View Full Version : Real Kashmir

Brunswickbill
04-03-2019, 10:22 AM
Real Kashmir, Documentary on the new BBC Scotland channel last night about Davie Robertson of Aberdeen and Rangers who manages them. Gives an interesting picture of Kashmir. I learned new combinations of swear words from”Psycho.” Worth a Watch.

ZAGREB RED
04-03-2019, 11:52 AM
I watched that the other day, quite interesting to see how things are in that part of the world at the moment with all that's going on.
Worth a watch.

04-03-2019, 11:57 AM
I watched it last week really interesting viewing.

hibeg
04-03-2019, 01:32 PM
It really was an interesting programme. Coaches in Scotland have it easy in comparison to David Robertson, good luck to the guy

Gloucester Hibs
04-03-2019, 01:36 PM
They were talking about it on TalkSport on Friday - Hawksbee & Jacobs show I think - sounded really good, must give it a watch. :aok:

KdyHby
04-03-2019, 02:16 PM
Thanks for the heads up, really enjoyed it

Fuzzywuzzy
04-03-2019, 03:37 PM
Can you imagine the **** a manager would get for being filmed saying 'get it right ****ing up ya, ya *******s' about the governing body🤣

Not to mention the cup final🤯

04-03-2019, 03:42 PM
Brilliant!

A must watch for everyone that loves football

Great to see different cultures and different countries

Must have been what it was like for the original Hibernians back in the 19th century

Building your own Stadium and losing a Cup Final cause your face disnae fit. :greengrin

Available on BBC iPlayer

Besties Debut
05-03-2019, 08:14 AM
Massive kudos to David Robertson for taking that on. Not many financially secure ex-pros would put themselves through all the trials and tribulations just to stay involved in the game. The harder things got the more determined he was too stay. Says a lot for the character of the man.

Keyser Sauzee
05-03-2019, 10:25 AM
Watched this last night, thought it was brilliant and couldn’t stop laughing at Robertson going off his head.

05-03-2019, 06:26 PM
Massive kudos to David Robertson for taking that on. Not many financially secure ex-pros would put themselves through all the trials and tribulations just to stay involved in the game. The harder things got the more determined he was too stay. Says a lot for the character of the man.

Watched this last night, thought it was brilliant and couldn’t stop laughing at Robertson going off his head.

Totally agree with the comments about Robertson's character. The guy has a bloody mansion back in Aberdeen and is prepared to slum it in a tiny freezing ****hole with no leccy half the time just to stay in the game, not to mention the fact that he clearly doesn't need the money. How can you not admire commitment like that.

His foul mouthed rants, especially at the off camera under 18s coach, were hilarious …. I can only imagine how that would go down at East Mains :greengrin

Good luck to the guy :aok:

05-03-2019, 07:24 PM
Totally agree with the comments about Robertson's character. The guy has a bloody mansion back in Aberdeen and is prepared to slum it in a tiny freezing ****hole with no leccy half the time just to stay in the game, not to mention the fact that he clearly doesn't need the money. How can you not admire commitment like that.

His foul mouthed rants, especially at the off camera under 18s coach, were hilarious …. I can only imagine how that would go down at East Mains :greengrin

No flying chairs either showing remarkable composure though he did kick a bottle that hit someone (I think his boss) a la Fergie :greengrin

heidtheba
05-03-2019, 08:16 PM

DR comes across as a really decent guy - him fasting at Ramadan was a great touch. The u-18s 'bounce' game tactics and Robertson's reactions were hilarious!
Brilliant watch, even non-football Mrs Me really enjoyed it.

WestCoastHibby
05-03-2019, 10:18 PM
I thought it was a great watch.
But does Davie Robertson realise he has a porn star doppelganger??

Randy Spears lookalikee

05-03-2019, 10:44 PM
Brilliant. Robertson seems like a top guy. Hope he gets a chance back here.

vuefrom1875
05-03-2019, 10:48 PM
Brilliant. Robertson seems like a top guy. Hope he gets a chance back here.

Hun.

HAZ2000
05-03-2019, 11:31 PM
Unreal seeing the under 18s try to kick the senior team off the pitch

06-03-2019, 01:13 AM
Hun.

With a son called 'Mason' :faf:

But so what ….. Even if he is a Hun, which isn't certain seeing as how the guy is from Aberdeen and has chosen to make his home there, it doesn't take away from the fact that he clearly loves what he does and is prepared to make sacrifices many others wouldn't to have a future in the game. I bloody loved his attitude towards a situation where the odds are clearly stacked against him and if he continues to be a success at Kashmir or in his next gig I for one wouldn't complain if Hibs were looking for a manager and considered him for the post.

Besties Debut
06-03-2019, 01:19 AM
Hun. I doubt he is a hun by nature. He said that he left Aberdeen to go to sevco because they are a bigger club. Then he wanted to play in the Premiership so he joined Leeds. More an ambitious pro than a currant bun.

KdyHby
06-05-2020, 05:02 PM
Return to Real Kashmir FC is on at 10pm, Tuesday 12 May, BBC Scotland

06-05-2020, 05:42 PM
Anyone that has not seen Series 1 of the excellent Real Kashmir FC it is still available to watch on the BBCiplayer before tuning in or catching up Return to Kashmir next Tuesday 12/5/2020 10 pm

06-05-2020, 05:46 PM
Still not sure why nobody has taken a punt on Robertson in Scotland yet. He’s clearly motivated and manages for the love of the game.

06-05-2020, 05:48 PM
Watched it the first time it was on a few months back (I'm assuming we're referring to the same programme). Not many managers who would take on a role like that.

06-05-2020, 11:24 PM
Still not sure why nobody has taken a punt on Robertson in Scotland yet. He’s clearly motivated and manages for the love of the game.

Potentially next St Johnstone manager maybe?

07-05-2020, 06:32 AM
Anyone that has not seen Series 1 of the excellent Real Kashmir FC it is still available to watch on the BBCiplayer before tuning in or catching up Return to Kashmir next Tuesday 12/5/2020 10 pm

Can’t find it or I’m looking in the wrong place

07-05-2020, 07:36 AM

It's unavailable again. Page says it was last shown on 4th April, so I assume it was available for a month after that?

07-05-2020, 07:57 AM
They sound like a five-a-side team

07-05-2020, 08:55 AM

Been taken off BBCiplayer defo there last week

Looks like the show on 12/5/2020 at 10 pm on BBC the Scotland Channel looks like a repeat so might be worth recording

07-05-2020, 09:32 AM
Recording it ,cheers

08-05-2020, 09:04 PM
Recording it ,cheers

The BBC Scotland Channel punting this show as Return to Real Kashmir :confused:

Clarence
08-05-2020, 09:06 PM
The BBC Scotland Channel punting this show as Return to Real Kashmir :confused:

Second series about the Team Real Kashmir no? What’s confusing?

Keyser Sauzee
08-05-2020, 09:13 PM
Reading the info on BBC about this reads as it is a follow up as it mentions Kallum Higgingbotham who joined this season.

08-05-2020, 09:38 PM
Second series about the Team Real Kashmir no? What’s confusing?

The OP was looking for Real Kashmir FC the first episode

No longer available

If you try to record it on virgin it comes up as Real Kashmir FC hence the confusion???

It will be Return to Real Kashmir

Just trying to be helpful

Is that OK with you?

08-05-2020, 09:40 PM
Reading the info on BBC about this reads as it is a follow up as it mentions Kallum Higgingbotham who joined this season.

KdyHby
12-05-2020, 03:03 PM
Nudge, on tonight

12-05-2020, 09:01 PM
It’s starting :greengrin

12-05-2020, 10:17 PM
it was all going so well until he blurted out ''' we don't do walking away ''

After watching both episodes , there's no chance he will ever get a decent job in Europe.. Dressing room unrest in a heartbeat if he speaks to players here like he does at them...

13-05-2020, 05:22 AM

After watching both episodes , there's no chance he will ever get a decent job in Europe.. Dressing room unrest in a heartbeat if he speaks to players here like he does at them...

Dunno! I think he would be worth a punt in the lower leagues You gotta admire his passion

Like you I thought he was doing well until “ the walking away “ comment

Too many snowflakes nowadays Robertson tells it as it is

Reminded me of my own playing days but that was fifty years ago :greengrin

13-05-2020, 10:10 AM

Probably why you wouldn’t make a manager tae 😁

In all seriousness though managers adapt, although I can’t really see him having the mentality to. He seems a decent enough sort though doing it through the love of the game when he’s clearly loaded.

13-05-2020, 10:41 AM
i enjoyed that last night, good programme and it shows what they were up against

13-05-2020, 11:58 AM
Probably why you wouldn’t make a manager tae ��

In all seriousness though managers adapt, although I can’t really see him having the mentality to. He seems a decent enough sort though doing it through the love of the game when he’s clearly loaded.

:na na::na na::na na::na na::na na: if i ever did make it , then I'd make sure you were banned from the ground.

I would never speak to the players like that.. he is a disaster waiting to happen..

i don't think he could adapt..

13-05-2020, 12:03 PM
Dunno! I think he would be worth a punt in the lower leagues You gotta admire his passion

Like you I thought he was doing well until “ the walking away “ comment

Too many snowflakes nowadays Robertson tells it as it is

Reminded me of my own playing days but that was fifty years ago :greengrin

He's been there and tried that....

13-05-2020, 12:23 PM
He's been there and tried that....

13-05-2020, 01:05 PM

He wouldn’t get away with that at the top level, but that sort of behaviour is still pretty normal in the lower leagues. He’s pretty tame compared to those guys in that Salford City documentary. There was another documentary where the manager was asking the players outside for a square go.

13-05-2020, 01:12 PM
He wouldn’t get away with that at the top level, but that sort of behaviour is still pretty normal in the lower leagues. He’s pretty tame compared to those guys in that Salford City documentary. There was another documentary where the manager was asking the players outside for a square go.

Not a chance .. he'd be out the door in a second if he started that at the top level. That is why he'll never make it..

13-05-2020, 01:18 PM
I doubt he is a hun by nature. He said that he left Aberdeen to go to sevco because they are a bigger club. Then he wanted to play in the Premiership so he joined Leeds. More an ambitious pro than a currant bun.I remember he named his son Mason, so of the lodge persuasion at the very least.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

13-05-2020, 01:21 PM
I understand that a Championship club will shortly be looking for a manager.

13-05-2020, 02:16 PM
I enjoyed it. He seems a bit of a loose cannon but was very passionate and he’s played at the top level. It would interesting to see how he got on at higher level in coaching but his rants were very much old school but we never saw much of his coaching or tactics

13-05-2020, 06:28 PM
I understand that a Championship club will shortly be looking for a manager.
They may just keep it "in house" .....Again!!
Return of The Potter
Do they have the funds for a new management team of decent quality/pedigree?

On Kashmir The guys delivering the ice while DR was doing a dressing room talk with the players didnae know what hit them
Hopefully the didnt understand the language
DR went more than a bit spare there
Maybe playing to the camera a bit too much

13-05-2020, 07:51 PM
Watched the first one and just watched the second one and both were excellent viewing.

And at no point did I think he was playing up to the cameras with regards to his swearing, just look at his reaction when they won vital games especially in the first series

I worked in Aberdeen for a good while, working with trawler-men. They certainly knew how to swear and have left me with my most favourite sentence ever - " The f-ing f-er`s f-ing f-ed" - brilliant

13-05-2020, 07:59 PM
Haven't watched all of the second instalment yet but you have to admire the guy and you find yourself rooting for him. He's very brave living and working in that part of the world and he's clearly worked something of a miracle, boosting local morale and pride in the process. You get the sense that he kind of needs them as much as they need him and credit to him for the charitable work he puts in. A lower league job back home would likely seem mundane in comparison. Good luck to him.

13-05-2020, 08:07 PM
Also, who cares about the "we don`t do walking away" line - if he`s a Rangers fan, what difference does it make?. It may even have been tongue in cheek.

Our own Ivan Sproule was a Rangers fan, as was Dean Shiels, I suppose some of our fans can start hating them too.

13-05-2020, 10:37 PM
Robertson was an erse and his wife was a complete bore. She belongs in the seventies.

13-05-2020, 11:01 PM
Also, who cares about the "we don`t do walking away" line - if he`s a Rangers fan, what difference does it make?. It may even have been tongue in cheek.

Our own Ivan Sproule was a Rangers fan, as was Dean Shiels, I suppose some of our fans can start hating them too.

He’s a boyhood Aberdeen fan. I don’t think him using that particular sentence will have meant anything significant.

Mr Grieves
13-05-2020, 11:21 PM
The abuse he dished out to the manager with the big nose was first rate.

14-05-2020, 08:03 AM
:na na::na na::na na::na na::na na: if i ever did make it , then I'd make sure you were banned from the ground.

I would never speak to the players like that.. he is a disaster waiting to happen..

i don't think he could adapt..

14-05-2020, 06:50 PM
The programmes are a good watch and I just listened to him being interviewed on the radio he seems like a decent guy. I can't see him managing in Scotland but wish him all the best.

21-05-2020, 06:22 AM
I thought he was playing to the cameras in the second one - wasn’t as good as the first where I thought he was more genuine.

The don’t do walking away line I took as tongue in cheek (and also for the benefit of the camera).

Not got a hope of getting a decent job based on that behaviour - he’s straight from the Mo Malpas school of management.

01-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Real Kashmir #1 on tonight 10pm BBC Scotland Channel

Available on BBCiPlayer