View Full Version : Rugby fans v Football fans

09-03-2019, 08:31 AM
I saw that there was a public debate recently about how football fans are treated differently than rugby fans. Irvine Welsh was involved.

Is anyone still in any doubt as to why?

09-03-2019, 08:33 AM
It's easier to be well behaved at the rugby because it is boring and unexciting. Its not got the same passion as football which brings out behaviours that people wouldnt normally display

09-03-2019, 08:42 AM
It's easier to be well behaved at the rugby because it is boring and unexciting. Its not got the same passion as football which brings out behaviours that people wouldnt normally display

Erm, I think you should watch Scotland v Wales this afternoon, I respectfully suggest that you might change your opinion thereafter.

09-03-2019, 08:43 AM
Rugby fans don't have this tribal attitude associated to football, you're brought up at school to respect the referees by calling them sir as most refs at school rugby matches were also teachers. It's also a more physical game which supporters accept, there's none of the stupid play acting which footballers do all the time. Rugby fans drink together before and after games they even sit beside each other during games, football fans get drunk and want to fight the other fans, it's almost like a war instead of football match.

09-03-2019, 08:46 AM

What an absolute crock o'***** :faf: In-stadium behaviour of rugby fans is simply, in the main, far better than that of football fans.

09-03-2019, 08:47 AM
Can't really call something in which fans clap both teams a real sport. It's miles away from the passion of football. They turn up 3 times a year in kilts and silly hats for a party. It's more like a wedding than a sporting event.

09-03-2019, 08:48 AM
Can't really call something in which fans clap both teams a real sport. It's miles away from the passion of football. They turn up 3 times a year in kilts and silly hats for a party. It's more like a wedding than a sporting event.

:not worth

09-03-2019, 08:49 AM

A bit like the Tartan Army then.

You're forgetting all the weekly league games, of course.

09-03-2019, 08:52 AM

:fishin:?

Well it ain't going to work.

09-03-2019, 08:52 AM

Exactly like the tartan army.

Oh yes, tell me more about those big crowds at weekly rugby games :faf:

K.Marx
09-03-2019, 08:53 AM

Yorkshire HFC
09-03-2019, 08:53 AM

As Pelligrini said "If you know only football, then you know nothing"

09-03-2019, 08:55 AM
There will be more obnoxious behaviour, drunkenness and public nuisance in Edinburgh this afternoon and tonight than there was last night.

09-03-2019, 08:57 AM
Rugby is a great day oot, meet up wae mates, few pints, off tae game and never the fear of some arse behind you throwing coins, bottles o buckie and spilling alot of **** and bile out their mouths towards players. Anyone who thinks rugby is boring really doesnt have a clue about rugby.Christ you can even have a beer without the fear of someone wanting a square go wae everyone around them. Not have to deal wae bigots etc etc etc...

Sioux
09-03-2019, 08:58 AM

Passion? Get a grip. A sport is where competitors compete against each other.

The sport is not the problem. Its spectators that are, as far as football is concerned.

Throwing bottles, coins and seats, fighting in the streets, is not being passionate. It's low life gutter behaviour.

09-03-2019, 08:58 AM
There will be more obnoxious behaviour, drunkenness and public nuisance in Edinburgh this afternoon and tonight than there was last night.

But less aggression, public threats, pissing in doorways, ripping up stadium seats, sectarian songs and a crowd of supporters who will be drinking with each other after a game instead of kicking **** out of each other.

09-03-2019, 08:59 AM

Tell me more about those big crowds in 3 and a half of senior football games.

Out of interest, Edinburgh had 38000 against Toulouse and 12500 v Glasgow.

09-03-2019, 09:00 AM

So Edinburgh got a big crowd twice? What's their average over the last 5 years?

K.Marx
09-03-2019, 09:01 AM
Nothing worse than rugby fans masquerading as football fans and taking the moral high ground. You like rugby, great. Go chat about it on a rugby forum (if they exist).

Of course there will be. There'll be nearly 4 times as many people at the game today.

However, there will be a lot less violence, abuse and sectarianism.

Passion? Get a grip. A sport is where competitors compete against each other.

The sport is not the problem. Its spectators that are, as far as football is concerned.

Throwing bottles, coins and seats, fighting in the streets, is not being passionate. It's low life gutter behaviour.

I didn't say that I approved of those things at all. It's just ridiculous to compare a big wedding reception to a football match.

09-03-2019, 09:02 AM
Nothing worse than rugby fans masquerading as football fans and taking the moral high ground. You like rugby, great. Go chat about it on a rugby forum (if they exist).

Stupid remark.

But less aggression, public threats, pissing in doorways, ripping up stadium seats, sectarian songs and a crowd of supporters who will be drinking with each other after a game instead of kicking **** out of each other.

It’s different, granted, but the boozy rugby crowd brings with it plenty of nuisance value but policed in a very different way to the football fan.

K.Marx
Stupid remark.

👍🏻

09-03-2019, 09:03 AM

I'll add to that by saying Saracens v Harlequins regularly attract over 80,000 for a normal club fixture when it is staged at Wembley.

And its virtually impossible to get a ticket for a Glasgow Warriors home fixture at Scotstoun , "SOLD OUT" for every game.

09-03-2019, 09:06 AM

I think you've just proved there are worse things 😶

09-03-2019, 09:07 AM
So Edinburgh got a big crowd twice? What's their average over the last 5 years?

What is Cowdenbeath's average home crowd? Or East Fife. Need I go on?

I have no idea as to the relevance of crowd size anyway.

Football fans, regardless of numbers, are treated differently from rugby fans because of their behaviour.

Sioux
09-03-2019, 09:08 AM
It’s different, granted, but the boozy rugby crowd brings with it plenty of nuisance value but policed in a very different way to the football fan.

I'd rather be subject to nuisance than violence. Nuisance can be found every Friday and Saturday in pubs and clubs all over the city.

Sincerely hope this is tongue-in-cheek btw.

I didn't say that I approved of those things at all. It's just ridiculous to compare a big wedding reception to a football match.

I wonder why Irvine did exactly that. :confused:

09-03-2019, 09:09 AM
There isn’t the hate / tribal behaviour from Rugby fans that we see in football stadiums ...

There is though some anti-social street behaviour that doesn’t get the same response from police and authorities that it would with a football crowd ..

09-03-2019, 09:11 AM
What is Cowdenbeath's average home crowd? Or East Fife. Need I go on?

I have no idea as to the relevance of crowd size anyway.

Football fans, regardless of numbers, are treated differently from rugby fans because of their behaviour.
Aren't Edinburgh and Glasgow the biggest clubs though? Cowdenbeath a very strange comparison.

Of course, football attracts more fannies, I'm not denying that but it's a totally different atmosphere. Rugby has one big tournament every year which is obviously going to run smoothly. If you had loads of big rugby games every week there would be more trouble.

09-03-2019, 09:11 AM

The Tartan Army are policed more like rugby fans are when they're abroad.

Drunken nuisances for sure, but there's never any threat of violence or intolerance.

09-03-2019, 09:12 AM
I wonder why Irvine did exactly that. :confused:

He writes books, he isn't some great authority on crowd behaviour.

09-03-2019, 09:18 AM
Aren't Edinburgh and Glasgow the biggest clubs though? Cowdenbeath a very strange comparison.

Of course, football attracts more fannies, I'm not denying that but it's a totally different atmosphere. Rugby has one big tournament every year which is obviously going to run smoothly. If you had loads of big rugby games every week there would be more trouble.

As has been pointed out above, league rugby attracts huge crowds south of the border.

There's never any trouble.

Edinburgh's average crowd last season was 7594. The highest 25,353.

I remember several seasons when Hibs' numbers were less than that, but there was still plenty trouble, as Tornado 70 alludes elsewhere.

09-03-2019, 09:19 AM
I saw that there was a public debate recently about how football fans are treated differently than rugby fans. Irvine Welsh was involved.

Is anyone still in any doubt as to why?

I do get the point your making, and don’t necessarily disagree with it but a quick google brings up lots of examples of rugby fans fighting.

You won’t get much trouble at Scotland games, but that’s the same for the national football team. Obviously my google search was a leading search but do wonder if rugby bad behaviour Is under reported compared to football due to preconceptions and the scale given a lot more people watch football compared to rugby.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/rugby-banning-orders-suggested-after-13977858.amp

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.joe.co.uk/amp/sport/welsh-police-rant-about-nightmare-rugby-fans-being-worse-than-football-supporters-42765

09-03-2019, 09:22 AM

And all passed off as ‘banter’. Rugby fans may behave better inside the stadium, but away from it they’re far, far worse.

H113EE5
09-03-2019, 09:24 AM

What a heap of cr@p. Just as passionate but better behaved

HibbyDave
09-03-2019, 09:31 AM
I go regularly to both sports. In my opinion the biggest issue in football is segregation. It promotes tribalism. I am old enough to remember football before segregation and yes there was trouble but generally it was small sporadic events that were dealt with quickly.

Oh yes, I meant to say that in rugby the thugs are on the pitch 😉

son of haggart
09-03-2019, 09:33 AM
Rugby's growing in support as well, at the expense of football. Thought I would watch the Killie Hearts game at the start of February down in one of the three pubs in town (Dunkeld) - I think it was third vs fourth at the time or thereabouts - certainly a reasonable fixture (aside from any jokes you might want to make!). All three pubs were showing the France vs Wales rugby match. One with two tellies even refused to turn one over as they were expecting two different groups of guys to watch the rugby.

Can't imagine that happening 10 years ago. I think it must be at least in part due to the decline in quality of the Scottish game (vs the Premier/ european games) . It's no longer of interest beyond the immediate fan base, whereas rugby has a broader interest even among many people who would never have played the game. But it is also a growth in the media interest in rugby.

Behaviour problems at the football games, highlighted by the media can't be helping.

09-03-2019, 09:33 AM
As has been pointed out above, league rugby attracts huge crowds south of the border.

There's never any trouble.

Edinburgh's average crowd last season was 7594. The highest 25,353.

I remember several seasons when Hibs' numbers were less than that, but there was still plenty trouble, as Tornado 70 alludes elsewhere.

So Edinburgh’s average home attendance was bigger than most Spl clubs then.

Anyone in any doubt about the ****wittery associated with football should have taken a walk up Easter Road after the game last night. Totally disgusting, mostly from Huns, but some real ****z amongst our support too.

I’m a passionate man, but I feel ashamed of loving football sometimes, no ****in* wonder.

09-03-2019, 09:37 AM
I go regularly to both sports. In my opinion the biggest issue in football is segregation. It promotes tribalism. I am old enough to remember football before segregation and yes there was trouble but generally it was small sporadic events that were dealt with quickly.

Oh yes, I meant to say that in rugby the thugs are on the pitch ��

If, likr me, you’re old enough you’ll remember this was what pre-segregation was like.

09-03-2019, 09:37 AM

And all passed off as ‘banter’. Rugby fans may behave better inside the stadium, but away from it they’re far, far worse.

Sorry, but that's nonsense.

Rugby fans don't get stabbed. They don't get spat on, something that most of us will have experienced? They don't get chased and, if caught, beaten up.

How many rugby fans are put into comas by opposition fans?

Rugby fans don't have running battles in town centres.

Were the Rangers fans in Manchester actually rugby fans in disguise?

As far as I know there are no rugby casual "firms".

Rugby fans don't need helicopter and police escorts.

Rugby supporters' buses don't run the risk of having their windows tanned in.

Etc.

And all of that is outside the stadium.

09-03-2019, 09:42 AM

If, likr me, you’re old enough you’ll remember this was what pre-segregation was like.

I think that's Colin Stein's first game for Rangers in the Dunbar Road end.

09-03-2019, 09:48 AM

I would compare the Scotland/England game last year against any Hibs game I've been to for the passion and excitement.

09-03-2019, 09:50 AM

Rugby fans don't get stabbed. They don't get spat on, something that most of us will have experienced? They don't get chased and, if caught, beaten up.

Etc.

I took my pregnant wife to the game last night and we thought about somewhere for dinner.

Decided to go to ocean terminal as I didn't want to run into any rangers fans on London road/in town.

I would never think "hmmm better play it safe" if it were a rugby match.

09-03-2019, 09:51 AM
I would compare the Scotland/England game last year against any Hibs game I've been to for the passion and excitement.

So literally the biggest rivalry is Europe is just comparible to the 3rd/4th biggest club in Scotland.

09-03-2019, 09:52 AM
I think that's Colin Stein's first game for Rangers in the Dunbar Road end.

It’s a bit later than that, going by the fashion. It’s the main terracing, you can see the second tier.

I’m not that interested in rugny, but I’ve been to a few big games and enjoyed them. Fans are much better behaved.

Laughable, some of the crap on here. Rugby is by far our second biggest team sport, played by all kinds. Stereotypical fee paying schoolboys, Borders farmers and lots of ordinary folk in our cities. People are passionate about the game, but there isn’t the same hatred, tribalism and off field aggro.

The older I get, the more I feel ashamed of our game. Almost love-hate in equal measures. It’s not just the off field idiocy either. Pricks on the field, play acting , cheating, time wasting..... Recent evets at ER really piss me off.

HibeeHibernian4
09-03-2019, 09:53 AM

Etc.

Rugby fans behave far worse on public transport in the large and get away with it, up to and including the sexual harassment of female passengers. A lot of them are **** of the earth but because they’re going to watch a middle class event, the police are happy to roll the red carpet out for them. If a group of football fans behaved like your average group of rugby fans do on a train, they’d be met at the station and led away in handcuffs.

09-03-2019, 09:56 AM
So literally the biggest rivalry is Europe is just comparible to the 3rd/4th biggest club in Scotland.

Give it a rest MW. Atmosphere at asporting events isn’t dependent on size, is it?

Did you walk up Easter Road after the game? If so, did you enjoy that atmosphere?

09-03-2019, 09:57 AM
It’s not just at the games, it’s online too.

You just need to read any thread on here discussing any of our rivals or refs and they are full of hatred.

We have grown adults on here who revel in telling is how much they hate another team as if it’s a competition.

We even had a thread the other day asking which team you hated most for whatever reason. Started by an adult, not a 12 year old laddie!

If we want to understand football fans behaviour we simply need to look at ourselves sometimes.

09-03-2019, 09:58 AM
There will be more obnoxious behaviour, drunkenness and public nuisance in Edinburgh this afternoon and tonight than there was last night.I'll take obnoxious welshmen tonight over being told I'm a fenian on London road last night.

09-03-2019, 10:00 AM

The way the anti rugby crowd on here go on you'd think that 65000 people sit on their hands throughout games. This is the proof.

Half the atmosphere at games in Scotland is venom and anger, the other half cheering and singing. There's very little of that at rugby. It's a good day out.

Sioux
09-03-2019, 10:08 AM

Now you're making things up.

09-03-2019, 10:09 AM
Give it a rest MW. Atmosphere at asporting events isn’t dependent on size, is it?

Did you walk up Easter Road after the game? If so, did you enjoy that atmosphere?No I didn't. I didn't say I liked the real tense tribal stuff, I have no interest in it and don't get involved but football atmosphere is much better than Rugby.

The way the anti rugby crowd on here go on you'd think that 65000 people sit on their hands throughout games. This is the proof.

Half the atmosphere at games in Scotland is venom and anger, the other half cheering and singing. There's very little of that at rugby. It's a good day out.

That's exactly what it is though, a day out. Like a wedding or a parade. Football is an identity, a lifestyle, a passion. They aren't comparible.

09-03-2019, 10:11 AM
It’s not just at the games, it’s online too.

You just need to read any thread on here discussing any of our rivals or refs and they are full of hatred.

We have grown adults on here who revel in telling is how much they hate another team as if it’s a competition.

We even had a thread the other day asking which team you hated most for whatever reason. Started by an adult, not a 12 year old laddie!

If we want to understand football fans behaviour we simply need to look at ourselves sometimes.

Totally agree.

Times coming on here us like an Orwellian three minute hate session and this is a well moderated forum

There are plenty where almost anything goes and in my view it is opium for the masses.

09-03-2019, 10:15 AM
No I didn't. I didn't say I liked the real tense tribal stuff, I have no interest in it and don't get involved but football atmosphere is much better than Rugby.

That's exactly what it is though, a day out. Like a wedding or a parade. Football is an identity, a lifestyle, a passion. They aren't comparible.

No, it’s a day out at an intense sporting event, which you would no doubt enjoy immensely if you just enjoy sport.

My teenage laddie was terrified walking up the road when I met him. Easter Road was carnage, totally horrendous levels of aggression and intimidation. This morning he’s saying he’s had enough of big games and football.

For many normal people this isn’t acceotable. So, what would you say we do about it?

Sioux
09-03-2019, 10:23 AM
No I didn't. I didn't say I liked the real tense tribal stuff, I have no interest in it and don't get involved but football atmosphere is much better than Rugby.

No it's not. An identity, a lifestyle or a passion is something that people create for themselves. Football doesn't compel people to get out of their minds on drink, and these days drugs. It doesn't compel acts of violence and other anti-social behaviours.

People are solely responsible for the way they behave, in or around a football stadium, or in the home, or anywhere else for that matter.

Some just use football as an excuse for being A holes.

"Sorry M'Lud. It was the football that made me do it". Nah.

09-03-2019, 10:28 AM
No it's not. An identity, a lifestyle or a passion is something that people create for themselves. Football doesn't compel people to get out of their minds on drink, and these days drugs. It doesn't compel acts of violence and other anti-social behaviours.

People are solely responsible for the way they behave, in or around a football stadium, or in the home, or anywhere else for that matter.

Some just use football as an excuse for being A holes.

"Sorry M'Lud. It was the football that made me do it". Nah.

I said nothing about using football as an excuse, I'm saying why it it can't be compared to rugby. You just continue to ignore that.

09-03-2019, 10:33 AM
I said nothing about using football as an excuse, I'm saying why it it can't be compared to rugby. You just continue to ignore that.

Rugby a sport that attracts thousands of rival fans who drink together prior and after the match, sit together during the match and have no problems withing the sport.

Football a sport that attracts thousands of rival fans who drink separately, are separated in the stadium and cause many social problems after matches which affects the local areas and is having many problems with regards fans behaviour on a weekly basis.

09-03-2019, 10:34 AM

I understand your point.

I wonder why football fans continue to compare their treatment to rugby fans.

However, I am absolutely certain that Welsh rugby fans, for example, feel just as passionate and identify just as much with their team(s) as any football fan.

The difference is that you'll see Welsh and Scots fans drinking and walking and talking together before and after the game this afternoon.

Have a look at the Mash Tun thread to see a comparison.

09-03-2019, 10:35 AM

You make that point time and again but you've totally ignored the other point in my post - namely that the great atmosphere at rugby games is nothing to do with bile, venom, aggression, sectarianism or any other myriad problems that plague our game.

09-03-2019, 10:44 AM
Lived in the Borders for some time in the 70s and wasn't too keen on rugby myself, but discovered that the people there who loved it were just sports fans who were indeed passionate about their particular game. When the 5 nations came round, the Welsh, Irish, English, French were never any problems in the pubs and clubs I knew of, in Scotland and basically, the same applied, on the Scottish trips to the other countries (so I was assured) - none of the violence, hatred, bile spouted by football fans week-in-week-out at the time and now even - it may have changed since then of course, but I doubt it - Rugby union doesn't have the crowds of course, except for the 6 nations, I guess - think the mindset of your average rugby union fan however differs greatly from your average football fan - Quite enjoy watching the 6 nations now,

Respect for the referee, and officials and opponents in RU is different, it seems. At penalties, the crowd used to always go pretty silent, even when the opposing team was taking it - still that way - it's a tough game on the park, but seems to be pretty "family friendly" on the terraces/stands ...

Besties Debut
09-03-2019, 10:49 AM
Rugby is trapped in a self-perpetuating cycle of positivity and respect. Fitba, on the other hand, is trapped in a cycle of negativity and violence.
If Scotland score today you won't see fans instantly turning to the nearest Welshman and making the tosser sign at him and the taffie won't reply with a barrage of coins.

09-03-2019, 10:50 AM
Rugby is trapped in a self-perpetuating cycle of positivity and respect. Fitba, on the other hand, is trapped in a cycle of negativity and violence.
If Scotland score today you won't see fans instantly turning to the nearest Welshman and making the tosser sign at him and the taffie won't reply with a barrage of coins.

What if Wales score?

Besties Debut
09-03-2019, 11:32 AM
What if Wales score?

:greengrin Just chuck your pie at the c@@ts :thumbsup:

09-03-2019, 11:35 AM
I understand your point.

I wonder why football fans continue to compare their treatment to rugby fans.

However, I am absolutely certain that Welsh rugby fans, for example, feel just as passionate and identify just as much with their team(s) as any football fan.

The difference is that you'll see Welsh and Scots fans drinking and walking and talking together before and after the game this afternoon.

Have a look at the Mash Tun thread to see a comparison.

I just don't see the same passion when watching rugby on tv. When Scotland score a try half the fans don't even stand up they just clap. Give me the celebrations in the stand after the goal last night over rugby fans celebrating a try any day

09-03-2019, 11:38 AM
Can't really call something in which fans clap both teams a real sport. It's miles away from the passion of football. They turn up 3 times a year in kilts and silly hats for a party. It's more like a wedding than a sporting event.Pretty much does it for me as far as rugby union is concerned. England's worse than Scotland when the occasional fans show up in the pubs with their new tops on. At least they disappear quickly.

Rugby league is much better. More exciting games and they could teach football fans a thing or two about supporting your team regularly without causing trouble.

Renfrew_Hibby
09-03-2019, 11:42 AM
I just don't see the same passion when watching rugby on tv. When Scotland score a try half the fans don't even stand up they just clap. Give me the celebrations in the stand after the goal last night over rugby fans celebrating a try any day

There's a whole host of reasons as to why rugby crowds differ to football crowds. Social, cultural, political... A whole melting point that defines the football tribes around the globe.
I personally find rugby devoid of something, I'm not sure what though.

09-03-2019, 11:50 AM
There's a whole host of reasons as to why rugby crowds differ to football crowds. Social, cultural, political... A whole melting point that defines the football tribes around the globe.
I personally find rugby devoid of something, I'm not sure what though.

Anger and sectarianism?

09-03-2019, 11:52 AM

Unless Wales get beaten.

09-03-2019, 11:57 AM
Let's face it. Football fans are largely yobboes who drink watery lager and wear cheap ill-fitting jeans and trainers.

Rugby fans are prosperous chaps with nice healthy looking females on their arms and a pint of Guinness on the bar (with the exception of the Welsh).

Rugby League fans on the other hand are a sort of mixture of the two.

Tune in next week for more cultural generalisations.

09-03-2019, 12:22 PM

What a load of rubbish.

09-03-2019, 12:46 PM

Therein lies the problem for a lot of fans. Those who view football as a way of life are only creating problems for themselves. Unless you're actually competing in a sporting event you have no control over the outcome, yet too many fans invest too much of their emotions in willing an outcome that makes them happy. The failure of their team to deliver that outcome (and let's face it, most teams lose more often than they win) therefore makes them pretty much permanently unhappy.

I'd suggest that rugby fans (who are not necessarily some separate species to football fans by the way. Many people enjoy both games) have a better perspective on sport ie that when all's said and done sport is sport, nothing more. That's why they can drink together pre and post match and sit together at games. As others have said, the fact football fans are segregated only fuels a poisonous sense of tribalism.

As for crowds, there will be a good many English club rugby sides who attract a significantly higher average attendance than many football clubs. Edinburgh draw more on average than all bar the top six Scottish football clubs - and more than most for a bigger European game. There will be a great atmosphere at Murrayfield today - not as good as the days of terracing, granted - but one that everyone there will relish.

09-03-2019, 01:05 PM
Let's face it. Football fans are largely yobboes who drink watery lager and wear cheap ill-fitting jeans and trainers.

Rugby fans are prosperous chaps with nice healthy looking females on their arms and a pint of Guinness on the bar (with the exception of the Welsh).

As someone who attends football & rugby league games on a weekly basis, you’re not far off the mark there. Seen some serious trouble at RL games over the years, but there again I also often have a drink with opposition fans before/after football games. There isn’t necessarily a sweeping generalisation that needs to be made, it’s very much each to their own in my experience.

09-03-2019, 01:07 PM
Up at St Johnstone last week me and my mate enjoyed a beer beforehand in The Muirton - Hibs and Saints fans all mixed in and we were chatting amiably with the Saints fans who we were sharing a drinks podium with. Unrealistic to think that the same could happen with a game against Rangers. Mixed in fine with Celtic fans before games in Glasgow and when we used to go to Diane’s before derbies Hibs and Hearts mixed without any bother. Motherwell is another place we’ve mixed in with home fans in their club before games and one of booziest away, Ross County sees The Mallard going like a fair with Hibs and County fans.
The Hibs v Rangers fixture has never been anything other than an incendiary affair for as long as I can remember, so it’s probably not really fair to use it in an argument to compare rugby v football fans.

09-03-2019, 01:11 PM

Most Rugby fans forget all the weekly league games too.

09-03-2019, 01:15 PM
Therein lies the problem for a lot of fans. Those who view football as a way of life are only creating problems for themselves. Unless you're actually competing in a sporting event you have no control over the outcome, yet too many fans invest too much of their emotions in willing an outcome that makes them happy. The failure of their team to deliver that outcome (and let's face it, most teams lose more often than they win) therefore makes them pretty much permanently unhappy.

I'd suggest that rugby fans (who are not necessarily some separate species to football fans by the way. Many people enjoy both games) have a better perspective on sport ie that when all's said and done sport is sport, nothing more. That's why they can drink together pre and post match and sit together at games. As others have said, the fact football fans are segregated only fuels a poisonous sense of tribalism.

As for crowds, there will be a good many English club rugby sides who attract a significantly higher average attendance than many football clubs. Edinburgh draw more on average than all bar the top six Scottish football clubs - and more than most for a bigger European game. There will be a great atmosphere at Murrayfield today - not as good as the days of terracing, granted - but one that everyone there will relish.
It can be good and bad. Look at the reaction of Hibs fans to save our club 30 years ago. Would that happen in Rugby? I don't think so. You wouldn't get the same relentless support and determination that drives fans imo. Football is the biggest and best sport in the world for reason. Rugby is a distance away for many reasons. Snooker fans behave well too, it doesn't really mean anything. These sports attract different people. 99% are well behaved.

09-03-2019, 01:19 PM
It's a totally different culture between rugby and football fans in Scotland.

We have 2 manufactured professional rugby clubs whilst we have 42 league football teams, the vast majority of which have long histories, rivalries and fans who see their clubs as an identifying feature of themselves.

What they have in common is the vast majority of both are capable of attending a game and behaving themselves. Where they differ is the minority of football fans who can't or won't behave will be subject to scrutiny from both fellow fans and external parties whilst rugby fans won't be. The different types of anti social behaviour from each probably explains that.

09-03-2019, 01:23 PM
It can be good and bad. Look at the reaction of Hibs fans to save our club 30 years ago. Would that happen in Rugby? I don't think so. You wouldn't get the same relentless support and determination that drives fans imo. Football is the biggest and best sport in the world for reason. Rugby is a distance away for many reasons. Snooker fans behave well too, it doesn't really mean anything. These sports attract different people. 99% are well behaved.

As you acknowledge, you didn’t see the trouble on Easter Road. It was horrible, regardless of which % of fans were involved.

We’re not debating the merits or global demand of the different sports, or hypothetical scenarios of fans saving clubs 30 years ago, we’re looking at the behaviour of supporters.

People need to get real, footballi is an amazing game, but it’s also quite sickening at times.

09-03-2019, 01:26 PM
As you acknowledge, you didn’t see the trouble on Easter Road. It was horrible, regardless of which % of fans were involved.

We’re not debating the merits or global demand of the different sports, or hypothetical scenarios of fans saving clubs 30 years ago, we’re looking at the behaviour of supporters.

People need to get real, footballi is an amazing game, but it’s also quite sickening at times.

When have I ever said anything different? All I've said is you cannot compare rugby, a sport with a few big days out a year where everyone puts their kilts on to football, where every game is massive and there are huge historical rivalries and years of bad blood

Renfrew_Hibby
09-03-2019, 01:33 PM
Football for me is a reflection of culture and society.
Different styles of play attributed to countries reflect that societies state of mind.
German football for example is regarded as passionate but first and foremost, organised, disciplined, desplaying a strong work ethic also very efficient. These are all characteristics you would thing of with regards to German society.
South American styles are much more flamboyant and individualistic, again reflecting Latin America.
The tempo of styles reflect tempos seen in cultures.
There are numerous examples all over. The madness of a Rome or Istanbul Derby can almost be a metaphor for their maddening, corrupt political systems, you can almost see a Derby match in an Italian parliament session.
Football is special, its a genuine reflection of societies state of mind.

09-03-2019, 01:47 PM

What was happening on Easter Road ?

Before or after the game ?

Surely fans are aware the away fans filter out in that direction. Always head towards Leith Walk which is a detour but seems away from the away fans.

Again wearing colours to games these days makes you an easy target.

Johnny Clash
09-03-2019, 01:50 PM
Up at St Johnstone last week me and my mate enjoyed a beer beforehand in The Muirton - Hibs and Saints fans all mixed in and we were chatting amiably with the Saints fans who we were sharing a drinks podium with. Unrealistic to think that the same could happen with a game against Rangers. Mixed in fine with Celtic fans before games in Glasgow and when we used to go to Diane’s before derbies Hibs and Hearts mixed without any bother. Motherwell is another place we’ve mixed in with home fans in their club before games and one of booziest away, Ross County sees The Mallard going like a fair with Hibs and County fans.
The Hibs v Rangers fixture has never been anything other than an incendiary affair for as long as I can remember, so it’s probably not really fair to use it in an argument to compare rugby v football fans.

Very true. The rangers are different. They can’t mix with anyone apart from maybe Chelsea or Engerland/EDL fellow travellers. They even go for aggro with their diet cousins. They are simply small minded supremacists .

09-03-2019, 01:55 PM
It can be good and bad. Look at the reaction of Hibs fans to save our club 30 years ago. Would that happen in Rugby? I don't think so. You wouldn't get the same relentless support and determination that drives fans imo.
Just touching on the previous points about differentiating between rugby union and rugby league fans, take a look at how Widnes Vikings fans saved their club in the last couple of weeks. Whereas we all know a set of football fans who let their club die.

09-03-2019, 02:12 PM
I see Scotland are getting well beat. It’s a bit like watching any minority sport. I would like them to do well at it, being a Scot, but it’s easy not to get too fussed when they don’t. Nothing at all like how it feels to watch the Hibs every week. We’re comparing an apple with an egg. In a week’s time hardly anyone on here will be bothering their arse about Rugby and Edinburgh nightlife will have got rid of the boorish drunken and jolly laughing boys for another year.

09-03-2019, 02:22 PM
Just touching on the previous points about differentiating between rugby union and rugby league fans, take a look at how Widnes Vikings fans saved their club in the last couple of weeks. Whereas we all know a set of football fans who let their club die.

Pretty sure it happened with a club in 2010/2011 as well, the club were due to wind up because of tax issues and the fans raised a fair amount of money to save them

ben johnson
09-03-2019, 02:24 PM
Rugby fans don't have this tribal attitude associated to football, you're brought up at school to respect the referees by calling them sir as most refs at school rugby matches were also teachers. It's also a more physical game which supporters accept, there's none of the stupid play acting which footballers do all the time. Rugby fans drink together before and after games they even sit beside each other during games, football fans get drunk and want to fight the other fans, it's almost like a war instead of football match.

A friend of mine was at a rugby match between 2 Edinburgh private schools
One set of pupils started singing that the opposition s fathers worked for their fathers
This led to a punch up in the stand.
I was at Murrayfield for the South Africa game and a few SA fans were not being friendly and had a few choice words to say re the Scotland players.

09-03-2019, 02:26 PM
Rugby fans behave far worse on public transport in the large and get away with it, up to and including the sexual harassment of female passengers. A lot of them are **** of the earth but because they’re going to watch a middle class event, the police are happy to roll the red carpet out for them. If a group of football fans behaved like your average group of rugby fans do on a train, they’d be met at the station and led away in handcuffs.
As someone who works on public transport I couldn't agree more.

09-03-2019, 02:29 PM

Last time I was on a train with fans heading to the rugby (the start of Feb) the rugby fans were having cheese and crackers with grapes! Slightly different to our trips to Hampden :greengrin

ben johnson
09-03-2019, 02:33 PM
POLICE have been called in after reports a pupil at one of the Capital’s top fee-paying schools racially abused an opponent during a rugby match. The boy has been suspended after allegedly also hurling vile abuse at a teacher while playing for Stewart’s Melville College last Saturday. Shocked parents are understood to have watched from the sidelines as the boy used a deeply offensive term against a black opponent.

Read more at: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/stewart-s-melville-pupil-accused-of-foul-racial-abuse-on-school-rugby-field-1-4886537

09-03-2019, 02:36 PM

Oh yes, I meant to say that in rugby the thugs are on the pitch 😉

Before segregation there was quite a lot of trouble. Vintage Hibbies will remember regular events in the shed at ER and under the enclosure at Tynie. Phrases like "a hail of bottles and cans" were familiar reading in the news!

09-03-2019, 02:42 PM
Say what you like at least there’s no Jake Ball playing international football.

09-03-2019, 02:53 PM
Last time I was on a train with fans heading to the rugby (the start of Feb) the rugby fans were having cheese and crackers with grapes! Slightly different to our trips to Hampden :greengrinQuick question, what were they doing with the cheese crackers and grapes?

#prayforthegrapes

09-03-2019, 03:21 PM
When have I ever said anything different? All I've said is you cannot compare rugby, a sport with a few big days out a year where everyone puts their kilts on to football, where every game is massive and there are huge historical rivalries and years of bad blood

Sigh, we’ve already heard that Edinburgh’s club rugby attendances would make them around the 6th best supported club in Scotland. Not a few big days out a year really is it?

Shall we just accept that football attracts more than it’s fair share of ****bag fans, leads to serious disorder on our streets and risk of serious injury to players on the field?

HibeeHibernian4
09-03-2019, 03:24 PM
Sigh, we’ve already heard that Edinburgh’s club rugby attendances would make them around the 6th best supported club in Scotland. Not a few big days out a year really is it?

Shall we just accept that football attracts more than it’s fair share of ****bag fans, leads to serious disorder on our streets and risk of serious injury to players on the field?

No, because it’s not true outwith a couple of occasions every two or three years. Almost every game Hibs plays passes off without a hitch, the common deominator for unpleasantness is almost always Rangers.

09-03-2019, 03:26 PM

Which clubs outside the big 5 in Scotland cause any trouble anyway? Their attendance is still like half of the worst from the top 5.

Of course football attracts more fannies. It also attracts more good supporters who cause no trouble.

H113EE5
09-03-2019, 03:37 PM
Rugby is a great day oot, meet up wae mates, few pints, off tae game and never the fear of some arse behind you throwing coins, bottles o buckie and spilling alot of **** and bile out their mouths towards players. Anyone who thinks rugby is boring really doesnt have a clue about rugby.Christ you can even have a beer without the fear of someone wanting a square go wae everyone around them. Not have to deal wae bigots etc etc etc...

Exactly

Ardenttwo
09-03-2019, 03:39 PM

Coming up North in the Inverness train from the Hibs game I had the misfortune to be in the same coach as the Scottish rugby fans a few weeks ago. What a bunch of lowlife ****bags they were. The behaviour with woman and children in the coach was a disgrace so not all rugby fans are perfect

09-03-2019, 04:07 PM
Coming up North in the Inverness train from the Hibs game I had the misfortune to be in the same coach as the Scottish rugby fans a few weeks ago. What a bunch of lowlife ****bags they were. The behaviour with woman and children in the coach was a disgrace so not all rugby fans are perfect

They’re a different type of roaster to your football fan roaster, but roasters none the less. Some of them are absolute ****.

therealgavmac
09-03-2019, 04:23 PM

You haven’t experienced rugby here in West Wales have you?

09-03-2019, 04:36 PM
You haven’t experienced rugby here in West Wales have you?

No. I thought the kilts part would imply I'm only talking about Scotland.

09-03-2019, 04:47 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;5735001]Sigh, we’ve already heard that Edinburgh’s club rugby attendances would make them around the 6th best supported club in Scotland. Not a few big days out a year really is it?

Scotland has two professional Rugby clubs …. in the catchment area that Edinburgh Rugby could reasonably lay claim to, lets say Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders down to Berwick and Fife there are a total of 8 professional football clubs all competing for support … its hardly scientific to compare the attendances of Scottish football clubs to Edinburgh Rugby's or Glasgow Warriors for that matter … both of whom will be supported by folk who also lay claim to a local club like Watsonians and the like.

As other posters have already pointed out football is different from Rugby because of the passions that drive it. In any country in the world clubs are extensions of the geographical areas they draw support from, but also of politics, social demographics and yes even religion, that cant be applied to Rugby. These factors make football the spectacle it is, but a lot of the time its also the reason passions boil over into anti social behaviour and violence.

A person's football club very often is a part of their identity, that's not the case with Rugby union, even though I've lived in the Borders for 50 years I have never ever been asked 'what Rugby club do you support mate' or even considered asking anybody that question. I would put my mortgage ( if I had one ) on betting that nobody on this forum, no matter where they live, has ever been asked that question either. But I would bet the same mortgage they have been asked at least once what football club they support.

Nobody wants to see anti social behaviour or violence the like of which we have witnessed recently at football matches …. but on the other hand I rue the day football becomes so sanitised that the passion is watered down to a silent crowd when the other lot are taking a penalty or politely applauding an opposition goal …….. Dear Lord … Nooooooooooooooo !!!

A couple of observations about Rugby and its fans:

I have more than once seen behaviour and actions by Rugby fans and players off the field living here which would have been viewed with the usual contempt if it had been football fans … so the view that they are all squeaky clean nice folk is no more valid than to say all football fans are violent neds.

When the Rugby world cup was held in Britain a few years ago there was an incident at St James's park where a player got a knock and quickly got up, the commentator made an observation that had it been the usual occupants of the stadium the player would have rolled about for 5 minutes and the stretcher would have been on …. All I could think was, if it hadn't been for the usual occupants of that stadium and other football stadiums like it you lot would be holding your sodding tournament in a field, so do one ya ungrateful bassas.

09-03-2019, 04:53 PM

That is just compete made up bull****. When have you ever and I genuinely mean ever heard about rugby fans getting involved in mass brawls in town centres sometimes hours after a match is finished. I have been to many many rugby internationals both at Murrayfield and away from home including Australia. I have also been to as an estimate probably close to 1000 football matches, mostly Hibs. Rugby fans can and are pissed up nuisances at times. Football fans can and are pissed up nuisances who often spill over into random acts of violence.

09-03-2019, 04:56 PM
Last time I was on a train with fans heading to the rugby (the start of Feb) the rugby fans were having cheese and crackers with grapes! Slightly different to our trips to Hampden :greengrin

Were they Green Grapes?

Definitely an instance of sectarianism

JimboHibs
09-03-2019, 05:00 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/stewart-s-melville-pupil-accused-of-foul-racial-abuse-on-school-rugby-field-1-4886537

Not much.

09-03-2019, 07:24 PM

I take it that you haven’t been close to Murrayfield when rugby fans are getting off their supporters buses absolutely blind drunk and chucking bottles of empty and full alcohol (including Buckie!) at locals and non rugby fans. What a joyous bunch of so called well behaved sport fans!

09-03-2019, 07:32 PM
That is just compete made up bull****. When have you ever and I genuinely mean ever heard about rugby fans getting involved in mass brawls in town centres sometimes hours after a match is finished. I have been to many many rugby internationals both at Murrayfield and away from home including Australia. I have also been to as an estimate probably close to 1000 football matches, mostly Hibs. Rugby fans can and are pissed up nuisances at times. Football fans can and are pissed up nuisances who often spill over into random acts of violence.

Scotland fans on the tram after the match with me tonight jumped up pish wee pricks pissed out their brain singing the Edinburgh song.

09-03-2019, 07:36 PM
I take it that you haven’t been close to Murrayfield when rugby fans are getting off their supporters buses absolutely blind drunk and chucking bottles of empty and full alcohol (including Buckie!) at locals and non rugby fans. What a joyous bunch of so called well behaved sport fans!

They are even worse than football fans because it’s just Ho Ho Ho and bit of a laugh isn’t it (see Levein) they are allowed to just do as they please though. One thing for the weegie police is when folloiothe national team in Glasgow everything is cut down on. You go to Glasgow and it’s like their deliberately getting all out their system they’ve had to endure watching over the old firm week to week.

09-03-2019, 07:36 PM
Scotland fans on the tram after the match with me tonight jumped up pish wee pricks pissed out their brain singing the Edinburgh song.
Yip ********s. But I'll ask again evidence please of mass brawls miles away from the stadium. The post I replied to said that rugby fans were worse than football fans outside the grounds

09-03-2019, 07:40 PM
Yip ********s. But I'll ask again evidence please of mass brawls miles away from the stadium. The post I replied to said that rugby fans were worse than football fans outside the grounds

Fair point on the fighting that’s mainly because of the swap agreement a lot of the ruby clubs have in place come the six nations. Everyone seems to love each other also which is cool, it’s not the same as domestic rugby though where in wales there is lots of fights week in week out.

Crazyhorse
09-03-2019, 09:06 PM

😄

09-03-2019, 10:11 PM
[QUOTE=superfurryhibby;5735001]Sigh, we’ve already heard that Edinburgh’s club rugby attendances would make them around the 6th best supported club in Scotland. Not a few big days out a year really is it?

Scotland has two professional Rugby clubs …. in the catchment area that Edinburgh Rugby could reasonably lay claim to, lets say Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders down to Berwick and Fife there are a total of 8 professional football clubs all competing for support … its hardly scientific to compare the attendances of Scottish football clubs to Edinburgh Rugby's or Glasgow Warriors for that matter … both of whom will be supported by folk who also lay claim to a local club like Watsonians and the like.

As other posters have already pointed out football is different from Rugby because of the passions that drive it. In any country in the world clubs are extensions of the geographical areas they draw support from, but also of politics, social demographics and yes even religion, that cant be applied to Rugby. These factors make football the spectacle it is, but a lot of the time its also the reason passions boil over into anti social behaviour and violence.

A person's football club very often is a part of their identity, that's not the case with Rugby union, even though I've lived in the Borders for 50 years I have never ever been asked 'what Rugby club do you support mate' or even considered asking anybody that question. I would put my mortgage ( if I had one ) on betting that nobody on this forum, no matter where they live, has ever been asked that question either. But I would bet the same mortgage they have been asked at least once what football club they support.

Nobody wants to see anti social behaviour or violence the like of which we have witnessed recently at football matches …. but on the other hand I rue the day football becomes so sanitised that the passion is watered down to a silent crowd when the other lot are taking a penalty or politely applauding an opposition goal …….. Dear Lord … Nooooooooooooooo !!!

A couple of observations about Rugby and its fans:

I have more than once seen behaviour and actions by Rugby fans and players off the field living here which would have been viewed with the usual contempt if it had been football fans … so the view that they are all squeaky clean nice folk is no more valid than to say all football fans are violent neds.

When the Rugby world cup was held in Britain a few years ago there was an incident at St James's park where a player got a knock and quickly got up, the commentator made an observation that had it been the usual occupants of the stadium the player would have rolled about for 5 minutes and the stretcher would have been on …. All I could think was, if it hadn't been for the usual occupants of that stadium and other football stadiums like it you lot would be holding your sodding tournament in a field, so do one ya ungrateful bassas.

You’re answer is way too long to reply too, but there us more to rugby than the two pro teams. It’s widely played at semi pro and amateur level and watched by many. The point I made is that it’s not really a thrice yearly jolly. On that basis my point doesn’t need science. If it did it would be a lot more reasoned than dismissing the game and the level of interest. I also said it’s by far the second largest team sport in Scotland?

Equally, there are social and geographical aspects associated with the game. It’s not played in a bubble.

09-03-2019, 10:27 PM
Fair point on the fighting that’s mainly because of the swap agreement a lot of the ruby clubs have in place come the six nations. Everyone seems to love each other also which is cool, it’s not the same as domestic rugby though where in wales there is lots of fights week in week out.Are you sure about Welsh club rugby fans regularly fighting ? I visited south Wales a few times in the late 90s and remember locals mentioning how CCTV in places like Maesteg had reduced number of fights in main streets . Folk were passionate about sport especially rugby and street brawls were common just as in any other similar towns in Wales or elsewhere in UK but have never heard anything about violence directly related to rugby fans . Nearly 20 years ago but have things really changed so much in that time ?

09-03-2019, 10:29 PM

This sounds like more of a Scottish issue than a rugby issue to be honest.

09-03-2019, 10:42 PM

Not at all. I lived in Twickenham for a while. Loved it except for Rugby days. Rugby fans on international days were odious.

09-03-2019, 10:52 PM
You do get a high number of detestable tosser rugby fans as well. They’re just generally a different type of detestable tosser.

Bother in George St bars rather than the streets of leith is still bother.

Yes sectarianism isn’t a big issue in rugby, but then the old firm don’t play rugby.

09-03-2019, 10:54 PM

I think I heard of even international rugby players being involved in a bar brawl in Edinburgh last year? May be wrong though.

09-03-2019, 10:57 PM

Seen it happen when England, Irish and welsh fans have been here. Also quite a bit of alcohol fuled trouble when the Italians have been in town before

09-03-2019, 10:58 PM
Rugby fans don't tend to cause much bother.

Rugby players can spill into offensive, obnoxious ar5ehole territory very easily.

I'm glad I don't go out any more. That feeling when you got to a bar only to find out that "rugby boys" were there.........

09-03-2019, 11:14 PM
[QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;5735082][B]

You’re answer is way too long to reply too, but there us more to rugby than the two pro teams. It’s widely played at semi pro and amateur level and watched by many. The point I made is that it’s not really a thrice yearly jolly. On that basis my point doesn’t need science. If it did it would be a lot more reasoned than dismissing the game and the level of interest. I also said it’s by far the second largest team sport in Scotland?

Equally, there are social and geographical aspects associated with the game. It’s not played in a bubble.

It seemed to me that you were holding up the attendances Edinburgh Rugby get against those Scottish pro football teams get … yes they hold up well, just so long as you acknowledge that the competition for support is far less intense. I'm sure I'm right in my view that folk who support and play for local amateur teams still attend Edinburgh Rugby games, so they cant be regarded as competition for spectators in the way that Hearts would be for Hibs or Hibs and Hearts or the ugly sisters are for everybody.

I agree the game isn't played in a bubble … but even in Scotland's most fervent Rugby area IE the Borders, you don't see anything like the passion for Rugby teams football instills in its adherents, especially for better or worse, its tribalism, which is both footballs blessing and its curse.

09-03-2019, 11:20 PM
Rugby fans behave far worse on public transport in the large and get away with it, up to and including the sexual harassment of female passengers. A lot of them are **** of the earth but because they’re going to watch a middle class event, the police are happy to roll the red carpet out for them. If a group of football fans behaved like your average group of rugby fans do on a train, they’d be met at the station and led away in handcuffs.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

09-03-2019, 11:37 PM

They’re a different type of ****er that follows rugby (the majority are fine of course, just as they are at football). Less fighting in the streets, more “banter” which includes sexually harassing women, hilariously getting their dick out in the middle of town, ****ting in the street or whatever else. They’re jusy ****bags from a higher tax band.

09-03-2019, 11:46 PM
Erseholes who get out about 5 times a year and behave like total rockets throwing as much drink as they can down their throats over the course of the day then proceed to flout the railway alcohol ban, abuse transport staff and harass fellow passengers on public transport, now none of this is ever debated in parliament though...:rolleyes:

leithsansiro
10-03-2019, 06:46 AM
As others have said, the whole culture in rugby is different, and it’s because it’s based on respect.

I’ll give you an example from yesterday.

I was watching a school’s rugby match in the morning in East Lothian, between two schools that are local rivals. There was a fairly serious foul tackle, the ref indicated that there was an advantage so the game played on. The play ended, the ref called both captains over and the offending player, calmly spoke to all three concerned and explained his decisions. All three boys stood and listened, before going back and getting ready for the next play. At no point was there any “square go” because of the foul or players shouting abuse at each other.

I’d struggle to picture a similar occurrence at an equivalent under 13s football match

10-03-2019, 06:53 AM
Erseholes who get out about 5 times a year and behave like total rockets throwing as much drink as they can down their throats over the course of the day then proceed to flout the railway alcohol ban, abuse transport staff and harass fellow passengers on public transport, now none of this is ever debated in parliament though...:rolleyes:

Are you describing Hibs fans who turn up to cup semi's/finals and derby games?

Sounds a pretty much perfect description to me.

10-03-2019, 07:03 AM
Are you describing Hibs fans who turn up to cup semi's/finals and derby games?

Sounds a pretty much perfect description to me.

I was about to post the exact same.

10-03-2019, 07:53 AM
I get the feeling rugby fans have some sort of superiority complex over football fans. It's like they think they are better because they follow a different sport

10-03-2019, 07:59 AM
I get the feeling rugby fans have some sort of superiority complex over football fans. It's like they think they are better because they follow a different sport

Read this thread and you might think it was the other way around. I love both sports, played rugby for years as well as having a ST for Hibs. Am still actively involved in my local club coaching U16s and still sometimes play even at the age of 50. There are tits in all walks of life. Rugby fans can be total knobs, I probably have been while on rugby tours. Football fans can be total knobs, I probably have been when watching Hibs. The difference is that you very seldom see mass brawls involving rugby fans. It just does not happen.

10-03-2019, 08:04 AM
As others have said, the whole culture in rugby is different, and it’s because it’s based on respect.

I’ll give you an example from yesterday.

I was watching a school’s rugby match in the morning in East Lothian, between two schools that are local rivals. There was a fairly serious foul tackle, the ref indicated that there was an advantage so the game played on. The play ended, the ref called both captains over and the offending player, calmly spoke to all three concerned and explained his decisions. All three boys stood and listened, before going back and getting ready for the next play. At no point was there any “square go” because of the foul or players shouting abuse at each other.

I’d struggle to picture a similar occurrence at an equivalent under 13s football match

The respect for the referee and of authority is certainly different. My mate started off down the football refereeing path and reffed a few games in Leith at the same age level. He quickly gave up because the hassle you got from players, coaches and parents was ridiculous. By the time you got to U15 you had some pretty big laddies involved and a lot of them had no idea how to behave. He said the intimidation involved was horrendous and he jacked it in very quickly.

Interestingly enough he's gone on to have a great career coaching in the USA, where he says it is completely different.

You can't pretend they don't often love a scrap amongst themselves at rugby though. Their parents might be paying a bit more/ have paid a bit more for their accents but it's a physical game with flash points, which occasionally spill over at all levels of the game.

10-03-2019, 08:07 AM
Read this thread and you might think it was the other way around. I love both sports, played rugby for years as well as having a ST for Hibs. Am still actively involved in my local club coaching U16s and still sometimes play even at the age of 50. There are tits in all walks of life. Rugby fans can be total knobs, I probably have been while on rugby tours. Football fans can be total knobs, I probably have been when watching Hibs. The difference is that you very seldom see mass brawls involving rugby fans. It just does not happen.

Excellent post, and sums it up for me.

It's always interesting to hear from someone with a foot in both camps. Where I'm from most sporty people would play both and watch both and the snobbery (and inverse snobbery) that often exists elsewhere just doesn't happen.

10-03-2019, 08:08 AM
Some nonsense on here, have I wandered into class war football forum? Rugby is no more defined by the demographic of international crowds than football. Bottom line is that our game is being dragged into the gutter by the actions of ****wit supporters. There is an idiot culture throughout the sport, at every level, from boys club to the pro game. Lots of decent folk involved of course, but the **** rise to the surface. There is no defending the undefendable here.

10-03-2019, 08:16 AM

10-03-2019, 08:18 AM
I actually agree. And the ball spends most of its time out of play in Rugby.

Some will point to the odd international rugby game to refute it, but if you go down to the non showcase games it’s like watching paint dry.

I'm not a huge rugby fan but I disagree.

There are long passages of play that are very exciting, whether it is the ball being hurled about at pace or the excitement of a legalised rammy.

It's like saying the 1970 Brazil team just kicked a bag of air about.

HibbyDave
10-03-2019, 08:21 AM

Yip I remember it well. My point was that pre segregation quite often small arguments flared up then a circle would open up around the main participants and they were easily identified and often arrested. Of course some large scale bother occurred too. The hail of bottles and cans/ darts did happen and yes I was witness to it but in general I believe that segregation has only bred tribalism which often spills out onto the streets after a match.

10-03-2019, 08:23 AM

Nonsense.

The weekly rugby games are dire and there was more atmosphere at my grans funeral.

Crowds are miles short of capacity and struggle to get above 500 much of the time. The stadiums - if you can call them that - are laughable and the gameplay is like playing ET on the Atari2600.

10-03-2019, 08:28 AM
Yip I remember it well. My point was that pre segregation quite often small arguments flared up then a circle would open up around the main participants and they were easily identified and often arrested. Of course some large scale bother occurred too. The hail of bottles and cans/ darts did happen and yes I was witness to it but in general I believe that segregation has only bred tribalism which often spills out onto the streets after a match.

The streets were carnage back then too. There was a very large police presence on Easter Rd on Friday, back in the day there was very little effort made to prevent violence. I remember it well myself.

10-03-2019, 08:33 AM
There's never any incidents at rugby cos no-one has any interest in it lets be honest.

The two biggest clubs in the country are getting less through the gates than Dundee Utd for their Pro14 games. The Scottish Rugby Premiership clubs have less supporters than Pollock FC juniors. They get a few column inches compared to front and back pages for the fitba. If there was 100,000 punters watching rugby every weekend i'm sure they would get a few dozen ********s over the course the season too, cos lets be honest here over the whole league over the whole season its a 30 odd fanny's making a noel hunt of it for everyone else. Storm in a teacup...

10-03-2019, 09:01 AM
There's never any incidents at rugby cos no-one has any interest in it lets be honest.

The two biggest clubs in the country are getting less through the gates than Dundee Utd for their Pro14 games. The Scottish Rugby Premiership clubs have less supporters than Pollock FC juniors. They get a few column inches compared to front and back pages for the fitba. If there was 100,000 punters watching rugby every weekend i'm sure they would get a few dozen ********s over the course the season too, cos lets be honest here over the whole league over the whole season its a 30 odd fanny's making a noel hunt of it for everyone else. Storm in a teacup...

When there’s an average of 15000 people coming through the gate at 6 rugby games 38 times a year (not including internationals) then it’ll be a fair comparison. As it stands rugby potentially has less ********s because there’s a hell of a lot less people there.

10-03-2019, 09:20 AM
Nonsense.

The weekly rugby games are dire and there was more atmosphere at my grans funeral.

Crowds are miles short of capacity and struggle to get above 500 much of the time. The stadiums - if you can call them that - are laughable and the gameplay is like playing ET on the Atari2600.

That may be true, but what in my post was "nonsense"?

However, how do you know that league rugby is dire? That sounds like the kind of remark I hear about Scottish football from English football fans.

Regarding attendances, have you noticed how many people are turning up at Scottish football outside the top division?

League one and two often only have a couple of hundred hardy souls watching and if they get close to 1000, it's s boom day.

How would you describe the football in those games, if not "dire"?

10-03-2019, 09:32 AM

It's not a numbers game for me. It's the general persona of the 2 sets of fans.

Thick people can't understand the rules and don't attend Rugby. This eliminates bottle throwing and ripping up seats.

See. We can all put forward ridiculous theories.

10-03-2019, 09:44 AM
It's not a numbers game for me. It's the general persona of the 2 sets of fans.

Thick people can't understand the rules and don't attend Rugby. This eliminates bottle throwing and ripping up seats.

See. We can all put forward ridiculous theories.

It’s absolutely a numbers game in some respects. It goes without saying that as there’s around 3.5m people through the door a season in the Scottish Premiership that there’s going to be more bother than when there’s maybe about 350,000 through the door at the rugby each season.

10-03-2019, 10:40 AM
It’s absolutely a numbers game in some respects. It goes without saying that as there’s around 3.5m people through the door a season in the Scottish Premiership that there’s going to be more bother than when there’s maybe about 350,000 through the door at the rugby each season.

That may be true, but after a couple of google searches I haven't seen a single article that says a single one of the 350,000 have been arrested.

Googling Murrayfield arrests show nothing but arrests not related to sport or involve the semi final between hearts and Celtic or derby matches.

10-03-2019, 10:48 AM

Probably because there's nothing to debate. Do you have examples of this abuse of staff and passengers by rugby fans? I've never come across it, or at least certainly not in Scotland, whereas I've been on more than one train populated by football fans where unscheduled stops have been made for police to board and remove those behaving in appalling fashion.

WestStandWillie
10-03-2019, 10:51 AM

Sounds positively awful. How about we all meet up outside,shake hands and get oor dicks out for a jolly good laugh.

10-03-2019, 10:54 AM

You make some fair points.

I'd also suggest that there's a default mentality among a fair number of football fans which goes along the lines of 'I've never played or watched rugby, nor attempted to understand the rules therefore it must be s**t.'

Fact is, the reason football enjoys such global popularity is not necessarily because it's the best sport out there, but because it's the easiest to understand. Bar the offside rule, it's probably the most basic of sports to follow. Invest a bit of time in other sports and you come to appreciate there are many where a significantly greater all-round combination of skills, bravery and respect are there to be admired. Rugby, at its best, is arguably a lot more entertaining than football, which, let's face it, is often not all it's cracked up to be despite the glitz around the Champions League and English Premier League.

10-03-2019, 10:56 AM
You make some fair points.

I'd also suggest that there's a default mentality among a fair number of football fans which goes along the lines of 'I've never played or watched rugby, nor attempted to understand the rules therefore it must be s**t.'

Fact is, the reason football enjoys such global popularity is not necessarily because it's the best sport out there, but because it's the easiest to understand. Bar the offside rule, it's probably the most basic of sports to follow. Invest a bit of time in other sports and you come to appreciate there are many where a significantly greater all-round combination of skills and bravery are required. Rugby, at it's best, is arguably a lot more entertaining than football, which, let's face it, is often not all it's cracked up to be despite the glitz around the Champions League and English Premier League.

Football is not the most globally popular sport due to having the simplest set of rules 😂

10-03-2019, 11:03 AM
Excellent post, and sums it up for me.

It's always interesting to hear from someone with a foot in both camps. Where I'm from most sporty people would play both and watch both and the snobbery (and inverse snobbery) that often exists elsewhere just doesn't happen.

One of my cousins lives in Leicester and they have season tickets for both Leicester City and Leicester Tigers, which is commonplace there. Both the football and the rugby club average about 25k for home games, although until Leicester's shock title win the rugby club used to draw significantly larger crowds.

10-03-2019, 11:08 AM
That may be true, but after a couple of google searches I haven't seen a single article that says a single one of the 350,000 have been arrested.

Googling Murrayfield arrests show nothing but arrests not related to sport or involve the semi final between hearts and Celtic or derby matches.

Are you sure you're not using Bing? Try a quick Google search next time. That's what I done.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/rugby-banning-orders-suggested-after-13977858.amp

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-south-east-wales-42165978

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/rugby/watch-violent-scenes-as-rugby-fans-brawl-on-pitch-35096760.html

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3512687/Fight-breaks-rugby-league-match-players-jump-crowd-protect-wives-children-squashed-fans.html#ixzz44EGFFae9

https://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk/news/3556268.rugby-thug-jailed-for-attack-on-wolves-fan/

http://jomec.co.uk/thecardiffian/2017/11/28/rugby-fans-worse-football-fans-say-police/

10-03-2019, 11:08 AM
Football is not the most globally popular sport due to having the simplest set of rules 😂

Can you name a simpler one? A ball and something to use for goalposts is all you need. It's got to be the most accessible and straightforward sport there is.

10-03-2019, 11:16 AM
Can you name a simpler one? A ball and something to use for goalposts is all you need. It's got to be the most accessible and straightforward sport there is.

I’m not saying it’s not the most simple (although I’ll give you tennis, golf, badminton, table tennis, darts, boxing off the top of my head as simpler sports).

Even if it was though, it’s certainly not the reason for it being the most popular.

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 11:19 AM
To all of you posting how great rugby is, how many of you go to the rugby every weekend? Have season tickets at the rugby? How many of you watch the rugby on the tv every weekend if you can’t make the match? How many of you post on rugby forums?
You are contradicting yourselves with your own actions. If rugby is so great then why are you not all at the rugby and posting on rugby.net? I’ll tell you why- because rugby is vanilla, it’s non-emotional, it simply doesn’t matter that much. It is a rubbish sport and I hope rugby’s “family-friendly, half-and-half -scarf wearing, face-painting, opposition-fan-hugging” culture stays away from football.

10-03-2019, 11:36 AM
Are you sure you're not using Bing? Try a quick Google search next time. That's what I done.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/rugby-banning-orders-suggested-after-13977858.amp

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/rugby/watch-violent-scenes-as-rugby-fans-brawl-on-pitch-35096760.html

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3512687/Fight-breaks-rugby-league-match-players-jump-crowd-protect-wives-children-squashed-fans.html#ixzz44EGFFae9

https://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk/news/3556268.rugby-thug-jailed-for-attack-on-wolves-fan/

http://jomec.co.uk/thecardiffian/2017/11/28/rugby-fans-worse-football-fans-say-police/

As my post says, I googled Murrayfield, not South Wales/Warrington, because that's what we are comparing here.

10-03-2019, 11:39 AM
To all of you posting how great rugby is, how many of you go to the rugby every weekend? Have season tickets at the rugby? How many of you watch the rugby on the tv every weekend if you can’t make the match? How many of you post on rugby forums?
You are contradicting yourselves with your own actions. If rugby is so great then why are you not all at the rugby and posting on rugby.net? I’ll tell you why- because rugby is vanilla, it’s non-emotional, it simply doesn’t matter that much. It is a rubbish sport and I hope rugby’s “family-friendly, half-and-half -scarf wearing, face-painting, opposition-fan-hugging” culture stays away from football.

So you have to like one sport and not the other and be completely polarised in your opinions else they are invalid?

I was brought a Hibs supporter who went to the occasional rugby game, but I can't be a proper fan because I haven't declared outright love for one over the other?

Utter utter *****.

10-03-2019, 11:43 AM
Anyone arguing Rugby doesn’t have the same violence/hatred issues as football because it is a more boring sport is, quite frankly, an idiot.

10-03-2019, 11:53 AM
Anyone arguing Rugby doesn’t have the same violence/hatred issues as football because it is a more boring sport is, quite frankly, an idiot.

It’s not as passionate a sport from a fans point of view.

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 11:55 AM
So you have to like one sport and not the other and be completely polarised in your opinions else they are invalid?

I was brought a Hibs supporter who went to the occasional rugby game, but I can't be a proper fan because I haven't declared outright love for one over the other?

Utter utter *****.
Read the post again, you clearly didn’t understand it.

10-03-2019, 11:57 AM

10-03-2019, 11:58 AM
Sounds positively awful. How about we all meet up outside,shake hands and get oor dicks out for a jolly good laugh.

Now we know why you're called West Stand Willie.

How long have you had this fascination for penises?

10-03-2019, 12:04 PM
Read the post again, you clearly didn’t understand it.

No I did, I was just calling it for the utter ***** that it is.

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 12:08 PM
No I did, I was just calling it for the utter ***** that it is.

And yet you failed. You also failed to understand the post. I hope you have more success on rugby.net.

10-03-2019, 12:09 PM
And yet you failed. You also failed to understand the post. I hope you have more success on rugby.net.

Haha ok mate, you can have your opinions and I'll stick to mine.

If you'd like to explain where I've gone wrong then go for it.

WestStandWillie
10-03-2019, 12:09 PM
Now we know why you're called West Stand Willie.

How long have you had this fascination for penises?

I don’t recall you having any previous interest in my fascinations of any type. I don’t know whether to scared or flattered!

10-03-2019, 12:10 PM

Im a fan of a number of sports, including rugby, and participated in many of them for years. I realise now, I should have asked your opinion of them before deciding to be a fan or not :rolleyes:

10-03-2019, 12:15 PM
I don’t recall you having any previous interest in my fascinations of any type. I don’t know whether to scared or flattered!

I had no knowledge of any your fascinations until you suggested meeting up after a game to get our dicks out.

I have no intention of doing that, by the way.

WestStandWillie
10-03-2019, 12:20 PM

I had no knowledge of any your fascinations until you suggested meeting up after a game to get our dicks out.

I have no intention of doing that, by the way.

Should have been in the Grassmarket over the last couple o nights.

10-03-2019, 12:25 PM
Should have been in the Grassmarket over the last couple o nights.

Whatever floats your boat, I guess.

10-03-2019, 12:33 PM

What absolute pish you dribble. I'll list the sports that I have played for you. Football, rugby, cricket, badminton, gymnastics, hockey. Most of them at school but some like rugby cricket and football after I'd left school. I have also supported Hibs for 46 years now and had a ST most of my adult life. But perhaps I'm not as big a Hibby as you cos I've played lots of sports. Maybe if you got a life outside of Hibs you wouldn't talk so much pish.
Edit. Read your post again and maybe it's not about being the biggest Hibby so apologies for that. But it is still pish

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 12:43 PM
What absolute pish you dribble. I'll list the sports that I have played for you. Football, rugby, cricket, badminton, gymnastics, hockey. Most of them at school but some like rugby cricket and football after I'd left school. I have also supported Hibs for 46 years now and had a ST most of my adult life. But perhaps I'm not as big a Hibby as you cos I've played lots of sports. Maybe if you got a life outside of Hibs you wouldn't talk so much pish.
Edit. Read your post again and maybe it's not about being the biggest Hibby so apologies for that. But it is still pish

The post has nothing to do with criticizing people for supporting rugby and everything to do with criticizing people for trying to make out that rugby, and its supporters, are in someway superior to football fans. I suggest you read the post again.

10-03-2019, 12:45 PM
The post has nothing to do with criticizing people for supporting rugby and everything to do with criticizing people for trying to make out that rugby, and its supporters, are in someway superior to football fans. I suggest you read the post again.

That is absolutely not what your post says, it's a diatribe of ***** about how passionless you think rugby is!

10-03-2019, 12:47 PM

Similar to me, played rugby at school because it was Trinity Academy and was a Grammar School then, played football for Edina Hibs, played off a 5 handicap at golf when I was 18, played American football till I was 41 and played numerous times for the Scotland team in the home internationals.

Love my football and been a ST holder most of my life but I do enjoy watching other sports, I'm not sotunnel visioned.

10-03-2019, 12:54 PM

Beat me to it. Its not the rules that make it so popular, its the ease with which a game can be organised … a ball, jumpers or 4 sticks to act as goals and Bobs yer uncle.

Even at organised level you can kit out a whole team for about £200 and buy a pair of boots for less than £30. When it comes to Rugby for a kick off you need to kit out a minimum of 15 players and I would imagine Rugby kit is more expensive, especially when you go down the route of gumshields and the like.

I can only imagine what it must cost to kit out an American football team … parents in America must have nightmares about it :greengrin

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 12:55 PM
That is absolutely not what your post says, it's a diatribe of ***** about how passionless you think rugby is!

Yes, which is why I criticize people for wanting football fans to behave like rugby fans. Football is great because of the rivalry. Rugby is vanilla because there is no rivalry.

You, and others who posted, like rugby in a passive manner. It further proves my point that football and it’s fans will always be superior.

10-03-2019, 01:02 PM
Yes, which is why I criticize people for wanting football fans to behave like rugby fans. Football is great because of the rivalry. Rugby is vanilla because there is no rivalry.

You, and others who posted, like rugby in a passive manner. It further proves my point that football and it’s fans will always be superior.

So rivalry is bile and hatred and can't be reasonably good natured? I think you've got some issues if that's the case.

Wanting rugby fans to be more like football fans is not what any of us supporting rugby have said. It would just have been nice to feel as though I could have taken my pregnant wife in to town for tea before the game on Friday instead of feeling uneasy about being up that way and having to walk down Easter road. Testimony on this forum would suggest I was right, that was a heavy police presence and fans intimidating on another.

If that makes me want football to be more like rugby then absolutely I do.

10-03-2019, 01:08 PM

You have no idea how passionate I get about rugby. Travelling to away games in Europe and half way round the world to Australia would suggest that I along with thousands of others, are very passionate. We just don't feel the need to batter lumps out of opposition fans, preferring instead to have a drink and a laugh with them

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 01:09 PM
So rivalry is bile and hatred and can't be reasonably good natured? I think you've got some issues if that's the case.

Wanting rugby fans to be more like football fans is not what any of us supporting rugby have said. It would just have been nice to feel as though I could have taken my pregnant wife in to town for tea before the game on Friday instead of feeling uneasy about being up that way and having to walk down Easter road. Testimony on this forum would suggest I was right, that was a heavy police presence and fans intimidating on another.

Well you won’t like this then: I took my pregnant girlfriend into town before the game on Friday and the only issue I had was when two kilt wearing, face painted drunk rugby fans (clearly been off for the day from whatever middle management role they hold in a bank drinking) started to wolf whistle at her. Make of that what you will. Mon the football.

10-03-2019, 01:14 PM
Having policed Murrayfield, Easter Road and Tyncastle for numerous years. The rugby detail is a walk in the park compared to a Cat A game at both football stadiums.

celthedd1
10-03-2019, 01:18 PM

Been here since Thursday walking the Pentlands, footie Friday night, rugby yesterday and now soaked after being up Arthur's Seat looking down on Easter Road, thought Rangers fans were good fair play, superb night out in the Grass Market last night and later more of the same in Finnegans for me then home to Wales tomorrow. Rugby fans for me simply because they're above the hatred involved between footie fans, I dont like animosity on life but will forever be present in football.... all over the world.

10-03-2019, 01:22 PM
I actually love both Football and Rugby.

There’s ******** fans at Scottish rugby games also as is there’s ******** fans watching league rugby down south all the time.

As for tribal rivalry, plenty of it goes on south of the border even if it is public schoolboys, they absolutely hate each other in some places.

Closer to home, away from pro league etc, go down to the sevens at Melrose and tell me its all cock stroking, it simply isn’t, they hate each other but can control it because the opposition doesn’t seem to bring out the worst in drunk people.

10-03-2019, 01:24 PM
Having policed Murrayfield, Easter Road and Tyncastle for numerous years. The rugby detail is a walk in the park compared to a Cat A game at both football stadiums.

For some reason at football you’re encouraged to act like a bam at an early age, rugby your encouraged to rip the piss out of opposition for never engage in violance off the park. I dont even think it’s a class thing. I’ve seen rugby fans and lower level players act like utter trumpets at football matches, go figure?

10-03-2019, 01:26 PM

I don't know if 'superior' is the right word. Its just two different mindsets and approach to the sport, especially at international level. One place where Rugby absolutely kicks football's ass is in selling the game …. the Rugby folk have turned the 6 nations and Autumn internationals into a social event rather than a purely sporting occasion. That's why even when year after year its the same 6 teams playing in the 6 nations and no matter how kack Scotland have been for years Murrayfield still sells out and the Autumn internationals come close to it. Contrast that with our national football team, where crowds to a far higher degree depend on the level of opposition and how well the team is doing.

Its another example of why football's passion and bitter rivalries are its curse as well as its blessing. The passion folk have for their teams and the level of emotional energy they invest in their performance can drive them away from games just as much as attract them …. how many folk stop going to games because they cant stand the pent up frustration they get watching their team when its performing poorly, but are attracted back when results pick up. That doesn't seem to happen in Rugby to anything like the same degree, at least not at international level.

But still … give me the passion and bitter rivalries any old day, for better or worse it makes football the greatest game in the world. At its worst it results in what happened between River Plate and Boca Juniors last year, at its best it makes for an atmosphere in stadiums no other sport comes close to matching.

10-03-2019, 01:59 PM
I don't know if 'superior' is the right word. Its just two different mindsets and approach to the sport, especially at international level. One place where Rugby absolutely kicks football's ass is in selling the game …. the Rugby folk have turned the 6 nations and Autumn internationals into a social event rather than a purely sporting occasion. That's why even when year after year its the same 6 teams playing in the 6 nations and no matter how kack Scotland have been for years Murrayfield still sells out and the Autumn internationals come close to it. Contrast that with our national football team, where crowds to a far higher degree depend on the level of opposition and how well the team is doing.

Its another example of why football's passion and bitter rivalries are its curse as well as its blessing. The passion folk have for their teams and the level of emotional energy they invest in their performance can drive them away from games just as much as attract them …. how many folk stop going to games because they cant stand the pent up frustration they get watching their team when its performing poorly, but are attracted back when results pick up. That doesn't seem to happen in Rugby to anything like the same degree, at least not at international level.

But still … give me the passion and bitter rivalries any old day, for better or worse it makes football the greatest game in the world. At its worst it results in what happened between River Plate and Boca Juniors last year, at its best it makes for an atmosphere in stadiums no other sport comes close to matching.

I agree i go to both rugby and football, rugby less frequently I have seen Edinburgh about 5 times this season and Scotland once. There is little to no passion in a rugby crowd and I count international games in that. The anthem is great then very little passion. I have sat beside Glasgow, Leinster, Irish international fans and others never heard a cross word. Fans chat and are sociable even with plenty drink nothing like football.

I prefer football.

10-03-2019, 02:37 PM
Well you won’t like this then: I took my pregnant girlfriend into town before the game on Friday and the only issue I had was when two kilt wearing, face painted drunk rugby fans (clearly been off for the day from whatever middle management role they hold in a bank drinking) started to wolf whistle at her. Make of that what you will. Mon the football.

That can't have been pleasant, and it's not nice in any walk of life to feel as though you are being objectified or intimidated. However your point totally contradicts your argument? So what do you want? Rugby to be genteel and innoffensive or to have a bit of edge? Much confusion I sense in you.

Tinribs
10-03-2019, 02:50 PM
It might be childish, but I would have tanned the jaw of at least one of them for that sort of disrespect.

leitchalan
10-03-2019, 03:19 PM
Well you won’t like this then: I took my pregnant girlfriend into town before the game on Friday and the only issue I had was when two kilt wearing, face painted drunk rugby fans (clearly been off for the day from whatever middle management role they hold in a bank drinking) started to wolf whistle at her. Make of that what you will. Mon the football.Rugby is for the better educated ones.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190310/fe1b32af91450851780f9f247bed018a.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

10-03-2019, 03:19 PM

Hard to imagine fans of a such a passion-free sport as rugby (in your view) would be so up for the game that they'd pull on the kilts and kick off the drinking the night before the game. Unless you made the story up to suit your agenda I guess.

10-03-2019, 03:30 PM
Rugby is for the better educated ones.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190310/fe1b32af91450851780f9f247bed018a.jpg

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Only in some folks minds. I would ask you or any one here to come down to Alloa Rugby Club for any game, or any six nations match to watch on the big screen and see how "better educated", or "upper class", or "snobby" or any other of these terms we are. And I suspect most clubs out with the FP clubs are the same. There were a number of Hibbies at the club when Hibs played Alloa a few years ago and I'm pretty sure they felt very welcome

10-03-2019, 03:34 PM
I’m not saying it’s not the most simple (although I’ll give you tennis, golf, badminton, table tennis, darts, boxing off the top of my head as simpler sports).

Even if it was though, it’s certainly not the reason for it being the most popular.

I don't think any of those sports are simpler. The scoring system for one is more complex. And I'd suggest the all-round abilities required for tennis in particular are way above what's required for football. Speed, stamina, phenomenal hand-eye co-ordination and footwork as well as breathtaking skill make it the all-round package. Not to mention the mental demands of game-management in what is primarily and individual sport. The only elements missing that football has are heading the ball and physical challenges.

As I said, many folk are put off other sports because they seem alien, either because they've never played them or because they can't be bothered learning the rules/scoring system. I sometimes think it's strange that for a nation that is often stereotyped as being a bit one-eyed that the US has, until fairly recently, never really taken to the sport of 'soccer' - preferring instead to embrace American Football and baseball, which are trickier sports to understand.

Bottom line, the 'rugby is c**p' view is, I would suggest, held largely by those who can't be ersed taking any time to at least learn the rules before passing sweeping judgement.

10-03-2019, 03:38 PM

In your view.

In answer to your questions, yes I would happily watch rugby if I'm not watching Hibs - have even been to rugby games instead of Hibs games. However, I can trace my family's support for Hibs back to the early years of the 20th Century and feel I retain as much emotional attachment to the club as any other fan.

Torto7
10-03-2019, 03:56 PM
Football now tends to everyman behind the ball and a low tempo low risk snoozefest. It's funny seeing fans of the SPL(one of the most boring leagues around) having a go at another sport.

Hibs are a habit/social existence to me, I also follow the weegies in the pro 14 and can quite honestly say I'll get more entertainment in a couple of weegie home games than I would watching an entire weekend of football.

I love the outdated view that all rugby fans are toffs. 67000 toffs at Murrayfield. Does Scotland even have that many posh people. :faf:

Stuart Hoggs a Hibby btw.

10-03-2019, 04:04 PM
Hard to imagine fans of a such a passion-free sport as rugby (in your view) would be so up for the game that they'd pull on the kilts and kick off the drinking the night before the game. Unless you made the story up to suit your agenda I guess.

Yes, it’s amazing this story didn’t come up until Jones28 mentioned taking his pregnant partner out for a meal in town, then suddenly he’s done the same thing with his pregnant partner and had an experience which just happens to suit his prejudices.

10-03-2019, 04:06 PM
Yes, it’s amazing this story didn’t come up until Jones28 mentioned taking his pregnant partner out for a meal in town, then suddenly he’s done the same thing with his pregnant partner and had an experience which just happens to suit his prejudices.

Funny that eh? Never occurred to me that someone would talk pish to suit the agenda they pedal 🤔

HibeeHibernian4
10-03-2019, 04:19 PM
Football now tends to everyman behind the ball and a low tempo low risk snoozefest. It's funny seeing fans of the SPL(one of the most boring leagues around) having a go at another sport.

Hibs are a habit/social existence to me, I also follow the weegies in the pro 14 and can quite honestly say I'll get more entertainment in a couple of weegie home games than I would watching an entire weekend of football.

I love the outdated view that all rugby fans are toffs. 67000 toffs at Murrayfield. Does Scotland even have that many posh people. :faf:

Stuart Hoggs a Hibby btw.

The Champions League/English Premier League are guilty of the 'everyman behind the ball and a low tempo low risk snoozefest' tactic you're describing, but Scottish football really isn't. We're maybe 'not good enough' to pull it off, but facts are that most games look nothing like the boring Liverpool 0-0 Man United games I've had the misfortune of sitting through.

Squirrel 1875
10-03-2019, 06:43 PM

Are you calling me a liar? You rugby types just can help yourselves.

10-03-2019, 06:48 PM

Ha ha rugby types

10-03-2019, 06:51 PM

He's on the troll train now

10-03-2019, 06:53 PM
Let's be honest the whole thread is just generalisations and folk throwing about anecdotal evidence to suit their own view. I'm not sure why one person should be singled out over anyone else.

10-03-2019, 07:22 PM
I don't think any of those sports are simpler. The scoring system for one is more complex. And I'd suggest the all-round abilities required for tennis in particular are way above what's required for football. Speed, stamina, phenomenal hand-eye co-ordination and footwork as well as breathtaking skill make it the all-round package. Not to mention the mental demands of game-management in what is primarily and individual sport. The only elements missing that football has are heading the ball and physical challenges.

As I said, many folk are put off other sports because they seem alien, either because they've never played them or because they can't be bothered learning the rules/scoring system. I sometimes think it's strange that for a nation that is often stereotyped as being a bit one-eyed that the US has, until fairly recently, never really taken to the sport of 'soccer' - preferring instead to embrace American Football and baseball, which are trickier sports to understand.

Bottom line, the 'rugby is c**p' view is, I would suggest, held largely by those who can't be ersed taking any time to at least learn the rules before passing sweeping judgement.

Football has loads of rules. It may seem simple to us on Hibs.net because we are so big into it but to suggest that it is the most simple sport out there rules wise is nonsense.

The offside rule for one would be very confusing for someone that doesn't follow football when you consider on top of the general description people usually give (two defenders between attacker and goal) that they usually don't include things like not being able to be offside if you're behind the ball no matter what the circumstances regarding defenders are etc. You can throw in referees giving advantage which off the top of my head I'm not aware of happening in other sports, pass back rule (being able to pass back with any part of your body other than your foot but also wee things like not being able to set yourself up for a headed pass back etc), no offsides from a goal kick, the ball having to leave the box at a goal kick (and incidentally also the ball having to leave your box from a free kick inside your own box, one that not many people know about!), deliberate handball/accidental handball, can't jump in front of the goalie when he's kicking it but you can stand there still, the same with throw ins, having to go off when you've been treated for an injury unless a foul was committed where the offender has been booked, high feet, persistent fouling.. I'm sure I could go on forever but the idea that football is just a case of get a ball, get a set of goals at each end and that's about it is nonsense. Tennis doesn't have nearly as many rules and other than the scoring system going 0-15-30-40-end game or deuce-advantage it is a much more simple game for someone who has no knowledge of it as are quite a few of the ones I mentioned IMO.

Football is the most followed sport in the world because it's quite simply the best sport there is, not due to it being some sort of simpletons game. It's got every thing you could ever hope for in a sport.

11-03-2019, 07:17 AM
Probably because there's nothing to debate. Do you have examples of this abuse of staff and passengers by rugby fans? I've never come across it, or at least certainly not in Scotland, whereas I've been on more than one train populated by football fans where unscheduled stops have been made for police to board and remove those behaving in appalling fashion.

Fans spitting at and on staff, throwing punches at staff, verbal abuse, intimidating staff and other passengers, throwing glass bottles at staff and trains, verbal sexual abuse of female staff especially conductors, this list could go on and on!

The police seem to turn a blind eye to a lot of the incidents especially on the trains and ask for paper reports from train crew and will deal with later.

norhfc
11-03-2019, 08:43 AM
I watched the Scotland v Wales game in a pub over here filled with expats from all over the world. I enjoyed the game, what annoyed me and something I just dont get in sport was the Welsh crowd cheering Scotlands points and vice versa. It just goes against the competitveness that sport is, I missed the banter of football, way too nice for me. I am a 6 nations rugby fan, dont watch Club rugby and have never been to Murrayfield for a rugby game.

11-03-2019, 09:30 AM
I watched the Scotland v Wales game in a pub over here filled with expats from all over the world. I enjoyed the game, what annoyed me and something I just dont get in sport was the Welsh crowd cheering Scotlands points and vice versa. It just goes against the competitveness that sport is, I missed the banter of football, way too nice for me. I am a 6 nations rugby fan, dont watch Club rugby and have never been to Murrayfield for a rugby game.

:agree: I think I empathise with every word you say here.. only it was a different 6 nations I was watching abroad years ago. Have also never been to Murrayfield for rugby.. would give it a try if offered a free ticket or something but have no desire to shell out 60 odd quid for the experience. I'll just take everyone's word that mixing with fans, sharing national anthems and cheering opposition points makes for a great atmosphere. It's good enough fun to watch from the couch/pub once or twice a year :aok:

Besties Debut
11-03-2019, 09:39 AM
:agree: I think I empathise with every word you say here.. only it was a different 6 nations I was watching abroad years ago. Have also never been to Murrayfield for rugby.. would give it a try if offered a free ticket or something but have no desire to shell out 60 odd quid for the experience. I'll just take everyone's word that mixing with fans, sharing national anthems and cheering opposition points makes for a great atmosphere. It's good enough fun to watch from the couch/pub once or twice a year :aok: A couple of years ago i attended a Wales v England game in Cardiff through my work. The abuse dished out by the Welsh to the English players and their fans were the same I've heard many times at the fitba. If a Welsh fan stated applauding every English point or singing God save the queen I think he would be have put on his arse by his fellow countrymen

11-03-2019, 09:53 AM

I remember watching a Six Nations games a few years back when Scotland played England at Murrayfield. Jonny Wilkinson got subbed and a few Scotland fans booed him; the co commentator, Jonathan Davies iirc, started going mental about it and was utterly appalled. 'If you don't like the guy then fine but don't behave like that, go elsewhere because that's not rugby' was the general idea of his comments. Really? I also don't get the silence when another team have a penalty. I know people will say it's about respect but it confuses me. Hypothetical scenario: Last minute of a Six nations decider, Scotland v England, Scotland are 2 points ahead and England get a penalty that's within distance of the posts. The crowd should be going mental and giving their team every possible chance of winning rather than sitting quietly.

On the flip side I went to a couple of Edinburgh games at Murrayfield a few years back and it was great to be able to stand in a designated area right next to the pitch and have a beer whilst watching the game. A Welsh team where the opposition (Newport maybe?) and their fans seemed far more boisterous and 'football' than the Edinburgh equivalent. I'm not sure if that's still allowed but it was a decent Friday night out.

11-03-2019, 01:58 PM
That may be true, but what in my post was "nonsense"?

However, how do you know that league rugby is dire? That sounds like the kind of remark I hear about Scottish football from English football fans.

Regarding attendances, have you noticed how many people are turning up at Scottish football outside the top division?

League one and two often only have a couple of hundred hardy souls watching and if they get close to 1000, it's s boom day.

How would you describe the football in those games, if not "dire"?

Your assertion that I'm ignoring the league games is nonsense. I'm not.

In fact it makes good sense to point out that many of Scotland's least illustrious clubs attract poor crowds, just like Rugby's top Premiership Clubs (Kelso, Hawick, Heriots FP lol. I could go on)

In terms of the entertainment. Where did I say that all of our football club teams were attracting huge crowds and providing a scintillating spectacle?

Mantis Toboggan
11-03-2019, 03:08 PM
I remember watching a Six Nations games a few years back when Scotland played England at Murrayfield. Jonny Wilkinson got subbed and a few Scotland fans booed him; the co commentator, Jonathan Davies iirc, started going mental about it and was utterly appalled. 'If you don't like the guy then fine but don't behave like that, go elsewhere because that's not rugby' was the general idea of his comments. Really? I also don't get the silence when another team have a penalty. I know people will say it's about respect but it confuses me. Hypothetical scenario: Last minute of a Six nations decider, Scotland v England, Scotland are 2 points ahead and England get a penalty that's within distance of the posts. The crowd should be going mental and giving their team every possible chance of winning rather than sitting quietly.

On the flip side I went to a couple of Edinburgh games at Murrayfield a few years back and it was great to be able to stand in a designated area right next to the pitch and have a beer whilst watching the game. A Welsh team where the opposition (Newport maybe?) and their fans seemed far more boisterous and 'football' than the Edinburgh equivalent. I'm not sure if that's still allowed but it was a decent Friday night out.

A man who should be ignored at all times. Just thinking about his voice is making me go all cold inside.

11-03-2019, 03:17 PM
Your assertion that I'm ignoring the league games is nonsense. I'm not.

In fact it makes good sense to point out that many of Scotland's least illustrious clubs attract poor crowds, just like Rugby's top Premiership Clubs (Kelso, Hawick, Heriots FP lol. I could go on)

In terms of the entertainment. Where did I say that all of our football club teams were attracting huge crowds and providing a scintillating spectacle?

You don’t actually know what the crowds are like at games involving Heriots, Melrose and the like. You’re making it up, aren’t you?

The dalmeny
11-03-2019, 03:23 PM

You could also check goggle to find out difference between Rugby Union and Rugby League 3 of these articles relate to the latter and is a different sport. The other 3 are about issues in Wales

11-03-2019, 03:28 PM
You don’t actually know what the crowds are like at games involving Heriots, Melrose and the like. You’re making it up, aren’t you?

Or how the behaviour is at the Melrose sevens and how there is carnage all the time between border towns who literally hate the guts out each other.?

11-03-2019, 03:30 PM

In a word, yes.

11-03-2019, 04:04 PM
A man who should be ignored at all times. Just thinking about his voice is making me go all cold inside.

Just thinking about that picture of him with Jeremy Guscott and Clive Woodward is making me go all warm inside.

11-03-2019, 05:53 PM

‘You rugby types’?

The person making negative comments is you.

You ‘closed mind’ types can’t accept that some people like different things to you. It’s called freedom of choice, there’s no rules that say we all have to abide by your views on life.

11-03-2019, 08:07 PM

I once witnessed two large clumps tumbleweed clash together in a deserted Spanish village.

It was more atmospheric than your average, ahem, Premiership Scottish rugby encounter.

11-03-2019, 08:27 PM

A bigger b***end you will struggle to find on TV. Annoying little gremlin with a ridiculous accent.

12-03-2019, 07:09 AM
A bigger b***end you will struggle to find on TV. Annoying little gremlin with a ridiculous accent.

He is a throbber

12-03-2019, 11:20 AM

..Numbaaaaahs

12-03-2019, 11:23 AM
Let's be honest the whole thread is just generalisations and folk throwing about anecdotal evidence to suit their own view. I'm not sure why one person should be singled out over anyone else.

Surely the anecdote put forward by the other poster would be something that was used in the initial argument, not just something that so happens to appear after I put mines forward? Coincidence?

12-03-2019, 11:29 AM
Or how the behaviour is at the Melrose sevens and how there is carnage all the time between border towns who literally hate the guts out each other.?

No there isn't and no they don't. A bit of 'banter' and rivalry between some towns sure, but "literally hate the guts out each other" - not at all.

Unfortunate behaviour at the 7s is down to drunken ar5eholes and not clashes between towns.

The dalmeny
12-03-2019, 12:29 PM
..Numbaaaaahs

Lol

12-03-2019, 02:17 PM

A great player - in both codes - and his try for Great Britain against Australia at Wembley is one of my favourite childhood memories but he does tend to really get on my nerves when commenting on RL as he has been out of the game so long and as such is quite uninformed. However, I must admit I saw a documentary about his life a few years ago and fair play to the bloke he's certainly had his challenges through life, with his wife dying in her early 30s, leaving three young kids behind. The documentary happened to be on when I was in a pub in central Manchester on a busy Saturday night and by the end of it the entire pub was transfixed by it and you could hear a pindrop. Quite surreal really.

12-03-2019, 02:40 PM
No there isn't and no they don't. A bit of 'banter' and rivalry between some towns sure, but "literally hate the guts out each other" - not at all.

Unfortunate behaviour at the 7s is down to drunken ar5eholes and not clashes between towns.

Beat me to it mate. As someone who has lived in Gala for nearly 40 years I can confirm totally that the rivalry between the Borders towns though fierce in sport and the like is also extremely good natured.

What folk should remember is that 7s tournaments last all day and are probably the next biggest event in most Borders towns to their common ridings. The drinking lasts all day at most events well after the Rugby has finished, given that its a wonder there isn't more trouble, the fact is that examples of serious assault or the like are few and far between and most trouble is general ********ry rather than deliberate violence.

12-03-2019, 03:12 PM

Carnage?! "Hate the guts out of each other"?

From someone who has lived all his life in the Borders I can honestly say that you are talking absolute nonsense.

Intense rivalry yes, but when push comes to shove Borderers stick together.

12-03-2019, 03:23 PM
Beat me to it mate. As someone who has lived in Gala for nearly 40 years I can confirm totally that the rivalry between the Borders towns though fierce in sport and the like is also extremely good natured.

What folk should remember is that 7s tournaments last all day and are probably the next biggest event in most Borders towns to their common ridings. The drinking lasts all day at most events well after the Rugby has finished, given that its a wonder there isn't more trouble, the fact is that examples of serious assault or the like are few and far between and most trouble is general ********ry rather than deliberate violence.

I lived in Gala until my late 20's and had a season ticket for Gala RFC.
There was a fierce, fierce rivalry and not a little hate between Hawick and Gala, the old firm of Scottish Rugby until the end of the 80's.
Matches between the 2 were brutal. There was no segregation between supporters. They shouted and swore at opposition players and the referee, ripped the pish out of each other and argued but never physically fought. The fights were on the pitch between the players and the supporters enjoyed the spectacle.....and no fan of either club was mad enough to consider trying to get on the field to challenge a player!

12-03-2019, 05:20 PM

That's absolute ***** mate.

13-03-2019, 08:45 AM

How can anybody survive 40 years in Gala? :greengrin Is the "Privateer" still there ... used to nip down there from the college at lunchtime and forget to go back , even played there once in our band??

You're spot on about the rivalry across the Borders ... lot of drinking goes on just like at the Civic Weeks ... but "carnage"??

13-03-2019, 11:39 AM
How can anybody survive 40 years in Gala? :greengrin Is the "Privateer" still there ... used to nip down there from the college at lunchtime and forget to go back , even played there once in our band??

You're spot on about the rivalry across the Borders ... lot of drinking goes on just like at the Civic Weeks ... but "carnage"??

The Priv is well, well gone.
Used to go there a couple of nights a week to watch free gigs.
Mostly bands playing covers but one night The Rezillos played there just before they released their first single.
They were electric and i was blown away!