View Full Version : Sundays Matches

Pages : 1 [2]

17-02-2019, 03:36 PM
What happened to the old £15/5 format for cup games?

Category A game?

17-02-2019, 03:38 PM
Category A game?

Can't see us getting anything like a sell out if we charge Cat A prices

17-02-2019, 03:39 PM
Scott Brown booked - dont see that every week..........

Quality pricing. The Celtic cup game should be £20 and £10. Fill the stadium.

You're optimistically assuming that there will be a functioning system in place to allow us to actually buy the tickets!!

That's way, way too positive... 😉

Killie doing nae bad against Celtic.

Scott Brown booked - dont see that every week..........

That'll be him safe to do what he wants for the next four weeks.

17-02-2019, 03:41 PM
Can't see us getting anything like a sell out if we charge Cat A prices

Hope we don’t charge £30. Will put a lot of people off and they will just go to the pub instead.

17-02-2019, 03:43 PM
Wonder if Steve Clarke gets a bit pissed off when he has the team doing so well and there are still massive gaps in the home stands in a crunch match v Celtc?

17-02-2019, 03:49 PM
Hope we don’t charge £30. Will put a lot of people off and they will just go to the pub instead.

A home Scottish Cup quarter final against Celtic should command top prices.

17-02-2019, 03:52 PM
Wonder if Steve Clarke gets a bit pissed off when he has the team doing so well and there are still massive gaps in the home stands in a crunch match v Celtc?

They have a near 18,000 capacity stadium with an average crowd of 5,000.

Imagine Hibs with a 63,000 capacity stadium.

The problem is compounded by having seats designed for legless midgets. If they had redeveloped Rugby Park with around 12,000 seats using the proportions employed at Easter Road, there would have been far fewer empty seats and a better environment for watching.

Marvellous
17-02-2019, 03:52 PM
Would rather spend 45 minutes getting water boarded than watch the second half of that game. Who is this "Scott Sinkler" that Andy Walker thinks is playing?

17-02-2019, 03:58 PM
Would rather spend 45 minutes getting water boarded than watch the second half of that game. Who is this "Scott Sinkler" that Andy Walker thinks is playing?
I get to see a lot of English matches over here but I switch off when I realise Andy Walker is co-commenting. Him and Jim Beglin are the poster boys for stating the bloody obvious though in fairness to Jim Beglin he doesn't feel the need to bawl down the microphone at 110 db that "x" KEPT IT ON TARGET AND HIT THE BACK OF THE NET....... How Walker keeps getting matches is a mystery to me.....

17-02-2019, 04:00 PM
They have a near 18,000 capacity stadium with an average crowd of 5,000.

Imagine Hibs with a 63,000 capacity stadium.

The problem is compounded by having seats designed for legless midgets. If they had redeveloped Rugby Park with around 12,000 seats using the proportions employed at Easter Road, there would have been far fewer empty seats and a better environment for watching.

Agreed about the legroom - actually there are plenty of stadiums (our pink chums for example) where the legroom is awful.

I do wonder if Barr developed the stadium specifically with Celtic and Rangers in mind - i.e. make it big enough to take advantage of 4 away sellouts per season regardless of being empty the rest of the time?

17-02-2019, 04:00 PM
Did anyone see the penalty tackle? The Muppets over there ( well 95% of them ) say it was no penalty, probably not even a foul and one even said that the Motherwell player should have been sent off (:confused:). Then when somebody said ‘we have to appeal that decision’ the response is ‘there’s no way a tackle like that will win an appeal’. :faf::faf::faf:

17-02-2019, 04:07 PM

Too right it should. A home QF against any side should be a money maker for the club. Anything else would be a 'disaster'.

17-02-2019, 04:11 PM

Even to the detriment of the attendance? I know we've talked at length about prices affecting attendances but i wonder if it would maybe add a couple of thousand to the gate?

