View Full Version : Hibs car

19-02-2019, 07:42 AM
Anyone know whose got a Hibs tartan Vauxhall? Seen it driving through Airth a couple of times last week. Big badge on the bonnet too.

19-02-2019, 07:54 AM
I want one

19-02-2019, 09:52 AM
The guy stays in Alloa, his wife got the car done for his Christmas, the wrap cost more than the car lol

Brummie_Hibs
19-02-2019, 10:00 AM
I've seen a green tartan Range Rover after Hibs games. Anybody know who's that is.

19-02-2019, 10:03 AM
I've been a green tartan Range Rover after Hibs games. Anybody know who's that is.

Sure it belongs to a boy who runs a taxi firm in my estate in Dunfermline.

IrnBru22
19-02-2019, 10:38 AM
It parks on Hawkhill Avenue on match days

Hibs4185
19-02-2019, 10:48 AM
I seen Tam McCourt driving a mistibishi warrior or something similar with the number plate H185 FAN

I would offer silly money for that plate!

EastThomasSTboy
19-02-2019, 10:53 AM
I seen Tam McCourt driving a mistibishi warrior or something similar with the number plate H185 FAN

Just send Tam an email.......I am sure he will get back in touch!!!http://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon6.pnghttp://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon6.png:flag:

19-02-2019, 10:55 AM

I don't know if he runs a taxi firm. Gets plenty of them though!
(If its the same lad. His current one isn't wrapped)

19-02-2019, 11:00 AM
I seen this Astra in Tillicoultry has lyrics to sunshine on leith too, very smart for an Astra

19-02-2019, 11:07 AM
I saw a car leaving my neighbourhood with the registration "HE51 ART" a few days ago. I'm in ****ing Larbert, why did it have to be here?! :grr:

19-02-2019, 11:19 AM
The guy stays in Alloa, his wife got the car done for his Christmas, the wrap cost more than the car lol

Quite a lot of Hibs fans in Alloa :agree:

19-02-2019, 11:46 AM

Yeah I've seen it at the Tesco at Duloch loads of times, think they stay around that area.

19-02-2019, 11:52 AM
I saw a car leaving my neighbourhood with the registration "HE51 ART" a few days ago. I'm in ****ing Larbert, why did it have to be here?! :grr:

Must have been a Rover

19-02-2019, 01:19 PM

There are indeed, been a supporters bus for decades. Only travels to home games now but I spent many years travelling the country home and away on that bus with some great laughs. There are honestly games that I have forgotten the scores at but remember what we did on the bus or in the pub before or after.
I'll need to investigate who's got the Hibs astra though. I do have my suspicions

19-02-2019, 01:21 PM

Why would you be annoyed by someone who likes Hesi art? He is a fud if he thinks that even resembles hearts. Even more of a fud than just being a Jambo.

19-02-2019, 01:22 PM

I hope they've had inoculations.

19-02-2019, 01:24 PM
Must have been a RoverSurely you mean Rover SD1 vanden plas executive. With tan faux leather seats and free matching corduroy strides and string backed driving gloves to match?

19-02-2019, 01:33 PM

The guy lives up the street from me.

Don't think he has the tartan wrapped range rover any more as haven't seen it around in a while and he upgraded to a new model a little while back.

His new car has the licence plate HIB5 and what I'm assuming is his wife's car has HIB5 II :greengrin

19-02-2019, 01:36 PM

You must have some size of an estate if you need a taxi to get around.

JXM73
19-02-2019, 01:40 PM

One here too, no seen the Vauxhall, theres a hun mobile around here somewhere...

hughio
19-02-2019, 01:44 PM
Smart black brand new BMW H13EES spotted on Saturday.
Is that you?

"Not as expensive as you think!"Aye right.

19-02-2019, 02:10 PM
Anyone know whose got a Hibs tartan Vauxhall? Seen it driving through Airth a couple of times last week. Big badge on the bonnet too.

It has the Sunshine on Leith lyrics on it too, see it parked along Hawkhill at home games.

