View Full Version : BBC’s Brian Mclaughlin

08-04-2019, 04:35 PM
Not a surprise really but did any of you notice when interviewing Craig Levein he said “after being a goal up are you disappointed WE didn’t kick on”?

Impartial BBC as usual.

08-04-2019, 04:38 PM
Is he a Hearts fan?

08-04-2019, 04:39 PM
Is he a Hearts fan?

I’m sure he is.

hibsdaft
08-04-2019, 04:41 PM
He was also trying to make out the game was completely overshadowed by a few smoke bombs and an exotic fruit.

08-04-2019, 04:41 PM
I’m sure he is.
I didn't know that. He was probably just hurting/seething :greengrin

hibeerealist
08-04-2019, 04:42 PM
Is he a Hearts fan?

Yes he is. Slip of the tongue he will hope was missed.

08-04-2019, 04:50 PM
Link?

angus hibby
08-04-2019, 04:58 PM
Is this the same interview that you can hear “I’m On My Way” coming from the away dressing room? 😁

Mikeystewart
08-04-2019, 05:05 PM
Just listened to it back he says “the way you didn’t kick on”.
Apologies for ruining the thread 😂

I’m pretty sure he is a Jambo though.

08-04-2019, 05:06 PM

Definitely is a Jambo

08-04-2019, 05:06 PM
If he’s a hearts fan...I don’t have any problem with him referring to them as we. What’s the big deal??

08-04-2019, 05:08 PM
I want hearts to have him as one of them. Roaster.

hibsdaft
08-04-2019, 05:11 PM
If he’s a hearts fan...I don’t have any problem with him referring to them as we. What’s the big deal??

He's a journalist.

08-04-2019, 05:26 PM
He is a Jambo fud.

I remember when yams were at Murrayfield and was interviewing ‘queen’ Ann.......he said “well Ann, isn’t it fitting that we are sitting in the royal box” while just about bowing to her like she was the queen mum.

He loves Ann and the rest of those losers.

08-04-2019, 05:31 PM
Leave them alone; they had wee Ronnie as their club superstar supporter but he died. Step up Brian McLaughlin.

08-04-2019, 05:39 PM
Leave them alone; they had wee Ronnie as their club superstar supporter but he died. Step up Brian McLaughlin.

Time to use Frankie Boyle's line. B McL can't wear a tie and a belt on the same day because he'll look like sausages.....

08-04-2019, 05:59 PM
He's a journalist.

So is Pat Nevin.

08-04-2019, 06:14 PM
Journalists are allowed to support teams and, it appears, can verbalise their support. A few come to mind, the one that sticks in my mind is raving Jambo, Stuart Bathgate who seemed to despise Hibs and let it be known at every opportunity.

08-04-2019, 06:19 PM
Isn’t he the one that was being irritating during LD’s interview when PH was appointed, til she told him to give it a rest?

08-04-2019, 06:21 PM
Journalists are allowed to support teams and, it appears, can verbalise their support. A few come to mind, the one that sticks in my mind is raving Jambo, Stuart Bathgate who seemed to despise Hibs and let it be known at every opportunity.

I have no problem with journalists supporting teams, it would be weird if they didn't. I think so long as they can be balanced it's fine. Preston is a good example, for years he took absolute delight in anything going wrong with Hibs, but over the years he's toned this down and I actually am at the point where I can listen to him and hear him being objective and relatively insightful.

Off the Ball is another show that is better for the presenters being fans of their clubs.

08-04-2019, 06:22 PM
Isn’t he the one that was being irritating during LD’s interview when PH was appointed, til she told him to give it a rest?

08-04-2019, 06:51 PM
He's a journalist.

He can still show emotion to a side he supports.

Deflecting **** that he usually does in hearts favour is a different matter tho.

08-04-2019, 07:19 PM
I have no problem with journalists supporting teams, it would be weird if they didn't. I think so long as they can be balanced it's fine. Preston is a good example, for years he took absolute delight in anything going wrong with Hibs, but over the years he's toned this down and I actually am at the point where I can listen to him and hear him being objective and relatively insightful.

Off the Ball is another show that is better for the presenters being fans of their clubs.

But if we ever hit a disastrous few seasons again he'll be there laughing at anything that goes against us.

08-04-2019, 08:20 PM

Thanks😂 was convinced he said ‘We’ after replaying it 3 times however checked it again after your post and you are right....the mumbling buffoon,lol.

Apologies. Admins delete thread if you wish.

08-04-2019, 08:32 PM
He looks like one of them

08-04-2019, 09:01 PM

All he did was talk about crowd trouble and off side goals with Heckingbottom.

Jambo Fud.

08-04-2019, 09:08 PM
He looks like one of them

Are you sure he is a jambo?

I thought I saw him in the HIBS end on Saturday?

https://twitter.com/jackstewarttt/status/1114498863392612352

08-04-2019, 09:41 PM
Are you sure he is a jambo?

I thought I saw him in the HIBS end on Saturday?

https://twitter.com/jackstewarttt/status/1114498863392612352

What the hell?? :greengrin

08-04-2019, 09:44 PM

08-04-2019, 09:49 PM
Can't be a Hibs fan - it must be an (attempted) undercover Hearts fan surely :greengrin

08-04-2019, 09:49 PM

I think it's Beaker from The Muppet Show

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2013/04/09/article-0-192F265B000005DC-346_306x423.jpg

Criswell
08-04-2019, 10:52 PM
I'm pretty sure he is of a maroon persuasion. Everytime he does a match report from Tynecastle the first thing you always get is how "big the crowd" is: eg "In front of another sell-out here today......"

08-04-2019, 11:12 PM
He's a journalist.

So is Lois Lane.

08-04-2019, 11:29 PM
Not a surprise really but did any of you notice when interviewing Craig Levein he said “after being a goal up are you disappointed WE didn’t kick on”?

Impartial BBC as usual.

Just listened to the podcast and it sounded to me like he said "we". As a license payer I expect a more balanced approach from BBC interviewers.

09-04-2019, 07:22 AM
Very unprofessional. There will be loads of people who’d love to do his job and would be clearly better at it.

09-04-2019, 04:05 PM
Very unprofessional. There will be loads of people who’d love to do his job and would be clearly better at it.

The OP has already said that he misheard it.

09-04-2019, 04:48 PM
He was also trying to make out the game was completely overshadowed by a few smoke bombs and an exotic fruit.

That's journalism in today's world. Ignore the actual story and go for the controversy. He asked Heckingbottom about the flares etc, Heck says he was too engrossed in his job to notice the atmosphere until the end. So Brian has to ask him again, brutal reporter.

09-04-2019, 04:58 PM
So is Lois Lane.

She's an investigative reporter.

09-04-2019, 06:28 PM
The OP has already said that he misheard it.

Cool.Didnt see it myself. Apologies to Mr Mclaughlin.

09-04-2019, 07:09 PM
Brian is actually a good guy, Hearts fan he is but he loves football and I’ve never heard him be disparaging about Hibs. Quite affable too unlike Chris McLaughlin who is up his own backside !