Marvellous
17-02-2019, 04:12 PM
I get to see a lot of English matches over here but I switch off when I realise Andy Walker is co-commenting. Him and Jim Beglin are the poster boys for stating the bloody obvious though in fairness to Jim Beglin he doesn't feel the need to bawl down the microphone at 110 db that "x" KEPT IT ON TARGET AND HIT THE BACK OF THE NET....... How Walker keeps getting matches is a mystery to me.....

He is genuinely insufferable. I hate how much of my life I've spent listening to the sound of his voice. And you're bang on there, all he does is state the most obvious things in a raised voice, apparently that passes as insight. He also has a really rare ability of seeing something happen, watching two or three replays of it and still come to the completely wrong conclusion. An absolute buffoon of a man.

17-02-2019, 04:12 PM
Wonder if our new management duo have taken in both of today’s games?

Bangkok Hibby
17-02-2019, 04:13 PM
Motherwell are on a great run, but they have a very difficult batch of fixtures before the split. We have them at Easter Road which is a key game. This is a must win for us.

Still feel St Johnstone are our biggest danger to get into the top 6. They don’t play Rangers or Celtic between now and the split. We go to their place in 10 days. This is a must not lose for us.

Know a win in the cup against Celtic doesn’t guarantee us the trophy. But would anyone here accept a bottom 6 place with quarter final victory over Celtic.

I'm confident of top 6 but would trade it for a Scottish cup final win

17-02-2019, 04:14 PM
Doncaster v palace.. £10 entry for adults £1 for kids.

You’d have to pay me to go to that game. Doncaster is possibly the worst place in the UK.

17-02-2019, 04:15 PM
You’d have to pay me to go to that game. Doncaster is possibly the worst place in the UK.

You've never been to Ardrossan have you?

17-02-2019, 04:17 PM
Yes Hibs have to start being a bit more astute in their pricing policy.

17-02-2019, 04:20 PM
Absolute nonsense.

17-02-2019, 04:26 PM
Yes Hibs have to start being a bit more astute in their pricing policy.

Newport took £30 a ticket from City fans yesterday. HC will know that he might have gone as his other lot weren't playing.
If a QF against Celtic at ER isn't Cat A then really, nothing is.

17-02-2019, 04:27 PM
Absolute nonsense.

True, it's nowhere near as bad as Kircaldy

17-02-2019, 04:29 PM

You've never been to Ardrossan have you?

Poor old Ardrossan.

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/the-13-unhappiest-places-to-live-in-britain-a7687486.html

17-02-2019, 04:30 PM
Too right it should. A home QF against any side should be a money maker for the club. Anything else would be a 'disaster'.

They'll be entitled to the entire South for the game as well.

Not massively significant but if traditional "supply and demand" principles apply and nearly all of our season ticket holders will be expected to be at this, there will be high demand for tickets.

I'm fine with Hibs charging high for games like this but I honestly think they could do a lot more at other times.

17-02-2019, 04:32 PM
Broadfoot sent off.

17-02-2019, 04:33 PM
Can't argue with that although Brown gets away with worse regularly.

17-02-2019, 04:33 PM
Definite red. It was a violent and dangerous "tackle".

17-02-2019, 04:34 PM
That looked like a red card.

ArmadaleHibs
17-02-2019, 04:34 PM
Browns an ers hole but it’s a defo red

17-02-2019, 04:36 PM
True, it's nowhere near as bad as Kircaldy
From someone who lives over there 😁

17-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Absolute nonsense.

I’ve worked there a lot and it’s an absolute hellhole. I’ve been many, many places in the UK, and Doncaster was by far the worst. Why would you say it’s nonsense?

17-02-2019, 04:42 PM
Home is where the heart is. :kettle:

17-02-2019, 04:45 PM
I’ve worked there a lot and it’s an absolute hellhole. I’ve been many, many places in the UK, and Doncaster was by far the worst. Why would you say it’s nonsense?
My wife's father had a brother who lived there, we spent a fair amount of time there over the years, never ever a 'hellhole' me thinks a bit of hyperbole used in your description.

