View Full Version : David Gray

hibeemikey21
06-04-2019, 01:35 PM
Statue now.

rosco-hibee
06-04-2019, 01:38 PM
I don’t think you’ll get many arguments after that performance.

The man is a hero. Absolute. Hero.

SiinDubai
06-04-2019, 01:44 PM
A warrior

06-04-2019, 01:46 PM
Yep a statue please. Probably best just near the entrance to the east stand.

06-04-2019, 01:47 PM
He’s a proper leader.

06-04-2019, 01:48 PM
What a captain.

1 year contract for Gray and McGregor

It's amazing what a state we were in when he was signed and where we are now. Hero.

06-04-2019, 01:49 PM
Love him. Actual loving a football player is sad but it’s true.

06-04-2019, 01:50 PM
He was like Sauzee in the four front teeth derby. Absolutely inspirational to play like that carrying an injury. If you don't give him 10/10 in the player ratings you're just a pure ****.

:flag: What a day

gazzag70
06-04-2019, 01:54 PM
What a performance from the Legend today, gave his all, Our best player!

Hibs4185
06-04-2019, 01:55 PM
He should graduate from a Sir to a King after his dedication today. I didn’t see the legends of the past but he is surely up there

06-04-2019, 01:57 PM
Hibs personified

06-04-2019, 02:06 PM
Is he still signing for Hearts :faf::bye:

hibs#1
06-04-2019, 02:07 PM
He should graduate from a Sir to a King after his dedication today. I didn’t see the legends of the past but he is surely up there

Should be a god.

06-04-2019, 02:07 PM

All hail King David!

06-04-2019, 02:08 PM
What a man. Statue absolutely.

06-04-2019, 02:10 PM
A colossus. Walls must panic when he is about. Legend. Legend. Legend.

What a man. Statue absolutely.

Just dont make it a statue of him taking a throw in. Warrior cant be good at everything I guess.
Have the feeling that he will be around Easter Road in some capacity for many years yet.

SmashinGlass
An absolute colossus. What a performance.

capitals_finest
06-04-2019, 02:11 PM
The guy bleeds green and white. I just love the man to bits.

06-04-2019, 02:17 PM
Statue pose must be him in the cup final at FT on his knees with both arms in the air.

06-04-2019, 02:22 PM
Horgan MoM but Sir David was immense.

06-04-2019, 02:23 PM
Horgan MoM but Sir David was immense.

:agree: As was Hanlon. Back to his best,

06-04-2019, 02:26 PM
:agree: As was Hanlon. Back to his best,

And Daz 😁😁

Hakim Sar
06-04-2019, 02:30 PM
Sir David of Gray, the Supreme Captain of Easter Road, Hero of Hampden, Commander of Heck and Robbie's Green and White Army, Scourge of Gorgie, Knight of the Natural Order, Emperor of Edinburgh and the Excellence of Execution. The best there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be.

And he's ours, having been born into the darkened domain of Yam, but released from the shackles of Shantytown (anything named Wardlaw or Wheatfield).

Long Live Sir David!

06-04-2019, 02:32 PM
David Gray, whit a game, absolutely bloody fantastic

06-04-2019, 02:33 PM
He was outstanding today.

06-04-2019, 02:51 PM
Hard as nails is SDG, with a fantastic attitude. A true Hibs legend.

06-04-2019, 02:56 PM
Thread title should read 'Sir David Gray'. He plays for the badge, legend.

06-04-2019, 02:58 PM

I am the biggest republican in the world, but I completely agree!

MagicSwirlingShip
06-04-2019, 03:00 PM
I love this man

rotherhamrob
06-04-2019, 03:04 PM
Just think, when he was fit after his injury lenny chose not to play him.
It's amazing what happens when you play your best available players in their natural positions and don't tinker too much.

Hibees1973
06-04-2019, 03:08 PM
If you look back at our last few games at Tiny, Gray has not been in the team due to injury. He is the heartbeat of our team and as Dempster said a few weeks back he should remain at the club for as long as he wants.

This is not sentiment just because of his cup final winning goal. I genuinely feel better when he is in the team.

There is not a Jambo out there who would not want Gray in their team.

Legend is a word too loosely said these days. David Gray is a genuine one.

06-04-2019, 03:11 PM
What a legend. Gives his all for the club. Hope he realises what he means to the fans.

06-04-2019, 03:13 PM
Great performance from Gray today

As others have said the guy is a warrior and leads by example.

TelaStella
06-04-2019, 03:27 PM
Absolute God. My favourite captain we’ve ever had

06-04-2019, 03:30 PM
Still a complete mystery why he wasn't playing when fit earlier in the season. He makes a massive difference to our team and I'm sure the stats will show we get more points when he starts then when he doesn't. Hop he gets a year or two more and some luck with injuries.

06-04-2019, 03:43 PM
Gave everything today, he looked like he was goosed after the battering he had taken but just kept at it … what an attitude, what a captain …. legend :not worth

Canny take throw ins for toffee though :greengrin

gogsy23
06-04-2019, 05:04 PM
The EEN gave him a 7 today.... A 7!!! Must have seen a different game to the rest of us. Monumental performance from him today

06-04-2019, 05:07 PM
The EEN gave him a 7 today.... A 7!!! Must have seen a different game to the rest of us. Monumental performance from him today

As I said, only ****s would fail to give this Zeus like figure 10/10.

06-04-2019, 05:09 PM
As I said, only ****s would fail to give this Zeus like figure 10/10.

To be fair he could be picking his erse and I’d give him 10/10

HibeeHibernian4
06-04-2019, 05:14 PM
I’m genuinely going to clinically depressed when he retires. What a man.

06-04-2019, 05:25 PM
The EEN gave him a 7 today.... A 7!!! Must have seen a different game to the rest of us. Monumental performance from him todayAm guessing they gave the Hearts security guy who was filling in up front for them today a 10?

Weegreenman
06-04-2019, 05:27 PM
Statue now.

Get it done Leeann :not worth

06-04-2019, 05:30 PM
It's what Legends do.

06-04-2019, 05:30 PM
I’m genuinely going to clinically depressed when he retires. What a man.

I don't even want to think about it.

06-04-2019, 06:10 PM
Definitely up there as one of our greatest ever Hibs captains.

Mr Grieves
06-04-2019, 06:16 PM
Warrior. Probably should have been subbed earlier but continued to put his body on the line

07-04-2019, 11:18 AM
Just dont make it a statue of him taking a throw in. Warrior cant be good at everything I guess.
Have the feeling that he will be around Easter Road in some capacity for many years yet.We can only hope...that whole back 4 are living Hibs legends they really are...great to see them all back to their best under the Heck...when so many on here were writing them off a few weeks ago. Just tremendous

08-04-2019, 04:12 PM
According to Hanlon after his head knock gray was groggy and had been sick. How was he allowed to come back on Second half?

08-04-2019, 04:24 PM
I love him so much.

08-04-2019, 04:42 PM
When Leeann took the reigns at the Club, her first signing was ,of course ,Alan Stubbs

Alan's first signing was David Gray.

David has been immense throughout his time at the Club.

His commitment, attitude, and leadership has been outstanding
His insistence that he continue to play on Saturday after taking more than a couple of knocks says it all about his passion and love for Hibernian and the man himself.

A truly great signing and a player who would have graced all the best Hibernian sides i have witnessed.

Yes,one of our great captains he certainly is.

No. i don't think there should be a statue in his honour built at the Holy Ground.

It should replace the Wellington statue at Register House for all to see !!

cad
08-04-2019, 04:53 PM
Slightly off topic bud it concerns David and this never ending throwing the ball away when one of the opposition players try to get it from the stands now its not just Hearts I dare say Hibs and every other club has a wee fud throwing the ball over the head dropping it whatever just trying to noise you up fare enough,personally I just want the game to flow not waiting for the next wee fanny waiting for a round of applause because its a Jambo or a Rangers player or whoever,this all came to a head with Hazard getting sent off at Swansea years ago , a multi million pound sport should not be held to ransom by a wee fud of 17 `s moment of fame,anyway back to Mr Gray.

