06-04-2019, 12:23 PM
May as well get it started now..

06-04-2019, 12:24 PM
The media will milk this one.

-Jonesy-
06-04-2019, 12:24 PM
Jambo Mates at the game claiming it came from the hibs end and aimed at Uche but I’ve no idea how they would figure that out unless they seen it get thrown, which they didn’t.

06-04-2019, 12:25 PM
At what point do you decide to take a coconut to the game?

06-04-2019, 12:26 PM
Aside from ‘who takes a coconut to a football game?’, the stewards obviously aren’t doing a very good job if someone can smuggle that in.

It's Bounty happen!

There's no rules to say you can't take a coconut into to ground.

06-04-2019, 12:27 PM

Pretty sure you're not allowed to throw one though

06-04-2019, 12:28 PM
Said it on the match day thread, who the f*** takes a coconut to a game? Just glad it never hit anyone as the last thing we need is the game to be marred by a ******g coconut incident which I thought I would never say at a football game!

The stewards that were at the turnstiles will no doubt be getting an earful and rightfully so!

06-04-2019, 12:29 PM

Showing SDG how to take a shy. 😉

06-04-2019, 12:30 PM
Aside from ‘who takes a coconut to a football game?’, the stewards obviously aren’t doing a very good job if someone can smuggle that in.

Someone who’s shy maybe? Maybe we could use it for a shy would improve them.😀

06-04-2019, 12:31 PM

There's a lot of things you can't throw on the pitch at the football that you can take in though. If you threw your shoe and hit a player what would happen? As I said, there's no rules about tropical fruit

delbert
06-04-2019, 12:33 PM

Obviously just a health fanatic who doesn’t want to put up his cholesterol levels by eating pies and chips, good to see the healthy eating message finally getting through in Scotland.

06-04-2019, 12:33 PM
Eventually they are going to put up netting round the pitch and the view will get worse for everyone.

06-04-2019, 12:34 PM
Not sure what it was like later on but when we came in we walked passed 3 different sets of stewards and never got searched. Asked to show our tickets but that’s all.

No excuse for bringing a coconut to a game but it should never get in.

06-04-2019, 12:34 PM
To prove you are coming out of your shell......

06-04-2019, 12:35 PM
Obviously just a health fanatic who doesn’t want to put up his cholesterol levels by eating pies and chips, good to see the healthy eating message finally getting through in Scotland.

I hope he drank the milk before throwing it to reap the health benefits.

06-04-2019, 12:37 PM

Someone who’s shy maybe? Maybe we could use it for a shy would improve them.😀

tonyrougier123
We are making herts look very good,its slightly agitating 😤😤😣

Thankfully there was palm done, though I’m sure the incident will be desiccated by the SFA and there will be a bounty in the perpetrators head

jakedance
06-04-2019, 12:41 PM
CCS chuck the husks away after they’ve made their pina coladas.

06-04-2019, 12:42 PM
I know that we need to work on shy's, but this is a bit much.

06-04-2019, 12:46 PM
Get f***ing in Hibs.

1-2

06-04-2019, 12:51 PM
Jambo Mates at the game claiming it came from the hibs end and aimed at Uche but I’ve no idea how they would figure that out unless they seen it get thrown, which they didn’t.

If it's aimed at the big striker it could be seen as racist, bananas have been thrown in games in Italy, Russia etc, if that is the case it's really poor stuff.

06-04-2019, 12:53 PM
Kid Creole was a Hibby!!

06-04-2019, 12:56 PM
Bam who threw it couldnae read - it's a coconut macaroon, no a maroon.....

06-04-2019, 01:10 PM
If it's aimed at the big striker it could be seen as racist, bananas have been thrown in games in Italy, Russia etc, if that is the case it's really poor stuff.

Coconuts?

06-04-2019, 01:13 PM
Coconuts?

Where do they come from? that's what I'm getting at, lets hope it wasn't intended in such a way, poor if it was.

Still like to know how he/she sneaked it in.

06-04-2019, 01:16 PM
Coconuts?
Aye maybe we should we should have a Muslim chuck a Milky Bar on to the field at the next game and get World War 3 kicked off....... :greengrin

-Jonesy-
06-04-2019, 01:16 PM
Where do they come from? that's what I'm getting at, lets hope it wasn't intended in such a way, poor if it was.

Thailand mostly

06-04-2019, 01:18 PM
Aye maybe we should we should have a Muslim chuck a Milky Bar on to the field at the next game and get World War 3 kicked off....... :greengrin

Milky bar?

06-04-2019, 01:27 PM

Lands around the Indian Ocean, mostly South East Asia

Tug Wilson
06-04-2019, 01:58 PM
If it came from the Hibs end and was aimed at their big striker as some form of racist statement then what do Omeonga and Bartley think of that.

Similarly if from the Hearts end how do their black players feel.

Suppose the irony of being racist against the opposition when your own team has black players will be lost on the sort of moron that takes a coconut to a game.

06-04-2019, 01:59 PM
Lands around the Indian Ocean, mostly South East Asia
All over Africa too. Had one 10 meters from my house back in the day. When one fell you heard it - they are huge when still in the outer husk.

06-04-2019, 02:05 PM
Wait some fans are linking a coconut to racism ?

Mental.

Smokebombs / coins / coconuts - fans on pitch etc - it will continue to happen so not even surprised. Zero leadership from Scottish FA.

A coconut is mild compared to what we witnessed on and off the pitch last week in the old firm game.

06-04-2019, 02:06 PM
The younger generation

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190406/bd0759110c82e7b904894acf51c649d3.jpg

06-04-2019, 02:07 PM

It was dessicated to the one I love

06-04-2019, 02:10 PM

Mental.

Smokebombs / coins / coconuts - fans on pitch etc - it will continue to happen so not even surprised. Zero leadership from Scottish FA.

A coconut is mild compared to what we witnessed on and off the pitch last week in the old firm game.

Only trying to work out why anyone would choose to throw s coconut, not a random piece of fruit is it.

06-04-2019, 02:12 PM
Cocoanuts are very good for you I am led to believe.

06-04-2019, 02:13 PM
Where can I get a cocktail in a coconut. Need this for goading purposes.

06-04-2019, 02:14 PM
If it came from the Hibs end and was aimed at their big striker as some form of racist statement then what do Omeonga and Bartley think of that.

Similarly if from the Hearts end how do their black players feel.

Suppose the irony of being racist against the opposition when your own team has black players will be lost on the sort of moron that takes a coconut to a game.

Are you for real how can you make this kind of thing up when we already know that big Darren Macgreagor trains once a week heading Coconuts away from the goals.

06-04-2019, 02:14 PM
Maybe it was carried and dropped by a migrating Swallow?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

06-04-2019, 02:16 PM
I refuse to let this incident overshadow such a win.

No doubt some bitter individuals will try and make this the focal point, along with fabricated allegations of racism.

GIRUY!

Mantis Toboggan
06-04-2019, 02:17 PM
Only trying to work out why anyone would choose to throw s coconut, not a random piece of fruit is it.

A coconut is a very random bit of fruit

DoocootHibby
06-04-2019, 02:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LxC3M-Yngs

Wee Effen Bee
06-04-2019, 02:18 PM

It’s not classed as a fruit though so probably not as dangerous…
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2nde65

06-04-2019, 02:20 PM

Yip, you wonder at the mentality of someone doing that following all the negative publicity surrounding football.

Niffy
06-04-2019, 02:21 PM

Ooo that's got to be a Python one... Holy Grail ?

06-04-2019, 02:25 PM
It was an idiotic thing to do... but let's not get ahead of ourselves with the assumption of racism, especially as the only thing it's based on is, "Some Coconuts are grown in Africa, ergo it must be a racist incident".

Incidentally, I hope whoever threw it is identified and punished appropriately.

-Jonesy-
06-04-2019, 02:25 PM

An African or a European one?

06-04-2019, 02:30 PM
Going into Livi last week we got searched like going through an airport. Today we got the lightest of pat downs. Complete waste of time and no wonder smoke bombs etc get into the ground.

06-04-2019, 02:58 PM
Ooo that's got to be a Python one... Holy Grail ?

Correct , you win a ,erm , coconut ! ( don’t throw it on the pitch though)

06-04-2019, 03:02 PM
It allegedly came from the Hibs end allegedly thrown by a Geordie up here on a weekend Jolly. No idea who would have given him a ticket.

06-04-2019, 03:04 PM
It was an idiotic thing to do... but let's not get ahead of ourselves with the assumption of racism, especially as the only thing it's based on is, "Some Coconuts are grown in Africa, ergo it must be a racist incident".

I remember someone threw a banana onto the pitch at the Scotland v Brazil game some years back. The criwd was booing Neymar and he decided it tge Scottish crowd were being racist.

Turned out it came from some tourist with no connection to either team.

.....and we were booing him because he’s a diving prick!

06-04-2019, 03:06 PM
Yip, you wonder at the mentality of someone doing that following all the negative publicity surrounding football.

Called patter mate

06-04-2019, 03:23 PM
The coconut definitely game from about half way up section H in the Hibs end. Great win for the team but so many bams in our support at Tiny it is unreal. Drinking in the ground, chucking juice, smoke bombs etc. Real pity as the atmosphere was really good and the win memorable. No idea where Leeann sat but hopefully she realises she has no chance of stopping it when so many are involved and starts to pressure the Police to try and do something at games. They stand and watch it and do nothing.

06-04-2019, 03:26 PM
Radio Scotland reporting three arrests at game, one for a smoke bomb, one for another item thrown (not disclosed), and one for racist abuse. No word on which parts of ground. Hopefully though each of the accuseds, if found guilty, don't see the inside of their team's stadium again.

06-04-2019, 03:27 PM

Well of course it was, the question is whether it was an African or a European swallow?

highland hibbee
06-04-2019, 03:28 PM
All over Africa too. Had one 10 meters from my house back in the day. When one fell you heard it - they are huge when still in the outer husk.

Allegedly it came from Godonas in Aberdeen. Budgie took the shareholders there for a day out.

06-04-2019, 03:29 PM
Going into Livi last week we got searched like going through an airport. Today we got the lightest of pat downs. Complete waste of time and no wonder smoke bombs etc get into the ground.

Very true. Big statements made by both clubs before the game and there were just as many smoke bombs thrown as last derby at the Hovel. I got both my cabbages through no bother but just didn’t get the chance to launch them.

Bangkok Hibby
06-04-2019, 03:31 PM
An African or a European one?

Only an African swallow could carry a coconut

06-04-2019, 03:35 PM
Are the searches worth anything. My 16 year old got asked to turn out his pockets at the West stand turnstiles on Wednesday. He foolishly had one of those chargers for phones that are essentially just a big battery. It was around the size of a bottle of coke, weighed about the same, was brick hard and filled with a corrosive substance that you are not even allowed to post. The steward waved him through but would have made him discard a small carton of juice. There isn't an issue with taking things in it is being a complete knob and throwing them. It would be an absolute doddle for the Police to stop this but they have no interest. I see fans throwing stuff regularly and they are very easy to spot. If I can then why can't the Police.

06-04-2019, 03:36 PM
Is this a first in British football ?

06-04-2019, 03:39 PM

A bit early for swallows,

signed,

Your resident ecologist :wink:

06-04-2019, 03:50 PM

Yeah, but they are non migratory

Bangkok Hibby
06-04-2019, 03:52 PM
Yeah, but they are non migratory

Oh yea....:greengrin

06-04-2019, 04:42 PM
It allegedly came from the Hibs end allegedly thrown by a Geordie up here on a weekend Jolly. No idea who would have given him a ticket.

I met a Newcastle Fan from Berwick a few weeks back that gave up following his own team (due to the cost) and now attends every Hibs game in Edinburgh.

I wonder if it's him.

Ardenttwo
06-04-2019, 05:26 PM

Some of the crows up here in the Highlands could carry a coconut no problem. An osprey can carry two. But was it a Caribbean or African coconut

06-04-2019, 05:34 PM
Some nutter. Come on own up, don't be shy :rolleyes:

JoeT
06-04-2019, 05:40 PM

Wee Effen Bee
06-04-2019, 05:47 PM
Oh yea....:greengrin

Maybe two swallows carried it together…on a strand of creeper?

06-04-2019, 05:52 PM

I don't see how it's anything other than an attempt at racism.

06-04-2019, 05:54 PM
It made the sports headlines in India.

http://www.newindianexpress.com/sport/football/2019/apr/06/its-nuts-coconut-disrupts-edinburgh-derby-1961124.html

Crazyhorse
06-04-2019, 06:16 PM

Who knows but I would think it would hurt more than a tomato?

Crazyhorse
06-04-2019, 06:22 PM
Very true. Big statements made by both clubs before the game and there were just as many smoke bombs thrown as last derby at the Hovel. I got both my cabbages through no bother but just didn’t get the chance to launch them.

Extra large bra?

06-04-2019, 07:13 PM

What? You mean tucked up under the dorsal feathers , yeah that could work

06-04-2019, 07:14 PM
Who knows but I would think it would hurt more than a tomato?

not if it was a tomato still in the frying pan

yeah i know, who would take a portable heating device to the football :)

06-04-2019, 07:16 PM
https://youtu.be/H4_9kDO3q0w

06-04-2019, 07:39 PM

Mental.

It's mental! The bandwagon's massive though. 🤨

06-04-2019, 07:40 PM
Sorry if previously posted not had time to look through the whole thread but has anyone seen the coconut dug?

06-04-2019, 07:44 PM

That's an original joke, well maybe not quite. 😔

06-04-2019, 07:46 PM
Extra large bra?

Down the boxers either side of the cucumber.

06-04-2019, 07:46 PM
Did they think they were trying to create a summer? 😉

Tarrahib
06-04-2019, 07:47 PM
Sorry if previously posted not had time to look through the whole thread but has anyone seen the coconut dug?
Aye in the pet shop windae.

hughio
06-04-2019, 07:47 PM

Thanks

06-04-2019, 07:50 PM
Thanks

What a knob 😂

ehf
06-04-2019, 07:58 PM

We didn't even get a pat down. Admittedly, it was only a couple of minutes before KO but I could have strolled through with a Kalashnikov tucked inside my jacket.

Radge70
06-04-2019, 08:03 PM
If you can get them to crack!

Topographic Hibby
06-04-2019, 08:44 PM
We didn't even get a pat down. Admittedly, it was only a couple of minutes before KO but I could have strolled through with a Kalashnikov tucked inside my jacket.But was it a migratory Kalashnikov...?

06-04-2019, 08:50 PM

Stool Pigeon - ha-cha-cha-cha

06-04-2019, 09:07 PM
It was Captain Tobias Willcock apparently. Flying high so he was.

Mr Grieves
06-04-2019, 11:12 PM
We didn't even get a pat down. Admittedly, it was only a couple of minutes before KO but I could have strolled through with a Kalashnikov tucked inside my jacket.

I was in a queue were the steward was searching every person, yet every other line was just about empty. Maybe he was doing his job right and the others weren't, totally inconsistent

ben johnson
07-04-2019, 11:08 AM
I was in a queue were the steward was searching every person, yet every other line was just about empty. Maybe he was doing his job right and the others weren't, totally inconsistent

I never even got a pat down. Could have walked in with anything under my coat. Was asked for my ticket twice. Once at the start of the lanes made of temporary barriers. outside the grounds and again at the end of the lane.

I showed the stewards an empty envelope on both occasions and just kept moving. A complete waste of time.

07-04-2019, 11:19 AM
I don't see how it's anything other than an attempt at racism.

But that seems to be based on no actual evidence, other than the fact that some Coconuts come from Africa.

07-04-2019, 01:50 PM
Anyone buying a coconut in Edinburgh in the next few days can expect a chap at the door.

07-04-2019, 01:56 PM
Anyone buying a coconut in Edinburgh in the next few days can expect a chap at the door.

Will that chaps name be Joe?

07-04-2019, 02:01 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190407/067a77143d2a4fd535214ad3a74b56cf.jpg

07-04-2019, 02:07 PM

From a coconut tree 🌴
Heard it was a couple of pals that done it as a joke between them . No racism involved .

07-04-2019, 02:08 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190407/067a77143d2a4fd535214ad3a74b56cf.jpg

Thing is, what kind of radge thinks of taking a coconut to a match?

"Got my wallet, keys, ticket.....coconut" :greengrin

07-04-2019, 02:15 PM

Thing is, what kind of radge thinks of taking a coconut to a match?

"Got my wallet, keys, ticket.....coconut" :greengrin

That coconut looks like Stevie Fulton

07-04-2019, 02:19 PM

07-04-2019, 02:49 PM

Desert islands. Mainly in ASIA.

07-04-2019, 03:22 PM
From a coconut tree 🌴
Heard it was a couple of pals that done it as a joke between them . No racism involved .

Yep, read that on a couple of other threads, seemingly Uche old club sing about a lively bunch of coconuts, all rather bizarre.

07-04-2019, 03:25 PM
It's Bounty happen!

Winner!

sadtom
07-04-2019, 04:16 PM
Can someone please confirm which set of fans threw it.
I need to know before deciding if i'm utterly outraged or mildly amused. :greengrin

07-04-2019, 04:23 PM
Can someone please confirm which set of fans threw it.
I need to know before deciding if i'm utterly outraged or mildly amused. :greengrin

You should be outraged either way but it definitely came from the Hibs end

sadtom
07-04-2019, 04:28 PM

Kinda missed my point.

07-04-2019, 04:57 PM
I’m guessing that this coco-loco flump has just ensured bigger queues at the Derby as a result of a further clamp down on security - Einstein.

07-04-2019, 05:47 PM
Kinda missed my point.

If it's any consolation, I got what you were hinting at.

CA Hibby
07-04-2019, 09:48 PM

Can't be him, it was moving too fast

Brunswickbill
07-04-2019, 10:05 PM
Throwing the coconut was wrong and the culprit, if found, should be banned. However I don’t get the search for racist overtones so that the searcher can be outraged . For what it’s worth my old man used to say “Give the boy a coconut” if I achieved something. Maybe the thrower was congratulating Horgan.

08-04-2019, 07:23 AM
Throwing the coconut was wrong and the culprit, if found, should be banned. However I don’t get the search for racist overtones so that the searcher can be outraged . For what it’s worth my old man used to say “Give the boy a coconut” if I achieved something. Maybe the thrower was congratulating Horgan.
I still use that as a term to congratulate someone, e.g. the first to respond or to answer correctly, and indeed I used it on here a few weeks back having posed a question. However, I would hesitate to use it if I knew the recipient of such a virtual award was black, even though it is a congratulatory term, not a derogatory or racist term. Such is life now in this overly PC world. Very sad.

08-04-2019, 07:39 AM
I still use that as a term to congratulate someone, e.g. the first to respond or to answer correctly, and indeed I used it on here a few weeks back having posed a question. However, I would hesitate to use it if I knew the recipient of such a virtual award was black, even though it is a congratulatory term, not a derogatory or racist term. Such is life now in this overly PC world. Very sad.

Similar to the term 'little monkey' for a mischievous child.

It's just common sense that you have to be careful when you use it, so you don't unintentionally offend anybody.

highland hibbee
08-04-2019, 07:52 AM

did it get booked for being ugly ???

08-04-2019, 07:56 AM
Its bounty have come from the Hibs end.
Bugger already used

08-04-2019, 08:07 AM
I reckon it was just plod Glasgow. Having spent their entire budget trying to catch exuberant Hibbies, they couldn't afford actual horses but weren't quick enough at sawing the coconut in half.

Forever in our slipstream.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190408/786bd41465c14dbbcf871735a580c1c3.gif

08-04-2019, 08:41 AM
Kinda missed my point. I got your point but it is beyond humour now with the amount of projectiles being thrown. We have threads pretty much every big game talking about fans behaviour. My daughter missed a derby win as she was hit with a smoke bomb last time out and didn't want to come this time. It is not a laughing matter and the threads on projectiles, pyros and pitch invaders show there are lots of fans who don't see much of an issue. For me it is a big issue to the reputation of the club and a massive one if someone gets seriously hurt.

08-04-2019, 09:03 AM
From a coconut tree 🌴

That is the issue most racists acts are often seen as joke a bit of laugh by the perpetrators but not by the victims who its offends. The Refugee son a bit of a laugh, the Rigby song etc. You have to undemand that coconut is used an insult to those of African and Pacific descent.

malcolm
08-04-2019, 09:12 AM
That is the issue most racists acts are often seen as joke a bit of laugh by the perpetrators but not by the victims who its offends. The Refugee son a bit of a laugh, the Rigby song etc. You have to undemand that coconut is used an insult to those of African and Pacific descent.

I’ve never understood (let alone undemanded) coconut to be used in that context, sadly there are many other insults that are used. Coconut insides are white and the outer kinda yellowy/green and with the outer off the shell of the inner is just a little beige and hairy :greengrin. Gotta love a coconut (https://youtu.be/nf670orHKcA)..

08-04-2019, 09:16 AM

Is the use of the term 'coconut' or its connation racist?

It is one of the most insulting things you can say to a black person or pacific islander - used as derogatory slur by the US colonial powers to Filipinos . If you have any black or Filipinos friends ask them what they think of the term (thy are likely to have received the insult at some time), and watch the steam come out of their ears.

08-04-2019, 09:22 AM
I dont think the coconut was being used as a racial attack on anyone, think it was just thrown for the sake of being thrown, had it been racist surely a banana would have been easier to smuggle in?

08-04-2019, 09:28 AM
I dont think the coconut was being used as a racial attack on anyone, think it was just thrown for the sake of being thrown, had it been racist surely a banana would have been easier to smuggle in?Indeed, a lot of people seem to know what the idiot's intentions were in acquiring the coconut then throwing it and who or what the target was. It really wasn't a great way to make a point so you've got to wonder if they were smart enough to form one.

JimboHibs
08-04-2019, 09:33 AM

When you say definitely came from our end,did you see it being thrown ? Not arguing with you as i was told from a couple of hertz mates that it came from their end.

08-04-2019, 09:57 AM
When you say definitely came from our end,did you see it being thrown ? Not arguing with you as i was told from a couple of hertz mates that it came from their end.Yes I saw where it came from.

08-04-2019, 11:07 AM
Probably nicked from Sainsburys and tossed on for a laugh. Didn't appear to be aimed at anyone (which has somewhat alleys my initial fears of racist motivation). Juvenile, and in the context of recent incidents, worth a ban, but there's a bit of hysteria being manufactured to divert from the sectarian issue that is, as always, the most consistent and harmful source of trouble in Scottish football.

08-04-2019, 11:29 AM
Probably nicked from Sainsburys and tossed on for a laugh. Didn't appear to be aimed at anyone (which has somewhat alleys my initial fears of racist motivation). Juvenile, and in the context of recent incidents, worth a ban, but there's a bit of hysteria being manufactured to divert from the sectarian issue that is, as always, the most consistent and harmful source of trouble in Scottish football.

A list of racist slurs - oh just happened to steal a coconut why not an apple, orange or watermelon? Probably because they are not slurs against any race that might be in a Hearts top and would not be funny if thrown on the pitch:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ethnic_slurs

08-04-2019, 12:04 PM
A list of racist slurs - oh just happened to steal a coconut why not an apple, orange or watermelon? Probably because they are not slurs against any race that might be in a Hearts top and would not be funny if thrown on the pitch:

So which of Hearts' black players was this coconut weilding fiend accusing of behaving "too white" as per the definitions in your wiki list?

Funnily, you use watermelon as having less racist connotations, whereas my understanding is that forms part of various racist characatures of black people.

My point was it didn't seem targeted, and the reaction seems disproportionate because of that.

08-04-2019, 12:18 PM
As others have pointed out the term Coconut was a slur that black people would use against other black people for acting white in the late 80s especially. Lenny Henry was accused of it by other black performers back then. A coconut is not racist.

08-04-2019, 12:23 PM
As others have pointed out the term Coconut was a slur that black people would use against other black people for acting white in the late 80s especially. Lenny Henry was accused of it by other black performers back then. A coconut is not racist.

Coconuts cannot talk or have opinions on very much at all.

McSwanky
08-04-2019, 12:44 PM
Coconuts cannot talk or have opinions on very much at all.

I wouldn't be so sure. I heard that old bill took this particular one down to the station and interrogated it till it cracked. :faint:

08-04-2019, 12:49 PM
I wouldn't be so sure. I heard that old bill took this particular one down to the station and interrogated it till it cracked. :faint:No chance. They won't go near it until they've found a lawyer for the coconut as they intend charging it for invading the pitch, and they'll need a translator as well. It'll be a tough one to crack.

08-04-2019, 12:55 PM

So you support assumptions that are based on no evidence whatsoever? That's a very dangerous route to go down, one that is sadly becoming quite common.

I'm not a religious person but there's an old proverb that's quite appropriate...

"He that answers a matter before he hears it, it is folly and shame unto him."

08-04-2019, 07:01 PM
The Metropolitan Elites treating it as racist:

The mood has turned nastier since I first visited the Big Help Project food bank in Knowsley, Merseyside, two years ago. Back then, the Brexit poison hadn’t seeped so deep. But now, when the call goes out for food donations to feed its 10,000 clients, things have changed, says Peter Mitchell, the project leader. “I get people asking, ‘Is this food for British people?’ I never used to hear that, never. It’s hideous, it makes my blood boil.”

How does he reply? “I say this food is for hungry people.” He sighs heavily. “Brexit did this. It gives permission to copy Farage and Trump, to say things they never used to say.” He points to the rising racism in football, with a coconut thrown at a black player over the weekend. “It makes you despair. Brexit is doing this to us”.

08-04-2019, 07:09 PM

The mood has turned nastier since I first visited the Big Help Project food bank in Knowsley, Merseyside, two years ago. Back then, the Brexit poison hadn’t seeped so deep. But now, when the call goes out for food donations to feed its 10,000 clients, things have changed, says Peter Mitchell, the project leader. “I get people asking, ‘Is this food for British people?’ I never used to hear that, never. It’s hideous, it makes my blood boil.”

How does he reply? “I say this food is for hungry people.” He sighs heavily. “Brexit did this. It gives permission to copy Farage and Trump, to say things they never used to say.” He points to the rising racism in football, with a coconut thrown at a black player over the weekend. “It makes you despair. Brexit is doing this to us”.

It was thrown after Hibs equalised. There was no player near where it landed so how could it be construed it was thrown at a black player.

08-04-2019, 07:10 PM
So let me get this straight, he went to Tynie with a coconut, to bam the yams up?

08-04-2019, 07:10 PM

Pompous ass jumps to a conclusion then works backwards to justify it.

I can't even connect the points he makes together.

08-04-2019, 07:14 PM
Pompous ass jumps to a conclusion then works backwards to justify it.

I can't even connect the points he makes together.

These discussions are being used to divide people rather than unite them.

08-04-2019, 07:16 PM

Absolute nonsense!

08-04-2019, 07:20 PM
These discussions are being used to divide people rather than unite them.Indeed.

Salisbury Hibby
08-04-2019, 07:25 PM
So despite all of this being laughed off by some as a bit of a joke, when you discuss the match with a work colleague who comes from Nigeria, and he asks what the coconut was all about. All you can say is that you have no idea and feel a bit ashamed of the behaviour at Scottish Football.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

08-04-2019, 08:05 PM
Clearly it was intended for Marciano as he was the closest player to it. Not really up to date on the latest Palestinian/Israeli insults so I'll wait for one of the outraged anti racist hysteria types to inform me.

ZAGREB RED
08-04-2019, 08:21 PM
Ridiculous that someone was actually able to bring that into the stadium, but sadly there a lot of incidents happening just now in Scottish football like this.
Needless to say, it all needs to stop.

08-04-2019, 09:59 PM
It was thrown after Hibs equalised. There was no player near where it landed so how could it be construed it was thrown at a black player.

Regardless of whether it was intended to be racist or not (could be's aye - could be's naw as Dalgleish would have said - no way of telling), in the context of the previous two high profile incidents - the jakey chucking a Buckie bottle at Sinclair and the moron confronting Tavernier - it was beyond stupid and well into ban this ******** from ER for the rest of his puff territory.

The fact it was a coconut of all possible items of fruit or veg, meant it was a potentially fatal projectile - AND - whether you like it or not - could easily be interpreted as an act of racism. Certainly deserves a banning order and, going by the sentence meted out to the Tavernier-harrasing dickrash - possibly jail as well.

Buc
09-04-2019, 12:07 AM
Please do not think for a second that I condone throwing anything on to the pitch, these morons have to be stopped. However, as I understand it the coconut has come on to the pitch at the North west corner of the ground. Hibs had just scored at the south end of the ground. The only player anywhere near it would have been Rocky. Was a Hibs supporter going to throw it at him? I doubt it. So I think all the fuss about a player could be killed is a bit over the top.

09-04-2019, 12:13 AM
Please do not think for a second that I condone throwing anything on to the pitch, these morons have to be stopped. However, as I understand it the coconut has come on to the pitch at the North west corner of the ground. Hibs had just scored at the south end of the ground. The only player anywhere near it would have been Rocky. Was a Hibs supporter going to throw it at him? I doubt it. So I think all the fuss about a player could be killed is a bit over the top.
Maybe the idiot thought that Israel was a major coconut exporter :greengrin. Might try a Pomegranate or an avocado next time. At least the avocado is green....

Crunchie
09-04-2019, 12:43 AM
So despite all of this being laughed off by some as a bit of a joke, when you discuss the match with a work colleague who comes from Nigeria, and he asks what the coconut was all about. All you can say is that you have no idea and feel a bit ashamed of the behaviour at Scottish Football.

I'd have left it at no idea to be honest. I can't see why your colleague being from Nigeria has any bearing on it either.

I had a colleague from Leith ask me what it was about too, needless to say I had no idea either but I certainly wasn't ashamed at Scottish football.

There are idiots in all walks of life and do things when drunk that make them even bigger idiots, especially when attending big events. It doesn't necessarily make them racists or bigots though.

09-04-2019, 06:20 AM
I'd have left it at no idea to be honest. I can't see why your colleague being from Nigeria has any bearing on it either.

I had a colleague from Leith ask me what it was about too, needless to say I had no idea either but I certainly wasn't ashamed at Scottish football.

There are idiots in all walks of life and do things when drunk that make them even bigger idiots, especially when attending big events. It doesn't necessarily make them racists or bigots though.

Pretty much my take on it too. 👍

09-04-2019, 07:07 AM

Unfortunately drunkenness an also be used as a defence / excuse. Therein lies a bit of a problemmo.

I'm Spartacus
09-04-2019, 08:59 AM
I dont think the coconut was being used as a racial attack on anyone, think it was just thrown for the sake of being thrown, had it been racist surely a banana would have been easier to smuggle in?

Your kinkyness needs to up it's game!

09-04-2019, 09:18 AM
Ridiculous that someone was actually able to bring that into the stadium, but sadly there a lot of incidents happening just now in Scottish football like this.
Needless to say, it all needs to stop.

Really? It SHOULD be easy to smuggle something as small as a coconut into the stadium

It's a football match, not an international flight

09-04-2019, 11:32 AM

I figured you would have stopped digging after making a fool of yourself about their “big African player”.

09-04-2019, 05:18 PM
Clearly it was intended for Marciano as he was the closest player to it. Not really up to date on the latest Palestinian/Israeli insults so I'll wait for one of the outraged anti racist hysteria types to inform me.

That's it solved, finally. It was quite clearly Anti-Semitism.

Was Jeremy Corbyn at the game?

09-04-2019, 05:27 PM
Do we ken if it was chucked by us or them ?

09-04-2019, 07:09 PM

Was Jeremy Corbyn at the game?He was that coconut.

And I say that as a life long Labour voter whose vote is now up for grabs.

09-04-2019, 07:20 PM
https://kerimiller.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/coconut1.jpg

Saturday Boy
09-04-2019, 07:23 PM

Ooh, that’s bounty hurt 😱

MGmick
09-04-2019, 07:31 PM

:faf: That is F a F

09-04-2019, 07:34 PM

Not sure about that. The sight of my wife coming home with kale and artichokes is enough to reduce me to tears.....

09-04-2019, 07:44 PM
Not sure about that. The sight of my wife coming home with kale and artichokes is enough to reduce me to tears.....

Artichokes are amazing, even better on a Pizza

09-04-2019, 07:51 PM
Billy I usually thoroughly enjoy your posts but you've destroyed your credibility by defending artichokes. Horrible things, even worse than black olives. 🤮

09-04-2019, 07:54 PM
Billy I usually thoroughly enjoy your posts but you've destroyed your credibility by defending artichokes. Horrible things, even worse than black olives. 🤮

That’s a shame, I really hate black olives and green ones too, so maybe we have something in common HH

09-04-2019, 07:55 PM
That’s a shame, I really hate black olives and green ones too, so maybe we have something in common HH

😁

Saturday Boy
09-04-2019, 08:07 PM

What’s wrong with artichokes?

Once you’ve cut the bottom off, stripped away the leaves, removed the middle and either deep fried whatever is left or dipped it in a very strong flavoured sauce, they’re fine. Ish.

09-04-2019, 08:10 PM
What’s wrong with artichokes?

Once you’ve cut the bottom off, stripped away the leaves, removed the middle and either deep fried whatever is left or dipped it in a very strong flavoured sauce, they’re fine. Ish.

If I want to work that hard at getting something to eat I'd go shoot a hog.....

09-04-2019, 08:54 PM
If I want to work that hard at getting something to eat I'd go shoot a hog.....Isn't the Texas way to buy it a frock, take it out for a candlelit dinner and see where it goes from there?

Especially if you're not a blood relation[emoji6]

09-04-2019, 08:55 PM
Isn't the Texas way to buy it a frock, take it out for a candlelit dinner and see where it goes from there?

Especially if you're not a blood relation[emoji6]

That's Oklahoma ya daft git. If it's not wearing a frock and near a house it gets shot here 😁

09-04-2019, 08:58 PM
That's Oklahoma ya daft git. If it's not wearing a frock and near a house it gets shot here [emoji16][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

My daughter worked in Wisconsin where hogs were treated like royalty.

Salisbury Hibby
10-04-2019, 05:21 AM

There are idiots in all walks of life and do things when drunk that make them even bigger idiots, especially when attending big events. It doesn't necessarily make them racists or bigots though.Maybe you don't, or more correctly, can't. The message that this sends out can be perceived as racist. Perception is someone's reality.

Look. It doesn't matter what the fud thought when they threw that coconut. Probably very little.

But how it is perceived by someone else is what is important.

10-04-2019, 05:52 AM

Was Jeremy Corbyn at the game?

I really wouldn't believe everything the MSM promotes.

10-04-2019, 06:30 AM

Art Garfunkel raided a green grocers yesterday, he strangled three shop assistants before making off with a £1 from the till. Following morning headlines.
Arti Chokes Three for a Pound.

10-04-2019, 06:57 AM
Just read an article in the guardian about brexit and the coconut is mentioned in there - says it was a racist attack and thrown at a black player. It didn’t mention which game but I’m assuming it only happened in our game.

Rumble de Thump
10-04-2019, 07:08 AM
Palm trees grow in towns on the west coast of Scotland due to the effects of the Gulf Stream. Were any of the players from Campbeltown?

10-04-2019, 08:06 AM
Just read an article in the guardian about brexit and the coconut is mentioned in there - says it was a racist attack and thrown at a black player. It didn’t mention which game but I’m assuming it only happened in our game.

The state of journalism summed up

10-04-2019, 08:17 AM
There was a cabbage thrown on the pitch at an EPL game recently.

Which minority group should I have been offended on behalf of?

10-04-2019, 08:57 AM

The term 'minority group' is itself quite offensive tbf.

10-04-2019, 08:58 AM
To who?

10-04-2019, 09:00 AM

Which minority group should I have been offended on behalf of?Lincolnshire cabbage farmers, there's loads of them so they might even be offended by being called a minority as well so outrage all round[emoji6]

10-04-2019, 09:09 AM
True.

My apologies to farmers everywhere, not just Lincolnshire, don’t want to exclude anyone.

Brunswickbill
10-04-2019, 09:16 AM

Brussel sprouts are a much maligned small minority who might feel left out.

10-04-2019, 09:17 AM
The state of journalism summed up

Yes because the Guardian is a bit more enlightened than a lot of the posters on this thread. If you are white Scottish then the coconut is all a bit of a laugh. If you are Black, Hispanic or a Pacific islander then it is a racist slur from the white colonialists. Since there were black players on both sides and we have young Filipino on our books they or their parents are likely to be offended and let down by Scottish football fans. I am Hispanic and live in the Pacific islands but brought up in Scotland. I am ashamed of the incident. My Filipino family wonder if is safe to go Scotland or will they be abused and insulted.

10-04-2019, 09:23 AM
My Filipino family wonder if is safe to go Scotland or will they be abused and insulted.
Impossible to say without knowing whether or not they're yams? :dunno:

10-04-2019, 09:33 AM
Brussel sprouts are a much maligned small minority who might feel left out.

Sizeist:grr::grr:

Inside every Brussel Sprout there's a cabbage just bursting to get out.

10-04-2019, 09:50 AM
But how it is perceived by someone else is what is important.

I percieve it as a stupid prank.

Therefore, it's obviously not an issue.

10-04-2019, 09:52 AM
Just to remove any doubt, confirmation that coconut is racist:
https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2010/jun/28/councillor-court-coconut-jibe-bristol

10-04-2019, 09:59 AM
Sorry - this has probably been discussed already.

I thought coconut was a mainly historical slur from one "person of colour" to another, implying that by being white on the inside they would rather weakly collaborate with white oppressors rather than stand up and be proud of who they are and fight for equality?

It's not exactly relevant to 21st century Edinburgh.

Bananas, monkey noises - these are overtly racist images and gestures and cannot be explained away innocently in any way.

My initial reaction upon hearing about the coconut was "WTF" rather than "that's racist".

10-04-2019, 10:19 AM
Sorry - this has probably been discussed already.

I thought coconut was a mainly historical slur from one "person of colour" to another, implying that by being white on the inside they would rather weakly collaborate with white oppressors rather than stand up and be proud of who they are and fight for equality?

It's not exactly relevant to 21st century Edinburgh.

Bananas, monkey noises - these are overtly racist images and gestures and cannot be explained away innocently in any way.

My initial reaction upon hearing about the coconut was "WTF" rather than "that's racist".Yep, and no one knows what the plank who threw it on's intentions and motivations were, racism, pro fruit, anti fruit, pro thick hairy external shelled fruit and seeking to draw attention to it's plight, I could go on.

Let's call it racism though.

10-04-2019, 10:28 AM
Yes because the Guardian is a bit more enlightened than a lot of the posters on this thread. If you are white Scottish then the coconut is all a bit of a laugh. If you are Black, Hispanic or a Pacific islander then it is a racist slur from the white colonialists. Since there were black players on both sides and we have young Filipino on our books they or their parents are likely to be offended and let down by Scottish football fans. I am Hispanic and live in the Pacific islands but brought up in Scotland. I am ashamed of the incident. My Filipino family wonder if is safe to go Scotland or will they be abused and insulted.

There is no doubt the coconut was thrown, however the report in the Guardian states it was thrown at a black player which it most certainly was not. It's incorrect reporting saying it was racist as you and I and the author of the report have no idea why or the thinking behind the coconut being thrown.

Salisbury Hibby
10-04-2019, 10:47 AM
I percieve it as a stupid prank.

Therefore, it's obviously not an issue.That is obviously your individual view. I just want people to stop doing these stupid things.

10-04-2019, 10:47 AM
There is no doubt the coconut was thrown, however the report in the Guardian states it was thrown at a black player which it most certainly was not. It's incorrect reporting saying it was racist as you and I and the author of the report have no idea why or the thinking behind the coconut being thrown.

Indeed, and what's more, I've never in my life heard of a coconut being thrown at a black player as a racist gesture. Bananas yes, but never a coconut. It's a strange one, but it's supposition to attach racist intent.

10-04-2019, 10:50 AM
My Filipino family wonder if is safe to go Scotland or will they be abused and insulted.

Iv a young lad from the phillipines working with me , he loves Scotland if that helps .

10-04-2019, 10:50 AM

There's two different Gruniad reports being alluded to in this thread. One's about a Bristol councillor using 'coconut' as an insult, and the other's about a foodbank worker who thought that the coconut thrown at the Eighth Wonder on Saturday was a racist gesture.

10-04-2019, 11:21 AM
There's two different Gruniad reports being alluded to in this thread. One's about a Bristol councillor using 'coconut' as an insult, and the other's about a foodbank worker who thought that the coconut thrown at the Eighth Wonder on Saturday was a racist gesture.I've subscribed to and read the Guardian for decades. There's no doubt in my mind it's standards have slipped but I can see that in the Bristol case they've recognised that a court was satisfied intent was proven whereas the other article really just leads the reader down a prejudged path albeit they've fobbed responsibility for the conclusion off to the foodbank worker who obviously had all the evidence before opining[emoji849]

10-04-2019, 11:29 AM
There's two different Gruniad reports being alluded to in this thread. One's about a Bristol councillor using 'coconut' as an insult, and the other's about a foodbank worker who thought that the coconut thrown at the Eighth Wonder on Saturday was a racist gesture.

3 I think - it was this one I was referring to...
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/apr/08/britain-eu-brexit

10-04-2019, 11:31 AM
That is obviously your individual view. I just want people to stop doing these stupid things.

I want people to stop throwing things as well, but Im also concerned about the prevailing attitude of, "guilty, with assumption of the worse motives I can think of"

The fact that the Guardian, with it's now warped agenda, has got involved is quite worrying.

Bangkok Hibby
10-04-2019, 11:34 AM

Probably some thicky who doesn't know what a Yam looks like so thought "Here's a coconut, close enough"

10-04-2019, 11:55 AM
Just to remove any doubt, confirmation that coconut is racist:
https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2010/jun/28/councillor-court-coconut-jibe-bristol

Again, used in the context that someone of colour is acting as if they are white, particularly a black on black slur. Do you believe that was the message? Maybe Ikpeazu had been spotted in waitrose, and a passing poc Hibby thought he was trying to fit in with the white bourgeoisie? Maybe Djoum had been spotted wearing a pair of Sketchers and blasting Willie Nelson? What was the subtext?

10-04-2019, 12:00 PM
Again, used in the context that someone of colour is acting as if they are white, particularly a black on black slur. Do you believe that was the message? Maybe Ikpeazu had been spotted in waitrose, and a passing poc Hibby thought he was trying to fit in with the white bourgeoisie? Maybe Djoum had been spotted wearing a pair of Sketchers and blasting Willie Nelson? What was the subtext?

Were there any aggrieved looking Black* Hibs Fans in the School End?

Given the coconut context, they would surely be the most obvious culprits.

* Is calling people 'Black' racist? 'Hibs Fans of Color', maybe?

10-04-2019, 12:12 PM

Salisbury Hibby
10-04-2019, 12:25 PM
I want people to stop throwing things as well, but Im also concerned about the prevailing attitude of, "guilty, with assumption of the worse motives I can think of"

The fact that the Guardian, with it's now warped agenda, has got involved is quite worrying.Best place to judge is in court. Have we caught the idiot yet?

Or is it worse to be a grass?

10-04-2019, 12:36 PM
Were there any aggrieved looking Black* Hibs Fans in the School End?

Given the coconut context, they would surely be the most obvious culprits.

* Is calling people 'Black' racist? 'Hibs Fans of Color', maybe?

Calling people black will have others calling you racist no doubt.

It’s not though.

The racist accusation gets thrown about so often now that I really don’t care. Sticks n stones.

Here’s Lucy!
10-04-2019, 02:28 PM

It’s not though.

The racist accusation gets thrown about so often now that I really don’t care. Sticks n stones.

Correct. :aok:

Calling people 'black' is definitely not racist.

Throwing a coconut is racist.

Folk should be able to see the difference without it having to be spelt out for them.

10-04-2019, 02:32 PM
Singhibs is an obvious troll, don't know why people bother replying to him

10-04-2019, 02:38 PM

Black is not a racial slur, and I've never heard anyone claim it is. Seems a little bit like daily mail "you can't say black board anymore" paranoia.

However, there is a considerable leap required to make the assumption that a coconut thrown at no one was a slur aimed at a black player.

beensaidbefore
10-04-2019, 02:42 PM

Folk should be able to see the difference without it having to be spelt out for them.

Does that only count if its a white person throwing it?

If a black person throws a coconut is that racist?

10-04-2019, 03:01 PM

Your family would be best advised staying in the Philippines where they are bound to stay in a nice safe, stable environment, somewhere the sort of place that no one spouts utter, utter garbage.

Here’s Lucy!
10-04-2019, 03:05 PM
Does that only count if its a white person throwing it? Yes, of course it does.

If a black person throws a coconut is that racist? No, of course it isn't.

See above

10-04-2019, 03:27 PM

How can you even begin to come to the conclusion that a coconut thrown at no one in particular is racist? Please, spell it out for me, go on, give us a laugh!

10-04-2019, 03:41 PM
How can you even begin to come to the conclusion that a coconut thrown at no one in particular is racist? Please, spell it out for me, go on, give us a laugh!

Without agreeing with the needless last line of your post, I am also struggling with how this has turned into a racist gesture.

I consider myself fairly PC and am comfortable with a lot of the subtleties of what can be considered racist but for me a coconut being thrown on to a football pitch, without any other context, isn't jumping out as a racist gesture.

Perhaps if it had been thrown at a black player, or in reaction to an incident involving a black player, I could see a connection.

But to the best of my knowledge, it wasn't aimed towards anyone, and was thrown after we scored.

I could understand the accusation if it were a banana that had been thrown, the connotations there are clear, however how many people associate coconuts with racism?

10-04-2019, 03:44 PM
Without agreeing with the needless last line of your post, I am also struggling with how this has turned into a racist gesture.

I consider myself fairly PC and am comfortable with a lot of the subtleties of what can be considered racist but for me a coconut being thrown on to a football pitch, without any other context, isn't jumping out as a racist gesture.

Perhaps if it had been thrown at a black player, or in reaction to an incident involving a black player, I could see a connection.

But to the best of my knowledge, it wasn't aimed towards anyone, and was thrown after we scored.

I could understand the accusation if it were a banana that had been thrown, the connotations there are clear, however how many people associate coconuts with racism?

we don't know the intent I guess...it does strike me as having racist overtones though - and if it was thrown at a black player - you could make that conclusion..

I guess other than the perpetrator and those that know them, we don't have enough info to draw any conclusion..

Here’s Lucy!
10-04-2019, 04:18 PM

You know as well as I, that I meant throwing the said object onto a football pitch where there are black players present. I hope your laugh is hearty, mirthful and indeed side-splitting.

:thumbsup: Thank you. It's always too easy for some to make this sort of remark in a futile (in my opinion) attempt at humour, probably used to glean the 'admiration' of others.

Here’s Lucy!
10-04-2019, 04:19 PM
we don't know the intent I guess...it does strike me as having racist overtones though - and if it was thrown at a black player - you could make that conclusion..

I guess other than the perpetrator and those that know them, we don't have enough info to draw any conclusion..

It certainly does and almost certainly, was.

beensaidbefore
10-04-2019, 04:29 PM
See above

I think that is a lot of nonsence.

Attitudes like that do nothing but create division. It's OK to treat one section of society more favourable than another? Do you really believe that or are you at the wind up?

Please give an explanation because I, and a few others seem to be struggling with how you came to your conclusion. I realise you don't feel it is necessary to explain the point, but humour me please.

10-04-2019, 04:30 PM
It certainly does and almost certainly, was.

Unless you were the thrower, then how do you know it was racist, you have no idea why the person threw it or their reasoning behind it.

10-04-2019, 04:33 PM
Unless you were the thrower, then how do you know it was racist, you have no idea why the person threw it or their reasoning behind it.

Is there any evidence whatsoever that it was thrown towards a black player?

10-04-2019, 04:35 PM
Is there any evidence whatsoever that it was thrown towards a black player?

None whatsoever it was thrown after Hibs equalised when 21 players were in the opposite half of the pitch. If it had been thrown at a black player then I agree it would have been racist.

Bangkok Hibby
10-04-2019, 04:37 PM
None whatsoever it was thrown after Hibs equalised when 21 players were in the opposite half of the pitch. If it had been thrown at a black player then I agree it would have been racist.

Just like the old days when we threw toilet rolls after we scored. That meant nothing either.

Brunswickbill
10-04-2019, 04:43 PM
So far as I can see the racial slur “coconut” occurs when someone who is black, Asian or minority ethnic (BAME) accuses another BAME person that they are “black on the outside but white on the inside.” In order to meet this definition the coconut thrower would have to have been a BAME fan who who considers that one or more of the BAME players who were on the pitch fit the racial slur. I have my doubts that this was the rather complicated thinking of the coconut tosser. I really don’t think that this thread is adding anything to the understanding of the incident.

10-04-2019, 04:49 PM
I don’t know why people are tying themselves in knots to try and link this incident to racism. It was probably just some drunk who stole an object from Sainsbury’s for a laugh and decided to lob it on the pitch.

People have absolutely no idea so those who are claiming to speak from a position of certainty or authority are sounding a bit stupid. Spot it please.

10-04-2019, 04:56 PM
I don’t know why people are tying themselves in knots to try and link this incident to racism. It was probably just some drunk who stole an object from Sainsbury’s for a laugh and decided to lob it on the pitch.

People have absolutely no idea so those who are claiming to speak from a position of certainty or authority are sounding a bit stupid. Spot it please.

Someone has come out in the media and linked this to being a racist act, and there are a few people on here (not me btw) who have stated that they think there is a racist undertone.

I'm more baffled by it than offended and wouldn't really have any problem defending my position to anyone of any race.

My take is that there is more than enough racism in the world for us to have to go looking for it where it doesn't exist.

But there is undoubtedly a grey area here that has led to a decent amount of debate, even if it has ended up a bit inconclusive.

10-04-2019, 05:11 PM
Someone has come out in the media and linked this to being a racist act, and there are a few people on here (not me btw) who have stated that they think there is a racist undertone.

I'm more baffled by it than offended and wouldn't really have any problem defending my position to anyone of any race.

My take is that there is more than enough racism in the world for us to have to go looking for it where it doesn't exist.

But there is undoubtedly a grey area here that has led to a decent amount of debate, even if it has ended up a bit inconclusive.

Perhaps and I’m sure there are racial slurs involving coconuts in some societies but come on, let’s consider the context.

I’ve little doubt that this wasn’t racist and I’m not just blindly defending our support.

10-04-2019, 05:18 PM

You’ll not get an answer to that question for the simple reason that they are just posting an attention seeking comment, with absolutely no foundation.

10-04-2019, 05:30 PM

If I throw a Coconut at somebody, with only white people in the vicinty, I've just commited an act of racism?

If I'm being mugged, the perpetrator is black, I look for something to throw in an attempt to defend myself, the only thing available is a Coconut....

...you can see where this is going, I presume.

10-04-2019, 05:36 PM
If I throw a Coconut at somebody, with only white people in the vicinty, I've just commited an act of racism?

If I'm being mugged, the perpetrator is black, I look for something to throw in an attempt to defend myself, the only thing available is a Coconut....

...you can see where this is going, I presume.

So you get hypothetically mugged and it’s by a black man?

Mate that’s kind of racist.

10-04-2019, 05:46 PM

Yeah, very good, 'mate'.

10-04-2019, 06:00 PM

Sexist post, imho - keekaboo made no reference to the sex of the assailant.

You just presumed it would be a man. :greengrin

10-04-2019, 06:11 PM

😂 Diversity courses all round.

10-04-2019, 07:00 PM

It was a Transexual, actually!

p.s. Who's Keekaboo? :wink:

10-04-2019, 07:19 PM
😂 Diversity courses all round.

I don't know what difference being taught how to street dance will make. 😏

10-04-2019, 08:46 PM

The one thing we do know for sure is that whoever threw the coconut - whether they stole it and chucked it for a random laugh or planned it in advance - is an absolute grade 1 ****ing idiot.

Another thing we know is that racists are absolute grade 1 ****ing idiots.

There is a Venn diagram going on here - ok we do not know for sure that the coconut thrower is a racist - but there is certainly a fair to middling chance that they are and people that want to jump to that conclusion will do so.

Moral of the story - if you're mate has the bright idea to bring a coconut along to the football smack it over his idiot head to knock some sense into it - racist or no.

10-04-2019, 09:08 PM
There is a Venn diagram going on here - ok we do not know for sure that the coconut thrower is a racist - but there is certainly a fair to middling chance that they are and people that want to jump to that conclusion will do so.

Nah. You could have a Venn diagram with racists and EU leave voters. There would be an overlap, because some racists certainly voted to leave the EU. To then argue that there's a fair to middling chance that any particular leave voter is a racist is wrong. Not just wrong but Inflatable-Idiot-Mark-Francois-level wrong, which is very, very wrong.

10-04-2019, 09:13 PM
Just like the old days when we threw toilet rolls after we scored. That meant nothing either.

Got hit bang on the coupen in the old East terracing. Bloody tracing paper stuff from the public toilets. Did well to stay on my feet 😜

10-04-2019, 09:20 PM
It was a Transexual, actually!

p.s. Who's Keekaboo? :wink:

Is that you Keekaboo? :greengrin

beensaidbefore
10-04-2019, 09:25 PM
The one thing we do know for sure is that whoever threw the coconut - whether they stole it and chucked it for a random laugh or planned it in advance - is an absolute grade 1 ****ing idiot.

Another thing we know is that racists are absolute grade 1 ****ing idiots.

Moral of the story - if you're mate has the bright idea to bring a coconut along to the football smack it over his idiot head to knock some sense into it - racist or no.

A fair to middling chance they are.

🤣 🤣 🤣

10-04-2019, 09:28 PM
We have multicultural players in the squad - even if the offending item was thrown from our end - I grew up in the 70s and the 80s and i never viewed the incident as racist.. Now im getting kinda scared to wear a black suit with a white shirt to a funeral... ***axe

10-04-2019, 10:13 PM
Nah. You could have a Venn diagram with racists and EU leave voters. There would be an overlap, because some racists certainly voted to leave the EU. To then argue that there's a fair to middling chance that any particular leave voter is a racist is wrong. Not just wrong but Inflatable-Idiot-Mark-Francois-level wrong, which is very, very wrong.

You miss my point. The very fact that it could be construed to be racist - rightly or wrongly - gives grist to the mill of those who wish to taint the image of Hibernian FC. Therefore if your mate wants to bring a coconut to the game do us all a favour and smash it over his idiot head.

10-04-2019, 10:21 PM

You've summed up my thoughts.

Hibs scored and a coconut was thrown at nobody for no discernible reason.

Where was the racism? It's just a stupid thing to do as would be chucking a cauliflower or a melon, but I don't for a second think it was done with racist intent.

10-04-2019, 10:29 PM
if your mate wants to bring a coconut to the game do us all a favour and smash it over his idiot head.Can't disagree with that bit. :agree:

10-04-2019, 11:45 PM
.. Has anyone thrown a bunch of Grapes.... :greengrin

11-04-2019, 07:01 AM
.. Has anyone thrown a bunch of Grapes.... :greengrinNo grapes were harmed before during or after the events at tiny castle.

Brunswickbill
11-04-2019, 07:26 AM
.. Has anyone thrown a bunch of Grapes.... :greengrin

If they were green I would be offended for sectarian overtones and if they were black there would clearly be racist implications.

Admin - Close this thread please.

11-04-2019, 04:38 PM
You've summed up my thoughts.

Hibs scored and a coconut was thrown at nobody for no discernible reason.

Where was the racism? It's just a stupid thing to do as would be chucking a cauliflower or a melon, but I don't for a second think it was done with racist intent.

Still can’t believe that no one saw this being thrown

11-04-2019, 05:00 PM
Anyone heard the story that the coconut wasn’t thrown but was rolled onto the pitch from the front row. The smuggling of it into Tynie was videoed and was done to prove a point that it would be easy to smuggle in whatever you wanted.

11-04-2019, 05:03 PM
Anyone heard the story that the coconut wasn’t thrown but was rolled onto the pitch from the front row. The smuggling of it into Tynie was videoed and was done to prove a point that it would be easy to smuggle in whatever you wanted.

About 4 or 5 people got searched in front of me then the steward decided not too search me. I could have taken anything into the ground without any bother.

11-04-2019, 05:06 PM
Still can’t believe that no one saw this being thrown

Hearts CCTV cant recognise coconuts, hence the £100k spend by them

11-04-2019, 07:22 PM

Someone said earlier in the thread that the guy had it in his hood, if people are only getting patted down than no one will even consider looking in a hood.

11-04-2019, 07:23 PM
Have they identified the Coconut Thrower yet?

12-04-2019, 12:02 AM
Have they identified the Coconut Thrower yet?
Not the Tyncastle one, but this scoundrel (and his ilk) have been known to climb trees to get to coconuts so one should assume they fling them out of the tree at some point. Does that count?

12-04-2019, 07:12 PM
Not the Tyncastle one, but this scoundrel (and his ilk) have been known to climb trees to get to coconuts so one should assume they fling them out of the tree at some point. Does that count?

Is that Hermit Crab?

12-04-2019, 09:35 PM
About 4 or 5 people got searched in front of me then the steward decided not too search me. I could have taken anything into the ground without any bother.
I've not been searched at any ground this century.

13-04-2019, 09:57 AM
I thought it was a subtle advert of up coming attractions, they just could not get Kid Creole to turn up!!!!!