David_D
17-02-2019, 04:49 PM
Brown scores in 90th minute then gets sent off for celebrating.

17-02-2019, 04:49 PM
West of Scotland fans invade pitch

17-02-2019, 04:50 PM
My wife's father had a brother who lived there, we spent a fair amount of time there over the years, never ever a 'hellhole' me thinks a bit of hyperbole used in your description.

Each to their own, but based on my experience it’s horrific.

With the possible exception of Gateshead?

Actually the area around the stadium is quite pleasant if slightly 'plastic'. There is a decent sized lake created from a former landfill site.

We stayed near there a couple of years back en route for the Portsmouth ferry port.

Players no the rules Andy, second yellow means off you go up the tunnel.

17-02-2019, 04:51 PM
Brown scores in 90th minute then gets sent off for celebrating.
Sickner

Shocking 2nd yellow for brown.... The balls burst. A winner in injury time and he got booked for leaving the field ?.....guys would get sent off weekly if that was consistently adhered too...

Wives and dogs running for cover all over Govan........

17-02-2019, 04:54 PM
Looks like Weah's begging to be sent off.

17-02-2019, 04:56 PM
What's the problem with timothy

17-02-2019, 04:57 PM
Did Celtc win the league today

Hows that?

With the possible exception of Gateshead?

Actually the area around the stadium is quite pleasant if slightly 'plastic'. There is a decent sized lake created from a former landfill site.

We stayed near there a couple of years back en route for the Portsmouth ferry port.

TBH I live on the Quayside and have barely ventured into Gateshead proper in the years I’ve been here, it is fairly rough though.

I’m more talking about the centre of Doncaster. I don’t doubt there are nicer areas in the vicinity.

17-02-2019, 04:59 PM
Did Celtc win the league today

It was a massive two extra points and tbh if it's a straight choice between them and the Rangers for the league, it's no contest

17-02-2019, 05:00 PM
My wee accumulator today is Palace, Swansea, Celtic, Napoli. Tenner on for 85 quid.

Bet Celtc let me down.

They nearly did, then Broony saved me. Just need Napoli to win later.

Mcpakeisgod
Hows that?

Was basicallly trying to go scrapping at the end of the game

Sioux
Shocking 2nd yellow for brown.... The balls burst. A winner in injury time and he got booked for leaving the field ?.....guys would get sent off weekly if that was consistently adhered too...

Him leaving the field encouraged fans to jump out from the stand. He was dancing with them. Fair cop.

dalkeith stu
17-02-2019, 05:03 PM

Classless wee prick!!!

Him leaving the field encouraged fans to jump out from the stand. He was dancing with them. Fair cop.

I know it’s the rules but he didn’t exactly jump in to the crowd. Was he meant to turn round and trot back to the half way line?

He gets away with murder most weeks challenging folk knee height so it’s a bit ironic that he actually gets sent off for something like that.

It was a massive two extra points and tbh if it's a straight choice between them and the Rangers for the league, it's no contest
Yip same old same old, Scottish football back to normal.🤔

17-02-2019, 05:07 PM
Maybe I’m being a bit controversial here, but, I am pleased to see Killie losing this match. Teams performances are built very much on confidence and as Killie are one of the teams we should be competing with, I am pleased to see them have a dent in their armour. A Celtic win or loss is neither here nor there so, if they can help our cause, that’ll do me. Enjoyed seeing Brown sent off by the way. :greengrin

17-02-2019, 05:19 PM
Newport took £30 a ticket from City fans yesterday. HC will know that he might have gone as his other lot weren't playing.
If a QF against Celtic at ER isn't Cat A then really, nothing is.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190217/efb912de722d8420b091a8c3b5b94c49.jpg

17-02-2019, 05:24 PM
Maybe I’m being a bit controversial here, but, I am pleased to see Killie losing this match. Teams performances are built very much on confidence and as Killie are one of the teams we should be competing with, I am pleased to see them have a dent in their armour. A Celtic win or loss is neither here nor there so, if they can help our cause, that’ll do me. Enjoyed seeing Brown sent off by the way. :greengrin
Kind of agree, but Killie park looks like a worn old carpet.

