View Full Version : Match Updates San Marino v Scotland

24-03-2019, 01:59 PM
Right lads, time for another evening of our esteemed national team attempting to play football. Our opponents tonight are the lowest ranked team in the world, so hopefully we should be able to sneak a draw. :wink:

Team news?

24-03-2019, 01:59 PM
McNulty starts I’ve been advised.

24-03-2019, 02:02 PM
Right lads, time for another evening of our esteemed national team attempting to play football. Our opponents tonight are the lowest ranked team in the world, so hopefully we should be able to sneak a draw. :wink:

Team news?

Are you SM manager

24-03-2019, 02:02 PM

Gives me the fear. Hope he scores early then is taken off straight away and put in bubble wrap.

24-03-2019, 02:03 PM
Anything other than a convincing victory and Mcleish is gone. In the long run I think that's probably for the best so I'm hoping for a 1-0 scrappy win.

Our best chance of qualifying is by far through the nations league playoff so let's build towards that.

SJNB Hibby
24-03-2019, 02:04 PM
In their Nations league campaign they conceded 16 goals(without scoring any) against Belarus Luxemburg & Moldova.
I think its guaranteed we'll concede.
Redemption to me is scoring early and often, and hitting double figures---England once beat them 8-1?, lets outdo that

Realistically, 3-1

24-03-2019, 02:08 PM
5-0

24-03-2019, 02:09 PM
Will be a comfortable win. San Marino team is basically the Uber XI.

Gives me the fear. Hope he scores early then is taken off straight away and put in bubble wrap.

Be good for his confidence if he gets a couple.

Hope so. They were talking on Sportsound about Callum Paterson starting up front and I didn't hear them even mentioning McNulty (might have missed it though).

24-03-2019, 02:11 PM
Russia just gone 3 - 0 up.

24-03-2019, 02:14 PM
Hopefully replacements are:
Robertson for Shinnie
O'Donnell/Paterson for Palmer
Paterson for McGregor (possibly)
McNulty for McBurnie
Fraser for Burke

Would possibly shake up the centre backs too.

24-03-2019, 02:14 PM

Ohhh I’ve been advised lol

24-03-2019, 02:23 PM

24-03-2019, 02:24 PM
San Marino 28/1.

Worth a pound.

24-03-2019, 02:26 PM
San Marino 28/1.

Worth a pound.

Terrible price. You can get 60/1 at Ladbrokes and Coral.

24-03-2019, 02:26 PM
Need to draft Lewis Stevenson in

Nevi_SOL
24-03-2019, 02:30 PM
I’m going for 6-1, surely we’re no that bad,

Are we 😂

24-03-2019, 02:35 PM
Bain

O’Donnell, Bates, McKenna, Robertson

Russell, McGregor, McLean, Armstrong, Fraser

Paterson

24-03-2019, 02:36 PM
Just seen the last time San Marino scored a goal was back in September 2017. 5-1 loss away to Azerbaijan.

After watching us against the Kazakhs, I’m sure they will fancy breaking that hoodoo today 😂

24-03-2019, 02:38 PM

Advised wrongly

24-03-2019, 02:39 PM
Bain

Paterson

Is that real? 😲

McNulty and McGinn on bench

Is that real? 😲

It is.

Money on BTTS to score it is.

BoyledEgg
24-03-2019, 02:40 PM

Not starting.

Advised wrongly

Correct 👍

Not starting.

Brutal have him first goal tae 😃

Patterson up front, he has only scored 4 goals all season, why not play guys in form,nuts

24-03-2019, 02:41 PM
Is that real? 😲

Dear Lord, a 5 man midfield against San Marino.

BoyledEgg
24-03-2019, 02:42 PM
Brutal have him first goal tae 😃

Boy on Twitter got Paterson 13/1 1st GS, 20/1 2 or more and 225/1 hat trick. Odds went down within minutes of him putting it on.

24-03-2019, 02:45 PM
Boy on Twitter got Paterson 13/1 1st GS, 20/1 2 or more and 225/1 hat trick. Odds went down within minutes of him putting it on.

Great shout tbh I think we will score a couple from
corners.

24-03-2019, 02:46 PM

😀 *****ly too. Never mind the Jambo side of EH30 will be delighted.

