View Full Version : Kazahkstan vs Scotland (Match Updates)

Pages : 1 [2]

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:42 PM
At a quick count upwards of 60 posts actively slagging the team, individual players or manager. Where are the "white knights" now riding to Scotlands defence? you're quick enough to attack those of us who say we are indifferent. Pathetic!

21-03-2019, 03:43 PM
At a quick count upwards of 60 posts actively slagging the team, individual players or manager. Where are the "white knights" now riding to Scotlands defence? you're quick enough to attack those of us who say we are indifferent. Pathetic!

Is it cocktail hour in Bangkok?

21-03-2019, 03:45 PM
Michael O’Neil is looking cheap now. Eck was cheap. Problem is buy cheap, buy twice.

21-03-2019, 03:45 PM
http://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7http://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7http://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7https://i2-prod.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article14161314.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/0_Scotland-v-Israel-UEFA-Nations-League-Group-C1-Hampden-Park.jpg

21-03-2019, 03:46 PM

Tough **** then isn't it. I say what suits me and me alone.

Eh!

Bangkok Hibby
Is it cocktail hour in Bangkok?

Perfectly sober thanks

I've said it before but I reckon most fans would accept a couple of campaigns of mediocrity if there was a genuine effort to impose change and rethink the way we manage the game in Scotland.

It's that old definition of insanity though, we just keep doing the same things over and over again and hope something will change.

21-03-2019, 03:47 PM

Where's the ginger Knight?

21-03-2019, 03:48 PM
I've said it before but I reckon most fans would accept a couple of campaigns of mediocrity if there was a genuine effort to impose change and rethink the way we manage the game in Scotland.

It's that old definition of insanity though, we just keep doing the same things over and over again and hope something will change.

A couple of campaigns of mediocrity would be progress.[emoji23]

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:48 PM
Tough **** then isn't it. I say what suits me and me alone.

Maybe you misunderstand me. Im having a go at those who are quick to attack anyone who posts anything slightly negative about Scotland.
Or maybe Ive got you wrong? Anyway life goes on.

21-03-2019, 03:49 PM
I hope they score again. 3-1 would be a ***** score.

Feel for McNulty tbh that his first cap will be remembered as being associated with one of the most embarrassing defeats in our country's history.

Maybe you misunderstand me. Im having a go at those who are quick to attack anyone who posts anything slightly negative about Scotland.
Or maybe Ive got you wrong? Anyway life goes on.

Scotland are pish so anyone can bring it on and happy to discuss how we aren't.

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:51 PM
Scotland are pish so anyone can bring it on and happy to discuss how we aren't.

I agree, already "had words" earlier

Loved Eck at Hibs, but sorry well past his sell by date, something seriously wrong with the Scottish set up, players retiring, managing their bodies picking & choosing when they'll play, or not, sky high ticket prices for dross. Big big changes needed.

One post from Bangkok and the threads your oyster

Surely the worst result in our history?

21-03-2019, 03:52 PM

Im now very humble

FT, pumped as per usual. Scotland are utter 5hite.

Close the thread..

It’s same old - same old -

Scottish FA - joke
Coaching - joke
Schools - not getting enough support
Culture - footballers need some brains - most of ours are thick as mince.

Until these change we get same old results - doesn’t matter who the manager is!

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:53 PM

Too subtle for you maybe?

Thank **** that's over.

Players fighting with management.

Doh Rae Me
Well lads, at least we'll always have that 10 minutes of optimism to remember.

That was utterly pathetic. The Hibs reserve team could have put up a better fight

21-03-2019, 03:54 PM
I agree, already "had words" earlier

I wish I was as tough as you.

Looking at the table at least we seem safe in the top six.

Players fighting with management.

Were they?

San Marion desperate to play us :(

Michael O’Neil is looking cheap now. Eck was cheap. Problem is buy cheap, buy twice.

We had to pay corkage for Eck.

Close the thread..

It’s same old - same old -

Scottish FA - joke
Coaching - joke
Schools - not getting enough support
Culture - footballers need some brains - most of ours are thick as mince.

Until these change we get same old results - doesn’t matter who the manager is!

Regardless of anything we should be humping teams like that and not being humiliated. Utterly shambolic.

We are though. We had Ollie mcburnie upfront ffs
There should be a picture of McBurnie in the dictionary under the word galoot......

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:55 PM
Eh!

Referring to the people who suggest I and others of the same mind should **** off for saying we had lost interest in Scotland

https://imgur.com/download/Ym2nveF

We'll do better against Belgium and Russia, as usual, and revel in how unlucky we've been again in qualifying.

Bring all our players home now. McLeish can stay.

Were they?

Mcgregor and McFadden according to reports.

Bangkok Hibby
I wish I was as tough as you.

Grow up

Were they?

There’s been rumours that it’s happened a couple of times since McLeish came in. Think that’s why a couple of them don’t get called up anymore (Snodgrass comes to mind but I’m not 100% sure it’s him I’m thinking of).

21-03-2019, 03:56 PM
Is it really a country and not just somewhere from Lord of the Rings where the Scotland team have become trapped in on their way to a football match?

There’s more Orcs in our country than there.

We'll do better against Belgium and Russia, as usual, and revel in how unlucky we've been again in qualifying.

The SFA blazers are now all away on a jolly to Italy for a few days. As if McLeish would miss that.

Too subtle for you maybe?

Not much between despair and ecstasy

21-03-2019, 03:57 PM
Regardless of anything we should be humping teams like that and not being humiliated. Utterly shambolic.

Not sure why we should be humping anyone?

If the set up is pish - you get pish results.

21-03-2019, 03:58 PM
Grow up

From the guy posting from Bangkok about a national side he openly admits to having no interest in, in order to get upset that people weren't quick enough to condemn those slagging said side.

Ever think that those that ARE interested in Scotland's fate may have been busy taking in the game, rather than rushing on here to respond to those sticking the boot-in to their own country?

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 03:59 PM
Not much between despair and ecstasy

True 😀

Grow up

go away

Not sure why we should be humping anyone?

If the set up is pish - you get pish results.

Because we have much, much better players than a country lying 117 in the world.

Nah we won’t - Belgium will destroy us and Russia will beat us.

Anyone with any sense realises we haven’t been unlucky in last 20 years but just crap - with an outdated set up and governing body.

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 04:00 PM
From the guy posting from Bangkok about a national side he openly admits to having no interest in, in order to get upset that people weren't quick enough to condemn those slagging said side.

Ever think that those that ARE interested in Scotland's fate may have been busy taking in the game, rather than rushing on here to respond to those sticking the boot-in to their own country?

21-03-2019, 04:01 PM
Because we have much, much better players than a country lying 117 in the world.

Looks like it !

Just lost 3-0 and they didn’t even look that great.

Wake up and smell the coffee - Scottish Football is rubbish and needs drastic changes and leadership.

21-03-2019, 04:02 PM
aw naw FT... i predicted four on ma coupon

21-03-2019, 04:04 PM
I've wondered many times how much money has been lost to our game due to failing to qualify for major tournaments. Yet the same people and organisations remain in place.....

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:05 PM
On a positive note that was the first time, I've watched a game on Hegoal. Perfect stream

Sooner this pish is over and we're back to the real football with McNulty intact the better.

must admit that was a cracking pass for their 2nd goal

21-03-2019, 04:06 PM
On a positive note that was the first time, I've watched a game on Hegoal. Perfect stream

Unlucky

Looks like it !

Just lost 3-0 and they didn’t even look that great.

Wake up and smell the coffee - Scottish Football is rubbish and needs drastic changes and leadership.

We set up full of inexperienced unbalanced and players out of position all over the place.

Scottish football does need changes yes but to say there’s not the players in the country to do a better performance than this afternoon is incorrect.

I've wondered many times how much money has been lost to our game due to failing to qualify for major tournaments. Yet the same people and organisations remain in place.....

and we have to wonder just what on earth is it going to take to get change at the top

21-03-2019, 04:07 PM
and we have to wonder just what on earth is it going to take to get change at the top

Nah mate, it's the Playstations and the Xboxes.

21-03-2019, 04:10 PM
World football has moved on. The SFA have stood still. Bunch of dinosaurs.

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:11 PM
What was the point of pushing out Strachan?

21-03-2019, 04:11 PM
McLeish press conference under way.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUktuuWltHc

Here’s Lucy!
21-03-2019, 04:12 PM
McLeish. :giruy2:

hhibs
Had to google him to find out myself, born in England and plays there for Sheffield Wednesday.

He was terrible,there was no other option but him? Beyond belief.

Bangkok Hibby
It must be about midnight in Bangkok now? The riled up wee fellae (riled up about something he's very indifferent too I may add) could be out getting his leg over or something, at least a nice Thursday evening bevy :confused:

It's relatively easy over there and pretty inexpensive too.

Will sort you right out BH :aok:

Haha believe me I know how to enjoy myself over here. Recommend it to all 🙏🏻👍🏻

What was the point of pushing out Strachan?
To bring in someone who could move us forward. Ahem.

penihibs
21-03-2019, 04:13 PM

Quality!!

😂😂😂😂

We set up full of inexperienced unbalanced and players out of position all over the place.

Scottish football does need changes yes but to say there’s not the players in the country to do a better performance than this afternoon is incorrect.

The lack of depth and lack of quality players is worrying.

Full strength Scotland with a different manager would have still lost that game.

Anyway reality is Scotland were humped and it’s another honorific result which shouldn’t surprise anyone.

Strachan seems to nail it for me there - we were too stretched out. We had a bunch of individuals miles away from each other, and there never seemed to be wee groups of 3 or 4 battling, playing one twos, winning second balls etc.

McGregor mentioning "getting the ball into the striker quickly". Hoofball?

That must all be down to the manager and nobody else.

We were absolutely shocking.

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:14 PM
It must be about midnight in Bangkok now? The riled up wee fellae (riled up about something he's very indifferent too I may add) could be out getting his leg over or something, at least a nice Thursday evening bevy :confused:

It's relatively easy over there and pretty inexpensive too.

Will sort you right out BH :aok: Stop being a twat. Bangkok says he is indifferent to Scotland and you spend the rest of the thread sniping at him and making childish comments. Grow up and by that, I mean your mentality, not your physical stature.

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:17 PM
The lack of depth and lack of quality players is worrying.

Full strength Scotland with a different manager would have still lost that game.

Anyway reality is Scotland were humped and it’s another honorific result which shouldn’t surprise anyone. In the squad, we have players with plenty of Champions League experience. There is no reason why we shouldn't be any better than Wales, Ireland or even Iceland.

21-03-2019, 04:20 PM
In the squad, we have players with plenty of Champions League experience. There is no reason why we shouldn't be any better than Wales, Ireland or even Iceland.

Robertson, Tierney, and (if you are being kind) McTominay - not exactly the galacticos all over the pitch?

Here’s Lucy!
21-03-2019, 04:23 PM
At least Bangkok versus Russell is entertaining, unlike our dire National team. :faf:

21-03-2019, 04:27 PM
Stop being a twat. Bangkok says he is indifferent to Scotland and you spend the rest of the thread sniping at him and making childish comments. Grow up and by that, I mean your mentality, not your physical stature.

You're getting the two threads mixed up as well now, keep up. I never spent the "rest" of any thread doing anything. I did note you, again, making short wee comments looking for a reaction on here though.

Bankgok took it in good spirits, but if calling another poster a "twat" helps you try to make a friend on here after a dodgy start to your trolling career then bash on. I've grew up enough to take such comments on the chin.. in mentality terms.

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:27 PM
Robertson, Tierney, and (if you are being kind) McTominay - not exactly the galacticos all over the pitch? You could add McGregor, Burke and James Forrest as well. How many Irish or Icelandic players have played in the Champions League?

21-03-2019, 04:28 PM
At least Bangkok versus Russell is entertaining, unlike our dire National team. :faf:

I'm throwing in the towel - my annoyance at the result together with the jealousy of where he lives means it won't end well for me :wink:

As you already know, nae hard feelings BH :aok:

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:30 PM
You're getting the two threads mixed up as well now, keep up. I never spent the "rest" of any thread doing anything. I did note you, again, making short wee comments looking for a reaction on here though.

