View Full Version : Tam Dean Burn

04-03-2019, 08:43 AM
Sad to hear about Tam being stabbed on Saturday on his way to the game after a poetry event - I have been fortunate to meet him on a few occasions and he has always been a complete gentleman - the complete antithesis to some of his onscreen roles such as Alec Doyle in the Acid House and McCabe in River City. Indeed the last time I spoke to Tam was at a tribute to Jock Scot at the Dockers Club that he played a significant part in organising - he is that kind of guy.

Many of us will also remember Tam and his Bum-Clocks band performing a set at the Usher Hall at the Hands Off Hibs 20th Anniversary Concert back in 2010 and he is an Easter Road regular. I wish Tam a speedy recovery!

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/outlander-actor-tam-dean-burn-stabbed-in-edinburgh-because-of-tv-role-1-4882649

son of haggart
04-03-2019, 08:52 AM
Sad to hear about Tam being stabbed on Saturday on his way to the game after a poetry event - I have been fortunate to meet him on a few occasions and he has always been a complete gentleman - the complete antithesis to some of his onscreen roles such as Alec Doyle in the Acid House and McCabe in River City. Indeed the last time I spoke to Tam was at a tribute to Jock Scot at the Dockers Club that he played a significant part in organising - he is that kind of guy.

Many of us will also remember Tam and his Bum-Clocks band performing a set at the Usher Hall at the Hands Off Hibs 20th Anniversary Concert back in 2010 and he is an Easter Road regular. I wish Tam a speedy recovery!

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/outlander-actor-tam-dean-burn-stabbed-in-edinburgh-because-of-tv-role-1-4882649

Sorry to hear that. Crazy that someone can be attacked for so little. Also a bit shocked to hear that Jock Scot is dead (hadn't picked up on that) - I only really knew him through the Nectarine No.9 stuff.

Johnny Clash
04-03-2019, 08:53 AM
Terrible news but glad he’s ok. Sounds like his assailant needs serious help if it is the case he attacked an actor because of the role he played.

04-03-2019, 09:10 AM
Sorry to hear that. Crazy that someone can be attacked for so little. Also a bit shocked to hear that Jock Scot is dead (hadn't picked up on that) - I only really knew him through the Nectarine No.9 stuff.

Glad to hear that by all accounts Tam is on the mend but will be understandably shaken by the whole incident no doubt.

Incredibly it is coming up for the third anniversary of Jock's death - where does the time go? As a teenager I was always slightly intrigued by the short sketches that would pop up from time to time on MTV in the mid 1990s featuring Jock - often in a Hibs scarf - in venues like the Bar Italia in Soho. Who was this man?!

A few years later I managed to pick up a copy of "My Personal Culloden" and a few years after that I had the pleasure of finally meeting Jock and Helen at the Edinburgh Fringe - it would have been about 2006, "The Caledonian Blues" had just been released with Gareth Sager, and Jock had a run in Teviot - I think I ended up attending about 75% of the performances as it was always going to be something different each night when Jock was involved, and quite often we'd have some post show drinks in the Teviot Bar. A year or so later he phoned me, from his bath, on Christmas night, to pass on season's greetings - Jock was quite a character!

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/apr/25/jock-scot-obituary
https://noisey.vice.com/en_uk/article/rbzgy8/jock-scot-last-ever-interview-2016

Lester B
04-03-2019, 09:17 AM
Tam is a lovely guy. He posted on Facebook last night that he was fine and thanking people for all the good wishes. It could have been a heck of a lot worse apparently.

04-03-2019, 10:26 AM
Tam is a lovely guy. He posted on Facebook last night that he was fine and thanking people for all the good wishes. It could have been a heck of a lot worse apparently.

Good to hear!

04-03-2019, 10:34 AM
Absolutely outrageous, stabbed because of a role on tv? Hope the person gets a hefty sentence if caught.

04-03-2019, 10:37 AM
BBC now reporting a charge of attempted murder - a bit more serious than Tam's posts suggested I think!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-47438150

green with envy
04-03-2019, 10:53 AM
Absolutely outrageous, stabbed because of a role on tv? Hope the person gets a hefty sentence if caught.

He was caught at the scene - didn't even try to flee after the attack. Seems like the attacker has serious mental health issues. He's probably been sectioned.

zitelli62
04-03-2019, 11:06 AM
Apparently it was because of a part he played in river city I don't watch it but must have been some part for something to do that.

04-03-2019, 11:21 AM
Apparently it was because of a part he played in river city I don't watch it but must have been some part for something to do that.
Played a gangster in the show but the main gangster is called Lenny. Now that is funny given last weeks shenanigans.

Aim Here
04-03-2019, 11:25 AM

Looking it up, it seems the character was killed off 7 years ago - making the whole thing even more senseless.

Lester B
04-03-2019, 11:35 AM
BBC now reporting a charge of attempted murder - a bit more serious than Tam's posts suggested I think!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-47438150

He’s at home I believe. No need to have him in hospital. Apparently the idiot in question was pretty inept so while his intention was clear, and I hope they throw the book at him, he didn’t cause serious damage thankfully. Think it’s more shock than injury. Hardly surprising

I'm Spartacus
04-03-2019, 11:50 AM

Was the accused sectioned because they watch River City??

Glad he's ok, these senseless attacks really worry me.

son of haggart
04-03-2019, 11:57 AM
Glad to hear that by all accounts Tam is on the mend but will be understandably shaken by the whole incident no doubt.

Incredibly it is coming up for the third anniversary of Jock's death - where does the time go? As a teenager I was always slightly intrigued by the short sketches that would pop up from time to time on MTV in the mid 1990s featuring Jock - often in a Hibs scarf - in venues like the Bar Italia in Soho. Who was this man?!

A few years later I managed to pick up a copy of "My Personal Culloden" and a few years after that I had the pleasure of finally meeting Jock and Helen at the Edinburgh Fringe - it would have been about 2006, "The Caledonian Blues" had just been released with Gareth Sager, and Jock had a run in Teviot - I think I ended up attending about 75% of the performances as it was always going to be something different each night when Jock was involved, and quite often we'd have some post show drinks in the Teviot Bar. A year or so later he phoned me, from his bath, on Christmas night, to pass on season's greetings - Jock was quite a character!

Thanks for that - a character indeed

04-03-2019, 12:00 PM
Im sick of these idiots with blades. Its getting out of hand in the uk as a whole. There should be a mandatory life sentence for stabbing someone regardless of how severe the injuries are.

04-03-2019, 01:15 PM

What a great obituary. To be remembered for a 'tendency to fall over mid performance due to pre show imbibing' is something we can all aspire to!

04-03-2019, 03:26 PM

Thanks for the links Jamesie.
A wee link below of Jock doing one of his poems on MTV in a Hibs tammy
The sound is poor but it is unmistakenly Jock

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPxY4vRA5rI

Rattler
04-03-2019, 06:26 PM
Thanks for the links Jamesie.
A wee link below of Jock doing one of his poems on MTV in a Hibs tammy
The sound is poor but it is unmistakenly Jock

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPxY4vRA5rI

I’m lead to believe that the assailant in this incident is also in the same field of work. Would appear that maybe he got turned down for a role several years ago that Tam was also going for- Needless to say that Tam got it and the other boy has held a huge grudge for years 🤔

Rattler
04-03-2019, 06:27 PM
I’m lead to believe that the assailant in this incident is also in the same field of work. Would appear that maybe he got turned down for a role several years ago that Tam was also going for- Needless to say that Tam got it and the other boy has held a huge grudge for years 🤔

Besties Debut
04-03-2019, 06:34 PM
I knew Tams brother Phil. He played for Raith in the early nineties. Sadly developed a problem with the drink and died when he was only 43

GORDONSMITH7
04-03-2019, 07:51 PM
Pooch Leslie lived close to me in the Wimpy's scheme in Musselbugh. We were the same age and if not talking about Hibs it was about music. I cannot remember seeing him in the late 60's early 70's without a pile of LP's under one arm.

BIG G

04-03-2019, 08:17 PM
Pooch Leslie lived close to me in the Wimpy's scheme in Musselbugh. We were the same age and if not talking about Hibs it was about music. I cannot remember seeing him in the late 60's early 70's without a pile of LP's under one arm.

BIG G

Can imagine you and Jock having a lot in common through both music and Hibs Big G!

DetroitHibs
05-03-2019, 06:41 AM

I’m pretty certain it’s not the same person. I’m 90% certain I went to school with the assailant who has a history of mental health issues.

05-03-2019, 07:44 AM
I’m pretty certain it’s not the same person. I’m 90% certain I went to school with the assailant who has a history of mental health issues.

Apparently it is an event that is going back many years (almost 20 I was told ), and yes the individual has had a history of mental health issues too

Aim Here
05-03-2019, 02:54 PM
The press have reported the guy's name as Jonathan Bowie Wilson. Interestingly, there's a Jonathan Wilson on the IMDB whose screen career amounts to writing credits for a few episodes of River City. If it is the same guy (and that's not a given, obviously), it's most odd.

GORDONSMITH7
05-03-2019, 05:49 PM
The press have reported the guy's name as Jonathan Bowie Wilson. Interestingly, there's a Jonathan Wilson on the IMDB whose screen career amounts to writing credits for a few episodes of River City. If it is the same guy (and that's not a given, obviously), it's most odd.

Deary me your reseach is lamentable.

Nae disrepect.

Leave it to the auld dafties on here who saw he radge and grew up with him.

Have you heard Pooch, Jock, John. Too much time on yer hand son.

BIG G

05-03-2019, 05:53 PM
Played a gangster in the show but the main gangster is called Lenny. Now that is funny given last weeks shenanigans.

Played McCabe. Lenny killed him.