17-02-2019, 05:25 PM
Did Sir David Gray get booked that fine afternoon in 2016 ?

17-02-2019, 05:26 PM

Aye.

17-02-2019, 05:26 PM
Hows that?

Mouthing off at a Kilmarnock player at the end of the match which he got booked for and then continued for several minutes after that as well.

17-02-2019, 05:29 PM
Think the SFA may hand out punishments after that nonsense at the end of the game.

17-02-2019, 05:31 PM
Aye.

Did he ?.....haha ok....ill shutup....

17-02-2019, 05:39 PM
From someone who lives over there 😁

I'll have you know Mount Florida is a salubrious district of this urban metropolis.

17-02-2019, 05:39 PM

Yes he did, and IMO sets the bar for yellow cards.

Sir David of Gray scores the most incredible and important goal in decades for his club in Cup Final and gets booked for his celebration. Kilmarnock score the most ridiculous own goal in a routine league match and Scott Brown celebrates like he's won the Champions League final single handed.

17-02-2019, 05:55 PM
Yes he did, and IMO sets the bar for yellow cards.

Sir David of Gray scores the most incredible and important goal in decades for his club in Cup Final and gets booked for his celebration. Kilmarnock score the most ridiculous own goal in a routine league match and Scott Brown celebrates like he's won the Champions League final single handed.
Love him or loathe him that's what helped Brown have such a successful career. Approaching 34 years old and the desire is the same now as it was back in the day....

17-02-2019, 05:58 PM
Playing devil's advocate, should Brown really have been sent off?

It's usually only the goalscorer who gets punished for going into the crowd when celebrating a goal. Brown did not score today, it was an own goal as it wouldn't have gone in until it hit the Kilmarnock player's hand so why was he the only one booked (and subsequently sent off) when several other Celtic players joined him in going to the fans?

Does anyone know the answer?

17-02-2019, 06:01 PM
How ironic to be sent off for that when he should have been sent off against us for the tackle on MM. Could easily be sent off much more than he has and when it comes it's for running to the crowd. Still a great player though and wish he was playing for us and not them. Although if he was in a Hibs shirt he would likely be suspended as much as he would play!!

17-02-2019, 06:05 PM

How many times have we seen the huns doing that of kate? (With no consequences obviously)

17-02-2019, 06:33 PM
See Kris Boyd was struck by a coin while warming up in front of the Celtc fans.

17-02-2019, 06:37 PM

So was Neil Lennon at Tynecastle , What was the outcome of the thug ?

17-02-2019, 06:55 PM
Was basicallly trying to go scrapping at the end of the game

I turned it over just after final whistle so missed that. Thanks for explaining.

17-02-2019, 06:56 PM
Playing devil's advocate, should Brown really have been sent off?

It's usually only the goalscorer who gets punished for going into the crowd when celebrating a goal. Brown did not score today, it was an own goal as it wouldn't have gone in until it hit the Kilmarnock player's hand so why was he the only one booked (and subsequently sent off) when several other Celtic players joined him in going to the fans?

Does anyone know the answer?

The offence is leaving the pitch.

17-02-2019, 06:58 PM
Mouthing off at a Kilmarnock player at the end of the match which he got booked for and then continued for several minutes after that as well.

Strange reaction when you’ve just won the game with a late goal.

17-02-2019, 07:24 PM
Celtic fans have burst a lot of seats. Found these pictures in the Daily Record.

Expect more of the same when they come to Easter road.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190217/0215b1e3649145938ba6cf2bcfc5df52.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190217/290773162e738aa98dc29b0be9e28468.jpg

17-02-2019, 07:29 PM
The offence is leaving the pitch.

Then why weren't the other Celtic players who also left the pitch, punished?

17-02-2019, 07:32 PM
PSG 0-0 at St Etienne, Mbappes skill is quite outrageous, not sure where he gets his burst of speed from either. He's incredible.

17-02-2019, 07:33 PM
Then why weren't the other Celtic players who also left the pitch, punished?

It’s only the 1st player who goes off that gets booked, the others don’t

17-02-2019, 07:51 PM
PSG 0-0 at St Etienne, Mbappes skill is quite outrageous, not sure where he gets his burst of speed from either. He's incredible.

Just switched this on, going to watch the 2nd half.

17-02-2019, 07:53 PM

Is that actually a rule or have you just made it up? There’s no real sense to it. If you look at the film again Brown was actually grabbed by his team mates and effectively swept over the advertising hoardings towards the crowd. I’m not sure what he could have done to avoid it.

17-02-2019, 07:54 PM

Apparently Celtic fans ran on from the main stand and confronted a couple of Killy players after the goal. They were escorted from the pitch, not sure if they were arrested though.

17-02-2019, 08:01 PM

Where have you seen this rule? I've genuinely never heard of that before.

This is the FIFA ruling on goal celebrations, there's no mention of it only being the first player who leaves the pitch who is booked;

Celebration of a goal
Players can celebrate when a goal is scored, but the celebration must not be
excessive; choreographed celebrations are not encouraged and must not cause
excessive time-wasting.
Leaving the field of play to celebrate a goal is not a cautionable offence but
players should return as soon as possible.

A player must be cautioned for:
• climbing onto a perimeter fence and/or approaching the spectators in
a manner which causes safety and/or security issues
• gesturing or acting in a provocative, derisory or inflammatory way
• covering the head or face with a mask or other similar item
• removing the shirt or covering the head with the shirt

17-02-2019, 08:04 PM
Where have you seen this rule? I've genuinely never heard of that before.

This is the FIFA ruling on goal celebrations, there's no mention of it only being the first player who leaves the pitch who is booked;

Celebration of a goal
Players can celebrate when a goal is scored, but the celebration must not be
excessive; choreographed celebrations are not encouraged and must not cause
excessive time-wasting.
Leaving the field of play to celebrate a goal is not a cautionable offence but
players should return as soon as possible.

A player must be cautioned for:
• climbing onto a perimeter fence and/or approaching the spectators in
a manner which causes safety and/or security issues
• gesturing or acting in a provocative, derisory or inflammatory way
• covering the head or face with a mask or other similar item
• removing the shirt or covering the head with the shirt

Point number 1 is what he got his caution for.

17-02-2019, 08:07 PM
Did he ?.....haha ok....ill shutup....

He mentioned it on the cup final DVD mate.

Steven McLean apologised to him.

17-02-2019, 08:10 PM

What's the problem with timothy

Im fairly sure he was having words with the Killie goalie who had barged into him whilst trying to get the ball after Weah had hit the post. Quite right too. Absolutely no need as he was nowhere near the ball or even remotely trying to obstruct him.
Might be because he’s Austrian? :greengrin Ok Too far.

17-02-2019, 08:28 PM
Barely any PSG fans at the game, you'd think they'd have a massive support following them, lucky if there is 100 of them there.

17-02-2019, 08:30 PM
Is that actually a rule or have you just made it up? There’s no real sense to it. If you look at the film again Brown was actually grabbed by his team mates and effectively swept over the advertising hoardings towards the crowd. I’m not sure what he could have done to avoid it.

I don’t make up things on here, that’s the rule, only the 1st player who goes over and causes problems gets a booking, as they are seen as being the instigator

17-02-2019, 08:32 PM
I don’t make up things on here, that’s the rule, only the 1st player who goes over and causes problems gets a booking, as they are seen as being the instigator

You're right Billy, you never see any other player other than the goalscorer getting booked even if the whole team leave the pitch.

17-02-2019, 08:37 PM
0-1 PSG, Mbappe scores an outrageous volley.

17-02-2019, 08:39 PM

Where is this rule mentioned though?

It's not in Fifa's laws of the game. I'm not sure if individual associations have the power to set their own rules on this. Is it in the SFA's rulebook.

I'm genuinely interested in finding out more about this as it's the first time I've heard this mentioned.

17-02-2019, 08:43 PM
Where is this rule mentioned though?

It's not in Fifa's laws of the game. I'm not sure if individual associations have the power to set their own rules on this. Is it in the SFA's rulebook.

I'm genuinely interested in finding out more about this as it's the first time I've heard this mentioned.
No idea, but it’s the rule

17-02-2019, 08:57 PM

I've just quoted the FIFA rules on goal celebrations and that isn't mentioned.

I agree that it may be the generally accepted interpretation of the rule by referees but it doesn't make it the actual written rule.

17-02-2019, 09:01 PM
I've just quoted the FIFA rules on goal celebrations and that isn't mentioned.

I agree that it may be the generally accepted interpretation of the rule by referees but it doesn't make it the actual written rule.

Could it be a rule specific to Scottish Football much like the rule the Spanish FA have that any handball is an automatic yellow card no matter if its deliberate or not.

17-02-2019, 09:32 PM
Barely any PSG fans at the game, you'd think they'd have a massive support following them, lucky if there is 100 of them there.You generally don't get much travelling support in France, probably due to the distances involved.

Paris - St Étienne is about a 600 mile round trip which is a bit complicated on a Sunday night.

17-02-2019, 09:35 PM
You generally don't get much travelling support in France, probably due to the distances involved.

Paris - St Étienne is about a 600 mile round trip which is a bit complicated on a Sunday night.

I was assuming they'd have a massive following throughout France, a bit like Man U in England or the OF up here.

17-02-2019, 10:06 PM
I was assuming they'd have a massive following throughout France, a bit like Man U in England or the OF up here.They probably do, but they seem to prefer watching on the TV.

17-02-2019, 10:24 PM

You can’t just say that or you stand accused of making things up. SDG quoted the rule from the laws of the game. Your bit appears nowhere. If it’s the rule as you claim, where is your evidence?

17-02-2019, 10:29 PM
I was assuming they'd have a massive following throughout France, a bit like Man U in England or the OF up here.

They are a manufactured club and have no real history. They’re nothing like Man U.

17-02-2019, 10:31 PM

It is the rule but not a written rule, 1st player over the line gets the booking for probably that he incites he team mate to follow him, players know the rule, celebrate with the fans and you get booked, the others are deemed to go straight back on to the pitch.

17-02-2019, 10:39 PM
You're right Billy, you never see any other player other than the goalscorer getting booked even if the whole team leave the pitch.

Have only ever seen more than the goal scorer get booked on one occasion, obviously it was us [emoji849] Griffiths scored away at St Mirren a few seasons ago and jumped the boards towards us. Doyle joined him and also got booked. Ridiculous as it’s basically an unwritten rule that it’s only the goal scorer that gets booked

17-02-2019, 10:54 PM
Forestieri was sent off for Sheff Wed when they equalised on Saturday, didn't score but picked up another booking when celebrating. Can happen, think you tend to need to go way overboard though.

17-02-2019, 11:10 PM
They are a manufactured club and have no real history. They’re nothing like Man U.

Correct. When were they formed 1970 or something?

Both Manchester United and the OF had almost a century of history and generations of support under their belts by then

17-02-2019, 11:21 PM
Correct. When were they formed 1970 or something?

Both Manchester United and the OF had almost a century of history and generations of support under their belts by then

Merged teams

18-02-2019, 07:53 AM
Napoli screwed me over last night. 0-0 draw scunnered my bet. :rolleyes: