Fixed that for you......
24-03-2019, 05:33 PM
That's Johnny Russell secured his place for future games. Never in doubt :aok:
Is Provan for real?!
“Over the two games, Stuart Armstrong has done very little wrong” 🙄
Davy Provan epitomises everything that's wrong about this - can't criticise an ex Celtic players
McNulty should have taken it :greengrin
He still looked pissed off with Russell when he did score 😁
Good awareness twice in the build up to that goal from Mcnulty
Fixed that for you......
I was going to post something similar but didn't want to get all the negative sexist post
xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 05:34 PM
Davy Provan epitomises everything that's wrong about this - can't criticise an ex Celtic players
24-03-2019, 05:34 PM
Aw man McNulty
24-03-2019, 05:35 PM
Kinell McNulty!
We won’t mention that
I was going to post something similar but didn't want to get all the negative sexist post
Ach, me and you are too old to care about that :greengrin
Should have scored there but oh well... as long as he tucks them away for Hibs, that’s ok with me
McNulty misses a freakin sitter :rolleyes:
Should've stuck that away.
You have to be honest and say that was dreadful from McNulty.
xyz23jc
Aw man McNulty
Absolute sitter!
Sitter. C'mon lad.
That's McNulty's international career over.
But paradoxically increases Hibs chances of signing him :aok:
James310
24-03-2019, 05:36 PM
It was easier to score
It wasn’t Iwelumo...
xyz23jc
I'm in! :greengrin
HiBremian
24-03-2019, 05:37 PM
Here you, don't you be mentioning Elgin City in the same sentence as this shower of huddies.......Oops. Profuse apologies ;-)
Sent from my Redmi 5 Plus using Tapatalk
24-03-2019, 05:40 PM
shots
3 v 20
we've pummeled them :greengrin
we're even ahead on the foul count as well 9 v 10
A few yards out ,no one near him Has to score ,but contrived to screw the header wide with it coming off the side of his head /face
I genuinely forgot McLean was playing.
McNulty should be on a hat trick
24-03-2019, 05:45 PM
Still think McNulty offers more as a striker in terms of runs, link up etc for opening up space in behind than any other strikers we have
xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 05:47 PM
Still think McNulty offers more as a striker in terms of runs, link up etc for opening up space in behind than any other strikers we have
Deserves a goal for his efforts, at least looks interested!
24-03-2019, 05:47 PM
His finishing since coming on has been honking, even if he is getting into space.
24-03-2019, 05:49 PM
provan 'not like robertson to overshoot' he's done it three times already this game mr provan
AugustaHibs
24-03-2019, 05:51 PM
-1 goal difference after games vs Kazhakstan and San Marino.
24-03-2019, 05:51 PM
Only Scotland would have a negative goal difference after playing both Kazakhstan and San Marino back to back in their first two games.
Only thing they've proved here is that they're not the worst International side in the world.
HAZ2000
24-03-2019, 05:54 PM
Win v Cyprus is a must
xyz23jc
24-03-2019, 05:54 PM
FT...." All you can say is....." Thank F***! Absolutely f****** dire!:grr:
24-03-2019, 05:55 PM
McLeish has to go now. Never heard such sustained protest from the TA before.
24-03-2019, 05:55 PM
we've moved up to 2nd bottom :clapper:
24-03-2019, 05:56 PM
Defo was worse in Cardiff when Burley got the boot.
Does it solve anything if McCrae and Petrie are still there?
That was brutal to watch
24-03-2019, 05:57 PM
The daft thing about all of this is, nothing will change and we will stumble along to the next shambles.
And its got to the stage where i dont give a toss. :rolleyes:
24-03-2019, 05:58 PM
Does it solve anything if McCrae and Petrie are still there?
24-03-2019, 05:59 PM
The daft thing about all of this is, nothing will change and we will stumble along to the next shambles.
