View Full Version : Jambo mates?

SideBurns
04-04-2019, 10:04 PM
In light of the new 'Respect' campaign, I was wondering if there are any Hibbies who could genuinely say they have no friends of the opposite persuasion?

Personally, I have pals who are ST holders at Tynie and are the salt of the earth as far as I'm concerned - with one glaring character flaw, which I've always been happy to overlook.

I would love to return to the days (which I was too young to experience) when fans of both clubs could stand on the terraces together, and while i realise too much water has flown under the bridge since then it would be good to at least revert to a position of a healthy city rivalry.

04-04-2019, 10:13 PM
In light of the new 'Respect' campaign, I was wondering if there are any Hibbies who could genuinely say they have no friends of the opposite persuasion?

Personally, I have pals who are ST holders at Tynie and are the salt of the earth as far as I'm concerned - with one glaring character flaw, which I've always been happy to overlook.

I would love to return to the days (which I was too young to experience) when fans of both clubs could stand on the terraces together, and while i realise too much water has flown under the bridge since then it would be good to at least revert to a position of a healthy city rivalry.

I detest violence at football matches but I would not want fans to be mixed. There's something about having your own wee section of a stadium when you're an away fan at your rival's stadium that is quite satisfying.

I was at a rugby match last weekend which was obviously mixed and I just felt uncomfortable in that environment.

I love the rivalry and tribalism that football has but I think it's possible to have a happy medium between opposition fans all having a sing song together like we have at rugby and opposition fans kicking the **** out of each other like what happens before and after many football matches.

04-04-2019, 10:18 PM
I have a fair few Jambo mates (no relatives, thankfully:greengrin) who are great guys. We enjoy the banter, but it stays within the bounds of normal behaviour. I couldn't be associating with the mini-Hun, Loyalist types who represent the dregs of society.

04-04-2019, 10:36 PM
I detest violence at football matches but I would not want fans to be mixed. There's something about having your own wee section of a stadium when you're an away fan at your rival's stadium that is quite satisfying.

I was at a rugby match last weekend which was obviously mixed and I just felt uncomfortable in that environment.

I love the rivalry and tribalism that football has but I think it's possible to have a happy medium between opposition fans all having a sing song together like we have at rugby and opposition fans kicking the **** out of each other like what happens before and after many football matches.

Exactly how I feel.

04-04-2019, 10:37 PM
I have a fair few Jambo mates (no relatives, thankfully:greengrin) who are great guys. We enjoy the banter, but it stays within the bounds of normal behaviour. I couldn't be associating with the mini-Hun, Loyalist types who represent the dregs of society.

Oh and this as well.

04-04-2019, 10:38 PM
I think you'd find it almost impossible to find an Edinburgh based Hibs fan that doesn't have a friend or family member that supports them.

Personally half my family do. I mean, they're wrong. But I still like them haha.

04-04-2019, 10:46 PM

I've got acquaintances, nowhere near being friends, it's just how it is.

04-04-2019, 10:52 PM
Growing up in Jamboland, I have loads but the hardcore jambos can be hard work sometimes. You have to remind yourself that deep down inside they’re the same as you and aren’t old firm fans (which is always a bonus).

Drinking in mixed pubs with a sensible clientele is the best place to watch football on the telly IMO. Lots of different points of view plus a bit of banter without the intensity that can turn into something uglier.

DickieDastardly
04-04-2019, 10:56 PM
Plenty friends who are Jambos, some are very easy going others have that undercurrent of hibs hatred that occasionally slips out; then again I love to see them getting pumped so are we really that different.
The one common bond with all is a dislike of the old firm, that goes for friends who support other Scottish clubs too.

04-04-2019, 11:03 PM

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

ozhibs
04-04-2019, 11:07 PM
I have no Jambo mates but a couple of in-laws

Doh Rae Me
04-04-2019, 11:17 PM
Yes I can categorically say there are at least 2 decent Jambos out there as I am an excellent judge of character.

04-04-2019, 11:45 PM
I have as many Jambo mates as I have Hibs mates. Generally people are people and there is good folk and bad folk in either support.

In my 47 years supporting Hibs though, I feel there is a definite difference between Hibs and Hearts supporters. Generally, and there are certainly exceptions, Hibs fans are more pro socialist/pro Scottish independence/pro Irish Republican than Hearts fans. No doubt a reflection on where our supporter base came from, diluted over the years of course.

Creed, colour and religion (or none) is meaningless in a forward thinking, cosmopolitan society. I just love the Hibs and our history. A special and unique football club:not worth

04-04-2019, 11:49 PM
I have no Jambo friends, only a brother-in-law.

05-04-2019, 12:18 AM
I have as many Jambo mates as I have Hibs mates. Generally people are people and there is good folk and bad folk in either support.

In my 47 years supporting Hibs though, I feel there is a definite difference between Hibs and Hearts supporters. Generally, and there are certainly exceptions, Hibs fans are more pro socialist/pro Scottish independence/pro Irish Republican than Hearts fans. No doubt a reflection on where our supporter base came from, diluted over the years of course.

Creed, colour and religion (or none) is meaningless in a forward thinking, cosmopolitan society. I just love the Hibs and our history. A special and unique football club:not worth

By and large yes. As you say, there is crossover, but generally they are more right wing than us.

05-04-2019, 02:46 AM
I haven't met a single Jambo since 2001 although I did have to travel rather a long way to make that dream come true.....

hughio
05-04-2019, 04:33 AM

Totally agree.Somehow over the years since segregation was introduced it’s become fashionable to affect loyalty by pretending “hatred “of our rivals and wearing it as a badge of honour.In reality grown adults who have experienced wars,bereavement and illnesses laugh at this game played by youngsters or those unfortunate enough to have nothing more important going on in their lives.GGTTH[emoji172]

Fanforlife
05-04-2019, 04:54 AM
Fair few jambo friends,fek thum!!!!!😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

05-04-2019, 05:19 AM
I recently lost a pal through prostate cancer who I had known since primary and even as a child he was a wonderful and caring individual and when our team wasn't playing we'd go and support the other [Hearts in the Texaco & Hibs in the Fairs/ UEFA cups usually. I moved south when we were still in our teens and a few years later our lives went seperate ways, as happens. WE made contact again through a mutral friend in 2016 and almost the first thing he said to me was how delighted he was that we had won the cup, he had been cheering the "Edinburgh" team on the day, a stance he hadn't changed in almost fifty years. He lost his fight on the 24th of February and I feel honoured to have known him, soon after hearing about the "terminal" cancer we met up and went to Porty with our two other school pals, where we were brought up and that evening we went to the Scotland v England U21 game at Tynie, where we had shared many a memory from a time when I went to all Hibs games.

05-04-2019, 05:20 AM
I recently lost a pal through prostate cancer who I had known since primary and even as a child he was a wonderful and caring individual and when our team wasn't playing we'd go and support the other [Hearts in the Texaco & Hibs in the Fairs/ UEFA cups usually. I moved south when we were still in our teens and a few years later our lives went seperate ways, as happens. WE made contact again through a mutral friend in 2016 and almost the first thing he said to me was how delighted he was that we had won the cup, he had been cheering the "Edinburgh" team on the day, a stance he hadn't changed in almost fifty years. He lost his fight on the 24th of February and I feel honoured to know him, soon after hearing about the "terminal" cancer we met up and went to Porty with our two other school pals, where we were brought up and that evening we went to the Scotland v England U21 game at Tynie, where we had shared many a memory from a time when I went to all Hibs games

:top marks:not worth

Hedlund12
05-04-2019, 05:51 AM
I have a few real and decent hearts supporting friends. Ones who have actually been along to support their team.

A few of my extended family members are hearts fans - or so they claim (I was clearly the one born with brains!!).
They grate on my nerves a bit when it comes to fitba.. they are always very vocal after a derby or a decent Jumbo result. Bleating away about their team... I honestly dont think any of them have EVER been along to Swiney to support their "apparent" beloved fitba team. They may claim to be fans but they are not true supporters! Makes me laugh!

Hedlund12
05-04-2019, 05:54 AM
I recently lost a pal through prostate cancer who I had known since primary and even as a child he was a wonderful and caring individual and when our team wasn't playing we'd go and support the other [Hearts in the Texaco & Hibs in the Fairs/ UEFA cups usually. I moved south when we were still in our teens and a few years later our lives went seperate ways, as happens. WE made contact again through a mutral friend in 2016 and almost the first thing he said to me was how delighted he was that we had won the cup, he had been cheering the "Edinburgh" team on the day, a stance he hadn't changed in almost fifty years. He lost his fight on the 24th of February and I feel honoured to have known him, soon after hearing about the "terminal" cancer we met up and went to Porty with our two other school pals, where we were brought up and that evening we went to the Scotland v England U21 game at Tynie, where we had shared many a memory from a time when I went to all Hibs games.

So sorry to hear about the loss of your friend but really happy to hear your football memories and the fact that you both caught up again.

05-04-2019, 06:16 AM
Most of my mates are jambos. And all want Levein out!

05-04-2019, 06:20 AM
My brothers a hearts fan. Doesn't go to many of their games now. Think his last 3 games have seen them lose at murrayfield to Celtic, 2-0 to us and 2-0 from that Maltese side :hilarious

rotherhamrob
05-04-2019, 06:36 AM
My brothers a hearts fan. Doesn't go to many of their games now. Think his last 3 games have seen them lose at murrayfield to Celtic, 2-0 to us and 2-0 from that Maltese side :hilarious
Any chance you can get him a ticket for tomorrow?

05-04-2019, 06:49 AM

I'll pay for the ticket.

05-04-2019, 07:00 AM
I have a few good mates who are jambos. They've proven their worth over the years, so aside from some gentle ribbing when derby day comes round I know they're good folk. As a result of knowing them well, you know what is meant by their wee jamboisms and you know not to get wound up by it.

It's harder to get on with jambo "friends of a friend". You've not got the benefit of years getting to know them, so as soon as they launch into their jambo pish (and let's face it, it doesn't normally take them long) then they normally just seem like roasters.

As a strange quirk, I seem to know a disproportionately high number of Catholic jambos, so would never get any mini Hun nonsense from them. Which helps.

05-04-2019, 07:09 AM
A couple of friends, but they only go to Tynecastle occasionally and dont really talk much about them much. Don’t think I could stomach a full fat one.

05-04-2019, 07:17 AM
I married into a Hearts family and a nicer bunch of folk you couldn't meet.
There have been some heated discussions over the years but we're all sensible enough - I hope - to realise there are more important things in life than football.

For what it's worth I reckon the Internet is to blame for the worsening in relations between the two tribes. That and the press whipping it up.

05-04-2019, 07:19 AM
I grew up outside Edinburgh so I have no Hearts OR Hibs supporting pals. Oh well!

Juniper Greens
05-04-2019, 07:20 AM

I don't have any Jambo mates. Perhaps more by accident than design, but I'm glad. I'd just look at our west stand and think "this really needs to have a massive window Infront of it so everyone can see the car park"

05-04-2019, 07:26 AM
Anyone else noticed how jambo pals old guys in boozers always have a maroon top oan?

You can spot them a mile away

I had a jambo supporting uncle who always wore a lambs wool maroon jumper and everytime he was in our company myself and my brothers would always start talking about 0-7 :greengrin

05-04-2019, 07:31 AM
I've no pals that are hardcore Jambos. Close friend group consists of Hibs, Hibs, Burnley & Kilmarnock but that's due to Uni. Outside of that best friend through childhood is a massive hun.

All of them great guys.

green with envy
05-04-2019, 07:32 AM
Anyone that has jambo mates are just weirdos.

05-04-2019, 07:36 AM
I don't have any Jambo friends. I have a cousin who is a season ticket holder but I hardly ever see him so that's fine :greengrin

05-04-2019, 07:37 AM
I have a few good mates who are jambos. They've proven their worth over the years, so aside from some gentle ribbing when derby day comes round I know they're good folk. As a result of knowing them well, you know what is meant by their wee jamboisms and you know not to get wound up by it.

It's harder to get on with jambo "friends of a friend". You've not got the benefit of years getting to know them, so as soon as they launch into their jambo pish (and let's face it, it doesn't normally take them long) then they normally just seem like roasters.

As a strange quirk, I seem to know a disproportionately high number of Catholic jambos, so would never get any mini Hun nonsense from them. Which helps.

I agree with this, lots of close friends who are Jambos and have good banter with them. Whenever a "friend of a friend" joins the company their attempts at banter just annoy me

05-04-2019, 07:42 AM
All in all in my mates group theres about 20 of us and its pretty much split 50/50 with Hibs and Hearts, with a token Hun and Celtc fan (and Motherwell fan randomly) for giggles. We'll ****ing despise each other for 90 minutes on Saturday but we always meet up for a few pints and make a night of it after the game :agree:

05-04-2019, 08:04 AM
My best man tomorrow is a Hearts season ticket holder. Should be interesting......

hughio
05-04-2019, 08:17 AM
My best man tomorrow is a Hearts season ticket holder. Should be interesting......

Best of luck!

Earlydelivery
05-04-2019, 08:30 AM
Coming from Lochend in the early 70s I only knew about 2 ... great place to be brought up 💚😂

McSwanky
05-04-2019, 08:32 AM
Anyone else noticed how jambo pals old guys in boozers always have a maroon top oan?

You can spot them a mile away

I had a jambo supporting uncle who always wore a lambs wool maroon jumper and everytime he was in our company myself and my brothers would always start talking about 0-7 :greengrin

Coupled with the brown cords, it's a fantastic look. :greengrin

05-04-2019, 08:33 AM
Don't have any close pals as jambos. Not through choice, being brought up in north embra it was mostly Hibs fans at school, then most pals currently are all through Hibs. Been for a pint after a game with jambos who are pals of pals, no issues at all with that so long as they're not pricks.

Wouldn't want to sit/stand anywhere near them at a game mind you. That's not a derby IMO.

05-04-2019, 08:52 AM
All in all in my mates group theres about 20 of us and its pretty much split 50/50 with Hibs and Hearts, with a token Hun and Celtc fan (and Motherwell fan randomly) for giggles. We'll ****ing despise each other for 90 minutes on Saturday but we always meet up for a few pints and make a night of it after the game :agree:

Exactly the way it should be.

05-04-2019, 09:04 AM
Very close friend is a Jambo. First one to congratulate me when we won the cup. Would rather cut my dick off with a rusty butter knife that sit next to him on derby day.

05-04-2019, 09:12 AM
Play football with a few but don’t really socialise with any of them and don’t have Facebook or that. My cousins a Jambo seems alright but never talked football, his brother is a hibby might be instincts but like him better.

05-04-2019, 09:15 AM

I'll pay for the ticket.

Nice try but he said he won't be back till budge and levein are going as they are "killing hearts".

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2019, 09:28 AM
I grew up in Leith and my mates were Hibs or huns. Don't remember any Hearts fans at all. Now my friends are mostly Bangkok United fans :greengrin

05-04-2019, 10:41 AM
My brother has been a season ticket holder at Tiny for over 45 years, and about half our family are Hearts fans so I've had plenty banter/debate over the years but it's never descended into the puerile drivel you hear nowadays. I remember when segregation first came about and it was weird on the New Year games as we would meet up in the pub for a few pre match drinks and again after the game, but we weren't trusted to stand next to each other during it by society. You do feel safer with the segregation now, or maybe we've just become accustomed to it, as now the wee eejits can shout and ridicule people perfectly safe in the knowledge the other guys can't reach them.
To summarise: most Hearts fans are decent normal people, the way most Hibs fans are, shame about the loonies on both sides.

05-04-2019, 11:04 AM
My hertz supportin mates are a good bunch of guys, been tae many a game, Scotland internationals and international rugby tae. Good days oot and lots of takin the pish ootae each others clubs, better bunch yi couldnae meet. We regularly meet up in Edinburgh before games.

05-04-2019, 11:22 AM
I played football on Saturday mornings when I lived in Dundee.

Hibs had Rangers in a Scottish Cup tie at lunchtime so I chose playing over going to the Hibs game.

One of my team-mates (and someone who has been one of my best mates for more than 2 decades now) is a West Coast Hun and we decided to go back to mine and watch the game.

I nearly tore his head off after he excessively celebrated their winning goal (he'd argue, not unreasonably, that his celebration wasn't excessive).

F*** watching Hibs play Rangers or Hearts in the company of fans of the opposition.

andyf5
05-04-2019, 11:33 AM
My brother has been a season ticket holder at Tiny for over 45 years, and about half our family are Hearts fans so I've had plenty banter/debate over the years but it's never descended into the puerile drivel you hear nowadays. I remember when segregation first came about and it was weird on the New Year games as we would meet up in the pub for a few pre match drinks and again after the game, but we weren't trusted to stand next to each other during it by society. You do feel safer with the segregation now, or maybe we've just become accustomed to it, as now the wee eejits can shout and ridicule people perfectly safe in the knowledge the other guys can't reach them.
To summarise: most Hearts fans are decent normal people, the way most Hibs fans are, shame about the loonies on both sides.

Exactly my feeling. Would be quite happy watching the game with my Jambo pals and it would cut down on some of the tribalism and stuff that the younger generation think of as serious. Quite a few of my older relatives went to the games together.

05-04-2019, 11:52 AM
My maternal grandfather was a Jambo, as well as some uncles and cousins.

At high school, I used to sit with the same three guys at almost every class, and they supported Celtc, Rangers and Hearts.

The Celtc supporting mate convinced me to go to a couple of big Celtc games with him, when Hibs weren't playing. I never felt very comfortable about that but I did manage to talk him into going to some Hibs games with me.

Also, not entirely related but... there's a guy at my work that looks just like Craig Levein.

son of haggart
05-04-2019, 12:11 PM
I grew up in Leith and my mates were Hibs or huns. Don't remember any Hearts fans at all. Now my friends are mostly Bangkok United fans :greengrin

The flip side - was brought up in Northfield/ Portobello School but have no long term Hibs mates who go to the games. I do know a couple of people on this site, most notably Liberal Hibby who I worked alongside for a number of years and Hibbyradge who i had a few pints with back in the day.

In the old days (70s) had quite a few Hibs supporting mates most notably my brother's best mate Kenny who played in his band , but unfortunately died early (a hole in the heart case before they could deal with them). Kenny's brother supported Hearts - quite common in those days to have people in same family supporting either.

Played alongside quite a few Hibbies in football teams back in the 70s and 80s with no problems

With all ticketed all seating it would actually be easier to police a mixed stadium than in the old days but I just don't think there's an ap[petite for it amongst the authorities in particular.

05-04-2019, 12:17 PM
The flip side - was brought up in Northfield/ Portobello School but have no long term Hibs mates who go to the games. I do know a couple of people on this site, most notably Liberal Hibby who I worked alongside for a number of years and Hibbyradge who i had a few pints with back in the day.

In the old days (70s) had quite a few Hibs supporting mates most notably my brother's best mate Kenny who played in his band , but unfortunately died early (a hole in the heart case before they could deal with them). Kenny's brother supported Hearts - quite common in those days to have people in same family supporting either.

Played alongside quite a few Hibbies in football teams back in the 70s and 80s with no problems

With all ticketed all seating it would actually be easier to police a mixed stadium than in the old days but I just don't think there's an ap[petite for it amongst the authorities in particular.

When I went to Bayern vs Hertha game a few years ago I ended up in a sort of mixed section.

An entirely mixed stadium wouldn't work imo, but an end each and a mixed section might. The mixed section would require a bit more policing but the fans would generally be self-selecting. The few who could trust themselves to behave and would enjoy watching the game in mixed company could use the mixed area, the bams (like me) who would prefer to be segregated could go to their own "end".

Obviously this would become far more difficult when there is a scarcity of tickets and "away bams" would go into any mixed section and cause bother.

son of haggart
05-04-2019, 12:24 PM
When I went to Bayern vs Hertha game a few years ago I ended up in a sort of mixed section.

An entirely mixed stadium wouldn't work imo, but an end each and a mixed section might. The mixed section would require a bit more policing but the fans would generally be self-selecting. The few who could trust themselves to behave and would enjoy watching the game in mixed company could use the mixed area, the bams (like me) who would prefer to be segregated could go to their own "end".

Obviously this would become far more difficult when there is a scarcity of tickets and "away bams" would go into any mixed section and cause bother.

Good idea - certainly the German games I've been too (mostly Dortmund near where my brother lived for 15 years) have been more 'away fan friendly' than you see here.

05-04-2019, 12:26 PM
As others have said, if you're Edinburgh born and bred it's well nigh impossible to at least come across Hearts fans in some family, social or work capacity and I'm no different.

As I've mentioned on the 'Respect the Rivalry' thread in relation to Rangers fans, I have known plenty of decent enough Hearts fans down the years but I remain unable to quite get past the question of WHY anyone would CHOOSE to support them. Those who have the curse passed down from generation to generation I can understand and sympathise with but I will never be able to get my head around why anyone with no other connection to the club would opt for the yams and grey old Gorgie when you have the Hibees and sunny Leith in the same city ;-)

05-04-2019, 12:32 PM
No mates, only a brother in law 🙄

05-04-2019, 12:44 PM
Best of luck!

Thanks bud

AltheHibby
05-04-2019, 12:48 PM
My best man is a jambo and he's great.

Sister in law claims to support them as her husband does. She gets annoyed with me for not wanting them to win anything and can't see any problems with the poppy theiving.

And that's only one of the reasons I can't stand her. 😁

coco mc
05-04-2019, 01:20 PM
Very close friend is a Jambo. First one to congratulate me when we won the cup. Would rather cut my dick off with a rusty butter knife that sit next to him on derby day.

lol

05-04-2019, 01:25 PM
I have brilliant pals who support Hearts, Rangers and Celtic. We can have a bit of banter and a laugh about football but that's it.
Life is too short

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

H18S NX
05-04-2019, 01:40 PM
I don't have any jambo pals,couple o guys in my pub are jambo's,but thats about it.

05-04-2019, 01:52 PM

Great story Ray, sad to hear he lost his fight.

05-04-2019, 02:22 PM
As others have said, if you're Edinburgh born and bred it's well nigh impossible to at least come across Hearts fans in some family, social or work capacity and I'm no different.

As I've mentioned on the 'Respect the Rivalry' thread in relation to Rangers fans, I have known plenty of decent enough Hearts fans down the years but I remain unable to quite get past the question of WHY anyone would CHOOSE to support them. Those who have the curse passed down from generation to generation I can understand and sympathise with but I will never be able to get my head around why anyone with no other connection to the club would opt for the yams and grey old Gorgie when you have the Hibees and sunny Leith in the same city ;-)

Me tae, couldnt understand why folk supported them and still cannae, ****ty dangerous stadium, ****ty ugly strip, play very poor fitba and play in what used to be a run down dour part of the toon, it has no appeal at all.

05-04-2019, 02:39 PM

My best friend is a Hearts supporter, we routinely take the Mick out of each other, have done for 40 + years & we don't hate each other. It's a game after all.��

05-04-2019, 03:26 PM
Hardly met any in the last 20 years but knew a few decent enough jambos.

Bangkok Hibby
05-04-2019, 04:45 PM

Suppose it's too late to tell you not to do it? :greengrin

All the best for tomorrow :wink:

Here’s Lucy!
05-04-2019, 04:57 PM
When they stay off the subject of football, they can appear quite 'normal". :greengrin

05-04-2019, 05:38 PM
When they stay off the subject of football, they can appear quite 'normal". :greengrin

It's only a thin veneer.

My Grandad once saw me going to school wearing a Hibs Scarf and when one of his golfing buddies said, "Peter, there's your Grandson", he replied, "that's NO Grandson of mine!".

Here’s Lucy!
05-04-2019, 06:18 PM
It's only a thin veneer.

My Grandad once saw me going to school wearing a Hibs Scarf and when one of his golfing buddies said, "Peter, there's your Grandson", he replied, "that's NO Grandson of mine!".

Now, that's taking it a bit too far!

Can hardly believe he said that. :confused:

05-04-2019, 06:21 PM

I was best man for my Hearts mate and we had a pre-wedding pint in Lawrie Reilly’s. It was a great day, albeit close season.
He’s my mate and I love him to bits and always will.
He’s a poisoned Hearts **** though, probably notoriously so, amongst the worst you’ll find. He grew up on Albion Road and went to Leithy too! Well known around South Leith in the 80s as a “big stupid Hearts *******”. We had some close scrapes.
Was one of the first in touch on 21st May 2016 though, saying I was the only thing about that day he could be happy about. And I was first with an arm around him after Dens ‘86.

Have a great day tomorrow mate.

05-04-2019, 07:52 PM
Now, that's taking it a bit too far!

Can hardly believe he said that. :confused:

Don't worry, he was a miserable old Hearts supporting so-and-so, but I loved him to bits.

He was a fantastic grandad... when I wasn't wearing my scarf.

I always knew that, deep down, he still loved his Hibby grandson, even when clad all in green.

He just hid it well

05-04-2019, 07:56 PM
Don't worry, he was a miserable old Hearts supporting so-and-so, but I loved him to bits.

He was a fantastic grandad... when I wasn't wearing my scarf.

I always knew that, deep down, he still loved his Hibby grandson, even when clad all in green.

He just hid it well

That's what a grandad does, you just can't help it. 👍

05-04-2019, 09:08 PM

Can't wish you luck for tomorrow, but you are always a good poster here.

05-04-2019, 10:12 PM
Not one. I have worked with a few, tossers to a man, which might be a coincidence, but it was my experience. Don't know what I'll do if I meet a decent one.

stuart-farquhar
05-04-2019, 10:47 PM
I've never had one. Or a Glasgow team.

Not my cup of tea frankly. Any of them.

05-04-2019, 11:13 PM
Had lots of good friends who are Jambos. To be fair they're just like us, fitba fans who support their team. We can hate each other for 90 minutes but outwith the game no reason why you can't be friends with someone who supports a rival team.

05-04-2019, 11:16 PM
I have 2 gorgie lovin' brother- in - laws.{ cant bring myself to say that other word} one of them just cant come near my hoose if we beat them, so hopefully wont see him this month. the other, well he is fine but still likes to make a snidey remark, if his team do well. Mates well I do know a few occasional drinking partners but hardly call them mates. different kind o' people, for me

06-04-2019, 09:15 AM
My brother and his family are all Hearts fans - Back in the 70s used to take him along to Easter Road one week then Tynie the week after when we played away: think he misunderstood my intentions though ... we never have any problems discussing the ups and downs of a game ...

06-04-2019, 09:26 AM
Me tae, couldnt understand why folk supported them and still cannae, ****ty dangerous stadium, ****ty ugly strip, play very poor fitba and play in what used to be a run down dour part of the toon, it has no appeal at all.

Agree. Know Jambos from old office and they were stereo typical- v necks, moustaches, spoke in a sort of learnt posh Edinburgh brogue. My two best mates are Gers fans - good leftist politics, one glad we won the cup but loves to share Celtic and reveals in their misfortune. The other still boycotts ER because our role in their bankruptcy - nothing to do with tax dodging schemes if course. Still refuses to see the legal break in Rangers existence even if I admit Sevco is the spirit of Rangers but can never be legally the continuation of Rangers. Bit like Hearts holding company going bust at the turn of the century.

06-04-2019, 09:29 AM

:applause::applause:a nice but sad story

06-04-2019, 10:00 AM
....are all ****ers

06-04-2019, 06:34 PM
For the first 25 or so minutes and until we scored I was getting plenty text and messages about how many it was going to be.

Silence after the equaliser and after we scored the second I was in fits of laughter as the

5-1 blankie appeared.

My sides!

06-04-2019, 09:44 PM
For the first 25 or so minutes and until we scored I was getting plenty text and messages about how many it was going to be.

Silence after the equaliser and after we scored the second I was in fits of laughter as the

5-1 blankie appeared.

My sides!

Been checking my phone all night, but nae texts from my Jambo pals; it's radio silence. Very strange. :greengrin

vuefrom1875
06-04-2019, 09:50 PM
I don't have any jambo pals,couple o guys in my pub are jambo's,but thats about it.

Always steer clear of TRAMPS 😎

SideBurns
06-04-2019, 09:59 PM

My dad died on 17.5.16 (so near but so far to the Scottish Cup win - breaks my heart even now), but when it came to carrying his coffin into the church we chose one of his Jambo mates to represent 'the Granton Boys'; my dad loved the Hibs, was a ST holder and shareholder to the end, but was always able to see the bigger picture. My own 15 year old son has great pals who are Hearts supporters and I'm proud of that - not that the fact curtailed his celebrations this afternoon 😁

06-04-2019, 10:15 PM
My dad died on 17.5.16 (so near but so far to the Scottish Cup win - breaks my heart even now), but when it came to carrying his coffin into the church we chose one of his Jambo mates to represent 'the Granton Boys'; my dad loved the Hibs, was a ST holder and shareholder to the end, but was always able to see the bigger picture. My own 15 year old son has great pals who are Hearts supporters and I'm proud of that - not that the fact curtailed his celebrations this afternoon 😁

Very poignant, mate, and I fully agree with the thrust of your post :agree:

06-04-2019, 11:43 PM
I certainly don’t know any Hearts fans at the moment despite living in Jamboid territory in Merchiston. When I did last work in Edinburgh there were a couple of Jambos in our Department, one never attended matches the other hadn’t for years (decades?). The former was a decent lad and a Catholic. There were a couple of Hibs supporters in the Department, one was a Northern Ireland Proddy from North Belfast.

One of our former neighbours admitted to being a Hearts fan. Someone challenged him saying that he had previously said that he didn’t like football! I saw no contradiction at all.

Working in Glasgow means that I do not encounter many Jambos. In fact most appear to support Celtic. Very little Rangers or Sevco presence. Legend has it that a former member of staff used to lock himself in the toilet and refuse to come out if Rangers lost a match.

07-04-2019, 12:43 AM
I certainly don’t know any Hearts fans at the moment despite living in Jamboid territory in Merchiston. When I did last work in Edinburgh there were a couple of Jambos in our Department, one never attended matches the other hadn’t for years (decades?). The former was a decent lad and a Catholic. There were a couple of Hibs supporters in the Department, one was a Northern Ireland Proddy from North Belfast.

One of our former neighbours admitted to being a Hearts fan. Someone challenged him saying that he had previously said that he didn’t like football! I saw no contradiction at all.

Working in Glasgow means that I do not encounter many Jambos. In fact most appear to support Celtic. Very little Rangers or Sevco presence. Legend has it that a former member of staff used to lock himself in the toilet and refuse to come out if Rangers lost a match.

Ayrshire and Lanarkshire for hardcore Hunnery, plus enclaves spread across Scotland, including West and East Lothian, such as Broxburn and Uphall.