View Full Version : McGinn calls Jambo a ‘Grass’ on twitter

24-02-2019, 10:49 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/ex-hibs-star-john-mcginn-calls-hearts-ace-a-grass-on-twitter-1-4878280

24-02-2019, 10:50 AM
I was just about to post that.

LINK (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/ex-hibs-star-john-mcginn-calls-hearts-ace-a-grass-on-twitter-1-4878280)

BegbieHSC
24-02-2019, 10:52 AM

I love SJM.

For a bit of context, Dikamona initially tweeted to the SPFL twitter account about it.

Also, check Dikamona’s raging reply ������

24-02-2019, 10:55 AM
It’s bad enough pundits trying to get players banned by compliance officer never mind fellow professionals 🙈 sooo Hearts

24-02-2019, 10:59 AM
He's an "ace" ?

So this is what you get with all that money we keep hearing about.

24-02-2019, 11:00 AM
I was just about to post that.

LINK (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/ex-hibs-star-john-mcginn-calls-hearts-ace-a-grass-on-twitter-1-4878280)

I’m not nornally quick off the mark. FWIW I think SJM was right to call out the jambo for alerting the authorities. I’m sure Mark Milligan hasn’t felt the need to contact them about the kick he received from Scott Wright on Friday.

24-02-2019, 11:01 AM
He's an "ace" ?

So this is what you get with all that money we keep hearing about.

He's a Jambo soldier don't you know 😂

24-02-2019, 11:11 AM
He's a Jambo soldier don't you know 😂

Noticed this tag on brokeback when I was perusing their meltdown last night. What's that all about... or is it just another random glorification of one of their mediocre 'aces'?

24-02-2019, 11:12 AM
He's a Jambo soldier don't you know [emoji23]He'll be bravely fighting to change the Hearts culture of serial fouling and cheating. Have they shot up the fair play table now this guys on board?

24-02-2019, 11:23 AM
Wonder if McGinn would be calling him out if he was still with us?
How would he fare, with our game against them coming up?
Cheap shot by him, not playing in Scotland and still fixating on the Yams!!!!

24-02-2019, 11:25 AM
Wonder if McGinn would be calling him out if he was still with us?
How would he fare, with our game against them coming up?
Cheap shot by him, not playing in Scotland and still fixating on the Yams!!!!

Or following one of his previous clubs.

The system is truly broken if players start highlighting match incidents via social media.

24-02-2019, 11:33 AM

The system is truly broken if players start highlighting match incidents via social media.

What would we be saying this morning if that tackle was on 1 of ours?
A shocking challenge is a shocking challenge, regardless of who the player is!
Also is McGinn not guilty of calling an other professional player a grass on social media????

24-02-2019, 11:36 AM
Also is McGinn not guilty of calling an other professional player a grass on social media????

Is that a crime? Either in real life or football?

Have you seen the challenge in question? Absolutely nothing in it.

As others have said, what does he think he’s doing tagging the SPFL?

24-02-2019, 11:36 AM

:agree: And at a club where both his brothers currently play.

24-02-2019, 11:37 AM
The yam player who I’ve never heard of can get into trouble posting videos like that as the SFA have strict guidelines about social media use especially if he was stupid enough to tag them.

24-02-2019, 11:39 AM

FFS

Do we have the only fans in the world that do “whataboutery” in reverse?

24-02-2019, 11:39 AM

serious question, have you, I've seen this???
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D0IajAnXQAEM28q.jpg:large

Blackfordhibby
24-02-2019, 11:41 AM
The yam player who I’ve never heard of can get into trouble posting videos like that as the SFA have strict guidelines about social media use especially if he was stupid enough to tag them.

Hopefully they take the wee grass to task for it.

24-02-2019, 11:41 AM
FFS

Do we have the only fans in the world that do “whataboutery” in reverse?

Exactly. Where has the old fashioned tribal banter gone [emoji2][emoji106]

24-02-2019, 11:44 AM
I’m not nornally quick off the mark. FWIW I think SJM was right to call out the jambo for alerting the authorities. I’m sure Mark Milligan hasn’t felt the need to contact them about the kick he received from Scott Wright on Friday.

To be fair if we went down that road McNulty could be pulled up for his kick out at McGowan.

24-02-2019, 11:45 AM

Thats a shocker by the way.

24-02-2019, 11:48 AM
Exactly. Where has the old fashioned tribal banter gone [emoji2][emoji106]

Mental eh.

I think SJM is brilliant and even more so for getting it up the Yams from afar now that he's not able to do it on the pitch.

The more folk winding up the hearts, the better, imho.

And the guy is a grass, clearly. Not even waiting for Sportscene to decide if there should be an issue here or not is low behaviour, but only to be expected from that lot.

Keyser Sauzee
24-02-2019, 11:48 AM

Take the green specks off, it’s a shocker of a challenge.

24-02-2019, 11:49 AM

Free kick St Mirren, the thigh to the underside of the foot is outrageous. Red card for the Yam as well, email is already on its way to the compliance officer.

Cheating hearts *******.

24-02-2019, 11:50 AM

I haven’t seen a video and not that fussed tbh. The issue doesn’t appear to be about the tackle. Its the telling tales element. Anyway, you’ve presented a still photo which gives absolutely no context and could be interpreted to tell what ever story you want to spin.

24-02-2019, 11:52 AM
To be fair if we went down that road McNulty could be pulled up for his kick out at McGowan.

Exactly. That's my point HC. If players start running to the authorities every time they have been fouled etc then the game is goosed. There's no reason for the Yam to be highlighting the tackle to the authorities in this way.

24-02-2019, 11:53 AM
What about Scott Browns tackle against us a few weeks ago?

Plus numberous assaults by hearts players like Naismith on Brown his season ?

Scottish refs are crap

24-02-2019, 11:55 AM

I saw the footage, not a still image. It’s not for him to “grass” opponents. That’s the point here. As someone else pointed out, tweeting that might get him into bother anyway.

Hibernian32
24-02-2019, 11:56 AM
Just a scuffle nothing in it

24-02-2019, 11:57 AM
The issue doesn’t appear to be about the tackle. Its the telling tales element.

Exactly this. Trying to involve the authorities. Is he implying they can’t do their job properly? Managers get banned for that.

24-02-2019, 11:57 AM
I saw the footage, not a still image. It’s not for him to “grass” opponents. That’s the point here. As someone else pointed out, tweeting that might get him into bother anyway.

Would be a good laugh if he did get into trouble for it. Grassing Hearts dick.

24-02-2019, 12:03 PM
I don't really understand the story, but John McGinn is Super John McGinn, so he can call any ****er a grass whatever the circumstances and get my support. Grassing hearts dick.

24-02-2019, 12:05 PM
Would be a good laugh if he did get into trouble for it. Grassing Hearts dick.

Dick, a moaner.

24-02-2019, 12:06 PM
I don't really understand the story, but John McGinn is Super John McGinn, so he can call any ****er a grass whatever the circumstances and get my support. Grassing hearts dick.

:agree: grassing Hearts dick.

24-02-2019, 12:07 PM
Dick, a moaner.

:greengrin well played.

24-02-2019, 12:08 PM
:agree: grassing Hearts dick.

I concur. A Hearts dickless grass.

24-02-2019, 12:10 PM
I concur. A Hearts dickless grass.

Heartless grassing dick.

24-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Heartless grassing dick.

Aye that pretty much covers it

24-02-2019, 12:20 PM
Heres the tackle, its a shocker.

https://twitter.com/DikamonaClevid/status/1099448830670655488

24-02-2019, 12:30 PM
He was clearly trying to win the ball(s) but the Dick got in the way...

24-02-2019, 12:35 PM

Good, hope it hurt.

24-02-2019, 12:38 PM
Nice to see SJM still gets to them

24-02-2019, 12:43 PM
Good, hope it hurt.

Aye, you'd be saying that if that tackle was on a Hibs player right enough...:rolleyes:

24-02-2019, 12:46 PM
Aye, you'd be saying that if that tackle was on a Hibs player right enough...:rolleyes:

Just enjoy a hibs legend winding up a hearts player on Twitter ffs without this tedious contrarian pish.

24-02-2019, 12:52 PM

So what?

Did you love Scott Allan’s tackle on Rossiter at ER? Cos I did. Would I have loved it the other way about? Of course not!!!

24-02-2019, 12:54 PM
Just enjoy a hibs legend winding up a hearts player on Twitter ffs without this tedious contrarian pish.

So what?

Did you love Scott Allan’s tackle on Rossiter at ER? Cos I did. Would I have loved it the other way about? Of course not!!!

Wishing injury on a player? Classy.

24-02-2019, 12:56 PM

But the point is whether its fair game for the player to use social media, tag the authorities and have a mump about it. Grass covers it nicely.

Good point, I’m also no longer going to enjoy it when Hibs score a goal because I wouldn’t enjoy it if a goal was scored against Hibs.

Did I?

How about answering the question?

24-02-2019, 12:57 PM

Nobody mentioned injury.

24-02-2019, 01:13 PM
Shocking career ending tackle imo.

If that had been on a Hibs player I would be raging.

Not convinced that copying in the SPFL was unjustified.

I wonder if our John is connected to the protagonist.

24-02-2019, 01:15 PM
Nobody mentioned injury.

If something causes you pain and hurts you have you been injured? You said "Good", I hope it hurt.

24-02-2019, 01:19 PM
Don’t players now get booked for harassing the ref / waving fake cards etc?

If so, doing something similar after the game on social media seems pretty similar, no?

24-02-2019, 01:20 PM
Shocking career ending tackle imo.

If that had been on a Hibs player I would be raging.

Not convinced that copying in the SPFL was unjustified.

I wonder if our John is connected to the protagonist.

Players taking to social media to grass up a player for a bad tackle? Na not for me

24-02-2019, 01:24 PM
If something causes you pain and hurts you have you been injured? You said "Good", I hope it hurt.

Must admit from your photo and the video it looks like the Hearts player is also being reckless and overly physical as well. In the old days, when football was a contact sport, you had lots of these challenges every game.

It is bad enough trial by television without players joining in.

24-02-2019, 01:25 PM
Players taking to social media to grass up a player for a bad tackle? Na not for me

A player making no attempt to play the ball and subjecting a fellow professional to a tackle that could end his career and affect the livelihood of him and his family? Na not for me.

24-02-2019, 01:27 PM

I bet you said "aye but Stokes should have had a hattrick" after the cup final too... :tee hee:

Gee the negativity a wee rest please, G :aok:

24-02-2019, 01:31 PM
A player making no attempt to play the ball and subjecting a fellow professional to a tackle that could end his career and affect the livelihood of him and his family? Na not for me.

Bad tackles are part and parcel of the game. Let the authorities deal with it if they see fit

24-02-2019, 01:33 PM
Did I?

How about answering the question?

I would rather not see our players dishing out bad tackles just for the sake of it, risking suspensions through yellow and red cards.

24-02-2019, 01:33 PM
I would rather not see our players dishing out bad tackles just for the sake of it, risking suspensions through yellow and red cards.

Are you a politician?

24-02-2019, 01:35 PM
Must admit from your photo and the video it looks like the Hearts player is also being reckless and overly physical as well. In the old days, when football was a contact sport, you had lots of these challenges every game.

It is bad enough trial by television without players joining in.

Pathead calling Neil Ruddock

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/uk-england-46058896

Football is a contact sport and it takes strength and athleticism to play it. The beautiful game has no place for cavemen football.

Let’s evolve and embrace positive change in our game :-)

24-02-2019, 01:37 PM
Are you a politician?

Did I answer your question?

24-02-2019, 01:40 PM
Did I answer your question?

Yeah I suppose you did, in a round about way.

If I stub my toe it will hurt for a brief period of time, I wouldn’t claim that I was injured.

BS44

Perfect Krav Maga defensive kick as two Hearts thugs try to attack him.

24-02-2019, 01:47 PM
Whatever happened to ‘what happens on the pitch,stays on the pitch’?

Football is getting to the point where multiple players are going to be getting banned after every game.

24-02-2019, 01:58 PM
Perfect Krav Maga defensive kick as two Hearts thugs try to attack him.
You're glasses need cleaned, its 2 St Mirren players in the challenge.
Watch the video, then look at the picture, simples!!!!

24-02-2019, 02:03 PM
I think anybody taking SJM's comment seriously could be having a whoosh moment. I thought he was just winding the guy up.

If any Hearts player does want all dodgy incidents in their games to be re-assessed, I'm sure fans of other clubs would be delighted... but Potter not so much.

Coming from Hearts, this is a clear case of...

:kettle:

24-02-2019, 02:05 PM
Hermit Crab, will you please take Heart of Midlothian Football Club out of your mouth for just a few minutes? Cheers.

24-02-2019, 02:16 PM
The grass has now taken out @spfl out of the original tweet.

He’s literally papped it.

24-02-2019, 02:21 PM

TBH it doesn't look good but you can't really tell from that video. The actual challenge is obscured but it looks as if the St M player has made contact with the ball. Whether before or after smacking into Dikimona it's really not possible to say from that angle. And yes, I'm aware It can still be a red card but it's not really a shocker if there's a genuine attempt to get the ball.

24-02-2019, 02:22 PM

Absolute quality replies on that tweet. Oh they jambos still hate Mcginn 🤣

24-02-2019, 02:28 PM

Ooft! That's straight out of the Levein playbook. Classic Potter.

24-02-2019, 02:28 PM

That makes him look even more stupid. Trying to cover his tracks.

Anyway, is it not the SFA that deal with the compliance matters?

24-02-2019, 02:29 PM
Good point, I’m also no longer going to enjoy it when Hibs score a goal because I wouldn’t enjoy it if a goal was scored against Hibs.

24-02-2019, 02:39 PM
Maybe its just me, but the more injured herts players the better for me, and if it hurts them then that's even better? :confused:

24-02-2019, 02:40 PM
Maybe its just me, but the more injured herts players the better for me, and if it hurts them then that's even better? :confused:

Now now, you can’t say that 😳

24-02-2019, 02:45 PM

This 100%. Too much respect shown in football these days.

24-02-2019, 02:55 PM
Hearts boys studs are up in that picture could have ended very badly if he'd connected with the top of the st mirren guys foot.

24-02-2019, 02:57 PM

Agree

24-02-2019, 03:18 PM

Couldn't agree more. Remember the cheering when Griffith's went off injured in the Wotherspoon derby. They can all get to ****.

24-02-2019, 03:29 PM
Surely this thread is about the boy greeting on social media to spfl about the challenge and one of our Hero’s absolutely slautering him.

The discussion regarding our emotions of a player getting injured is for another thread?

24-02-2019, 03:30 PM
Couldn't agree more. Remember the cheering when Griffith's went off injured in the Wotherspoon derby. They can all get to ****.

They took great delight in Paul Wright getting injured as well.
Never saw Wright or Griffiths grassing anyone for it.

24-02-2019, 03:56 PM

Jeezo mate … I like watching a Yam get clattered as much as the next guy, but even with my green tinted specs on the challenge was a shocker.

24-02-2019, 03:59 PM
I haven’t seen a video and not that fussed tbh. The issue doesn’t appear to be about the tackle. Its the telling tales element. Anyway, you’ve presented a still photo which gives absolutely no context and could be interpreted to tell what ever story you want to spin.

Its no spin mate. I watched the game on ALBA last night and the more you saw the challenge the worse it got, late and high. It should have been a straight red.

Here’s Lucy!
24-02-2019, 04:32 PM
Quite frankly, all this 'Twitter' and 'Tweeting' crap is just that.

A load of crap.

Pretty childish behavior from both parties too, I venture?

24-02-2019, 04:34 PM
Quite frankly, all this 'Twitter' and 'Tweeting' crap is just that.

A load of crap.

Pretty childish behavior from both parties too, I venture?

Not worth getting your knickers in a twist over.

Here’s Lucy!
24-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Not worth getting your knickers in a twist over.

I can assure you, my frillies are as smooth as a silk worms forehead.

24-02-2019, 04:39 PM
Jeezo mate … I like watching a Yam get clattered as much as the next guy, but even with my green tinted specs on the challenge was a shocker.

Okay, I may have exaggerated a wee bit. :greengrin It’s a robust challenge in a game between two physical teams. I still think he’s going for the ball, but in the seconds before the challenge, his team mate is blocking his view of the yam (who is also flying in at top speed). A “coming together” of committed players imo.

24-02-2019, 05:19 PM
Hearts players going in with his studs up - was the St Mirren guy maybe just protecting himself/anticipating the challenge?

24-02-2019, 05:36 PM
Hearts players going in with his studs up - was the St Mirren guy maybe just protecting himself/anticipating the challenge?Studs definitely up. I'm going straight to Chris Sutton with it.

24-02-2019, 06:00 PM
Hearts players going in with his studs up - was the St Mirren guy maybe just protecting himself/anticipating the challenge?

It’s a St Mirren free kick for me.

24-02-2019, 06:12 PM
I don't understand how anyone that plays in the same team as Berra and Naismith would think that was unusual, let alone illegal.

Hearts cheated and as both a Corinthian and Hibernian SJM was correct to call them out

Can anyone confirm that Tansey is okay?

#prayfortansey

24-02-2019, 07:30 PM
I don't understand how anyone that plays in the same team as Berra and Naismith would think that was unusual, let alone illegal.

I feel like any assault on a Hearts player is just getting the retaliation in first, so no case to answer.

24-02-2019, 07:44 PM
Looks like McGinns tweet has been removed/deleted?...

24-02-2019, 07:45 PM
I love john mcginn.

24-02-2019, 07:53 PM

Furthermore I hope we don't eventually get fourth place this season, because that would mean one or two of the teams currently above us moving down the league and getting less prize money, and I wouldn't like it if we got less prize money.

24-02-2019, 08:03 PM
Wonder what his his pal Naismith makes of his comments ?

24-02-2019, 08:13 PM
Looks like McGinns tweet has been removed/deleted?...

Na, it’s still there. He isn’t a *****e bag like Dick, a moana

25-02-2019, 12:25 AM
Hearts make these kind of "challenges" several times a game and they get away with it with not a single word said.

**** them and well done to McGinniesta for getting it right up them.

25-02-2019, 06:28 AM

To be fair, he's not that far from the ball.

Here’s Lucy!
25-02-2019, 03:57 PM

The St. Mirren player doesn't exactly look innocent though, does he?

25-02-2019, 04:35 PM
The St. Mirren player doesn't exactly look innocent though, does he?

Impossible to tell from the footage and the still so I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt and calling on the compliance officer to cite the Jambo for the thigh to the foot, as he's nowhere near the ball.

The grassing Hearts dick.

25-02-2019, 04:40 PM

Which one? Left to right?