21-04-2019, 01:24 PM
Take a bow

21-04-2019, 01:25 PM
Outstanding keeper

21-04-2019, 01:25 PM
Best keeper we’ve had for a very long time.

21-04-2019, 01:26 PM
Rocky and SDG need to share the motm bottle.

21-04-2019, 01:29 PM
Best Hibs keeper in my lifetime.

Best keeper I can remember at Hibs in my 20 years or so.

Gorgeous man!

Rocky and SDG need to share the motm bottle.

SDG was my MOTM at 90 mins but Marciano deserves it for those extra saves in injury time.

oldbiker
outstanding display and very confident in his box, :thumbsup:

ChicoM1875
21-04-2019, 01:30 PM
Rocky's won us a good few points in his time.

21-04-2019, 01:30 PM
Not many keepers would keep Bogdan benched in this league. We're very lucky.

SCHAEDYSHORTS
21-04-2019, 01:31 PM
Woah, woah, woah! Top top keeper. :not worth:not worth:not worth:flag:

21-04-2019, 01:32 PM
We probably have the best goalkeeping options in the league available to us currently.

21-04-2019, 01:33 PM
He's brilliant.

MOTM

Best Hibs goalkeeper in my lifetime.

Magnificent performance. 👏

21-04-2019, 01:36 PM
Outstanding saves today 👏🏻👏🏻

21-04-2019, 01:37 PM
A wee girl held up a card in the Famous Five saying "Marciano can I have your shirt". The big man came over and gave it to her at the end of the game. Hibs class

hibsdaft
21-04-2019, 01:38 PM
He's magic you know.

21-04-2019, 01:39 PM
Better than Goram, Leighton and Rough, no doubt.:top marks

21-04-2019, 01:42 PM
Sexy *******.

21-04-2019, 01:44 PM
Easily man of the match with one of the best goalkeeping performances I’ve seen at Easter Road. And that’s allowing for the bizarre attempt at coming for a cross in the first half.

21-04-2019, 01:44 PM
Better than Goram, Leighton, Goram and Rough, no doubt.:top marks

Fixed that for you.

Doh Rae Me
21-04-2019, 01:51 PM

He's definitely better than no doubt. I've no time for those young fangled pop star types.
The others are debatable though well deserved MOTM today.

21-04-2019, 02:00 PM

Eh, no.

21-04-2019, 02:01 PM
Well done Rocky. We have a goalkeeper on our hands.

21-04-2019, 02:07 PM
Eh, no.

Eh yes. Better saves, less errors.

21-04-2019, 02:12 PM
Wow! Fantastic saves today.
We have had our problems this season but our 2 goalkeepers have been brilliant throughout.
i can't remember them giving a goal away through a mistake all season which is unprecedented for our club.

21-04-2019, 02:12 PM
Eh, no.

He is a better all round keeper than them. 100% fitter

21-04-2019, 02:17 PM
Fixed that for you.

21-04-2019, 02:20 PM
He was outstanding today. I thought we defended well in general but Celtic will always get chances and when they did, Rocky was unbeatable.

21-04-2019, 02:23 PM
Injury time saves were exceptional. Actual world class.

Have we still got two years on his contract?

21-04-2019, 02:24 PM
He's definitely better than no doubt. I've no time for those young fangled pop star types.
The others are debatable though well deserved MOTM today.

No doubt have been around since the mid 80s, showing yer age there pal with the "young fangled" claim :wink:

21-04-2019, 02:27 PM
The big felly wis awesome today

21-04-2019, 02:27 PM
Injury time saves were exceptional. Actual world class.

Have we still got two years on his contract?

I'm not sure actually. I hope so. He's a £5m keeper in my eyes.

21-04-2019, 02:32 PM
Hibs have made so many opposition keeps the MoM . Great to see a Hibs keeper producing such an outstanding performance.

TelaStella
21-04-2019, 02:33 PM
Miles and miles ahead of any keeper I’ve ever seen in my time watching hibs.

The_Sauz
21-04-2019, 02:35 PM
Easily man of the match with one of the best goalkeeping performances I’ve seen at Easter Road. And that’s allowing for the bizarre attempt at coming for a cross in the first half.
I thought he was going for a pie before the half time rush :dunno:

21-04-2019, 02:38 PM
Outstanding display.

He’s here for another 2 years as well!

Chip shop Joe
21-04-2019, 02:38 PM
He is a very very good goalkeeper and but is definitely not better than Goram was, in my opinion.

21-04-2019, 02:40 PM
He is a very very good goalkeeper and but is definitely not better than Goram was, in my opinion.

Maybe six stops today that were Goramesque.

patlowe
21-04-2019, 02:43 PM
His form since coming back from the injury is (Hibs) player of the year level. He's been a key part of our run under the Heck.

21-04-2019, 02:45 PM
Best keeper in the league bar none

21-04-2019, 02:47 PM
As much as i rate Bogdan i always feel the defence look far more comfortable with Rocky in goals. Thats not a dig at Bogdan as he's a very good keeper. Probably just familiarity as he's been our number one for a few seasons. We're lucky to have two class keepers at the club.

Doh Rae Me
21-04-2019, 02:47 PM
No doubt have been around since the mid 80s, showing yer age there pal with the "young fangled" claim :wink:
Really? Darn it, time goes so much quicker now a days.

