View Full Version : Orange March

27-04-2019, 06:10 PM
Why should a town (Broxburn) be locked down for 4 hours because of this?

It boils my blood that this neanderthal pish is allowed, it's 2019 ffs.

Bangkok Hibby
27-04-2019, 07:03 PM

Agree...a ****ing poison

27-04-2019, 07:53 PM
Inadequate halfwits in fancy dress.

27-04-2019, 09:05 PM
Was it an Orange Walk, thought it was the annual band contest.

Used to be a Friday night but now shuts down the town on a Saturday afternoon.

Rain made me smile at the back of 4 though.

27-04-2019, 09:10 PM

Worse than that it’s allowed is that people want to do it in the first place. In 2019 ffs.

27-04-2019, 09:31 PM
(I'm a Private Hire car driver) I had a fare from Bridgend (*banjo territory) to Broxburn masonic club at lunchtime today.

The couple I transported were perfectly pleasant/sober - and yet I still found myself thinking "I wish they blockaded Broxburn every weekend!" 🤭

27-04-2019, 09:56 PM
They should be banned on the grounds that anyone who thinks that wearing a short sleeve shirt with a tie is acceptable is committing an unforgivable crime against fashion.

28-04-2019, 03:13 AM
I've lived here for 20 years and in that time the march has definitely been less invasive. Think its slowly dying out especially with all the new housing.

They used to close the whole road all day now it's just a short stretch of the main st for a few hours.

Anyway it peed down on them today. Always a bonus :greengrin

28-04-2019, 07:19 AM
I'd never seen an orange walk before moving to Airth, largely because I was able to avoid them. Imagine my surprise at being woken up at 6:30 by the pounding of drums to see them snaking their way through the village and literally right past my front door. I was livid.

Tom Devine (Scots Historian) said that this is sectarianisms dying breath before it eventually dies out in Scotland but judging by the ages of some of the participants I'm not so sure he's right. There seems to be a younger generation coming through that might not have been forecast 10-15 years ago.

28-04-2019, 07:53 AM
I'd never seen an orange walk before moving to Airth, largely because I was able to avoid them. Imagine my surprise at being woken up at 6:30 by the pounding of drums to see them snaking their way through the village and literally right past my front door. I was livid.

Tom Devine (Scots Historian) said that this is sectarianisms dying breath before it eventually dies out in Scotland but judging by the ages of some of the participants I'm not so sure he's right. There seems to be a younger generation coming through that might not have been forecast 10-15 years ago.

I think Devine is correct to an extent.

Since the restoration of the Scottish hierarchy in the 19th century Catholics have had a recognised governance in Scotland and, generally speaking, Catholics and Episcopalians can now worship openly and freely without intimidation or persecution. Again speaking generally there is societal equality and it's far less common for people to be denied education or work based on their religious background.

They have essentially been reduced to marching about the streets annoying people to demonstrate their 'superiority'. Trainspotting 2 sums it up nicely:

'The Battle of the Boyne was fought in 1690 between 2 rival claimants to the British and Irish thrones: James II, Catholic, and William of Orange, Protestant. The battle was decisive. The Protestants won. But 400 years later the uncompromising and victorious loyalists now feel estranged from the modern, secular United Kingdom. The sectarian songs have been banned but they still gather and remain loyal to the victory of 1690, and to a simpler, less tolerant time. But if anything else, history has down us very clearly these are people it is unwise to provoke.'

Anyway you' ll have to excuse me as I'm off to Mass now.

28-04-2019, 08:36 AM

Since the restoration of the Scottish hierarchy in the 19th century Catholics have had a recognised governance in Scotland and, generally speaking, Catholics and Episcopalians can now worship openly and freely without intimidation or persecution. Again speaking generally there is societal equality and it's far less common for people to be denied education or work based on their religious background.

They have essentially been reduced to marching about the streets annoying people to demonstrate their 'superiority'. Trainspotting 2 sums it up nicely:

'The Battle of the Boyne was fought in 1690 between 2 rival claimants to the British and Irish thrones: James II, Catholic, and William of Orange, Protestant. The battle was decisive. The Protestants won. But 400years later the uncompromising and victorious loyalists no feel estranged fr the modern, secular United Kingdom. The sectarian songs have been banned but they still gather and remain loyal to the victory of 1690, and to a simpler, less tolerant time. But if anything else, history has down us very clearly these are people it is unwise to provoke.'

As Sick Boy once said, "beautifully ****ing illustrated".

I bow to your superior analysis PB 👍🏻

28-04-2019, 01:40 PM
They should be banned on the grounds that anyone who thinks that wearing a short sleeve shirt with a tie is acceptable is committing an unforgivable crime against fashion.

You’d have to ban civil engineers as well, then.

28-04-2019, 03:02 PM
You’d have to ban civil engineers as well, then.I've worked with a few, and they tend to have the wee epaulette thingies on the shoulder of their shirts [emoji6]

The shirts are normally light blue or white, the non iron kind where you get 3 in a packet from M&S.

The more senior ones have pens sticking out the shirt pocket.

28-04-2019, 03:05 PM
I've worked with a few, and they tend to have the wee epaulette thingies on the shoulder of their shirts [emoji6]

The shirts are normally light blue or white, the non iron kind where you get 3 in a packet from M&S.

The more senior ones have pens sticking out the shirt pocket.

Only use M&S now that bhs and canda are bust

28-04-2019, 03:12 PM
Only use M&S now that bhs and canda are bustArmy surplus stores are the best, real ex - navy & pilot ones[emoji16]. Strut about the place looking like a Japanese general. Handy for orange marches.

28-04-2019, 05:03 PM
Moved down here from Angus in 2015 and completely baffled by the whole sectarian/religious divide thing, including the walks. I pity anyone who had to grow up with it.

Getting to the stage where we're family planning, and really don't want my future kids to grow up with the whole ridiculous "PROTESTANT OR CATHOLIC?" nonsense every day at school.

29-04-2019, 01:42 PM
I find them a fun competition these days - I got caught at one last year in West Calder and ended sitting in traffic as it walked along the main street - police held the traffic on our side of the road. It was a lovely sunny day, and I had my window down and dammit, the sound of those flutes and drums were ruining my enjoyment of Slipknot, so I turn up my car speaker as loud as it could go (it's a Bose-based audio system in my car and it can project one hell of a noise at volume 8 - I had it at 25). Turns out "musicians" in these bands can't continue to play when there's a really loud noise that's at a different pitch/rhythym and they get really angry. The police seem to find it hilarious though.

I decided to try the experiment again later in the summer when I got caught at one in Lanark (a little more dicey as it's definitely a "Rangers" town) - I was listening to Linkin Park this time, but the same effect was observed. They all stopped playing and drew me daggers as they walked past (including one delightful chap that roared something into my car as he walked by - of course, I couldn't make out quite what it was) :greengrin

For a while, I lived down in Surrey and Hampshire - I was in a tiny village just next to Petersfield - imagine my shock one summer's day when I went into Petersfield for groceries, only to be confronted by an orange walk! Turns out, it's one of the few towns in the UK outside of Northern Ireland where there's a statue of William of Orange, and so marchers descend on the place in the summer :rolleyes:

29-04-2019, 03:28 PM
I find them a fun competition these days - I got caught at one last year in West Calder and ended sitting in traffic as it walked along the main street - police held the traffic on our side of the road. It was a lovely sunny day, and I had my window down and dammit, the sound of those flutes and drums were ruining my enjoyment of Slipknot, so I turn up my car speaker as loud as it could go (it's a Bose-based audio system in my car and it can project one hell of a noise at volume 8 - I had it at 25). Turns out "musicians" in these bands can't continue to play when there's a really loud noise that's at a different pitch/rhythym and they get really angry. The police seem to find it hilarious though.

I decided to try the experiment again later in the summer when I got caught at one in Lanark (a little more dicey as it's definitely a "Rangers" town) - I was listening to Linkin Park this time, but the same effect was observed. They all stopped playing and drew me daggers as they walked past (including one delightful chap that roared something into my car as he walked by - of course, I couldn't make out quite what it was) :greengrin

For a while, I lived down in Surrey and Hampshire - I was in a tiny village just next to Petersfield - imagine my shock one summer's day when I went into Petersfield for groceries, only to be confronted by an orange walk! Turns out, it's one of the few towns in the UK outside of Northern Ireland where there's a statue of William of Orange, and so marchers descend on the place in the summer :rolleyes:There's a William of Orange statue in Brixham - it's where he sneaked into the country.

We seen a "well fed" bladdered hun in an orange away top in the local Wetherspoons last summer. He was also having his picture taken at the statue later on whilst raising his fist and singing no surrender.

Lovely chap, guess he was on some sort of pilgrimage.

29-04-2019, 03:40 PM

For a while, I lived down in Surrey and Hampshire - I was in a tiny village just next to Petersfield - imagine my shock one summer's day when I went into Petersfield for groceries, only to be confronted by an orange walk! Turns out, it's one of the few towns in the UK outside of Northern Ireland where there's a statue of William of Orange, and so marchers descend on the place in the summer :rolleyes:

http://www.speel.me.uk/sculptplaces/scplacepicp/petersfieldwmiii2.jpg

King Billy on his way to a Toga party. presumably? :dunno::greengrin

29-04-2019, 04:10 PM
http://www.speel.me.uk/sculptplaces/scplacepicp/petersfieldwmiii2.jpg

King Billy on his way to a Toga party. presumably? :dunno::greengrinNah, Billy was much more camp than that, bouffant wigs, make up,scent sprays, fake beauty spots and ladies robes, the whole 9 yards[emoji6]

StevesFamau5
30-04-2019, 03:00 PM

This is brilliant!!!! :top marks Nothing like some nu-metal sounds to drown them out.

I tried something similar a few years ago after being stuck near Bathgate but I was listening to deadmau5 instead, didn't have the same effect but it at least drowned them out. :greengrin

30-04-2019, 03:26 PM

Anything that allows folk to offend other sections of the populace is going to attract new enthusiasts by the score. You've only got to be in Glasgow on the big day to realise Devine is applying wishful thinking to a huge degree.

There are thousands upon thousands of the critters.

The Pointer
30-04-2019, 04:50 PM
Similar experience to @Sylar but in retrospect maybe pushing it a bit.

In my case I got stuck in a queue of traffic in Glasgow delayed by these blowfarts. I happened to be listening to Rage Against the Machine, which features some pretty deep base notes, and wound the window down while looking nonchalantly ahead. I turned the volume up as 'Big Base Drum' approached and was aware of his steely gaze penetrating my personal space as, for the first time he had competition and you could see his lip curling up, seething. The 'flautists' were truly Donald Dckd though and tootled away desperately trying, but failing, to maintain their swaggering discipline. It's the camp followers who I had to keep a wary eye on though but everything eventually passed safely.

They really don't like it up 'em and their inability to do anything when put off their stride gives you a warm, cozy feeling.

EI255
03-05-2019, 09:48 AM

horrendously dressed, the weirdos that they are.

Ban them all forever.

03-05-2019, 09:57 AM
You’d have to ban civil engineers as well, then.

And a fair few of the older generation of IT/tech people too. And Jack McConnell.

03-05-2019, 01:40 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/16130747.orange-order-in-scotland-is-on-the-brink-of-collapse-according-to-leading-historian-tom-devine/?ref=fbshr&fbclid=IwAR3nfkhwBr7OuxFxNYoQ7T6vtzjlglwbARJvOLNQ3 T5afPKp59a4q5oyoGg

THE “anti-Catholic” Orange Order is in terminal decline and can only survive if it abandons sectarianism, according to historian Tom Devine.

modern society can only hope so, it's the 21st century after all

31-05-2019, 09:04 AM
Sadly, this weekend heralds the start of "marching season".

There's a website that provides a calendar of dates/geographies out there but I won't post a link onto here. Just search for "band parades" if you're so inclined.

Alternatively, you can find details of any planned processions in your area by looking at your council website - sadly, I'm in West Lothian at some point this weekend and there are marches in Armadale, West Calder, Harthill and possibly Whitburn (I definitely read about a parade, I just can't recall if it's this weekend or next).

My "FTOO" metalcore/deathcore playlist is ready to go for the car :greengrin

31-05-2019, 11:03 AM
Sadly, this weekend heralds the start of "marching season".

There's a website that provides a calendar of dates/geographies out there but I won't post a link onto here. Just search for "band parades" if you're so inclined.

Alternatively, you can find details of any planned processions in your area by looking at your council website - sadly, I'm in West Lothian at some point this weekend and there are marches in Armadale, West Calder, Harthill and possibly Whitburn (I definitely read about a parade, I just can't recall if it's this weekend or next).

My "FTOO" metalcore/deathcore playlist is ready to go for the car :greengrin

"Snowflakes with milkshakes" should be the name of a new anti supremacist movement:greengrin

01-06-2019, 04:25 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-48480251

Probably one for the good news thread. The thought of a couple of hundred angry men sitting stewing at home hating people rather than doing it publicly certainly makes me smile.

01-06-2019, 06:48 AM
A good decision by the courts. I'm wondering why the orange lodges have decided to call off their re routed marches. 😷 they're still allowed to march, but just not past a Catholic church.👌

I hope Cosla take the message throughout Scotland.

murray26
01-06-2019, 03:32 PM
Is it not about time those Neanderthals gave up.. really wish they would just **** off.

01-06-2019, 09:55 PM
A good decision by the courts. I'm wondering why the orange lodges have decided to call off their re routed marches. 😷 they're still allowed to march, but just not past a Catholic church.👌

I hope Cosla take the message throughout Scotland.

The simple reason is that the whole point of the marches (a show of force to intimidate Scotland's catholic population) is defeated by not being allowed to pass Catholic Churches/areas.

The whole thing is a farce.

02-06-2019, 01:00 AM
Is it not about time those Neanderthals gave up.. really wish they would just **** off.

It's the elephant in the room. LGBT rights on the agenda :not worth, antisemitism uproar :not worth, rule out islamophobia :not worth, red card to racism :not worth

But anti catholic marches in Scotland - tolerated and acceptable.

What a ******g joke.

02-06-2019, 08:12 AM
You would think that they have already made their point every other week at Ibrox.

02-06-2019, 10:04 AM
Couldn't they all just mill about Ibrox for a couple of days like they did when they were trying to prevent the liquidation of the now defunct Glasgow rangers?

Hang around with like minded people, sing about who they hate then piss off home until the next time, having achieved the square root of F all except giving the rest of the post 17th century world a good laugh.

02-06-2019, 12:56 PM
Got caught at one (not listed on the parade website) today in Forth. They still don’t like metalcore bands at full volume 😂

02-06-2019, 09:04 PM
No orange marches in Leith. I think their used to be up until the 90's. One of my brothers had a flat on Albert Place and hung his large Hibs flag which just happened to have a harp on it out the window as the march went past. They were raging and he actually had to take it in by order of Lothian and Border's finest :greengrin

I'm not against them marching but it seems to be far too often and up and down the same old routes. Also, their is no way they should be marching past Roman Catholic churches. It seems common practice for the marchers to time the parades past the churches when there is a Mass on.

03-06-2019, 06:17 AM
One of my brothers had a flat on Albert Place and hung his large Hibs flag which just happened to have a harp on it out the window as the march went past. They were raging
Intolerance of musical instruments other than their own. Say No to instrumentalism :agree:

03-06-2019, 08:08 AM
I was going to start a thread about Trump's visit to the UK but I see we've already got one here.

03-06-2019, 02:06 PM
Broxburn is massively Orange, so it's no surprise. Plenty of good folk in such towns of course, but plenty of Loyalists tramps who cling to the 'this is oor country' mentality.

03-06-2019, 02:12 PM

'The Battle of the Boyne was fought in 1690 between 2 rival claimants to the British and Irish thrones: James II, Catholic, and William of Orange, Protestant. The battle was decisive. The Protestants won. But 400 years later the uncompromising and victorious loyalists now feel estranged from the modern, secular United Kingdom. The sectarian songs have been banned but they still gather and remain loyal to the victory of 1690, and to a simpler, less tolerant time. But if anything else, history has down us very clearly these are people it is unwise to provoke.'

Absolutely correct to say that institutional bigotry has been largely eradicated, but at street level it still persists in Scotland, as we all know. Progress has been made here too, but it will take another couple of generations (perhaps longer) before the anti-Catholic nonsense dissipates. I was raised Catholic, but, unlike yourself, I no longer have any religious belief. The west of Scotland is far worse, but we are not immune from sectarian nonsense, and yes, it does go both ways.