And its got to the stage where i dont give a toss. :rolleyes:
K-Zazu
24-03-2019, 06:00 PM
Win v Cyprus is a must
Is it really? We won’t qualify anyway
24-03-2019, 06:01 PM
Shocking football and unacceptable position to be in after two games against the dregs of international football.
AltheHibby
24-03-2019, 06:02 PM
Shocking football and unacceptable position to be in after two games against the dregs of international football.
Bit unfair on San Marino.
24-03-2019, 06:03 PM
Ach we're in the playoffs anyway apparently. Play the kids until then
24-03-2019, 06:03 PM
Beat me to it lol......
How? they're the worst ranked team in world football, unless you forgot the smiley
24-03-2019, 06:04 PM
How? they're the worst ranked team in world football.
Did you feel a woosh there mate? :greengrin
Read my edit :greengrin
24-03-2019, 06:05 PM
Read my edit :greengrin
24-03-2019, 06:06 PM
Ach we're in the playoffs anyway apparently. Play the kids until thenI think they need to find out what is their best team and what players actually want to play for the country. The amount of withdrawals is ridiculous each time the squad is called up.
24-03-2019, 06:08 PM
I think they need to find out what is their best team and what players actually want to play for the country. The amount of withdrawals is ridiculous each time the squad is called up.
Is it about wanting to play for Scotland or not wanting to play for McLeish? I'm genuinely starting to wonder......
Snodgrass has seemingly fell out with Eck
24-03-2019, 06:09 PM
Not that it probably matters to us but do the top two from each group qualify automatically or is it the usual 1st place automatic qualification and 2nd place into the two legged play-offs?
24-03-2019, 06:11 PM
Snodgrass has seemingly fell out with Eck
Matt Ritchie is also declining to be selected. I have no inside knowledge - but the whole thing seems dysfunctional to me at best.....
24-03-2019, 06:11 PM
Reports of players falling out with staff is not great at all. Could be a load of bollocks but l wouldn't be surprised
AltheHibby
24-03-2019, 06:12 PM
I'm not sure if I forgot the smiley! 😂
K-Zazu
24-03-2019, 06:12 PM
Get him punted. And offer the job to Steve Clarke
24-03-2019, 06:13 PM
Even Sky dont want to hear from GJP.
Matt Ritchie is also declining to be selected. I have no inside knowledge - but the whole thing seems dysfunctional to me at best.....
Reports of players falling out with staff is not great at all. Could be a load of bollocks but l wouldn't be surprised
Sounding awfy like when Butcher was here and you know what happened there.
24-03-2019, 06:14 PM
Get him punted. And offer the job to Steve Clarke
Steve Clarke would know that he would be on a hiding to nothing working within the current infrastructure. I'd be astonished if he accepted the position....
24-03-2019, 06:17 PM
Steve Clarke would know that he would be on a hiding to nothing working within the current infrastructure. I'd be astonished if he accepted the position....
So would I
Personally I’d be surprised if any half decent manager would be wanting the job. Just a sad state of affairs we find ourselves in. The SFA really have a lot to answer for and for me are the main culprits in this whole mess.
24-03-2019, 06:20 PM
So would I
Personally I’d be surprised if any half decent manager would be wanting the job. Just a sad state of affairs we find ourselves in. The SFA really have a lot to answer for and for me are the main culprits in this whole mess.
Why don’t we organise a think tank or has that been done
poulton hibs
24-03-2019, 06:24 PM
Not that it probably matters to us but do the top two from each group qualify automatically or is it the usual 1st place automatic qualification and 2nd place into the two legged play-offs?
Top 2 only with the Nations league playoffs filling the last 4 spots.
goosefat
24-03-2019, 06:35 PM
The most successful part of the whole evening is the fact this thread has managed to generate 11 pages so far...
pollution
24-03-2019, 06:35 PM
I think you are on to something....
When the Scotland vacancy was announced last year apparently McLeish said that the SFA have my phone number. Such was his enthusiasm.
