View Full Version : Johnathan Spector

27-02-2019, 12:59 PM
American central defender set to sign till the end of the season. 32 years old.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3932705/hibs-jonathan-spector-transfer-news-easter-road/?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1551272216 (tel:1551272216)

27-02-2019, 01:00 PM

Where are you hearing this? Recognise the name

27-02-2019, 01:01 PM
Where are you hearing this? Recognise the name

Started off at Man United?

27-02-2019, 01:01 PM

Had a decent career down in England for West Ham and Birmingham if I remember correctly

27-02-2019, 01:02 PM
Im sure we looked at him years ago....

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3932705/hibs-jonathan-spector-transfer-news-easter-road/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Spector

Decent career - we do need cover for that area too

27-02-2019, 01:03 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonathan_Spector

Decent career - we do need cover for that area too

Yip

Now for a pacy right winger

HibeeHibernian4
27-02-2019, 01:04 PM
Any non-Sun links, or would someone mind copying the article out rather than making me give money to that cesspit of an organisation?

27-02-2019, 01:04 PM
Over 300 career games in the Premier League and Championship. I reckon he could add a lot more to the team than simply act as cover for Hanlon and McGregor.

27-02-2019, 01:05 PM
Any non-Sun links, or would someone mind copying the article out rather than making me give money to that cesspit of an organisation?

Jonathan Spector, US international, 32 years old, ex-West Ham and Birmingham.

That's the jist of it.

Has been out off contract since the end of the year after suffering with injuries ? Wonder how long to get him match fit?

Decent career. Said that about Nelom so hopefully this guy comes in and makes an impact.

27-02-2019, 01:07 PM

Hibs set to sign former Manchester United defender Jonathan Spector
SunSport understands the Easter Road side are close to securing a deal for the 32-year-old

EXCLUSIVE
By Gareth Law
27th February 2019, 12:41 pmUpdated: 27th February 2019, 12:41 pm
HIBS are set to sign former Manchester United defender Jonathan Spector.

SunSport understands the Easter Road side are close to securing a deal for the American international.

Spector, in action for Birmingham, started his career at Manchester UnitedPA:EMPICS SPORT
Spector, in action for Birmingham, started his career at Manchester United
Spector, 32, is a free agent after being released by Orlando City at the end of the MLS season last year.

New Hibs boss Paul Heckingbottom has moved quickly to land him after assessing the squad since taking over earlier this month.

Spector – capped 36 times by the USA - came through the ranks at Old Trafford after signing as a teenager.

He made a handful of appearances before playing over 100 times at West Ham and more than 150 games during a five-year stay with West Ham.

27-02-2019, 01:08 PM
Fair enough.

27-02-2019, 01:08 PM

Nothing to it really other than saying we are close to securing him on a short-term deal with a view to signing him up longer term if he does well.

Released by Orlando City in MLS at the end of last year when their season ended so a free agent.

The rest you can get from his Wikipedia page.

HibeeHibernian4
27-02-2019, 01:10 PM
Jonathan Spector, US international, 32 years old, ex-West Ham and Birmingham.

That's the jist of it.

Haha, the sort of cutting edge journalism I’d expect from that paper. Thanks.

I think the story is about a football player called Spector, not Blofeld's global criminal organisation from the James Bond films.

rotherhamrob
For me the good thing about this is that the manager is recognising where our weakness is straight away and doing something about it.

27-02-2019, 01:11 PM
Good defender.

HibeeHibernian4
27-02-2019, 01:11 PM
For me the good thing about this is that the manager is recognising where our weakness is straight away and doing something about it.

Yep, good signs for the summer ahead when a bigger rebuild will be required.

27-02-2019, 01:14 PM
How old is David Gray again?

Would they have been youngsters at Man Utd at roughly the same time?

27-02-2019, 01:17 PM
Damn, thought we were getting Phil Spector as new stadium DJ! 🎶

27-02-2019, 01:17 PM
The stand out paragraph starts with the good and ends with the bad

"Spector joined Orlando at the start of the 2017 campaign and succeeded Brazilian legend Kaka as captain but he wasn’t offered a new deal after a spell struggling with injuries"

Last thing we need is another frequently injured player.

27-02-2019, 01:18 PM

SDG is only 30

27-02-2019, 01:19 PM

I think he's prison DJ in his federal facility.

27-02-2019, 01:20 PM

31 in may so will probably know each other

Corstorphine Hibby
27-02-2019, 01:20 PM

Or he's been on our radar for a while and Lennon going to Celtic has freed up some cash ?

27-02-2019, 01:21 PM

According to Wiki they overlapped at Man Utd - Spector was there 2003 - 2006 and Sir David from 2005 - 2010.....

MartinfaePorty
27-02-2019, 01:23 PM
Hopefully decent short term cover. Options of free agents will be limited.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

27-02-2019, 01:25 PM
Bit more on his last season from Wiki

"After a season mostly spent battling against injuries, the club (Orlando) announced they were declining his contract option, making him a free agent"

Predominately a right back but can play across the line

27-02-2019, 01:35 PM

Aye but u canny bring a gun to ER.

27-02-2019, 01:48 PM

"Spector joined Orlando at the start of the 2017 campaign and succeeded Brazilian legend Kaka as captain but he wasn’t offered a new deal after a spell struggling with injuries"

He was at Birmingham for years on end. He’s probably fully fit and looking for a club.

27-02-2019, 01:48 PM
I think he's prison DJ in his federal facility.

We'll just need to create our own wall of sound on Saturday!

27-02-2019, 01:52 PM
Aye but u canny bring a gun to ER.
Just as well, Phil Spector got a bit rowdy with the last one he had.....

27-02-2019, 02:00 PM
We'll just need to create our own wall of sound on Saturday!

It will be buzzing.

27-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Remember him being decent with West Ham. Would be good to get another body in that position.

27-02-2019, 04:35 PM
Didn't he used to be fairly rapid for a CH?

King Dominique
27-02-2019, 04:37 PM
Good pedigree - if he remains fit could be a masterstroke

27-02-2019, 04:50 PM
Didn't he used to be fairly rapid for a CH?

Started of as a forward in the USA I think, was played in defence due to injuries and then became a versatile defender who played alot at left back even though he was right footed. Also played in midfield in occasion.

27-02-2019, 04:56 PM
IIRC he might've scored the winner at SJP when West Ham got a man sent off about 10 or 12 years ago.

27-02-2019, 05:00 PM
IIRC he might've scored the winner at SJP when West Ham got a man sent off about 10 or 12 years ago.

It would appear not! 2 in one game v Man U though.

27-02-2019, 05:05 PM
Good pedigree - if he remains fit could be a masterstroke

Yeah this could be a tidy piece of business.

Alan62
27-02-2019, 05:06 PM
Damn, thought we were getting Phil Spector as new stadium DJ! [emoji445]

He’s still in jail.

27-02-2019, 05:45 PM
Should be good ghosting into the box at setpieces

Alan62
27-02-2019, 05:47 PM
Handy cover as a ghoulkeeper.

27-02-2019, 06:01 PM
You pair of bams have raised the spector of the pun police making an appearance.......

27-02-2019, 06:17 PM
You pair of bams have raised the spector of the pun police making an appearance.......

😂😂😂

27-02-2019, 07:02 PM
Would rather sign Regina Spektor

27-02-2019, 07:23 PM
Encouraging sign that we’re bringing in a defender, given our defence.

27-02-2019, 07:42 PM
https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/1100841142730608640?s=20

27-02-2019, 08:54 PM
Frightening pace and able to ghost by players

Crazyhorse
28-02-2019, 04:30 PM

So is he actually signed? Can he play on Saturday?

28-02-2019, 04:43 PM
He’s still in jail.

I wasnae being too serious. 🙄

28-02-2019, 04:46 PM

I suspect he's "all but" signed, hopefully we can get it through on time.

MacGruber
28-02-2019, 04:54 PM
How come Darnell Johnson isn't getting quoted just now - injured?
Was impressed by his short cameo at celtic

28-02-2019, 04:56 PM
When did he last play? Got to be lacking match fitness I would have thought.....

28-02-2019, 05:00 PM
When did he last play? Got to be lacking match fitness I would have thought.....

Until he gets match ready he will be Jonathan Spectator id imagine

28-02-2019, 05:00 PM
How come Darnell Johnson isn't getting quoted just now - injured?
Was impressed by his short cameo at celtic

Injured and then got a 2 game suspension, can’t get in the squad

Aim Here
28-02-2019, 05:07 PM
"After a season mostly spent battling against injuries"

He sounds like a Hibs player already.

28-02-2019, 06:13 PM
"After a season mostly spent battling against injuries"

He sounds like a Hibs player already.

Where exactly, do you want folk to aim?

28-02-2019, 06:23 PM
Be a good addition, hope we can get this deal done

28-02-2019, 06:26 PM

Good spot :aok:

28-02-2019, 09:27 PM

Replaced Kaka is the bit I’m looking at 😜

28-02-2019, 09:44 PM

Kaka's another perpetually injured player, hope we don't sign him too! :grr:

01-03-2019, 12:12 AM

That was the good i referred to :rolleyes:

01-03-2019, 12:42 AM
Replaced Kaka is the bit I’m looking at [emoji12]

Wasn’t offered a new deal after struggling with injuries is what I see.

01-03-2019, 08:01 AM

Training with us to have a look at him.

01-03-2019, 08:16 AM
There is no harm in looking at him in training.

01-03-2019, 03:26 PM
There is no harm in looking at him in training.

There is if you're naked and hiding in the bushes at ER with a set of binoculars.

15-03-2019, 06:33 PM
Confirmed till end of season.

Welcome.

Bangkok Hibby
15-03-2019, 06:36 PM
There is if you're naked and hiding in the bushes at ER with a set of binoculars.

Weird but funny. Careful you dont offend someone.

15-03-2019, 06:37 PM
I Was going to post a thread about him earlier ..i was wondering what was happening with him as it all went quiet

15-03-2019, 06:38 PM
Speaks very well in the HTV interview. Doesn't sound like a typical footballer. 😅

15-03-2019, 07:01 PM
Speaks very well in the HTV interview. Doesn't sound like a typical footballer. 😅
What does a typical footballer sound like ?

15-03-2019, 07:12 PM
What does a typical footballer sound like ?

Usually not as natural in front of the camera, which isn't the main focus of their job, so fair enough. Spector spoke really professionally, it's hard to describe but it didn't seem like I was watching a Hibs' signing interview.

15-03-2019, 07:13 PM
Kaka's another perpetually injured player, hope we don't sign him too! :grr:

To be fair, Spector played 50 games the year before.

Besties Debut
15-03-2019, 07:18 PM
He comes with a good pedigree but then again so does Nelom who cant get of the bench. He is only on a short term deal so lets hope we actually get the chance to see him.

15-03-2019, 07:29 PM
He comes with a good pedigree but then again so does Nelom who cant get of the bench. He is only on a short term deal so lets hope we actually get the chance to see him.

Nelom is class but Lewy is world class.

15-03-2019, 07:39 PM

Nelom is here to ghost train with Lewis, wash his boots and his medals.

Besties Debut
15-03-2019, 07:46 PM
Nelom is here to ghost train with Lewis, wash his boots and his medals. Wash his boots and show him how to cross a ball at the same time

linlithgowhibbie
16-03-2019, 09:58 AM
Wash his boots and show him how to cross a ball at the same time

That's working well then!:wink: