View Full Version : Weather

crash
16-03-2019, 06:39 AM
Snow, sleet and rain today. Pitch will take a doing.
Extra top on today:big grin:

16-03-2019, 06:44 AM
Hats scarves and gloves weather :thumbsup:

HibeeHibernian4
16-03-2019, 07:06 AM
Hail or snow or thunderstorms I’d go...

16-03-2019, 07:08 AM
What's the weather like in the metropolis of Leith. ? Is there any snow?

It's a bit dodgy at the moment out in the sticks.

16-03-2019, 07:14 AM

Forecast in Leith mostly rain though pitch not looking the best so hopefully drains ok.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2644641

I am in West Lothian and currently snow but forecast for rain from about 10.

16-03-2019, 07:14 AM
No snow in Leith, just a freezing cold rain with sharp winds. Expecting sleet at some point.

16-03-2019, 07:15 AM
Duddingston it’s sleet/snow and although melted its volume is starting to lie on cold ground roads clear tho. listen to weather reports but probably wise to plan for extra journey times - we just don’t deal winter v well.

16-03-2019, 07:34 AM
Fairly heavy snow on the outskirts of Falkirk right now hope it goes off soon otherwise I might be struggling.

16-03-2019, 07:37 AM
Have they got these on?
https://youtu.be/P-CrxtjTK7A

16-03-2019, 07:40 AM
2.2° just now and the earlier sleet is more snow now although it's not lying. Not much wind.

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

16-03-2019, 07:51 AM
Its lying on the roads and gardens in EH9, however it will be a slushy mess in 2 hours, shouldnt be any issues

seanshow
16-03-2019, 07:52 AM
In the Big housing estate we call Livvy, heavy snow for the last hour and the roads are already treacherous, also the train line has been goosed between Bathgate and Edinburgh and only just fixed.
Events are conspiring against people getting to the game..including me :cb

16-03-2019, 07:54 AM
Heavy Eh 16

16-03-2019, 07:56 AM

Never mind the sticks, it's dodgy in the middle of Glasgow just now. I'm driving through and glad I've still got my winter tyres :)

16-03-2019, 07:57 AM
Snowing in Dunfermline, nothing lying on the roads or pavements,just lying in the gardens . Should be ok

16-03-2019, 07:57 AM
Heavy snow in Larbert, a wee bit concerned.

16-03-2019, 07:58 AM
Snowing in Leith, I can almost see the stadium from here. Nothing too bad though.

16-03-2019, 08:01 AM
Very heavy snow in Craigie Hill Perth at the moment.

Jakhog1
16-03-2019, 08:06 AM
In the Big housing estate we call Livvy, heavy snow for the last hour and the roads are already treacherous, also the train line has been goosed between Bathgate and Edinburgh and only just fixed.
Events are conspiring against people getting to the game..including me :cb

Out in Livingston as well, was thinking of getting Lothian country bus to Princess Street from Livingston, looks like it takes about 90 minutes from where I am, snow is pretty bad the now.

16-03-2019, 08:07 AM
I suspect the issue is more likely to be the snow elsewhere that might hinder Motherwell and their fans getting through rather than what it's like in Leith. Fingers crossed the game goes ahead.

Blackfordhibby
16-03-2019, 08:10 AM
Snawing in Dunning at the moment, if it's any help.

16-03-2019, 08:10 AM
Lying snow in Peebles but it looks like its about to turn to sleet. Could be an interesting journey in albeit my mate has offered to drive as he has a 4 wheel vehicle.

16-03-2019, 08:11 AM
Snowing city centre,lying as slush

16-03-2019, 08:12 AM
Lying snow in Peebles but it looks like its about to turn to sleet. Could be an interesting journey in albeit my mate has offered to drive as he has a 4 wheel vehicle.

A 4 wheel vehicle like a car? 😜

16-03-2019, 08:16 AM
Out in Livingston as well, was thinking of getting Lothian country bus to Princess Street from Livingston, looks like it takes about 90 minutes from where I am, snow is pretty bad the now.

Think the Bathgate line has been fixed assume trains will run normally. Also trains on Livi south line will be running. If you get train about quarter to the hour it only stops at hay market and Waverley so could easily get to game by getting train about quarter to 2.

skyhibs
16-03-2019, 08:17 AM
Very snowy in Cowdenbeath

LustForLeith
16-03-2019, 08:17 AM
I suspect the issue is more likely to be the snow elsewhere that might hinder Motherwell and their fans getting through rather than what it's like in Leith. Fingers crossed the game goes ahead.

That’s what I’m thinking. I’m sure games have been called off for the safety of away fans. I’m uslesss with geography, what’s the weather like through that way and on the motorway here?

16-03-2019, 08:22 AM
Pretty heavy and lying in my area of Corstorphine Hill just now.

Jakhog1
16-03-2019, 08:22 AM
Think the Bathgate line has been fixed assume trains will run normally. Also trains on Livi south line will be running. If you get train about quarter to the hour it only stops at hay market and Waverley so could easily get to game by getting train about quarter to 2.

