View Full Version : OGS - He's just impossible to dislike

06-03-2019, 10:08 PM
Even if you don't have much, or any, time for Manchester United, you surely can't grudge Ole Gunnar Solskjaer his current success.

Who says nice guys finish last?

06-03-2019, 10:11 PM
Even if you don't have much, or any, time for Manchester United, you surely can't grudge Ole Gunnar Solskjaer his current success.

Was punching the air when they got the 3rd goal. Not a penalty and not a Man Utd fan but OGS is one of the most likeable guys in football and hope he goes on and wins it.

06-03-2019, 10:18 PM
And he's a socialist who campaigns for the Norwegian Labour Party :wink:

06-03-2019, 10:32 PM
Very likeable guy. Not keen on Man U but hope he gets the job full time and does a good job.

LichtieHibby
06-03-2019, 10:34 PM
He is likable. Seems very relaxed. But then, who wouldn't be that hails from a country of 5 million with a $1 trillion wealth fund.

06-03-2019, 10:40 PM
He is likable. Seems very relaxed. But then, who wouldn't be that hails from a country of 5 million with a $1 trillion wealth fund.

I'd love to visit the fjords. Beautiful country.

06-03-2019, 10:53 PM

They’ve allowed all the profits they make, to be invested in overseas investments. Probably wrong thread for this though

06-03-2019, 11:00 PM
I'm not a big fan of Man U but I love the way this chap carries himself, a stark contrast to his predecessor.

In a world that seems to want it's leaders to be total ********s these days, it makes a pleasant change to see a good lad doing well.

06-03-2019, 11:23 PM

Is he? Well that seals the deal.

06-03-2019, 11:28 PM

I'd love to live there!

06-03-2019, 11:49 PM
Is he? Well that seals the deal.

https://youtu.be/xJK6dArNKT0

Ell_Chrisso
06-03-2019, 11:52 PM
For all of his scalps, he couldnae beat the Hibees in our back yard 😉

06-03-2019, 11:56 PM
I like how hibs.net has decided there's some form of affinity now between OGS and hibs because he said some nice words in the presser before our mouldy tie.

07-03-2019, 03:39 AM
He's norwegian. I don't like him!

07-03-2019, 04:18 AM

Are the Swedes not meant to be neutral ? ;)

07-03-2019, 05:37 AM
Nice guy

Proper gentleman

Treats everyone with respect

That was my overall impression while he was Boss at Molde in his dealings with HIBS and nothing has altered to change that impression

They should offer him a full time contract NOW!

07-03-2019, 05:46 AM
Apparently he can’t live in the house he owns here because it’s rented out to a Liverpool player, VVD I believe.

MKHIBEE
07-03-2019, 06:09 AM
Someone will be along soon to prove the thread title wrong

07-03-2019, 06:58 AM
I like how hibs.net has decided there's some form of affinity now between OGS and hibs because he said some nice words in the presser before our brondby tie.

I don't think he said anything at all before the brondby game. Can't think why he would tbh. You got a link?

07-03-2019, 07:08 AM
My feelings on Man U have been linked more directly with how much of a twat or not I think the manager is.

Hence, as OGS seems like a thoroughly decent guy, I was fair chuffed they got through last night, although they should've left the Stade de France wearing stripey jumpers and masks 😂
Also, anything that enrages that ringpiece Neymar is fine by me.

07-03-2019, 07:11 AM

You should go for the fiesta.

07-03-2019, 07:26 AM

We could have had that!

07-03-2019, 07:27 AM
I don't think he said anything at all before the brondby game. Can't think why he would tbh. You got a link?

Yes he was undercover manager in Denmark.

07-03-2019, 07:29 AM
My feelings on Man U have been linked more directly with how much of a twat or not I think the manager is.

Hence, as OGS seems like a thoroughly decent guy, I was fair chuffed they got through last night, although they should've left the Stade de France wearing stripey jumpers and masks ��
Also, anything that enrages that ringpiece Neymar is fine by me.

I agree. Neymar must be the most detested football player on the planet. Social media was wetting itself solely just for him last night. An obnoxious cheating little prick.

07-03-2019, 07:34 AM

Oh look he's being pedantic. Cute

07-03-2019, 07:38 AM
Yes he was undercover manager in Denmark.

Deary me. Didn't mean to get you all aroused. CORRREEKSHINN police out in force.

07-03-2019, 07:45 AM
Good guy and top manager.

Won't happen, but would love a Real or PSG to come along and just sign him up. Man U's equivalent of Agathe :greengrin

07-03-2019, 08:11 AM
Met him at the Scotland v Norway game in 2004 (McFadden handball, pen, 0-1 Norway).

He was out injured and happened to be sitting in front of us with the Norwegian WAGs. (No idea how we got such good seats? And yes they were as stunning as you imagine).

He was more than happy to chat and pose for a photo with me.

07-03-2019, 08:12 AM
Apparently he can’t live in the house he owns here because it’s rented out to a Liverpool player, VVD I believe.

Believe that and you'll believe anything.

Presumably he can't live in it because someone else is!

07-03-2019, 08:14 AM
Deary me. Didn't mean to get you all aroused. CORRREEKSHINN police out in force.

Ooooh touchy.

07-03-2019, 08:15 AM

A multi millionaire Socialist :wink:

07-03-2019, 08:17 AM
A multi millionaire Socialist :wink:

Do you have to be poor to be a socialist?

07-03-2019, 08:20 AM

Of course.

People should know their place.

07-03-2019, 08:28 AM
Good guy, really likeable.

But has a team he’s managed ever won at ER?...

07-03-2019, 08:33 AM

Believe that and you'll believe anything.

Presumably he can't live in it because someone else is!

Which is what I said, Virgil van Dyjk lives in it rented.

07-03-2019, 08:35 AM
Which is what I said, Virgil Van Dylan lives in it rented.

Ah, sorry, I misunderstood.

I thought you meant he refused to because it was a Liverpool player.

I need my second coffee!

07-03-2019, 09:12 AM
Ah, sorry, I misunderstood.

I thought you meant he refused to because it was a Liverpool player.

I need my second coffee!

👍

07-03-2019, 09:22 AM
I agree. Neymar must be the most detested football player on the planet. Social media was wetting itself solely just for him last night. An obnoxious cheating little prick.

Wonderful player :agree:

07-03-2019, 09:23 AM
I’m not a fan of Man U (or English football in general) but I do like Ole he always seems so cheery.

07-03-2019, 09:32 AM

Is being Scandinavian a bit like being British?

It's a helpful catch-all word to describe a bit of European geography, but nothing more, and it means diddly squat on a day to day basis?

07-03-2019, 10:00 AM
I remember on twitter fans actually believed he would be our next manager after Lennon to get a route back into the British game. I think that ship might have sailed.

07-03-2019, 10:00 AM
I find it baffling that Mourinho is being linked with the Real Madrid job - why would any top level team want to employ him now given the complete turn around since he's left!

07-03-2019, 10:03 AM
Which is what I said, Virgil van Dyjk lives in it rented.

You’d have VVD could afford his own house..

07-03-2019, 10:22 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-6770497/amp/Ole-Gunnar-Solskjaer-unable-return-mansion-Liverpools-Virgil-van-Dijk-renting-it.html

07-03-2019, 10:23 AM
I remember on twitter fans actually believed he would be our next manager after Lennon to get a route back into the British game. I think that ship might have sailed.

People on here also thought we were going to get Scott McTominay on loan, lol.

07-03-2019, 10:30 AM
People on here also thought we were going to get Scott McTominay on loan, lol.

😂 can’t complain though we got bigirimana instead.

07-03-2019, 11:13 AM

I think folk were saying ideally they'd like him, I'm not sure anyone thought it was a certainty. If Man Utd job hadn't come up and he was still at Molde in the summer then it would have been worth asking the question even if the answer was no. We're not as unattractive prospect as some might think.

It's all hypothetical now though so we'll never know.

07-03-2019, 11:40 AM

Do you have to be rich to be a capitalist? You may have noticed my :wink:

andybev1
07-03-2019, 11:46 AM
I like how hibs.net has decided there's some form of affinity now between OGS and hibs because he said some nice words in the presser before our mouldy tie.

The reason I personally lke him is when he came with Molde, he was ineresting unlike a lot of football people who are nice enough but come out with the same old same old - he was actually worth listening to.

07-03-2019, 11:56 AM
You’d have VVD could afford his own house..

He probably does... Somewhere else. I think a lot of footballers will rent as they move around so often, there is probably little point in buying where they work. OGS has struggled to sell that house, hence why he's rented it out, so that would be another reason for renting over buying near your current club!

Hibiza
07-03-2019, 12:08 PM
Was punching the air when they got the 3rd goal. Not a penalty and not a Man Utd fan but OGS is one of the most likeable guys in football and hope he goes on and wins it.

:top marks:flag:

green with envy
07-03-2019, 12:17 PM

That's why I dislike every English person on this planet.:rolleyes:

07-03-2019, 12:37 PM
We could have had that!

Watch out. A unionist will be along in a minute telling us tales of doomsday and disaster if Scotland were to go it alone. How could we possibly be as successful as Norway when you look at what they have given the World over Scotland.....................er, wait a minute....?

Before the correction police come along, I know, wrong board and wrong thread:offski:

07-03-2019, 12:45 PM

Thanks, appreciate it. Oh wait...

07-03-2019, 01:16 PM
Thanks, appreciate it. Oh wait...

🎶 "You were always on my mind ..." 🎶

07-03-2019, 02:40 PM
You should go for the fiesta.

Quite simply, brilliant.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Here’s Lucy!
07-03-2019, 05:42 PM
Love the wee guy and love Man.U.

07-03-2019, 07:49 PM
Love the wee guy and love Man.U.

:top marks:aok:

07-03-2019, 07:52 PM

then hes a complete and utter bawbag

07-03-2019, 07:54 PM
then hes a complete and utter bawbag

Cool, thanks for that Norman Tebbit.

07-03-2019, 07:59 PM
shood huv added a smiley, ah well, always good to read the replies when I dont.
(insert another smiley)

07-03-2019, 08:02 PM
shood huv added a smiley, ah well, always good to read the replies when I dont.
(insert another smiley)

Fair enough :wink:

OsloHibs
07-03-2019, 10:37 PM
That's why I dislike every English person on this planet.:rolleyes:

Chill down, it was a joke. How he feels about OGS is how I feel about Zlatan. And how you feel about Harry kane.

The Baldmans Comb
07-03-2019, 11:04 PM
I wonder what the Socialist policies OGS and the Norweigan Labour Party want to implement when you have a country of 5 million people who are now sitting on a staggerring sovereign wealth fund of £1 Trillion.

Ever think you have been utterly conned.

08-03-2019, 10:30 AM
I still think it's a risk giving OGS a big contract. It's the heart ruling the head.
They should go all out for Poch or someone. They're just about the biggest club in the world and deserve a top man.

08-03-2019, 10:45 AM

That will be the same .netters who have an affinity with Aston Villa cause SJM is there. :confused:

08-03-2019, 11:26 AM
I still think it's a risk giving OGS a big contract. It's the heart ruling the head.
They should go all out for Poch or someone. They're just about the biggest club in the world and deserve a top man.

You must be mad, absolutely mad. OGS is going to take a team who were down and out and going nowhere and finish above a team that Poch has been building for 5 years. Can you imagine the pressure on Poch if they ditched OGS now ? The fans would be waiting for mistakes, the players would be gutted (they were singing OGS name in the Paris dressing room) it would be a disaster waiting to happen.

08-03-2019, 11:27 AM
That will be the same .netters who have an affinity with Aston Villa cause SJM is there. :confused:

It seems that it's ok to hate a player or manager for any given reason, or no reason at all, but liking someone not connected to Hibs is frowned upon.

Bonkers.

08-03-2019, 11:42 AM
You must be mad, absolutely mad. OGS is going to take a team who were down and out and going nowhere and finish above a team that Poch has been building for 5 years. Can you imagine the pressure on Poch if they ditched OGS now ? The fans would be waiting for mistakes, the players would be gutted (they were singing OGS name in the Paris dressing room) it would be a disaster waiting to happen.
Well I don't agree.

08-03-2019, 11:54 AM

To be fair I think most reasonable people can have mood swings about other teams. Often for fairly obscure reasons linked to Hibs or Scotland.

I didn't give a stuff about Man Utd for years, but eventually came to have huge respect for the "kids" side that Ferguson built, with the likes of Scholes and Giggs and Beckham. They played beautiful football and did it with youth players as well as with big signings. Once Fergie went, I had little interest and came to actually want them to get beat under Jose, but now that OGS is in charge and has got them back to playing attacking football and proving that Jose didn't have a bad squad, just a bad attitude..I can't help wanting them to win again. Don't get me wrong I'm not that bothered, but I find it hard to watch any match as a pure neutral, I always have to take one side or other.

Equally I used to love the Forest side that cloughie put together especially as there were plenty of Scottish players in there, but once Cloughie was gone I lost any interest in them.

I once went to watch Wolves just because Kenny Miller was playing..never went back though. I've never heard so many racist comments inside one ground !

Living where I do I have a lot of mates who are Villa Fans, so it's nice to hear them praising SJM..most of them are too young to remember Des Bremner !

As long as people's one true love is Hibs..I think we should all be allowed to flirt with other connected clubs occasionally and then dump them at a minutes notice ! :greengrin

08-03-2019, 12:02 PM
Well I don't agree.

That's fine and absolutely your perogative, but can you explain why ?

Why would you get rid of a guy who is in the job, who has taken the side from being 10th in the league and with zero confidence, to a side that wins virtually every match they play in flambouyant style and with a smile on their faces and with the fans and players complete backing? And then replace him with a guy who has won nothing in the last 5 years in English football.

Don't get me wrong I like Poch, but it just doesn't make sense. I would genuinely be interested to know why ?

08-03-2019, 12:19 PM
Well I don't agree.

https://youtu.be/jWDNMmzvNB4

Ole's at the wheel