View Full Version : Today's games

Pages : 1 [2] 3

31-03-2019, 12:28 PM
It's almost like Neil Lennon is nowhere near as good a football manager as folk on here make him out to be, and actually inherited a very good, Stubbs-assembled squad that he slowly weakened over time.
It’s fine. Seeing as how they’re drawing he will pretend to be an aeroplane or go “waaaaay” at the opposition fans and he’ll be fine again.

31-03-2019, 12:28 PM
Celtic are not direct enough up front. I fancy Sevco to steal this.

hibbytam
31-03-2019, 12:29 PM
First shot on or off target, 62 minutes in and they score

Sounds like so many hibs games under Lennon.

31-03-2019, 12:29 PM
Celtic are not direct enough up front. I fancy Sevco to steal this.

12/1 with bet365.

31-03-2019, 12:30 PM
You can see the difference with Lennon and Rodgers already

I thought Edwards had been sent of about 8 times in his career. John madsen might be one not sure who other one would be without looking it up

You might be right about Edwards. I hadnt taken his Dunfermline record into account. Maybe that’s why his cumulative record got him such lengthy suspensions when at Hibs.

John madden - no - but you’ve got the first initial of the first name correct.:wink:

Lennon continuing his recent excellent derby record.

31-03-2019, 12:31 PM
Celtic for 8th next season if they keep wee Lenny

31-03-2019, 12:32 PM
gambled on tierney, resulting in a longer injury...bit like with porteous.

That was the chance 😯😯😯

Not putting Burke on was madness. Lennon nowhere near what Celtic will demand. They are being schooled by 10 men.

Jack should have buried that.

johncrobertson@
You might be right about Edwards. I hadnt taken his Dunfermline record into account. Maybe that’s why his cumulative record got him such lengthy suspensions when at Hibs.

John madden - no - but you’ve got the first initial of the first name correct.:wink:

John McNamee?

31-03-2019, 12:33 PM
Ajer just passed to Tierney who was off the field at the time and about to be subbed. :faf:

Boyata hobbling off pitch, Celtic used all their subs.

Boyata injured but Celtic have made all 3 subs. 10 men for the last 15 minutes.

31-03-2019, 12:34 PM
Jack should score

think sellick will settle for a draw here :greengrin

Lennon is showing here why he isn't half as good as some think. Been caught out playing injured players again just like porteous. No consideration of their careers.

Lennon's used all his subs. Schoolboy management.

31-03-2019, 12:35 PM
Looks like Lennon was the Collins to Stubbs' Mowbray.

John McNamee?

Nope but you’ve got the first 5 letters of the surname pretty much correct.:agree:

He’s a chequebook manager.

31-03-2019, 12:36 PM
Nope but you’ve got the first 5 letters of the surname pretty much correct.:agree:

MacNamara

If Celtic screw this up I wouldn’t want to be Lennons cat.

Hope his Cat is pissing itself.

Rangers in to 11/2 from 12/1.

31-03-2019, 12:38 PM
i felt that was coming. i genuinely think lennon lost something after that hearts game last season and he's not got it back. so many pointless punts into the box with players failing to give options to those on the ball...reminds me of us in his last 3 months.It's like watching us under him Oct to Jan this season slow one paced and zero threat up front

forrest really is back to his pre-purple patch p@shness

probably score now

Who else is sweating about the cup now

31-03-2019, 12:39 PM
If Celtic screw this up I wouldn’t want to be Lennons cat.

Leave his pussy out of it.

Celtic are so one paced. No drive from midfield. Oh if only they had offered a decent amount for SJM. 😂

We’re not in the cup so no.

Wonder what Bill Leckie makes of this performance and atmosphere

31-03-2019, 12:40 PM

The cup is irrelevant now Hibs are out. I've no idea who is playing who.

You can see the difference with Lennon and Rodgers already

The hair and tan are the most obvious ones. :agree:

Neil Lennons Celtic starting to look like Neil Lennons HIBS clueless and rudderless

Plan B ?

Just more Plan A

31-03-2019, 12:41 PM
MacNamara

Aye. That’s correct. :aok: He’s the “obvious” understandable one given he was a defender.

The other not so obvious. He was my first ever “favourite player” back in the 60s before Pat Stanton came to the fore.

Celtic are brutal.

£7 on sevco to win

The cup is irrelevant now Hibs are out. I've no idea who is playing who.

If Celtic win the cup 4th gets Europe and we aren’t miles of there.

Ardenttwo
31-03-2019, 12:42 PM
Wonder what Bill Leckie makes of this performance and atmosphere

If these two are Scotland’s best god help us. I have seen better Highland League teams.

31-03-2019, 12:43 PM
Lennon had a slight chance of getting the job permanently. If they draw or lose this, he’s not got any hope of landing it.

31-03-2019, 12:44 PM
2-1 Celtic

31-03-2019, 12:45 PM
That wins it.

2-1 Forrest

Lennon managerial genius.
Can't believe we let him go:tee hee:

£7 on sevco to win

oops, useless gits

Lol

31-03-2019, 12:46 PM
More kicking off

Kent apparently lashed out at Brown

31-03-2019, 12:46 PM
that's hilarious. let them think they are in with a chance then... smash.

I dislike both but it's brilliant watching the huns despair again

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Caversham Green
31-03-2019, 12:47 PM
Aye. That’s correct. :aok: He’s the “obvious” understandable one given he was a defender.

The other not so obvious. He was my first ever “favourite player” back in the 60s before Pat Stanton came to the fore.

I seem to remember Colin Stein getting sent off a lot...

kent looks a bitty like the deranged hun type

that will be a retrospective red me thinks

Kent should have been off there.

Lennon's pussy feeling safer now.

31-03-2019, 12:48 PM
Officials all miss what the radio commentator says was a definite red card for Kent. Wonder if the compliance officer will miss it as well to complete the set?

Kent inexplicably avoids a red card.

Lennon's pussy feeling safer now.

At a stroke :wink:

31-03-2019, 12:49 PM
The dirty Kent!

31-03-2019, 12:49 PM
Another "honest mistake" by the officials.

31-03-2019, 12:50 PM
Unbelievable! Only that lot would get away with that!

NZ Green
Kent inexplicably avoids a red card.
More worthy of a red than Morellos I reckon.

Halliday is an absolute embarrassment of a footballer

gerrard will be phoning madden to thank him for not red carding another of his players

31-03-2019, 12:51 PM
Another "honest mistake" by the officials.

You actually think the ref has seen that and not sent him off? don't be daft, he'd lose his job. Obviously gone unseen.

Halliday is an absolute embarrassment of a footballer

Don't worry everyone, we've won the cup now.

bringbackbenny
Reckon it should have been a 2nd booking for Brown for chucking the ball away.

31-03-2019, 12:52 PM
More worthy of a red than Morellos I reckon.

It was good right hook actually

31-03-2019, 12:52 PM
Officials all miss what the radio commentator says was a definite red card for Kent. Wonder if the compliance officer will miss it as well to complete the set?

Kent knew he was off as soon as he swung the fist but the excellent Scottish referee and officials all inexplicably miss the incident. Expect serious punishment for Kent post match for that. Hunish type.

31-03-2019, 12:53 PM
Neil Lennons Celtic starting to look like Neil Lennons HIBS clueless and rudderless

Plan B ?

Just more Plan A

Lucky Lucky Lucky!

31-03-2019, 12:53 PM
Kent knew he was off as soon as he swung the fist but the excellent Scottish referee and officials all inexplicably miss the incident. Expect serious punishment for Kent post match for that. Hunish type.Ordinarily you should be right if there's any point to using the compliance officer. The cameras don't lie[emoji849]

31-03-2019, 12:54 PM
FT

31-03-2019, 12:54 PM
morellos and now hopefully kent looking at decent bans, pretty much their two most threatening players.

31-03-2019, 12:55 PM
More fighting lol

morellos and now hopefully kent looking at decent bans, pretty much their two most threatening players.

Could give Hearts a real chance midweek

Tavernier and Morelos hand the game to Celtc. Pleasing.

31-03-2019, 12:56 PM
andy halliday

That'll be a ban for Andy Hallidayyyyyyyyyyyyy as well.

All kicking off. Why no sevco fans on the pitch yet to "defend their players" ?

Good old fashioned Bigot Derby :greengrin

31-03-2019, 12:57 PM
It was good right hook actually

31-03-2019, 12:57 PM
Never saw Brown for an hour. Celtic score and he’s back to noosing folk up.

31-03-2019, 12:58 PM
Really don't care who wins these games but love when they defend into chaos

31-03-2019, 12:58 PM
The post-split game at Ibrox will be tasty!

31-03-2019, 12:59 PM
Celtic just need 9 points now for the title, providing Rangers win every game

Never saw Brown for an hour. Celtic score and he’s back to noosing folk up.

You trying to hang him out to dry?

Wonder when they’ll play it?

31-03-2019, 01:00 PM

They’re going to have to try work out when to play it so Celtic can’t win the league against them. Just liked how it worked out so well last season :greengrin

31-03-2019, 01:01 PM
Wonder when they’ll play it?

I suspect second last. Celtic will almost definitely have won the league by then.

You actually think the ref has seen that and not sent him off? don't be daft, he'd lose his job. Obviously gone unseen.

I don't necessarily think the referee has seen it but I find it highly unlikely that all 4 officials missed Kent swinging at Brown's face.

Really don't care who wins these games but love when they defend into chaos

I was hoping for a late goal for either just to see the meltdowns

31-03-2019, 01:02 PM
They’re going to have to try work out when to play it so Celtic can’t win the league against them. Just liked how it worked out so well last season :greengrin

Celtic have 2 easy games this week, so might only need a win in the 1st game post split to win the League

31-03-2019, 01:02 PM
I seem to remember Colin Stein getting sent off a lot...

No. Not Stein. I’ve never forgiven him for going to Rangers.

Around that era. To be fair one of the red cards was while played as a ‘guest’ player in America but he was still a registered Hibs player.

31-03-2019, 01:03 PM
so we're not getting to see highlights of it all kicking off after the game :confused: :(

so, should be retrospectives for Kent and our favourite player Halliday

31-03-2019, 01:03 PM
http://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7http://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA721845

Okay a good left hook :greengrin

31-03-2019, 01:04 PM
More fighting lol

What happened at the end?

31-03-2019, 01:04 PM
sellick have st.mirren away and Livi home before the split

31-03-2019, 01:05 PM
Strange game. The 10 man Rangers were actually on top for long periods then as soon as Celtic were also forced to play with 10 they allowed them back into the game. A draw would have been a fair result imo.

31-03-2019, 01:05 PM
Celtic just need 9 points now for the title, providing Rangers win every game

Absolutely guaranteed Celtic at home 1st after the split again then

31-03-2019, 01:06 PM

Go, back to my post I've added a different angle. Lonsdale belt winner :greengrin

31-03-2019, 01:06 PM
Absolutely guaranteed Celtic at home 1st after the split again then

Not if Celtc win against St Mirren and Livingston.

31-03-2019, 01:07 PM
Go, back to my post I've added a different angle. Lonsdale belt winner :greengrin

Joe Frazier would have been proud of that left :greengrin

31-03-2019, 01:08 PM
2nd Yellow for halliday:greengrin

31-03-2019, 01:09 PM
What happened at the end?

Halliday cant take it when Brown celebrates at FT and goes for him.

H18S NX
31-03-2019, 01:09 PM
Eric stevenson? Gerry baker?

31-03-2019, 01:10 PM
Halliday given a second yellow card according to Sky.

31-03-2019, 01:11 PM
Celtic have 2 easy games this week, so might only need a win in the 1st game post split to win the League

They only needed one win after the split last season too, we ruined their party though :greengrin

hibby rae
31-03-2019, 01:12 PM
Halliday cant take it when Brown celebrates at FT and goes for him.

Thought Scott Brown was quite funny in the post-match interview, 'he came up to congratulate me.' 😂

31-03-2019, 01:12 PM
That welt Kent surely has to be given a red once they review it

31-03-2019, 01:13 PM
Eric stevenson? Gerry baker?

Sorry. Neither of them.

31-03-2019, 01:19 PM
Sorry. Neither of them.

Blackley or Brownlie?

31-03-2019, 01:28 PM
They're still picking up results but Celtic look really really poor since Rodgers departure. Other teams will fancy themselves in the cup. :agree:

31-03-2019, 01:28 PM
https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/1112336925174743040?s=21

Think a ban will be coming his way 🥊

Not even a yellow card in the game.

31-03-2019, 01:30 PM
Much as we talk of “two cheeks, same bum” sort of stuff, it’s a game that generates interest amongst us and I’m glad we have it.

31-03-2019, 01:31 PM
What did Gerard have to say about it all post match?

31-03-2019, 01:34 PM
What did Gerard have to say about it all post match?

Classic Hunnish whataboutery:

"You're playing against a player who loves to antagonise. Morelos and Kent are both provoked. Celtic fans have the right to celebrate but to do it right in your race, Halliday has the right to protect his own people."The guy who antagonised it all from the beginning deserves to be punished as well. When you're provoked, it's only fair that both sides get punished in my view."We've hurt ourselves badly this season with a lack of discipline. I've given my players the benefit of the doubt on too many times. Morelos has asked me for a chat, and that will be picked up"

31-03-2019, 01:34 PM
Dafty Boyd calling out Brown for celebrating in front of The Rangers fans to wind them up. But ritch coming from Boyd🤣

31-03-2019, 01:35 PM

"You're playing against a player who loves to antagonise. Morelos and Kent are both provoked. Celtic fans have the right to celebrate but to do it right in your race, Halliday has the right to protect his own people."The guy who antagonised it all from the beginning deserves to be punished as well. When you're provoked, it's only fair that both sides get punished in my view."We've hurt ourselves badly this season with a lack of discipline. I've given my players the benefit of the doubt on too many times. Morelos has asked me for a chat, and that will be picked up"

Gerard playing the race card :greengrin

Edit PS... you’d think it would be old squarenut asking Morelos for the chat. Clown.

31-03-2019, 01:36 PM
https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/1112336925174743040?s=21

Think a ban will be coming his way [emoji3037]

Not even a yellow card in the game.Good old Beeb having trouble acknowledging this incident even existed in their match report. Tom English does an excellent psychoanalysis of the beast Morelos but all he says about Kent is he was " outstanding".

31-03-2019, 01:38 PM

Such a weak response from Gerrard. Only Morelos to blame for getting sent off.

Will Halliday, Morelos and Kent if cited miss the Hearts game midweek?

That would not be good for us.

"You're playing against a player who loves to antagonise. Morelos and Kent are both provoked. Celtic fans have the right to celebrate but to do it right in your race, Halliday has the right to protect his own people."The guy who antagonised it all from the beginning deserves to be punished as well. When you're provoked, it's only fair that both sides get punished in my view."We've hurt ourselves badly this season with a lack of discipline. I've given my players the benefit of the doubt on too many times. Morelos has asked me for a chat, and that will be picked up"Feeling the heat as Sevcos least successful manager since their formation?

31-03-2019, 01:40 PM

Not sure if Kent would be cited in time. Halliday is murder anyway.

Morellos could get a 4 game ban which would screw rangers after the split.

31-03-2019, 01:42 PM

Halliday and Morelos will definitely miss midweek. Kent will probably be ok unless Sevco just accept his ban, assuming of course that he gets offered a ban by the compliance officer. I'm expecting at least 4 matches for what he did.

31-03-2019, 01:49 PM

That can’t be it? Andy Wa*ker said he put his hand up to his face

31-03-2019, 01:51 PM
any good videos of what happened at the end?

31-03-2019, 01:51 PM
Blackley or Brownlie?

No. Before them. Mid to late 60s.
Kop another clue then. A midfielder.

31-03-2019, 01:53 PM

He’s picked up quickly the old mantra of nobody likes us, can’t possibly defend what his players did

31-03-2019, 01:54 PM
Makes me laugh at how Brown revels in winding up those Sevco w*****s. Morelos is a moron and Gerrard is just as daft for trying to defend him......

nyhibs
31-03-2019, 01:59 PM
Willie Hamilton

31-03-2019, 02:01 PM
I cannae believe what Boyd said. I quite like him but that was too pro Rangers

31-03-2019, 02:02 PM

what did he say ?

31-03-2019, 02:02 PM

What did he say?

31-03-2019, 02:04 PM

Right, one for the real oldies :wink:

31-03-2019, 02:09 PM
Cardiff 1-0 Chelsea

31-03-2019, 02:11 PM
Sunderland one up

31-03-2019, 02:12 PM
Cardiff 1-0 Chelsea

Man Chelsea are bad.

31-03-2019, 02:14 PM
Willie Hamilton

No. I reckon it would be after Willie Hamilton. Hamilton was just before I started going to ER regularly.

Read my clue again! :wink:

31-03-2019, 02:15 PM
Right, one for the real oldies :wink:

LOL. Yeah. Sadly I now fall into that category. :greengrin

H18S NX
31-03-2019, 02:15 PM
Peter cormack

31-03-2019, 02:16 PM
Peter cormack

31-03-2019, 02:20 PM
Peter cormack

Spot on. I was very surprised at it being him but given how skilful he was can only guess his red cards were for retaliation because I would never in a million years put him in the “dirty player” class!!

31-03-2019, 02:20 PM
Peter cormack

Loved him!

31-03-2019, 02:22 PM
Apologies to all for partially hijacking this thread. You can blame Alfie Moreorless!!:greengrin:aok:

nyhibs
31-03-2019, 02:22 PM
[QUDoes the 'Kop a clue' Suggest Peter Cormack. Don't remember him have a bad disciplinary record although I am going a bit senile.

31-03-2019, 02:34 PM
Would think compliance officer will be earning there wages tomorrow after that debacle at the end of the match

gringojoe
31-03-2019, 02:40 PM
Players get off lightly nowadays for red cards. Made me think back on “Hibs hotheads” back in the day.
Wee Alex Edwards was always a target and he “bought it” a few times. He was only sent off 3 times though but back then you were suspended for a number of weeks depending on what your disciplinary record was previously. If memory serves me right, Alex used to be out for weeks at a time.

Secondary question, who has accumulated the most red cards in a Hibs jersey?
There are 2 players equal on 5 as far as I can see. One you might expect, the other probably not.

Without looking it up (because I’ve already done so) who do you think they are?

Jackie Mac was sent off three times in a match at Love Street, must have got another 2 over the years

Fanforlife
31-03-2019, 02:40 PM
No. I reckon it would be after Willie Hamilton. Hamilton was just before I started going to ER regularly.

Read my clue again! :wink:If your meaning Peter Cormack then Hamilton and Him played together for Hibs a fair few times.

31-03-2019, 02:46 PM
Cardiff 1-1 Chelsea

31-03-2019, 02:46 PM
[QUDoes the 'Kop a clue' Suggest Peter Cormack. Don't remember him have a bad disciplinary record although I am going a bit senile.
Mind PC booting Dave Cluny up the ass in a New Year 0-0 bore at ER. Biggest cheer of the day.

berwickhibee
31-03-2019, 02:49 PM
Cardiff 1-1 Chelsea

Shocking decision. Well offside.

31-03-2019, 02:52 PM
how on earth the linesman doesn't see that is offside is quite baffling

31-03-2019, 02:53 PM
Cardiff 1-2 Chelsea

Looks like Chelsea have nicked it at the death.

31-03-2019, 02:53 PM
and now a winner for chelski kin boooooooooooooo

31-03-2019, 02:59 PM
If your meaning Peter Cormack then Hamilton and Him played together for Hibs a fair few times.

Fair comment. From a personal point of view, although my first game at ER was in 1962, I only started going regularly when I was about 8 year old. I think Hamilton had moved on by then which is probably why I don’t have such a vivid recollection of him.
Cormack on the other hand was with the club until 1970(?), so he sticks in my memory along with the likes of Stein, Stanton et al from the mid to late 60s. Halcyon days!!

ben johnson
31-03-2019, 03:00 PM
Spot on. I was very surprised at it being him but given how skilful he was can only guess his red cards were for retaliation because I would never in a million years put him in the “dirty player” class!!

PC came back to ER with Bristol City in the Anglo Scottish Cup and for some reason he lost it and got sent off.
It was a very dirty game and they just kicked anything they could. Even their shy retiring centre half Norman Hunter got caught up in the madness and was sent off

dchibs
31-03-2019, 03:05 PM
Apologies to all for partially hijacking this thread. You can blame Alfie Moreorless!!:greengrin:aok:
Yes I was going to complain but were Allafraido Moreorless the guys a total bampot.:thumbsup:

Jim Herriot
31-03-2019, 03:07 PM
The Scotsman headline writer excels again...

31-03-2019, 03:15 PM
All levein's Christmases came at once today. Morelos, Kent and Halli.... Morelos and Kent suspended for midweek.

31-03-2019, 03:20 PM

Boo hiss Boo the panto villian, when the players act like they do how the **** can they expect the crowd to behave.
All in the same barrel we should get them all ti ****, let them join some other league and then watch the attendances around Scotland rise.

31-03-2019, 03:21 PM
how on earth the linesman doesn't see that is offside is quite baffling

Its no just in Scotland where the officials are bent.

31-03-2019, 03:22 PM
Craig Levein doesn’t care about the safety of his players

Remember last season when they had the Man U boy on loan. He got injured and hearts pushed him back into fitness, a second assessment at Man U and the boy was out for the rest of the season

Shocking deference in that. I’m amazed Man U loaned him back after that

I think the fact he is a terrible player meant Man U were just happy to have him out the door.

31-03-2019, 03:23 PM
All levein's Christmases came at once today. Morelos, Kent and Halli.... Morelos and Kent suspended for midweek.

[emoji23]

31-03-2019, 03:31 PM

Kent won't be suspended unless Sevco accept his suspension, assuming that he is cited by the compliance officer.

31-03-2019, 03:32 PM
this is liverpools toughest remaining fixture, win it and i think they will deffo win the league

31-03-2019, 03:34 PM
any good videos of what happened at the end?

There's some here http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47682925 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47682925)

nellio
31-03-2019, 03:35 PM
I'm a Cardiff fan. Absolutely raging about that game.

Referee was unbelievable. There were 2 clear pens not given. The first one was ridiculous h e almost pulled Morrisons shirt off.

The equaliser was miles offside and only gives Rudiger a booking when it should have been a red.

Also towards the end Morrison being pulled all over the place outside the box. Ref ignores it then gives us a foul about 5 yards back which was too far really to get a good shot on goal.

I think we're down now. 5 points adrift and running out of games.

Ref should be punished with a relegation as well.

Spudster
31-03-2019, 03:39 PM
Sunderland fielded 15 players today. McGeouch never made it off the bench 🙄

31-03-2019, 03:47 PM

i think he will shine next season in the championship

31-03-2019, 03:48 PM
Liverpool 1-0 Spurs

31-03-2019, 03:53 PM
this is liverpools toughest remaining fixture, win it and i think they will deffo win the league

Hope not!

31-03-2019, 03:57 PM
Hope not!

my bank manager hopes they do ££... but thy shalt not be too sad if they don't :)

31-03-2019, 04:24 PM
Fair comment. From a personal point of view, although my first game at ER was in 1962, I only started going regularly when I was about 8 year old. I think Hamilton had moved on by then which is probably why I don’t have such a vivid recollection of him.
Cormack on the other hand was with the club until 1970(?), so he sticks in my memory along with the likes of Stein, Stanton et al from the mid to late 60s. Halcyon days!!
Willie Hamilton(the second best Hibs midfielder I’ve seen)came to Hibs In 1963.Shone under Stein but Shankly found him too troublesome.

31-03-2019, 04:36 PM

Starting 11 PLUS 4 subs?

31-03-2019, 04:49 PM
Starting 11 PLUS 4 subs?

Yup.

31-03-2019, 04:57 PM
Liverpool 1-1 Spurs

Ardenttwo
31-03-2019, 04:59 PM
Willie Hamilton(the second best Hibs midfielder I’ve seen)came to Hibs In 1963.Shone under Stein but Shankly found him too troublesome.

Jock Stein once said that Willie Hamilton was the most talented footballer he had ever worked with. Pat Stanton told me once that Willie always had a gill bottle of whiskey from the booze shop on Easter Road. That was when the players walked to the ground. Died sadly at a very young age and is buried out in Canada. His widow is married to the man who owns the shop on Albion Road that sells the old programs etc etc. I have a lovely drawing of Willie that I bought in that shop Pride of place in our house

31-03-2019, 05:12 PM
jeezo what a chance missed for spurs

31-03-2019, 05:17 PM
2-1 the home side, Mo salad

actually, a keeper **** up off of his own player

31-03-2019, 05:17 PM
OG by Spurs

31-03-2019, 05:19 PM
Klopp has some cojones. Basically going with 8 attacking players to win the game. Paid off.

31-03-2019, 05:32 PM

Without causing offence, who was the best?

Stanton?
Sauzee?
Latapy?
Someone else?

You were around in the FF era, so maybe Smith or Turnbull?

31-03-2019, 05:35 PM

I take it the best midfielder is Patrick Gordon Stanton?

31-03-2019, 05:35 PM
Jock Stein once said that Willie Hamilton was the most talented footballer he had ever worked with. Pat Stanton told me once that Willie always had a gill bottle of whiskey from the booze shop on Easter Road. That was when the players walked to the ground. Died sadly at a very young age and is buried out in Canada. His widow is married to the man who owns the shop on Albion Road that sells the old programs etc etc. I have a lovely drawing of Willie that I bought in that shop Pride of place in our house

Bit of a maverick then?
All I’ve read on here suggests he was definitely worth watching.
Pity I was too young to appreciate him.:rolleyes:

son of haggart
31-03-2019, 06:07 PM
Halliday and Morelos will definitely miss midweek. Kent will probably be ok unless Sevco just accept his ban, assuming of course that he gets offered a ban by the compliance officer. I'm expecting at least 4 matches for what he did.

Doubt if Halliday will miss it - it was a second yellow? As far as I am aware you only miss the next game for a straight red.

31-03-2019, 06:10 PM
Without causing offence, who was the best?

Stanton?
Sauzee?
Latapy?
Someone else?

You were around in the FF era, so maybe Smith or Turnbull?

I take it the best midfielder is Patrick Gordon Stanton?

Bobby Johnstone was the best and Hamilton not far behind.
Other standouts were Combe,Buchanan,Turnbull,Gibson,Quinn,Cormack,Stant on,Edwards,Cropley,Bremner,Collins,Latapy,Sauzee,M cGinn,McGeouch,Allan.

I've been very lucky with the players I've seen and like all old geezers probably hold the players seen in younger days as the best.

Doubt if Halliday will miss it - it was a second yellow? As far as I am aware you only miss the next game for a straight red.

Wrong

Halliday will be suspended
Slivka got 2 yellows v St Johnstone, missed Hibs next game against Rangers

31-03-2019, 06:11 PM

I'm pretty sure any red card sees you miss the next game in that competition.

son of haggart
31-03-2019, 06:12 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3Z0Qa7sjDg

This features Willie Hamilton (and Cruickshank :wink:) for those who haven't seen it

son of haggart
31-03-2019, 06:14 PM
Halliday will be suspended
Slivka got 2 yellows v St Johnstone, missed Hibs next game against Rangers

I'm pretty sure any red card sees you miss the next game in that competition.

I see I am wrong - thanks for that. Would rather Kent missed it though!

31-03-2019, 06:20 PM
I see I am wrong - thanks for that. Would rather Kent missed it though!

If you had a Sevco match wishlist it would be for Kent to miss the match and for Halliday to be playing at LB.

I can't decide whether I'd rather have Morelos miss it (as he is undoubtedly a good player) or for him to play and for my team to rile him into a red card.

31-03-2019, 06:24 PM
Other standouts were Combe,Buchanan,Turnbull,Gibson,Quinn,Cormack,Stant on,Edwards,Cropley,Bremner,Collins,Latapy,Sauzee,M cGinn,McGeouch,Allan.

I've been very lucky with the players I've seen and like all old geezers probably hold the players seen in younger days as the best.

Will let you off!

Pray tell me what was Gordon Smith like?

31-03-2019, 06:28 PM
Starting 11 PLUS 4 subs?

Extra sub allowed in extra time

Fanforlife
31-03-2019, 07:34 PM
Cormack on the other hand was with the club until 1970(?), so he sticks in my memory along with the likes of Stein, Stanton et al from the mid to late 60s. Halcyon days!!exactly same timeline for me m8,surprised the victory v Real Madrid escapes your memory though then 2 4 win at Iboke a few days later and these were in 1964? Admittedly Cormack was only 16/17 at the time but memories of this will never leave me.Still think if Stein had stuck around until end of season Hibs would have won the double 😁

31-03-2019, 08:12 PM

Any red card sees you miss the next game, the only time a suspension takes a couple of weeks to take effect is if a player has been booked in a match that takes them over the points threshold.

Halliday will be banned in midweek.

31-03-2019, 10:57 PM

Fully agree with all your choices. I’d probably start from Pat Quinn onwards but then again you do have few years on me. :greengrin

One omission I’m sure a few would agree with is Gordon Smith. Would he be classed as a forward though and not a midfielder?

I’ve said it a few times on the forum, I have seen him play, although I was completely unaware of it at the time and only realised it relatively recently. That first game I mentioned in 1962 was against Dundee at ER and Smith played for them that day. I’ve got the old man to thank for that privilege. He waxed lyrical about Smith for many years!!

01-04-2019, 09:51 AM
Will let you off!

Pray tell me what was Gordon Smith like?

Fully agree with all your choices. I’d probably start from Pat Quinn onwards but then again you do have few years on me. :greengrin

One omission I’m sure a few would agree with is Gordon Smith. Would he be classed as a forward though and not a midfielder?

I’ve said it a few times on the forum, I have seen him play, although I was completely unaware of it at the time and only realised it relatively recently. That first game I mentioned in 1962 was against Dundee at ER and Smith played for them that day. I’ve got the old man to thank for that privilege. He waxed lyrical about Smith for many years!!

Gordon Smith was of course the hero possibly because he was good looking and seemed to have an all year round tan(pretty rare in Scotland).When I started watching he was no longer the prodigious goal scorer and stuck mainly to the wing although still chipping in with goals.He was a lovely runner with the ball,played with his head up and was two footed.I saw him cross a ball with the outside of his left foot while going full pelt down the right wing for Reilly to put in with a flying header.Needless to say on Monday the school playground was full of kids trying this and probably accounts for some having walking difficulties in later life!Smith used to run straight off the field at the final whistle.Partly I think that he didn't care to shake hands with guys who had been kicking lumps out of him but also because the pitch was always invaded by 2/300 kids trying to get autographs and he was the main target-most of the players got off quickly.There was no difficulty getting signatures after the game at the back of the stand.I got his when he was out with a broken leg(a bad foul against Raith).He had a light stooky on and as he was signing another kid gave him a tennis ball which he then played keepie uppie with the stookied leg while still giving everybody autographs.
Everyone was appalled when Hibs gave him a free-finished they said-and I was among over 10,000 that turned up at Tynecastle to see his first game for Hearts reserves.Of course he went on to win more medals ,play in Europe,score around 20 goals for both Hearts(who it was alleged sold him for £10000)and Dundee and taught Gilzean that heading goals was easy if someone put the ball i the right place.
Sorry for the ramblings.

01-04-2019, 09:57 AM
Gordon Smith was of course the hero possibly because he was good looking and seemed to have an all year round tan(pretty rare in Scotland).When I started watching he was no longer the prodigious goal scorer and stuck mainly to the wing although still chipping in with goals.He was a lovely runner with the ball,played with his head up and was two footed.I saw him cross a ball with the outside of his left foot while going full pelt down the right wing for Reilly to put in with a flying header.Needless to say on Monday the school playground was full of kids trying this and probably accounts for some having walking difficulties in later life!Smith used to run straight off the field at the final whistle.Partly I think that he didn't care to shake hands with guys who had been kicking lumps out of him but also because the pitch was always invaded by 2/300 kids trying to get autographs and he was the main target-most of the players got off quickly.There was no difficulty getting signatures after the game at the back of the stand.I got his when he was out with a broken leg(a bad foul against Raith).He had a light stooky on and as he was signing another kid gave him a tennis ball which he then played keepie uppie with the stookied leg while still giving everybody autographs.
Everyone was appalled when Hibs gave him a free-finished they said-and I was among over 10,000 that turned up at Tynecastle to see his first game for Hearts reserves.Of course he went on to win more medals ,play in Europe,score around 20 goals for both Hearts(who it was alleged sold him for £10000)and Dundee and taught Gilzean that heading goals was easy if someone put the ball i the right place.
Sorry for the ramblings.Great read. The older Hibbies in family always had a great love of Gordon Smith but the other name that often comes up when talent and entertainment is discussed is Willie Hamilton.

01-04-2019, 10:20 AM
Sorry for the ramblings.

Many thanks for posting

Always interested to hear witnesses to the Gay Gordon Prince of Wingers superior football skill

Fans of a certain generation if you ask them for the best player they ever saw regardless of allegiance it is always “Gordon Smith”

Bobby Johnstone “Nicker” must have been some player as well as he is a legend at Man City

02-04-2019, 08:23 AM
For cooncil telly viewers ICT v Ross County on BBC Scotland channel at 7 tonight

14-07-2019, 03:08 PM
St Mirren 0 v 3 Dunfermline
The Rangers 2 v 0 Marseilles

14-07-2019, 03:09 PM
St Mirren 0 v 3 Dunfermline
The Rangers 2 v 0 Marseilles

Strange game football, we comfortably beat Dunfermline last weekend

14-07-2019, 03:10 PM

Agree

We are brilliant

Don’t you know?

Who knew?

14-07-2019, 03:20 PM
The Rangers 3 v 0 Marseille

14-07-2019, 03:27 PM
The Rangers 3 v 0 Marseille

Play-off with Accrington Stanley to determine the Europes best pre season team

14-07-2019, 03:29 PM
St Mirren 2 v 3 Dunfermline

14-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Play-off with Accrington Stanley to determine the Europes best pre season team

Forgot Accrington beat Marseille

Marseille were gash towards the end of last season

Did not do the tie in with The Rangers tbh 😁

14-07-2019, 03:35 PM
The Rangers 4 v 0 Marseille

14-07-2019, 03:38 PM
Forgot Accrington beat Marseille

Marseille were gash towards the end of last season

Did not do the tie in with The Rangers tbh 😁

I bet Marseilles fans forum is a hoot 😉

14-07-2019, 04:28 PM

Villas Boas played his strongest side, losing 2-1 to Accrington Stanley and 4-0 to That Particular Club... Strange times for L'OM.

14-07-2019, 04:30 PM
I bet Marseilles fans forum is a hoot 😉

Especially if Marseilles think Ncham is the answer to their problems.

14-07-2019, 04:41 PM

Heckingderrière out.

14-07-2019, 06:11 PM
Senegal 1 v 0 Tunisia

14-07-2019, 08:56 PM
Mahrez last kick of the ball from.a free kick to send Algeria into the final to play Senegal

Here’s Lucy!
14-07-2019, 09:19 PM
the rangers 4 v 0 marseille

ffs.

14-07-2019, 09:30 PM
ffs.

Marseille got beat by Accrington Stanley the other day, for some perspective..

14-07-2019, 09:41 PM
Marseille got beat by Accrington Stanley the other day, for some perspective..

Accrington Stanley? Who are they?

14-07-2019, 10:27 PM
Fantastic day of sport

15-07-2019, 06:22 AM
Noticed that Verona won 12-0 in a preseason friendly yesterday

Liam Henderson was playing

He never got on the score sheet but I bet he delivered :greengrin

15-07-2019, 08:32 AM
Hibs should have played Marseille in pre season.

That would have been a confidence boost

15-07-2019, 08:33 AM
Accrington Stanley? Who are they?

Exactly!

17-07-2019, 11:51 AM
Newcastle Utd 0 v 4 Wolves

17-07-2019, 11:58 AM
Man Utd 2 v 0 Leeds Utd

17-07-2019, 12:36 PM
Man Utd 3 v 0 Leeds Utd

17-07-2019, 01:09 PM
How does the ref not give The Hammers a 2nd pen and then award one to City for that ridiculous dive? Anyway, 2-1 Man City.

17-07-2019, 01:32 PM
Man Utd 4 v 0 Leeds Utd FT

20-07-2019, 02:56 PM
Elgin City 2 v 0 Stirling Albion

20-07-2019, 03:11 PM
Lewis Allan scores for Raith at Inverness 1-1

20-07-2019, 04:21 PM
Colin Calderwood’s league 2 Cambridge United beat the Jambos, 3-2 in a closed doors friendly at the PBS today.

20-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Colin Calderwood’s league 2 Cambridge United beat the Jambos, 3-2 in a closed doors friendly at the PBS today.

😀👍

nairn hibee
20-07-2019, 04:31 PM
St mirren lose to East Kilbride on penalties

20-07-2019, 05:34 PM

Congratulations Calderwood on his first ever win against Hearts.

10-08-2019, 11:13 AM
Motherwell 1 v 0 Celtic

10-08-2019, 11:13 AM
Great goal

10-08-2019, 11:14 AM
Motherwell 1 v 1 Celtic

10-08-2019, 11:41 AM
Motherwell 1 v 2 Celtic
Griffiths

10-08-2019, 11:42 AM
Goal, Free kick, Sparky

Poor wall placement.

1-2

10-08-2019, 11:49 AM

Any news about the pitch?

10-08-2019, 12:03 PM
Should lock this thread and stick to the other one maybe? Or merge them?

Hibee_Craig7062
10-08-2019, 12:19 PM
audible singing of ohh ahh up the ra from celtic fans 🤔

10-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Motherwell 1 v 3 Celtic

10-08-2019, 12:23 PM
Forrest and Griffiths doing their bit for my fantasy football team

10-08-2019, 12:24 PM
audible singing of ohh ahh up the ra from celtic fans 🤔

We'll hear the opposite tomorrow, nothing changes.

10-08-2019, 12:29 PM
Motherwell boy gets booked, Brown has a wee kick at as he falls

10-08-2019, 12:31 PM
Clayton Donaldson and Eoin Doyle starting together for Bradford

10-08-2019, 12:32 PM
Motherwell 1 v 4 Celtic

FFS!

10-08-2019, 12:33 PM
West Ham 0-1 Man City, G Jesus

10-08-2019, 12:34 PM
7-0 last week and currently 4-1, not a shabby start

10-08-2019, 12:35 PM
7-0 last week and currently 4-1, not a shabby start

Motherwell were actually looking ok until it went to 1-1

10-08-2019, 12:37 PM
Motherwell were actually looking ok until it went to 1-1

Celtic look like scoring every time they go forward, having Griffiths back has only made them stronger

10-08-2019, 12:37 PM
West Ham 0-2 Man City, Sterling