24-03-2019, 06:38 PM
They will probably sack McLeish and get McCoist in.
24-03-2019, 06:40 PM
No obvious candidates out there.
Blazers are going to have a tough job rebuilding from here.
24-03-2019, 06:47 PM
No obvious candidates out there.
Blazers are going to have a tough job rebuilding from here.
There will be nothing to rebuild as far as they’re concerned.
24-03-2019, 06:51 PM
What was the reasoning behind O'Neill rejecting the job?
24-03-2019, 06:53 PM
The first change should be at the SFA. Clear out all of them for incompetence; shocking neglect of football in Scotland.
24-03-2019, 06:54 PM
Money.
goosefat
24-03-2019, 06:56 PM
Because it was the Scotland job? :dunno:
24-03-2019, 06:57 PM
The first change should be at the SFA. Clear out all of them for incompetence; shocking neglect of football in Scotland.
None of them have the integrity to step aside from their positions of power for the greater good of our game.
NI offered him a huge wedge to stay on.
goosefat
24-03-2019, 07:02 PM
NI offered him a huge wedge to stay on.
Nah. All they said was "you can either take the Scotland job or stay with us, on exactly the same terms as before...and we're happy for you to stay on the pish and pay for all your driving fines"
A no brainer.
24-03-2019, 07:02 PM
Holland 0 Germany 1 after 14 mins
24-03-2019, 07:05 PM
They will probably sack McLeish and get McCoist in.
Good idea. At least he'd be a bit more upbeat. McLeish sounds as though he's been to a funeral - or going to one.
24-03-2019, 07:07 PM
Good idea. At least he'd be a bit more upbeat. McLeish sounds as though he's been to a funeral - or going to one.
Too far.
24-03-2019, 07:14 PM
Ending a double header against Kazakhstan and San Marino with a goal difference of-1 should never ever be accepted or tolerated.
Kazakhstan alone was a sackable offence. Steve Clarke should be in his position as Scotland Manager this time tomorrow. Unfortunately he won't be as the Scottish F.A. are not fit for purpose.
We have imo, a pool of players that should make a major every 4-6 years. There's multiple issues in this country with the state of the football most of which is for another day.
As a member of the T.A. for over 10 years and given up ahead of the Nation's League, the hardcore T.A. guys need to boycott and stay away for the head yins to notice. Get McRae to ****. Get Petrie to ****. Our game is a national disgrace. We're an international laughing stock. LeeAnn isn't going to be around at Hibs much longer, get her in. Even give the job to Stubbsy if she wants.
Get someone innovative in charge of our game over to Belgium, Croatia, Germany, etc studying what they're doing come back and implement a blueprint for Scottish football. League structure. Development of youngsters. Style of play from youth to first team and show a clear development path for our future generations.
As a passionate follower of our country home and away all the enthusiasm is rapidly being sucked from me which is frustrating because i know we can do better
24-03-2019, 07:20 PM
Holland 0 Germany 2
Toldo123
24-03-2019, 07:29 PM
It is quite obvious that he is talking very slowly in press conferences and churning out sound bytes. I am not sure if he is particularly well.
Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk
Wee Effen Bee
24-03-2019, 07:29 PM
They had a root and branch investigation did they not? Malky MacKay handled it!😖
Quote:
Get someone innovative in charge of our game over to Belgium, Croatia, Germany, etc studying what they're doing come back and implement a blueprint for Scottish football. League structure. Development of youngsters. Style of play from youth to first team and show a clear development path for our future generations.
24-03-2019, 07:34 PM
It is quite obvious that he is talking very slowly in press conferences and churning out sound bytes. I am not sure if he is particularly well.
Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk[emoji106]
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
24-03-2019, 08:02 PM
Too far.
10/10:aok:
24-03-2019, 08:04 PM
I thought McNulty showed that he is not the answer
24-03-2019, 08:15 PM
I thought he showed that he should be ahead of McBurnie in the pecking order.