03-06-2019, 03:58 PM
Broxburn is massively Orange, so it's no surprise. Plenty of good folk in such towns of course, but plenty of Loyalists tramps who cling to the 'this is oor country' mentality.

It's certainly staunch, mental that it's just outside the Edinburgh boundaries.

wpj
04-06-2019, 12:45 AM
No orange marches in Leith. I think their used to be up until the 90's. One of my brothers had a flat on Albert Place and hung his large Hibs flag which just happened to have a harp on it out the window as the march went past. They were raging and he actually had to take it in by order of Lothian and Border's finest :greengrin

I'm not against them marching but it seems to be far too often and up and down the same old routes. Also, their is no way they should be marching past Roman Catholic churches. It seems common practice for the marchers to time the parades past the churches when there is a Mass on.

I hung a large Hibs flag from the scaffolding on Leith Walk in the 80s. Polis came up to the flat and told me to take it down. Provocation apparently

09-07-2019, 11:49 AM
I see the, grand orange lodge of Scotland, have said they hire in the bands to play during the marches, this after a young lady was assaulted and spat at whilst trying to cross the road through the marchers.

Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

09-07-2019, 12:07 PM
I see the, grand orange lodge of Scotland, have said they hire in the bands to play during the marches, this after a young lady was assaulted and spat at whilst trying to cross the road through the marchers.

Absolutely disgusting behaviour.

Is this their attempt ot deflect responsibility? That they merely hire bands full of knuckledraggers in para military uniforms to perform their KKKultyural tunes, bands full of morons that are no doubt fully paid up members of their tawdry, hateful organisation.

09-07-2019, 12:37 PM
This pathetic excuse for a human tries to stop a middle aged lady from crossing the street with her message bags. When he failed at that he spat at her. He should be arrested. Is spitting at someone not assault ? Filthy disgusting typical orange walker.

09-07-2019, 03:02 PM
Why is Broxburn so orange?

09-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Is this their attempt ot deflect responsibility? That they merely hire bands full of knuckledraggers in para military uniforms to perform their KKKultyural tunes, bands full of morons that are no doubt fully paid up members of their tawdry, hateful organisation.

I thought the organising Committee for the marches were responsible for everyone at their March. Where were their stewards, that they were bragging about having last year.

Did it not suit their agenda, that you can't disrespect the March, by crossing the lines.

Why is this allowed to happen?

09-07-2019, 05:53 PM
I have just seen the footage on the news. Beyond contempt. You can see that plenty of the other cowards saw it spitting, so surely he has been handed up to the police?

09-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Why is Broxburn so orange?

It's not.

09-07-2019, 06:34 PM
Every year the Grand Lodge trot out the same pish about the bands being hired guns. Who is responsible for hiring them? They don't just pitch up on the day and start playing beside the marches.

If the bands are solely responsible for playing the songs they shouldn't, spitting on people or whatever else then the obvious solution would be to stop hiring them. The reason they don't is obvious; they know their audience and the bands provide what they want. Search for 'under the bridge' on YouTube and there are countless videos of members of the OO giving it laldy when the bands belt out something like the Famine Song.

The Grand Lodge can protest (no pun intended) all they like but their members and the bands they hire are complicit in stirring up the anti social behaviour that surrounds their marches.

10-07-2019, 11:44 PM
It's not.

It ****ing is. Their annual 'big walk' is a full on hate-fest of neo-KKK, insular right wing bawbaggery. The lowest common denominator sums it up.

10-07-2019, 11:58 PM
It ****ing is. Their annual 'big walk' is a full on hate-fest of neo-KKK, insular right wing bawbaggery. The lowest common denominator sums it up.

You're no even worth debating with.

11-07-2019, 12:05 AM
It's not.

It is.

11-07-2019, 12:09 AM
You're no even worth debating with.

That's fine, if that's your view, but, having had first hand experience, I stand by my view of Broxburn's religious bigotry, as manifested each July. Its insularity can match anything in the central belt, in my opinion. If that hurts your feelings, too bad. Confront those who still live in the seventeenth century.

11-07-2019, 12:12 AM
https://www.change.org/p/glasgow-city-council-ban-orange-walks-in-scotland?recruiter=17282060&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=psf_combo_share_initial&utm_term=psf_combo_share_abi&recruited_by_id=8adabb80-7ea0-0130-7afc-3c764e04b838&utm_content=fht-14331660-en-gb%3Av5

11-07-2019, 02:32 AM
That's fine, if that's your view, but, having had first hand experience, I stand by my view of Broxburn's religious bigotry, as manifested each July. Its insularity can match anything in the central belt, in my opinion. If that hurts your feelings, too bad. Confront those who still live in the seventeenth century.

I've lived here nearly 20 years. There is 1 annual march which closes the main street for a couple of hours.

In the time I have lived here its become obvious that there is far less enthusiasm for this one and only march per year. Indeed I'd say I've yet to meet anyone here who doesn't think the whole thing is rather silly and pointless.

If you've had first hand experience of sectarianism here than I cant say much about that but to use it to say 'Broxburn is Orange' is pushing it too far in my experience.

Having seen the likes of West Calder, Boness, Bathgate and oh my Armadale in action I know for a fact that Broxburn is nowhere near as bad as them at this time of the year.

If it was I'd have moved out a long time ago.

You're entitled to your opinion. I absolutely disagree with it.

Andy Bee
11-07-2019, 03:32 AM
I've lived here nearly 20 years. There is 1 annual march which closes the main street for a couple of hours.

In the time I have lived here its become obvious that there is far less enthusiasm for this one and only march per year. Indeed I'd say I've yet to meet anyone here who doesn't think the whole thing is rather silly and pointless.

If you've had first hand experience of sectarianism here than I cant say much about that but to use it to say 'Broxburn is Orange' is pushing it too far in my experience.

Having seen the likes of West Calder, Boness, Bathgate and oh my Armadale in action I know for a fact that Broxburn is nowhere near as bad as them at this time of the year.

Oi, I'm from West Calder, 45 years and counting and I know a good 85% of the people here and I can categorically state that there's probably less than 100 people that way inclined if that,maybe a couple of decades ago there was a surge and they formed a flute band but most of those idiots have either grown up or deceased. I've no idea why they choose to walk our Main St, a few years ago there was apparently 108 bands marching down West Calder Main St and I've no idea why. I could understand if it was Harthill or Larkhall but I'm lost as to why West Calder. Obviously Broxburn has the same problem.

11-07-2019, 06:41 AM

It is not an annual walk, it’s a band contest.

Broxburn can be a bit East Lanarkshire rather than West Lothian but is not the Orange town you would like to present.

Large Celtic following and a nice dilution of Hibs fans who have moved into the area over the past 3 decades

11-07-2019, 07:38 AM
It's the elephant in the room. LGBT rights on the agenda :not worth, antisemitism uproar :not worth, rule out islamophobia :not worth, red card to racism :not worth

But anti catholic marches in Scotland - tolerated and acceptable.

What a ******g joke.

It's our "thing", like guns in America or fox hunting in England. A reactionary national pasttime that is somehow completely ignored because there are too many people in this country that would go ape**** (including in positions of power) if it was banned, despite it being wholly bad for everyone involved and not involved.

11-07-2019, 08:26 AM
Oi, I'm from West Calder, 45 years and counting and I know a good 85% of the people here and I can categorically state that there's probably less than 100 people that way inclined if that,maybe a couple of decades ago there was a surge and they formed a flute band but most of those idiots have either grown up or deceased. I've no idea why they choose to walk our Main St, a few years ago there was apparently 108 bands marching down West Calder Main St and I've no idea why. I could understand if it was Harthill or Larkhall but I'm lost as to why West Calder. Obviously Broxburn has the same problem.

My apologies. It's easy to make a generalisation of a whole town just because a small portion of the town cling to the past.

Their traditions are dying out and they know it.

11-07-2019, 10:44 AM
My apologies. It's easy to make a generalisation of a whole town just because a small portion of the town cling to the past.

Their traditions are dying out and they know it.

yes indeed, like you did by mentioning Bathgate, a poxy wee march a year and all of a sudden it's labelled orange county

11-07-2019, 12:07 PM
yes indeed, like you did by mentioning Bathgate, a poxy wee march a year and all of a sudden it's labelled orange county

My point exactly!

GORDONSMITH7
11-07-2019, 11:57 PM
I worked in SAI, Leith Docks from 1970 to 1990. These ****ing cavemen did in fact congregate on Leith Links. I was on 6-2pm one Saturday waiting for my amigo Jimmy a good Jambo to come in to let me away.The plant we were on was a continuous computerised process so you could not simply walk away. For early,back and nights the convention was to come in 30 minutes beforehand to let your mate away. I was going to see Hibs and thought it odd when Jim did not appear. At the back of 2 he stagerred in, his face battered tae **** and bloodied. He had the audacity to try to get to his work on time crossing at Duke Street only to be battered by morons in the parade. He said the cops did nowt.

I hate these bullying hard men *******s.
Scotland's Shame indeed.

BIG G

12-07-2019, 11:13 AM

I can’t attest to just what Broxburn is like, but Bathgate is nowhere near approaching “Orange”. I grew up in Bathgate, lived there for 18 years, and i can count on one hand the number of times i experienced an orange walk.

I always viewed Bathgate as a frontier before you get into places like Armadale and Harthill - sectarianism wasn’t an issue at any school or football club in Bathgate and as many people went to Easter Road, Tynecastle, Falkirk or Livingston each week to watch the football as they did through to Glasgow (because it was that much easier to get east before they built the new railway). Any town to the east of Armadale and Whitburn are typically not “orange” in my experience. I know West Calder had the big march last weekend but i mostly read about locals being pissed off about the entire thing rather than it being celebrated as some kind of cultural day out.

We had an orange walk in Lanark last week, which is the first time ive encountered one here. Despite it being a “Royal Burgh”, it’s mostly a rugby town with a mix of Motherwell, Sevco, Celtic, Hibs and Hearts fans: there wasn’t a crowd following it or anyone lining the streets to watch, it was mostly just ignored.

12-07-2019, 12:03 PM

I'm sure you are right. You live there and know more about it than I, and I wouldn't want to give the impression that every last man and his dug in Broxburn is a Hun/loyalist/Orangeman. However, there is, shall we say, a 'tradition' of staunchness there, along with its wee brother Uphall, though I'm sure there are many good folk too.:aok:

Anyway, it's the twelfth - the band will be on the high street :wink:

12-07-2019, 02:52 PM
I'm sure you are right. You live there and know more about it than I, and I wouldn't want to give the impression that every last man and his dug in Broxburn is a Hun/loyalist/Orangeman. However, there is, shall we say, a 'tradition' of staunchness there, along with its wee brother Uphall, though I'm sure there are many good folk too.:aok:

Anyway, it's the twelfth - the band will be on the high street :wink:

Theres no march today.

12-07-2019, 03:05 PM
Theres no march today.

Have I missed it? I've got my Sergeant Pepper outfit ready, a couple of bottles of Buckie, and an Ireland flag to burn. Now I'll have to drive all the way to Larkhall :greengrin

12-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Have I missed it? I've got my Sergeant Pepper outfit ready, a couple of bottles of Buckie, and an Ireland flag to burn. Now I'll have to drive all the way to Larkhall :greengrin

They are all over northern Ireland today.

12-07-2019, 03:12 PM
'We're not racist we just hate ******s' was the message of choice on a few of the bonfires in Northern Ireland last night. Coupled with the burning of Ireland, Vatican, Palestinian and Pride flags it's good to see everyone embracing cross community relations......

12-07-2019, 03:14 PM
'We're not racist we just hate ******s' was the message of choice on a few of the bonfires in Northern Ireland last night. Coupled with the burning of Ireland, Vatican, Palestinian and Pride flags it's good to see everyone embracing cross community relations......

So isn't just n****** they hate at all. Quelle surprise.

12-07-2019, 04:22 PM

****s sake! Cavemen.

Newry Hibs
12-07-2019, 05:46 PM
Just the four ambulance crews attacked last night and a 40% drop in fire brigade call outs in NI.

Just shows you doubters that they aren't a bad bunch really!

12-07-2019, 05:59 PM
Just the four ambulance crews attacked last night and a 40% drop in fire brigade call outs in NI.

Just shows you doubters that they aren't a bad bunch really!

The dregs of humanity, NH. Not all of them, but I am speaking of loyalist 'culture' as a whole. It is a poisonous, brazenly far right disgrace. Their behaviour would never be tolerated anywhere else in the UK. Yes we have its offshoots in Scotland, but the wanton violence wouldn't be allowed here.

12-07-2019, 07:06 PM
Broxburn has a very orange disposition.

The civilising effect of Edinburgh will eventually radiate outward and encompass this primitive outpost.

Curried
13-07-2019, 06:40 AM

https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers-of-hate/#more-96403Some of the imagery from last years event was quite staggering too :-(

https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers-of-hate/#more-96403

13-07-2019, 07:05 AM
https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers-of-hate/#more-96403Some of the imagery from last years event was quite staggering too :-(

https://wingsoverscotland.com/towers-of-hate/#more-96403

Holy mother of God!! It's impossible to sink lower.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/bonfire23.jpg (https://www.channel4.com/news/racist-flags-flown-northern-ireland-swastika-confederate)

13-07-2019, 08:16 AM
Where are the Eco-warriors now. Instead of lying in the streets they should be over in the six counties pulling apart every bonfire as 'each one is a cataclysmic disaster for the environment'.Why are they not banned ? Teach children to protect the planet but allow dozens of large bonfires to be lit. Lets see those Eco guys superglueing themselves to those.

Newry Hibs
13-07-2019, 08:42 AM
Where are the Eco-warriors now. Instead of lying in the streets they should be over in the six counties pulling apart every bonfire as 'each one is a cataclysmic disaster for the environment'.Why are they not banned ? Teach children to protect the planet but allow dozens of large bonfires to be lit. Lets see those Eco guys superglueing themselves to those.
You'd just get the jakeys sniffing their hands.

Newry Hibs
13-07-2019, 08:53 AM
Trying not to get into 'Whataboutery', but next month the nationalist internment bonfires will happen. Not as prevalent as the 12th but still has similar imagery of flag burning.

14-07-2019, 07:43 AM
Trying not to get into 'Whataboutery', but next month the nationalist internment bonfires will happen. Not as prevalent as the 12th but still has similar imagery of flag burning.

Are those held annually, NH? You must all be pyromaniacs over there. Can't they commemorate anything without torching stuff? :greengrin

Newry Hibs
14-07-2019, 07:31 PM
Are those held annually, NH? You must all be pyromaniacs over there. Can't they commemorate anything without torching stuff? :greengrin

Not sure when the bonfires started but it would be from early 1970s I would think. Every year in early August.
Used to be marked by women banging dustbin lids alerting the area. Probably still happens as a commemoration.

14-07-2019, 11:48 PM
https://twitter.com/GerardFitzsimo2

i just simply can't find the words to describe this terribly sad individual, astonishing

Newry Hibs
08-08-2019, 03:52 PM
Not sure when the bonfires started but it would be from early 1970s I would think. Every year in early August.
Used to be marked by women banging dustbin lids alerting the area. Probably still happens as a commemoration.

Replying to my own post, but it's the green sides turn for nonsense...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49277109

10-08-2019, 12:50 PM
Was out for a spin on the motorbike this morning and foolishly went through bathgate where the streets were all closed off as hundreds of obese knuckle draggers marched the streets playing their kkkulchural tunes.
Absolute state of them, they are an utter embarrassment.

10-08-2019, 12:55 PM
Was out for a spin on the motorbike this morning and foolishly went through bathgate where the streets were all closed off as hundreds of obese knuckle draggers marched the streets playing their kkkulchural tunes.
Absolute state of them, they are an utter embarrassment.

One of several reasons I was quite happy to move out of Bathgate

10-08-2019, 01:10 PM
One of several reasons I was quite happy to move out of BathgateI don't even know how or why I ended up there [emoji16]

10-08-2019, 06:41 PM
Replying to my own post, but it's the green sides turn for nonsense...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49277109

Link isn't working, mate.

10-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Link isn't working, mate.Link works fine mate

11-08-2019, 11:21 AM
Link works fine mate

Aye, working in the quote section. Not sure what happened there :greengrin

From that report, it seems many local residents don't want these August bonfires, but a group of youngsters are determined to go ahead, using the fires as cover for violence. Is their reasoning as inane as "they (loyalists) have bonfires, so we need them"? I don't see the connection between commemorating internment and lighting bonfires; surely there are more constructive and educational methods.

11-08-2019, 12:18 PM
Aye, working in the quote section. Not sure what happened there :greengrin

From that report, it seems many local residents don't want these August bonfires, but a group of youngsters are determined to go ahead, using the fires as cover for violence. Is their reasoning as inane as "they (loyalists) have bonfires, so we need them"? I don't see the connection between commemorating internment and lighting bonfires; surely there are more constructive and educational methods.

While we're on it, what's the connection between Guy Fawkes and bonfires? He was sentenced to be hung drawn and quartered, not burnt at the stake.

11-08-2019, 12:23 PM
While we're on it, what's the connection between Guy Fawkes and bonfires? He was sentenced to be hung drawn and quartered, not burnt at the stake.

Bonfires Pre date guy fawkes - originally it was to ward off evil spirits...only after gunpowder plot where they renamed “guys” which by then was a derogatory term.... it subsequently became
Linked to the failed plot

11-08-2019, 12:26 PM
While we're on it, what's the connection between Guy Fawkes and bonfires? He was sentenced to be hung drawn and quartered, not burnt at the stake.Something to do with his role in the gunpowder plot, traditionally they would burn his effigy on bon fires and let off fireworks on 5th November, with regards his death by hanging, he was kinda lucky in a way, he avoided hanging by falling from the scaffold breaking his neck in the process 😆

11-08-2019, 12:42 PM

I think the government of the day ordered the lighting of bonfires after the plot was uncovered, as a celebration. It has been maintained since.

11-08-2019, 12:43 PM
Something to do with his role in the gunpowder plot, traditionally they would burn his effigy on bon fires and let off fireworks on 5th November, with regards his death by hanging, he was kinda lucky in a way, he avoided hanging by falling from the scaffold breaking his neck in the process 😆

That was the easy part. He'd been tortured for days beforehand. Death must have been a relief.

11-08-2019, 01:54 PM
Bonfires Pre date guy fawkes - originally it was to ward off evil spirits...only after gunpowder plot where they renamed “guys” which by then was a derogatory term.... it subsequently became

Bonfires, just a vanity project.

19-08-2019, 12:01 PM
Dunkeld at the weekend :) get these marches off our streets

19-08-2019, 12:09 PM
Dunkeld at the weekend :) get these marches off our streets

There is a lodge in the square. I think this is a procession to the lodge rather than a full blown hatefest. Not that I condone it. :wink:

19-08-2019, 12:20 PM
There is a lodge in the square. I think this is a procession to the lodge rather than a full blown hatefest. Not that I condone it. :wink:

yeah i know, and a tiny little 'protest' but at least they got their message across :)

19-08-2019, 12:34 PM
yeah i know, and a tiny little 'protest' but at least they got their message across :)

Where did you find the photo out of curiosity? It looks like it is taken from outside a shop that I have stuff for sale in. Also, if it was at the weekend, there were both SNP and Green stands in the town.

19-08-2019, 12:40 PM
Where did you find the photo out of curiosity? It looks like it is taken from outside a shop that I have stuff for sale in. Also, if it was at the weekend, there were both SNP and Green stands in the town.

saw it on FB yesterday, i'l look it out for you later this afternoon :aok:

https://www.facebook.com/857558380942088/photos/a.1025670517464206/2693450350686206/?type=3&theater

19-08-2019, 01:34 PM

Ignore them, apparently they'll go away if left alone.

BS44
30-08-2019, 07:59 PM
Celtic and Rangers fans warming up for Sunday at a republican march in Govan tonight

30-08-2019, 08:04 PM

That’s right. Part of the Samhain festival.

30-08-2019, 09:28 PM
Celtic and Rangers fans warming up for Sunday at a republican march in Govan tonight

Kicked off. Full riot police deployed with horses etc. Govan Road closed off by the police.

30-08-2019, 09:29 PM

BBC reporting serious disorder and police laying the blame at a 'disruptive' loyalist counter demonstration.

31-08-2019, 07:59 AM
Is this march any different to the orange marches? It’s not done out of any celebration, it’s just tribal sectarianism. Bizarre that’s still the way of the world in Glasgow in 2019, glad we live a relatively sheltered life in Edinburgh.

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 08:05 AM
Is this march any different to the orange marches? It’s not done out of any celebration, it’s just tribal sectarianism. Bizarre that’s still the way of the world in Glasgow in 2019, glad we live a relatively sheltered life in Edinburgh.

I suspect it's as much about drawing police attention away from other things, as anything else. Crates a smoke screen for other dodgy activities.

31-08-2019, 08:07 AM
BBC reporting serious disorder and police laying the blame at a 'disruptive' loyalist counter demonstration.
Neandrathals.

31-08-2019, 08:20 AM

It still baffles me to this day how set apart Edinburgh is from Glasgow in that respect.

You could actually set the counter at 5 miles outside Edinburgh, the diversity is so different for such a small distance.

31-08-2019, 08:43 AM
It still baffles me to this day how set apart Edinburgh is from Glasgow in that respect.

You could actually set the counter at 5 miles outside Edinburgh, the diversity is so different for such a small distance.

Memory could be dodgy but I'm certain the James Connolly march originated in Edinburgh as I remember then going along Niddrie Mains Road. Jim Slaven and co were behind them and I guess maybe still are.

Just moved to Glasgow for a bigger audience.

31-08-2019, 09:10 AM
Memory could be dodgy but I'm certain the James Connolly march originated in Edinburgh as I remember then going along Niddrie Mains Road. Jim Slaven and co were behind them and I guess maybe still are.

Just moved to Glasgow for a bigger audience.

Aye, I think the last big Connolly march in Edinburgh was 2013.

31-08-2019, 09:26 AM
Why were they allowed to walk around Govan in the 1st place

31-08-2019, 09:35 AM
Ignore them, apparently they'll go away if left alone.

If the alternative to ignoring them is to mob up , go out swinging and start a massive riot then yeah im all for ingnoring them .

BS44
31-08-2019, 11:42 AM

Doesn't answer your question but Govan has had in the past a large Irish population. Supposedly Celtic took the open top bus with the European Cup through Govan in 67

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 12:00 PM
Doesn't answer your question but Govan has had in the past a large Irish population. Supposedly Celtic took the open top bus with the European Cup through Govan in 67

There was no open topped bus in 1967. There was a lorry and it went through the East End to Parkhead.

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 12:03 PM

Because the other side is allowed to walk in areas that are provocative, as well. Say what you like about the weedgies, when it comes to fair play on bigotry they are centuries ahead of us.

BS44
31-08-2019, 04:29 PM
There was no open topped bus in 1967. There was a lorry and it went through the East End to Parkhead.

Okay. The European Cup was supposedly taken to a area in Govan called Wine Alley

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 05:05 PM
Okay. The European Cup was supposedly taken to a area in Govan called Wine Alley

Right, that's an interesting story, and I haven't heard it before. Sounds like an urban myth, to be honest.

You did make me curious though, and as far as I can find out, the cup did not go through Govan, they crossed the Clyde at the Clyde Tunnel.

The ensuing bus trip through the streets of Glasgow was just amazing. Contrary to what some people have said since about how good we felt passing Ibrox with the European Cup, we did not go that route. Indeed, the itinerary had been laid out in the evening papers. We headed towards the city from the airport, cut north through the Clyde Tunnel, then travelled east along Argyle Street and the Gallowgate to Parkhead Cross, came down Springfield Road and then west along London Road to the driveway up to the front door of Celtic Park.

https://www.football50.co.uk/26th-may-1967-homecoming/

Wine Alley (Moorepark) seems to be quite a bit off the route - but as the M8 was not there in 1967, I wonder if they could have made a diversion?

Some stuff here about the diversity of Govan, https://thecelticstar.com/green-white-govan-part-1-history-edition/

31-08-2019, 06:40 PM

but i thought the union/loyalist filth didn't like marches, well, they didn't like last nights march anyway....or ANY marches but their sectarian ones

Cataplana
31-08-2019, 07:06 PM

but i thought the union/loyalist filth didn't like marches, well, they didn't like last nights march anyway....or ANY marches but their sectarian ones

Derby March, can't see how Rangers can be blamed for that - other than dressing their players in Orange strips, etc.

01-09-2019, 03:23 PM
Derby March, can't see how Rangers can be blamed for that - other than dressing their players in Orange strips, etc.

where do i blame sevco :confused:

Cataplana
01-09-2019, 04:47 PM
where do i blame sevco :confused:

Probably best not to do it in Scotland.

EI255
01-09-2019, 07:44 PM

Just moved to Glasgow for a bigger audience.You'll find it wasn't the James Connolly Society march. It was the James Connolly Republican flute band. Nothing to do with the JCS. Quite separate entities. In fact, I'm quite sure that the JCS would have nothing to do with JCRFB. People should do some homework before posting such nonsense.

EI255
01-09-2019, 07:47 PM
Aye, I think the last big Connolly march in Edinburgh was 2013.As above. It wasn't the JCS. It was a completely different group, the James Connolly Republican flute band, absolutely nothing to do with the JCS!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

01-09-2019, 09:35 PM
As above. It wasn't the JCS. It was a completely different group, the James Connolly Republican flute band, absolutely nothing to do with the JCS!

Ok, thanks for the correction.

01-09-2019, 10:07 PM
As above. It wasn't the JCS. It was a completely different group, the James Connolly Republican flute band, absolutely nothing to do with the JCS!

**** off, we're the People's Front of Judea.

1875godsgift
02-09-2019, 12:14 AM
You'll find it wasn't the James Connolly Society march. It was the James Connolly Republican flute band. Nothing to do with the JCS. Quite separate entities. In fact, I'm quite sure that the JCS would have nothing to do with JCRFB. People should do some homework before posting such nonsense.

To be fair, if you're not in the know, it's probably quite easy to get the two mixed up!

The poster did say his memory may be a bit hazy :wink:

Curried
02-09-2019, 06:00 AM
Sevco leading from the front on stamping out sectarianism at yesterday’s infirm match:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDZJQwwWwAAY8Zn.jpg

02-09-2019, 07:28 AM
Sevco leading from the front on stamping out sectarianism at yesterday’s infirm match:

Deary me. There is no hope for these cretins.

02-09-2019, 08:30 AM

Govan had a large Irish population. I'm assuming alot settled there for work in the shipyards.

Aye, I think the last big Connolly march in Edinburgh was 2013.

2006 I think was it not? The last Saturday James Connolly commemoration I was at (think they're midweek now) there was 2 bands and no more than a dozen walkers behind them. The static gathering organised by JCS had around 150-200 maybe.

Cataplana
02-09-2019, 09:01 AM

I must say it is the worst attempt at a pre march mascot I have seen. They should have stuck with Broxi Bear, that thing is just going to frighten kids.

08-09-2019, 05:54 PM
a force for good, it's quite scary what must go on in their tiny little deranged minds :rolleyes:

08-09-2019, 06:24 PM
a force for good, it's quite scary what must go on in their tiny little deranged minds :rolleyes:

5000 year union?????

08-09-2019, 06:41 PM
5000 year union?????

yep, i have no idea what goes through their heads, what fantasies they have, total loons

08-09-2019, 06:44 PM
5000 year union?????

Tbf to them if you take it back to the union of the crowns and the plantation of Ulster they are only about 4600 years out. When you only have 12 fingers to count on arithmetic probably isn’t a strong point.

09-09-2019, 05:43 PM
Different cheek, same arse, what on earth are Irish republicans marching in Glasgow for? Nil By Mouth claimed more marches concerning Irish politics took place in Glasgow than Belfast, what on earth is that all about?

09-09-2019, 06:56 PM
Different cheek, same arse, what on earth are Irish republicans marching in Glasgow for? Nil By Mouth claimed more marches concerning Irish politics took place in Glasgow than Belfast, what on earth is that all about?Did nil by mouth bother to mention that over 95% of these marches are anti catholic ones?
My view is that all of them should be banned but that nil by mouths strategy of trying to equalise the issue plays right into the hands of the whatabouterers.

This is also the same nil by mouth who felt the need to accuse us of having significant sectarian issues purely because hearts fans behaviour merited them being included in the same bracket as the huns.

09-09-2019, 07:04 PM
Did nil by mouth bother to mention that over 95% of these marches are anti catholic ones?
My view is that all of them should be banned but that nil by mouths strategy of trying to equalise the issue plays right into the hands of the whatabouterers.

This is also the same nil by mouth who felt the need to accuse us of having significant sectarian issues purely because hearts fans behaviour merited them being included in the same bracket as the huns.

I made this point on another thread. The pretence that there is even close to an equilibrium in the number of marches by each 'side' is just ridiculous. Republican marches, daft as I think they are, are outnumbered by about 25 to 1 every year.

There's a very deliberate decision being made to report and comment on the issue so as to give the impression of a balanced view. The reality is the reporting, and the stance of Nil By Mouth along with others, paints a completely false picture and is anything but balanced.

09-09-2019, 07:08 PM
I made this point on another thread. The pretence that there is even close to an equilibrium in the number of marches by each 'side' is just ridiculous. Republican marches, daft as I think they are, are outnumbered by about 25 to 1 every year.

There's a very deliberate decision being made to report and comment on the issue so as to give the impression of a balanced view. The reality is the reporting, and the stance of Nil By Mouth along with others, paints a completely false picture and is anything but balanced.The media, and especially the bbc, using that sort of narrative doesn't surprise me in the slightest but I struggle to see what the upside is for nil by mouth to adopt this stance. The net effect is a complete lack of credibility.

Cataplana
09-09-2019, 08:21 PM
The media, and especially the bbc, using that sort of narrative doesn't surprise me in the slightest but I struggle to see what the upside is for nil by mouth to adopt this stance. The net effect is a complete lack of credibility.

I think the main man in NBM brings experience of how this was managed in Ulster. He sounds like he understands the way to manage it.

For me, the approach has to be about damage limitation, and it appears that involves giving some people more tolerance than they show to others.

09-09-2019, 08:47 PM
The media, and especially the bbc, using that sort of narrative doesn't surprise me in the slightest but I struggle to see what the upside is for nil by mouth to adopt this stance. The net effect is a complete lack of credibility.

I get the impression NBM are determined to present the same narrative, that in both football and society there is a comparable problem from all sides. Anyone who has watched Scottish football, or just lived in the country, for any length of time is aware that is simply not true.

A complete lack of credibility is an apt phrase to use when discussing NBM.

09-09-2019, 10:56 PM
"Nil By Mouth claimed more marches concerning Irish politics took place in Glasgow than Belfast"

Top Tip - Direct all marches concerning Irish politics to the Republic Of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Nothing to do with Scotland.
Alternatively charge these groups for the policing costs involved if they think they really must have marches relating to Irish politics in Scotland.

The policing costs for these marches in Scotland is astronomical. A massive waste of scarce public money which could be used for more important things.
Publicly release the cost to the public purse of all the marches for this year. Ban the marches and next year put the same amount of additional public money into the existing budget for the social care of old folk in our communities.

The govt are like the SFA & SPFL are to football. Just can't get the job done of removing the poison of sectarian behaviour from Scottish society. The Scottish Govt should get UEFA in to show them how it's done.

1875godsgift
10-09-2019, 12:36 AM
"Nil By Mouth claimed more marches concerning Irish politics took place in Glasgow than Belfast"

Top Tip - Direct all marches concerning Irish politics to the Republic Of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Nothing to do with Scotland.
Alternatively charge these groups for the policing costs involved if they think they really must have marches relating to Irish politics in Scotland.

The policing costs for these marches in Scotland is astronomical. A massive waste of scarce public money which could be used for more important things.
Publicly release the cost to the public purse of all the marches for this year. Ban the marches and next year put the same amount of additional public money into the existing budget for the social care of old folk in our communities.

The govt are like the SFA & SPFL are to football. Just can't get the job done of removing the poison of sectarian behaviour from Scottish society. The Scottish Govt should get UEFA in to show them how it's done.

You can't really do that though, can you?

'Orange march? £100,000 please'

'Republican march? £100,000 please'

'Pro-Brexit march? £100,00 please'

'Anti-Poll Tax march? £100,000 please'

'We Hate the Police and Want to Pish in their Boots march? £10 Million + laundry expenses please'

In the same vein, how can you differentiate which issues are relevant to Irish politics or Scottish politics? Who's going to decide? You? Me? A Court of Law for each individual march?

What about marches involving English politics? Or global issues?

'Fires in the Amazonian Rain Forest? Well, you'd better take your march to Brazil, pal.'

Or maybe just ban all marches altogether?

10-09-2019, 07:31 AM
Get the groups concerned to pay for the policing. I don't see why the good people of Glasgow should have to contribute a penny so that morons in Rangers and Celtic strips can noise each other up.

10-09-2019, 07:11 PM
Did nil by mouth bother to mention that over 95% of these marches are anti catholic ones?

It was an item on the new last night, no need to pagger me for it! Tbh I’d never heard NBM but the main point I was trying to make was the numbers of marches relating to Irish politics (and took that to mean both sides of the divide) taking place in Glasgow outnumbered Belfast.

Totally agree that whatabouttery is compounded by this issue.

10-09-2019, 07:12 PM

They reckoned to police this individual event and its counter even that it generated cost £300,000

12-09-2019, 03:04 PM
Some Orange Order guys complaining about the ban on sectarian marches this weekend, in Glasgow, and saying that they hoped LGBT Pride would be banned too.

My dears, come along to Pride - you're already celebrating a gay king, and you are more dressed up than many Drag Queens 😘

12-09-2019, 03:14 PM
Some Orange Order guys complaining about the ban on sectarian marches this weekend, in Glasgow, and saying that they hoped LGBT Pride would be banned too.

My dears, come along to Pride - you're already celebrating a gay king, and you are more dressed up than many Drag Queens 😘

Maybe they could agree to let them have their sectarian march as long as they substitute their sash's for feather boa's and wear assless leather chaps

12-09-2019, 03:44 PM
well done glesca for at least a temporary ban on these marches

12-09-2019, 03:46 PM

Aye, blooming snp stopping folks having fun.

12-09-2019, 04:01 PM

Is that all marches: Republican, Loyalist, Orange etc?

13-09-2019, 09:48 AM
Is that all marches: Republican, Loyalist, Orange etc?

:agree: five(or is it six) were planned for this weekend, 14 are planned for the rest of this month alone

the grand knobber of the orange order in scotland blames 'the nationalist council' for not allowing his bigoted sectarian s*umbags to march, he's just not getting it, indeed he is "Bewildered"

he likes to use the word 'Democracy' though....his and his followers type of selective 'Democracy'

13-09-2019, 10:05 AM
:agree: five(or is it six) were planned for this weekend, 14 are planned for the rest of this month alone

the grand knobber of the orange order in scotland blames 'the nationalist council' for not allowing his bigoted sectarian s*umbags to march, he's just not getting it, indeed he is "Bewildered"

he likes to use the word 'Democracy' though....his and his followers type of selective 'Democracy'

If they are going to ban all marches connected to Irish politics, it has to involve those which celebrate an Irish battle in 1690. Anything else is a partial ban and will create accusations of unfairness. There is a civil liberties issue about banning marches; perhaps it will end up in the courts?

13-09-2019, 02:23 PM
Orange Order are protesting the morn outside the empty glasgow city chambers. Protesting being banned from marching because they protested others from marching:cb

13-09-2019, 02:29 PM
Orange Order are protesting the morn outside the empty glasgow city chambers. Protesting being banned from marching because they protested others from marching:cb

No point being a Protestant if you're never going to protest. :greengrin

13-09-2019, 02:38 PM
Going on a march, whatever your message, occasionally - fine.

Going on multiple marches everywhere in the country, every year, deliberately through neighbourhoods and past places of worship of the type of Christianity you hate to be deliberately inflammatory - taking the ****ing piss. Give them ONE march, in Glasgow, in a ****ing park somewhere. Not through residential streets everywhere in the central belt whether the local population like it or not.

Myself and my partner are getting to the point where we're looking for property and having grown up in the north east I never witnessed any of this **** until I moved down here. We're now specifically looking for towns/villages that DON'T have one/five million of these marches every summer because my children will NOT grow up with this pish.

13-09-2019, 03:35 PM
Protestants against discrimination. :faf:

Oh the ****ing irony.

https://mobile.twitter.com/spad2018/status/1122089486026825734

13-09-2019, 03:55 PM

Oh the ****ing irony.

'And he was satisfactory with our protest'.

No further words needed from me.

Cataplana
13-09-2019, 05:00 PM

Oh the ****ing irony.

Wait a minute. Are they saying they held a meeting and that broke up just as the Repubimarch started, and they found themselves having to walk beside it to get home?

That's far from satisfied.

13-09-2019, 05:17 PM
They used to have one that went up Clerk St near where I stayed. This half-wit hit me (9) with a stick as I ran across the road. Had to ask my dad what it was all about. ‘ Bad people son. Probably saw ur Hibs top’.

13-09-2019, 05:29 PM

Oh the ****ing irony.

https://mobile.twitter.com/spad2018/status/1122089486026825734Have you seen the nick of them. They look nothing like the folk I see on their way to church of a sunday. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190913/3cb0f4050c3c5d32da60326d542fcf97.jpg

13-09-2019, 05:43 PM
Was it that mob or another group of fandans who put out the statement that mentioned 'Protestant atheists'?

13-09-2019, 07:31 PM
Meanwhile, the "real" protestants in the church of Scotland come out in support of the ban.

Well done to them.

13-09-2019, 08:59 PM
They used to have one that went up Clerk St near where I stayed. This half-wit hit me (9) with a stick as I ran across the road. Had to ask my dad what it was all about. ‘ Bad people son. Probably saw ur Hibs top’.

Every year we get them walking across the top of our street in Musselburgh. The route is down Newbigging passing the Catholic church on the way - just by chance of course. I think they then head into Edinburgh for a swally, before reconvening their walk along Newbigging later in the day, just in time to to concide with Saturday evening Mass - a golden opportunity to intimidate the people they hate.

****bags of the highest order although the good news is that their numbers are dwindling by the year.

13-09-2019, 09:02 PM
Have you seen the nick of them. They look nothing like the folk I see on their way to church of a sunday. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190913/3cb0f4050c3c5d32da60326d542fcf97.jpg

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkOxymorons, everyone of them.

13-09-2019, 09:55 PM

Oh the ****ing irony.

They no fine well what they're doing, pricks. Neanderthal pricks.

Boils my pish.

Cataplana
14-09-2019, 07:03 AM
Every year we get them walking across the top of our street in Musselburgh. The route is down Newbigging passing the Catholic church on the way - just by chance of course. I think they then head into Edinburgh for a swally, before reconvening their walk along Newbigging later in the day, just in time to to concide with Saturday evening Mass - a golden opportunity to intimidate the people they hate.

****bags of the highest order although the good news is that their numbers are dwindling by the year.

That's nothing, have you seen what happens if you misbehave in that church?

Theres a guy nailed to a cross outside. No wonder the Orangemen are frightened to walk past it.

Who runs that outfit, Arthur Thomson?

14-09-2019, 07:21 AM
Meanwhile, the "real" protestants in the church of Scotland come out in support of the ban.

Well done to them.

I wouldn't have expected anything else.

I'm not sure if irony is the right word but I certainly find it interesting that in my lifetime my experience of the active Christian community in Scotland, certainly among the mainstream denominations, is one of dialogue, cooperation and respect with and towards each other.

I'm not entirely sure where these bams parading about the streets fit in but they are anything but reflective of the Protestants (or rather fellow Christians) that I know.

ACLeith
14-09-2019, 08:24 AM
I wouldn't have expected anything else.

I'm not sure if irony is the right word but I certainly find it interesting that in my lifetime my experience of the active Christian community in Scotland, certainly among the mainstream denominations, is one of dialogue, cooperation and respect with and towards each other.

I'm not entirely sure where these bams parading about the streets fit in but they are anything but reflective of the Protestants (or rather fellow Christians) that I know.
100% spot on PB. That's my experience as well, from the so called "other" side.

14-09-2019, 10:09 AM
Was it that mob or another group of fandans who put out the statement that mentioned 'Protestant atheists'?

Some of the bigots call themselves 'cultural Protestants', meaning they in no way practice Christianity, never set foot in a kirk nor pick up a Bible; however, they love a sash bash, follow the Orange walks and hate Catholics. They try to intellectualise their bigotry by describing Scotland as a country of Protestant values which must be defended, though they never define exactly what that means. Call me a cynic, but I would say the bams with the banner fall into that category. As you say, such types do not represent most Protestants, certainly not the regular churchgoers. The bigots merely hide behind the word Protestant, when they are really just anti-Catholic, the two being very different.