Bankgok took it in good spirits, but if calling another poster a "twat" helps you try to make a friend on here after a dodgy start to your trolling career then bash on. I've grew up enough to take such comments on the chin.. in mentality terms. Do you think I come on here to make friends? Call me old fashioned but I still prefer things like pubs for my socialising

21-03-2019, 04:33 PM
In the squad, we have players with plenty of Champions League experience. There is no reason why we shouldn't be any better than Wales, Ireland or even Iceland.

Champions League experience - that doesn’t make you a good player.

Who and what makes these players any decent ?

Here’s Lucy!
21-03-2019, 04:33 PM
I'm throwing in the towel - my annoyance at the result together with the jealousy of where he lives means it won't end well for me :wink:

Och man, it was just getting tasty. :agree:

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 04:37 PM
Champions League experience - that doesn’t make you a good player.

Nah, your right. In fact it makes you a terrible one

Bangkok Hibby
21-03-2019, 04:37 PM

Absolutely my friend 🙏🏻

21-03-2019, 04:39 PM
Score line doesn't lie!!!

21-03-2019, 04:40 PM
I didn't watch; I'm afraid I gave up on the national side a long time ago. Total embarrassment once again.

21-03-2019, 04:42 PM
Well, we always live in hope,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,, don't we?

C'mon Scotland! (he said between gritted teeth and blurred vision from the tears in his eyes).

21-03-2019, 04:42 PM
Link isn't working, takes you to a different video.
One of a donkey braying by any chance? :greengrin

Crazyhorse
21-03-2019, 04:50 PM
We had to pay corkage for Eck.

Gonna have to pay him off

21-03-2019, 04:51 PM
Link isn't working, takes you to a different video.

woosh award incoming

21-03-2019, 04:54 PM
woosh award incoming

21-03-2019, 04:55 PM
Is McLeish also in charge of Brexit ?

21-03-2019, 05:00 PM
Nah, your right. In fact it makes you a terrible one

Playing for Celtic in Champions league doesn’t make you a GREAT player.

Never said it makes you terrible.

There are plenty of players in England and abroad who haven’t got Champions League experience but are still better than our champions league players!

How many players did Scotland play against tonight have Champions league experience?!

Don’t believe the hype !

Here’s Lucy!
woosh award incoming

Here’s Lucy!
Is McLeish also in charge of Brexit ?

May be.

hibstag
21-03-2019, 05:02 PM
[QUOTE=worcesterhibby;5745761]Is McLeish also in charge of Brexit ?[/QUOTE

if he was we would be out by now.....

21-03-2019, 05:03 PM
We need to bin McLeish and get in a young manager who can build a team to get us through the playoffs. There's no hope for us getting out of this group.

The problem is that I've no idea who to bring in.

21-03-2019, 05:04 PM
Whats worse? Levein not playing any strikers vs the Czech Republic and losing 3-0 or this 3-0 result under McCleish?

Had completely forgot about the afternoon KO time and would have tuned in to listen to sportsound if I had remembered, so this is a horrifying result to learn about. Will need to look back through this thread at some point tonight, but not something I’m really looking forward to. McLeish can’t survive this surely.

What is this Hegoal you speak off?

21-03-2019, 05:06 PM
Whats worse? Levein not playing any strikers vs the Czech Republic and losing 3-0 or this 3-0 result under McCleish?

TBF to Levein he lost 1-0, but it could have been 3.

Been traveling following Scotland since 2004. This has got to be the worst I’ve seen.

What is this Hegoal you speak off?

A not so kosher online site where you can watch games.

Here’s Lucy!
We need to bin McLeish and get in a young manager who can build a team to get us through the playoffs. There's no hope for us getting out of this group.

The problem is that I've no idea who to bring in.

Gotta be Cathro.

This afternoon by a county mile.

A not so kosher online site where you can watch games.

I shall investigate.

TBF to Levein he lost 1-0, but it could have been 3.

Been traveling following Scotland since 2004. This has got to be the worst I’ve seen.

Sorry, I thought it was 3-0. :aok:

21-03-2019, 05:07 PM

Czech Republic were probably ranked about 25th in the world when they beat us. Kazakhstan are 117th in the world.

21-03-2019, 05:07 PM

Given it was only 1-0 in Czech it makes it closer. I was still more raging at Levein though, I know that much.

21-03-2019, 05:16 PM
sometimes being Scottish and living in England is hard.

21-03-2019, 05:22 PM
Cyprus 5 San Marino 0 .. after 61 mins

i'm convinced we can at least hold the San Marinoians on sunday

maybe

Newcastlehibby
21-03-2019, 05:24 PM
I shall investigate.

you won’t find it. But if you check out Hesgoal, you may have more luck.

21-03-2019, 05:25 PM
Living in England is hard.[/QUOTE]
Fixed that for you.....

21-03-2019, 05:30 PM
shirly the SFA will, at the very least, reimburse the entry fee for every Scotland fan, 650 @ £1 each = £650

although i'm sure most would tell the SFA to ram it where the sun doesn't shine

21-03-2019, 05:34 PM

But living in Scotland and being English is great on days like this 😂

21-03-2019, 05:35 PM
The players picked for this game must have been rubbing their hands at getting their chance to play against minnows!!!

Wonder how many will get another game?????

21-03-2019, 05:36 PM
I didn't watch; I'm afraid I gave up on the national side a long time ago. Total embarrassment once again.

I'm the same. It's quite sad but Scotland internationals are just a total inconvenience to me now. Was just hoping McNulty didn't get on incase he got injured. Thats how i feel about it.

21-03-2019, 05:37 PM
The players picked for this game must have been rubbing their hands at getting their chance to play against minnows!!!

Wonder how many will get another game?????

The Kazakhstan players or our ones?

21-03-2019, 05:40 PM
Scotland are lacking a bit of quality unfortunately. The likes of McBurnie, Burke and Palmer are not going to get you to major tournaments.

Who would you say are Scotland 3 best players? Except from Robertson would any of them realistically get into the starting 11 of a major European team now or even in 3 years time. Look at the clubs that each player who started today play for:

Celtic x4
Aberdeen x2
Southampton x1
Aston Villa x1
Swansea x1
Sheffield Wednesday x1
Hamburg x1

Appointing McLeish was a step backwards Imo. The SFA are not fit for purpose.