Would have to get the Livy north line, will have a check for times, cheers for the update

16-03-2019, 08:23 AM
Snow lying in EH15.

Not relevant to anything really but I just wanted to join in.

Fuzzywuzzy
16-03-2019, 08:24 AM
Pretty heavy and lying in my area of Corstorphine Hill just now.

Go sledging instead

16-03-2019, 08:26 AM
Go sledging instead

Digging out the sledge as we speak

16-03-2019, 08:27 AM
That’s what I’m thinking. I’m sure games have been called off for the safety of away fans. I’m uslesss with geography, what’s the weather like through that way and on the motorway here?

If the paths round ER were icy and dangerous, but they wont be.

16-03-2019, 08:28 AM
Will be fine by kick off! No need to panic!

16-03-2019, 08:29 AM

Looks like similar forecast through there snow then mostly rain so assume travel not much of an issue.

Berwickhibby
16-03-2019, 08:31 AM
Absolutely bleaching it down in Kelty

16-03-2019, 08:34 AM
It’s lying as slush at the stadium just now, shouldn’t be a problem but I guess it depends how heavy it gets and how long it goes on for.

HibeeHibernian4
16-03-2019, 08:35 AM
Good thing we use up all our bad weather during the much loved winter break, because Scotland of course famously only ever has three weeks of bad weather and they are always the first three weeks of January. Definitely not just appeasing Celtic so they can **** off to Dubai for a nice wee rest.

16-03-2019, 08:39 AM
Good thing we use up all our bad weather during the much loved winter break, because Scotland of course famously only ever has three weeks of bad weather and they are always the first three weeks of January. Definitely not just appeasing Celtic so they can **** off to Dubai for a nice wee rest.

The winter break is not about trying to dodge bad weather. I’m amazed people think this way. It’s mostly about football reasons

LustForLeith
If the paths round ER were icy and dangerous, but they wont be.

I’m sure t was the Rangers game last season in December (mid week game) and the paths were brutal. We were in the Sainsbury’s car pro and had to go right round the east to get to it after the game and the place was like an ice rink. Someone I knew fell and smashed his elbow, off work for ages!

On the day I need to get through to Glasgow airport ffs!.

Right how do i pin this on Petrie? :greengrin

HibeeHibernian4
16-03-2019, 08:42 AM
The winter break is not about trying to dodge bad weather. I’m amazed people think this way. It’s mostly about football reasons

They should call it something other than ‘the winter break’, then.

‘The mid-season break’, perhaps.

Or, if they’re being really honest, ‘the break that allows clubs to go and have a wee kickabout and an Instagram post in countries with massive human rights abuses while the proles twiddle their thumbs with no football to enjoy for three weeks’.

HibeeHibernian4
16-03-2019, 08:44 AM

If Petrie had built the helipad like we demanded, you wouldn’t need to be getting a flight from Glasgow today. :greengrin

16-03-2019, 08:45 AM

They should do away with the winter break. Clubs end up playing 8 matches in a December, stop for 3 weeks and then end up rusty in their first Scottish cup game. It's just daft.

16-03-2019, 08:50 AM
They should do away with the winter break. Clubs end up playing 8 matches in a December, stop for 3 weeks and then end up rusty in their first Scottish cup game. It's just daft.

Maybe the players and managers are in favour of a break and some warm weather training mid season? I see a lot of fans moaning but I've never heard the opinion of a player

stuart-farquhar
16-03-2019, 08:52 AM

There's one nearby with planes and
everything!

16-03-2019, 08:55 AM
Very cold and snowy here in Haddington.

I’m working today until half 3 so from a purely selfish point of view a call off would do me as I’d get to the re arranged game!

16-03-2019, 08:57 AM
Heavy snow lying in EH17, been snowing for last few hours. Can't see the pentlands. Roads thick with slush.

16-03-2019, 08:59 AM
I thought the winter-break was established so that Celtc and The Rangers could arrange money spinning friendlies in January.

As for the name...it's a break, and it's in winter, so calling it The Winter Break seems quite logical to me. ;)

16-03-2019, 09:01 AM
steady, but fine snow here in PH16

source :wink:

https://www.pitlochrywebcam.co.uk/

16-03-2019, 09:01 AM

16-03-2019, 09:05 AM
My Dad's driving back from Tarbert and now won't make it in time, so that's the first cut to our attendance! I'll be getting the train in instead of driving.

16-03-2019, 09:17 AM
Absolutely fine round ER way. The snow - which wasn’t lying - is now turning to rain. Damp and miserable.

16-03-2019, 09:20 AM
Absolutely fine round ER way. The snow - which wasn’t lying - is now turning to rain. Damp and miserable.

Sunshine on Leith.

16-03-2019, 09:31 AM

There’s a Convoy of stolen mobility scooters and quad bikes coming in from Gilmerton :)

16-03-2019, 09:44 AM

Some daft *ugger omitted to put the word "drive" in my errant post.

inglisavhibs
16-03-2019, 09:45 AM
My Dad's driving back from Tarbert and now won't make it in time, so that's the first cut to our attendance! I'll be getting the train in instead of driving.
No word of problems on the main roads?

16-03-2019, 09:54 AM
Roads now fine. Rain on and has cleared some of the snow .

The Pointer
16-03-2019, 09:55 AM

On the bus to Glasgow from Mid Argyll and nothing yet, although I'd expect the Rest to be covered.

16-03-2019, 10:06 AM
Edinburgh is improving - game will be on.

Though I would wrap up - decent socks - hat and warm gloves!

MASSIVE GAME :agree:

16-03-2019, 10:28 AM
Dreich and dark. A good game of football to lift the mood :aok:

16-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Weather has been pretty bad in LA for a few weeks - lots of rain and cooler temps. I was laughing during 3 weeks in South America that we missed it but a thunder storm fried a couple of amps in our home theater system. Must remember to unplug it all the next time we take off.

It's been much cooler at the tennis near Palm Springs too. Last weekend I wore a thin fleece and hat at night. The weather would have been ideal for Andy Murray had he not been afflicted with his hip problems. He always looked like he struggled with the heat here. I saw his mum while we were leaving the Hyatt last Monday and was gutted I didn't have a Hibs jersey on.

16-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Parked up outside Easter Road just now, it's raining now and hardly and sign of lying snow. No issues with the game being on.

16-03-2019, 11:38 AM
Weather is fine on the walk. Spitting down, no wind. Pitch should have a zip about it which will suit us more than them.

16-03-2019, 11:44 AM
Stj v st mirren postponed.

davhibby
16-03-2019, 11:50 AM
The pitch hasn't been great recently, good job there's no game for over a fortnight after today

16-03-2019, 11:52 AM
The pitch hasn't been great recently, good job there's no game for over a fortnight after today

I wonder if there’s any plans to install/invest in a hybrid?

16-03-2019, 12:05 PM
It better be on

I'd be extremely psissed off if I stayed up to 2am to see the game on Hibs Tv, and it was called off!

16-03-2019, 12:08 PM
It better be on

I'd be extremely psissed off if I stayed up to 2am to see the game on Hibs Tv, and it was called off!

There’s not even a pitch inspection planned so you can rest easy.

16-03-2019, 12:16 PM
Not a spot of snow left on hoose roofs in EH8 which is a mile from the stadium.
Rain continues to fall.
A machine for suckin' up water oot o pitches would be very useful for fitba teams.

sauzee=legend
16-03-2019, 12:40 PM
A day of slide tackles!! Loved playing in this weather

16-03-2019, 12:41 PM
A day of slide tackles!! Loved playing in this weather
Could be the wrong ref for this (Clancy)????

16-03-2019, 12:45 PM
Dunfermline Vs Dundee Utd just been called off. Not long left Dunfermline myself and the weather no worse through there

16-03-2019, 12:48 PM
Raining hard noo at the stadium.
Wish ah'd brought ma brolly.

16-03-2019, 12:56 PM
This should be called off

16-03-2019, 12:57 PM

Why?

16-03-2019, 12:58 PM

Because it’s raining?

16-03-2019, 01:01 PM
Because travel conditions are dangerous

16-03-2019, 01:02 PM

I've just driven from Ayr to Edinburgh, breezed through. No danger on that journey.

16-03-2019, 01:03 PM

According to reports I don’t think they are that bad to be honest.

16-03-2019, 01:04 PM

Don’t travel then.

We’re really soft in this country when there is a bit of bad weather.

16-03-2019, 01:06 PM
Don’t travel then.

We’re really soft in this country when there is a bit of bad weather.

Already have smarty pants.

16-03-2019, 01:07 PM
Already have smarty pants.

Chill out.

16-03-2019, 01:08 PM
Chill out.

Am fine thanks.

16-03-2019, 01:12 PM
Rain still raking it doon in Leith
Swimmin' doon tae Easter Road fur the big game
Status Quo record playin' in the stadium at mo, "Rainin' All Over The World"

16-03-2019, 01:18 PM
Is the game still on? It's just that Iv seen a few fans headin away from the stadium.

16-03-2019, 01:21 PM

🤣 no they aren't.

Better tell my husband to stop working the taxi tonight cause it's a wee bit rain 🤣

Edit. Just saw post below, will take that back, obv causing a problem in places

PeeKay
16-03-2019, 01:23 PM

M8 closed east-bound at Whitburn - so maybe you have a point from a Motherwell perspective at least.

16-03-2019, 01:24 PM
M8 closed east-bound at Whitburn - so maybe you have a point from a Motherwell perspective at least.

That was a car crash

Tinribs
16-03-2019, 01:26 PM
M8 eastbound is stopped due to a multi vehicle crash, dunno if it was weather related though.

16-03-2019, 01:28 PM
Weather will put folk off going today.

16-03-2019, 01:29 PM
That was a car crash

Caused by ...?

16-03-2019, 01:35 PM
Caused by ...?

Probably the driver.

16-03-2019, 01:42 PM
In the ground now, light if any rain at all

Probably the driver.Or a mechanical defect, as my accident reconstruction expert friend used to say, the nut just behind the steering wheel.

Always very handy when driver error can't be accepted [emoji6]

Caused by ...?

Like most probably the driver.