14-09-2019, 10:47 AM
That's nothing, have you seen what happens if you misbehave in that church?

Theres a guy nailed to a cross outside. No wonder the Orangemen are frightened to walk past it.

Who runs that outfit, Arthur Thomson?

Curried
14-09-2019, 11:40 AM
Sevco fans for independence ?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EEawoMiXYAA8Gp7.jpg

14-09-2019, 12:17 PM

What a disgusting bunch of people. I am very proud to say that I am pretty much diametrically opposed to everything they stand for. Still doesn't make me want to march about dressed up like a toy soldier playing a tin whistle though. What sad sad lives these people have

14-09-2019, 12:26 PM

'What dae we wan?'
'Oor kulchur'
'When dae we wan it?'
'Roon aboot 1690'

15-09-2019, 08:41 AM

Lambeg Mode :faf:

19-09-2019, 09:38 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-49760473

Where to start with this?

19-09-2019, 10:00 PM

Here's where to start. Tell them they can't march, then uphold the law if there is any violence or disorder that follows.

20-09-2019, 06:46 AM

Where this is heading is a ban on Republican marches and the go ahead for loyalist marches. Not through any bias by Glasgow council I might add, but due threats of violence and intimidation by the loyalists if they don't get their way.

No surprise there then.

20-09-2019, 05:34 PM

20-09-2019, 07:31 PM
Where this is heading is a ban on Republican marches and the go ahead for loyalist marches. Not through any bias by Glasgow council I might add, but due threats of violence and intimidation by the loyalists if they don't get their way.

No surprise there then.

There's a word for that, but I can't quite recall what it is. I doubt the media will even use the term should they remember it.

21-09-2019, 07:36 AM
They should be allowed one march each through a local park. No protests allowed and if protesters cause trouble then their march is cancelled.

21-09-2019, 08:15 AM
They should be allowed one march each through a local park. No protests allowed and if protesters cause trouble then their march is cancelled.They could just march endlessly round a local greyhound or cycle track until they run out of bile, preferably when there's no racing on but not a prerequisite [emoji16]

21-09-2019, 08:19 AM

Well said John, we need more well known people to speak out on this. I heard the 0/o have about 400 marches a year in Glasgow alone. That's crazy.

21-09-2019, 04:32 PM
I see they managed to carry it off with their usual unsurpassed dignity today. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190921/348f5e31ae666f62f1944a1f512ad961.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190921/2ebd5ed7e27fe4eed9a5cae514f5cbc5.jpg

21-09-2019, 06:15 PM
I see they managed to carry it off with their usual unsurpassed dignity today. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190921/348f5e31ae666f62f1944a1f512ad961.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190921/2ebd5ed7e27fe4eed9a5cae514f5cbc5.jpg

Surely the Lord Lyon of Scotland will be having a word with them about the crown which adorns their regalia.

I'm sure we at, hibernian, were made to remove the crown from our badge or change it, which we did.

21-09-2019, 06:20 PM

That is classic. Please don't let the haters have any reason to criticize our haters!! They really just don't get irony!

21-09-2019, 06:52 PM

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkDo folk still wear cast off suit trousers with a white belt? FFS, even more passe than the cause they think they're promoting.

21-09-2019, 07:05 PM

I'm more offended by the guy with the ill fitting trousers, hoody and baseball cup. What a ****ing state.

Cataplana
21-09-2019, 07:10 PM

The irony being there has been an apology.

21-09-2019, 07:11 PM

Imagine being as ignorant and as unempathetic as him. What a waste of a life.

21-09-2019, 11:58 PM
Imagine being as ignorant and as unempathetic as him. What a waste of a life.

He's about 25 to 30 ,and probably has no clue about the actual event. That's by the by though, Glasgow is fast becoming a parody of N. Ireland . The marches will progress into something more sinister I fear.

22-09-2019, 07:58 AM
He's about 25 to 30 ,and probably has no clue about the actual event. That's by the by though, Glasgow is fast becoming a parody of N. Ireland . The marches will progress into something more sinister I fear.

He seems happy that the British Army, were murdering British citizens, on British soil.

How do you get to that place.

22-09-2019, 08:10 AM
Neil Lennon said last year, whilst Hibs manager, that the sectarianism he had encountered in Scotland was far worse than anything he had ever experienced in Northern Ireland.

We've now reached a stage where the small number of Republican parades are being met by violence. How long will it be until the various incarnations of Orange, Orange and Purple, Apprentice Boys and other 'loyalist' marches meet the same resistance? Do we want to be a country that is associated with stones, petrol bombs and the like being thrown at Police and civilians being caught up in it?

For me the incident with the Priest being spat on last year and the Orange Orders refusal to properly condemn it or take any responsibility was the point at which we went through the looking glass. It's when it became clear(er) that this was nothing to do with cultural celebration and everything to do with hatred.

22-09-2019, 09:25 AM
If you look at the climate change demos from the last few days, the numbers at those dwarf the number of people involved in these marches, but with little or no trouble. Where it is the same democratic right, the reason for the march isn't the difference. Difference is the people who are involved.

25-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Well said John, we need more well known people to speak out on this. I heard the 0/o have about 400 marches a year in Glasgow alone. That's crazy.

Well said indeed john. A guy I know is a sound bloke until you mention the marches and he rabbits on about why shouldn't he be allowed to have their beliefs like other groups. Have your beliefs if you want to but the marches should be banned as they nearly always lead to trouble or violence.

15-10-2019, 03:39 PM

oopsy !

15-10-2019, 04:14 PM

oopsy !To be fair, they like a good cluture, remember 1960?

They're the bellend's favourite bellends.

15-10-2019, 04:48 PM

oopsy !

What’s the Star of David all about in the middle?

Edit, just googled it. The star represented the six counties of Northern Ireland.

15-10-2019, 05:12 PM
What’s the Star of David all about in the middle?

Edit, just googled it. The star represented the six counties of Northern Ireland.

It’s the 6 counties of Ulster which has 9 counties 3 of which are in the Republic.

16-10-2019, 10:30 AM

oopsy !

Wow :tee hee:

Cataplana
17-10-2019, 11:06 AM
Wow :tee hee:

17-10-2019, 11:57 AM
The star represented the six counties of Northern Ireland.

Not to mention their new found love for Israel and zionism.

Cataplana
17-10-2019, 12:09 PM
Not to mention their new found love for Israel and zionism.

Sorry, but if it's representative of a new found love, why has it been on their flag for nearly 100 years?

Is there not some masonic signifcance to the symbol?

17-10-2019, 09:18 PM
Sorry, but if it's representative of a new found love, why has it been on their flag for nearly 100 years?

Is there not some masonic signifcance to the symbol?Did they not award themselves a star when they won the Petrofac? This could be it, a bloody huge great star for their first and only cup win.

Cataplana
18-10-2019, 08:27 AM
Did they not award themselves a star when they won the Petrofac? This could be it, a bloody huge great star for their first and only cup win.

You trying to say there is a Sevco connection in all this?

18-10-2019, 08:29 AM
You trying to say there is a Sevco connection in all this?I've seen sevconians with similar tattoos, but you never know, maybe it's more subtle than that, these are probably very intelligent people.[emoji6]

18-10-2019, 08:55 AM
To be fair, they like a good cluture, remember 1960?

They're the bellend's favourite bellends.

they're a bacterial type of culture, it's interesting Glasgow has more marches than both Belfast and Londonderry combined

31-10-2019, 03:54 PM
They did the sash, they did the moooooooonster sash https://t.co/FNo68NzH7G

Some good replies

17-12-2019, 08:19 PM
saw this on fb, i've no idea at the moment where this is from but kinda funny in Green Bottles and made by Kaffliks :hilarious

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/s960x960/79469767_211338336553288_5085898206596825088_o.jpg ?_nc_cat=106&_nc_oc=AQkb7y58Td9xM_pGI3GgfmDrW0vK2YPaxjcAKItVSzy 0drw49UIdaJVRnUvDEgSBpwY&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=dbbb074c72fe5238167afa99449fda7b&oe=5E6C9A4A