21-03-2019, 06:01 PM
What is the point in giving Mcnulty 10 minutes?

21-03-2019, 06:03 PM
Yip been there & done it, sometimes wish we had stayed.

21-03-2019, 06:07 PM
Don't know if it's been posted already but Lewis dodged a bullet this afternoon and no mistake.

21-03-2019, 06:07 PM
Sacking!

21-03-2019, 06:11 PM
San Marino beaten 5-0 and keeping us off bottom...

21-03-2019, 06:13 PM
That was pretty awful, mcleish reckons we started brightly, 2 nil down in 10 minutes isn't starting brightly. Big changes needed for San Marino

21-03-2019, 06:17 PM
Could say the same about McBurnie but he got 61......

21-03-2019, 06:18 PM
San Marino beaten 5-0 and keeping us off bottom...

Kids in Cyprus clearly not all playing the Playstations.

21-03-2019, 06:22 PM
Maybe we should go back to grass roots again & again & again but no chance with the blazers at the GFA

21-03-2019, 06:24 PM
Kids in Cyprus clearly not all playing the Playstations.

21-03-2019, 06:29 PM

Do you feel that way about any sub coming on with ten mins to go, when a team is out the game? As opposed to it just being because it’s our player. Not meaning to sound arsey, just interested. I guess he’d have been criticised for not using subs when almost the whole team deserved to be taken off?

Either way not a very glorious debut for Marc!

The Pointer
21-03-2019, 06:39 PM
shirly the SFA will, at the very least, reimburse the entry fee for every Scotland fan, 650 @ £1 each = £650

although i'm sure most would tell the SFA to ram it where the sun doesn't shine

And the cost of the beers I've had to drown the memory out here. Of all the 'worst evers' I've experienced, this has to be up there. Haven't read the thread but I'm told only Macau, Azerbaijan, Nepal and now us have ever lost to Kazakhstan.

HibeeBigFly
21-03-2019, 06:43 PM
And the cost of the beers I've had to drown the memory out here. Of all the 'worst evers' I've experienced, this has to be up there. Haven't read the thread but I'm told only Macau, Azerbaijan, Nepal and now us have ever lost to Kazakhstan.

Serbia lost to them also! Although I'm willing to bet they went down with a bit of a fight and perhaps a few meaningful shots on target!

21-03-2019, 06:51 PM
Do you feel that way about any sub coming on with ten mins to go, when a team is out the game? As opposed to it just being because it’s our player. Not meaning to sound arsey, just interested. I guess he’d have been criticised for not using subs when almost the whole team deserved to be taken off?

Either way not a very glorious debut for Marc!

3-0 down with 10 mins to play, better to give him maybe 30 mins?

21-03-2019, 07:00 PM
Belgium 1 Russia 0

oooh Belgium 1 Russia 1

keeper badly mucked up there

21-03-2019, 07:06 PM

48p for a pint ? i'd be wrecked on £3

21-03-2019, 07:20 PM
Absolute embarrassment of a result i'd be tempted to take drastic action and withdraw the national team from all competitive action until further notice. We are a shambles at international level, that result today is probably as bad as it gets.

Utter disgrace, the whole lot of them should be embarrassed and can't complain if they are dropped for Sunday.

21-03-2019, 07:31 PM
penalty Belgium 2-1

21-03-2019, 07:35 PM
48p for a pint ? i'd be wrecked on £3
You must be younger than me - I'd be wrecked on 48p......

21-03-2019, 07:47 PM
You must be younger than me - I'd be wrecked on 48p......

i'm taking into account that the pints may be low ABV, if it's stella i would be wrecked on £1.44

21-03-2019, 08:18 PM
i'm taking into account that the pints may be low ABV, if it's stella i would be wrecked on £1.44

I have a fridge full of Stella for visitors. I never touch the muck but my neighbour visits quite often....😁

21-03-2019, 08:28 PM
Northern Ireland's kids clearly not playing Playstations and Xboxes, beating Estonia (ranked 21 places higher than Kazakhstan) 2-0.

21-03-2019, 08:30 PM
Northern Ireland's kids clearly not playing Playstations and Xboxes, beating Estonia (ranked 21 places higher than Kazakhstan) 2-0.

They have stronger genetics than us. We have to look at the genes

21-03-2019, 08:32 PM

We have to check the "no ball games" signs per head of population as well, that must be it.

21-03-2019, 08:32 PM
3-1 Belgium on 87 mins

21-03-2019, 08:33 PM
3-1 Belgium on 87 mins

We absolutely need Belgium to win every game now. Actually, no we don't. It doesn't matter.

21-03-2019, 08:37 PM
We absolutely need Belgium to win every game now. Actually, no we don't. It doesn't matter.

:agree: the Russians will beat us, i'm not even very hopeful of beating the Cypriots

21-03-2019, 08:41 PM

We have as much chance of qualifying as San Marino i.e. no chance.

We're simply in these qualification groups to make up the numbers.

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 08:42 PM
Willie Miller said that the players looked disinterested and that is probably the most daming indictment I've heard so far. If a player is not interested in playing for the national team what is the point of getting on the plane in the first place.

21-03-2019, 08:43 PM
We have as much chance of qualifying as San Marino i.e. no chance.

We're simply in these qualification groups to make up the numbers.

It's absolutely criminal that our qualification campaign was ended after nine minutes.

Nine. Minutes.

vuefrom1875
21-03-2019, 08:46 PM
Willie Miller said that the players looked disinterested and that is probably the most daming indictment I've heard so far. If a player is not interested in playing for the national team what is the point of getting on the plane in the first place.

Who cares🤔

Besties Debut
21-03-2019, 08:48 PM
Who cares🤔Obviously no the ones in dark blue

vuefrom1875
21-03-2019, 08:49 PM

Perhaps Dr.Mengele?

21-03-2019, 08:51 PM

Most of them don’t give a toss about playing for Scotland these days.

Having agreements with English clubs that we won’t play their players on a plastic pitch is nonsense as well. Weak management. The players should have been told to turn up or not bother next time.