21-04-2019, 02:50 PM

Don't speak about stuff like that. 😉

Joe Baker2
21-04-2019, 02:57 PM
It wasn't 2 good saves today. I counted at least 4. The Rock was on fire!

21-04-2019, 03:08 PM
He must have forearms like Popeye as some of the shots he bats out are wrist benders. Great to have such a good No 1 and even his distribution was better today. Heck seems to be giving players a bit more confidence and Ofir has been excellent recently

21-04-2019, 03:22 PM
Best keeper in the league bar none

Said a few months ago that we have 2 of the best keepers in the league, apparently though McGregor is because he won stuff years ago

Weegreenman
21-04-2019, 03:23 PM
I must confess in giving my MOTM to big Daz today, he was outstanding. However I must apologise to him for ripping it away from his clutches as big Marciano played an absolute blinder. Tic-A-boo son:not worth

21-04-2019, 03:29 PM
The big man had a good game but, come on now.

zitelli62
21-04-2019, 05:30 PM
Said before and will say it again we have the 2 best keepers in Scotland.

21-04-2019, 05:41 PM
The big man had a good game but, come on now.

Honestly mate im being entirely serious! Leighton and Goram for sure were more likely to drop a clanger.

And Rockys best saves have been better than any of them. 3 seasons of top quality saves and match winning/points gaining performances.

I'll finish by saying they were all amazing keepers:aok:

21-04-2019, 05:45 PM
I would expect a bid for him to come in during the close season.

21-04-2019, 05:54 PM
Don't speak about stuff like that. 😉

I know just what you're saying!

21-04-2019, 07:21 PM
I would expect a bid for him to come in during the close season.

Was thinking earlier it’s games like today that really get other bigger clubs to sit up and take notice.

Wouldn’t surprise me if a £2/£3m bid came in.

21-04-2019, 07:23 PM
Outstanding performance today.

21-04-2019, 07:29 PM
Amazing performance 2nd half. Won us a point.

21-04-2019, 09:05 PM
https://scontent.fman3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/58372467_10217841023480323_2981347038802739200_n.j pg?_nc_cat=106&_nc_ht=scontent.fman3-1.fna&oh=737fc9ce4e54de8124c1e997ba97cd36&oe=5D3744E2

21-04-2019, 09:07 PM
As I said on the match thread, the best performance since Logans in that semifinal.

21-04-2019, 09:12 PM
[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

21-04-2019, 09:16 PM

I think he’s in the same class as all the keepers you mentioned. He has made a few errors but the quality of saves he’s made are really quite incredible.... not sure I’ve seen a goalie with a highlight reel like his.

People are very misty eyed about Goram in particular - he made a decent amount of bad mistakes at Hibs as well as some incredible stops. I wouldn’t say Rocky is definitely better than our Scottish internationals but he’s up there with them. I think Bogdan has been terrific too- we’ve been spoiled this year.

21-04-2019, 09:35 PM
Honestly mate im being entirely serious! Leighton and Goram for sure were more likely to drop a clanger.

And Rockys best saves have been better than any of them. 3 seasons of top quality saves and match winning/points gaining performances.

I'll finish by saying they were all amazing keepers:aok:

Goram used to have performances like that most weeks. Rocky is a great keeper but Goram was the best I’ve seen

21-04-2019, 10:00 PM
10/10 today , 1 mistake could have cost us but went unpunished , strolled rest of game and some of those saves wow 😮

21-04-2019, 11:24 PM
I think he’s in the same class as all the keepers you mentioned. He has made a few errors but the quality of saves he’s made are really quite incredible.... not sure I’ve seen a goalie with a highlight reel like his.

People are very misty eyed about Goram in particular - he made a decent amount of bad mistakes at Hibs as well as some incredible stops. I wouldn’t say Rocky is definitely better than our Scottish internationals but he’s up there with them. I think Bogdan has been terrific too- we’ve been spoiled this year.

I think people forget how many mistakes Goram and Leighton made.

21-04-2019, 11:31 PM

Definitely.

Not to say they weren’t both fantastic though😀

22-04-2019, 12:12 AM
Absolutely outstanding from Rocky today.

His form's been very good generally with a major improvement in his distribution since his return from injury making him a much better all round player- he was always a cracking shot stopper though - but today! :drool:

22-04-2019, 12:53 AM
I'm 30. So seen a lot of dross in my time. Marciano for me is the best I've seen. His shot stopping ability is second to none And if it wasn't for Mallan he'd be my player of the year for sure.

Besties Debut
22-04-2019, 04:17 AM
Our best keeper since Jim Leighton. We will be lucky to keep him

22-04-2019, 07:13 AM
Even the best keepers make the odd mistake , aka de Gea against Barca but it’s the strength in character to come back after

22-04-2019, 07:26 AM

Not trying to be wide but I cannot recall many mistakes by Goram and Leighton playing for HIBS

Both were top Keepers that always got their angles correct were professional about their business and took great satisfaction from clean sheets

I can recall many from Rocky but his memory is of course more recent

Rocky however since PH came in has been nothing short of sensational

His form shot stopping and confidence in the box has been outstanding and his distribution has improved beyond all recognition

I feel sorry for Adam Bogdan another excellent goalkeeper

Gloucester Hibs
22-04-2019, 07:30 AM
Goram used to have performances like that most weeks. Rocky is a great keeper but Goram was the best I’ve seen

Agreed. For a couple of years around the early to mid-90’s you could’ve made a case for Goram being the best in the world.

