View Full Version : Cheltenham 2019

DJ HIBBY
11-03-2019, 02:23 PM
Cheltenham starts tomorrow, the showpiece of the jumps racing! Really gutted not to be going this year after 2 amazing days last year. Let’s smash the bookies this year! What’s everyone’s tips? Heard good things for Irish horses Stand up and Fight and Sir Eric. Not a tip but after watching Laurina last year, really fancy her for Champion Hurdle. Also, I’ll probably be backing Native River for Gold Cup

11-03-2019, 02:51 PM
Cheltenham starts tomorrow, the showpiece of the jumps racing! Really gutted not to be going this year after 2 amazing days last year. Let’s smash the bookies this year! What’s everyone’s tips? Heard good things for Irish horses Stand up and Fight and Sir Eric. Not a tip but after watching Laurina last year, really fancy her for Champion Hurdle. Also, I’ll probably be backing Native River for Gold Cup

Mullins said yesterday that Laurina is every bit as good as Annie Power in her work. With the mares allowance I think she'll go close.

I like the look of Singlefarmpayment each way in the 2.50, he seems to run well in the big handicaps round Cheltenham.

I've not had a look at much else but the Supreme looks quite open and there are a few contenders in the Arkle as well.

12-03-2019, 06:50 AM
Today I think Benie Des Dieux will win comfortably. Best shot at each way I reckon is General Principle at 20/1 in the 2.50 (Paddy Power paying up to 6 places).

My tip of the week would be spiritofthegames at 10/1 in the Plate on Thursday.

12-03-2019, 10:22 AM
Skybet up to £20 money back on first race each day. Itchy Feet today.

12-03-2019, 10:29 AM
2.10 - Hardline @ 5/1
2.50 - Singlefarmpayment e/w @ 16/1
3.30 - Laurina @ 7/2

That's my 3 bets for today. A few races which are going to be great to watch but a nightmare from a punting point of view.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-03-2019, 10:45 AM
A massive novice when it comes to picking horses but I’ve backed;

Hardline in the 2.10 @ 5/1
and
MovewiththeTimes In the 4.50 @ 12/1

12-03-2019, 01:42 PM
Skybet up to £20 money back on first race each day. Itchy Feet today.

Cracking offer, took them up on it and stuck £20 on Klassical Dream @ 6s on my lunch break, absolutely cruised it - not a bad lunch time :aok:

12-03-2019, 08:01 PM
Just watched the Champion Hurdle. The winner has absolutely hammered them. Buveur D'Air fell at the 3rd, Apples Jade was very dissapointing and Laurina ran well up to a point but the winner was in a different parish from the rest. The ground could have been a factor, but the winner won by so far that it's difficult to make to many valid excuses for the others. Just my opinion though.

HibernianJK
13-03-2019, 12:49 AM
Bit of a nightmare at Cheltenham for me. Hard to see any excuses for Apples Jade unless anything comes back post race. She’s never been at her best at Cheltenham so perhaps just doesn’t like the track too much and 2m could be a bit short after all. No luck elsewhere on day 1.

Like Battleoverdoyen, Topofthegame, Auverngat and Envoi D’allen on day 2. Altior should cruise home.

13-03-2019, 02:56 AM
Gone for a Delta Work and Tiger Roll double today.

Also like the look of Brewinupastorm, Dancing on my own and Lethal Steps for each way places.

Bangkok Hibby
13-03-2019, 06:32 AM
Delta work in the RSA and Blue Sari in the bumper.

I do smile when I see people telling us of their "wins" after the event

13-03-2019, 07:16 AM
Cracking offer, took them up on it and stuck £20 on Klassical Dream @ 6s on my lunch break, absolutely cruised it - not a bad lunch time :aok:

Looks like a machine.

Soft ground horses the way forward for the rest of the week.

13-03-2019, 11:19 AM
Delta work in the RSA and Blue Sari in the bumper.