19-02-2019, 03:05 PM
The guy lives up the street from me.

Don't think he has the tartan wrapped range rover any more as haven't seen it around in a while and he upgraded to a new model a little while back.

His new car has the licence plate HIB5 and what I'm assuming is his wife's car has HIB5 II :greengrin
First time I saw the reg HIB5 was many years ago. It was on a Fiat Uno in Portobello. Have coveted it ever since (the plate not the car obviously)

19-02-2019, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the replies folks! I now have to try and persuade the wife to go for a private plate.

19-02-2019, 03:22 PM
Is that you?

Not me no! Unfortunately!

19-02-2019, 03:31 PM
You must have some size of an estate if you need a taxi to get around.

:tee hee::tee hee:

19-02-2019, 03:47 PM
Is that you?

H13EES belongs to a Hyundai i10 according to the car valuation site................... must have traded up very recently!

hughio
19-02-2019, 03:50 PM
H13EES belongs to a Hyundai i10 according to the car valuation site................... must have traded up very recently!

Coulda been HI3EE5 ?Or mibby it has changed hands but I'm not making this up!

Tarrahib
19-02-2019, 04:05 PM
Thanks for the replies folks! I now have to try and persuade the wife to go for a private plate.
I ordered a new Ford Sierra by phone from People's of Bathgate with the number plate H18S OK when went to collect the car the plate on it was H18 SUK.The salesman said that was the plate I ordered,he blamed it on my Highland accent.They gave me the plate for nothing .it did not feel right.I sometimes see that plate At Hibs games and still have a wee weep.

19-02-2019, 04:16 PM
Is that you?

tell him he's driving without insurance :wink:

Topographic Hibby
19-02-2019, 04:44 PM
Quite a lot of Hibs fans in Alloa :agree:On the terraces at Hampden on a certain day in May 2016, a lady taps my shoulder and says “..you fae Alloa...??”

Turns out it the entire family from Alloa was there and I work in Alloa.

I do know a fair few Hibbys from the Alloa & Hillfoots areas. I don’t own a fancy Astra, though....

19-02-2019, 04:49 PM
There's a G8TTH in Perth that will be parked near McDiarmid next week. :flag:

Sioux
19-02-2019, 05:23 PM
7-0!

19-02-2019, 05:33 PM
7-0!

Would be nicer in green though😄

Sioux
19-02-2019, 05:38 PM
Would be nicer in green though😄

I couldn't get in green!

19-02-2019, 05:39 PM
I couldn't get in green!

Your car😄👍

19-02-2019, 05:45 PM
Spotted this BMW up at Gilmerton

A5 YOG

Wonder who that could be? :greengrin

19-02-2019, 05:49 PM
It is wee white car it’s his wifes

19-02-2019, 05:50 PM
I know the owner of HFC 1

19-02-2019, 05:53 PM

I'm not far from you, i'll help you pan the windows in next time you see it. :greengrin

The Pointer
19-02-2019, 06:10 PM

I remember seeing that number plate for sale in the Scotsman in the 70s (?) for a ridiculous amount so goodness knows what it's worth now.

19-02-2019, 06:17 PM
Non Hibs but one I remember is 5ober in Edinburgh

Auckland Hibs
19-02-2019, 06:19 PM
7-0!

I have HIBS 07.

Coincidentally, both plates were stolen from my car on Monday!

Looks like it was a petrol dash scam rather than Jambo!

TAHibby
19-02-2019, 06:40 PM
Can't seem to find it now but remember seeing one on the official gov website that was something like 'HM07HFC'. The offer price was thousands...

19-02-2019, 06:41 PM
Sorry, am I the only one who thinks personal reg plates, tartan wraps and song lyrics printed on cars is totally naff?

19-02-2019, 06:46 PM
It is wee white car it’s his wifes

Must be a different estate then. Its definitely not his wife :greengrin

19-02-2019, 06:47 PM

Gog's car

19-02-2019, 06:47 PM
Can't seem to find it now but remember seeing one on the official gov website that was something like 'HM07HFC'. The offer price was thousands...