Correct 👍

did your advisor apologise for the duff advice, hope he doesn't advise you on your pension contributions :wink:

Dear Lord, a 5 man midfield against San Marino.

It's more embarrassing than Thursday's result! (Well, not quite) 😔

San Marino to score one goal and 4 corners is 125/1.

24-03-2019, 02:55 PM
Albion rovers could beat San Marino

24-03-2019, 02:57 PM
did your advisor apologise for the duff advice, hope he doesn't advise you on your pension contributions :wink:

Hahaha 😃 I’m in work so it came out incorrect, i meant I’ve been telt.

24-03-2019, 03:01 PM
So it was all McGinn and Forrest's fault against Kazakhstan?

Words fail me.

Green-Hibee-7
24-03-2019, 03:04 PM
Worst national team officially by the rankings and we are going with 1 up front. I know he plays up front but I’m sure Cardiff launch him up there to literally hold the ball up and win headers rather than for his goal scoring ability.

We are playing San Marino why not play a natural striker like Mcnulty or even Mcburnie who would at least fancy their chances of getting their first few goals at international level.

So outdated the national team set up.

24-03-2019, 03:05 PM
Bain

Paterson

Surely Russell up top with Paterson?

24-03-2019, 03:06 PM
Worst national team officially by the rankings and we are going with 1 up front. I know he plays up front but I’m sure Cardiff launch him up there to literally hold the ball up and win headers rather than for his goal scoring ability.

We are playing San Marino why not play a natural striker like Mcnulty or even Mcburnie who would at least fancy their chances of getting their first few goals at international level.

There’s two up top?

24-03-2019, 03:08 PM
Got a better team on the bench

Green-Hibee-7
24-03-2019, 03:08 PM
There’s two up top?

Is Russel an out and out striker these days?

I always thought he played out wide although I’ve not seen much of him in all honesty in years

24-03-2019, 03:09 PM
Is Russel an out and out striker these days?

I always thought he played out wide although I’ve not seen much of him in all honesty in years

He’s a striker who played out wide. Definitely a forward in the US.

24-03-2019, 03:13 PM
4-1

The scenes when San Marino score will be a good laugh

Green-Hibee-7
He’s a striker who played out wide. Definitely a forward in the US.

Fair enough. It shouldn’t really matter against San Marino in all honesty.

I think the minnows might fancy their chances tonight!

24-03-2019, 03:16 PM

I love the national team, cos its my nation, but that line up is embarrassing.

24-03-2019, 03:18 PM
An extremely boring 3-0 win.

24-03-2019, 03:19 PM
Set up not to lose, sad day when Scotland now the diddy team of the home nations , N. I doing well, Wales win today & England what can I say ?

24-03-2019, 03:20 PM
An extremely boring 3-0 win.

Pretty much exactly what I’m expecting but I won’t be surprised if San Marino score their first goal since 2017

24-03-2019, 03:20 PM
Fair enough. It shouldn’t really matter against San Marino in all honesty.

True mate 👍

24-03-2019, 03:21 PM
Set up not to lose, sad day when Scotland now the diddy team of the home nations , N. I doing well, Wales win today & England what can I say ?

It’s like Northern Ireland or Wales back in the 90s.

24-03-2019, 03:27 PM
Do I watch this game or risk sticking my foot through the telly if Scotland are ***** again.

Wee Gogs slavering pish as per, all the players fault, ma mate Eck is a great manager, not his fault he has players that haven't played European football, take it that's why McGinn & McNulty are on the bench.

FFS Gogs, you couldn't even gets us qualified.

Hope so. They were talking on Sportsound about Callum Paterson starting up front and I didn't hear them even mentioning McNulty (might have missed it though).

Eh? Paterson up front? Can't be right surely (cue the don't call me surely puns), if that's the case then the "real" strikers are gonna be mightily hacked off.

24-03-2019, 03:28 PM
An away draw would be great. Hopefully sneak a win.

24-03-2019, 03:28 PM
Eh? Paterson up front? Can't be right surely (cue the don't call me surely puns), if that's the case then the "real" strikers are gonna be mightily hacked off.

Played up front for Cardiff a few times this season, decent player tbh.

24-03-2019, 03:29 PM
That is a shocking team.

24-03-2019, 03:32 PM
If we don't win this, we should just retire from international football for the rest of time.

24-03-2019, 03:32 PM

Decent 'emergency' striker option, I'd agree.
But if we're approaching this game with the mindset of it already being an emergency it fills me with the fear.

24-03-2019, 03:34 PM

Of course he's a decent player. Probably better than a decent player actually. But he's not a striker! We have a few of those on the bench! Mental.

24-03-2019, 03:35 PM
Decent 'emergency' striker option, I'd agree.
But if we're approaching this game with the mindset of it already being an emergency it fills me with the fear.

I agree mate but when I've seen him up front he's done ok against decent teams, still think Sparky should be playing, says it all about that numpty McLeish.

24-03-2019, 03:36 PM
Wee Gogs slavering pish as per, all the players fault, ma mate Eck is a great manager, not his fault he has players that haven't played European football, take it that's why McGinn & McNulty are on the bench.

I gave up on him after the 4th time he contradicted himself. Jaw dropping.

24-03-2019, 03:38 PM

Did I hear right that he said we put in one of our best ever performances away to Lithuania when we won 3-0 on astro turf?

rotherhamrob

We're you aye? 🤣🤣

Just out of interest but is McTominey (sp) injured? He looked class v PSG the other week

24-03-2019, 03:39 PM
Just out of interest but is McTominey (sp) injured? He looked class v PSG the other week

Not sure we need this sort of player against San Marino, I’m presuming

24-03-2019, 03:46 PM
Sportsound reporting that McLeish is saying that Paterson is a focal point. Sounds like the plan is to play (punt) the ball up to him and play off the second balls. Hopefully wrong but the truth is that winning 15-0 won’t cover up last weeks result: will still need to take 4 points off Russia to qualify.

24-03-2019, 03:51 PM
Did I hear right that he said we put in one of our best ever performances away to Lithuania when we won 3-0 on astro turf?

You heard correctly :greengrin

24-03-2019, 03:51 PM
Draw written all over it

24-03-2019, 03:52 PM
We're you aye? 🤣🤣

Missed the boat long ago Roberto.

24-03-2019, 03:53 PM
I think we’ll piss this but will lose a goal

24-03-2019, 03:54 PM
I gave up on him after the 4th time he contradicted himself. Jaw dropping.

" we need old firm players in as they have the experience of the big games "

Yir mate has left out Forrest, have a f***ing go at McLeish ya clown.

24-03-2019, 03:54 PM
I love the national team, cos its my nation, but that line up is embarrassing.

24-03-2019, 03:55 PM
The linesman is Spock

24-03-2019, 04:00 PM

Every ***** excuse managers, ex-managers, "think-tank" muppets, OF syncophants come up with that isn't "the governing body don't care about us being competitive" can be countered in about five seconds.

"No' enough European experience": Yup I mind watching the Kazakhstani superstars playing for Madrid and Barca in the Champions League.
"Kids don't go outside to play football any more": They don't go outside as much in every country in Europe, including Wales. We aren't the only country whose kids stay in.
"It's genetics, we're too wee": Scotland is one of the tallest countries in Europe. Aye the Spanish and Portugese are giants right enough.
"The players can't be bothered playing": Odd, their teammates at all the club sides they play for seem to play for their national team with pride. Maybe the governing body and manager doesn't set a good enough example?
"We need Old Firm players in the side": Yes, because the OF derby is literally the only game in the world that qualifies you to play for the national team. Our captain and best player in 20+ years hasn't played for either of them, give me a ****ing break.

24-03-2019, 04:00 PM
The linesman is Spock

I wonder what enterprise he's involved with then.

24-03-2019, 04:01 PM
" we need old firm players in as they have the experience of the big games "

Yir mate has left out Forrest, have a f***ing go at McLeish ya clown.

He was actually ok the other night but he must have decided that he was just going to be awkward tonight, default Strachan.

I don't care if Paterson scores 5 goals tonight, it's a slap in the face for the 3 strikers sitting on the bench.

24-03-2019, 04:04 PM
1-0 Scotland

24-03-2019, 04:04 PM
Wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooo

Forever_Green93
24-03-2019, 04:05 PM
1-0 Scotland

24-03-2019, 04:05 PM
Good header by McLean.

24-03-2019, 04:06 PM
0-1 Scotland.

Good header .. Ma bet goosed

He was actually ok the other night but he must have decided that he was just going to be awkward tonight, default Strachan.

I don't care if Paterson scores 5 goals tonight, it's a slap in the face for the 3 strikers sitting on the bench.
Don't agree with that at all. It's a team game and if Patterson scored 5 the decision would be completely vindicated.

get in :thumbsup:

24-03-2019, 04:07 PM
a world class goal

24-03-2019, 04:09 PM
Don't agree with that at all. It's a team game and if Patterson scored 5 the decision would be completely vindicated.

Well I have no idea why he's starting in front of actual strikers and I doubt if many others do.

24-03-2019, 04:10 PM
Kenny McLean taking up good positions. Was he unavailable for the Kazakhstan match?

24-03-2019, 04:12 PM
San Marino's stadium is really nice.

24-03-2019, 04:12 PM
It’s like Northern Ireland or Wales back in the 90s.

Your right unfortunately.

24-03-2019, 04:16 PM
Bain getting booed

24-03-2019, 04:17 PM
Bain getting booed

I thought they were shouting shoot?

24-03-2019, 04:17 PM
Bain getting booed

By whom?

24-03-2019, 04:18 PM
wid be handy if McGregor decides to stop passing the ball to san marino players

24-03-2019, 04:19 PM
I thought they were shouting shoot?

They were.

24-03-2019, 04:20 PM
Kenny McLean taking up good positions. Was he unavailable for the Kazakhstan match?

On the bench... probably kept out the team by SJM.

24-03-2019, 04:22 PM
nearly 16 mins without a goal :I'm waiti

24-03-2019, 04:23 PM
Cyprus got 4 goals in the first half against this lot. 3 penalties apparently.

Maybe if we had a wee nippy striker on form Alex?

24-03-2019, 04:24 PM
Everything being played down our left, need to mix it up a bit
What a pathetic free kick..

xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 04:24 PM
nearly 16 mins without a goal :I'm waiti

Absolutely ponderous football....Eyebleeding! :greengrin

24-03-2019, 04:26 PM
Do we actually need 4 at the back v this lot? FFS

24-03-2019, 04:27 PM
wtf is that from fraser, it wasn't a conversion son

Cyprus got 4 goals in the first half against this lot. 3 penalties apparently.

Maybe if we had a wee nippy striker on form Alex?

Was it the same ref who officiated the rangers game?

xyz23jc
Do we actually need 4 at the back v this lot? FFS

24-03-2019, 04:28 PM

not quite reached they heights yet :wink:

xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 04:29 PM
not quite reached they heights yet :wink:

:tee hee::agree::thumbsup:

24-03-2019, 04:30 PM
San Marino should have scored there.

Jesus Christ, San Marino almost score.

Should be 1-1

This is utter garbage. Scotland players should be utterly ashamed of this performance so far.

24-03-2019, 04:31 PM
Sack the board chants very clear

Berwickhibby
To be honest.....even with all the possession we are pish

IMO any of the top 6 in the SPL could beat this Scotland team. Brutal, industrial football with zero flare. These two teams look like the ones with no points.

Wull
McGregor way off the pace, rubbish actua
lly

Almost the first San Marino goal at home since 2013.

Oooooo

admittedly i've not watched all of the first 30 mins, but has paterson actually had a touch of the ball yet :confused:

ooops he just did

McGregor way off the pace, rubbish actua
lly

Aye but he's a Sellick player who plays in big games and that.

24-03-2019, 04:32 PM
Sack the board chants very clear

Quite right

24-03-2019, 04:32 PM
I find it amusing that Rolf has gone down injured on this surface after citing that as his reason for not playing in the last game.

24-03-2019, 04:33 PM
It's like walking football.

This is utter garbage. Scotland players should be utterly ashamed of this performance so far.

Quite a few around us are suggesting the team are playing to get rid of McLeish.

xyz23jc
Paterson injured time for the Calvary....Enter the lone ranger....McNulty! :thumbsup::wink:

This is fantastic

Toiling against part timers

24-03-2019, 04:34 PM
McNulty coming on.

McNulty coming on for injured Paterson

We should really have Souttar in defence - as he can actually play it out rather than Bates or McKenna who just boot it.

Macgregor in midfield is a passenger so far.

Jonny Russell - someone explain?

Patterson shouldnt be in that position unless we are at minute 70 and struggling.

Wny no McNulty? Paterson means we need to go long.

ETA - CP off, McNulty on, yippee !

McNulty coming on for Paterson.

xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 04:35 PM
Quite a few around us are suggesting the team are playing to get rid of McLeish.

Certainly looks like it. Commentary team no helping either ….Mogadon Monotone! FFS

Mcpakeisgod
McNulty cmon boy !

I find it amusing that Rolf has gone down injured on this surface after citing that as his reason for not playing in the last game.

Absolutely - there seems little evidence that the artificial surface is any worse for injuries.

p.s. Mon McNulty :flag:

Finger out San Marino. I've got a draw at 20/1

24-03-2019, 04:36 PM

I can't believe that, I think they're just pish.

24-03-2019, 04:36 PM
35 mins played and you wouldn’t be surprised if you were told that we were part timers as well if you had never seen us play before.

24-03-2019, 04:37 PM
Absolutely - there seems little evidence that the artificial surface is any worse for injuries.

p.s. Mon McNulty :flag:
I agree, Gerrard et al will never mention grass when a player gets injured on it, only ever when the surface is artificial....

24-03-2019, 04:37 PM
Can we please just sack McLeish immediately.

24-03-2019, 04:39 PM
Can we please just sack McLeish immediately.
The current mob in charge would probably just appoint Malky McKay in his place.

Here’s Lucy!
At least Scotland now have a goal threat on the park!!

Its so ****ing negative. Ball goes to O’Donnell, ball goes back to at least the half way line. Russell is an enigma, McGregor is an utter coward and Fraser has had bugger all to aim at all game.

And the twice they’ve broke out, they’ve ripped the utter pish out of our defense.

Nothing short of a 6 or 7 goal winning marging is acceptable here (seeing as Cyprus pumped them 5-0). We look ridiculously *****.

24-03-2019, 04:40 PM
Woeful

24-03-2019, 04:43 PM
Doesn’t matter what happens tonight, it doesn’t change anything.

Hope McNulty gets a goal but the main thing is he doesn’t pick up an injury.

24-03-2019, 04:43 PM
Scotland trying to get to HT with a lead.

24-03-2019, 04:44 PM
Just started watching 10 minutes ago. Have they been told to protect the lead and not go past anyone.

Tartan Army booing the abject negativity quite loudly.

Never mind the board, gut the entire thing and reset. These players are imposters.

This is like watching Hibs under Lennon this season. So slow going forwards. Also lacking quality in a big way.

Would be happy with Steve Clarke, Scot Gemmill, Michael O'Neill or an exciting, modern young manager from abroad but it'll be Malky Mackay, David Moyes or Walter ****in' Smith.

24-03-2019, 04:45 PM
every team in europe will be very wary of playing us now

24-03-2019, 04:46 PM
This is like watching Hibs under Lennon this season. So slow going forwards. Also lacking quality in a big way.

Worse. It’s like watching us under Colin Calderwood back in 2011. Just boring, boring and even more boring.

who was the last hibs player to score for Scotland whilst on the books at hibs?

ie I'd Mcnulty scored tonight?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

xyz23jc
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;5747963]every team in europe will be very wary of playing us now[/QUOTE

:greengrin:thumbsup:

24-03-2019, 04:47 PM
If the San Marino defender had realised his own player put the ball out this would probably still be nil nil.

What an embarrassing "performance".

Gary o Connor maybe?

In a friendly v Austria? August 2005.

Absoutley pathetic 1st half.

Pish

24-03-2019, 04:48 PM
Boos heard loud and clear 👍🏾😊

Rightly so.

Fletcher v Iceland?

Italy's Albion Rovers 0 Scotland 1 HT

Has McNulty touched the ball yet or do you only get a shot if you are in the back 4?

San Marino fans booing at half time as they are embarrassed at being 1-0 down to Scotland.

24-03-2019, 04:49 PM
Gary o Connor maybe?

In a friendly v Austria?

I'd say the same :agree:

IIRC Derek Riordan made his debut that night whilst big Gaz was MOTM

Berwickhibby
What an absolute dire first half

That's not fair. Far more like Italy's Falkirk.

24-03-2019, 04:50 PM
every team in europe will be very wary of playing us now

Only because there will be great danger of their players cracking a rib laughing at us:wink:

:pray:
Doesn’t matter what happens tonight, it doesn’t change anything.

Hope McNulty gets a goal but the main thing is he doesn’t pick up an injury.

:agree: The Scottish team is a lost cause. We have to think about our own situation and the priority is to get McNulty off the pitch without an injury.

I'd say the same :agree:

IIRC Derek Riordan made his debut that night whilst big Gaz was MOTM

Riordan defo made his debut. That's the most recent I can think of, unless fletch scored as a hibs player.

xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 04:51 PM
That's not fair. Far more like Italy's Falkirk.

To be fair...San Marino have a bigger budget...…! :duck::greengrin

rotherhamrob
Missed the boat long ago Roberto.

Aye, I've a habit of looking at 1st page then the last.

ShadesLongThrow
Countryfile on BBC1 starting to look an attractive option. Dreadful stuff.

24-03-2019, 04:52 PM
San Marino fans booing at half time as they are embarrassed at being 1-0 down to Scotland.

That is BRILLIANTLY FUNNY:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Wull
Has a manager ever resigned during half time, here's hoping

xyz23jc
Countryfile on BBC1 starting to look an attractive option. Dreadful stuff.

John Craven's commentary would be far more preferable! :agree:

Why does Russel get a game for Scotland? He's dire, mind you that's far from the worst issue in the Scotland set up 🙈

24-03-2019, 04:53 PM
13 shots 4 on target against the worst international team in the world says it all really. Fraser can't cross a ball, Robertson has hardly put in an attack down the wing like he does for Liverpool, midfield is slow in possession and Russell up front Jeez we are really pants nowadays, time for a total rebuild from grass roots upwards starting with the manager.

xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 04:54 PM
Really difficult playing against a full team of defenders, it'll take craft, guile and speed of thought as well as feet to get through them .

That's what the San Marino manager will be telling them at HT! :wink:

24-03-2019, 04:55 PM
Why does Russel get a game for Scotland? He's dire, mind you that's far from the worst issue in the Scotland set up 🙈

he’s about the only player that’s taken the ball past a man in the first half.

Bobo
24-03-2019, 04:55 PM
A pretty sub-standard performance, but not unexpected, everything is laboured and final ball is turd.

No point in having possession if you waste the majority of it passing back and square at a snails pace! Given that we scored early on, the 1st half has been really poor and a bit of a bore between two third rate teams.

24-03-2019, 04:56 PM
Not great, I'd get macgregor off and get another attacking player on, do we really need 2 CH's and someone sitting on front of them, its San Marino not Brazil we are playing

I think he shares his air miles

I feel a bit sorry for Scotland here. After the other night there's nothing they can really do here to avenge that.

Good early goal, one or two nice flashes but we've toiled badly to break down a packed defence.

We'll win 2 or 3 nil and nobody will be happy.

Ardenttwo
24-03-2019, 04:58 PM

Hey hey leave it out Elgin City 0. Albion Rovers 2. There

https://i.imgur.com/kK3fGqa.png

Eh, naw Billy. This one will.

Not great, I'd get macgregor off and get another attacking player on, do we really need 2 CH's and someone sitting on front of them, its San Marino not Brazil we are playing

Playing 2 left footed CM's doesn't help, makes it a wee bit imbalanced, that's why I'd have McTominay on, he can play the box2box role well.

Green-Hibee-7
24-03-2019, 04:59 PM
They should have scored.

Sums it up for me when we tried a corner that consisted of swinging it to the edge of the box for that RB from Killie to try a volley as if he is Van Persie.

Macgregor wofeul.

Armstrong to me always look likes he is struggling to control the ball.

Fraser and Russel canny cross or finish.

If this finishes 1-0 he needs to walk.

24-03-2019, 04:59 PM
I feel a bit sorry for Scotland here. After the other night there's nothing they can really do here to avenge that.

Good early goal, one or two nice flashes but we've toiled badly to break down a packed defence.

Only 6 or 7 nil after last week would be enough.

Cyprus got 4 goals in the first half against them, FFS, Cyprus !

24-03-2019, 05:00 PM
Playing 2 left footed CM's doesn't help, makes it a wee bit imbalanced, that's why I'd have McTominay on, he can play the box2box role well.

Mcgregor has to play cos he’s a Celtic player

24-03-2019, 05:00 PM

They've not really done much after the goal though, with such a good start they should've had at least another 2 at least.

24-03-2019, 05:01 PM
What a horrible match so far. This is the equivalent of Hibs playing against Fort William of the Highland League.

Aye probably, theres just something not quite working in the middle

Play with a high intensity, 2 strikers and score 4 or 5 goals?

That may end up happening but Mcleish has set them up to play with one up front against the worst team in the world so I don’t have any sympathy for them getting a bit stick at half time.

We’re not qualifying from this group so the sooner Mcleish is replaced the better, a narrow but unimpressive victory would be the best result here imo.

McTominay?

McTominay is a defensive midfielder who sits back and protects the back 4. He plays the Matic role when he is unavailable. Not what we need for this game. Fleck would be the more ideal sub to bring on. Attacking midfielder that likes to get forward and support the striker.

24-03-2019, 05:02 PM
Mcgregor has to play cos he’s a Celtic player

Oh aye forgot about the Weegie international rules, McTominay plays for United though.

24-03-2019, 05:03 PM
McTominay?

McTominay is a defensive midfielder who sits back and protects the back 4. Not what we need for this game. Fleck would be the more ideal sub to bring on. Attacking midfielder that likes to get forward and support the striker.

Didn't play that against PSG recently, very much box2box that night, yes he is more defensive minded but something needs changing.

24-03-2019, 05:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29-LRuuqFT0

24-03-2019, 05:08 PM
Commentators just said Cyprus were 4-0 up at half time, shows how bad Scotland are.

24-03-2019, 05:08 PM
Only worry about sacking McLeish is that Stuart McCall has just been sacked and the SFA is just that useless that they could go for him.

24-03-2019, 05:09 PM
Only worry about sacking McLeish is that Stuart McCall has just been sacked and the SFA is just that useless that they could go for him.

Dream team of McCall and McKay....

24-03-2019, 05:09 PM
Russell thinks he is Messi

24-03-2019, 05:10 PM
Another shot from San Marino.

Here’s Lucy!
24-03-2019, 05:11 PM
'Small country' they said.

'Worst team in the world' they said.

Aye, that's Scotland for you.

Green-Hibee-7
24-03-2019, 05:11 PM
Russel as another poster confirmed to me plays as a striker is not playing as a striker.

We are playing 1 up front against San Marino - and they are still getting chances.

Wull
24-03-2019, 05:12 PM
Russell thinks he is Messi

the crowd dont

24-03-2019, 05:13 PM
Can't understand how/why Davie Proven is still upbeat and focusing on the odd positive that comes along every 5 mins when the bigger picture is there for all to see. It's horrendous stuff. McLeish simply has to go after this, along with his SFA buddies.

How much did Aberdeen get offered for McKenna. Boy is rank.

Haha, was just thinking that when i saw it on twitter 10 minuets ago, god please no

24-03-2019, 05:15 PM
Watching this game & reading the various comments has me laughing at some of the jokes while shaking my head at the performance. I am unfortunately old enough to have stood on the Hampden terraces , along with over 100,000 people watching Scotland playing England. What I see now makes me very sad that's as much as I can say.😣

24-03-2019, 05:16 PM
come on scotland we can do this, go 6-4-0 to secure all 3 points

Johnny Russell must have photos of GJP in a gag ball and gimp suit, because i otherwise have no clue why he’s still on the pitch. Same could be said for most of the players. Perhaps the pictures have been sent around the entire player cohort via a WhatsApp group.

This is utterly ****ing embarrassing.

McTominay for McGregor as I said should happen, wonder if McLeish has a mic in my house.

mjh
24-03-2019, 05:17 PM

A donkey indeed!!

24-03-2019, 05:17 PM
Fraser has been murder. Is Burke on bench?

24-03-2019, 05:18 PM
Thought Palmer was bad, O’Donnell ain’t any better

24-03-2019, 05:19 PM

So overrated by the media up here.

scooby
24-03-2019, 05:20 PM
I'm actually hoping that San Marino equalise, and the entire management team and SFA fuds behind the scenes get emptied.

I fully expected Scotland to win this comfortably by a few goals.

However this is just a shocking performance. Absolutely piss poor.

It’s hard to put into words how bad this is.

The game is being played at a training match pace, we get an early goal and then can’t be arsed.

I hope someone tanks us hard enough for everything to be burned down and start again.

24-03-2019, 05:22 PM
“**** the SFA” being belted out loudly now.

xyz23jc

The game is being played at a training match pace, we get an early goal and then can’t be arsed.

I hope someone tanks us hard enough for everything to be burned down and start again.

All together now ....

F*** the SFA being chanted by the tartan army.

24-03-2019, 05:23 PM
Stuart Armstrong has the first touch of a trampoline.

24-03-2019, 05:24 PM

We've had a few crap results since 1998 and nothing has been burned down yet and there is no reason to think that anyone at all will do the honourable thing and resign.....

24-03-2019, 05:24 PM
0-1 probably the best result - keeps us in qualifying, avoids (another) major national embarrasment and ensures that McLeish is sacked and major questions are asked of the SFA.

24-03-2019, 05:25 PM
San Marino playing 1 up top and McLean is sitting 4 yards in front of the 2 CH's, WTF :confused:

I think San Marino might score here.

**** sake Armstrong, you utter bottle merchant. Get him off!!!!!

Hard to believe that a number of them play in the top league in England, woeful.

Green-Hibee-7
24-03-2019, 05:26 PM
Stuart Armstrong man😂 honking.

Did Proven seriously say if San Marino score we could be giving away 2 points ???

Yeah.... that'll be our biggest problem.

Not a word by either commentator about the chanting coming from the TA. That's the story here.

F*** the SFA being chanted by the tartan army.

Good.

The TA deserve huge credit for their loyalty but that loyalty is often abused by the powers that be. If they turn on the manager and empty heads who run the game then it might just provoke some action.

I had 0-0 and no cards for six grand. it's looking like a spawny header early on has screwed that otherwise it would have all been good.

24-03-2019, 05:27 PM
All together now ....

We hate Glasgow Rangers

Wull
24-03-2019, 05:27 PM
its actually sad to hear so much abuse given to our own team, the commentator says "grumbles" , the pity is they deserve it

HiBremian
24-03-2019, 05:28 PM
This team couldn't beat Elgin City. Tearing my hair out at how crap the decision making is.

Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk

24-03-2019, 05:28 PM
We hate Glasgow Rangers

We hate Celtic too.

24-03-2019, 05:29 PM
Good.

The TA deserve huge credit for their loyalty but that loyalty is often abused by the powers that be. If they turn on the manager and empty heads who run the game then it might just provoke some action.

SFA are going nowhere unfortunately.

I don’t know how we can get a radical overhaul of the whole set up but it won’t happen voluntarily.

Did Provan just say over the two games Armstrong has done very little wrong? :faf::faf:

Good.

Not sure it’ll provoke any reaction. I’m not sure what would.

The old blazers are just happy with their all inclusive holidays.

This team couldn't beat Elgin City. Tearing my hair out at how crap the decision making is.

Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk
Here you, don't you be mentioning Elgin City in the same sentence as this shower of huddies.......

24-03-2019, 05:30 PM
Is Provan for real?!

“Over the two games, Stuart Armstrong has done very little wrong” 🙄

24-03-2019, 05:30 PM
some teams going to take a hammering from us one day

24-03-2019, 05:31 PM
2-0

Russell.

Finally, 2-0 Scotland

Finally a goal.

Aye, the San Marino U14's team

2-0

Russell.

Great player.

We’re cruising here.

**** the SFA continues to ring out.

This changes sqrt*f.all

24-03-2019, 05:32 PM
Good flick and dummy by McNulty for the goal

Aye, the Morningside Brownies.

If of course, they have a bad day.

Phew! Big Eck's job is safe until the next national humiliation.