I do smile when I see people telling us of their "wins" after the event

It's even more common on the betting thread of main forum :greengrin

Hope Delta Work does the business too. The only shorter priced horse I'm siding with today.

13-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Champ & Santini, then take it from there.

13-03-2019, 01:22 PM
Champ & Santini, then take it from there.

Tad annoying! 😪

Managed to get odds against for a place for Champ just before the off, backed the 3rd in race two to cover myself, that didnae work.

Bangkok Hibby
13-03-2019, 01:23 PM
Im in thailand and struggling to get a stream anywhere. I can see Delta work didnt win but how did it run and what won?

13-03-2019, 01:25 PM
Im in thailand and struggling to get a stream anywhere. I can see Delta work didnt win but how did it run and what won?

Topofthegame won just ahead of Santini, Delta Work was a couple of lengths back. Was looking comfortable up until the last couple of fences, just couldn’t get into driving position

13-03-2019, 01:26 PM
Not a great week for Gordon Elliott so far

13-03-2019, 02:41 PM
Altior is just as much of a freak as Frankel. Such a bad mistake at the water.

13-03-2019, 02:43 PM
Altior is just as much of a freak as Frankel. Such a bad mistake at the water.

There seems a point in every race at which he gives the others a hint of a chance but he's just so good they can't take advantage.

Tornadoes70
13-03-2019, 03:00 PM
Don't normally back horses these days but had a wee punt on Ballyandy who ran a decent race but beaten into third by two big priced un-fancied ones.

Mon the Cabbage!!!

13-03-2019, 03:24 PM
Tiger Roll outstanding run. Could be another Grand National win for him this year.

13-03-2019, 03:25 PM
I hate that x-country race but, what a price for the winner before the off. Surely be The GN Fav after that.

13-03-2019, 04:40 PM
I won!! I don't know a thing about horse racing, but, as it's Cheltenham, thought I'd have a wee flutter.

Had 10 quid accumulator to win on Altior and Tiger Roll; fiver each way on Envoi Allen. 72 quid back - last of the big spenders :greengrin

Beginners luck! :aok:

13-03-2019, 04:46 PM
Today I think Benie Des Dieux will win comfortably. Best shot at each way I reckon is General Principle at 20/1 in the 2.50 (Paddy Power paying up to 6 places).

And fell at the last whilst leading. I had a wee flutter on it :rolleyes:

13-03-2019, 04:48 PM
What's everyone doing for the Gold Cup?

13-03-2019, 04:49 PM
And fell at the last whilst leading. I had a wee flutter on it :rolleyes:

Was cruising through to the finish also, gutting.

13-03-2019, 04:49 PM
We'll done H&A, I backed Envoi too. 🍻 and Tiger Roll, just to upset Bangkok! Backed the 5th ew in The Coral Cup too.

13-03-2019, 04:51 PM

Ruby Walsh on Bellshill, 10/1 👍

13-03-2019, 04:53 PM

Not sure to have a bet yet but, if I do It'll be Native River if it becomes an ew prospect.

13-03-2019, 04:59 PM
Ruby Walsh on Bellshill, 10/1 👍

I have very fond memories of a lassie I used to go out with from Bellshill, but that's another story :greengrin. I think I will!

13-03-2019, 05:11 PM
I have very fond memories of a lassie I used to go out with from Bellshill, but that's another story :greengrin. I think I will!

Was she a good jumper? :wink:

13-03-2019, 05:17 PM

Ask him what we all want to ask him 😉

13-03-2019, 05:25 PM

A filly who stayed the distance. :greengrin

13-03-2019, 05:34 PM
How did she cope when the going was soft? 😲

13-03-2019, 05:50 PM
How did she cope when the going was soft? 😲

13-03-2019, 06:11 PM
£20 On city island in the first race at 8/1 today.

Currently pondering where to put my £20 On the first race tomorrow :hmmm:

13-03-2019, 06:24 PM
£20 On city island in the first race at 8/1 today.

Currently pondering where to put my £20 On the first race tomorrow :hmmm:

Lostintranslation :wink:

Bangkok Hibby
13-03-2019, 07:43 PM
We'll done H&A, I backed Envoi too. 🍻 and Tiger Roll, just to upset Bangkok! Backed the 5th ew in The Coral Cup too.

Prove it 😄😄😄😄

13-03-2019, 07:47 PM
Prove it 😄😄😄😄

I'm in the pub just now, send me your email address and I'll provide the evidence. I really doubt folk make up bets just to post on a website.

Bangkok Hibby
13-03-2019, 08:00 PM
I'm in the pub just now, send me your email address and I'll provide the evidence. I really doubt folk make up bets just to post on a website.

Hey enjoy your drink. Earlier I said it made me smile when people announced wins after the fact. Doesnt mean they're lying. Its happened in bookies and forums for years.
Also I thought the load of smileys I put then would suggest I wasnt serious in asking you to prove it. Well done.

13-03-2019, 08:03 PM
I'll survive, after an awfy sair head 🤮

Bangkok Hibby
13-03-2019, 08:08 PM
I'll survive, after an awfy sair head 🤮

🍺🥂👍🏻🇳🇬

13-03-2019, 08:40 PM
Well Altior is indeed an enigma. I've almost lost count of the number of top races he comes under pressure but still finds a way to win. He might not have the sheer class of Sprinter Sacre, but he's got one hell of an engine and will to win. Great horse. Wouldv'e loved to see how he fared against the likes of Moscow Flyer and Viking Flagship.

13-03-2019, 08:43 PM
Well Altior is indeed an enigma. I've almost lost count of the number of top races he comes under pressure but still finds a way to win. He might not have the sheer class of Sprinter Sacre, but he's got one hell of an engine and will to win. Great horse. Wouldv'e loved to see how he fared against the likes of Moscow Flyer and Viking Flagship.

I loved Viking Flagship. 👏

13-03-2019, 09:03 PM
Hey enjoy your drink. Earlier I said it made me smile when people announced wins after the fact. Doesnt mean they're lying. Its happened in bookies and forums for years.
Also I thought the load of smileys I put then would suggest I wasnt serious in asking you to prove it. Well done.

I'll give you mine for tomorrow at Cheltenham, with big money at stake :greengrin

1:30 - Lostintranslation - fiver each way
4.10 - Siruh Du Lac - fiver each way
4.50 - Epatante - fiver each way; Posh Trish - fiver each way.

I'm hoping the beginners luck continues. :aok:

Oh aye, also got a 2 quid accumulator on five races, which will never win....

13-03-2019, 09:26 PM
Paisley Park tomorrow, with a wee saver on something yet to be decided.

LustForLeith
14-03-2019, 05:57 AM

Got 4’s for Paisley Park back in January. The owner has been blind from birth and the horse almost died after itis first race I believe. Proper tear jerker if it wins!

Bangkok Hibby
14-03-2019, 06:41 AM
I'll give you mine for tomorrow at Cheltenham, with big money at stake :greengrin

1:30 - Lostintranslation - fiver each way
4.10 - Siruh Du Lac - fiver each way
4.50 - Epatante - fiver each way; Posh Trish - fiver each way.

I'm hoping the beginners luck continues. :aok:

Oh aye, also got a 2 quid accumulator on five races, which will never win....

Good luck to you. I pretty much gave up betting on horses as it seemed the vast majority finished second. I'm occasionally sucked in by Cheltenham, Aintree, Epsom, Longchamp but Blue Sari yesterday has finally nailed the lid. I have far more success with singles only betting on football so I'll stick to that.

14-03-2019, 12:54 PM
Lostintranslation :wink:

I made 75 pence profit for second :greengrin

14-03-2019, 02:38 PM
Got 4’s for Paisley Park back in January. The owner has been blind from birth and the horse almost died after itis first race I believe. Proper tear jerker if it wins!