My concern for David came in the first half ,when he went to get the ball far side about 20 yards up from the corner flag and some bell-end in an orange/tan puffer jacket hood up, just hurled the ball with all his might at Gray luckily he caught it ,am I being a bit OTT or is there cause for concern I think its unacceptable ,flares ,a coconut, feeding the frenzy as it were ,if Grays hit in the face and goes down needs treatment etc wheres the stewards ,the police does Budge get involved, as I say am I going a bit OTT or is this a problem ,your thought please.

angus hibby
08-04-2019, 05:11 PM
According to Hanlon after his head knock gray was groggy and had been sick. How was he allowed to come back on Second half?

Think he was sick in the dug out after being taken off.

The Pointer
08-04-2019, 05:27 PM
Think he was sick in the dug out after being taken off.

I find that incredible if true. Other sports started taking this seriously about five years ago and have protocols in place, particularly rugby. They mentioned it on the radio commentary and he should have been hooked then.

Look what happened to Geoff Astle.

08-04-2019, 05:46 PM
In my lifetime, his only challenger for Hibs greatest ever captain is Pat Stanton. Pat was a player of incomparable class but he never brought home the Scottish Cup.

09-04-2019, 07:15 PM
Definitely up there as one of our greatest ever Hibs captains.

Seen many come and go and have to agree, SDG is a Legend in every respect and really hope the club can recognise the huge contribution's made to the club over the last few years. He's as honest a player as you'll find these days. If you're kids are ever looking for a footballing role model, you'd be hard pressed to find better than Sir David Gray.

09-04-2019, 07:38 PM
Still a complete mystery why he wasn't playing when fit earlier in the season. He makes a massive difference to our team and I'm sure the stats will show we get more points when he starts then when he doesn't. Hop he gets a year or two more and some luck with injuries.
Probably dared to question Lennon's antics and Lennon showed him who was boss, by not playing him, just confirming the mess he was making of his team selections most weeks, confirming where he was with regards to his not being in a good place in managing our team.

09-04-2019, 07:40 PM
I love him 😍

09-04-2019, 09:19 PM
I find that incredible if true. Other sports started taking this seriously about five years ago and have protocols in place, particularly rugby. They mentioned it on the radio commentary and he should have been hooked then.

Look what happened to Geoff Astle.

:agree: miles behind. Same goes for big Itchy declaring himself fit after being ko’d and stretchered off a wee before the game.

The authorities should be taking a look at this - players will always say they’re fit enough and it shouldn’t be up to them.

09-04-2019, 09:21 PM
My player of the year :not worth

Mango Man
09-04-2019, 09:59 PM
My player of the year :not worth

Me too, we just play better with him in the team, results prove this.

10-04-2019, 01:36 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;576073.

His commitment, attitude, and leadership has been outstanding
His insistence that he continue to play on Saturday after taking more than a couple of knocks says it all about his passion and love for Hibernian and the man himself.

No. i don't think there should be a statue in his honour built at the Holy Ground.

It should replace the Wellington statue at Register House for all to see !![/QUOTE]that idea fits fine with me Mick.he's almost up there wi Stanton, in my eyes. I thought he was going to be pulled off much earlier on Sat, but he has that determination to see things done. just think of what happened to him about 15 mins. before the end of the cup final. most, as well as the commentators thought he was done. he drove us on, apart from his winning header. love this guy to bits.

10-04-2019, 04:04 AM
that idea fits fine with me Mick.he's almost up there wi Stanton, in my eyes. I thought he was going to be pulled off much earlier on Sat, but he has that determination to see things done. just think of what happened to him about 15 mins. before the end of the cup final. most, as well as the commentators thought he was done. he drove us on, apart from his winning header. love this guy to bits.

Did he not grow up a Jambo too?

DetroitHibs
10-04-2019, 06:41 AM
Saint David Gray. The patron Saint of Hibernian :not worth