View Full Version : Who was the last Hibs player to score twice at Tynecastle?

ozwoody
06-04-2019, 01:53 PM
Heard on commentary that Horgan was the first player in 34 years to score twice at that hovel.
who was last player in 1985?
also, reading kickback ( which is in meltdown) that’s the first time CL has ever been beating from Hibs at tynie.
We rode our luck at times, but dug deep for a massive win, well done to players and coaches

06-04-2019, 01:54 PM
Joe mcbride in a 2-2 draw.

greiggy
Joe Mcbride?

Archibald I assume?
Only got the one.

06-04-2019, 01:55 PM
Joe Mcbride?

this

06-04-2019, 01:56 PM
Cummings and Keating's when we beat Bonnyrigg.

06-04-2019, 02:05 PM
Joe mcbride in a 2-2 draw.

Was at that game. Had a bet with John the Jambo who owned the Scottie. He missed the kick off, Hearts scored in the first minute. Nipped off for a pee just before they scored the second. Left with 5 minutes to go and he missed McBride's 2 goals. One was a Mallanesce free kick.

Four goals and he missed them all.

06-04-2019, 02:19 PM
Joe Mcbride?

Now there was a goal scorer, ****in brilliant he was while he lasted at Hibs.

06-04-2019, 02:26 PM
Joe's free kick is a tie with Archibalds for the best goal we have scored at Tynie IMO.

06-04-2019, 02:51 PM
Now there was a goal scorer, ****in brilliant he was while he lasted at Hibs.

Are you thinking of his dad? Joe junior scored a few but Joe senior was a goal machine.

06-04-2019, 02:53 PM
Joe's free kick is a tie with Archibalds for the best goal we have scored at Tynie IMO.

Surely Archie’s has to be the tops? That effectively sealed the win whereas Joe’s got us a draw. I’d also say for quality of goal that Sauzee’s exocet is right up there.

06-04-2019, 03:41 PM
Was at that game. Had a bet with John the Jambo who owned the Scottie. He missed the kick off, Hearts scored in the first minute. Nipped off for a pee just before they scored the second. Left with 5 minutes to go and he missed McBride's 2 goals. One was a Mallanesce free kick.

Four goals and he missed them all.

I remember the game well. Wet spring evening. Huge Hibs support there. Shades subbed at half time. And Joe’s wonderful free kick. Gorgie Road was fun afterwards.

06-04-2019, 03:54 PM

Four goals and he missed them all.This one

https://youtu.be/75CBCuKOtp0

06-04-2019, 04:42 PM
This one

https://youtu.be/75CBCuKOtp0

wrong game i think. Im sure Joes 2 were on a midweek floodlit game

06-04-2019, 04:45 PM
:wink:Definitely.

06-04-2019, 05:36 PM
:wink:You're right, one of them was a volley from memory

06-04-2019, 05:39 PM
Definitely.Aye, one of them was a volley from memory. 2 in 6 minutes as well.

MartinfaePorty
06-04-2019, 05:41 PM
Pretty sure that was the equaliser. Ball came in from the left and he side foot volleyed it home. Both goals scored at the far end, so was only sure of the scorer post match.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

06-04-2019, 05:53 PM
Pretty sure that was the equaliser. Ball came in from the left and he side foot volleyed it home. Both goals scored at the far end, so was only sure of the scorer post match.

Thought Joe's goals in 2-2 draw were both free-kicks? Is my mind playing tricks on me?

06-04-2019, 07:03 PM
Thought Joe's goals in 2-2 draw were both free-kicks? Is my mind playing tricks on me?

I’m postive they were.

Fergos
06-04-2019, 07:10 PM

Aye defo 2 free kicks at the herts end.

MartinfaePorty
06-04-2019, 07:36 PM
Pretty sure the 1st one was a free kick, but the equaliser was a volley. Can't remember what I had for breakfast these days, but remember the goals vividly!

wallpaperman
06-04-2019, 07:46 PM
Aye defo 2 free kicks at the herts end.

No, your memory is playing tricks on you, as it does with us all.

The first was the lovely free kick. From memory the second was some sort of rebound that came back to Joe, may have been a volley/half volley but we were so far away at the other end. Sure there were no tv cameras at the game, certainly never seen any footage.

It was my first Derby at Tynecastle without my Dad as he was working and remember getting on a bus quite quickly up the hill from Gorige Road, and avoided any aggro.

06-04-2019, 07:48 PM
Any older fans remember a Tynecastle double by Des Bremner in a midweek match in 70s ? Finished 2 - 2 I think . Was unusual since Des very rarely scored but got 2 that day ( I think ) . Also a 2 - 0 win with 2 very late goals by Cropley ? Maybe season before 7 - 0 match .

Fergos
06-04-2019, 08:06 PM

The first was the lovely free kick. From memory the second was some sort of rebound that came back to Joe, may have been a volley/half volley but we were so far away at the other end. Sure there were no tv cameras at the game, certainly never seen any footage.

It was my first Derby at Tynecastle without my Dad as he was working and remember getting on a bus quite quickly up the hill from Gorige Road, and avoided any aggro.

The man himself was interviewed recently, it may be on YouTube, it was 2 free kicks for sure, I was also there, and confirmed in the aforementioned video. I’ll try and find the video at some point.

06-04-2019, 08:13 PM
I was at this game and is a favorite of mine. Joe Mcbride was more of a left winger from my memory but got the late double here. Gorgie road end went completely radge at the equaliser.

wallpaperman
06-04-2019, 08:22 PM
The man himself was interviewed recently, it may be on YouTube, it was 2 free kicks for sure, I was also there, and confirmed in the aforementioned video. I’ll try and find the video at some point.

Really? **** me, in that case it must be my memory that's going then, I was sure they were not both direct free kicks.

Joe also scored a lovely free kick on 1 November 1986 in a 1-1 draw, which I have no recollection of at all, there is grainy footage of this one on YouTube.

Did Joe really score 3 direct free kicks at Tynie in such a short period, still not 100% convinced about that second goal in the 1985 game?!

06-04-2019, 08:48 PM
Proud to say I was present at both ����

(And a lot of crap in between..)

06-04-2019, 09:10 PM
Remember the Joe McBride (X2) game pretty well. I was in their old centre stand with my wife's pal's dad (an old hearts supporter). I had taken him to the New Year game at ER, and he wanted to return the compliment.
Time was running out for us until young Joe popped up with 2 fine goals, iirc both were from free kicks.

06-04-2019, 09:13 PM
If Omeonga’s pass was better he might’ve had a hat-trick. Have we ever had a player score 3?

06-04-2019, 09:13 PM
The 2nd goal from Joe McBride was from a cross from the right hand side and a smashed it past Henry.

06-04-2019, 09:33 PM

I remember watching the highlights on Scotsport late that night after leaving the game with about 15 mins to go.

cmcd
06-04-2019, 09:44 PM
I remember watching the highlights on Scotsport late that night after leaving the game with about 15 mins to go.

Best goal has to be Alan Gordon's header for the 7th. Build up from Shades ( What a challenge) and Arthur Duncan

Orourke73
06-04-2019, 09:48 PM
If Omeonga’s pass was better he might’ve had a hat-trick. Have we ever had a player score 3?

Sure Joe Baker scored 4 in a 4-4 draw in the cup??

06-04-2019, 09:59 PM
Only got the one.

But what a special one it was..

06-04-2019, 10:17 PM
9Match was 2/4/1985 a Tuesday night

Joe McBride Jnr came on as a sub at 29 mins scored 84 and 87 mins

Both goals free kicks scored at the School end late on

I watched the game from the Gorgie Road end which was the away end in them days

06-04-2019, 10:52 PM
Sure Joe Baker scored 4 in a 4-4 draw in the cup??
4- 3 Hibs and he didn’ t score another goal against them.

Tomsk
06-04-2019, 11:07 PM
4- 3 Hibs and he didn’ t score another goal against them.

Scored two against Hearts in a league game at Tynecastle about a year later.

06-04-2019, 11:11 PM
Scored two against Hearts in a league game at Tynecastle about a year later.
Was that after the cup game?Memory going.

06-04-2019, 11:14 PM
The 2nd goal from Joe McBride was from a cross from the right hand side and a smashed it past Henry.

Crossed by Ralphy if I remember right.

Tomsk
06-04-2019, 11:21 PM
Was that after the cup game?Memory going.

1959. Sorry, before my time. I looked it up. I was so surprised to read from you he hadn't scored against Hearts after the 4-3 game.

I saw Baker play for Hibs, but only in his second spell.

06-04-2019, 11:35 PM
9Match was 2/4/1985 a Tuesday night

Joe McBride Jnr came on as a sub at 29 mins scored 84 and 87 mins

Both goals free kicks scored at the School end late on

I watched the game from the Gorgie Road end which was the away end in them days

My memory is that it was two free kick, wet and not many Hibs fans left. I pretty much never leave a game early after making the correct decision that evening

zitelli62
07-04-2019, 12:52 AM
The McBride game I left with about 10 or 15 to go gutted another defeat to them no internet in these days got back to hibs club only to be told we drew 2 2 gutted to have missed the goals overall not a great day that day.

07-04-2019, 06:42 AM
My memory is that it was two free kick, wet and not many Hibs fans left. I pretty much never leave a game early after making the correct decision that evening
Yip pissing down

When I got to the boozer hibbies there would not believe me when I told them them 2-2

No internet back then. :greengrin

07-04-2019, 08:24 AM
Pat Quinn hattrick for the oldies!

07-04-2019, 08:35 AM
Pat Quinn hattrick for the oldies!

:agree: 4-1 game. We had a fabulously good record at Tynecastle for a spell, 50ish years ago.

MartinfaePorty
07-04-2019, 11:06 AM
Thank God, I'm not going mad! 2nd goal from a cross.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hibee-history-hibs-battle-back-and-make-point-1-1247842

wallpaperman
07-04-2019, 11:11 AM
Thank God, I'm not going mad! 2nd goal from a cross.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hibee-history-hibs-battle-back-and-make-point-1-1247842

Thank you Martin, I was sure my memory was correct that the second was not a free kick and was some sort of rebound which is what the newspaper report said. Can't remember some games from last season, but funny how some things from decades ago linger.

Fergos
07-04-2019, 12:35 PM
This aul age game is nae use....I’ve thought it was 2 free kicks for 30 odd years now, my memory ain’t what it never was....

07-04-2019, 01:06 PM
I see the Scotsman's journalism was as good then as it is now. :rolleyes:

"The Hibs fans were streaming for the exits when McBride gave them hope of saving a point with a curling, left-footed free-kick from 22 yards after Jardine had been brought down by Callachan."

07-04-2019, 03:25 PM
Was also at this game but missed our goals as my big *****bag of a mate forced me to leave early, to get the bus to Dalkeith.
Couldn’t believe it when we got to Dalkeith and heard we had drawn 2-2 . Also thought until now that Joe McBride had scored two free kicks .
Big Eddie ya big ***** bag 😂