McNulty was ok.
We need Leigh Griffiths to make a full recovery from whatever is affecting him and soon.
Squirrel 1875
24-03-2019, 08:24 PM
McNulty miss two sitters?
24-03-2019, 08:28 PM
Pretty obvious there's something not quite right with AMcL. Struggling to find words and explain things rationally. Someone better tell his employers they have a duty of care as they're unlikely to notice anything on their watch.
24-03-2019, 08:28 PM
I thought he showed that he should be ahead of McBurnie in the pecking order.
McNulty was ok.
We need Leigh Griffiths to make a full recovery from whatever is affecting him and soon.
24-03-2019, 08:34 PM
I'm confused that you're confused.
24-03-2019, 08:34 PM
McNulty will come back to Hibs buzzing for the rest of the season
2 games in June, and if he wants to be involved, needs to do it with us
24-03-2019, 08:39 PM
I'm confused that you're confused.
McNulty is a good player but ain’t no Denis Law
Sparky is better but ain’t coming back anytime time soon
Comprende?
24-03-2019, 08:39 PM
I hope this experience hasn't knocked his confidence. It should have been a great honour, peak of his career so far, but it was all a bit of a horror show.
Chucked on after 80 mins when 3-0 down and then part of a very poor display today.
Hopefully he's the kind of guy that can shrug it off and keep his scoring run going at Livi.
24-03-2019, 08:41 PM
I hope this experience hasn't knocked his confidence. It should have been a great honour, peak of his career so far, but it was all a bit of a horror show.
Chucked on after 80 mins when 3-0 down and then part of a very poor display today.
Hopefully he's the kind of guy that can shrug it off and keep his scoring run going at Livi.
That was my worry alongside getting injured.
24-03-2019, 08:47 PM
Get McLeish punted now and give a new manager time to prepare for the Finland games in a year. Our hopes of qualifying from the group are gone. It won't solve the huge underlying issues but a competent manager would get more our of this team than McLeish is.
24-03-2019, 08:53 PM
McNulty is a good player but ain’t no Denis Law
Sparky is better but ain’t coming back anytime time soon
Comprende?
Well not really, McNulty was compared with McBurnie not Denis Law. I don't think Law will be getting many Scotland caps.
24-03-2019, 08:53 PM
No ! BW was correct he will come back buzzing on a high and will feel deep down and he will know he should have scored and can do and will do better
Hopefully Hibernian Football Club will benefit from this experience
24-03-2019, 08:56 PM
Well not really, McNulty was compared with McBurnie not Dennis Law. I don't think Law will be getting many Scotland caps.
Ha Ha !
Law was like a *****ose in the box he would have lapped up those chances
McBurnie ???
How old are you?
24-03-2019, 08:58 PM
Ha Ha !
McBurnie ???
How old are you?
Think you need a lie down pal!
24-03-2019, 09:00 PM
Think you need a lie down pal!
McNulty missed the sitters no me!
vuefrom1875
24-03-2019, 09:03 PM
He's not.
24-03-2019, 09:06 PM
Nah. All they said was "you can either take the Scotland job or stay with us, on exactly the same terms as before...and we're happy for you to stay on the pish and pay for all your driving fines"
A no brainer.
Definitely signed a new deal on improved terms. 700k a year wow.
https://talksport.com/football/341277/new-deal-northern-ireland-manager-michael-oneill-signs-four-year-contract-extension/
https://stv.tv/sport/football/1436399-graeme-jones/?fbclid=IwAR3cegQHOYpijphFqa_wNbKkMnKA6xmqfC2T0Y1A tujjL42R6074XvVmXwg
Well that plan worked.................NOT!
What's the plan the next time? Let the players go out on the lash and get them up a lunchtime on matchday for a fried breakfast??
24-03-2019, 09:52 PM
Definitely signed a new deal on improved terms. 700k a year wow.
https://talksport.com/football/341277/new-deal-northern-ireland-manager-michael-oneill-signs-four-year-contract-extension/
He turned down the Scotland job after talks with the SFA - wonder what their "pitch" was?
24-03-2019, 09:55 PM
https://stv.tv/sport/football/1436399-graeme-jones/?fbclid=IwAR3cegQHOYpijphFqa_wNbKkMnKA6xmqfC2T0Y1A tujjL42R6074XvVmXwg
What's the plan the next time? Let the players go out on the lash and get them up a lunchtime on matchday for a fried breakfast??
To be fair I reckon that’s quite a sensible approach. Without it we may have lost by more :greengrin
Basildon Hibs
24-03-2019, 10:04 PM
Ending a double header against Kazakhstan and San Marino with a goal difference of-1 should never ever be accepted or tolerated.
Kazakhstan alone was a sackable offence. Steve Clarke should be in his position as Scotland Manager this time tomorrow. Unfortunately he won't be as the Scottish F.A. are not fit for purpose.
We have imo, a pool of players that should make a major every 4-6 years. There's multiple issues in this country with the state of the football most of which is for another day.
As a member of the T.A. for over 10 years and given up ahead of the Nation's League, the hardcore T.A. guys need to boycott and stay away for the head yins to notice. Get McRae to ****. Get Petrie to ****. Our game is a national disgrace. We're an international laughing stock. LeeAnn isn't going to be around at Hibs much longer, get her in. Even give the job to Stubbsy if she wants.
As a passionate follower of our country home and away all the enthusiasm is rapidly being sucked from me which is frustrating because i know we can do better
You know the saying, 'a fool and their money are easily parted' .
😉
24-03-2019, 11:07 PM
"Elite footballers"
Well if you say so!
25-03-2019, 01:52 AM
Not being funny, but why would Steve Clark take the job? Surely another English club will come crawling this Summer..
25-03-2019, 05:41 AM
Ha Ha !
McBurnie ???
How old are you?
You do realise mcburnie is a current player?
25-03-2019, 06:11 AM
You do realise mcburnie is a current player?
Yes but not Scotland class
I suppose none of them are we have dropped that low
25-03-2019, 06:45 AM
None of them have the integrity to step aside from their positions of power for the greater good of our game.
Spot on!
25-03-2019, 06:57 AM
I’m sitting in a hotel in San Marino after having a few beers with the match officials last night. Even they were shocked at how poor Scotland were/are. One of my pals asked a journalist if he thought Eck would be binned this week.......
“Quite the opposite. Takes the SFA 15 committee meetings to make a cup of tea. No chance they will sack him this week. Probably have a board meeting next month and say carry on"
25-03-2019, 07:01 AM
To be fair I reckon that’s quite a sensible approach. Without it we may have lost by more :greengrin
Whilst we're looking for reasons behind the defeat and things we can improve, I don't think this sounds like something Scotland got wrong at all.
25-03-2019, 07:27 AM
Whilst we're looking for reasons behind the defeat and things we can improve, I don't think this sounds like something Scotland got wrong at all.
Eh!
Played 2
Won 1
Lost. 1
Points 3
GD. -1
Jog on!
25-03-2019, 07:30 AM
Eh!
Played 2
Won 1
Lost. 1
Points 3
GD. -1
Jog on!
Do you think keeping the players using the British time zone contributed to that? Obviously it has been a shocking start but I don’t think having the players trying to acclimatise to a 6 hour time difference over 2 days or so and then trying to acclimatise them back the way over 2 days would have helped matters.
25-03-2019, 07:35 AM
Do you think keeping the players using the British time zone contributed to that? Obviously it has been a shocking start but I don’t think having the players trying to acclimatise to a 6 hour time difference over 2 days or so and then trying to acclimatise them back the way over 2 days would have helped matters.
Understand that
Only professsional to take different time zones into account
Having a bacon roll instead of lunch ain’t gonna make a great deal of difference imho
All things considered the result/results still unacceptable :greengrin
25-03-2019, 10:23 AM
Just saw Mark McNulty's miss. Oh dear.
On the plus side, doubt we'll be worrying about him getting injured on any more international breaks.
K-Zazu
25-03-2019, 10:24 AM
Walk out on your country once and you should never be given another chance.
A manager no one wanted
25-03-2019, 10:26 AM
I’m sitting in a hotel in San Marino after having a few beers with the match officials last night. Even they were shocked at how poor Scotland were/are. One of my pals asked a journalist if he thought Eck would be binned this week.......
“Quite the opposite. Takes the SFA 15 committee meetings to make a cup of tea. No chance they will sack him this week. Probably have a board meeting next month and say carry on"
Out of interest, is San Marino somewhere you'd recommend as a destination for a holiday? I read that there were 3,000 Scotland fans at the game and kind of assumed it must be because it's a good mini-break option. Can't imagine anything like that number travelling to such a low-key fixture otherwise.
25-03-2019, 10:37 AM
A manager no one wanted
I think that's harsh. Compared to most Scotland bosses this century McLeish did a good job last time round and he's now at an age when an international job is probably better suited to him (the problem is that his managerial ability seems to have deserted him over the last few years!). Most Scotland managers, especially those who took the job while still relatively young, complain about the boredom it brought due to the long gaps between any meaningful activity. Over the last 10 years or so Burley, McLeish and Levein have all alluded to that and if a better club offer comes along it doesn't surprise me that they would find that attractive. Older managers like Craig Brown (who, granted, may not have been that old when he took the job but he's one of those guys who has seemed permanently elderly) were happier to hang around longer.
There's also the fact that Scotland haven't qualified for anything for almost a quarter of a century to consider when it comes to appointing each new boss. Because of that the job probably becomes less and less attractive and it's telling that Michael O'Neill saw more potential in Northern Ireland than he did in Scotland. McLeish is likely to be about the best we can attract these days.
25-03-2019, 10:38 AM
Out of interest, is San Marino somewhere you'd recommend as a destination for a holiday? I read that there were 3,000 Scotland fans at the game and kind of assumed it must be because it's a good mini-break option. Can't imagine anything like that number travelling to such a low-key fixture otherwise.
For Scotland games I don't think the destination really matters it will be a good trip regardless.
25-03-2019, 10:40 AM
G B Young cheap flights to Milan, Bergamo and Bologna would be the appeal for this one i'd imagine, aswell as a cheap-ish swally in Rimini which has amazing beaches.
25-03-2019, 10:40 AM
I think that's harsh. Compared to most Scotland bosses this century McLeish did a good job last time round and he's now at an age when an international job is probably better suited to him (the problem is that his managerial ability seems to have deserted him over the last few years!). Most Scotland managers, especially those who took the job while still relatively young, complain about the boredom it brought due to the long gaps between any meaningful activity. Over the last 10 years or so Burley, McLeish and Levein have all alluded to that and if a better club offer comes along it doesn't surprise me that they would find that attractive. Older managers like Craig Brown (who, granted, may not have been that old when he took the job but he's one of those guys who has seemed permanently elderly) were happier to hang around longer.
There's also the fact that Scotland haven't qualified for anything for almost a quarter of a century to consider when it comes to appointing each new boss. Because of that the job probably becomes less and less attractive and it's telling that Michael O'Neill saw more potential in Northern Ireland than he did in Scotland. McLeish is likely to be about the best we can attract these days.
Was Winker Watson the brains of the outfit? One thing's for sure, if we're relying on Peter Grant for brains we're well ****ed!
25-03-2019, 10:41 AM
Everyone in the media keeps going "the Cyprus game, oh the Cyprus game'll decide it, he should get till the Cyprus game." Clearly the SFA have told them he's staying in charge. What a ****ing joke.
25-03-2019, 10:44 AM
I stayed in Rimini which is a nice wee seaside resort with lots going on and visited SAN Marino on a day trip which is a small independent state up in the mountains with loads of cheap drink
Whats not to like?
25-03-2019, 10:44 AM
Everyone in the media keeps going "the Cyprus game, oh the Cyprus game'll decide it, he should get till the Cyprus game." Clearly the SFA have told them he's staying in charge. What a ****ing joke.
:agree: It's the Scottish way - let's make absolutely 100% sure we're beyond qualification, then change it.
Green Man
25-03-2019, 11:04 AM
One day of recovery for each time zone you cross? So if I go to Spain I need a day to recover? What nonsense.
Brummie_Hibs
25-03-2019, 11:04 AM
San Marino (up the mountain) is a fantastic place for a one night holiday - there is not enough there to do more than that.
I wouldn't say the beer prices were that cheap - we were paying about €5 a beer the last couple of nights. Too many tacky gift shops though
25-03-2019, 11:26 AM
San Marino is stunning. A tiny enclave spread over a mountain. Lovely weather, incredible scenery, castles etc. What blew me away though was the people. They simply couldn’t have been friendlier or done more for you. Lifts to and from the pub every day for example.
We combined SM with a day in Venice either side of Kazakhstan so this trip I’ve visited 2 new countries plus a new city in Venice. Great times.
To answer your question though, 3000 Scots travelled because, despite what you read on here, supporting your country does actually appeal to many fans.
25-03-2019, 12:07 PM
What on earth is the point of travelling across Europe to follow your national team and then standing booing them all match? Morons.
25-03-2019, 01:00 PM
Kieren Tierney after picking up an injury just before Scotland's double header is gonna be ok and ready for the Old Firm derby. Phew!
25-03-2019, 01:07 PM
Was Winker Watson the brains of the outfit? One thing's for sure, if we're relying on Peter Grant for brains we're well ****ed!
There might be something in that. According to Wiki, Grant was McLeish's assistant at Villa, which is where Eck's managerial career began to unravel. Prior to that I think Watson had always been his No 2.
25-03-2019, 01:14 PM
Kieren Tierney after picking up an injury just before Scotland's double header is gonna be ok and ready for the Old Firm derby. Phew!
Thank god for that!
Are Mulgrew Bannan and Fletcher going to be OK for their clubs too?
25-03-2019, 01:20 PM
San Marino is stunning. A tiny enclave spread over a mountain. Lovely weather, incredible scenery, castles etc. What blew me away though was the people. They simply couldn’t have been friendlier or done more for you. Lifts to and from the pub every day for example.
We combined SM with a day in Venice either side of Kazakhstan so this trip I’ve visited 2 new countries plus a new city in Venice. Great times.
To answer your question though, 3000 Scots travelled because, despite what you read on here, supporting your country does actually appeal to many fans.
Cheers. Sounds like a lovely trip.
Would it be fair to say that the chance to visit new countries etc is a significant compensation these days for Scotland's long absence from major competitions? I may be wrong, but it strikes me that there must be a good number of fans now who have never seen us play at a World Cup or Euros (anyone born in 1998 for example will turn 21 this year and will have grown up probably regarding Scotland's absence as the norm) but who nevertheless enjoy simply getting away a few times a year for some beers and sightseeing, with the football offering something to build the trip around?
25-03-2019, 01:39 PM
Craig Brown on the wireless at the weekend saying that if a player pulled out of an international fixture when he was in charge he would make sure they didn't play for their club in the next match as per the rules, shame that seems to be brushed under the carpet now. Did Tierney travel with the team or did he call off before they left? Think he's okay if he travelled.
25-03-2019, 01:51 PM
Craig Brown on the wireless at the weekend saying that if a player pulled out of an international fixture when he was in charge he would make sure they didn't play for their club in the next match as per the rules, shame that seems to be brushed under the carpet now. Did Tierney travel with the team or did he call off before they left? Think he's okay if he travelled.
Think he travelled to Kazakhstan
25-03-2019, 03:31 PM
Cheers. Sounds like a lovely trip.
Would it be fair to say that the chance to visit new countries etc is a significant compensation these days for Scotland's long absence from major competitions? I may be wrong, but it strikes me that there must be a good number of fans now who have never seen us play at a World Cup or Euros (anyone born in 1998 for example will turn 21 this year and will have grown up probably regarding Scotland's absence as the norm) but who nevertheless enjoy simply getting away a few times a year for some beers and sightseeing, with the football offering something to build the trip around?
Seeing the world is certainly part of the fun. Following Scotland has taken me to some incredible places I’d never have considered visiting. However, I go to near enough every game regardless of the venue or if I’ve been before so it’s not the only reason.
You’re right about an entire generation not experiencing a Finals. We really need to get back there soon to get the casual fans, general public and naesayers interested again.
25-03-2019, 03:36 PM
Think he travelled to Kazakhstan
Cool thought I heard he did 👍🏻
25-03-2019, 05:30 PM
Seeing the world is certainly part of the fun. Following Scotland has taken me to some incredible places I’d never have considered visiting. However, I go to near enough every game regardless of the venue or if I’ve been before so it’s not the only reason.
You’re right about an entire generation not experiencing a Finals. We really need to get back there soon to get the casual fans, general public and naesayers interested again.
Friends of mine do England away and they basically say the same. They love the smaller nations as they would never think of going there.
25-03-2019, 05:38 PM
Back in my young day (the seventies!👌) Scotland games were huge, either the pubs were packed, or you got the drinks in and everyone watched the game, and with great excitement and expectations!!
25-03-2019, 06:03 PM
Michael Stewart absolutely slaughtering the SFA and the appointment of McLeish on Sportsound. The rest of the panel bar Tom English are silent as they know he's right but don't want to upset their pals.
He really is a breath of fresh air as a pundit.
25-03-2019, 06:06 PM
Michael Stewart absolutely slaughtering the SFA and the appointment of McLeish on Sportsound. The rest of the panel bar Tom English are silent as they know he's right but don't want to upset their pals.
He really is a breath of fresh air as a pundit.
Daryl Broadfoot is an ******** SFA mouthpiece. Never a bad word about them.
25-03-2019, 06:07 PM
Daryl Broadfoot is an ******** SFA mouthpiece. Never a bad word about them.
I read he’s still being paid by the SFA.
25-03-2019, 07:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47697708
Good article from Tom English.
A manager no one wanted
Agree.
25-03-2019, 08:08 PM
I see the inevitable has happened and Yogi has thrown his hat in the ring if the job becomes available.
25-03-2019, 08:12 PM
Think the rule can only be enforced if the match is within five days.
25-03-2019, 08:48 PM
Just saw photos of stolen Scotland flags from the weekend, apparently stolen by Bologna fans.
25-03-2019, 09:14 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47697708
Good article from Tom English.
I agree with every word.
Good article, especially the bit bigging up our players.
25-03-2019, 09:34 PM
I agree with every word.
Good article, especially the bit bigging up our players.
Not sure about his knowledge of the Sword of Damocles but other than that it was a good article. Dionysius had the sword located above Damocles but it didn't actually fall whereas the sword did fall on Clyde.....
26-03-2019, 11:04 AM
Not sure about his knowledge of the Sword of Damocles but other than that it was a good article. Dionysius had the sword located above Damocles but it didn't actually fall whereas the sword did fall on Clyde.....
I bow to your superior knowledge of such matters.
Ah only ken about the fitba, ken?
26-03-2019, 11:19 AM
I bow to your superior knowledge of such matters.
Ah only ken about the fitba, ken?
I suspect that might not be entirely true mate...:wink: