View Full Version : Mark Warburton "Rangers should have beaten Hibs in cup final"

19-02-2019, 12:46 PM
Aye.... sure Mark

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mark-warburton-rangers-should-have-beaten-hibs-in-cup-final-this-is-why-we-didn-t-1-4875495?fbclid=IwAR18A9rHuxfZxH94zz4lgVm2JpYYSjVV3 1MalXuBLJtFH_ZsZMyY55jhmSo

"running on empty" Pull the other one pal! We were still in the play off games and your lot had tied up the league and we’re able to kick back, rest and prepare for the final

With play off games and reaching both domestic finals that season, I guarantee we played more games than them!

Ohhhhhhhhh Warburton's a......

hibbydad
19-02-2019, 12:48 PM
What a fanny

19-02-2019, 12:48 PM
Listened to his interview earlier on. Trotted out all sorts of excuses and didn’t give Hibs any credit. To be expected really.

19-02-2019, 12:49 PM
But you didn't ya fanny

Steven79
19-02-2019, 12:50 PM
But like the murphys he's not bitter....

19-02-2019, 12:50 PM
Watched the interview and actually enjoyed it.

The context in which the above sentence was used is different to how it's actually been portrayed, of course Rangers should be beating the likes of us with their budget and anything otherwise is a failure.

19-02-2019, 12:51 PM
Still hurting.

Nice.

19-02-2019, 12:51 PM
Still wearing his fannys hat I see🤣

Gloucester Hibs
19-02-2019, 12:57 PM
I'm guessing he means "should've beaten us" in terms of resources available and not how the game actually went. They deserved Brussels sprout!

19-02-2019, 01:01 PM
That's the latest post match interview I've ever seen.

Chorley Hibee
19-02-2019, 01:02 PM
The hurt is strong with this one.

19-02-2019, 01:04 PM
The taste of his tears are absolutely delightful 💚

HibeeHibernian4
19-02-2019, 01:04 PM

19-02-2019, 01:05 PM
To be fair he makes many valid points.

😂But he forgot to say he was a fanny and the better team won.

19-02-2019, 01:06 PM
I'm no fan of Mark Warburton but that was a good watch and an interesting insight. Big fan of Ferry's interviewing style!

19-02-2019, 01:06 PM
They have seven times our player budget, of course they should have won.

But then the best thing ever happened instead.:flag:

19-02-2019, 01:07 PM
So did Andy Halliday to be fair.

Roxyhibee
19-02-2019, 01:12 PM
Didn’t think that day could squeeze out any more pleasure for me - I was wrong.! Thanks Mark.

19-02-2019, 01:15 PM
"we were too tired and we had too long a rest" :greengrin

19-02-2019, 01:16 PM
Rangers should have won. It should have been 115 years. We should have "hibs'd it".

But they didn't, it wasn't and we didn't.

19-02-2019, 01:30 PM
Aye.... sure Mark

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mark-warburton-rangers-should-have-beaten-hibs-in-cup-final-this-is-why-we-didn-t-1-4875495?fbclid=IwAR18A9rHuxfZxH94zz4lgVm2JpYYSjVV3 1MalXuBLJtFH_ZsZMyY55jhmSo

"running on empty" Pull the other one pal! We were still in the play off games and your lot had tied up the league and we able to kick back, rest and prepare for the final

With play off games and reaching both domestic finals that season, I guarantee we played more games than them!

Ohhhhhhhhh Warburton's a......He should have worn a different hat.

Roaster

19-02-2019, 01:33 PM
Did Leeann not offer him an interview or something?

19-02-2019, 01:35 PM
Where's that warburton a phanny song with the cast of still game when I need it?!

19-02-2019, 01:43 PM
Where's that warburton a phanny song with the cast of still game when I need it?!

I was in tears laughing the first time I saw that. Just perfect.

19-02-2019, 01:46 PM

https://youtu.be/oM-DDw6XJGI

19-02-2019, 01:53 PM

Wonderful!

19-02-2019, 01:57 PM
Maybe if his teams could defend set pieces...

19-02-2019, 01:58 PM
What a fanny

Does he have his wand handy?

19-02-2019, 02:01 PM
Listened to his interview earlier on. Trotted out all sorts of excuses and didn’t give Hibs any credit. To be expected really.

Sevco arrogance had them winning that match well before kick-off. The police, party-planners back at Ibrox, SFA, Sevco fans, media players and Warburton saw no other outcome. They were fully rested, full of confidence having won the league and promotion, and had beaten Celtic in the semi. On top of that, Hibs had just lost a devastating play-off match and were 0/10 in Scottish Cup finals.

There are no excuses for Sevco or Warburton. They under-estimated Hibs big time and paid the price in what will forever be one of the greatest Cup Final comebacks in history.

The fact the brutalised Sevco players, SFA, Warburton, police and Hun directors are still hurting, makes it all the more glorious :thumbsup:

19-02-2019, 02:02 PM
“Losing Dom was a real body blow. He was so good in the semi-final and he had physicality. We had Barrie McKay, Jason Holt, smaller players. You play a team like Celtic or Hibs - they’ve got physicality.”

Aye and we had Fyvie Mcgeouch and Mcginn. Ken those 3 6foot 6 monsters in the middle of the pitch. Very physical

19-02-2019, 02:07 PM
Rangers should have paid wages rather than tax-free loans. Should is a big word.

19-02-2019, 02:07 PM

Noticed that one. Tying himself up in knots with excuses that contradict each other. He does however own a very magical hat so that must be some succour to him.

19-02-2019, 02:16 PM
Noticed that one. Tying himself up in knots with excuses that contradict each other. He does however own a very magical hat so that must be some succour to him.
Aye and I should have been born into great wealth and currently have a harem of hot women at my beck and call. Life can be full of lemons...... :faf: Even when these dafties leave Sevco they retain their sense of entitlement......

19-02-2019, 02:23 PM

Hadn't see that for a long time, fantastic.

With any luck Warburton will never get over losing that final

Graceless arrogant twat that he is.

19-02-2019, 02:24 PM
He shouldnt be too downhearted, they won the petrofac cup the year before, didnt they?

:greengrin:greengrin

What a fanny

telford hibbee
19-02-2019, 02:29 PM
Absolutely priceless.

19-02-2019, 02:34 PM
The previous 10 finals we were in we should have won. We didn’t.

19-02-2019, 02:41 PM

An oxymoron from a total moron.

19-02-2019, 02:44 PM
poor Mark, he just can't seem to get over it

we should pen a song for him

19-02-2019, 02:46 PM
“Losing Dom was a real body blow. He was so good in the semi-final and he had physicality. We had Barrie McKay, Jason Holt, smaller players. You play a team like Celtic or Hibs - they’ve got physicality.”

Aye and we had Fyvie Mcgeouch and Mcginn. Ken those 3 6foot 6 monsters in the middle of the pitch. Very physical

LOL

I totally missed that bit!

I also enjoyed him complaining about not being able to have players in his squad that they had sent out on loan for the season - how dare the SFA not break the rules for him and the mighty the glasgow the rangers!!!

What him and the other knuckledraggers can't stand is there were ZERO dodgy decisions in the final for them to complain about

What a phallus

19-02-2019, 02:54 PM
His behaviour after their 2nd goal summed up everything that is/was wrong with Sevco. He walked away nodding his head as if to say 'natural order was restored', now where have I heard that before? Their arrogance & assumptions of victory defied belief & awareness given we had beaten them in the league 5 times in their 2 championship seasons. Anyway, their arrogance gave me the greatest football day of my life. Thank you Fanny!

19-02-2019, 03:02 PM
I read the article and he must have been at a different game to me.

19-02-2019, 03:03 PM
So, so f*nny. :faf:

19-02-2019, 03:08 PM
Maybe just finished treatment for his ptsd or some other injury sustained that day.

19-02-2019, 03:09 PM
The magic hat had a lucky escape that day.
He was the only member of the rAngers staff who was not viciously assaulted by the Hibernian Hordes.

He was on his way to the airport to catch a flight to Orlando about the same time as we were singing our anthem.

He was in such a state of shock, it was the airport tannoy system announcing his flight that woke him out of his daze...

then suddenly it dawned

RoscoHibby
19-02-2019, 03:12 PM
What a fanny indeed. If he watched the game back, it was almost inconceivable rangers were ahead!! Miller scored then hit the bar soon after. Halliday scored the goal of his life (hee hee!) And that was it from them the whole 94 mins. If they got pumped 5-0 that day they wouldn't have had much room for complaint.

Again. Fanny.

19-02-2019, 03:16 PM
https://youtu.be/oM-DDw6XJGI[emoji106][emoji23]

hughio
19-02-2019, 03:22 PM
Didn’t think that day could squeeze out any more pleasure for me - I was wrong.! Thanks Mark.

Me too!Magic.Thanks Mark.Keep digging.

19-02-2019, 03:27 PM
"we were too tired and we had too long a rest" :greengrinI guess his Forest players must also have been too tired for all those games that led up to him getting sacked.

Can only be down to having a crap manager.

19-02-2019, 03:36 PM
What was the score?

19-02-2019, 03:45 PM
Will download this to listen to tonight while working nights. Have enjoyed the Hibs themed interviews from Si Ferry, but need to dive deeper into others. Suppose Mark Warburton is now inextricably connected to Hibs with 21.5.16, so still Hibs themed

ano hibby
19-02-2019, 04:00 PM

Outstanding.
That song needs to make a comeback.

19-02-2019, 04:02 PM
What was the score?

I was going to leave when Halliday won the cup for them, stayed to clap the side offthe Park 👍

19-02-2019, 04:13 PM
Is he currently 'between jobs'? Useless he was.

19-02-2019, 04:14 PM
GET IT RIGHT ****ING UP YOU AND EVERY OTHER HUN OUT THERE.
Stokes had more shots on target than the entire the rangers team that day. We were the better team and deserved to win. We had played physically and mentally demanding games long after they had finished their league campaign. We had lost the play offs as well as the other major cup final that year. We played more games than them that season as well. Hibs deserved to win that game and probably by a much more convincing scoreline than 3-2. I absolutely love the fact that he is still hurting about it. And I know that every single Hun out there still feels the same.
Once again GIRFUY every last one of you

1875Sean
19-02-2019, 04:44 PM
Had to laugh listening to the open goal podcast ... ‘ We could only name 5 subs on the bench’ don’t see what the difference youngests Harding and Walsh being cup tied made! He is quick enough to point of the budget difference between Rangers and Celtic but not between Rangers and the rest of the league

19-02-2019, 05:09 PM
Coulda, Shoulda, Didnae!

Suck it up!!!!

19-02-2019, 05:19 PM
Is he currently 'between jobs'? Useless he was.He's forming a band, just learning to play the dustbin lid and persuade David Weir to join him as singer for the comeback album.

All he needs is a good tune.

19-02-2019, 05:36 PM
Ah - the man that inspired a support to sing.

19-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Is he currently 'between jobs'? Useless he was.

As yoda said :)

GreenOnions
19-02-2019, 05:40 PM
They had two shots on target in 90 minutes plus the Miller effort off the bar. I think we had 11 on target from memory. Their best player on the day was their goalkeeper. Was he actually at Hampden?

SCHAEDYSHORTS
19-02-2019, 05:49 PM
Beggars belief really............

bodhibs
19-02-2019, 05:58 PM
Clunge bonnet still hurting eh, no luck lad

19-02-2019, 05:58 PM
Tens of millions in debt again and what did warbler have to show for it? A cup final doing by Hibs and something called the petrofac trophy before he got the boot from Ibrox. Wonder if he got to keep his Sevco tie?

Bitter and deluded.

19-02-2019, 06:01 PM
https://previews.123rf.com/images/rtimages/rtimages0905/rtimages090500038/4905959-businessman-sat-on-a-chair-in-the-corner-wearing-a-dunce-hat.jpg

19-02-2019, 06:19 PM
Such a sad man, used to really annoy me that he gave Hibs no credit whatsoever, and obviously he still won't

19-02-2019, 06:26 PM
It was the biggest match of his career. He failed, badly. A club who could outspend Hibs 10 times over but in their very short existence have one the Petrofac cup. He presided over that loss to Hibernian and he will never forget that, neither will any Hun. Most importantly neither will we. 🏆

19-02-2019, 06:30 PM
I was going to leave when Halliday won the cup for them, stayed to clap the side offthe Park 👍

🤣👍

19-02-2019, 06:33 PM
What happened to his claim against Rangers for wrongful dismissal? Is he the only person to have lost a UK legal case against Dave King? It would add to his status as the only manager to have lost a Scottish Cup final against Hibs in over a century.

19-02-2019, 06:35 PM
Aye.... sure Mark

"running on empty" Pull the other one pal! We were still in the play off games and your lot had tied up the league and we able to kick back, rest and prepare for the final

Ohhhhhhhhh Warburton's a......

I loved this interview and hope his lament becomes a regular affair over the coming years.

In fact i’d even settle for something like this every 1-2 years if The Warblers busy life would permit.

hibbydog
19-02-2019, 06:37 PM
With respect Mark, I really think, with respect, you should wallow in the defeat that you clearly deserved.

That’s with the greatest of respect of course.

Fudd

19-02-2019, 07:29 PM
An unconscionably large number of posts have occurred now since this was last referenced, so

19-02-2019, 07:31 PM
An unconscionably large number of posts have occurred now since this was last referenced, so

Good thinking.

19-02-2019, 07:34 PM
Warburton still hurting. Absolute gold.

19-02-2019, 07:40 PM
What a fanny 🤣🤣🤣

19-02-2019, 07:43 PM

I can't believe I have never seen this before 🤣🤣🤣

19-02-2019, 07:52 PM
Total fanny!

19-02-2019, 08:20 PM
Aye but but but Mark.....if your Auntie had baws she’d be your Uncle!

Get it right round ye ya bitter bitter ex Newco manager

Wakeyhibee
19-02-2019, 08:26 PM
If I recall correctly we should have won in 1979 but even as a young boy I wasn't bitter and took it on the chin.

We deserved to and did win in 2016..... Fact :)

19-02-2019, 11:06 PM
https://previews.123rf.com/images/rtimages/rtimages0905/rtimages090500038/4905959-businessman-sat-on-a-chair-in-the-corner-wearing-a-dunce-hat.jpg

The hat should have an 'F' on it not a 'D'.

19-02-2019, 11:09 PM
The hat should have an 'F' on it not a 'D'.

Funce?

19-02-2019, 11:17 PM
Funce?

Danny?

19-02-2019, 11:19 PM
Boo hoo hoo :boo hoo:

What they missed was a big strong lad at centre half .. the kind of guy who has maybe won the club's player of the year award the season before :greengrin Or a manager who after watching his right back get torn a new a hole for the umpteenth time would have got him some back up.

You lost fair and square … get over it ya classless welt :aok:

20-02-2019, 07:54 AM
This has to be the latest post match interview I've ever seen

1005 days later must be some kind of record!

And just for good measure....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fS7-HEBAfs

20-02-2019, 08:26 AM
Love him or hate him (Mark Warburton) another brilliant interview by Si Ferry

”We was running on empty!”

Oh! Ma aching sides!

20-02-2019, 08:39 AM
We played 54 games that season, they played 50. Boy can't count either.

20-02-2019, 08:57 AM
Also, whose fault were the suspensions to his players?

20-02-2019, 09:23 AM
Also, whose fault were the suspensions to his players?

The cafflic refurees and nationalist conspiroturs in the SFA.

20-02-2019, 09:25 AM
The cafflic refurees and nationalist conspiroturs in the SFA.[emoji3]

Hopefully that'll improve now they've got a manager with a cafflik background and a few more caffliks in their squad.

Oh wait a minute.....

20-02-2019, 09:25 AM
I've not seen the interview yet. I must admit that the first one I watched was Paul Hartley (as everyone was going on about it on here) and have been working my way through them as they are excellent.

I actually thought Sevco were very good the year we played them in the Championship. They spent their sizeable budget on a small but talented squad and won the league (their main priority) at a canter. It has to be said that over the season they did get lucky with injuries so they were able to play the same team for much of the season.

Fortunately their luck ran out towards the end of the season and the lack of depth in their squad ended up being exposed. He can't complain - if he'd spent better on stronger back-up then he wouldn't have been able to afford the players who did very well for them over the course of the league season.

I never really minded Warburton, I thought he was ok (for a Rangers manager) but it is hilarious how much our cup win hurt him and everyone else at his club.

20-02-2019, 09:36 AM
I've not seen the interview yet. I must admit that the first one I watched was Paul Hartley (as everyone was going on about it on here) and have been working my way through them as they are excellent.

I actually thought Sevco were very good the year we played them in the Championship. They spent their sizeable budget on a small but talented squad and won the league (their main priority) at a canter. It has to be said that over the season they did get lucky with injuries so they were able to play the same team for much of the season.

Fortunately their luck ran out towards the end of the season and the lack of depth in their squad ended up being exposed. He can't complain - if he'd spent better on stronger back-up then he wouldn't have been able to afford the players who did very well for them over the course of the league season.

I never really minded Warburton, I thought he was ok (for a Rangers manager) but it is hilarious how much our cup win hurt him and everyone else at his club.

Well worth a watch Smartie as is Deeks Gary Caldwell and the piece d resistance Garry OConnor :greengrin

20-02-2019, 10:55 AM
Essential and hilarious viewing which brought that great day back for me. It was the best of both worlds, the way they took that sulk and refused to talk about it meant that the coverage at the time was all Hibs.

But you do miss the schadenfreude so a big thumbs up to Mark for providing it retrospectively, while having the grace not to distort the unbridled joy of our celebration by displaying those sour grapes at the time.

Never thought I’d say it but the whole Hun endeavor from start to finish was a pitch perfect performance. They literally haven’t put a food wrong. So a big thank you to Rangers for still providing massive entertainment for us on this issue.

PerfectlyFranck
30-12-2021, 03:46 PM
Can anyone find the link to where Warburton (or someone else) said their medals came in a plastic carrier bag?

It was amusing. :greengrin

WestCoastHibby
30-12-2021, 04:03 PM
Warburtons side got “toasted”

Hibiza
30-12-2021, 04:13 PM
He's just an outsider .

30-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Still making dough, tho’. :greengrin

30-12-2021, 06:25 PM
https://youtu.be/8Fc9ned9b6Q
That's how he lost the final.

30-12-2021, 10:09 PM
Hibs had more physicality :faf: We barely had a player over 5'10" outside of the back 3. I wonder of he will ever admit none of the credit for his team winning the league that year belongs to him because they had far far better resources than practically every club they were up against.

Boo Hoo fanny .... ye got beaten by a better team, get over it.

30-12-2021, 10:12 PM
“ Warburton’s a fanny “