View Full Version : Question Memorable Debuts?

16-04-2019, 10:27 AM
Following on from the Conrad Logan thread, which debut(s) is the most memorable for you and why?

Hard to think back but Sol Bamba was having a great debut until he got sent off. You just knew he was going to come good.

16-04-2019, 10:29 AM
Paul Hartley's first touch in a Hibs shirt was magnificent.

Shame he went on to do so little with his career.

16-04-2019, 10:44 AM
Paul Hartley's first touch in a Hibs shirt was magnificent.

Shame he went on to do so little with his career.

Yip!

Remember that out on the right wing versus Ayr United ba came doon wi snow on it brought it under control first time and nipped past his man

Wonder what ever happened to him?

Im thinking Joe McBride Snr home debut versus Lokomotiv Leipzig hatrick or Johnny Graham King of Scotland double versus Old Airdrieonians

We thought he was the second coming but deemed surplus to requirements by Eddie Turnbull

16-04-2019, 10:46 AM
Gareth Evans scoring with a (sort of) diving header against Dundee.

16-04-2019, 10:55 AM
Paul Wright scored the winner from 20 yards after coming on as a sub in a 3-2 victory v Aberdeen.

Bobo
16-04-2019, 10:58 AM
Isak Refvik .... the wee guy oozed quality and lit up a depressing Hibs team back in 1978. I still clearly remember his debut and 2 goals against Morton.

Pity his and Sven Mathiesen's time with us was cut short through no fault of their own.

Topographic Hibby
16-04-2019, 11:02 AM
Isak Refvik .... the wee guy oozed quality and lit up a depressing Hibs team back in 1978. I still clearly remember his debut and 2 goals against Morton.

Pity his and Sven Mathison's time with us was cut short through no fault of their own.Snap!! I was about to post that one too :wink: His goals took us through to a LC semi (which we lost).

Scored two on his debut then nowt after that.....

Tom Hart RIP
16-04-2019, 11:03 AM
16 year old John Collins v Man City.
Agree about Joe McBride and Johnny Graham.

MacGruber
16-04-2019, 11:06 AM
Andy Dow debut and scoring at Tynecastle

Bobo
16-04-2019, 11:08 AM
Snap!! I was about to post that one too :wink: His goals took us through to a LC semi (which we lost).

Scored two on his debut then nowt after that.....

He only played five times because he couldn't get a work permit and had to return to Norway, strangely though a work permit was found a week later for Rangers to bring in a foreign player!

16-04-2019, 11:14 AM
Andy Dow debut and scoring at Tynecastle

Likewise Brian kerr. Big maka had a great game that day too. Thought we were onto a good one with both.

Sweet Left Peg
16-04-2019, 11:16 AM
Henrik Larsson's debut for Celtic at ER was quite memorable for his first touch being an assist for Chico's 25 yard winner. To be fair, he seemed to deal with that initial setback quite well.

Craigmount Hibs
16-04-2019, 11:19 AM
Keith Houchen debut and scoring a back post header at the midden.

16-04-2019, 11:34 AM
Andy Walker

2 goals against Aberdeen on his debut

Less keen on him (and his punditry) now

16-04-2019, 11:38 AM
Kamberi had a good debut. :agree:

16-04-2019, 11:40 AM
Kamberi scored a belter
Malonga scored
Slivka first start at Ibrox scored

JoeT_WasTheBest
16-04-2019, 11:42 AM
Graham Harvey, can't remember when that would have been! He went out with my sister's pal so I'd heard about him, remember reading the EEN with the headline 'Harvey hits debut goal'.

16-04-2019, 11:43 AM
Did Paul Tosh not hit a decent volley on his debut?

16-04-2019, 11:44 AM
gordon Chisholm? was his Debut not the time he scored v the old rangers in the skol cup Semi first leg at ER??

Kevvy1875
16-04-2019, 11:49 AM
Pornstar, 2 goals on his debut vs Motherwell.

About as good as it got from him, apart from a certain goal at the PBS.

16-04-2019, 11:58 AM
As soon as we saw Murph and Boozy, we knew.

R10rdan's 2nd debut against the Accies was rather memorable too.

16-04-2019, 12:08 PM
Agathe and Laursen at Tynie.

Special shouts to Gordan Petric and Fitzroy Simpson.

16-04-2019, 12:33 PM
28/4/1941

Hearts 3 v 5 HIBS

Gordon Smith hatrick

16-04-2019, 12:59 PM
Dirk Lehmann with two goals against Motherwell at Easter Road.

16-04-2019, 02:03 PM
Jason Cummings? Not actually sure if it was his debut but scoring against Hamilton in the playoff first leg that seemed at the time like we had avoided relegation. Obviously not the case in hindsight.

16-04-2019, 02:14 PM
Jason Cummings? Not actually sure if it was his debut but scoring against Hamilton in the playoff first leg that seemed at the time like we had avoided relegation. Obviously not the case in hindsight.

First goals after sixteen starts without a goal but still should have been enough to put us through

scotiaf
16-04-2019, 02:35 PM
Pornstar, 2 goals on his debut vs Motherwell.

About as good as it got from him, apart from a certain goal at the PBS.

I had fond memories off him, also the headlines in the paper after the hearts goal “ Dirky and all the Trimmings”

Souter96Mac
16-04-2019, 02:42 PM
Brian Kerr AT tynie?

16-04-2019, 03:43 PM
Zibi against some English team on a weds night! After Simon Brown thought we had cracked the keeper issue. Riordan at Tynie almost perfect too in the 1-1 John O’Neil game.

16-04-2019, 06:01 PM
gordon Chisholm? was his Debut not the time he scored v the old rangers in the skol cup Semi first leg at ER??

1985. The final is erased from my memory.

16-04-2019, 06:41 PM
1985. The final is erased from my memory.

yes, another turning over from them during those years...

Power
16-04-2019, 06:52 PM
Agathe and Laursen at Tynie.

Special shouts to Gordan Petric and Fitzroy Simpson.

If only Didier scored that day.

Latapy v Ayr at Somerset Park 1998.
Baillie v Celtic at Easter Road in the League Cup Quarter 2003.
Killen v Rangers at Ibrox in the Scottish Cup 2006.

16-04-2019, 07:09 PM
Gordon Rae at Ibrox. I remember the game vividly because I sneaked away to Ibrox on my own after being told I was too young to go and I somehow ended up in the Huns end. I'd been going to games home and away for a few years by then but my old man wouldn't let me go to Ibrox.

I've just googled the date and was shocked to see I was only11 at the time. I'm breaking out in a cold sweat imagining my 10 year old would do similar. :shocked:

16-04-2019, 07:24 PM
Alen orman against rangers.

16-04-2019, 07:33 PM
Alan Shearers debut at ER.
Never touched the baw.

Hibs1969
16-04-2019, 08:06 PM
Joe Baker's second debut v Aberdeen at ER in 1971. Scored the winner v Bobby Clark who hadn't conceded in 12 games.

16-04-2019, 08:29 PM
Palsson and Kujabi had great debuts.

16-04-2019, 09:00 PM
Rab Shannon

16-04-2019, 09:06 PM
If only Didier scored that day.

Latapy v Ayr at Somerset Park 1998.
Baillie v Celtic at Easter Road in the League Cup Quarter 2003.
Killen v Rangers at Ibrox in the Scottish Cup 2006.

Ken, round the keeper and everything.

Bailie is some shout btw as is Killen. Wasn’t there for the wee magicians.

16-04-2019, 09:06 PM
Alen orman against rangers.

Think his debut was much earlier in the season.

Talking of Orman though wasn’t Whittaker’s debut on for him before the match started when Orman had a seizure? I think Scott Brown was class against Livingston too if that was his debut?

16-04-2019, 09:17 PM
As soon as we saw Murph and Boozy, we knew.

R10rdan's 2nd debut against the Accies was rather memorable too.

2nd debut was v Dundee united at ER no? Sol bambas first game too?

16-04-2019, 09:32 PM
2nd debut was v Dundee united at ER no? Sol bambas first game too?

I thought it was Hamilton away too. Scored a peach. May have been second game.

16-04-2019, 09:57 PM
Ian Henry broke his leg within 20 seconds in his debut for Hibs at Berwick Rangers in 1981. That was his only appearance for Hibs and I can still remember the sound of the sickening crack

16-04-2019, 10:00 PM
My all time favourite debuts are:

1. Lewis (Mr Hibs) Stevenson -- League Cup against (Ayr, I think), anyone at that match could see there was a wee gem in the making.

2. Conrad! No explanation needed.

3. Peter Marinello (I think I remember his debut was in an away game (Dunfermiline or Raith Rovers) 1968/69.), but what I'm sure of was how much we were raving about him on the Bluebird coach on the way back to St Andrew's Square station.

16-04-2019, 10:05 PM
I remember Paul Hanlon having a very solid debut. For some reason I was in the main stand with a Hun mate of mine, and we paid quite close attention to the 17 year old left back making his debut.

He wasn't overly ambitious but didn't put a foot wrong all afternoon.

GibbytheHibby2
17-04-2019, 03:56 AM
Gareth Evans scoring with a (sort of) diving header against Dundee.

I recall that game, although I'm certain he came off the bench to score two to salvage a draw.

GibbytheHibby2
17-04-2019, 03:58 AM

Certainly was. He scored a great header at the cow shed end. (did he not score both)

17-04-2019, 06:16 AM
Certainly was. He scored a great header at the cow shed end. (did he not score both)

That rings a bell...I recall him being head and shoulders about everyone else as he bulleted his header into the net..thought “wow, who have we signed here “....

17-04-2019, 07:04 AM
Palsson and Kujabi had great debuts.

We should have kept Palsson. He's gone on to have a decent career at a standard not too dissimilar to ours, and has 10 Iceland caps during their Golden Generation.

2011–2012 Hibernian 31 (1)
2012 New York Red Bulls 16 (0)
2012 → NEC (loan) 12 (2)
2013–2014 NEC 38 (2)
2014–2015 Helsingborgs IF 33 (3)
2015–2017 Esbjerg fB 35 (3)
2017–2019 FC Zürich 47 (1)
2019– Darmstadt 98 8 (0)

17-04-2019, 07:05 AM

Pretty sure Stevie Cowan scored the other goal and that Super ******** missed a penalty in the first leg for t Hun :greengrin

17-04-2019, 07:06 AM
We should have kept Palsson. He's gone on to have a decent career at a standard not too dissimilar to ours, and has 10 Iceland caps during their Golden Generation.

2011–2012Hibernian31(1)
2012New York Red Bulls16(0)
2012→ NEC (loan)12(2)
2013–2014NEC38(2)
2014–2015Helsingborgs IF33(3)
2015–2017Esbjerg fB35(3)
2017–2019FC Zürich47(1)
2019–Darmstadt 988(0)

He never seemed the same after trying to go head to head with Jim Goodwin and losing the battle ....good to see he went on to have a decent career..had a lot of good attributes

17-04-2019, 07:09 AM
He never seemed the same after trying to go head to head with Jim Goodwin and losing the battle ....good to see he went on to have a decent career..had a lot of good attributes

Can't believe he's only 27. He was just a boy when we had him, wouldn't mind seeing him back.

17-04-2019, 07:10 AM
Can't believe he's only 27. He was just a boy when we had him, wouldn't mind seeing him back.

Peak of his career now..will be a better version of what we had

17-04-2019, 07:16 AM
Zemmama against hearts. Sent Pressley and Gordon crashing into each other in their own six yard box and slotted the ball home about 5 minutes into his debut.

Did benji no score on his debut against hearts too before running the full pitch infront of the hearts fans? Imagine the outcry if that happened now.

17-04-2019, 07:19 AM
Zemmama against hearts. Sent Pressley and Gordon crashing into each other in their own six yard box and slotted the ball home about 5 minutes into his debut.

Did benji no score on his debut against hearts too before running the full pitch infront of the hearts fans? Imagine the outcry if that happened now.

Zemmama made his debut in August that year against Inverness away, Hearts game was in October...but a good Edinburgh Derby Debut!

Benji made his debut against Hearts, yes, but best we don't discuss that game.

green with envy
17-04-2019, 07:33 AM
Gordon Rae at Ibrox. I remember the game vividly because I sneaked away to Ibrox on my own after being told I was too young to go and I somehow ended up in the Huns end. I'd been going to games home and away for a few years by then but my old man wouldn't let me go to Ibrox.