22-04-2019, 07:47 AM
Any body got the highlights of rockys sensational saves in second half.

22-04-2019, 09:52 AM
I've argued before that the position of goalkeeper has evolved so much over the years, and massively in a short period of time, that comparing keepers from different generations is very difficult.

One of the major difference is goalkeepers have to be footballers nowadays. Someone like Edwin Van Der Sar was a brilliant passer of the ball and very comfortable receiving a pass in a tight spot. Whilst Andy Goram adapted to that side of the game after the pass back rule was changed, Jim Leighton never really did. There's no way Leighton could have played out from the back the way the modern game demands. He worked exceptionally hard on his kicking in training but it just wasn't natural to him.

You also have to look at the sheer physical size of the top goalkeepers over the last decade or so:

Buffon - 6'4"
Van Der Sar - 6'5"
Courtois - 6'6"
Oblak - 6'2"
De Gea - 6'4"
Lloris - 6'2"
Neurer - 6'4"
Ter Stegen -6'2"
Cech - 6'6"

Even a guy like Cassilas who was considered a smaller goalkeeper was 6'1". Would Andy Goram at 5'11" have coped with the physical demands of the modern keeper? Again to reference Van Der Sar; he weighed 12kg (approx 2 stone) more at the end of his career than he did at the start but his body fat percentage was lower. It was all lean muscle.

I love the history of goalkeeping and have a near obsession with watching old clips. Watching videos of guys like Banks, Yashin, Shilton, Schmeichel and so on is brilliant and their contribution to the evolution of the position is huge but the sheer agility and athleticism of the modern day goalkeeper is a whole new level.

w pilton hibby
22-04-2019, 10:00 AM

Try here

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/scotland/48008384

Aim Here
22-04-2019, 10:04 AM

Here's a set of clips focused purely on Marciano's saves that game.
https://twitter.com/hfcnufc/status/1119991290685476865

22-04-2019, 10:23 AM
I do wonder why he’s not playing for a mid table EPL team. He’s phenomenal.

22-04-2019, 10:25 AM
I do wonder why he’s not playing for a mid table EPL team. He’s phenomenal.

Think it's only a matter of time before a bigger club comes in for him, especially if he keeps up his current form

Stokesy's on fire
22-04-2019, 10:35 AM
How long does he have left on his contract?

22-04-2019, 12:00 PM
How long does he have left on his contract?

Two years. We could probably get a decent enough fee.

22-04-2019, 10:57 PM
Not trying to be wide but I cannot recall many mistakes by Goram and Leighton playing for HIBS

Both were top Keepers that always got their angles correct were professional about their business and took great satisfaction from clean sheets

I can recall many from Rocky but his memory is of course more recent

Rocky however since PH came in has been nothing short of sensational

His form shot stopping and confidence in the box has been outstanding and his distribution has improved beyond all recognition

I feel sorry for Adam Bogdan another excellent goalkeeper

Goram was nick named "The Dud" by his teammates in the early days due to some ropey performances, evidence on youtube costing us big time in a derby at Tynie with a mistake.

Leighton also had a horrendous derby at ER when
Colin Cameron ripped us apart, other poor game v Kimarnock in cup sticks out, he had a howler of a game that day.

Thats just off top of ma heed, but let me reiterate they were brilliant for Hibs.

I think goalies got away with more back then - every mistake now is documented with cameras at every game and discusions on forums and twitter etc. No hiding these days!

So the fact i think Rocky is better than them is high praise.

22-04-2019, 11:19 PM
Two years. We could probably get a decent enough fee.

Don't forget the rumoured 50% sell on fee though.

22-04-2019, 11:31 PM
Goram was nick named "The Dud" by his teammates in the early days due to some ropey performances, evidence on youtube costing us big time in a derby at Tynie with a mistake.

Colin Cameron ripped us apart, other poor game v Kimarnock in cup sticks out, he had a howler of a game that day.

Thats just off top of ma heed, but let me reiterate they were brilliant for Hibs.

I think goalies got away with more back then - every mistake now is documented with cameras at every game and discusions on forums and twitter etc. No hiding these days!

Goram was nicknamed “ The Goalie” for a reason

Tommy Burns once said etch “ Andy Goram broke my heart on my tombstone.”

I will give you the Paul Wright howitzers that came down wi sna on them versus Jim Leighton for Killie in the Scottish Cup at Easter Road

Hibs up to a certain time were spoiled for choice for good goalkeepers

Goram and Leighton are up there with the best 134 caps for Scotland between them

The total might have been more for Goram but he threw a wobbly

Both at certain times in their careers being hailed as among the best in the world

Rocky better than Goram and Leighton?

I had to check the calendar April Fools Day was the start of the month

Rocky has been totally outstanding since PH came in but without even thinking about it too hard :

Christie near post free kick Hampden Park

Freddo near post Christmas past last year versus t Hun

St Johnstone away..... well we will forget that

Aberdeen away 4-1 defeat though Efe culpable

I watched Goram home and away and I can honestly say he was worth 12 points a season the same can be said for Leighton

I honestly do not know how Leighton is not more lauded at HIBS but have to admit his kicking was ropey

The best way I can sum it up is with Goram and Leighton you knew you were as safe as houses with them Rocky and Bogdan you always feel that there is a clanger lurking around the corner though I must say I haven’t felt that about Rocky recently and his kicking has improved beyond recognition thanks to PH and his attention to detail that and having a settled defence

23-04-2019, 11:31 AM
Best goalkeeper at the club by some distance.

23-04-2019, 12:00 PM

Sorry but Rocky has a long way to go before he can be considered along side those two. Both played at top teams for 12 - 15 years in lLeightons case probaly longer. Yes they both made mistakes ALL keepers do. If Rocky is playing in the EPL or Champs league on a regular basis and performing well in 6 or 7 years time than there may be and arguement to be had until then Leighton and Goram imho are well ahead of him.

23-04-2019, 12:08 PM
As with most debates of this kind your age will alot of the time dictate who you view as the better player. Older folk tend to say Pele, Maradona ect whereas the younger generation will say Messi , Ronaldo ect.

I don't think it's that crazy a suggestion to say Marciano is on Leighton's level.

23-04-2019, 12:15 PM
Sorry but Rocky has a long way to go before he can be considered along side those two. Both played at top teams for 12 - 15 years in lLeightons case probaly longer. Yes they both made mistakes ALL keepers do. If Rocky is playing in the EPL or Champs league on a regular basis and performing well in 6 or 7 years time than there may be and arguement to be had until then Leighton and Goram imho are well ahead of him.

This, Leighton was immense, as was Goram, but Leighton for me. he was immense year after year after year, head a bad patch. I will get back to you´s after I have seen 10 years of Ofir playing consistantly well at top level and international.
Oh but must add, what a goalie to have at Hibs just now...

23-04-2019, 12:21 PM
As with most debates of this kind your age will alot of the time dictate who you view as the better player. Older folk tend to say Pele, Maradona ect whereas the younger generation will say Messi , Ronaldo ect.

I don't think it's that crazy a suggestion to say Marciano is on Leighton's level.

To suggest Rocky is better than Leighton or Goram is simply nuts

Almost as bad as saying Olly is the new Steven Fletcher

Rocky is on a run of nine good games

Leighton and Goram had years and years of continued consistant success at the highest level

Dearie me !

23-04-2019, 12:27 PM
He's a great goalie.

I wonder if we look back how many points he's been worth this season?

1 on Sunday for starters.

Commanded his box well enough against Hearts - worth giving him 2 for that?

23-04-2019, 12:28 PM

Leighton and Goram had years and years of continued consistant success at the highest level

Dearie me !

Maybe the comparisons should come down to their time at Hibernian as an individual club. Rocky is performing just as well as Jim ever done here.

Silky
23-04-2019, 12:31 PM
He's a great goalie.

I wonder if we look back how many points he's been worth this season?

1 on Sunday for starters.

Commanded his box well enough against Hearts - worth giving him 2 for that?

Made a great save from I think Jordan Jones in the 0-0 draw vs Killie and another in the win at Dundee which if it had gone in could have changed the game.

23-04-2019, 12:34 PM
Maybe the comparisons should come down to their time at Hibernian as an individual club. Rocky is performing just as well as Jim ever done here.

Jim Leighton 178 games for Hibernian
91 games for Scotland

MBE for services to football

Rocky on a run of 9 good games after a mixed bag of indifferent performances interspersed with some admittedly outstanding saves

Rocky has a long way to go to catch up needs to keep this run going for the next 15 years :greengrin

:not worth

23-04-2019, 12:42 PM
Jim Leighton 151 games for Hibernian
91 games for Scotland

MBE for services to football

Rocky on a run of 9 good games after a mixed bag of indifferent performances interspersed with some admittedly outstanding saves

Rocky has a long way to go to catch up needs to keep this run going for the next 15 years :greengrin

Gianluigi Buffon

0 games for Hibernian
0 games for Scotland
0 MBE’s

pish keeper imo

23-04-2019, 12:45 PM
Gianluigi Buffon

0 games for Hibernian
0 games for Scotland
0 MBE’s

pish keeper imo

Lol

HibbySpurs
23-04-2019, 01:00 PM
In my time supporting Hibs he's top 3 now:

1. Andy Goram
2. Jim Leighton
3. Ofir

He's good but the top 2 were world class at times. The only sad thing is the way in which Goram left the club but doesn't take away from the fact that he was an exceptional goalkeeper, especially when you consider his height.

Never forget him scoring against Morton from a kick out as well, brilliant.

Who knows though, in 2 years Rocky could well move up that list.

Juniper Greens
23-04-2019, 01:19 PM
How long left on his deal?

23-04-2019, 01:20 PM
Made a great save from I think Jordan Jones in the 0-0 draw vs Killie and another in the win at Dundee which if it had gone in could have changed the game.

So imagine that being 7 points in 4 games?

23-04-2019, 01:22 PM
How long left on his deal?

2 years.

23-04-2019, 01:46 PM
New deal ASAP, don't want to get into SJM territory.

23-04-2019, 02:49 PM

1. Andy Goram
2. Jim Leighton
3. Ofir

He's good but the top 2 were world class at times. The only sad thing is the way in which Goram left the club but doesn't take away from the fact that he was an exceptional goalkeeper, especially when you consider his height.

Spot on!

I have spoke up on here for Jim Leighton Rocky lately has been magnificent but Andy Goram has to be number one simply unbeatable at times

I also liked Jim Herriot very much underrated and got the blame for the Hadjuk Split debacle :confused:

23-04-2019, 02:57 PM
Was too young to remember Goram at Hibs but for me he's up there with Leighton.

23-04-2019, 03:10 PM
Marciano seems to have upped his game. He’s a very, very good keeper at SPL level and the best at Hibs since old bandy legs. Comparisons aren’t easy but Ofir is better with crosses and better with the ball at his feet. Leighton was a great keeper for Hibs, but he had his flaws and was prone to the odd howler too.

An inspired signing by any standard.

delbert
23-04-2019, 03:11 PM

Spot on!

I have spoke up on here for Jim Leighton Rocky lately has been magnificent but Andy Goram has to be number one simply unbeatable at times

I also liked Jim Herriot very much underrated and got the blame for the Hadjuk Split debacle :confused:

Rightly got the blame v Hadjuk Split, he had a nightmare at Easter Road and cost us the tie, 4-2 at home should have been 4-0, but overall was a solid keeper for us.

23-04-2019, 03:14 PM
Rightly got the blame v Hadjuk Split, he had a nightmare at Easter Road and cost us the tie, 4-2 at home should have been 4-0, but overall was a solid keeper for us.

Second leg two crosses to back post Herriot stood in a hole Sloop og

ET had a brainstorm :confused:

23-04-2019, 03:23 PM

1. Andy Goram
2. Jim Leighton
3. Ofir

Where's Roughie? - he was a great goalie for Hibs.

23-04-2019, 03:23 PM
Was too young to remember Goram at Hibs but for me he's up there with Leighton.

That’s where I am in this discussion too. He’s comfortably overtaken Andersson.

23-04-2019, 03:35 PM

23-04-2019, 04:16 PM

Dearie me !

Just because you dont agree with an assesment doesn't make it nuts. Theres plenty of people who think its a valid discussion to be had.

But if we are going down that route then the most nuts thing Ive read on this thread is that Marciano has only had a run of 9 good games for us :cb:bitchy: Thats just outright nonsense. A total dearie me statement.

Leighton and Goram were fantastic but they spent the overwhelming majority of their careers in the same league Rocky is in now so to say they had continued success at the highest level is also stretching the truth.

In their time at Hibs they've all been brilliant lets leave it at that.

23-04-2019, 04:41 PM
Just because you dont agree with an assesment doesn't make it nuts. Theres plenty of people who think its a valid discussion to be had.

But if we are going down that route then the most nuts thing Ive read on this thread is that Marciano has only had a run of 9 good games for us :cb:bitchy: Thats just outright nonsense. A total dearie me statement.

Leighton and Goram were fantastic but they spent the overwhelming majority of their careers in the same league Rocky is in now so to say they had continued success at the highest level is also stretching the truth.

Rocky has upped his game to his A game since Hecky arrived

He seems to have removed a lot of negatives from his game

Goram and Leighton were always on their A game from day one

You are of course entitled to your opinion and I of course repect that

Please check feedback from other posters

Rocky has been a revelation lately and his distribution has improved beyond all recognition his command of the box and his confidence have increased a 1000 fold

It wasn’t that long ago he was kicking the ball out of play or to the opposition much to the frustration of every HIBS supporter

Long may his good run of form continue

Still do not agree he is anywhere near better than Goram or Leighton :greengrin

Onwards and upwards

23-04-2019, 05:15 PM
Goram wasnt on his A game from the start as
I've already mentioned, and they both made errors in a Hibs shirt thats is defo true!

Lets agree to disagree though :greengrin

23-04-2019, 05:30 PM
Goram wasnt on his A game from the start as
I've already mentioned, and they both made errors in a Hibs shirt thats is defo true!

Lets agree to disagree though :greengrin

1) Goram

2) Leighton

3) ?

I am sure others will disagree

It is all about opinions

We have Ronnie Simpson a European Cup Winner

Roughie

Andersson

Younger

Harper

Herriot

Budgie

Logan

Thomson Allan

Willie Wilson

Still feel sorry for Bogdan

Rocky is the man in possession of the gloves it is up to him to put himself up there beside the all time greats

23-04-2019, 05:39 PM
Jim Leighton, Darren Jackson, and Kevin Harper. My three heroes when I first started supporting hibs. Loved Jacko and find it hard to dislike him now even though he has more of an affinity with the Jambos.

Anyway, I generally won't hear a bad word said about Leighton. The common thread even right up until he left was how many points he was worth to us a season. Top top keeper. We struggled to find as good for years afterwards (Chris Reid, Ollie Gottskalksson, Bryan Gunn, Zibi, Simon Brown) which is testament to how vital he was.

We have a great keeper now that is for sure. I don't think we need to knock down club greats to appreciate what we have. If we look back on Ofir's hibs time and mention him in the same breath as Leighton and Goram then he'll have had a very successful time here.

23-04-2019, 05:42 PM
Jim Leighton, Darren Jackson, and Kevin Harper. My three heroes when I first started supporting hibs. Loved Jacko and find it hard to dislike him now even though he has more of an affinity with the Jambos.

Anyway, I generally won't hear a bad word said about Leighton. The common thread even right up until he left was how many points he was worth to us a season. Top top keeper. We struggled to find as good for years afterwards (Chris Reid, Ollie Gottskalksson, Bryan Gunn, Zibi, Simon Brown) which is testament to how vital he was.

We have a great keeper now that is for sure. I don't think we need to knock down club greats to appreciate what we have. If we look back on Ofir's hibs time and mention him in the same breath as Leighton and Goram then he'll have had a very successful time here.

Don't see anyone knocking down club greats.

23-04-2019, 05:44 PM

Goram for me closely followed by Leighton then Roughie. Marciano up to 4th now and improving all the time.

23-04-2019, 06:11 PM
1) Goram

2) Leighton

3) ?

I am sure others will disagree

It is all about opinions

We have Ronnie Simpson a European Cup Winner

Roughie

Andersson

Younger

Harper

Herriot

Budgie

Logan

Thomson Allan

Willie Wilson

Still feel sorry for Bogdan

Rocky is the man in possession of the gloves it is up to him to put himself up there beside the all time greats

Rocky is miles better than Logan.

23-04-2019, 06:22 PM
Rocky is miles better than Logan.

Not for 129 minutes he wasn’t :greengrin

23-04-2019, 06:23 PM
Some great goalies quoted but my favourite goalie quote was from Budgie

'Come anywhere near my six yard box, Hately, and I'll break your effing back'

Result : Rangers 0 Hibs 1.

23-04-2019, 06:23 PM

In this case it is nuts.
Goram and Leighton played against Larsson Gazza etc the standard was different class to today. Absolutely no comparison to be made.

23-04-2019, 06:37 PM
In this case it is nuts.
Goram and Leighton played against Larsson Gazza etc the standard was different class to today. Absolutely no comparison to be made.

It's really not nuts. Rocky' has pulled off the most stunning saves out the lot of them imo. The comparison is clearly there to be made between 3 outstanding Hibs goalies who all had their faults and major major strengths.

noz
23-04-2019, 06:40 PM
Goram and Leighton were both at Man U, (albeit short spells) both signed by Fergie, - Realistically, is Rocky anywhere near that level?
Still prefer Bogdan 😜

23-04-2019, 06:45 PM
Goram and Leighton were both at Man U, (albeit short spells) both signed by Fergie, - Realistically, is Rocky anywhere near that level?
Still prefer Bogdan 😜

Fergie also gave Mikey Stewart a 4 year contract at Man United and made him a millionaire :greengrin

23-04-2019, 06:59 PM
It's really not nuts. Rocky' has pulled off the most stunning saves out the lot of them imo. The comparison is clearly there to be made between 3 outstanding Hibs goalies who all had their faults and major major strengths.

Imho it is incredible we are even discussing this. Rocky has done next to nothing to suggest he is in the same class as two players who played for several years at he highest level domestically and in Europe.
So we will just have to disagree . I won't add any more as it is simply not worthy of debate imho of course.

Robbo6-2
23-04-2019, 07:01 PM
If Lennon gets the full time gig at Celtic next season i can see him putting in a bid

23-04-2019, 07:03 PM
let's hope Lennon doesn't get the gig.

23-04-2019, 07:09 PM
Imho it is incredible we are even discussing this. Rocky has done next to nothing to suggest he is in the same class as two players who played for several years at he highest level domestically and in Europe.
So we will just have to disagree . I won't add any more as it is simply not worthy of debate imho of course.

This!

End of......

23-04-2019, 07:09 PM

He's consistently made OUTSTANDING saves for Hibs for three seasons now thats why its being discussed. No point discussing any more though you are correct there so im out.

23-04-2019, 07:15 PM
let's hope Lennon doesn't get the gig.

He won’t.

Having considered where Marciano sits in terms of great Hibees goalies it’s probably worth considering performances at Hibs, not what a goalie did before or after they left ER?

Marciano is playing as well as any keeper I’ve seen at Hibs. He’s been a talismanic figure in recent months, at times seemingly unbeatable. Goram and Rough had longer spells where they performed at a similar standard, Leighton was a good keeper for Hibs, but his best form came long before he came to ER. He still had excellent games, but he wasn’t at the level he had been at Aberdeen.

Marciano has set the bar very high since Heckingbottom arrived. He’ll need to maintain those standards for a good few seasons before he would really merit overall comparison with Rough, Leighton and Goram. If he does then his value will increase significantly.

23-04-2019, 07:30 PM
He won’t.

Having considered where Marciano sits in terms of great Hibees goalies it’s probably worth considering performances at Hibs, not what a goalie did before or after they left ER?

Marciano is playing as well as any keeper I’ve seen at Hibs. He’s been a talismanic figure in recent months, at times seemingly unbeatable. Goram and Rough had longer spells where they performed at a similar standard, Leighton was a good keeper for Hibs, but his best form came long before he came to ER. He still had excellent games, but he wasn’t at the level he had been at Aberdeen.

Marciano has set the bar very high since Heckingbottom arrived. He’ll need to maintain those standards for a good few seasons before he would really merit overall comparison with Rough and Goram. If he does then his value will increase significantly.

Leighton was good for HIBS and HIBS were good for Leighton

His career was going down the toilet but he won 23 Scotland caps at HIBS :confused:

23-04-2019, 07:38 PM

His career was going down the toilet but he won 23 Scotland caps at HIBS :confused:

It's worth bearing in mind we signed Leighton after he'd been in the wilderness at Man Utd, kicked about on loan and was turning out for Dundee reserves. His career looked over when Miller took a punt on him and had Hibs.net been around them I hate to think of what the reaction to such a signing would have been.

As it was he was an inspired bit of business, got himself back into the Scotland set up after 2 and a bit years out of the picture and was worth a fair few points every season for us. It's no surprise we were relegated the season after we lost him and Jackson.

It was a gamble to sign him but it worked out brilliantly for both parties. His penalty save in the last minute v Rangers and his inspired showing for Scotland v Sweden at Ibrox are particular highlights for me.

23-04-2019, 07:46 PM

No one doubts Leighton was a great keeper at Hibs, but for me Goram and Rough were better during their spells at ER. Rough kept us in the Premier League for a good few seasons and Goram developed into a superb keeper at Hibs ( ironically not winning too many caps due to the form of Leighton).

I pointed out Marciano would need to sustain his current form over a number of seasons before he can be compared to the greats mentioned, including auld bandy legs ( I had unconsciously omitted Leighton from my last sentence- apologies).

Marciano is 29, this is the big fellae approaching what should be his best years. I’m hopeful he will carry improving and then he will stand comparison with the very best, for what he did at Hibs.

23-04-2019, 07:49 PM
No one doubts Leighton was a great keeper at Hibs, but for me Goram and Rough were better during their spells at ER. Rough kept us in the Premier League for a good few seasons and Goram developed into a superb keeper at Hibs ( ironically not winning too many caps due to the form of Leighton).

I pointed out Marciano would need to sustain his current form over a number of seasons before he can be compared to the greats mentioned, including auld bandy legs ( I had unconsciously omitted Leighton from my last sentence- apologies).

Marciano is 29, this is the big fellae approaching what should be his best years. I’m hopeful he will carry improving and then he will stand comparison with the very best, for what he did at Hibs.

Tarrahib
24-04-2019, 09:19 AM
If Lennon gets the full time gig at Celtic next season i can see him putting in a bid
As I have posted previously I think if Lennon was to get the Celtic job (which I think is a very big if ) the better option for him would be to try and sign Bogdan who wouldn't cost a penny in a transfer fee.It was Lennon who signed both keepers for Hibs.

24-04-2019, 09:25 AM
Marciano is now an excellent all round keeper now his distribution has improved. There will be teams looking at him already.

Argylehibby
24-04-2019, 11:11 AM
In this case it is nuts.

A great save is a great save regardless of who hit the shot.

There are lots of other aspects that will affect the judgment on which keeper is best though. Leighton was absolutely brilliant then they brought in the rule where the keeper couldn't pick up a pass back and that exposed a weakness in his game that Goram and Rocky didn't / don't have. Keepers get more protection now I reckon so Rocky isn't exposed to the same treatment the others were. The balls are lighter now meaning they travel faster and swerve more making Rocky's job harder.

I don't see how a comparison can be made with all the variables but we are fortunate that all 3 are or were excellent keepers and we are fortunate that we have been able to see them in a Hibs jersey. some of us are also old enough to throw other names into the mix with Ronnie Simpson one of the first keepers I saw being one that would be worthy in any list of great Hibs goalkeepers.

24-04-2019, 11:24 AM

There are lots of other aspects that will affect the judgment on which keeper is best though. Leighton was absolutely brilliant then they brought in the rule where the keeper couldn't pick up a pass back and that exposed a weakness in his game that Goram and Rocky didn't / don't have. Keepers get more protection now I reckon so Rocky isn't exposed to the same treatment the others were. The balls are lighter now meaning they travel faster and swerve more making Rocky's job harder.

I don't see how a comparison can be made with all the variables but we are fortunate that all 3 are or were excellent keepers and we are fortunate that we have been able to see them in a Hibs jersey. some of us are also old enough to throw other names into the mix with Ronnie Simpson one of the first keepers I saw being one that would be worthy in any list of great Hibs goalkeepers.

I had Ronnie Simpson on my list

I think it is fair to point out that Rockys kicking and distribution have only really improved since Hecky arrived prior to that it was woeful

I put it down to Heckys eye for detail and the confidence of playing with a settled defence

His kicking and distribution versus Celtic was exceptional

Long may his continued improvement continue

Barman Stanton
24-04-2019, 11:41 AM
Marciano is a top keeper and in great form. But he is not in the same league as Goram for me. It has to be remembered that back when Goram was at Rangers, they were one of the top paying clubs in Europe. Nowadays he would have likely been at a top EPL team. Marciano is not quite at that level. Also re his height, he is pretty much the same as Casillas who has done not too bad in the modern game!

24-04-2019, 12:47 PM
Outstanding keeper! I don't know what his current contract deal is but if hibs have any sense at all they will go all out to get him signed up long term.

25-04-2019, 01:52 AM

Indeed.

Ronnie Simpson was the best Hibs Keeper I saw during my lifetime.

Him saving them, and Gerry Baker scoring them at the other end saved us from relegation in the very early sixties.

He als happens to be, as far as I am aware, the only goalkeeper to have played for Hibs who has a European Cup Winners medal.

25-04-2019, 05:30 AM

Surely the comparison is with their times at Hibs rather than what they done elsewhere though?

I mean if SJM goes on to play for Liverpool or such like that doesn’t instantly make him the best Hibs player ever because he’s made it to the highest level, the best ever Hibs player would be based on how good they were for Hibs?

I’m too young to have seen Goram and although I vaguely remember Leighton (and even had one of they mental goalie jerseys :greengrin) I cant really remember much at all of him playing.

What I will say though is that Rocky is comfortably the best keeper I can remember IMO and if Leighton was as bad with his feet as is made out then that’s a huge flaw in his game from his time at Hibs surely? And if he had such a huge flaw in his game then that surely brings Rocky into the debate?

25-04-2019, 07:19 AM
Surely the comparison is with their times at Hibs rather than what they done elsewhere though?

I mean if SJM goes on to play for Liverpool or such like that doesn’t instantly make him the best Hibs player ever because he’s made it to the highest level, the best ever Hibs player would be based on how good they were for Hibs?

I’m too young to have seen Goram and although I vaguely remember Leighton (and even had one of they mental goalie jerseys :greengrin) I cant really remember much at all of him playing.

What I will say though is that Rocky is comfortably the best keeper I can remember IMO and if Leighton was as bad with his feet as is made out then that’s a huge flaw in his game from his time at Hibs surely? And if he had such a huge flaw in his game then that surely brings Rocky into the debate?

Good point

Based on their time at HIBS :

1) Goram

2) Leighton

3) ?

Rocky is on a brilliant run of form and long may it continue

Jim Leighton ( Auld Bandy Legs) did have difficulty adjusting when the pass back rule changed and the goalkeeping role become more of a sweeper role but nevertheless went on to play 178 games for HIBS and 23 games for Scotland while a HIBS player

Andy Goram was outstanding with HIBS it was like he had Velcro gloves on the ball just stuck to his hands and always had his angles spot on.

Rocky all credit to him has been outstanding since PH came in his handling his command of his box kicking and distribution have improved beyond all recognition

If he can keep this run going and continue to perform consistently for the remaining two years of his contract yes he will be up there with the all time greats

All of the above is of course just imho

Edit:

My sons had the sexy green and the black and white goalie tops with the Belhaven badge centre chest

25-04-2019, 09:50 AM

That was the point I tried to make earlier on this thread. I was judging the goalies on what they did at Hibs, not before or after.

I hadn’t realised Leighton had played as much for Hibs as he did, nor did I realise how many caps he’s won at ER. Looking back, this was a time when my laddie was playing football for teams and I played on Saturdays myself. I probably didn’t go to that many games over a season.

Leighton had flaws, aside from the ball at his feet he wasn’t brilliant with crosses. I would say that neither of these issues serious flaws, but judging him against the very best, they were weaknesses in his game.

Otherwise he was a brilliant keeper overall. His judgement and decision making were top class and he was a fantastic shot stopper. Third behind Goram and Rough over the past 50 years of me going to games at ER.

25-04-2019, 01:28 PM
Seems he has been offered more to return to Israel but reading into the article, think his sight is set on England.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-ofir-marciano-turns-down-big-money-offers-to-stay-with-easter-road-club-1-4914991

25-04-2019, 01:36 PM
Seems he has been offered more to return to Israel but reading into the article, think his sight is set on England.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-ofir-marciano-turns-down-big-money-offers-to-stay-with-easter-road-club-1-4914991

Good read

Many thanks for posting

Looks as though he is happy at Hibs and living in Edinburgh for the short term anyway

Well played Rocky!

25-04-2019, 01:40 PM

Not a chance of that happening. Let’s just say they don’t get on very well.

25-04-2019, 01:41 PM

He sat on the subs bench with us half a season so if he wants out while his stock is now high I would bear no grudge. I think he will stay though, he’s settled and I think he will end his career here.

25-04-2019, 02:58 PM
He sat on the subs bench with us half a season so if he wants out while his stock is now high I would bear no grudge. I think he will stay though, he’s settled and I think he will end his career here.

Sounds as though Lenny never got on with quite a few folk at Easter Road

I spoke to a few Celtic fans on Sunday who claim to be “itk” and they say that he has upset a few of their players already

They hope he does not get the gig on a full time basis

They want him gone

Looking back though Bogdan did little wrong and injuries played their part in the ER goalkeeping merry go round

25-04-2019, 03:22 PM

Because Israel have such a poor FIFA ranking, Rocky really needs to be 1st choice keeper for his country and playing almost all their International matches in order to get the waiver needed to play in England.

Right now, he doesnt have enough...........which works for me, I am glad to keep him !

25-04-2019, 03:32 PM

He was injured. Returned to the team very quickly after his injury due to Bogdan being out.

25-04-2019, 04:02 PM
He was injured. Returned to the team very quickly after his injury due to Bogdan being out.

He was injured then came off in a match, was hounded and didn’t get a look in after that. He was fit for a good couple of months even though bogdan was playing injured.

25-04-2019, 04:20 PM
He was injured then came off in a match, was hounded and didn’t get a look in after that. He was fit for a good couple of months even though bogdan was playing injured.

25-04-2019, 05:11 PM

He was on the bench once after coming off in the Rangers game.