2011. I could only see that he was charged for similar in a game against us in 2017 but no follow up reports.

Probably dropped when footage showed stewards and police leading the singing:greengrin

I assumed (wrongly) it was 2017 as that’s the date that appears on the BBC report of the incident.

30-04-2019, 03:15 PM

The usual dotnet flag police love to indulge in a bit of reverse whataboutery and whenever Hertz significant bigot minority are criticised on here there are some folk who cant wait to focus on our handful of spotty youth Tricolour wavers.

That handful of daft wee laddies leaving their flags at home will have no bearing on the behaviour of the huns or diet hun element. When Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh imposed Tricolour bans in the 70s and 80s the huns and diet huns still behaved exactly the same, in fact probably worse than they do now. That mindset is so ingrained among the full fat huns that many of them view Dundee United as "fenians" despite DUFC changing their name and colours in 1923 !

History show that it doesn't matter whether zero Hibs fans or a dozen Hibs fans take Tricolours to games, our name and colours are sufficient for the huns and the significant diet hun minority in the Hertz support to view us a fenian bs and act accordingly. Anyone who doesn't recognise that is either extremely naïve or extremely disingenuous.

30-04-2019, 03:26 PM
Can remember after we gubbed the huns at ibrox 3-2 Last season that Abdul was standing on a wee hill as our bus was leaving waving his union Jack and dressed in a blue tracksuit. He's an absolute weirdo. I know the majority of rangers fans are but I think he's one of the worst.

There was a video doing the rounds a while back where he’s getting somebody to film him outside Ibrox, on a non match day when the place is deserted, singing “I’d rather be a p*** than a Tim” whilst wearing a Rangers tracksuit. Very strange character

30-04-2019, 03:33 PM

The usual dotnet flag police love to indulge in a bit of reverse whataboutery and whenever Hertz significant bigot minority are criticised on here there are some folk who cant wait to focus on our handful of spotty youth Tricolour wavers.

That handful of daft wee laddies leaving their flags at home will have no bearing on the behaviour of the huns or diet hun element. When Tom Hart and Kenny Waugh imposed Tricolour bans in the 70s and 80s the huns and diet huns still behaved exactly the same, in fact probably worse than they do now. That mindset is so ingrained among the full fat huns that many of them view Dundee United as "fenians" despite DUFC changing their name and colours in 1923 !

History show that it doesn't matter whether zero Hibs fans or a dozen Hibs fans take Tricolours to games, our name and colours are sufficient for the huns and the significant diet hun minority in the Hertz support to view us a fenian bs and act accordingly. Anyone who doesn't recognise that is either extremely naïve or extremely disingenuous.

But our handful of youth Tricolour wavers allow Hearts and Rangers fans, and even the press, to label us as part of the problem and accuse us of wanting to be like Celtic. It’s lazy from the press but we leave the door open for them to do so. Check the current thread on kickback for proof. Loads of them posting the same picture of one of our fans holding a tricolour on Sunday saying that we are just as bad. Clearly not the case but removing these few flags would stop their whataboutery in its tracks.
I’d personally say it’s naive not to recognise that.

30-04-2019, 03:36 PM
What does "King Billy on the Wall" even mean?It's probably the wall failures like this boy sing about guarding, or gardening in. Old Deriwalz, somewhere they've never been or seen that already has a gardener or doesn't need guarding.

If the need existed there's no way plums like this would have the means or ability to find the object of their devotion let alone guard it.

30-04-2019, 06:36 PM
But our handful of youth Tricolour wavers allow Hearts and Rangers fans, and even the press, to label us as part of the problem and accuse us of wanting to be like Celtic. It’s lazy from the press but we leave the door open for them to do so. Check the current thread on kickback for proof. Loads of them posting the same picture of one of our fans holding a tricolour on Sunday saying that we are just as bad. Clearly not the case but removing these few flags would stop their whataboutery in its tracks.

Fair comment and while id rather not look at kickback tbh, I accept it might well stop some internet tit for tat. However history shows it wont stop the behaviour of the huns and Hertz diet element when they come here or we go there. Their stereotyped ignorant view of us is based primarily on our name and colours not a few spotty youths waving Tricolours (often the wrong way round). Its naïve and disingenuous not to accept that.

As for the press, id suggest that large chunks of the weedgie based media have a similar stereotyped view of us, yet again solely predicated on our name and colours.

Ive never felt the need or had any inclination to take a Tricolour to a game, even in my younger more boisterous days. However I cant understand some characters on here (not you I hasten to add) who would rather highlight our handful of spotty youths than the hundreds / thousands of Hertz who sing sectarian songs. As I said in my previous post , its a weird sort of reverse whataboutery.

30-04-2019, 06:56 PM
Fair comment and while id rather not look at kickback tbh, I accept it might well stop some internet tit for tat. However history shows it wont stop the behaviour of the huns and Hertz diet element when they come here or we go there. Their stereotyped ignorant view of us is based primarily on our name and colours not a few spotty youths waving Tricolours (often the wrong way round). Its naïve and disingenuous not to accept that.

As for the press, id suggest that large chunks of the weedgie based media have a similar stereotyped view of us, yet again solely predicated on our name and colours.

Ive never felt the need or had any inclination to take a Tricolour to a game, even in my younger more boisterous days. However I cant understand some characters on here (not you I hasten to add) who would rather highlight our handful of spotty youths than the hundreds / thousands of Hertz who sing sectarian songs. As I said in my previous post , its a weird sort of reverse whataboutery.

Yep, name and colours are enough and that “ provocation” isn’t going to go away, handful of tricolours or not. I find it baffling that this isn’t glaringly obvious.

I prefer facts to whataboutery reverse or otherwise and the fundamental fact is that Hibs do not have an issue with a sectarian element in our fan base.

30-04-2019, 07:03 PM

Agree. We can’t stop the increasing right wing ******** element at Rangers and Hearts but we can control ourselves and it would be good if neither of those clubs or the press could label us with the sectarian tag. Sectarian songs haven’t been sung at ER for a long time so that lazy tag can only come from the flags.
Pisses me of when folk constantly refer to us as mini Celtic as well and like it or not, the flags don’t help with that either.

30-04-2019, 07:23 PM
There was a video doing the rounds a while back where he’s getting somebody to film him outside Ibrox, on a non match day when the place is deserted, singing “I’d rather be a p*** than a Tim” whilst wearing a Rangers tracksuit. Very strange character

He’s a total weirdo. A few years ago we were heading to St George Cross station on the way back from Firhill when he appeared across the road in full hun kit with flag. Didn’t hear a peep from him mind.

30-04-2019, 07:38 PM

Why is James Connolly the greatest Hibee ever?

30-04-2019, 07:43 PM

Had 2,000,000 loyalty points and a Hibs duvet set

30-04-2019, 08:22 PM
Would anyone on here support a joint initiative between Hibs and Hearts to take a zero tolerance to politics and sectarianism in Edinburgh? This could be the time to eradicate this cancer once and for all.

30-04-2019, 08:24 PM
Had 2,000,000 loyalty points and a Hibs duvet set

Yip, that probably seals it. :greengrin

30-04-2019, 08:26 PM
Would anyone on here support a joint initiative between Hibs and Hearts to take a zero tolerance to politics and sectarianism in Edinburgh? This could be the time to eradicate this cancer once and for all.

Absolutely. It is probably something the club’s are already discussing or if not they should be IMHO

30-04-2019, 08:28 PM

Politics and sectarianism?

Why politics?

01-05-2019, 01:03 AM
Yip, that probably seals it. :greengrin

Was at the founding meeting of our club. Left school young with no qualifications. Wrote and fought on the side of the poor and for Irish independence. Once said : "when my mind should be on more vital matters I slip into a black depression when I hear the Hibs have lost". Executed by a British army firing squad tied to chair. Refused to wear a blindfold. Oh yeah and those loyalty points!

01-05-2019, 07:05 AM
Was at the founding meeting of our club. Left school young with no qualifications. Wrote and fought on the side of the poor and for Irish independence. Once said : "when my mind should be on more vital matters I slip into a black depression when I hear the Hibs have lost". Executed by a British army firing squad tied to chair. Refused to wear a blindfold. Oh yeah and those loyalty points!

James Connolly would have been six or maybe seven years old at the founding meeting of the club. Child genius obviously 🤗
Is there actually any record of him having been at the meeting? Genuine question.

Personally I see absolutely no place for sectarianism, from either perspective, in Scottish football and certainly not associated with Hibernian Football Club. Football is an entertainment business, not tribal warfare

01-05-2019, 07:17 AM

Apart from being at that meeting, what else in that has anything to do with Hibs? I know many folk including myself who have said they are depressed when we lose, when in reality we are not depressed, just upset?

The greatest Hibee my erse.

01-05-2019, 08:01 AM
Agree. We can’t stop the increasing right wing ******** element at Rangers and Hearts but we can control ourselves and it would be good if neither of those clubs or the press could label us with the sectarian tag. Sectarian songs haven’t been sung at ER for a long time so that lazy tag can only come from the flags.
Pisses me of when folk constantly refer to us as mini Celtic as well and like it or not, the flags don’t help with that either.

We are going round in circles now and wont change either of our views but my final thoughts re the highlighted bit before I bale out are …

The lazy tag comes primarily from a majority of huns, a significant minority of Hertz and a considerable section of the weedgie centric Scottish media whose ignorance and own prejudices automatically deems anything that references Ireland or Irish heritage (ie the name Hibernian and the colour green) as inherently "sectarian".

Remove the tiny number of Tricolours from our stands and those groups will continue to view us through the prism of their own prejudices. The flags may reinforce their stereotyped view of us but removing them wont change that stereotyped and often bigoted view of us.

01-05-2019, 09:36 AM
We are going round in circles now and wont change either of our views but my final thoughts re the highlighted bit before I bale out are …

The lazy tag comes primarily from a majority of huns, a significant minority of Hertz and a considerable section of the weedgie centric Scottish media whose ignorance and own prejudices automatically deems anything that references Ireland or Irish heritage (ie the name Hibernian and the colour green) as inherently "sectarian".

Remove the tiny number of Tricolours from our stands and those groups will continue to view us through the prism of their own prejudices. The flags may reinforce their stereotyped view of us but removing them wont change that stereotyped and often bigoted view of us.

I totally agree with this.

01-05-2019, 09:44 AM

Absolutely. Get it nailed while it's on the rise.

01-05-2019, 09:47 AM

It would go a long way towards bursting the "whataboutery" that often gets in the way of progress.

01-05-2019, 09:48 AM
Apart from being at that meeting, what else in that has anything to do with Hibs? I know many folk including myself who have said they are depressed when we lose, when in reality we are not depressed, just upset?

The greatest Hibee my erse.

Name any other Hibee who has sacrificed his life for the betterment of so many here in Edinburgh and Ireland.

01-05-2019, 10:00 AM
Name any other Hibee who has sacrificed his life for the betterment of so many here in Edinburgh and Ireland.

No hibees in either world wars then? I care about Ireland as about as I do Spain, I’m more interested in Scotland full stop.

01-05-2019, 10:36 AM

Of course he's the only Hibs fan who has fought in any war, or been upset when we happen to lose a game of football.

And of course, that still means nothing and still has nothing to do with Hibs.

01-05-2019, 11:06 AM

Yes, but if that's the case it clearly becomes solely their problem and nothing to do with us. The media, football, and public opinion in general, can hardly point at Hibs as being part of the sectarian problem for having the name Hibernian and playing in green and white. They can do that if they see Hibs fans waving tricolours, and they will do so no matter how much they are aware of the clubs history and no matter how much Hibs fans maintain that all we are doing is celebrating or acknowledging our clubs roots.