I've just googled the date and was shocked to see I was only11 at the time. I'm breaking out in a cold sweat imagining my 10 year old would do similar. :shocked:

I was also at that game slightly older than you by a year or two, 2-0 win from memory. In saying that, i'm pretty sure Gordon Rae made his debut on the previous Wednesday away to QOS in the League cup:confused:

17-04-2019, 07:45 AM
I was also at that game slightly older than you by a year or two, 2-0 win from memory. In saying that, i'm pretty sure Gordon Rae made his debut on the previous Wednesday away to QOS in the League cup:confused:

According to Wikipedia it was against the Huns mate and that's how I remember it, but my memory and Wikipedia have a few things in common.

green with envy
17-04-2019, 07:50 AM
According to Wikipedia it was against the Huns mate and that's how I remember it, but my memory and Wikipedia have a few things in common.

This taken from a wiki page...

"Rae signed for Hibernian as a 17-year-old from Whitehill Welfare in 1975. He made his first team debut two years later, and scored in a 2–0 win against Rangers at Ibrox in his second appearance".

Out of interest, am I correct in saying that Des Bremner scored the other?

EDIT: It was at home as opposed to away... Debut, Vs Queen of the South on 17/08/1977 in League Cup (H 1-2)

green.oracle
17-04-2019, 08:21 AM
Pretty sure Stevie Cowan scored the other goal and that Super ******** missed a penalty in the first leg for t Hun :greengrin

Gordon Durie scored the second with a header. Penalty saved by Roughie. At 0-0.

17-04-2019, 08:28 AM
This taken from a wiki page...

"Rae signed for Hibernian as a 17-year-old from Whitehill Welfare in 1975. He made his first team debut two years later, and scored in a 2–0 win against Rangers at Ibrox in his second appearance".

Out of interest, am I correct in saying that Des Bremner scored the other?

EDIT: It was at home as opposed to away... Debut, Vs Queen of the South on 17/08/1977 in League Cup (H 1-2)

Who can read properly is always at an advantage:greengrin
Can't remember who scored the other, I ended up in the Rangers end and was keeching myself. Fair doos though to a big Hun who escorted me back to our buses after the game, he'd spotted my predicament and took me under his wing throughout the game.

17-04-2019, 09:06 AM
Agathe wasn’t against one of the Dundee teams scored 2 with lightning breakaways .

Marc Librra sure he scored a few from debut onwards

17-04-2019, 09:30 AM
Zemmama made his debut in August that year against Inverness away, Hearts game was in October...but a good Edinburgh Derby Debut!

Benji made his debut against Hearts, yes, but best we don't discuss that game.

See I had this conversation with someone the other day and I was convinced that in a old hibs dvd with random goals they had zemmama and benji down as debut goals alongside ian dowie against hearts. Possibly home debuts for both.

17-04-2019, 10:06 AM
Willie Paterson. Left winger in the mid 70s. Took McGrain to the cleaners.

17-04-2019, 10:16 AM
Agathe wasn’t against one of the Dundee teams scored 2 with lightning breakaways .

Marc Librra sure he scored a few from debut onwards

Agathe was hearts Libra Celtic Park I think scored too.

17-04-2019, 10:20 AM
See I had this conversation with someone the other day and I was convinced that in a old hibs dvd with random goals they had zemmama and benji down as debut goals alongside ian dowie against hearts. Possibly home debuts for both.

Zemmama was defo Inverness. Remember hearing about the free kick expert we had signed, then watched him shank a bunch over the bar or into the wall. Finished 0-0.

17-04-2019, 11:21 AM
Zemmama was defo Inverness. Remember hearing about the free kick expert we had signed, then watched him shank a bunch over the bar or into the wall. Finished 0-0.

A 0-0 draw up there back then would've been a good result for us :greengrin

Now you've mentioned that it's ringing bells. Only 2 times I've heard of us signing a dead ball expert was Mallan and Kujabi though

17-04-2019, 11:25 AM
A 0-0 draw up there back then would've been a good result for us :greengrin

Now you've mentioned that it's ringing bells. Only 2 times I've heard of us signing a dead ball expert was Mallan and Kujabi though

Jarkko Wiss?

17-04-2019, 11:29 AM
Ian Henry broke his leg within 20 seconds in his debut for Hibs at Berwick Rangers in 1981. That was his only appearance for Hibs and I can still remember the sound of the sickening crack

I was going to post this....I was at Berwick that day. He actually made one sub appearance over a year later.

17-04-2019, 01:04 PM
Gordon Durie scored the second with a header. Penalty saved by Roughie. At 0-0.

WestStandWillie
17-04-2019, 10:30 PM
Henrik Larsson’s debut was pretty satisfying!

18-04-2019, 08:28 AM
Has to be Latapy against Ayr for me.

Think his first touch was when he received the ball, turned and ran at Ayr defence.

Knew we had something special.

18-04-2019, 09:40 AM
Le Gods debut at the old Brockville sticks in my mind . We won 2-1 .
I can remember quite a few of our signings scoring on their debut ,circa 85 .

18-04-2019, 09:47 AM
Paul Wright v Aberdeen I'm sure it was 1-1 think he scored

18-04-2019, 10:19 AM
Yip!

Remember that out on the right wing versus Ayr United ba came doon wi snow on it brought it under control first time and nipped past his man

Wonder what ever happened to him?

Im thinking Joe McBride Snr home debut versus Lokomotiv Leipzig hatrick or Johnny Graham King of Scotland double versus Old Airdrieonians

We thought he was the second coming but deemed surplus to requirements by Eddie Turnbull

He was great at first but tailed off as the rest of the team took a dive after the sales of Peter Marinello & four months later, Peter Cormack. I think ET judgement was pretty sound at the time as he brought in Alan Gordon for around the same fee we got off Ayr for Johnny Graham & the same with Eric Stevenson with us getting Alex Edwards. This is not saying Eric Stevenson was anything other than an outstanding player in the Hibs team prior to that but Arthur Duncan's arrival had limited Eric's options in the first team, nowadays, 29, when he left Hibs he would have been in his prime, but injuries had taken their toll on a wonderful footballer.

Joe's Baker's second debut, I had the privilege to be at ER to see that, if not the great man in his prompt in a Hibs shirt and I also was privileged to be at the two wonderful debuts you mentioned, it all added to a great childhood.

18-04-2019, 10:20 AM
Has to be Latapy against Ayr for me.

Think his first touch was when he received the ball, turned and ran at Ayr defence.

Knew we had something special.

Yip!

You could tell as soon as you clapped eyes on him that he was a class apart

Suberb touch and go player

His goal versus Hearts 6-2 summed him up

Shame it did not work out for him at Easter Road

Brilliant wee guy

Always played with a smile on his face

18-04-2019, 10:26 AM
My all time favourite debuts are:

1. Lewis (Mr Hibs) Stevenson -- League Cup against (Ayr, I think), anyone at that match could see there was a wee gem in the making.

2. Conrad! No explanation needed.

3. Peter Marinello (I think I remember his debut was in an away game (Dunfermiline or Raith Rovers) 1968/69.), but what I'm sure of was how much we were raving about him on the Bluebird coach on the way back to St Andrew's Square station.

Lewis played against Shamrock Rovers in Dublin as a 16 Yo and punched the pitch in frustration as he conceded a last-minute penalty which made the score 1-1, we had beat St Pat's 6-0 the previous night. He still looked a player though :greengrin

18-04-2019, 01:27 PM
Yip!

You could tell as soon as you clapped eyes on him that he was a class apart

Suberb touch and go player

His goal versus Hearts 6-2 summed him up

Shame it did not work out for him at Easter Road

Brilliant wee guy

Always played with a smile on his faceIt worked out brilliantly, it just didn't end well.

18-04-2019, 01:57 PM
It worked out brilliantly, it just didn't end well.

18-04-2019, 03:15 PM
Lewis played against Shamrock Rovers in Dublin as a 16 Yo and punched the pitch in frustration as he conceded a last-minute penalty which made the score 1-1, we had beat St Pat's 6-0 the previous night. He still looked a player though :greengrin

Cheers. I didn't know that, (I think), my memory is fast becoming a thing of the past. So to speak:greengrin

18-04-2019, 05:00 PM
Cheers. I didn't know that, (I think), my memory is fast becoming a thing of the past. So to speak:greengrin

His proper debut would have been the competitive fixture and not the pre-season friendly :thumbsup:

I'm much better with the past than the present lol

19-04-2019, 06:36 AM
Pat Stanton scored in a 3-4 loss away to Motherwell

Steve Archibald a double in a 4-0 win at home to Stranraer in the LC

Stuart Beedie at home to Graeme Sounesss new Rangers team full of expensive England internationals in a 2-1 win

”Welcome to Scotland!” :greengrin