View Full Version : Match Updates Livi v Hibs

yerauldda
29-03-2019, 01:43 PM
Go on the boys. 3 points please!

29-03-2019, 01:46 PM
I'm really looking forward to it; a big Hibs turnout under the lights. Hopefully another win, in the push for top six :flag:

29-03-2019, 01:49 PM
Holy hell, a match update thread six hours before the game starts? Must be a record! :wink:

29-03-2019, 01:51 PM
Fancy admins to close it in 1.2.3..

29-03-2019, 01:53 PM
What’s the score?

29-03-2019, 01:56 PM
A win to go above ***** and carry the momentum with us. In that event, fans on their backs over the road from the first whistle tomorrow playing brutal football

29-03-2019, 01:58 PM
What’s the weather like?

29-03-2019, 01:59 PM
I'm going to wait until the fans get back!

29-03-2019, 02:00 PM
The thread will be reopened nearer kick off

29-03-2019, 06:19 PM
Team news?

29-03-2019, 06:27 PM
Team news?

Hibs tend to be pretty exact with team news coming out an hour before kick off. 19 minutes to go. :wink:

Is there any reason to change the team? I can't remember if we have any suspensions or fresh injuries. :dunno:

29-03-2019, 06:30 PM
Hibs tend to be pretty exact with team news coming out an hour before kick off. 19 minutes to go. :wink:

Is there any reason to change the team? I can't remember if we have any suspensions or fresh injuries. :dunno:
Gray went of injured last game hopefully recoved.
Should have McGregor back but not sure I'd he will be on the bench. Also Gauld and Spector could possibly be on the bench?

29-03-2019, 06:36 PM
Team news?

McGregor in for Slivka
Milligan in midfield

spudhib
29-03-2019, 06:37 PM
One change McGregor is back and Slivka drops to bench

29-03-2019, 06:42 PM
C'mon Hibs.
How's Scotland on a Friday night?

29-03-2019, 06:44 PM
Still no gauls or spector or bigi

29-03-2019, 06:44 PM
To early for Gauld and Spector as neither of them are named amongst the subs

29-03-2019, 06:45 PM
Still no gauls or spector or bigi

Forgot about Bigirimana

Hibs team tonight.
Marciano.

Gray,
McGregor,
Hanlon,
Stevenson.

Milligan.

Horgan,
Omeonga
Mallan

McNulty,
Kamberi

Still a few players not even in the squad - Gauld, Johnson, Spector, Bigi, Agyepong, Whittaker

29-03-2019, 06:46 PM
C'mon Hibs.

Dry, no wind, little chilly

29-03-2019, 06:46 PM
Disappointing to see Slivka drop out.

29-03-2019, 06:47 PM

Think he only came back on Wednesday

29-03-2019, 06:50 PM
Just watching the footage of the players warming up. The ball is bouncing really strangely on that pitch compared to a grass surface. It kind of skips off the surface. I suppose it's a similar surface at East Mains though.

Edit I've said surface quite a lot there.

29-03-2019, 06:50 PM
Dry, no wind, little chilly

Thanks. Listening to the commentary- so trying to paint a picture!

29-03-2019, 06:51 PM
Hibs team tonight.
Marciano.

Gray,
McGregor,
Hanlon,
Stevenson.

Milligan.

Horgan,
Omeonga
Mallan

McNulty,
Kamberi

Very decent line-up considering how many are missing,decent squad these days. 👍

29-03-2019, 06:59 PM
Think he only came back on Wednesday

Ah, ok. Didn't realise he was injured.

29-03-2019, 07:01 PM

He wasn’t, he was on international duty

29-03-2019, 07:05 PM
He wasn’t, he was on international duty

Or that :wink:

proud_and_green
29-03-2019, 07:06 PM
Thanks. Listening to the commentary- so trying to paint a picture!I can't imagine that you'll be able to sell a picture like that, particularly if you're not giving it your full attention.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

29-03-2019, 07:06 PM
Just watching the footage of the players warming up. The ball is bouncing really strangely on that pitch compared to a grass surface. It kind of skips off the surface. I suppose it's a similar surface at East Mains though.

Edit I've said surface quite a lot there.
You stuttered through that.:agree:

29-03-2019, 07:12 PM
You stuttered through that.:agree:

On the surface you are quite right:greengrin

29-03-2019, 07:14 PM
C'mon Hibs.

Steaming 🤣

Pilrig_Sauzee
29-03-2019, 07:18 PM
C'mon Hibs.

Still in Europe!

H18S NX
29-03-2019, 07:21 PM
Who is on the bench?

29-03-2019, 07:21 PM
Who is on the bench?

Subs - Dabrowski, Bartley, Slivka, Shaw, Murray, Mackie, Allan

29-03-2019, 07:24 PM
Watching livi players knocking the ball about before the warm up and I defy anyone to say that that surface doesnt play very differently from anything like a normal grass surface , the amount of spin and extra kick off the surface after one or two flat bounces then it slows up after that ...watching rocky kicking out wide and from the first bounce it takes on spin and picks up a bit extra speed ....the players really need.to pass strongly when playing it on the ground as it does seem too slow up on this pitch ...watching them warm.upnthey are firing the passes.in at each other ..bottom line hope we adjust quickly to the surface .

29-03-2019, 07:24 PM

Think he meant back from international duty

29-03-2019, 07:25 PM
Watching livi players knocking the ball about before the warm up and I defy anyone to say that that surface doesnt play very differently from anything like a normal grass surface , the amount of spin and extra kick off the surface after one or two flat bounces then it slows up after that ...watching rocky kicking out wide and from the first bounce it takes on spin and picks up a bit extra speed ....the players really need.to pass strongly when playing it on the ground as it does seem too slow up on this pitch ...watching them warm.upnthey are firing the passes.in at each other ..bottom line hope we adjust quickly to the surface .

That's what I was trying to say, thanks:greengrin

29-03-2019, 07:26 PM

He was pretty poor against Motherwell. Fell short of the standard he’d set since new manager came in.

H18S NX
29-03-2019, 07:26 PM
Subs - Dabrowski, Bartley, Slivka, Shaw, Murray, Mackie, Allan....Thank you :aok:

29-03-2019, 07:30 PM
Halkett a big loss for Livi

29-03-2019, 07:34 PM
Is that Ben Stirling warming up?

29-03-2019, 07:39 PM
Good pre match from PH. Made the point that players not quite ready and not up to current players knowledge of tactics and fitness. Quite a contrast to Potter's 'If you can walk, you're playing' approach

29-03-2019, 07:40 PM
Never mind the artifical pitch - hope our team has been working hard on the training ground sorting out our many deficiencies ... be a vital 3 points if we can take them, should be an interesting match ...

29-03-2019, 07:44 PM
I predict a comfortable 3-0. Missing the game though unfortunately

29-03-2019, 07:45 PM
I love that white away strip. Looks better under the lights somehow.

Off the bar
29-03-2019, 07:45 PM
Love the away strip this year

29-03-2019, 07:46 PM
I predict a comfortable 3-0. Missing the game though unfortunately
Gonnae share oot some of your beer? You've obviously had enough......:greengrin

29-03-2019, 07:49 PM
Great save from Mallan. Liam Kelly such a good keeper.

29-03-2019, 07:55 PM
Gonnae share oot some of your beer? You've obviously had enough......:greengrin

We shall see, I think Hibs will surprise you tonight! McNulty, kamerbi and Gray to score

29-03-2019, 07:59 PM
That is never a foul

29-03-2019, 08:00 PM
Very decent start, open game

SJNB Hibby
29-03-2019, 08:01 PM
Nice move there, Flo's got to do better

29-03-2019, 08:02 PM
Livi’s #5 is a complete liability. We should be putting the ball on top of him.

29-03-2019, 08:05 PM
Sutton can gtf with his subtle digs at Hibs.

Marvellous
29-03-2019, 08:07 PM
Sutton can gtf with his subtle digs at Hibs.

"Heckingbottom has turned it round and done well since Hibs lost Lennon" :hilarious. He's a joke of a pundit.

29-03-2019, 08:08 PM
One bit of quality wins this game.

29-03-2019, 08:09 PM
We're playing some snappy stuff.

29-03-2019, 08:10 PM
McNulty is like Chris Killen with pace. Our best player at the moment.

hhibs
Who are the linesman,one looks very familiar, not in a good way.Someone we have had problems with ?

Allan
Bigi
Whitts
Johnson
Gauld
Pong
Spector
Bogdan

All to come into this side.

29-03-2019, 08:11 PM
Craig Sibbalds hair is atrocious

29-03-2019, 08:12 PM
Allan
Bigi
Whitts
Johnson
Gauld
Pong
Spector
Bogdan

All to come into this side.

Boyle

29-03-2019, 08:13 PM
Boyle

Porto

10 players!!

29-03-2019, 08:15 PM
What does it say on the seats behind the goals?

NOROAN or something? :confused:

29-03-2019, 08:16 PM
Not seeing what people see in Omeonga so far.

I’d much rather have Slivka in there.

"Heckingbottom has turned it round and done well since Hibs lost Lennon" :hilarious. He's a joke of a pundit.

And he said it will be interesting to see what Heck will have to spend in the summer.

What does it say on the seats behind the goals?

NOROAN or something? :confused:
NorDan. A Livingston-based window supplier apparently.

29-03-2019, 08:17 PM

Thanks 👍

29-03-2019, 08:17 PM

Now with free advertising on Hibs net! 😂

29-03-2019, 08:18 PM
We're so sloppy tonight

29-03-2019, 08:19 PM
Now with free advertising on Hibs net! 😂
Not quite free if they had to pay for the seats to be done 🤣

29-03-2019, 08:20 PM
An utterly boring first half hour.

29-03-2019, 08:20 PM
Omeonga is toiling on this pitch.

29-03-2019, 08:21 PM
Mallan doing his usual disappearing act

Daft foul by Mcgregor.

He's not had a good game. Really does not look comfortable on this surface. But then, who does.

He's been off it tonight so far.
But he's shown plenty in previous games.

29-03-2019, 08:23 PM
Omeonga is toiling on this pitch.

:agree: Been very poor.

We need more from our midfield, creating nothing.

Poor match, smart strip

That was a lovely cushioned header from McNulty but Kamberi is sleeping

Omeonga is class technically, he’s just quite lightweight. Probably effective against most teams, but not against Livi and Hearts who will just try batter him out the game. Slivka is the man for this kind of game IMO.

29-03-2019, 08:24 PM
Is that Sibbald on his second final warning?

Slivka is just back from international duty.

Is that Sibbald on his second final warning?

For his haircut?

29-03-2019, 08:26 PM
Yogi is such a blether...

Hibees1973
29-03-2019, 08:26 PM
It’s just like the Rangers game a couple of weeks back. Far too many bad passes out from the back and Livi’s high press means we are providing them with chances to score.

Not a great watch and Livi not embarrassed to launch it long all the time.

Would take a draw from this from the start we have had.

29-03-2019, 08:27 PM
Ref is pretty good.

29-03-2019, 08:28 PM
I don’t like Milligan but he’s a clever and tidy player.

It’s just like the Rangers game a couple of weeks back. Far too many bad passes out from the back and Livi’s high press means we are providing them with chances to score.

It’s not been that bad.

Maybe need to drop Milligan into the defence to get better passing from deep?

Ref is pretty good.

Don’t!

Sounds like a riveter

hhibs
this is pretty brutal,awful pitch

29-03-2019, 08:29 PM
Sibbald looks like Mr Logic from Viz.

Why don't you like him?

Rocky's delivery is, yet again, honking this half. It's a major weakness.

29-03-2019, 08:30 PM
Why don't you like him?He's too clever and tidy for his own good?

Why don't you like him?

Slow, old and goes sideways and backwards all the time.

Not bad, just not my type of player.

He's too clever and tidy for his own good?

I see, no one likes a smart arse

29-03-2019, 08:31 PM
Flo is never a left winger.

45 minutes of my life i wont get back

Flo is never a left winger.Certainly not on this pitch.

29-03-2019, 08:32 PM

Top post. Thanks for this.

Don't like kamberi out wide.

Half time good luck finding highlights from that 45 minutes.

Well that was all pretty dull.

So you do like him ?

Rocky's delivery is, yet again, honking this half. It's a major weakness.

International goalkeeper ffs...

supermcginn
29-03-2019, 08:33 PM
Still cant believe these pitches are allowed in the top league, awful

Similar first half to Dundee, StJ and rangers, too many sideward passes. Another big 2nd half performance needed.

We lack a bit of pace and someone to put their foot on the ball in midfield.

29-03-2019, 08:34 PM
Slivka for Milligan please.

29-03-2019, 08:34 PM

For Omeonga

29-03-2019, 08:35 PM
For Omeonga

Do you like him? He passes the ball forward.

29-03-2019, 08:36 PM
Terribly boring stuff.

Horgan needs dropped he's been poor for a few weeks now. Maybe give Fraser Murray some game time in his place.

The guy sitting in front of me actually dozed off during that half. Don’t blame him. Pretty much sums up that first half and our performance so far.

Pilrig_Sauzee
Nothing between the two sides. Pitch irrelevant so far. Still think Hibs have more to show in second half, if PH shakes it up a little.

29-03-2019, 08:37 PM
We lack a bit of pace and someone to put their foot on the ball in midfield.

Boyle and Scott Allan?

We are lacking in quality options which is why Heckinbothams start is so impressive.

jax67
That was a lovely cushioned header from McNulty but Kamberi is sleeping

Yep, Kamberi should anticipate that earlier.

The guy sitting in front of me actually dozed off during that half. Don’t blame him.

Poor from Hecky. :bitchy:

Still cant believe these pitches are allowed in the top league, awful

Not a fan of fake grass either but didn’t notice anything in the first half to blame on the pitch?

change needed centre midfield, omeonga in particular can't get into the game. difficult though with the ball sailing over your head from all angles

29-03-2019, 08:39 PM
Nothing between the two sides. Pitch irrelevant so far. Still think Hibs have more to show in second half, if PH shakes it up a little.

Every time I read PH I can't help but day Paul Heffernan in my head 🙈

29-03-2019, 08:40 PM
Ally McCoist and William Shatner anyone?

Why? Mallan and omeonga have been a lot worse than Milligan, he has done nothing wrong but as usual he is the easy target for some

Blaming the pitch is a lazy excuse. Hibs will regularly train on 4G, and if nothing else it’s better than dealing with divots and the like on a grass pitch. Yes it probably runs a bit quicker but I’m sure professional footballers should be able to cope with that.

29-03-2019, 08:42 PM
Not a fan of fake grass either but didn’t notice anything in the first half to blame on the pitch?

Looked to me like a few players were slipping on it where they shouldn't have been slipping ....:greengrin

29-03-2019, 08:43 PM
Every time I read PH I can't help but day Paul Heffernan in my head 🙈

PH is surely Paul Hanlon. Heckingbottom is just Heck. Heffernan is a non-entity.

No quality on display from either side. Awful advert for the Scottish game. Hopefully a big improvement from Hibs in 2nd half.

Slivka is just back from international duty.

So are Omeonga and McNulty. Doesn’t stop him playing does it?

I’d get him on for Mallan or Omeonga if neither pick up after 10 mins

Why? Mallan and omeonga have been a lot worse than Milligan, he has done nothing wrong but as usual he is the easy target for some

Milligan gave the ball away twice under no pressure early on. He improved and to be fair hes on the ball more than anyone else so he's going to make the odd poor pass.

Hanlon is looking shaky again which is more of a worry than any of the midfield tbh.

supermcginn
29-03-2019, 08:44 PM

It's murder. Ball holds up and sticks, Should never be playing top league games on it.

delbert

Interesting some want Milligan off, others say Omeonga but to be honest after half an hour, I’d actually forgotten Mallan was playing as his name hadn’t been mentioned since his first minute effort.

I reckon if we score more goals than Livi in this second half, we stand a chance of taking all 3 points tonight.

Looked to me like a few players were slipping on it where they shouldn't have been slipping ....:greengrin

Yeah a few slips and a couple of times where the ball was misread. In the whole the pitch doesn't help but the team only have themselves to blame for a rather dull first half.

29-03-2019, 08:45 PM
Blaming the pitch is a lazy excuse. Hibs will regularly train on 4G, and if nothing else it’s better than dealing with divots and the like on a grass pitch. Yes it probably runs a bit quicker but I’m sure professional footballers should be able to cope with that.

It only runs quicker when it has been well watered.As the pitch dries out the ball begins to stick and it becomes more difficult to run with it.

supermcginn
29-03-2019, 08:46 PM
Terribly boring stuff.

Horgan needs dropped he's been poor for a few weeks now. Maybe give Fraser Murray some game time in his place.

He was brilliant in the last game v motherwell?

PH is surely Paul Hanlon. Heckingbottom is just Heck. Heffernan is a non-entity.

Agreed. I just can't stop

proud_and_green
We have not managed to retain possession from a single throw in! This is one of my many bugbears, for about 15 years (actually probably longer) we have been awful at them. There was a point in that game where we shepherded the ball out for a throw near the by-line - I immediately thought that was stupid because we would give possession away and guess what...?

I reckon if we score more goals than Livi in this second half, we stand a chance of taking all 3 points tonight.

Passing off opinions as facts again. Embarrassing.

The pitch isn't much of an excuse imo. One poster has said the ball sticks and another has said it plays quicker. It can't be both.

Like someone else said it won't bobble nearly as much as a grass pitch so it's better in that respect

Your on a roll the night eh

IMO we need to get on the ball and pose them more problems. Slivka can feed in Omeonga and the forwards and get more out of them. We are too safe at the moment.

29-03-2019, 08:47 PM
Terribly boring stuff.

Agree, decided to give 2nd half a miss. Look for full time score.🤨

One or two nice moves by us first half going forward, but overall an insipid performance - need to be a lot better second half ...

What we need to do more than anything is keep possession for longer than 4 passes!

Terribly boring stuff.

Horgan has been one of our best performers recently IMO.

29-03-2019, 08:53 PM
Start of the second half makes the first half looks like France Portugal 1984.

29-03-2019, 08:57 PM
This game is turning into the battle we expected it to be.

29-03-2019, 08:57 PM
When we regain possession, we do buggar all with it.

Lacking a bit of quality.

29-03-2019, 08:58 PM
Could do with sneaking this one, I’ll go for 0-1

29-03-2019, 08:59 PM
Could be a night for Oli Shaw.

Also maybe better to go 4-4-2 and get Horgan on the left

29-03-2019, 08:59 PM
Get Omeonga off

What a woeful display

29-03-2019, 09:00 PM
We keep playing it down the channel but no one is making any runs down there

29-03-2019, 09:00 PM
Any Hibbies fancy invading the pitch to liven this one up?

29-03-2019, 09:01 PM
It’s poor to not create much against Livingston. Below par so far.

29-03-2019, 09:02 PM
Horgan has been one of our best performers recently IMO.

Needs to improve his footballing brain and composure for me. Far too many wrong decisions in decisive moments. One of our only players in the team who can take a man on mind you

29-03-2019, 09:03 PM

Preferably Leigh Griffiths.

29-03-2019, 09:04 PM
I'm sick of seeing our defenders lump the ball aimlessly up the park when there's an easy pass on to midfield. The fullbacks are prime suspects

cjward2
Who is doing the comnenrary with Cliff today?

Need to be careful, hundreds of innocent fans could do their cruciates.

loanheadhibby
29-03-2019, 09:05 PM
It’s poor to not create much against Livingston. Below par so far.

Agreed but to be fair, tough game for any team. Remember what happened to ****bos.

It sounds like Daryl Horgan.

Dave somebody.

I’m bored

Time for Fraser Murray

Fraser Murray coming on

cjward2
29-03-2019, 09:06 PM
I’m bored

29-03-2019, 09:06 PM
Kamberi needs subbed, lazy player at times, give Shaw the last 25

29-03-2019, 09:07 PM
A terrible game. Sitting in the livi end I can confirm that they moan every bit as much as we do.

29-03-2019, 09:07 PM
Slivka getting ready.

29-03-2019, 09:08 PM
That's a foul on kamberi. Pathetic refereeing

Eye bleeding stuff. We’ll have to settle for a draw unless we can up our game 100%. I hope we’re not going to fall for a late sucker punch.

Stevie Mallan is just pish.

So he is

Finally

29-03-2019, 09:10 PM
Slivka for Omeonga and Murray for Horgan.

29-03-2019, 09:11 PM
Kamberi needs subbed, lazy player at times, give Shaw the last 25

I’d rather see Kamberi play up alongside McNulty but Hecky’s the man getting results.

29-03-2019, 09:13 PM
Yyaaaaaaaassss

Yes !!

Yassssss

Get in! Well done Hanlon.

Deserved goal on recent play.

Yas.

Yaaaaaaassssss

Smoke bombs ☹️

29-03-2019, 09:14 PM
Idiots setting off smoke bombs AGAIN.

Get in Paul Hanlon

Smoke bombs ☹️

Statement incoming..

Superb!

Yes!!! Great delivery from Mallan, pH scores

Yaaaas hanlon

OtleyHibs
Good reactive finish from Hanlon. Been a brighter spell last 5/10 mins. Kick on and get a second and put this to bed Hibs

sauzee=legend
We score.......? 😂

29-03-2019, 09:15 PM
Yes!!! Great delivery from Mallan, pH scores

Hecky?

xyz23jc
Yyaaaaaaaassss

THIS 1,000,000,000,000 %!:greengrin

God he’s a wonderful man!

Scruffy, but it’ll do!

Hecky?

Heffernan

Has Hanlon ever scored a more important goal?

Could prove to be a big goal. Could almost, just almost, say it’s been coming as last 10 mins have been better.

Is that some ar*ehole/s in our lot setting off RED flares?

Hecky?

That's low pH, I'm talking about high pH:greengrin

29-03-2019, 09:16 PM
That us above the Jambos then :greengrin

It’s no finished yet ffs

Idiots setting off smoke bombs AGAIN.

Wonder if Leeann will do the press again.

What a ****ing goal!

Hecky?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PH

Fantastic goal from Mallan

Well played

That is absolutely superb by Mallan. Fantastic.

OtleyHibs
2-0!! Natural order restored

Well done Heck for being willing to change things. 2-0!!’

What a ball from Stevenson

29-03-2019, 09:17 PM
Wow by Mallan. Class.

He’s garbage eh 😂😂😂 cheerio.

Isn’t he.

See this out Hibs. That would be nice.

0-2 Mallan :greengrin

That's a class goal.

Fantastic skill by Mallan. Class.

Aye.

What an absolute beauty that is

29-03-2019, 09:18 PM
Mallan is some player

noz
lovely Mallan, lovely....

Get that right up ye!

It’s no finished yet ffs

It is now (said in a BBC English accent)

told you Mallan was pish.

TrinityHibs
Great goal from Mallan

Stevie Mallan, take a bow son, Hibs class goal.

Nice goal from Mallan but let's be honest he's been pish again

29-03-2019, 09:19 PM
It is now (said in a BBC English accent)

Have hibs -1, hope we hold on!

xyz23jc
Wow by Mallan. Class.

BARRY! :thumbsup:

Wonderful goal.

He hasn’t. He’s contributed massively by scoring yet another goal and playing a key part in our first.

Errr, whoopsie.......

told you Mallan was pish.

😂 fair play.

Who gives a ****, he can be as pish as he likes if he continues to score the goals that get us 3 points

Save Rocky

29-03-2019, 09:20 PM
Nice goal from Mallan but let's be honest he's been pish againYou still here[emoji6]

Marvellous
29-03-2019, 09:20 PM
Paul Heckingbottom :clapper:

29-03-2019, 09:21 PM
Excellent. It's all went a bit quiet in this end :-)

29-03-2019, 09:23 PM
Hearts fans will be revolting

Who gives a ****, he can be as pish as he likes if he continues to score the goals that get us 3 points

We have been crying out for goals from midfield for years.

Mallan has goals and assists !

Hibs fans in good voice.

Hecky is like our Ole - what a difference!

You still here[emoji6]

My thoughts exactly.

Hearts fans will be revolting

Nothing new there then

29-03-2019, 09:24 PM
McGregor has been very good tonight. Usual commitment but some accurate long passes as well. Never gave their strikers a sniff really.

A good manager can change a game

But who can we get that's better than Lennon guys :greengrin

29-03-2019, 09:25 PM
Hearts fans are revolting

Sorted