This has nothing to do with us changing the attitudes of the knuckle dragging Neanderthals who follow Sevco and to a lesser extent Hearts. Only their clubs and what few reasonable people they do have in their support ( that's more aimed at Sevco than Hearts when I say 'few' ) can do that at the end of the day. What it does have to do with is removing Hibs from any thought within football or in the view of the public that we can be accused of perpetuating or being part of the sectarian problem.

If we can do that then the full focus falls on The Rangers and Hearts …. what do you think the reaction would be in those circumstances if their Billy Boy elements turned round and said 'aye but the name Hibernian and the clubs colours are a provocation that justifies our behaviour' …. You would be able to hear the laughs of derision from every quarter both inside and outside of football on the Moon.

Acknowledging that is hardly naïve or disingenuous and the first paragraph of your post is exactly the kind of thinking which has ensured that after decades of trying to eradicate it we still have a sectarian problem in Scottish football.

01-05-2019, 11:09 AM
James Connolly would have been six or maybe seven years old at the founding meeting of the club. Child genius obviously 🤗
Is there actually any record of him having been at the meeting? Genuine question.

Personally I see absolutely no place for sectarianism, from either perspective, in Scottish football and certainly not associated with Hibernian Football Club. Football is an entertainment business, not tribal warfare

None.
James Connolly is a figure that should definitely be better celebrated in the City of his birth, a political hero to many, myself included. The Hibs stuff though has definitely been over egged.

01-05-2019, 11:27 AM

This is the reality. If we decided not to get involved in their "conversation", i.e. removed anything from our supporters culture that referred to how they see the world, flags, chants, whatever - they would still see us exactly how they see us now.

You can't change a bigots outlook by changing yourself, they have to change.

01-05-2019, 11:32 AM
None.
James Connolly is a figure that should definitely be better celebrated in the City of his birth, a political hero to many, myself included. The Hibs stuff though has definitely been over egged.

👍🏻

01-05-2019, 11:37 AM

If you mean extreme right wing politics then for sure, definitely more of a problem doon Gorgie way.

If this was to be a joint initiative it does not require Hibs to seem as if we are acknowledging a sectarian problem within the club's support which we can safely say barely exists, if it exists at all. What we can do is partake in a carefully worded joint statement with Hearts which acknowledges the growing problem at Tynecastle with Hibs saying that our fear is that if it gets worse it will provoke a return to the bad old days when Hibs did have a far bigger problem, a problem which both the club and the fans have worked so hard to all but eradicate, and that if that were to happen it would be to the detriment of both clubs.

The practical application of that would be for both clubs to say that while acknowledging the right of anybody to wave a national flag they must both also acknowledge that certain national flags are seen as provocative in the context of sectarianism and as a result Union flags, Tricolours and Red Hand of Ulster flags are forthwith banned from both stadiums. If anybody has a problem with that both clubs can point out that the governing body for European football already operates a blanket ban on national flags they see as provocative within stadiums in its competitions.

01-05-2019, 11:50 AM
This is the reality. If we decided not to get involved in their "conversation", i.e. removed anything from our supporters culture that referred to how they see the world, flags, chants, whatever - they would still see us exactly how they see us now.

You can't change a bigots outlook by changing yourself, they have to change.

I acknowledged that fact in my own response to Brizo's post. This isn't so much about us changing their attitudes, only they can do that. What it is about is removing any perception that we are part of the sectarian problem … no reasonable person would entertain any claim that our club's name or colours are part of the problem, not even the west coast centric press who lap up Old Firm fans accusations of 'whitabootery' would be stupid enough to buy into that … they will entertain accusations that we are part of the problem if our fans continue to use symbols, no matter how small the numbers, which have been seen as the visible drivers of sectarianism in Scottish football for decades. I don't see why that's such a difficult concept to grasp.

01-05-2019, 12:00 PM
No hibees in either world wars then? I care about Ireland as about as I do Spain, I’m more interested in Scotland full stop.

If you knew your history you would not be so small minded.

01-05-2019, 12:02 PM
I acknowledged that fact in my own response to Brizo's post. This isn't so much about us changing their attitudes, only they can do that. What it is about is removing any perception that we are part of the sectarian problem … no reasonable person would entertain any claim that our club's name or colours are part of the problem, not even the west coast centric press who lap up Old Firm fans accusations of 'whitabootery' would be stupid enough to buy into that … they will entertain accusations that we are part of the problem if our fans continue to use symbols, no matter how small the numbers, which have been seen as the visible drivers of sectarianism in Scottish football for decades. I don't see why that's such a difficult concept to grasp.

The harp on our badge is enough. Plus the history of founders.

01-05-2019, 12:26 PM
The harp on our badge is enough. Plus the history of founders.

Jeezo mate I 'know' that and I've acknowledged the truth of it at least twice already in response to other posters. If folk want excuses to hate they will find them no matter what reasonable and sane people do.

This is all about us removing ourselves from the sectarian issue as far as is practically possible. Suggesting the club's badge and colours are in any way something we need to do anything about could only be mooted by folk who are so bigoted, so mired in sectarian hate, so skewed in their hatred, that they would agree black folk are responsible for racism because they refuse to change the colour of their skin.

01-05-2019, 01:35 PM
Yes, but if that's the case it clearly becomes solely their problem and nothing to do with us. The media, football, and public opinion in general, can hardly point at Hibs as being part of the sectarian problem for having the name Hibernian and playing in green and white. They can do that if they see Hibs fans waving tricolours, and they will do so no matter how much they are aware of the clubs history and no matter how much Hibs fans maintain that all we are doing is celebrating or acknowledging our clubs roots.

This has nothing to do with us changing the attitudes of the knuckle dragging Neanderthals who follow Sevco and to a lesser extent Hearts. Only their clubs and what few reasonable people they do have in their support ( that's more aimed at Sevco than Hearts when I say 'few' ) can do that at the end of the day. What it does have to do with is removing Hibs from any thought within football or in the view of the public that we can be accused of perpetuating or being part of the sectarian problem.

If we can do that then the full focus falls on The Rangers and Hearts …. what do you think the reaction would be in those circumstances if their Billy Boy elements turned round and said 'aye but the name Hibernian and the clubs colours are a provocation that justifies our behaviour' …. You would be able to hear the laughs of derision from every quarter both inside and outside of football on the Moon.

Acknowledging that is hardly naïve or disingenuous and the first paragraph of your post is exactly the kind of thinking which has ensured that after decades of trying to eradicate it we still have a sectarian problem in Scottish football.

Re the first highlighted part , ive worked through in the West of Scotland and over in Northern Ireland with huns and have also worked with some of Hertz more "loyal" fans and as ive said on countless occasions in this thread our name and colours are all that's needed for them to label us as "sectarian".

Re the second highlighted bit that is exactly how they justify their behaviour when they play us.

As for your final paragraph you know nothing about my "thinking" but don't let that stop you being your usual patronising pompous self. If you really want to influence our own support and put our own house in order maybe you should approach some of our spotty youth Tricolour wavers at the game, and try and educate them to your way of thinking. Probably much more effective than war and peace length posts on here. Thing is we both know your the original hide behind a keyboard character.

01-05-2019, 01:44 PM
… they will entertain accusations that we are part of the problem if our fans continue to use symbols, no matter how small the numbers, which have been seen as the visible drivers of sectarianism in Scottish football for decades. I don't see why that's such a difficult concept to grasp.

01-05-2019, 02:22 PM
Re the first highlighted part , ive worked through in the West of Scotland and over in Northern Ireland with huns and have also worked with some of Hertz more "loyal" fans and as ive said on countless occasions in this thread our name and colours are all that's needed for them to label us as "sectarian".

Re the second highlighted bit that is exactly how they justify their behaviour when they play us.

As for your final paragraph you know nothing about my "thinking" but don't let that stop you being your usual patronising pompous self. If you really want to influence our own support and put our own house in order maybe you should approach some of our spotty youth Tricolour wavers at the game, and try and educate them to your way of thinking. Probably much more effective than war and peace length posts on here. Thing is we both know your the original hide behind a keyboard character.

Eh, before spitting the dummy pal lets not forget you were the one using words like "naïve" and "disingenuous" so lets not go getting all hot and bothered when folk respond in kind shall we.

If I have a certain style of getting my point across that you don't like that's no problem to me, but lets not start getting personal shall we, would you find my posts patronising and pompous if they were in agreement with you … I don't bloody think so …. as for the length of them, you don't appear to be that short of words yourself :kettle:

Oh and you can stick your keyboard warrior accusations right up your arse … I drink in Tamson's before every game where I regularly argue the point I have made in this thread with folk who are exactly the kind who love to bring tricolours to games, if you want to discuss the matter just pop in and shout Nae Nookie and I'll happily chat with you at the same time you can ask those folk if what I said is true and you'll find it is.

I say nothing on this or any other forum I'm not prepared to defend in person. Of course you usually find the folk who make 'keyboard warrior' accusations are the sort of folk who in real life think the way to settle an argument they are too thick to articulate properly or are losing is with a punch in the face and are usually bullies who think might makes them right.

Oh and PS.

You are lambasting me over a point I had already conceded was correct at least 3 times INCLUDING in the post you have quoted here … that wasn't the point I was making, a point you have clearly missed or ignored.

01-05-2019, 05:28 PM
Eh, before spitting the dummy pal lets not forget you were the one using words like "naïve" and "disingenuous" so lets not go getting all hot and bothered when folk respond in kind shall we.

If I have a certain style of getting my point across that you don't like that's no problem to me, but lets not start getting personal shall we, would you find my posts patronising and pompous if they were in agreement with you … I don't bloody think so …. as for the length of them, you don't appear to be that short of words yourself :kettle:

Oh and you can stick your keyboard warrior accusations right up your arse … I drink in Tamson's before every game where I regularly argue the point I have made in this thread with folk who are exactly the kind who love to bring tricolours to games, if you want to discuss the matter just pop in and shout Nae Nookie and I'll happily chat with you at the same time you can ask those folk if what I said is true and you'll find it is.

I say nothing on this or any other forum I'm not prepared to defend in person. Of course you usually find the folk who make 'keyboard warrior' accusations are the sort of folk who in real life think the way to settle an argument they are too thick to articulate properly or are losing is with a punch in the face and are usually bullies who think might makes them right.

Oh and PS.

You are lambasting me over a point I had already conceded was correct at least 3 times INCLUDING in the post you have quoted here … that wasn't the point I was making, a point you have clearly missed or ignored.

I'm not your pal and never will be.

Neither am I hot and bothered however you certainly are a sensitive soul and ive obviously rattled your precious wee cage.

We both know you came on here and bitched about your supporters branch ad infinitum, but didn't have the baws to say anything to their face. Congratulations if you've finally grown a pair.

I cant make the pub before games but I will be in the Central Bar after the Aberdeen game. Come on down and ask for me.

01-05-2019, 06:18 PM
Before this thread is shuffled over to the Holy Ground I’m going to see if club management are up for a joint Zero Tolerance campaign. Then I’ll post up progress.

HFC93
01-05-2019, 06:49 PM

Does my grandfathers brother who died fighting fascism in the Second World War count? I can vouch that he was an actual Hibs supporter as well.

01-05-2019, 07:10 PM
Does my grandfathers brother who died fighting fascism in the Second World War count? I can vouch that he was an actual Hibs supporter as well.

I expect my wife’s grandfather who played for Hibs and who was shot down and killed as rear gunner in a bomber over France probably counts too.

01-05-2019, 07:13 PM

Only to some wierdos.

01-05-2019, 10:48 PM
I'm not your pal and never will be.

Neither am I hot and bothered however you certainly are a sensitive soul and ive obviously rattled your precious wee cage.

We both know you came on here and bitched about your supporters branch ad infinitum, but didn't have the baws to say anything to their face. Congratulations if you've finally grown a pair.

I cant make the pub before games but I will be in the Central Bar after the Aberdeen game. Come on down and ask for me.

"Pal" take it from me is a turn of phrase, I don't know if I can survive without your friendship, I'll just have to try :boo hoo:

As for your supporters branch comment .... FFS That was over 6 years ago and you talk about me having my cage rattled. I explained on that particular thread why I hadn't approached St Pats directly so don't try giving the impression on here that it was anything other than what it was at the time in order to point score … anybody who doubts that can view the thread for themselves on the Holy Ground …. "finally grown a pair" …. what are you saying, that I was afraid to approach St Pats in person in case I got a doing :faf:, is that what they usually do with folk who disagree with them like?

As for 'sensitive soul' ….. you need to re read the thread from the start and be honest about who that expression applies to here …. I wasn't the one who over reacted and turned this personal.

That having been said and in a no doubt vain attempt to turn this debate reasonable …. You seem to be under the impression that in my other post I was 'calling you out' I wasn't, the invite to ask for me in Tamson's was just what I said it was, to show you that I'm happy to defend my position on anything face to face, especially on the back of you saying I was a 'keyboard warrior' it doesn't mean anything other than a discussion …. So if its all the same to you the balls in your court, you know where I'll be.

02-05-2019, 05:45 AM

If you think any kind of displays of Irish identity in Scotland have ever been "visible drivers of sectarianism" then you are very confused, or the problem yourself.

02-05-2019, 07:04 AM
If you think any kind of displays of Irish identity in Scotland have ever been "visible drivers of sectarianism" then you are very confused, or the problem yourself.

I’m proud of my Club’s heritage, it’s part of our DNA. I also see no need to wave an Irish or Union flag at a football match.

We need to work up a consensus rather than polarising the debate into all or nothing.

02-05-2019, 08:08 AM
I’m proud of my Club’s heritage, it’s part of our DNA. I also see no need to wave an Irish or Union flag at a football match.

We need to work up a consensus rather than polarising the debate into all or nothing.

Why do we need a consensus? Can’t a diverse group of fans have differing views ?

02-05-2019, 08:13 AM
This has escalated

02-05-2019, 08:42 AM
Before this thread is shuffled over to the Holy Ground I’m going to see if club management are up for a joint Zero Tolerance campaign. Then I’ll post up progress.

Possibly something to raise with the supporters reps, although not sure if they’ve taken office yet as seems the same radio silence as before.

02-05-2019, 08:46 AM
Possibly something to raise with the supporters reps, although not sure if they’ve taken office yet as seems the same radio silence as before.

Not strictly true.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?339357-KP-update

02-05-2019, 08:50 AM
Not strictly true.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?339357-KP-update

Ah, fair enough. I missed that thread, maybe we could have a sticky thread at the top solely for the fans reps. A promising start and I’ve done Kieran a bit of a disservice, apologies.

02-05-2019, 12:52 PM
"Pal" take it from me is a turn of phrase, I don't know if I can survive without your friendship, I'll just have to try :boo hoo:

As for your supporters branch comment .... FFS That was over 6 years ago and you talk about me having my cage rattled. I explained on that particular thread why I hadn't approached St Pats directly so don't try giving the impression on here that it was anything other than what it was at the time in order to point score … anybody who doubts that can view the thread for themselves on the Holy Ground …. "finally grown a pair" …. what are you saying, that I was afraid to approach St Pats in person in case I got a doing :faf:, is that what they usually do with folk who disagree with them like?

As for 'sensitive soul' ….. you need to re read the thread from the start and be honest about who that expression applies to here …. I wasn't the one who over reacted and turned this personal.

That having been said and in a no doubt vain attempt to turn this debate reasonable …. You seem to be under the impression that in my other post I was 'calling you out' I wasn't, the invite to ask for me in Tamson's was just what I said it was, to show you that I'm happy to defend my position on anything face to face, especially on the back of you saying I was a 'keyboard warrior' it doesn't mean anything other than a discussion …. So if its all the same to you the balls in your court, you know where I'll be.

Most of the above is you putting words in my mouth or making some ridiculous and laughable assumptions. Really not worth replying to any of it.

I'm a wee bit interested to see if you are as patronising, condescending and full of yourself in real life as you are on the computer but not that interested that i'm going to go out of my way to meet you where you want to meet.

Its you who wanted to talk so you come to me. You know where ill be.

02-05-2019, 02:54 PM

In football terms yes and that applies to both sides. So far as I go I genuinely couldn't care less what flags people want to wave, if the guy living next door to me had a union flag flying in his garden and the guy on the other side had a tricolour I couldn't find my interest in either with a microscope.

In the context of day to day life neither flag is sectarian in itself ….. Inside a football stadium the use of them is viewed in a sectarian context and there's a simple test to illustrate that … at the next Ugly sisters derby get someone to take a union flag into the Celtic end and someone to take a tricolour into the Sevco end … what would the comments from the supporters be? Would they say 'hi you must be a Rangers fan **** off' or 'hi you must be a Celtic fan **** off' … or would the shouts be 'Oi **** off ya orange *******' and 'Oi **** off ya fenian *******' accompanied by a kicking for both people?

Anyway … that's my last comment on this thread … I've tried to reasonably put forward the logical view as I see it in as articulate a way as I can and for the most part the very whitabootery which has perpetuated the sectarian problem in Scottish football has stumped my efforts .. my whole standpoint has been that I was never arguing about whether a flag is 'actually' sectarian or not, I was never disputing anybody's 'right' to fly any flag and my replies to people who have disagreed with me have been respectful though I wouldn't deny I have defended my POV enthusiastically.

All I was saying was that their discontinued use at football matches would be a first small step in addressing the problem. In response I have had personal abuse, been accused of being a keyboard warrior and now you are suggesting I have an anti Irish agenda when not a single one of my posts has suggested any such thing.

In spite of my utter devotion to Hibs for over 40 years and an enthusiasm for the club and the many sacrifices I have made over the years to follow it, which has pissed off two wives and a current partner in one way or another in that time, I have always been rational enough to remember that football is still supposed to be 'fun' and an enjoyable pastime, meaning if nothing else I was always able to rationalise even the worst times following Hibs as 'not the end of the world' and never let their fortunes interfere with my day to day life.

I have never had a problem standing up for or supporting my point of view on here and I have nearly 10,000 posts to prove it and never blocked or been blocked by anybody and in 12 years as a member have had one warning from the admins. But, as a result of this thread and the abuse and insinuations made about me on it I have received I can genuinely say that for the first time I can remember I could see Hibs and football in general far enough.

GGTTH.

HibeeHibernian4
02-05-2019, 03:02 PM

They're going to do this anyway. How little or much we mention our Irishness is irrelevant, we are viewed as fenian **** to them and always will be. So why on earth should we try to appease them?

HibeeHibernian4
02-05-2019, 03:05 PM

I take my Erin go Bragh flag to every European trip and some of the longer away days up at Aberdeen and the Highlands, am I trying to goad their fans? The Asteras fans looked incredibly riled at it last summer. :rolleyes:

HibeeHibernian4
02-05-2019, 03:09 PM

In theory, this is absolutely correct. In reality, you are placing way too much good faith on the Rangers (and to a lesser extent Hearts) support. Football thrives on whataboutery, and whether we do wave Irish-related flags or not is actually irrelevant to them, particularly Rangers.

Large sections of their support are downright fascist when it comes to lying about others. The Cup Final pitch invasion should tell you everything you need to know on that one. About a decade ago, after being told to stop using the word fenian by all and sundry, they suddenly started demanding that we all stopped using the word hun too.

You simply cannot 'get your house in order' against that mob, and since there is absolutely zero wrong with celebrating our heritage and Irish nationalism (it has no links to the far right dating back to the 70s, unlike British nationalism), we should not feel obliged to change our ways. They will carry on being bigots because that is what they are.

02-05-2019, 03:24 PM

The court heard that Rafiq, from Kelvinbridge, Glasgow, was heard shouting phrases which hit out at Catholics and the Pope.He's not a Muslim, he's of Asian descent. He supports anti-Muslim rhetoric of EDL. How can't therefore be a Muslim.

It's prejudicial to assume all brown skinned people with family from sub-continent are Hindu or Muslim. Plenty apostates, Christians and atheists, just like our largely 'post-Christian' society.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Weir07
02-05-2019, 03:47 PM
In theory, this is absolutely correct. In reality, you are placing way too much good faith on the Rangers (and to a lesser extent Hearts) support. Football thrives on whataboutery, and whether we do wave Irish-related flags or not is actually irrelevant to them, particularly Rangers.

Large sections of their support are downright fascist when it comes to lying about others. The Cup Final pitch invasion should tell you everything you need to know on that one. About a decade ago, after being told to stop using the word fenian by all and sundry, they suddenly started demanding that we all stopped using the word hun too.

You simply cannot 'get your house in order' against that mob, and since there is absolutely zero wrong with celebrating our heritage and Irish nationalism (it has no links to the far right dating back to the 70s, unlike British nationalism), we should not feel obliged to change our ways. They will carry on being bigots because that is what they are.

Not sure why you'd want to celebrate Irish nationalism unless you're actually Irish yourself, I agree with all the people who say our support should voluntarily not take the Tricolour or Erin go Bragh flags to Hibs matches, we're not doing it to appease any other team, merely showing we're well beyond goading other teams by displaying symbols that perpetuate religious or nationalistic divides. Why people from Scotland feel the need to take Northern\Southern Ireland flags to matches and get worked up about different versions of Christianity is beyond me.

HibeeHibernian4
02-05-2019, 04:06 PM
Not sure why you'd want to celebrate Irish nationalism unless you're actually Irish yourself, I agree with all the people who say our support should voluntarily not take the Tricolour or Erin go Bragh flags to Hibs matches, we're not doing it to appease any other team, merely showing we're well beyond goading other teams by displaying symbols that perpetuate religious or nationalistic divides. Why people from Scotland feel the need to take Northern\Southern Ireland flags to matches and get worked up about different versions of Christianity is beyond me.

Sorry, you're correct I phrased that poorly. Although FWIW everyone on my Mum's side of the family is Irish, not that it particularly matters.

I meant to say 'celebrating our heritage, which by extension is seen by some as celebrating Irish nationalism'.

04-05-2019, 05:51 PM

I feel to concentrate on Irish conflict does a major disservice to the many brave men and women (Hibs supporters or not) who fought and died in various just causes around the world. Obvious recent historic examples would be the Spanish Civil War and WWII

But to get back to your point, at least two of the leaders of the 1916 uprising were one time resident in Edinburgh.

I think it is worthy of reflection that very few of the leaders of the various uprisings in Ireland were catholic. It should also be acknowledged, when discussion Irish Republicanism, that the Irish Republican Brotherhood (the organisation that planned and executed the 1916 uprising) was an organisation that supported an independent Irish Republic but was distinctly non-sectarian with members of protestant faiths as well as catholic.

Just a few examples of the committed Christians but not not necessarily Catholics that you might reflect on are listed below. At least two of these men were one time residents of Edinburgh

Theobald Wolfe-Tone (protestant who led the 1798 uprising and died in custody)

Robert Emmet (Leader of the 1803 rising. A protestant in a well established land owning family who had a strong sense of social injustice. Executed at Kilmainham Gaol 1803)

John Daly (a leader in the 1867 rising. Abandoned Catholicism in favour of a broader tolerant Christianity and Socialism)

Thomas Clerk (married to John Daly's niece and believed to share his views)

Sean MacDiarmada (Inspired strongly by Emmit and shared his views on social injustice. Born in to a catholic family but more likely to have followed much the same track as Daly.

James Connolly (From a catholic family but a committed socialist)

Roger Casement (Anglican who reportedly converted to Catholicism on the day of his executed 1916)

We could go on.

It suits some people, in the modern day, to polarise the peoples involved in Irish Republicanism in to a Catholic v Protestant conflict. That was absolutely not the case, it was a conflict based on Social injustice against peoples of all religions. Now, in the later 20th century? Probably not.

All of that said and accepting that it is a serious subject, I do not believe that there is any place for any of this stuff in Scottish Football and certainly not in Hibernian Football Club.

I know I do not need to tell you this but it is worth repeating. Hibernian FC was established, as a SCOTTISH football club, to aid catholic people in poverty in Edinburgh and to help catholic people in Edinburgh to lift themselves out of poverty and despair. It was not established to support Irish Republicanism. Furthermore, over 100 years ago and relatively soon after its establishment, Hibernian FC firmly rejected any religious alignment and opened its doors to all. All of that happened before the Irish Tricolour was adopted as the flag of Ireland.

Personally I see no reason for it to appear at Easter Road.

04-05-2019, 05:58 PM
Couldn't care less about Ireland to be honest. Their flag has no meaning to me. I support Hibs. A Scottish club for almost 150 years. Dont buy this Irish heritage pish. Hibs are as Scottish as Loch Ness.

04-05-2019, 06:02 PM
As a tribute to those who want us to celebrate our heritage at games, I've decided to celebrate mine by taking a saltire to Ibrox tomorrow.

:saltireflag

percy veer
04-05-2019, 06:09 PM
Couldn't care less about Ireland to be honest. Their flag has no meaning to me. I support Hibs. A Scottish club for almost 150 years. Dont buy this Irish heritage pish. Hibs are as Scottish as Loch Ness.

You don't buy HIBERNIANS heritage? Lovely stuff

04-05-2019, 06:10 PM
As a tribute to those who want us to celebrate our heritage at games, I've decided to celebrate mine by taking a saltire to Ibrox tomorrow.

:clapper:

EI255
04-05-2019, 07:36 PM
Couldn't care less about Ireland to be honest. Their flag has no meaning to me. I support Hibs. A Scottish club for almost 150 years. Dont buy this Irish heritage pish. Hibs are as Scottish as Loch Ness.Loch Ness is American.

EI255
04-05-2019, 07:36 PM
Oh ouchy ouchy ouchy ouchy torn hamstring today [emoji22]

04-05-2019, 07:39 PM
Loch Ness is American.

No he’s not, he’s only 28!

HibeeHibernian4
04-05-2019, 11:11 PM

Good on you sir. :aok:

As a Scottish-Irish club, I believe both elements should be celebrated by all who wish to.

04-05-2019, 11:24 PM
I feel to concentrate on Irish conflict does a major disservice to the many brave men and women (Hibs supporters or not) who fought and died in various just causes around the world. Obvious recent historic examples would be the Spanish Civil War and WWII

But to get back to your point, at least two of the leaders of the 1916 uprising were one time resident in Edinburgh.

I think it is worthy of reflection that very few of the leaders of the various uprisings in Ireland were catholic. It should also be acknowledged, when discussion Irish Republicanism, that the Irish Republican Brotherhood (the organisation that planned and executed the 1916 uprising) was an organisation that supported an independent Irish Republic but was distinctly non-sectarian with members of protestant faiths as well as catholic.

Just a few examples of the committed Christians but not not necessarily Catholics that you might reflect on are listed below. At least two of these men were one time residents of Edinburgh

Theobald Wolfe-Tone (protestant who led the 1798 uprising and died in custody)

Robert Emmet (Leader of the 1803 rising. A protestant in a well established land owning family who had a strong sense of social injustice. Executed at Kilmainham Gaol 1803)

John Daly (a leader in the 1867 rising. Abandoned Catholicism in favour of a broader tolerant Christianity and Socialism)

Thomas Clerk (married to John Daly's niece and believed to share his views)

Sean MacDiarmada (Inspired strongly by Emmit and shared his views on social injustice. Born in to a catholic family but more likely to have followed much the same track as Daly.

James Connolly (From a catholic family but a committed socialist)

Roger Casement (Anglican who reportedly converted to Catholicism on the day of his executed 1916)

We could go on.

It suits some people, in the modern day, to polarise the peoples involved in Irish Republicanism in to a Catholic v Protestant conflict. That was absolutely not the case, it was a conflict based on Social injustice against peoples of all religions. Now, in the later 20th century? Probably not.

All of that said and accepting that it is a serious subject, I do not believe that there is any place for any of this stuff in Scottish Football and certainly not in Hibernian Football Club.

I know I do not need to tell you this but it is worth repeating. Hibernian FC was established, as a SCOTTISH football club, to aid catholic people in poverty in Edinburgh and to help catholic people in Edinburgh to lift themselves out of poverty and despair. It was not established to support Irish Republicanism. Furthermore, over 100 years ago and relatively soon after its establishment, Hibernian FC firmly rejected any religious alignment and opened its doors to all. All of that happened before the Irish Tricolour was adopted as the flag of Ireland.

Personally I see no reason for it to appear at Easter Road.

What a well informed post and a reminder to have a free mind .divide is given to us but we are stronger side by side

05-05-2019, 07:04 AM

As a Scottish-Irish club, I believe both elements should be celebrated by all who wish to.

We are a Scottish club. We could have been founded by Martians who moved here but we wouldn't be a Scittish-Mars club as we are geographically a club formed and based is in Scotland.

05-05-2019, 07:17 AM
We are a Scottish club. We could have been founded by Martians who moved here but we wouldn't be a Scittish-Mars club as we are geographically a club formed and based is in Scotland.

Exactly

05-05-2019, 07:24 AM

Scottish-Irish? That's the kind of nonsense you hear from Celtic fans. We're Scottish.

EI255
05-05-2019, 10:04 AM
Scottish-Irish? That's the kind of nonsense you hear from Celtic fans. We're Scottish.

Think everyone missing the point that was made by some posters. They talk of our history. Nothing wrong with celebrating our magnificent past. If you disagree then you disagree with our foundation and a great chunk of of history.

05-05-2019, 12:34 PM
Think everyone missing the point that was made by some posters. They talk of our history. Nothing wrong with celebrating our magnificent past. If you disagree then you disagree with our foundation and a great chunk of of history.

The problem with people “knowing their history” is that they very often do not. They take little bits of history and use those bits to create a wish list.
Our club is a wholly SCOTTISH club that was raised by Irishmen in Edinburgh to help raise charitable funds for the benefit of their disadvantaged compatriots in the city. It does not make our club Irish in any way shape or form.

HibeeHibernian4
05-05-2019, 12:37 PM

This is telling in the fact that you seem to think it's all just one big coincidence that we were formed by Irishmen.

No Ireland = no Hibernian Football Club. There'd have been a different Edinburgh club set up that we'd have probably supported, I'm sure, but if you're talking about Hibs, then yeah, Ireland is essential to our founding.

05-05-2019, 12:44 PM
The problem with people “knowing their history” is that they very often do not. They take little bits of history and use those bits to create a wish list.
Our club is a wholly SCOTTISH club that was raised by Irishmen in Edinburgh to help raise charitable funds for the benefit of their disadvantaged compatriots in the city. It does not make our club Irish in any way shape or form.

That’s twisted logic ..of course there is an Irish root heritage to our club ...it’s called Hibernian ..it was formed to Give young Irish catholic’s a game of football..and yes we are a proud Scottish club ..they are not Mutually exclusive...Let’s celebrate those wonderful People for forming the club we love - doesn’t mean we are not proud also about our Scottish roots and in no way is it sectarian ...

I wonder why people play down the Irish heritage of our club ??

05-05-2019, 01:25 PM
Exactly

There would be no Hibs without our Irish refugees and priests from Ireland. We are a multi-cultural open club based in Edinburgh. But never forget the founders and their heritage without them there would be no Hibs.

JP1302
05-05-2019, 03:25 PM
No, I'm Leith. However, couple of months back I did write a post in a thread about a girl I used to go out with from Uphall. First time I went to her house her parents were putting photos in an album from their day at the 'big walk' in Broxburn. They were very nice until I told them I'm a Hibs fan who was raised Catholic. They went a bit pale then. Never got asked back:greengrin

Plenty of maroon shirts in those photos too I remember.

Deep inside Orange County there :greengrin

Lived in Uphall for years , always found it to be more republican than loyalist .. Broxburn is more loyalist with the walks .. far worse towns in and around West Lothian for that

05-05-2019, 04:48 PM
That’s twisted logic ..of course there is an Irish root heritage to our club ...it’s called Hibernian ..it was formed to Give young Irish catholic’s a game of football..and yes we are a proud Scottish club ..they are not Mutually exclusive...Let’s celebrate those wonderful People for forming the club we love - doesn’t mean we are not proud also about our Scottish roots and in no way is it sectarian ...

Of course we should acknowledge them people who created the club we love. Of course they were 100% Irish or Irish descent. But the club they created was 100% Scottish. Playing in a Scottish league (eventually) and has no connection to Ireland. Nothing twisted about that. What is twisted is the small minority group within our support who wish to twist our history to somehow associate our club with the cause and troubles associated with Irish republicanism. My argument is that is a very serious issue deserving of sober debate but has no connection whatsoever to our football club and people who know the history of our club should know and respect that.

05-05-2019, 04:53 PM
Of course we should acknowledge them people who created the club we love. Of course they were 100% Irish or Irish descent. But the club they created was 100% Scottish. Playing in a Scottish league (eventually) and has no connection to Ireland. Nothing twisted about that. What is twisted is the small minority group within our support who wish to twist our history to somehow associate our club with the cause and troubles associated with Irish republicanism. My argument is that is a very serious issue deserving of sober debate but has no connection whatsoever to our football club and people who know the history of our club should know and respect that.

I’ve seen nothing in this thread supporting Irish republicanism....... the only mention that I can recall has been from you

Seen a number recognising our Irish heritage of our club, without any political tone whatsoever.

CathroMustStay
05-05-2019, 04:56 PM
There would be no Hibs without our Irish refugees and priests from Ireland. We are a multi-cultural open club based in Edinburgh. But never forget the founders and their heritage without them there would be no Hibs.

05-05-2019, 05:02 PM
We're called Hibernian, have the harp on our badge and play in green. That's a sufficient link to our roots for me. Everything else should be about the here-and-now, and the future.

Marvellous
05-05-2019, 05:06 PM

It's not for sale, it's an indisputable fact.

05-05-2019, 08:28 PM
This is telling in the fact that you seem to think it's all just one big coincidence that we were formed by Irishmen.

No Ireland = no Hibernian Football Club. There'd have been a different Edinburgh club set up that we'd have probably supported, I'm sure, but if you're talking about Hibs, then yeah, Ireland is essential to our founding.

I think you are the one missing the point, we could have been founded by penguins for all it matters, we are and were and will always be a Scottish club, playing in Scotland in the Scottish leagues. There is nothing in any way Irish about that. So calling us a Scottish-Irish club in factually not correct. If someone said we were a Scottish club that was mostly founded by some Irish folks then that would be factually correct.

05-05-2019, 08:31 PM

I suspect because a lot of folks don't really care that much as it isn't really relevant to what Hibs as a club mean to them? It makes no difference to me really other than we get to wear green and not manky maroon perhaps? 😁

05-05-2019, 10:34 PM
I’ve seen nothing in this thread supporting Irish republicanism....... the only mention that I can recall has been from you

Seen a number recognising our Irish heritage of our club, without any political tone whatsoever.

Not going to argue with that. If the issue was confined to one thread on Hibs.net the world would be a much better place. Sadly it isn’t. There are any number of threads that highlight the issue amongst a minority of our support. The current Hunbernian thread would be just one such example. If we can’t or won’t discus it then it has no chance of being resolved. The post was addressing the comment that suggested James Connolly was the only republican Hibs supporter who died in 1916 with a challenge to name another. I offered an answer to that question.
I thought it was relevant to the debate without being overly controversial.