21-03-2019, 09:53 PM
This thread has made me feel depressed. And I'm not in Scotland!

21-03-2019, 10:04 PM

Win bonus.

WestStandhibee
21-03-2019, 10:25 PM

He also thinks McLeish should get to take charge of the playoff next year which is an even bigger indictment

tonyrougier123
21-03-2019, 10:29 PM
The scary thing for me was that was them interested.just tactically and physically outclassed by a team that had a gameplan.

vuefrom1875
21-03-2019, 11:46 PM
Obviously no the ones in dark blue

Correct.

goosefat
22-03-2019, 05:27 AM
Things to do whilst Scotland are playing:

1. Rewind video tapes
2. Sort socks
3. Defrost the freezer
4. Tax return
5. Straighten all the pictures on your walls
6. Power wash the decking

Slavers
22-03-2019, 05:37 AM
They should call it a day and go with a British team if this is what the Scottish team has become.

22-03-2019, 05:54 AM
Things to do whilst Scotland are playing:

1. Rewind video tapes
2. Sort socks
3. Defrost the freezer
4. Tax return
5. Straighten all the pictures on your walls
6. Power wash the decking

7. Go for a tooth extraction.

22-03-2019, 05:55 AM
Most of them don’t give a toss about playing for Scotland these days.

Having agreements with English clubs that we won’t play their players on a plastic pitch is nonsense as well. Weak management. The players should have been told to turn up or not bother next time.

My brother was talking to a former English premier league chairman recently, and he was talking about how the biggest challenge in football is to motivate multi-millionaires who have made it.

The list of call-offs and some of the reasons behind them were frankly disgraceful, but I think I understand what is going on.

The better, higher-profile players simply couldn't give a flying one about playing for Scotland. Players with something to prove, players with their big moves ahead of them rather than behind them will actually be interested but 30 odd year old Sheffield Wednesday players just aren't going to be interested in playing for Scotland alongside Aberdeen players.

The gameplan was crap, the players disinterested and the tactics hopeless but McLeish can only do what he can with whoever decides to turn up, and I can't see any more players being interested under another manager.

It pains me to say it as I used to follow the national side fervently but theses guys who follow the team home and away are getting the utter pish ripped out them. Football is in the process of selling its soul and this is just another symptom of the decline.

22-03-2019, 06:01 AM
This is what happens when you an association settles for a succession of out-of-job, old-school managers, who can’t keep a job for more than 6 months at a time. Fair enough, they tried to get O’Neill but they immediately fell back into default mode as soon as he said no.

22-03-2019, 06:04 AM
Carlton Palmers laddie.

No relation

22-03-2019, 06:08 AM
This is what happens when you an association settles for a succession of out-of-job, old-school managers, who can’t keep a job for more than 6 months at a time. Fair enough, they tried to get O’Neill but they immediately fell back into default mode as soon as he said no.

The appointment of Eck was bizarre he hadn't had a job in about 8 years which you would have thought would have been a concern. Maybe the Sfa president (you know the miserable wee guy who gave us the cup) organising McLeishs testimonial as a player had more to do with it. Beyond embarrassing. Strachan should have stayed unless we were getting better in.

22-03-2019, 06:27 AM

Totally agree - in the last few years we've seen the Hun cheating for, at least, a decade, yet still in the Scottish game ??. We haven't qualified for the WC/EC since 1998 - but has anyone at the GFA been sacked or demoted for such appalling 'governance' ?. Have they *** !. I seem to remember something about them hiring Henry McLeish to 'Save our game' but, no big shock, nothing of note emerged from that. Our game/organisation is just a farce - it's sole purpose is to ensure that the 'Status Quo' of all the honours being handed to one or the other of the 'Old S*um' and for the blazers to fly business-class and stay in 5-star hotels at all the big games - big games that almost never involve Scotland !

Until the GFA are wiped out, our game is going nowhere except further downhill !

22-03-2019, 06:54 AM
Quote "Graeme Shinnie has said he can’t see himself getting back in the Scotland side after the national team’s nightmare in Astana"

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/scots-are-put-to-sword-by-team-ranked-at-117th/

It really shows how far we've fallen as a footballing nation if we're down to selecting Graeme Shinnie, a 27 year old midfielder, for his first cap as an emergency left back. What's the point of that? Why select Lewis Stevenson at left back in the summer time, then don't consider him for this game.

Over the years, we've capped players who are nowhere near international class. In saying that, I'm including guys like Stevenson - good honest pro but never an international. And guys like McNulty - how can someone suddenly turn up at Hibs and play well in a few games against teams of a similar standard and then suddenly become an internationalist.

22-03-2019, 06:58 AM
Quote "Graeme Shinnie has said he can’t see himself getting back in the Scotland side after the national team’s nightmare in Astana"

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/scots-are-put-to-sword-by-team-ranked-at-117th/

It really shows how far we've fallen as a footballing nation if we're down to selecting Graeme Shinnie, a 27 year old midfielder, for his first cap as an emergency left back. What's the point of that? Why select Lewis Stevenson at left back in the summer time, then don't consider him for this game.

Over the years, we've capped players who are nowhere near international class. In saying that, I'm including guys like Stevenson - good honest pro but never an international. And guys like McNulty - how can someone suddenly turn up at Hibs and play well in a few games against teams of a similar standard and then suddenly become an internationalist.

Shinnie has played for Scotland before I am sure. There was an almighty clamour for him to be selected for Scotland a couple of years back with Kris Boyd famously commenting he shouldn't be. While agreeing that was as a defensive midfielder he has played a good number of years before as a left back and the way he and McKenna were caught out was pub league stuff. Straight ball over the top, ball inside the full back are basics.

22-03-2019, 06:59 AM
Who cried out of this Scotland squad? Can someone produce a list along with their excuses?

22-03-2019, 07:00 AM

It wasnt his first cap and he has played a lot of club games at LB so it's not as if it's a new position for him, he just had a bad game and isn't a very good defender, I agree that Stevenson should have been in with a shout when Tierney and Robertson withdrew but he was never going to get the call up with the game so far away

Why shouldn't McNulty be in the squad? Surely you pick players who are playing well at the time and are in form? There's no point in picking players just because of who they are or what team they play for

22-03-2019, 07:16 AM

Shinnie was woeful for all 3 goals, his defensive work wasn't good enough to be pub league level.

A "good honest pro" stands in the right place, know how to hold a line and doesn't let his man get goal side of him and get a jump on the centre half for the third goal.

A "good honest pro" provides little spark in the final third and we're picking the bones of a still unacceptable 0-0 draw rather than a 3-0 defeat.

22-03-2019, 07:27 AM
This is what happens when you an association settles for a succession of out-of-job, old-school managers, who can’t keep a job for more than 6 months at a time. Fair enough, they tried to get O’Neill but they immediately fell back into default mode as soon as he said no.And the guys who run the show are a self appointing mix of amateur bowling club officials and lodge members who shouldn't be anywhere near the size of budget and business they are running.

No real change anytime soon as turkey's don't vote for Xmas.

22-03-2019, 07:34 AM
Totally agree - in the last few years we've seen the Hun cheating for, at least, a decade, yet still in the Scottish game ??. We haven't qualified for the WC/EC since 1998 - but has anyone at the GFA been sacked or demoted for such appalling 'governance' ?. Have they *** !. I seem to remember something about them hiring Henry McLeish to 'Save our game' but, no big shock, nothing of note emerged from that. Our game/organisation is just a farce - it's sole purpose is to ensure that the 'Status Quo' of all the honours being handed to one or the other of the 'Old S*um' and for the blazers to fly business-class and stay in 5-star hotels at all the big games - big games that almost never involve Scotland !

Until the GFA are wiped out, our game is going nowhere except further downhill !

Exactly mate. Sacking manager after manager and blaming the players is missing the target.

An empty Hampden for the next year or so would send a message but nothing will change under the SFA.

22-03-2019, 07:41 AM
I would put yesterday on a par with Costa Rica as the worst result ever. We had a much better team back then. The draw against the Faroe Islands is up there too.

22-03-2019, 08:16 AM
Who cried out of this Scotland squad? Can someone produce a list along with their excuses?

Ryan Fraser & Callum Paterson - in the squad but excused from playing on plastic pitch
Andrew Robertson, Barry Bannan, Charlie Mulgrew & Jordan Archer - picked then withdrew (Robertson aiming to join up for Sunday's game)
Kieran Tierney - travelled but not fit to play - doubt for Sunday
Steven Fletcher - playing regularly and scoring for Sheff Wed but club wanted him excused on medical grounds
Steven Naismith, Ryan Christie & Craig Gordon - injured, Leigh Griffiths still on his break
Tom Cairney, Matt Ritchie, Robert Snodgrass - all apparently not interested. James McArthur packed it in
Allan McGregor - retired from internationals

22-03-2019, 08:22 AM
Everyone having a right laugh at our expense; can't say I blame them.

"Brexit is taking years; Scexit took nine minutes". :no way:

22-03-2019, 08:29 AM
Ryan Fraser & Callum Paterson - in the squad but excused from playing on plastic pitch
Andrew Robertson, Barry Bannan, Charlie Mulgrew & Jordan Archer - picked then withdrew (Robertson aiming to join up for Sunday's game)
Steven Fletcher - playing regularly and scoring for Sheff Wed but club wanted him excused on medical grounds
Steven Naismith, Ryan Christie & Craig Gordon - injured, Leigh Griffiths still on his break
Tom Cairney, Matt Ritchie, Robert Snodgrass - all apparently not interested. James McArthur packed it in

Thanks, that is a sorry list. We are capable of putting out a much better team then that played yesterday! I appreciate the manner in which we played may not have changed or the result!
Players being excused from playing on a plastic pitch, WTF is that all about?? And those players supposedly not interested, it would be interesting to hear their reasons why

22-03-2019, 08:29 AM
Really don't understand why the captain of Aberdeen getting picked for Scotland is surprising? He's always their best player against us. He had a nightmare, it happens.

The idea was actually fine, Shinnies execution was just rubbish. He's not suddenly hopeless.

22-03-2019, 08:36 AM

That list sums up the lack of interest towards playing for Scotland although I think playing for McLeish has a lot to do with it.

Can’t ever remember a time when so many didn’t want to turn up. The reasons for Fletcher, Fraser and Paterson are an absolute joke.

22-03-2019, 08:43 AM
Really don't understand why the captain of Aberdeen getting picked for Scotland is surprising? He's always their best player against us. He had a nightmare, it happens.

The idea was actually fine, Shinnies execution was just rubbish. He's not suddenly hopeless.

Should play him in his best position then. Calum Mcgregor has hardly played for Celtic recently he’s been injured

22-03-2019, 08:48 AM
I heard someone say that Scotland are in the playoffs anyway? Surely not? How does that work? Im so out of touch with international football, mainly through lack of interest. Imagine we played a team like France or Germany... deary me.

22-03-2019, 09:08 AM
Scotland are the Hearts of international football. Bottle merchants. Infact was Craig Levein not the Scotland manager at one time?

22-03-2019, 09:19 AM
I heard someone say that Scotland are in the playoffs anyway? Surely not? How does that work? Im so out of touch with international football, mainly through lack of interest. Imagine we played a team like France or Germany... deary me.

We are in the play-offs because we topped our Nations League group that were played late last year to replace boring friendlies. We play Finland in the Semi-Finals. Beat them and then the other finalist then we're through to the Euros.

To be honest, we should turn our attention to the Play-Offs and forget the traditional way of qualification.

22-03-2019, 09:21 AM

Quite a list.

Digressing slightly, but there's surely never been such a depressing gap in quality between us and the old enemy.

This weekend England are likely to have a combination of Raheem Sterling, Jadon Sancho on each flank with Rashford and Kane up front and a bunch of young exciting talent brought up from South London cage football waiting to make their breakthrough as well. It's such an exciting lineup it's almost enough to make want to support them.

Our best chance of us keeping anywhere near their level is if Pickford keeps chucking balls in his own net.

22-03-2019, 09:22 AM

Maybe my comment about him and McNulty came out wrong. Whilst they may be the best around, they are nowhere near good enough for international level. That's what depressing me more and more. Scotland are on an alarming decline.

22-03-2019, 09:25 AM
Maybe my comment about him and McNulty came out wrong. Whilst they may be the best around, they are nowhere near good enough for international level. That's what depressing me more and more. Scotland are on an alarming decline.

I hate agreeing with MW:greengrin but he's right on this occasion. Shinnie has been in the form of his life this season, dominates games whenever I see him. Even though it's SPL level he absolutely should be in the team on current form. Last night probably an aberration.

22-03-2019, 09:28 AM
As a huge Scotland fan, who wants us to do well in every game, there has to be a time where it just has to change.

I know turkeys dont vote for xmas, but we simply cant keep doing the same things over and over.

The people in charge at the top are just not fit for purpose, who are these people accountable too?

We are a laughing stock all over the world, and its under their watch this has happened.

These people are spreading apathy all over the country, when folk like me are not giving two ****s on how we do anymore, they need to be very worried.

Scottish football is corrupt, i dont see how it will ever change while its run by these people.

22-03-2019, 09:29 AM

So how good do you have to be to be good enough to play international level?

22-03-2019, 09:38 AM

I agree, Shinnie is a very good player by our standards, but once again we have a manager who puts square pegs in round holes.

GJP played Robertson at left back and Tierney centre half recently, in the past we've had managers play left backs at right back to play players in the team just because of who they were.

Shinnie has been superb all season in midfield, why not pick a left back to play left back and get Shinnie in where he's played so well, or is that too simple?

Scotland are pish, not as pish as we could be, but there is apathy amongst the players and the fans.

Both are not turning up now, and while i can see why the fans might not want to watch some of the pish we've had to endure, there is a reason why some of the players are not bothering to come and play for us.

And that is a much bigger worry that needs addressed very quickly but i wont hold my breath.

green with envy
22-03-2019, 09:44 AM
I hate agreeing with MW:greengrin but he's right on this occasion. Shinnie has been in the form of his life this season, dominates games whenever I see him. Even though it's SPL level he absolutely should be in the team on current form. Last night probably an aberration.

He dominates his games from midfield, not LB. This is where the issue applies.

22-03-2019, 09:49 AM
I agree, Shinnie is a very good player by our standards, but once again we have a manager who puts square pegs in round holes.

GJP played Robertson at left back and Tierney centre half recently, in the past we've had managers play left backs at right back to play players in the team just because of who they were.

Shinnie has been superb all season in midfield, why not pick a left back to play left back and get Shinnie in where he's played so well, or is that too simple?

Scotland are pish, not as pish as we could be, but there is apathy amongst the players and the fans.

Both are not turning up now, and while i can see why the fans might not want to watch some of the pish we've had to endure, there is a reason why some of the players are not bothering to come and play for us.

And that is a much bigger worry that needs addressed very quickly but i wont hold my breath.

This absolutely. Asking good players to play in the wrong position doesn't work. If your kid was having an operation on their foot you wouldn't ask a brain surgeon to do it "because he is the best doctor we have available" you get a foot specialist. I don't want the best player available to play at left back, I want the best left back. It's so bloody simple. Heck has come in and transformed Hibs results, by picking a consistent team and putting players in positions they are comfortable with and playing to a plan. When that plan doesn't work..you speak clearly to the players and tell them the new plan. The Ginger Judas doesn't even have a plan in the first place. The players don't have faith in him, he inspires no confidence and his reaction to the defeat was pathetic.

SFA out, Eck out ( and I'm a bloody happy clapper !)

22-03-2019, 09:53 AM
Everyone having a right laugh at our expense; can't say I blame them.

"Brexit is taking years; Scexit took nine minutes". :no way:

we're a laughing stock :agree:and it hurts

and we all know things will just carry on as normal, the ones at the top don't appear to give a flying ****

22-03-2019, 09:58 AM
International level is nothing special. International level isn't just Spain and France, it's also San Marino and Gibraltar.

International level is the 23 best players available to Scotland. Shinnie on form is easily one of those

22-03-2019, 10:08 AM
He dominates his games from midfield, not LB. This is where the issue applies.

That's true, but I read the earlier criticism as criticism of the selection itself.

22-03-2019, 10:08 AM
International level is nothing special. International level isn't just Spain and France, it's also San Marino and Gibraltar.

International level is the 23 best players available to Scotland. Shinnie on form is easily one of those

Shinnie is a fantastic player who is in excellent form and nobody, especially on here, would begrudge a club captain of a decent Scottish side being a first pick under those circumstances.

He's played left back before, he's played with McKenna many times before, so it wasn't absolute insanity to play him there in the first place.

The problem is, now we have the benefit of hindsight, it is easy to criticise the decision to play him at LB and I'm sure McLeish would acknowledge he had an absolute stinker there.

He should have been in midfield where we were also woeful. I have had a fair few arguments with my Dons-supporting mate about who is better between Shinnie and SJM but I think they'd make a powerful, dynamic midfield pair that you really wouldn't want to mess with, along with someone else.

delbert
22-03-2019, 10:18 AM

Don’t be too down, I hear Ernie Walker’s think tank will be reporting before the end of the year with all the answers !

22-03-2019, 10:22 AM

Correct. Not being funny but Lewis Stevenson was fit and available. Why not call him up?

22-03-2019, 10:23 AM
Shinnie is a fantastic player who is in excellent form and nobody, especially on here, would begrudge a club captain of a decent Scottish side being a first pick under those circumstances.

He's played left back before, he's played with McKenna many times before, so it wasn't absolute insanity to play him there in the first place.

The problem is, now we have the benefit of hindsight, it is easy to criticise the decision to play him at LB and I'm sure McLeish would acknowledge he had an absolute stinker there.

He should have been in midfield where we were also woeful. I have had a fair few arguments with my Dons-supporting mate about who is better between Shinnie and SJM but I think they'd make a powerful, dynamic midfield pair that you really wouldn't want to mess with, along with someone else.

:top marks I've always thought Shinnie and McGinn would be a great destructive and creative pair in front of the back four. That's the thing about this Scotland ****show, there is talent in there. Not exactly lions led by donkeys, but not far off. ****ing ginger Judas donkeys.

scooby
22-03-2019, 10:33 AM
As a huge Scotland fan, who wants us to do well in every game, there has to be a time where it just has to change.

I know turkeys dont vote for xmas, but we simply cant keep doing the same things over and over.

The people in charge at the top are just not fit for purpose, who are these people accountable too?

We are a laughing stock all over the world, and its under their watch this has happened.

These people are spreading apathy all over the country, when folk like me are not giving two ****s on how we do anymore, they need to be very worried.

Scottish football is corrupt, i dont see how it will ever change while its run by these people.

Bang on the money BH.
It's so ******* bad that my kids support England in major tournaments, and I'm struggling for reasons why they shouldn't.

Boot the blazers out!

Liam978
22-03-2019, 10:35 AM
:top marks I've always thought Shinnie and McGinn would be a great destructive and creative pair in front of the back four. That's the thing about this Scotland ****show, there is talent in there. Not exactly lions led by donkeys, but not far off. ****ing ginger Judas donkeys.

Rumour has it that he is to be invited onto the cabinet to get us out of Europe.

22-03-2019, 11:29 AM

:agree: and Shinnie being selected at LB, rightly or wrongly, doesn't explain why the remainder of the team played so badly.

There's more than McLeish and the SFA to blame for last night's calamity.

22-03-2019, 11:34 AM
3-0 down with 10 mins to play, better to give him maybe 30 mins?

Absolutely - if it was up to me he'd have started the game.

22-03-2019, 11:55 AM

I am the same I was and suppose still want to be a big Scotland fan. However you could not pay me enough to go to Hampden now. It is very sad when there is virtually no interest in the National team.

I think the SFA will get the message LOUD and CLEAR when we play Cyprus and under 20,000 turn up. McLeish was never going to be the answer the SFA buckled to public and media pressure by not asking Strachan to stay when it was clear there was progress and the players actually wanted to play for him. If the SFA had a backbone they would have given him another go.

There is no way players are going to turn out for McLeish for the rest of this campaign they may come back as we near the playoffs. If we fail to beat Finland or Noway and dont then win the next play off game I really fear for the future. I can see reegular crowds of under 10,000.

22-03-2019, 12:01 PM

I dont understand all the posts saying Shinnie is a "fantastic" player. He is a spoiler who wanders around the pitch kicking the oppositioin and appears to be invisible to Scottish refs.

I would call him a few things but never fantastic - At SPFL level he is good he would never get near an international squad if I was picking.

22-03-2019, 12:16 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190322/a8c17fbe3341c7fff782a80e509dea54.jpg
I suppose we should be grateful he is busy with the SFA and not us.

22-03-2019, 12:37 PM
Don’t be too down, I hear Ernie Walker’s think tank will be reporting before the end of the year with all the answers !Maybe he'll recommend getting that dodgy Dave guy at Sevco to come out from under
the table and officially running the show rather than doing it by smoke and mirrors?

He's already passed the fit and protestant person test.

euro Hibby
22-03-2019, 04:19 PM
Have to go with Sammy on the shinnie thing, Ok player in the spl , sometimes good but never fantastic..

22-03-2019, 04:25 PM
Have to go with Sammy on the shinnie thing, Ok player in the spl , sometimes good but never fantastic..

He's a very influential player - when he is missing Aberdeen go to pieces. Our only decent results against them in recent years have come when he's been missing.

Exactly the type of player you need throughout your team at international level.

That boils down to so much more than lenient refereeing.

euro Hibby
22-03-2019, 04:30 PM
maybe I am too influenced by his woeful game against Kazakistan albeit it was at leftback. Nobody was good for scotland that is the tragedy.

22-03-2019, 04:34 PM
He's a very influential player - when he is missing Aberdeen go to pieces. Our only decent results against them in recent years have come when he's been missing.

Exactly the type of player you need throughout your team at international level.

That boils down to so much more than lenient refereeing.

He is a decent player no doubt but he's pretty much played centre midfield for the past 3 years. He's not a left back anymore and he struggled badly.

22-03-2019, 04:45 PM
He is a decent player no doubt but he's pretty much played centre midfield for the past 3 years. He's not a left back anymore and he struggled badly.

I'm not defending his performance last night - it was a few levels below garbage.

He's played well against Hibs at LB before although not for a few years.

I just think he's a good player and worthy of a pace in his best position for our national side.

Put it this way, in spite of how last night played out I doubt that Kazakhstan have better in that position.

22-03-2019, 04:57 PM
Don’t be too down, I hear Ernie Walker’s think tank will be reporting before the end of the year with all the answers !

22-03-2019, 04:58 PM
I dont understand all the posts saying Shinnie is a "fantastic" player. He is a spoiler who wanders around the pitch kicking the oppositioin and appears to be invisible to Scottish refs.

I would call him a few things but never fantastic - At SPFL level he is good he would never get near an international squad if I was picking.

His best attribute is his ridiculous engine, up and down the field all game with no appreciable drop in energy levels.

22-03-2019, 05:02 PM
I'm not defending his performance last night - it was a few levels below garbage.

He's played well against Hibs at LB before although not for a few years.

I just think he's a good player and worthy of a pace in his best position for our national side.

Put it this way, in spite of how last night played out I doubt that Kazakhstan have better in that position.

If Hibs could sign Shinnie or one of
Forrest, Fraser, McTominey,McGinn,Snodgrass,Armstrong,McGregor,Burk e,Allan,Henderson,McGeoch

How many times would you pick Shinnie and yes I know they are not like for like.

22-03-2019, 06:14 PM
If Hibs could sign Shinnie or one of
Forrest, Fraser, McTominey,McGinn,Snodgrass,Armstrong,McGregor,Burk e,Allan,Henderson,McGeoch

How many times would you pick Shinnie and yes I know they are not like for like.

I've probably seen more of Shinnie than the rest of them, but -

Quite a few.

Yes, honestly.

McGinn and Shinnie are excellent, energetic box to box midfielders.

22-03-2019, 06:18 PM
I've probably seen more of Shinnie than the rest of them, but -

Quite a few.

Yes, honestly.

McGinn and Shinnie are excellent, energetic box to box midfielders.

I am glad we have a new manager on a long contract :wink::wink: