View Full Version : Next Scotland manager

28-03-2019, 02:43 PM
Left this an open poll from the 25 candidates with the shortest odds, so you can pick as many as you want.

28-03-2019, 02:51 PM
Moyes or Bilic in fact both them.

28-03-2019, 03:36 PM
Yogi.

28-03-2019, 03:49 PM
Alex Neil could be a good shout.

28-03-2019, 03:55 PM
Berti Vogts. All is forgiven.

28-03-2019, 03:57 PM
Yogi

28-03-2019, 04:05 PM
I went for Malky MacKay as the continuity candidate.

The debates the wrong way round, we need to somehow ditch everyone associated with running Scottish Football, get it out of Glasgow then once there's a forward looking different thinking board let them appoint a manager, until then we're stuck with it and Scotland continue to slide.

28-03-2019, 04:13 PM
I went for Malky MacKay as the continuity candidate.

The debates the wrong way round, we need to somehow ditch everyone associated with running Scottish Football, get it out of Glasgow then once there's a forward looking different thinking board let them appoint a manager, until then we're stuck with it and Scotland continue to slide.

28-03-2019, 04:54 PM
Doesn't sound like McLeish will be leaving:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/scottish

Here’s Lucy!
28-03-2019, 06:02 PM
Ally McCoist.

At least he knows the way to goal.

28-03-2019, 07:20 PM
McCoist please

He was a managerial genius at The Gers :wink:

28-03-2019, 09:25 PM
The boy Wagner no the xfactor yin Huddersfield ex gaffer

28-03-2019, 09:35 PM
Four clear front-runners here: Bilic, Clarke, McInnes and O'Neill. I suspect most Scottish football fans probably feel the same way.

Are any of them realistic choices?

Leitherhibs
28-03-2019, 09:45 PM
Clarke is seriously the only decent, realistic option on that list. God help us.

28-03-2019, 10:21 PM
It would take Steve Clarke 15 minutes to stop laughing before he told the SFA to ***k off.........

28-03-2019, 10:47 PM

You seriously want Moyes?

28-03-2019, 11:14 PM

Moyes would be more of the same.

"Ehhhhh, I don't think we're a good enough team tae qualify fae our group"

(eight games later)

"Told you we werenae good enough"

hibsforeurope
29-03-2019, 12:40 PM
I'm quickly heading towards not really caring about the Scotland national team but out of that list i would give it to Gemmill. He seems to be doing a decent job with the U-21's, playing a better brand of football than the full team and getting results.

He would be a cheap option, what the SFA seem to like, and would likely jump at the chance. The perfect candidate for a board who are incapable of selling their product to try and convince a high quality manager to take the job.

29-03-2019, 12:45 PM
Moyes would be more of the same.

"Ehhhhh, I don't think we're a good enough team tae qualify fae our group"

(eight games later)

"Told you we werenae good enough"

Moyes got Everton into the Champions League qualifiers with Everton and built the foundations of what they have now from persistent under achievers and relegation candidates on a fraction of the likes of Liverpool where spending. He failed at Sunderland fair enough but Clarke has failed at clubs also and just because he’s doing the Scottish equivalent of Moyes down south he’s the ideal candidate?

29-03-2019, 12:46 PM
You seriously want Moyes?

Of course. He’s a fantastic coach and Sir Alex knows a thing or two about football.

29-03-2019, 01:23 PM
Won't make the slightest difference who you pick.

29-03-2019, 01:34 PM
Won't make the slightest difference who you pick.

100% agree.

There are fundamental issues wrong with football in Scotland and a new manager isn't going to address them anytime soon.

Where is our 10 year plan? What is our aspirations as a footballing nation?

29-03-2019, 01:52 PM
100% agree.

There are fundamental issues wrong with football in Scotland and a new manager isn't going to address them anytime soon.

Where is our 10 year plan? What is our aspirations as a footballing nation?

I don’t know anything about it but there is a plan, it’s called project Brave.

I think part of the problem is that people want short term fixes to long term problems. We could have the best youth set up in the world but if the results aren’t on display now people will blame the youth set up.

IMO and with very little knowledge of it youth football seems to be heading in the right direction, indoor facilities are getting built, there must be more coaches and coaching than ever before and based on my boys experience there seems to be a much bigger emphasis on technical skills.

Unfortunately at 5 and 6 years old they’re probably not much help to Mcleish just now though.

29-03-2019, 04:49 PM
I don’t know anything about it but there is a plan, it’s called project Brave.

I think part of the problem is that people want short term fixes to long term problems. We could have the best youth set up in the world but if the results aren’t on display now people will blame the youth set up.

IMO and with very little knowledge of it youth football seems to be heading in the right direction, indoor facilities are getting built, there must be more coaches and coaching than ever before and based on my boys experience there seems to be a much bigger emphasis on technical skills.

Unfortunately at 5 and 6 years old they’re probably not much help to Mcleish just now though.

I remember one of the guys who coached the young boys at Hibs telling me that Hibs and many other teams had a good crop of young players coming through. Can't recall how many years ago but one boy he mentioned was Jackie McNamara's son. McNamara was are United at the time so probably 2014. Assuming his son was 14 or 15 at the time, the crop of young players should be around 19/20 now. Maybe this crop of talent has just arrived or is about to.

29-03-2019, 05:11 PM
Steve Bruce

29-03-2019, 05:19 PM
What's Andy Roxburgh doing these days?

29-03-2019, 05:23 PM
Me

Here’s Lucy!
29-03-2019, 05:37 PM
Me

Do you have the 'badges'?

29-03-2019, 06:15 PM
Stuart Baxter

29-03-2019, 06:18 PM
Do the still refer to potential candidates as "The Largs Mafia?"

30-03-2019, 12:47 AM
Do you have the 'badges'?

:agree:.

I play hoofball football with very little success.

Crazyhorse
30-03-2019, 01:44 AM
Left this an open poll from the 25 candidates with the shortest odds, so you can pick as many as you want.

Walter obviously...

31-03-2019, 06:57 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/12-foreign-coaches-scotland-could-14208464

These are the sort of names I Hope Scotland would look at.

I know we won’t though

31-03-2019, 07:03 AM
McInnes shouldn't be anywhere near it.

31-03-2019, 03:40 PM
Walter obviously...

No. Skip a generation and go for Jim Duffy.

01-04-2019, 05:40 AM
McInnes shouldn't be anywhere near it.

Don't think he would take it anyway. Less attractive job than the one he's in.

Hakim Sar
01-04-2019, 08:09 AM
Nevio Scala.