It was on a yellow mini

19-02-2019, 06:49 PM

HM07HFC Is for sale for 11k

19-02-2019, 06:51 PM
It was on a yellow mini

Silver Toyota now

19-02-2019, 07:40 PM
Non Hibs but one I remember is 5ober in Edinburgh

I remember that one. A wee yellow fastback.
Used to see it parked near Dean Bridge.

19-02-2019, 07:47 PM
WM xx1 says it all really

19-02-2019, 07:54 PM
I remember that one. A wee yellow fastback.
Used to see it parked near Dean Bridge.
It used to be on a black Jag XJS back in the day. Remember it well.

19-02-2019, 07:57 PM
It used to be on a black Jag back in the day. Remember it well.

Think it belonged to a lawer

hibeenicol
19-02-2019, 08:00 PM

I've got G9TTH

19-02-2019, 08:07 PM
Sorry, am I the only one who thinks personal reg plates, tartan wraps and song lyrics printed on cars is totally naff?

Are they? ****!!!! Anyone interested in H18EEA?

19-02-2019, 08:14 PM
Are they? ****!!!! Anyone interested in H18EEA?

I’ll give you a round of golf for it!

19-02-2019, 08:21 PM
Not as exciting as some mentioned here but I’ve got H18SBH on retention. My initials are BH, so it’s the perfect plate for me.

Why’s it on retention? I run a Jag XF S Portfolio and didn’t feel it appropriate to cheapen the plate or the car because it’s ‘red coloured’. Some would say it’s maroon (spits to clear mouth out:greengrin). I prefer to call it a light burgundy colour but hey ho. The model and trim of that Jag model is hard to come by, so beggars couldn’t be choosers when a used one in my price range came up for sale a couple of years ago.

I’ll not have the car forever and one day my Hibs plate will be on display again.

Here it is a couple of cars ago.

19-02-2019, 08:21 PM
I’ll give you a round of golf for it!
Would obviously depend whereaboots.:greengrin

19-02-2019, 08:22 PM
I'm not far from you, i'll help you pan the windows in next time you see it. :greengrin

Me too 👍🏻 I'm down in Airth

19-02-2019, 08:24 PM
Would obviously depend whereaboots.:greengrin

Carrick Knowe, will carry your clubs too, at no extra charge!

Doh Rae Me
19-02-2019, 08:28 PM
Carrick Knowe, will carry your clubs too, at no extra charge!

I'll see your Carrickknowe and raise you Pumpherston!

20-02-2019, 03:49 PM
SC 16 HFC lives round the corner from me. A regular reminder of a wonderful day.

20-02-2019, 03:57 PM
Not as exciting as some mentioned here but I’ve got H18SBH on retention. My initials are BH, so it’s the perfect plate for me.

Why’s it on retention? I run a Jag XF S Portfolio and didn’t feel it appropriate to cheapen the plate or the car because it’s ‘red coloured’. Some would say it’s maroon (spits to clear mouth out:greengrin). I prefer to call it a light burgundy colour but hey ho. The model and trim of that Jag model is hard to come by, so beggars couldn’t be choosers when a used one in my price range came up for sale a couple of years ago.

I’ll not have the car forever and one day my Hibs plate will be on display again.

Here it is a couple of cars ago.

Thats a cracker BH!

Colin191078
20-02-2019, 05:49 PM
There are indeed, been a supporters bus for decades. Only travels to home games now but I spent many years travelling the country home and away on that bus with some great laughs. There are honestly games that I have forgotten the scores at but remember what we did on the bus or in the pub before or after.
I'll need to investigate who's got the Hibs astra though. I do have my suspicions
Alan Lindsey’s car

20-02-2019, 05:49 PM
I've got G9TTH

We should arrange a photo shoot 😀

hibstag
20-02-2019, 06:31 PM
Used to be a H185 UK going about Dingwall on a ford Sierra sapphire about 30 years ago the owner lived near my mate

20-02-2019, 09:32 PM
Used to be a H185 UK going about Dingwall on a ford Sierra sapphire about 30 years ago the owner lived near my mate

Tarrahibs posted on page 1 on the thread, sure it was his though it was H18S UK

21-02-2019, 12:00 AM
It used to be on a black Jag XJS back in the day. Remember it well.

It would be about 1967 it was on the wee yellow sports job.............. maybe traded up?

Or down?

21-02-2019, 12:02 AM

I've got a HI8S plate too - purchased from a chap on this very site!
The spacing is er.......... not quite what it should be, but so far so good.

Lester B
21-02-2019, 10:51 AM
One of the GPs at Colinton surgery had, and perhaps still does have, HI85 DR. He is the club's official doctor and is a fan. I saw him for an appointment a few years back late on a Wednesday and he had a Hibs tie on along with a badge on his suit. We were playing that night so half the consultation was about what we hoped the score would be!!

Just Googled him to check if he's still doing it and found this gem on the University of Edinburgh Sports Medicine site: "I have been club DR to Hibernian FC since 1999 and as such am the only living Hibs Dr to have ever lifted the Scottish Cup!!"

21-02-2019, 04:39 PM
It would be about 1967 it was on the wee yellow sports job.............. maybe traded up?

Or down?
Mid 70s on the Jag.

Greenfly
21-02-2019, 09:05 PM

No you are certainly not but we better keep our heads down as we're clearly a minority on here.:wink:

21-02-2019, 09:47 PM
No you are certainly not but we better keep our heads down as we're clearly a minority on here.:wink:

I was absolutely the same - had no time for 'vanity plates' until I saw the H18S followed by my initials up for grabs. I mentioned to my missus and she said "You have to".
I sneered............... initially...........

But changed my mind and now I love them.

21-02-2019, 10:39 PM
I was absolutely the same - had no time for 'vanity plates' until I saw the H18S followed by my initials up for grabs. I mentioned to my missus and she said "You have to".
I sneered............... initially...........

But changed my mind and now I love them.

Similar story for me.
Just over 20 years ago, I bought my first ever brand new car. Think it was around then that DVLA started selling reg numbers on a more general basis to the public. So, I thought, why not enquire?

No internet back then so it was a phone call to Swansea to find out if “my” H18S plus initials plate was available. It was. Phoned Mrs H6270 to ask “permission”.:wink: She agreed, so purchased it there and then. £200 I think it cost back then.

Has been on every car I’ve had since, apart from my latest burgundy colour (OK - maroon) car. Too much of a toxic mix. :rolleyes: I value the paintwork on my car more than the vanity of the personalised reg. Willing to put up with that given it’s my dream car - despite the colour.

It’s on retention though, so will make an appearance again sometime soon.

21-02-2019, 11:12 PM
Me too 👍🏻 I'm down in Airth

Great stuff i'm sure between the three of us we can sort something out! :greengrin

22-02-2019, 04:04 AM
Doesn’t / didn’t Deejs have a place out in Airth?

22-02-2019, 07:27 AM
Great stuff i'm sure between the three of us we can sort something out! :greengrin

Just as an aside I regularly drive in to ER, happy to give folk from the area a lift for a fiver! Usually park at the Links

22-02-2019, 07:32 AM
I bought HI8EE GR (GR is first and middle name initials, tried to get GB) fifteen or so years ago, but have never put it on a car. I cant even find the documents anymore, would i be able to do anything with this now, or have i lost it?

22-02-2019, 07:56 AM
I bought HI8EE GR (GR is first and middle name initials, tried to get GB) fifteen or so years ago, but have never put it on a car. I cant even find the documents anymore, would i be able to do anything with this now, or have i lost it?

Might be worth writing to or phoning the DVLA

Just tell them you have lost your Log Book/Reg Doc/Retention Certificate

They will be able to confirm you are still the registered keeper/owner of that number on retention

Might be a small charge

22-02-2019, 09:08 AM

A retention certificate only lasts for a maximum 3 years then you have to renew it and pay a fee to the DVLA.

22-02-2019, 09:15 AM
A retention certificate only lasts for a maximum 3 years then you have to renew it and pay a fee to the DVLA.

If it only lasts 3 years, does that mean someone else could now own it?

Not really sure how these things work?

22-02-2019, 09:25 AM
If it only lasts 3 years, does that mean someone else could now own it?

Not really sure how these things work?

You can check if a car is taxed etc by entering the number into the link.

https://vehicleenquiry.service.gov.uk/ViewVehicle

Don't know if it works for vehicles on retention.

JXM73
22-02-2019, 06:35 PM
Bright green golf r, m1hfc nice plate **** car...

Tynie01011973
22-02-2019, 06:52 PM
Guy near me has an 8 seater taxi with H18 BYY reg

22-02-2019, 10:27 PM
You can check if a car is taxed etc by entering the number into the link.

https://vehicleenquiry.service.gov.uk/ViewVehicle

Don't know if it works for vehicles on retention.

If the plate is on retention, doing a search on that site brings up a “vehicle cannot be found” message.

They changed the rules on these a while back.

I have H18 SVG on retention until 2026.
There is a date the number has to be displayed on a vehicle by on the document.

That’s correct. Registration Number on retention now lasts for 10 years. When it’s put on retention, the DVLA issue you a V778 document. I think the ‘old’ V750 (Certificate of Entitlement) is still valid as well.

Hector Mudflap
23-02-2019, 01:13 PM
I have G6TTH on my wifes car (she calls it Gloria) which even in Fife she gets asked about at garages and supermarket car parks. I got it as a birthday gift from the wife. I absolutely love it. I work in audiology and on my own car I have Ear which makes people laugh. I don't think it's pretentious. I cant understand what's not to like about them! It's Harmless!

24-02-2019, 06:21 PM
anyone need to have theirs altered?
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/cars/news/why-you-might-need-new-number-plates-after-brexit/ar-BBTWP4n?ocid=spartanntp

I don't recall seeing many with GB and the European flag on them.

TiaMaria
24-02-2019, 06:28 PM
Bright green golf r, m1hfc nice plate **** car...

This overtook us on way out of Dundee on Friday night!

24-02-2019, 06:30 PM
HM07HFC Is for sale for 11kWe met the guy who owned before that final. He was dropping someone off. It was on a wee Toyota.let us take photos. He wasn't bothered about the game he said but wished us well

There was a big blue bmw with an RFC number plate in the same car park. They didn't have a great night. Spot the hun at breakfast was easy.

24-02-2019, 06:38 PM
Was at the Aston Villa match last week and saw a car with H18BSY in the car park.

Wonder if it belongs to SJM?

scm70nyd1973
24-02-2019, 07:08 PM
The one good thing about living is n NZ is you can slap on additions to your plate

Hope this uploads ok !

http://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=21737&stc=1&d=1551035199

Hibby D
24-02-2019, 07:30 PM
Mid 70s on the Jag.
The jag was owned by a guy who owned a pub in St Stephen's Street in Stockbridge. I can't recall which pub but either The Bailie or The Stockbridge Bar; the former would be my guess. :aok:

hibbybob
25-02-2019, 03:52 PM
The jag was owned by a guy who owned a pub in St Stephen's Street in Stockbridge. I can't recall which pub but either The Bailie or The Stockbridge Bar; the former would be my guess. :aok:

I recall seeing that outside the Antiquary in the early 80s. Great pub in these days and still not too bad!

25-02-2019, 05:24 PM
We met the guy who owned before that final. He was dropping someone off. It was on a wee Toyota.let us take photos. He wasn't bothered about the game he said but wished us well

There was a big blue bmw with an RFC number plate in the same car park. They didn't have a great night. Spot the hun at breakfast was easy.

Just found the picture