View Full Version : McGregor’s tackle on Haring

06-04-2019, 06:51 PM
Boom. Take that Jambo welt. What a ****ing hero.

https://twitter.com/malky18751/status/1114514851194388480?s=21

06-04-2019, 06:53 PM
It was so unnecessary as well. Absolutely did him.

06-04-2019, 07:00 PM
Not exactly Hibs class, but I hate that redundant, self obsessed phrase.

A great tackle.

06-04-2019, 07:01 PM
https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1114531542993395714?s=19

Haring is a diving big jesse. Karma for that.

06-04-2019, 07:02 PM
About half an hour late but what's not to like.

On another day McNulty could have been sent off for his stamp and Daz could have followed.

Nothing wrong with it......why did he get booked?

Fogzie
06-04-2019, 07:05 PM
Just said to my mate. Did Hearts take the free kick from where he hit him or where he landed... 🤣🤣🤣

sauzee=legend
06-04-2019, 07:06 PM
Keep watching it - I honestly believe he doesn’t touch him

06-04-2019, 07:06 PM
On another day McNulty could have been sent off for his stamp and Daz could have followed.

Mcnultys was on his toes - never a red in a million years

Either was daz actually - at speed but not overly dangerous. The reverse angle shows that

06-04-2019, 07:07 PM
Got the ball.

06-04-2019, 07:08 PM
Mcnultys was on his toes - never a red in a million years

Either was daz actually - at speed to not overly dangers. The reverse angle shows that

So when has that stopped refs sending players off?

06-04-2019, 07:08 PM
Looks like he's on a water slide, he appeared so quickly :greengrin

It's a bad yin, yet very satisfying.

06-04-2019, 07:10 PM
So when has that stopped refs sending players off?

Same can be said for any tackle then

highland hibbee
06-04-2019, 07:15 PM
Just said to my mate. Did Hearts take the free kick from where he hit him or where he landed... 🤣🤣🤣

Brilliant

06-04-2019, 07:39 PM
Most pleasing thing is we have players like Daz who make these tackles, Hearts have Berra, Souttar and Smith who are more self-conscious of aggravating injury hence don't commit to such tackles - Daz, SDG and Paul play for the moment and don't have that thought when they play. Thought Lewy made a couple of cracking tackles today and made Clare think twice too. Berra and Souttar, when you watch them closely, have a first thought to get rid of the ball and play very square and invite pressure when not in possession - something Hibs and Hecky have exploited today. Thought our game management (and intelligence) today was excellent after the first half hour. Levein is now the 'tinker man', much like Lennon - and they get similar results. Hecky does what good managers do - don't re-invent the wheel and play a settled side and play players in their best positions so they know their role inside and out.

For me Hearts keeked it today which is all the more pleasing :greengrin

06-04-2019, 07:41 PM
It was a peach. Lewis got one of them as well, think it was in the first half, took the ball then utterly cleaned the hearts **** out.

06-04-2019, 07:51 PM
Same can be said for any tackle then

McNulty was very lucky. That was a bad challenge. I don’t think the area of the limb that’s hit comes into the decision making process when considering the appropriate card colour tbh.

06-04-2019, 07:53 PM

Red every day of the week oh well 😁

06-04-2019, 07:54 PM

It’s not - I saw Harry cochrane (remember him?) do similar last year and not get a red. It all evens out and all that.

06-04-2019, 07:57 PM
Lucky to get away with it but hey ho what comes around comes around you could tell by the look on Dazs face Yellow card play on!

06-04-2019, 07:58 PM
It’s not - I saw Harry cochrane (remember him?) do similar last year and not get a red. It all evens out and all that.

That was a 100% worse tackle by HC, was around knee height too

06-04-2019, 07:58 PM

Never a red. McNulty was a lucky lad though (in my opinion).

Makes up for the challenges on SJM and Bartley in the recent derbies :agree: As I posted previously, it's magic hearing Hearts fans moan about strong challenges given their past and their poor (unpunished) discipline. You reap what you sow and Hibs are no longer soft touches in derbies.

xyz23jc
06-04-2019, 08:01 PM
Never touched him....Heartsesque dive straight from the Oriam! :greengrin

gaz1875
06-04-2019, 09:01 PM
Jumped the tackle, don't know why he was rolling around as if he was shot in the leg.

06-04-2019, 09:04 PM
A proper hit - half mistimed and half deliberate. Deep inside their own half so yellow card at most.

06-04-2019, 09:09 PM
What ever happened to Harry Zidane cochrane anyway?

06-04-2019, 09:16 PM

:dunno: burnt out I think.

06-04-2019, 09:16 PM
Stick on red for me, got away with one imo.

06-04-2019, 09:17 PM

Potter played him before he was physically ready to play, knocked his career back

Surprised to read this.

Jambo mate told me a while ago that he had stopped sucking Soor plooms... i have no idea what that meant..

06-04-2019, 09:18 PM

Surprisingly, being chucked into the 1st team midfield on his 9th birthday had a bit of an impact on the lad. Think he's back to the youth squads to develop at a decent pace and we'll see him on the fringes of the first team sometime around 2027

wearethehibs
Not exactly Hibs class, but I hate that redundant, self obsessed phrase.

A great tackle.

Why say it then?

Barely a yellow. Great challenge.

06-04-2019, 09:19 PM

Lol.

06-04-2019, 09:19 PM
Surprised to read this.

06-04-2019, 09:22 PM
Why say it then?

Because, I must confess, I thought some outraged joy sponge would be on this thread saying it seriously, so wanted to register my disdain for that phrase first :greengrin

06-04-2019, 09:23 PM
Surprised to read this.

06-04-2019, 09:24 PM
Jambo mate told me a while ago that he had stopped sucking Soor plooms... i have no idea what that meant..

He's a very limited youth footballer that Levein and Hearts managed to convince the press was good - Fraser Murray is head and shoulders above him. The 'famous' Hearts production line really doesn't produce much. Morrison, Godhino, Brandon, Cochrane, Bauer, Zanatta, McDonald, Keena............none of them will make it :agree: despite Allan Preston trying really really hard to peddle the myth on Sportsound.

Crazyhorse
06-04-2019, 09:33 PM
Potter played him before he was physically ready to play, knocked his career back

As predicted by many of us on here, whole pointed out Potter’s disgusting exploitation of the lad.

06-04-2019, 09:38 PM

Your jambo mate sounds a bit weird. Still... whatever floats your boat :wink:

06-04-2019, 09:39 PM
As predicted by many of us on here, whole pointed out Potter’s disgusting exploitation of the lad.

Big Itchy playing with concussion today is another example - should never have been risked after being KOd last week. I think he done the same with Berra last season. No thought for player welfare.

Wakeyhibee
06-04-2019, 09:42 PM

Yellow max, two feet off the ground red. Hearts fella who put Omeonga into the red stuff could of got the same. He did get the ball and credit to Omeonga he got up and shrugged it off.

allmodcons
06-04-2019, 09:44 PM
Enjoy seeing the tackle now :wink: but, at the time, couldn't believe he didn't see red.

06-04-2019, 09:47 PM
Big Itchy playing with concussion today is another example - should never have been risked after being KOd last week. I think he done the same with Berra last season. No thought for player welfare.

I've noticed with Potter that he seems to do it whenever one of his 'talismanic' players is injured and he's desperate to end poor runs of form when they're absent. The players themselves seem to buy into it and preen on their 'heroic' stature for jumping back in before they're physically ready

elevengoats
06-04-2019, 10:12 PM
Could have easily been a red, glad it wasn't.

06-04-2019, 10:13 PM
Enjoy seeing the tackle now :wink: but, at the time, couldn't believe he didn't see red.

Ridic attempt at a tackle, wasn’t impressed but ..........****in love the big fellae

TelaStella
06-04-2019, 11:34 PM
Porn

06-04-2019, 11:56 PM
McNulty was very lucky. That was a bad challenge. I don’t think the area of the limb that’s hit comes into the decision making process when considering the appropriate card colour tbh.

McNulty was unlucky in his challenge, was stretching for the ball as his shirt was being pulled. Wouldn't have been stretching if the hearts boy didn't have a hold of his shirt.

07-04-2019, 12:46 AM
McNulty was unlucky in his challenge, was stretching for the ball as his shirt was being pulled. Wouldn't have been stretching if the hearts boy didn't have a hold of his shirt.

Come on noo, we could easily have been looking at two red cards, especially in Gorgie. We had the rub of the green today e.g. no offside for the first goal.

Green_one
07-04-2019, 01:51 AM
Come on noo, we could easily have been looking at two red cards, especially in Gorgie. We had the rub of the green today e.g. no offside for the first goal.

Nah, film actually shows incident during Hearts warm down after the game. Fake news 🙈

07-04-2019, 04:18 AM
If Daz's tackle should've been a red then so should Haring’s that he got booked for, it was just as bad.

07-04-2019, 06:52 AM
Firm but fair.

07-04-2019, 06:58 AM

Agree

Almost as bad as allowing Porto to reset his own knee three times during a game

I wonder how Hecky would have handled that one?

” Ref!.....Sub!”

MacGruber
07-04-2019, 07:02 AM
From the other angle he never made any contact with the tackle at all, though he did catch him with his trailing leg which was bent behind him. Haring jumped up on contact (not in a diving fashion but to make sure he was getting out the way of the McGregor train). A booking was fair. If Daz had caught him with the actual tackle it could have been red.

Either way it's a tremendous watch

07-04-2019, 07:05 AM
Surprisingly, being chucked into the 1st team midfield on his 9th birthday had a bit of an impact on the lad. Think he's back to the youth squads to develop at a decent pace and we'll see him on the fringes of the first team sometime around 2027
Yes Levein knows how to develop a young player.

07-04-2019, 07:06 AM

Long overdue after all the real goals not given and the penalty/sending off in the final.

07-04-2019, 08:09 AM
Surprised to read this.

😂😂

07-04-2019, 08:14 AM

Puts to bed the theory that Daz is slow.:greengrin

Weegreenman
07-04-2019, 08:23 AM
It was a peach. Lewis got one of them as well, think it was in the first half, took the ball then utterly cleaned the hearts **** out.

Chris Sutton reckons that it was a penalty. :rolleyes: Clearly took the ball first.

07-04-2019, 08:31 AM
Chris Sutton reckons that it was a penalty. :rolleyes: Clearly took the ball first.

Not seen the incident so I'm sure Sutton is slavering as per, but getting the ball first does not de facto mean it's not a penalty

07-04-2019, 08:38 AM
Not seen the incident so I'm sure Sutton is slavering as per, but getting the ball first does not de facto mean it's not a penalty

Watched the whole game back last night when i got in. Its unreal how biased Sutton was in his commentary against Hibs. He used to be very complimentary about us but seems to have taking a real disliking for us since his wee pal Lennon left. Every single incident during his commentary he Was at it.

07-04-2019, 08:55 AM
Watched the whole game back last night when i got in. Its unreal how biased Sutton was in his commentary against Hibs. He used to be very complimentary about us but seems to have taking a real disliking for us since his wee pal Lennon left. Every single incident during his commentary he Was at it.

I’m just watching it again now and totally agree. The one in the first half especially when Stevenson clearly wins the ball in the box Sutton was adamant it should’ve been a pen. He’s just gutted after him and several others told us we’d never get better than their pal Lenny.

07-04-2019, 09:25 AM

That was a strange one from Sutton - never a penalty and only about a minute after he praised Smith (?) for doing a similar on Omeonga.

07-04-2019, 09:30 AM

The way the game is reffed at the moment is usually, if you clean out a player while winning the ball in the box, no foul is given. You make this tackle anywhere else on the pitch, it's a foul and a yellow card for dangerous play.

07-04-2019, 09:37 AM
I've noticed with Potter that he seems to do it whenever one of his 'talismanic' players is injured and he's desperate to end poor runs of form when they're absent. The players themselves seem to buy into it and preen on their 'heroic' stature for jumping back in before they're physically readyI reckon the big guy was probably desperate to play as he's the talismanic centre forward who is in hot pursuit of his 3rd goal of the season.

07-04-2019, 09:39 AM
I reckon the big guy was probably desperate to play as he's the talismanic centre forward who is in hot pursuit of his 3rd goal of the season.

I couldn't believe this when I heard. Everytime you hear about Hertz it's all about Ikpeazu, everything goes through him, their focal point, danger man centre forward,blah blah blah.

Two goals. All season. That's it?:aok:

07-04-2019, 09:40 AM
Yes Levein knows how to develop a young player.He does, when he orders up next season's transit van load when he's wearing his director of football hat he'll say chuck a few younger ones in as well. Sorted.

07-04-2019, 09:44 AM
I couldn't believe this when I heard. Everytime you hear about Hertz it's all about Ikpeazu, everything goes through him, their focal point, danger man centre forward,blah blah blah.

Two goals. All season. That's it?:aok:3 assists as well. No idea how much time he spends on his erse but if he was on his feet a bit more he might get his goals per mins on the pitch below 500[emoji23][emoji23]

Needs to move on up to a club like Cambridge Utd who know how to get the most out of his talent.

KinchHibee
07-04-2019, 09:45 AM
Somewhat unrelated but does anyone have the gif/clip of Daz wiping out Don Cowie in 2017 cup game?

07-04-2019, 09:48 AM
Definitely got the ball ... think hairy pete tripped over his man bun

07-04-2019, 09:52 AM
Somewhat unrelated but does anyone have the gif/clip of Daz wiping out Don Cowie in 2017 cup game?

I would love that as well.

07-04-2019, 09:58 AM
This makes a welcome change from Hibs players getting kicked all over the shop when they try to play football at the PBS. Thomson would likely have sent Daz off for that one.

07-04-2019, 09:58 AM
The way the game is reffed at the moment is usually, if you clean out a player while winning the ball in the box, no foul is given. You make this tackle anywhere else on the pitch, it's a foul and a yellow card for dangerous play.

That annoys me.

You make clean contact with the ball and anything after that should be incidental unless it's dangerous.

07-04-2019, 10:08 AM
About time we kicked theS@@@ our of them they’ve been doing it to us since the Neil Berry days.

Gave the fans a big lift and reenergised us at a time nerves were kicking in

07-04-2019, 11:18 AM
I’d no doubt be shouting for a red if it was roles reversed but think a yellow was correct. Haring jumping to avoid it makes it look worse than it was.

07-04-2019, 12:41 PM
Not seen the incident so I'm sure Sutton is slavering as per, but getting the ball first does not de facto mean it's not a penaltyThat would be the very same Chris Sutton who told us we'd regret getting rid of Lennon...

07-04-2019, 12:54 PM
Collum chose to referee the game differently from a run of the mill fixture. McGregor realised that and played accordingly. They’ve been doing it to us for years.

07-04-2019, 12:55 PM
I reckon the big guy was probably desperate to play as he's the talismanic centre forward who is in hot pursuit of his 3rd goal of the season.

I adore this post.

07-04-2019, 01:45 PM

Best bit is where Daz just nonchalantly trots past the ref as he flashes the yellow-card, clearly displaying his 'I DON'T GIVE A ******' frame-of-mind !. Icing on the cake is the very apparent heart-break of the Jambo (don't know his name - he's a Jambo therefore a nobody) who's begging the ref for a red-card !!

07-04-2019, 01:46 PM

Thought the same when I watched it back last night.

07-04-2019, 01:49 PM
Fair tackle

hibeerealist
07-04-2019, 01:51 PM

Second that, sure many other Hibbies picking that up too.

07-04-2019, 01:55 PM
https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1114531542993395714?s=19

Haring is a diving big jesse. Karma for that.

Poetic

07-04-2019, 02:16 PM
I adore this post.[emoji106]

I usually manage one like it every 5000th post.

Actually sent same observations to our family yam. His response quoted below

I know but what choice do we have? Only play one way and Levein has left us with McLean who must be his dominoes partner and the utterly hopeless Vanacek who was probably a basketball player that wasn't any good at basketball.
We're horrible to watch.

07-04-2019, 02:33 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/KG4tdqU67qpJVLzUjd/giphy.gif

07-04-2019, 03:06 PM
Btw - slightly off topic but does anyone know what time Haring's due to land at ?

07-04-2019, 03:11 PM
Btw - slightly off topic but does anyone know what time Haring's due to land at ?

He's still orbiting Jupiter right now.

07-04-2019, 03:23 PM

HA HA!

Brilliant!

Looking at that straight red two footed totally out of control but since it’s against the pony tailed Hearts
barsteward yellow and a word of warning “Make sure you catch him next time.” :greengrin

07-04-2019, 03:27 PM
HA HA!

Brilliant!

Looking at that straight red two footed totally out of control but since it’s against the pony tailed Hearts
barsteward yellow and a word of warning “Make sure you catch him next time.” :greengrin

That angle makes it look like shocker but it was nothing of the sort. Just a Daz type 'hello'

Hibbeejohn
07-04-2019, 03:36 PM

Checked on Edinburgh Airport live flight radar and he's due in at twenty past six

07-04-2019, 03:39 PM
Checked on Edinburgh Airport live flight radar and he's due in at twenty past six

Correction Haring thinks it's twenty past six but it's actually half past eight.

Hibbeejohn
07-04-2019, 04:00 PM
Correction Haring thinks it's twenty past six but it's actually half past eight.
You can follow it on the radar. He's flying McGregor Airways, flight number DAZ1-2. The flight suffered a bit of turbulence and he wasn't wearing a seatbelt so you could be right, it might be a little late:wink:

07-04-2019, 04:20 PM
Great tackle.

He actually showed the full panoply of his skill set on Saturday; on this occasion showing us that what Hearts normally specialise in, he can do better.

07-04-2019, 05:05 PM
Great tackle.

He actually showed the full panoply of his skill set on Saturday; on this occasion showing us that what Hearts normally specialise in, he can do better.

Worth remembering that Haring was booked for wiping out Mallan in the second half.

Sure that McGregor’s tackle wasn’t related [emoji16]

07-04-2019, 05:18 PM
Surprised to read this.

Seems I'm not alone with that opinion.

07-04-2019, 05:50 PM
Enjoyable to watch just now.. obviously :)

But let’s not kid ourselves that it wasn’t a very poor challenge that could easily be judged as ‘out of control’.

This thread would be littered with posts about how it’s typical of their style of play, potter tactics and horrible anti-football dirty Jambo bastarts.. if colours were the other way round.

Enjoyable nonetheless.

07-04-2019, 06:12 PM
Enjoyable to watch just now.. obviously :)

But let’s not kid ourselves that it wasn’t a very poor challenge that could easily be judged as ‘out of control’.

This thread would be littered with posts about how it’s typical of their style of play, potter tactics and horrible anti-football dirty Jambo bastarts.. if colours were the other way round.

Enjoyable nonetheless.

It’s about time they were on the receiving end they’ve been dishing it out for years

07-04-2019, 06:36 PM
Dazs tackle not even mentioned on Sportscene tonight so obviously not deserving of any comment and deemed to be irrelevant to the outcome of the match

07-04-2019, 06:58 PM
It’s about time they were on the receiving end they’ve been dishing it out for years

Correct :agree:

07-04-2019, 07:08 PM

So you agree with me then... haha

07-04-2019, 08:10 PM
If Dave Beumont had anything about him, he's have done the same thing.

No i'm not bitter. :greengrin

Crunchie
08-04-2019, 02:56 AM

For once at the wongadome vital decisions went our way :greengrin

08-04-2019, 09:00 AM

Absolutely a thing of beauty :greengrin

03-06-2019, 12:41 PM
Absolutely a thing of beauty :greengrin
mentioned in the thread above but does anyone have footage of the challenge big Daz hit Don Cowie with in a previous Tynecastle derby.

It's one of the many where we knocked them out the cup (not that that narrows it down too much)

03-06-2019, 01:02 PM

Shocking dive. Haring should have been booked, made to go and make Daz a big cup of tea and polish the scuff mark off of his boot as an apology.

03-06-2019, 01:05 PM
Fair challenge

03-06-2019, 01:55 PM
Shocking dive. Haring should have been booked, made to go and make Daz a big cup of tea and polish the scuff mark off of his boot as an apology.Brilliant 😆

03-06-2019, 03:03 PM
High enough up in the air to wipe out half a dozen seagulls at Easter Road :faf:

03-06-2019, 07:44 PM
Excellent leadership. Charge into their half and crunch one of their players. It laid down a marker for a great win.

03-06-2019, 08:07 PM
Seriously I thought Dazs’ timing was out all season 😂

ajf
04-06-2019, 04:30 AM
A fair off the ball challenge

04-06-2019, 05:09 AM
Got the ball