Nice one, well done. 👍

14-03-2019, 02:43 PM

Thanks for the tip, HH. I only went a fiver each way, but got 25 back :aok:

14-03-2019, 03:07 PM

I’ve got £35 on spiritofthegames to win in the next at 10/1.

I’ve also got £2 lucky 15 win, which I’ve got Tiger Roll, Paisley Park, Spiritofthegames and Sir Erec. If they all win it pays back £911.50, if spiritofthegames doesn’t win then I’ll need Sir Erec for £74.13

14-03-2019, 03:17 PM
Very good effort with your spiritofthegames. Had himself every chance at the business end and I thought it may get on top.

14-03-2019, 03:19 PM
Very good effort with your spiritofthegames. Had himself every chance at the business end and I thought it may get on top.

Ran a good race! Thought he was going to kick on at the end but it just wasn’t to be.

14-03-2019, 03:44 PM
Probably the best days racing at Cheltenham in a long time. Every race has been competitive and the finishes have been fantastic.

Add in a bit of an emotional story and a historic win by a female jockey and it's had everything.

LustForLeith
15-03-2019, 06:35 AM
Nice one, well done. 👍

Cheers mate

The morning of that race in January it was 12’s!

Brilliant story for the trainers as well.

Anyone taking Tiger Roll for the National at 11/4?!

15-03-2019, 07:09 AM
Cheers mate

I backed him in that race too, paid for a fair chunk of my w-end @ The London Hibs Burns Supper. 🍻

3 winners from that day won yesterday, a few placed horses with good form from that day too.

Bangkok Hibby
15-03-2019, 07:23 AM
Cheers mate

Even tough Ive said I usually get sucked in despite my better judgement, never at that price.

15-03-2019, 07:59 AM
Probably the best days racing at Cheltenham in a long time. Every race has been competitive and the finishes have been fantastic.

Add in a bit of an emotional story and a historic win by a female jockey and it's had everything.

Just watched the coverage from yesterday, It's hard to explain what's so good about certain moments in racing, particularly NH racing to "non" racing folk but, Briony Frost's post race interview sums up what it's all about for me. Great stuff by horse and jockey.

Bangkok Hibby
15-03-2019, 08:41 AM
Just watched the coverage from yesterday, It's hard to explain what's so good about certain moments in racing, particularly NH racing to "non" racing folk but, Briony Frost's post race interview sums up what it's all about for me. Great stuff by horse and jockey.

My "certain moment" was Istabraq winning third Champion hurdle. It was good for me cos I won a fortune but I understand I shouldnt have said that so I'll say no more 😀😀😀😀

Bangkok Hibby
15-03-2019, 08:43 AM
Oh and Arazi winning Breeders cup juvenile. can't remember year just now but google it. Like something from a movie

15-03-2019, 09:34 AM
Oh and Arazi winning Breeders cup juvenile. can't remember year just now but google it. Like something from a movie I still feel unwell when thinking about Dayjur, the costliest loser I ever had.

Free bet on French Made for a grand today.

15-03-2019, 10:36 AM
My "certain moment" was Istabraq winning third Champion hurdle. It was good for me cos I won a fortune but I understand I shouldnt have said that so I'll say no more 😀😀😀😀

It was more to do with things that unite the viewing public rather than winning or losing a bet. Things like the reaction Persian Punch received whenever it entered the winners enclosure for example.

Bangkok Hibby
15-03-2019, 10:37 AM
It was more to do with things that unite the viewing public rather than winning or losing a bet. Things like the reaction Persian Punch received whenever it entered the winners enclosure for example.

Or Dessie 😀

15-03-2019, 10:41 AM
Or Dessie 😀

Indeed.

15-03-2019, 10:42 AM

Totally agree. Despite not having a penny on Frodon yesterday, having been a follower in the past, I absolutely loved watching the horse get back up after being headed. The hairs were up on my neck at the race alone, then the passion and emotion from BF and connections after were brilliant. It's moments like that I manage to convince myself I'm not just in this for my punting habit, but for a love of the game. Similar to the time I was out my seat roaring Kauto Star to a 5th King George without betting a penny, and those around me not understanding how I could be so excited without a bet.

As far as other certain moments go - I always remember Annie Power falling at Cheltenham (2015?) and bursting many bets (including my 4 fold) but the biggest roar of the day apparently being for a fallen horse with curtains round etc, getting back on its feet and running off fit and well. And rightly so.

15-03-2019, 10:58 AM
I backed him in that race too, paid for a fair chunk of my w-end @ The London Hibs Burns Supper. 🍻

3 winners from that day won yesterday, a few placed horses with good form from that day too.

Birchdale won that day too and is being well backed to win The Albert Bartlett.

15-03-2019, 11:02 AM
Hutchy, what are you backing today?

15-03-2019, 11:16 AM

I've backed Birchdale ew, I'm struggling to decide about The Gold Cup, I can't see Native River being out of the first four but, something tells me it won't win. 🏇

15-03-2019, 11:31 AM
Last day, so I’ve gone for an E/W Lucky 15.

2.10- Monsieur Lecoq 15/2
2.50- Derrinross 10/1
3.30- Bellshill 9/1
4.10- Shantou Flyer 8/1

15-03-2019, 11:32 AM
Last day, so I’ve gone for an E/W Lucky 15.

2.10- Monsieur Lecoq 15/2
2.50- Derrinross 10/1
3.30- Bellshill 9/1
4.10- Shantou Flyer 8/1

What's a lucky 15?

15-03-2019, 11:34 AM
4 singles, 6 doubles, 4 trebles and an accumulator. Treble odds for 1 winner.

15-03-2019, 11:42 AM
Cheers mate

I get the impression Tiger Roll won't run in the National having listened to Gordon Elliots interview.

He would have a real shot if he did though as his allocated weight is only 2lbs higher than when he won last year.

15-03-2019, 01:08 PM
Terrible outcome of the first race.
Unfortunately, that's the game.

15-03-2019, 01:35 PM

I ended up backing Clan Des Obeaux.

15-03-2019, 01:59 PM
I've backed Birchdale ew

Oh well!

15-03-2019, 02:11 PM
Oh well!

Cannae win them all, mate.

15-03-2019, 02:42 PM
Couldnae have backed that, incident filled race though.

15-03-2019, 02:51 PM
Couldnae have backed that, incident filled race though.

Bellshill and Presenting Percy :no way:

15-03-2019, 02:54 PM
Kemboy didn't give me much to cheer about in that one!

15-03-2019, 04:36 PM
Kemboy didn't give me much to cheer about in that one!

My old man backed it too 😢

15-03-2019, 04:49 PM
Disappointing end to the week, but more fun this week that the last time :greengrin

15-03-2019, 04:53 PM
I just about broke even overall, after a terrible day today.

15-03-2019, 05:36 PM
4 losers but broke even. Worse weeks have been had.

LustForLeith
15-03-2019, 05:51 PM
4 losers but broke even. Worse weeks have been had.

Having Paisley Park ante post has saved my bacon! Terrible last day!

One of my mates had seven winners over the last two days include Pentland Hills today!

15-03-2019, 05:55 PM
I got a text from Ladbrokes telling me I was in front with bets on Pentland Hills, wasnae tempted to back it though. 😪

15-03-2019, 06:00 PM
Had quite a bad week overall, maybe best to stick to the football!:rolleyes:

MagicSwirlingShip
16-03-2019, 02:52 AM
Was waiting on Native River for a treble. Gutting seeing it fall away :loser:

All in all a fun week had though!

Hibs1972
23-03-2019, 01:29 PM
Got my 1st ante post be on for next year already,Envoi Allen to win any race at next years festival at 8-1 with Skybet,this horse could be the real deal.