View Full Version : Quarter final draw - Hibs v Celtic

09-02-2019, 03:52 PM
Monday after the Highland derby.

Who do we want then? I'll take Auchinleck at home. Failing that, Partick.

09-02-2019, 03:57 PM
Partick, Dundee United or the winner of Inverness ross county at home

09-02-2019, 03:57 PM
Partick.

09-02-2019, 03:59 PM
Patrick.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/3/33/Patrick_Star.svg/220px-Patrick_Star.svg.png

09-02-2019, 04:02 PM
Partick or Auchinlech at home please.

09-02-2019, 04:09 PM
Partick. Home or away. Partick away is a great day out.

09-02-2019, 04:15 PM

Yes fancy Partick at Firhill

Bangkok Hibby
09-02-2019, 04:17 PM
I havent been to Firhill since the mid seventies. Clearly remember spending the whole game fending off suicide wasps 😒 🐝🐝🐝
Hope its different now?

Here’s Lucy!
09-02-2019, 04:19 PM
I'd take Auchinleck or Hearts at Easter Road.

One of them we'd beat easily, the other we would just beat.

You work out which is which! :greengrin:greengrin

09-02-2019, 04:20 PM
killie or dundee utd at home, games we can win and reasonable away supports to keep the club treasurer happyish

supershotmo
09-02-2019, 04:26 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;5704032]killie or dundee utd at home, games we can win and reasonable away supports to keep the club treasurer happyish[/QUOTe

Keep away from the heated balls we should be fine.

09-02-2019, 04:27 PM

It is for me, half an hour away on the bus

09-02-2019, 04:41 PM
Partick at home would be nice and easy

09-02-2019, 04:52 PM

It's my favourite away game.Glasgow without all the sectarian rubbish.

09-02-2019, 04:53 PM
I'd take Auchinleck or Hearts at Easter Road.

One of them we'd beat easily, the other we would just beat.

You work out which is which! :greengrin:greengrin

Nah Them at Parkhead next round, Killie v Sheep.

09-02-2019, 04:56 PM
I havent been to Firhill since the mid seventies. Clearly remember spending the whole game fending off suicide wasps 😒 🐝🐝🐝
Hope its different now?

A lot different now, you normally dodge bullets :greengrin

09-02-2019, 06:25 PM
A home draw dont care who against.

09-02-2019, 06:26 PM
I'd take Partick Thistle, Dundee Utd or Inverness/Ross County at home.

I'd rather avoid Sevco/Kilmarnock, Celtic/St Johnstone, Aberdeen or Hearts.

If there's a shock in the Aberdeen or Hearts games, I'd take Queen of the South or Auchinleck Talbot.

09-02-2019, 06:29 PM
Celtic at home. Great occasion, big gate and someone has to knock them out. US :wink:

09-02-2019, 06:47 PM
It's written in the stars :flag::flag::flag:

4th Round League 2 Elgin
5th Round League 1 Raith Rovers
Quarter Final Lower Championship Team (Partick Thistle)
Semi Final Better Championship Team (Dundee United)
Final The once mighty The Glasgow Rangers

09-02-2019, 07:00 PM
I always want the easiest team at home but I think a good away day to Tannadice would be a great cup tie.

09-02-2019, 07:04 PM
I always want the easiest team at home but I think a good away day to Tannadice would be a great cup tie.

Added to the fact it will be a money spinner should we draw!

09-02-2019, 07:06 PM
Not counting chickens, but I’ll be in Edinburgh with the kids over the Semi Final weekend. So weakest team left in the draw at home please.

09-02-2019, 07:07 PM
Not counting chickens, but I’ll be in Edinburgh with the kids over the Semi Final weekend. So weakest team left in the draw at home please.

What dates are the semis ?

09-02-2019, 07:07 PM
I've thought for a while we'll play Killie in the semis.

bodhibs
09-02-2019, 07:08 PM
Yams at tiny

09-02-2019, 07:09 PM
It'll be Hearts at Tynecastle. It's so obvious.

09-02-2019, 07:47 PM
What dates are the semis ?

There you go Andy. The normal mid April weekend,

Preliminary Round One - Saturday, 11 August 2018
Preliminary Round Two – Saturday, 1 September 2018
First Round – Saturday, 22 September 2018
Second Round – Saturday, 20 October 2018
Third Round – Saturday, 24 November 2018
Fourth Round – Saturday, 19 January 2019
Fifth Round – Saturday, 9 February 2019
Sixth Round – Saturday, 2 March 2019
Semi-Finals – Saturday, 13 April and Sunday, 14 April 2019
Final – Saturday, 25 May 2019

09-02-2019, 07:49 PM
Ouch the final is 3 days before payday 😭

09-02-2019, 07:51 PM

Keep your winnings from Appleton getting the job to one side and problem solved 😉

09-02-2019, 07:52 PM
Keep your winnings from Appleton getting the job to one side and problem solved 😉

Aye, if he gets the job. I’ll ask stantonsboots for a sub regardless 😘

Gloucester Hibs
09-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Hearts at home please

09-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Aye, if he gets the job. I’ll ask stantonsboots for a sub regardless 😘

Get yourself a pay day loan man. Only about 2000% APR.

09-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Get yourself a pay day loan man. Only about 2000% APR.

I think I’ll pass on that one thanks 👍

09-02-2019, 09:08 PM
It's written in the stars :flag::flag::flag:

4th Round League 2 Elgin
5th Round League 1 Raith Rovers
Quarter Final Lower Championship Team (Partick Thistle)
Semi Final Better Championship Team (Dundee United)
Final The once mighty The Glasgow Rangers

Inverness rather than Partick surely?

09-02-2019, 09:12 PM
Best draw:
Hibs v Partick
Ross County v Dundee Utd
Celtic v Hearts
Aberdeen v Rangers

Likely draw:
Celtic v Hibs
Hearts v Partick
Rangers v Ross County
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd

09-02-2019, 09:32 PM
Auchinlech at the Leith San Siro.

09-02-2019, 10:10 PM

Byers road for a nice lunch. No abuse from home fans. Old wooden stand. Can't beat it.

09-02-2019, 10:12 PM
St Johnstone v killie
Hibs v Auchinleck talbot
Qots v Dundee united
Ross County v Partick thistle

Killie v Dundee utd
Hibs v partick

Hibs v Dundee utd.

09-02-2019, 10:28 PM
We will get the huns at Ibrox.

09-02-2019, 10:33 PM
We will get the huns at Ibrox.

Mini Huns at the PBS.

09-02-2019, 10:36 PM
If we get hearts at tynecastle will that be the 4th year in a row we have played them there in the cup?

09-02-2019, 10:47 PM

Save the money from your previous pay day, you'll be fine.

09-02-2019, 11:04 PM
Inverness away.

10-02-2019, 05:50 AM
Hopefully an away draw to avoid all the bickering about ticket price and crowd size. 😂

10-02-2019, 08:39 AM
If we get hearts at tynecastle will that be the 4th year in a row we have played them there in the cup?

I believe so

10-02-2019, 09:20 AM
Looking at the date of the Final I see it’s the same day as the Rugby Guinness Pro14 rugby final at Celtic Park.

So we’ll have 60,000 at Celtic Park and 52,000 at Hampden Park less than 3 miles away.

Need to get the pubs and clubs booked up now!

10-02-2019, 11:00 AM
I can see us being drawn against Dundee Utd.....

davhibby
10-02-2019, 11:03 AM
Partick or Dundee United are by far the best as both of them have to 100% concentrate on the league so not only would be up against a championship team but probably a weakened one

10-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Hopefully an away draw to avoid all the bickering about ticket price and crowd size. ��

We'll be able to bicker about ticket allocation and loyalty points instead :devil:

10-02-2019, 12:16 PM
Looking at the date of the Final I see it’s the same day as the Rugby Guinness Pro14 rugby final at Celtic Park.

So we’ll have 60,000 at Celtic Park and 52,000 at Hampden Park less than 3 miles away.

The usual SFA planning then.

10-02-2019, 12:16 PM

Great planning again

10-02-2019, 12:25 PM

Is the Scottish Cup final not always on the same Saturday?

10-02-2019, 12:28 PM
Is the Scottish Cup final not always on the same Saturday?

It can’t be considering we won it on the 21st and this years is on 25th. Could have had it the 18th giving the Scotland players two weeks rest before a qualifier. Last year it was on the 19th.

10-02-2019, 12:37 PM

That's total madness.

10-02-2019, 12:37 PM

Great planning again

I'm all for an SFA slagging but on this occasion it's not deserved.

The Scottish Cup final is always played the Saturday after the last weekend of the league season in May. It is always played in Glasgow and it always kicks off at 3pm.

The rugby match is the one that has different venues each year and if anything it's the planning of the Pro 14 that should be questioned when they are hosting a match on the same day, in the same city as an established event like the Scottish Cup final.

Weegreenman
10-02-2019, 12:42 PM
A home draw against anyone but Celtic :cb

10-02-2019, 01:28 PM
I'm all for an SFA slagging but on this occasion it's not deserved.

The Scottish Cup final is always played the Saturday after the last weekend of the league season in May. It is always played in Glasgow and it always kicks off at 3pm.

The rugby match is the one that has different venues each year and if anything it's the planning of the Pro 14 that should be questioned when they are hosting a match on the same day, in the same city as an established event like the Scottish Cup final.
Rugby should be cancelled. It’s alota p@sh anyway.

10-02-2019, 01:33 PM
Partick or Dundee United are by far the best as both of them have to 100% concentrate on the league so not only would be up against a championship team but probably a weakened one

There's no way either would play a weakened team. Chance to progress to a luctrative semi final.

10-02-2019, 01:56 PM
If I’m reading this correctly, all 6th round/Quarter Final ties will be live on TV, so not going to be a 3pm on a Saturday KO

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-announce-scottish-cup-broadcasting-deals/

10-02-2019, 02:22 PM
If I’m reading this correctly, all 6th round/Quarter Final ties will be live on TV, so not going to be a 3pm on a Saturday KO

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-announce-scottish-cup-broadcasting-deals/

Looks like it. So maybe 1 on Saturday lunchtime, 2 on Sunday and the other on either Friday or Monday night. Pish.

10-02-2019, 02:26 PM
Looks like it. So maybe 1 on Saturday lunchtime, 2 on Sunday and the other on either Friday or Monday night. Pish.

They’ve had a 5.15 game on the Saturday in both rounds so far so would keep that I’d think.

Two on the Saturday, two on the Sunday perhaps.

10-02-2019, 02:33 PM
They’ve had a 5.15 game on the Saturday in both rounds so far so would keep that I’d think.

Two on the Saturday, two on the Sunday perhaps.

Premier will take whoever Celtic play, and Rangers if they overcome Killie

10-02-2019, 02:55 PM
You’re all deluded if you think we’re getting through a season without being drawn away to hearts in the cup

10-02-2019, 03:43 PM
Celtic at home. Great occasion, big gate and someone has to knock them out. US :wink:

:flag:If we are to win it we will probably need to beat them and if fancy our chances more at ER than Hampden against them tbh

10-02-2019, 04:06 PM
the SFA have e-mailed Sevco assuring them of a home draw should they get past killie

Seaquest
10-02-2019, 04:15 PM
Happy with a home draw.

tynehibs
10-02-2019, 04:22 PM
Predict
Plastic whistle v pinkies
Hibs v ross/ ict
Satans11v arabs
Dons V tic

10-02-2019, 05:55 PM
Happy with a home draw.

Absolutely. A home draw against anyone and we can win.

Now watch us get Celtic away :whistle:

10-02-2019, 09:34 PM
I'd be happy if we can avoid Celtic and Aberdeen away, not sure what our exact stats are up at Pittordie but we never seem to get a result up there!!

10-02-2019, 09:38 PM
I'd be happy if we can avoid Celtic and Aberdeen away, not sure what our exact stats are up at Pittordie but we never seem to get a result up there!!

Our record at Pittodrie over the last 10 years must be as bad if not worse than our record at Parkhead.

CathroMustStay
10-02-2019, 10:27 PM
Partick at ER would be ideal.

11-02-2019, 01:04 AM
I’m guessing Ross County or Inverness at ER.

11-02-2019, 05:42 AM
That's total madness.

The rugby will probably be a late afternoon kick off but still mental.

Imagine if it’s Rangers v Celtic and Leinster v Ulster.

11-02-2019, 07:29 AM
Woke up this morning with a gut feeling we will get rangers at ibrox. How many tickets would we be entitled too if it happened?

11-02-2019, 07:36 AM
Woke up this morning with a gut feeling we will get rangers at ibrox. How many tickets would we be entitled too if it happened?

We'd get the whole of whatever that stand is, right? Like when we've played them before in the cup.

Crazyhorse
11-02-2019, 08:08 AM
The rugby will probably be a late afternoon kick off but still mental.

Imagine if it’s Rangers v Celtic and Leinster v Ulster.

Not sure I follow your point. The the Rangers fans I know hate Ulster more than Leinster. An all-Ireland sport with cross community support doesn’t fit with the loyalist mindset at all. It doesn’t provide a space for screaming sectarian abuse.

11-02-2019, 08:33 AM
Not sure I follow your point. The the Rangers fans I know hate Ulster more than Leinster. An all-Ireland sport with cross community support doesn’t fit with the loyalist mindset at all. It doesn’t provide a space for screaming sectarian abuse.

Do they? I thought they all had the same beliefs - it’s not all Ireland when a team from the North play a team from the South.

11-02-2019, 08:54 AM
the SFA have e-mailed Sevco assuring them of a home draw should they get past killie

and also assured them they will get past Killie :greengrin

11-02-2019, 08:56 AM

dont think that is the case.

11-02-2019, 08:59 AM

If they get through...

The whole Broomloan end which we would never sell.

11-02-2019, 09:23 AM

Entitled to 20%, which are Scottish Cup rules

Crazyhorse
11-02-2019, 09:24 AM
Do they? I thought they all had the same beliefs - it’s not all Ireland when a team from the North play a team from the South.

I think you are confused about rugby in Ulster/Ireland and loyalism in Northern Ireland.

Crazyhorse
11-02-2019, 09:32 AM
dont think that is the case.

In my experience and looking at attitudinal research on this Ulster rugby and Irish rugby is despised by Northern Irish Loyalists. It undermines their identity based on Northern Irish exclusiveness.
Maybe you are confusing their appropriation of ‘Ulster’ to describe the 6 county statelet in the north of Ireland with a support for Ulster rugby?

green with envy
11-02-2019, 09:34 AM
If they get through...

Don't think we would as we never got all of that end when we beat them 3-0 a few years ago.

11-02-2019, 11:51 AM
I think you are confused about rugby in Ulster/Ireland and loyalism in Northern Ireland.

Maybe although when I watched the BT sport documentary on it recently what you’re saying didn’t come across.

11-02-2019, 11:54 AM
If they get through...

If we can get a few wins on the board come cup day I reckon we would sell the whole thing.

I've seen us win there and therefore have no reason to go back, but if there's going to be a sizeable amount of us I would defo try and get a ticket.

11-02-2019, 12:09 PM
Don't think we would as we never got all of that end when we beat them 3-0 a few years ago.

I think you'll find we did … I was there and that end was all Hibs. I don't know if we sold all the 7000 tickets, but if we didn't it was only a few hundred short.

I think if we drew them away we would have a very good chance of selling out our allocation …. 7000 tickets gives you far more safety in numbers than having 900 does and a lot of folk who don't usually bother trying for Ibrox tickets would go … I can guarantee that I know at least 5 folk who don't usually bother who would sign up, including me.

11-02-2019, 12:11 PM

There is no team from the North though. Ulster is formed from counties both sides of the border that is why yer loyalists will have nothing to do with them. Rugby types ken. :aok:

11-02-2019, 12:41 PM
There is no team from the North though. Ulster is formed from counties both sides of the border that is why yer loyalists will have nothing to do with them. Rugby types ken. :aok:

I had no idea that Ulster had 3 Southern Irish counties in it! They’re still the proddy’s though eh?

11-02-2019, 01:13 PM
After beating Raith, a 1/4 final against ICT, followed by a semi against Dundee United & a final versus Sevco has a certain ring to it!!

11-02-2019, 01:26 PM
After beating Raith, a 1/4 final against ICT, followed by a semi against Dundee United & a final versus Sevco has a certain ring to it!!

I like what you're thinking, but I'd like to beat the Hertz in the final (or even the semi) to make up for previous days best forgotten. However, the prospect of losing (again) means I'd probably rather not..

JXM73
11-02-2019, 01:42 PM
Hopin for

Rangers v celtic
Hearts v aberdeen
Hibs v any of the rest...

Celtic away more likely...

11-02-2019, 01:45 PM
Hopin for

Rangers v celtic
Hearts v aberdeen
Hibs v any of the rest...

Celtic away more likely...
I hope its Killie vs Celtic......

11-02-2019, 01:48 PM
Killie/Rangers v Celtic
Aberdeen v Hearts
Partick v Dundee United
Hibs v Ross County/Inverness

Hibs v Dundee United
Aberdeen v Celtic

Hibs v Aberdeen 2019 Scottish Cup Final 😆

11-02-2019, 01:52 PM
Killie/Rangers v Celtic
Aberdeen v Hearts
Partick v Dundee United
Hibs v Ross County/Inverness

Hibs v Dundee United
Aberdeen v Celtic

Hibs v Aberdeen 2019 Scottish Cup Final 😆

Aberdeen score in the first half and McInnes immediately puts on three centre backs. They then go down for 3/4 minutes every time there's a foul. Shinnie stays on the pitch despite literally breaking Gauld's leg.

Nah, not for me. Would prefer Rangers or Kilmarnock.

TelaStella
11-02-2019, 04:44 PM
Who do I want? Partick, who will it be? Hearts.

11-02-2019, 04:44 PM
Who do I want? Partick, who will it be? Hearts.

Take Hearts at ER no problem

11-02-2019, 04:45 PM
Take Hearts at ER no problem

Agreed. Any home draw will do - would prefer to avoid Celtic. But will take them on at home if we must

11-02-2019, 04:47 PM
Is this taking place on BBC after the game I presume?

11-02-2019, 04:47 PM
Is this taking place on BBC after the game I presume?

Yeah
Game is on BBC 2 I believe

11-02-2019, 06:01 PM
I've had a premonition that we're playing Hearts at home.

Sadly, we're not allowed to reduce their ticket allocation.

11-02-2019, 06:28 PM
I'll take any team home or away, the new manager has something to prove. Could be an instant hero.

11-02-2019, 06:37 PM
I've had a premonition that we're playing Hearts at home.

Sadly, we're not allowed to reduce their ticket allocation.

We don't do that for derbies anyway

11-02-2019, 06:45 PM
It'll be Hearts away obv. - ITK :wink:

11-02-2019, 06:57 PM
Personally, I wouldn’t mind if we get a ‘challenging’ draw. It’ll give our new manager a chance for an early shot across the bows against better opposition. If it’s an ‘easier’ tie, fine.

11-02-2019, 07:03 PM
Hertz Tynie or pump Dundee Utd in a money spinning replay.

11-02-2019, 08:10 PM
Numbers to look out for
1 Aberdeen
2 Celtic
3 Dundee United
4 Hearts
5 Hibs
6 Killie/The Rangers
7 Partick Thistle
8 Ross County/ICT

11-02-2019, 08:11 PM
Hurry up!

11-02-2019, 08:11 PM
I’m in London and needing Hibs net for updates.

11-02-2019, 08:13 PM
I’m in London and needing Hibs net for updates.

What is it closed for business🤣

11-02-2019, 08:15 PM
Why do I get so nervous over these things?!!

11-02-2019, 08:15 PM
I'm going for us away to Dundee United.

11-02-2019, 08:16 PM
Aberdeen v Killie/Rangers

11-02-2019, 08:16 PM
Aberdeen v Kilmarnock or Sevco

11-02-2019, 08:17 PM
Dundee Utd v Ross county or ICT

Dundee Utd v Ross County or Inverness

Partick v Hearts

Partick Thistle V Hearts

Oh well

That's out then. Fantastic.

Hibs v Celtic

Why do I get so nervous over these things?!!

You’re not the only one.

Hibs v Celtic

Ah well.

Callum7
Aberdeen V Kilmarnock/Rangers
Dundee United V Ross County/Inverness Caledonian Thistle
Partick Thistle V Heart Of Midlothian
Hibernian V Celtic

11-02-2019, 08:18 PM
Baws

How? We’ve already beaten them at Easter Road this season

Home to celtic.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

3 top teams left and partick, and the grunts get them :rolleyes: **** off

Will say it now if we are going to get Celtic I’d rather them at this stage and at home

Home to Celtic. Nae pressure Appleton!!

2nd worst draw we could get but let’s go for it

11-02-2019, 08:19 PM
Hertz jammy gits

Brilliant. Big crowd, big occasion. We can beat them. Bring it on.

Might manage to get more than 9000 at this game at least.

11-02-2019, 08:20 PM
Celtic at ER

So what stupid time will Premier Sports pick for our match?

When was the last defeat at home to Celtic?

Hulk1875
11-02-2019, 08:21 PM
Weather it was semi or the final more than likely have to play Celtic. So may aswell play them quarter final at home that’s out best chance

11-02-2019, 08:21 PM
If we are going to win the Cup looking at Celtics record we will have to beat them.

Much greater chance of emulating our previous result against them and beating them at Easter Road than at the Seminor Final at Hampden.

Bring them on! Somebody’s got to beat them in a Cup!

11-02-2019, 08:22 PM
Hertz jammy gits

Lucky bassas, after getting Auchinleck
You never know, away from tiny Tiny

11-02-2019, 08:22 PM
Chances are we would need to beat Celtic to win it again, more chance at Easter Road in March than at Hampden in May!

11-02-2019, 08:23 PM
New gaffer with a new approach for us?Could get us the result we crave.

nickwhibs
11-02-2019, 08:23 PM
V tough draw. But would rather have Celtic at home than the rangers or even Aberdeen away tbh

banchoryhibs
11-02-2019, 08:24 PM
If we beat them again there is a fair chance that the other ugly sister will be out too........

11-02-2019, 08:24 PM
Decent draw from point of view of having best chance to win it. If we could beat Celtic (very difficult, but best chance is at home) then the semis will be wide open (at least one Championship team, along with probably Hearts & sevco).

11-02-2019, 08:25 PM
Haven't lost to them for 5 years at home, pathetic reaction from some.

More than 7k home fans for this one hopefully.

11-02-2019, 08:25 PM
Beat Celtic last time at ER, they have a lot of games on top of the Premiership fixtures
I think we’d all agree, better to get them at home than away/Hampden

11-02-2019, 08:26 PM
We weren’t going to win the Cup without taking Celtc out at some stage. This was our last chance to get them at ER, which I’d prefer to Hampden, and it’s come up. Bring it.

I'm looking on the bride side, as I predicted Celtic away! We've beaten them at home already, so we've a chance. It's a long shot of course, but not impossible.

Bring them on. Where’s Lenny when you need him 😆

Real dirty feeling that hearts are going to make the final this year.

Nevi_SOL
Wonder if Scott Allan was jumping around his living room buzzing at getting a home tie

11-02-2019, 08:27 PM
Will say it now if we are going to get Celtic I’d rather them at this stage and at home

Exactly

So what stupid time will Premier Sports pick for our match?

4.45 on the Saturday or 1.30 on the Sunday according to their scheduling.

I’d genuinely have preferred to play them away for the day out and 4-5K Hibs fans at the game. Home tie does give us a better chance, slim though it is.

i've already worked out one of the SF draws

heartz v the winners of Ross co/Caley v Dundee utd

11-02-2019, 08:28 PM
Will say it now if we are going to get Celtic I’d rather them at this stage and at homeJust said The same mate...Rather have them at ER than Hampden in a semi or final...best chance of beating them and u need to beat them these days to win a cup

I think you'll find we did … I was there and that end was all Hibs. I don't know if we sold all the 7000 tickets, but if we didn't it was only a few hundred short.

I think if we drew them away we would have a very good chance of selling out our allocation …. 7000 tickets gives you far more safety in numbers than having 900 does and a lot of folk who don't usually bother trying for Ibrox tickets would go … I can guarantee that I know at least 5 folk who don't usually bother who would sign up, including me.

We didn’t have the full end

Maybe, but if so we’ll stop them winning the thing.

11-02-2019, 08:29 PM
What's the full draw?

Islington Hibs
11-02-2019, 08:29 PM
worst draw? But really prefer to mee tthem at home in the quarters than later on. If we are going to win it we need to beat them some time....so perfectly happy with it and also a decent pay day to boot.

Heckys Wheel
11-02-2019, 08:30 PM
When do the TV games get chosen and dates confirmed?

I’d genuinely have preferred to play them away for the day out and 4-5K Hibs fans at the game. Home tie does give us a better chance, slim though it is.

if we're going to go out i'd rather we get plenty dosh for it, but we can only say that AFTER the event :)

Say we beat celtic.. Semi final will be guaranteed against them.. So will it be played at hampden or Tiny ??

scooby
Happy we've got them at home, but would have preferred an easier tie.

11-02-2019, 08:31 PM
I’d genuinely have preferred to play them away for the day out and 4-5K Hibs fans at the game. Home tie does give us a better chance, slim though it is.Why on earth would u prefer that?? They are formidable at home...no chance. At least at ER we have a fighting chance

Relax. When has Appleton ever let us down?

Yup.

Say we beat celtic.. Semi final will be guaranteed against them.. So will it be played at hampden or Tiny ??

Against who, Hearts? And you think it would be at Tiny??

Lol

11-02-2019, 08:32 PM
What's the full draw?

Aberdeen v Rangers/Kilmarnock
Partick Thistle v Hearts
Hibs v Celtic
Dundee Utd v Inverness/Ross County

11-02-2019, 08:33 PM
Any info on the time and dates put in place for TV rights?

We've only beaten them twice in the cup, 1986 and....1902 :wink:

Also beat them another time in 1894 but the match was declared void and Celtic won the replay, anyone know the story behind this?

Aberdeen v Rangers/Kilmarnock
Partick Thistle v Hearts
Hibs v Celtic
Dundee Utd v Inverness/Ross County

Cheers mate. Let's enjoy it; it's no formality for Celtic :flag:

11-02-2019, 08:35 PM
Do premier get the two first picks? Ie presumably our game and Aberdeen game

11-02-2019, 08:35 PM

Nice one.

11-02-2019, 08:36 PM
If we beat Celtic we will win the cup. I fancy us more here than I would've if we had drawn rangers, hearts or Aberdeen at home. Just think we have the beating of Celtic at Easter road for some reason.

11-02-2019, 08:36 PM

Also beat them another time in 1894 but the match was declared void and Celtic won the replay, anyone know the story behind this?

I believe the pitch was frozen but they decided to play a friendly anyway, we won the friendly 2-0.

11-02-2019, 08:38 PM
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Hibs v Hearts

Semi final draw.

11-02-2019, 08:38 PM
When do the TV games get chosen and dates confirmed?

Their already chosen. Part of the Premier sports deal is that they get to show the Rangers/Celtic games so our game will be on Premier Sports.

GRA
11-02-2019, 08:39 PM
Always seem to choke against Celtic in the Scottish Cup... think have lost 19 of the last 20 games against them in the competition... but at least it's a home tie... someone's got to stop their cup streak!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

11-02-2019, 08:39 PM

That stat has made me feel even better. It can’t go on forever. We are winning this.

11-02-2019, 08:40 PM
Bring it on, beat them in December at ER. They have 2 big Europa games, well as League games before we play them
Rather have them at home than Hampden
We just need to build momentum before then

Good draw. A challenging game at home and not insurmountable. Rather them at home than in a final at Hampden. The Jambos will blow it away from home at Patrick (tough **** :greengrin) and Sevco(probably) or Aberdeen out. Nice wee platform for our new manager. :hibees

CathroMustStay

Absolutely.

No fear!

We do have the 'nae pressure' factor on our side. Our form is poor; Celtic are hitting form again. Nobody expects us to win, so approach the game as we did the league match at ER and take the game to them.

11-02-2019, 08:41 PM
Have to beat them at some point. Might as well be this round.

11-02-2019, 08:42 PM
Bollox ☹️

11-02-2019, 08:42 PM
Hibs v Celtic or Aberdeen v Killie/Rangers will be 1st picks for Premier Sports
Wouldn’t surprise me if we are the 5.15pm KO on the Saturday

11-02-2019, 08:43 PM
Celtic at Darkheid we are out!

Celtic at Easter Road we have a chance

A fighting chance

Cmon HIBS

I wonder what the crowd will be :greengrin

Hopefully they keep it Saturday 3.00pm Kick off

11-02-2019, 08:43 PM

Would be happy with that

11-02-2019, 08:44 PM
We can put an end to the treble treble.

11-02-2019, 08:44 PM
Neither side will be thrilled with the draw. Let's be honest nobody wanted Celtic. For their part they haven't won in 3 at ER, losing twice, so it won't have been the draw they wanted.

Win and with two of Aberdeen, Rangers and Kilmarnock out it really opens up. As long as we give it a go then I'll be happy.

11-02-2019, 08:45 PM

Are Celtic not in European action on the Thursday before hand?

We wont beat Celtic.

We'll beat Celtic then lose to Dundee United in the semi.

11-02-2019, 08:46 PM

They play next Thursday (21st), Scottish Cup is on the weekend of the 1st-3rd March. They play Hearts away the Wednesday before and we play St Johnstone away.

11-02-2019, 08:46 PM

No, they play Valencia this week and next.

Hibeesforever
11-02-2019, 08:47 PM
This is going to be the greatest cup win...Celtic, then The Rangers and then the Hearts at Hampden, how good would that be!!!

Hibees1973
11-02-2019, 08:48 PM
Celtic have Hearts away the Wednesday before they play us in the cup. Hearts with their giant hoofers bound to take a few Celtic players out of their team before they play us in the cup game.

I look at it this way. Hibs at Easter Road is the most difficult cup game Celtic have had since Rodgers took over 2 years ago. I heard they are unbeaten in around 25 domestic cup games under him.

Hope it is an evening kick off under the lights.

A team such as:

Marciano

Gray MacGregor Hanlon Stevenson

Milligan

Horgan Mallan Gauld

Kamberi McNulty

It is possible.

11-02-2019, 08:49 PM
This is going to be the greatest cup win...Celtic, then The Rangers and then the Hearts at Hampden, how good would that be!!!

You can’t beat winning the cup in the 92th min😄
Saying that, we are due to give Hearts a doing at Hampden

11-02-2019, 08:49 PM
in 24 SC ties v sellick

W-3
D-7
L14

scoring just 13 goals for the loss of 44

11-02-2019, 08:50 PM
The treble treble ends.

11-02-2019, 08:51 PM
Celtic have Hearts away the Wednesday before they play us in the cup. Hearts with their giant hoofers bound to take a few Celtic players out of their team before they play us in the cup game.

I look at it this way. Hibs at Easter Road is the most difficult cup game Celtic have had since Rodgers took over 2 years ago. I heard they are unbeaten in around 25 domestic cup games under him.

Hope it is an evening kick off under the lights.

A team such as:

Marciano

Gray MacGregor Hanlon Stevenson

Milligan

Horgan Mallan Gauld

Kamberi McNulty

It is possible.

What about Slivka? He likes a goal against Celtic in a win at ER.

11-02-2019, 08:55 PM

They might do but they ain't good enough to win it. No chance.

11-02-2019, 08:58 PM

If we beat Celtc then anyone left in the last 4 would have a good chance.

11-02-2019, 09:01 PM

Yip, and even if we don't beat Celtic rest assured they'll take care of Hearts in the semi or final.

11-02-2019, 09:01 PM

We wont beat Celtic.

Hibbies are such defeatist phannies.

That's us through to the Semis then.

We WILL beat Celtic, just like we did a few weeks ago.

green with envy
11-02-2019, 09:02 PM

I defiantly know we didn't. I was also there and I can assure you there were rangers fans in the Broomloan Rd end that Sunday afternoon.

The only game we got all of that end was when we beat them over two legs in the League Cup SF.

11-02-2019, 09:03 PM
How many tickets do we have to give Celtic ? Is it 10% of the capacity? If so would we be required to give them the full South due to segregation?

11-02-2019, 09:04 PM
We will win against Celtic.

green with envy
11-02-2019, 09:05 PM
How many tickets do we have to give Celtic ? Is it 10% of the capacity? If so would we be required to give them the full South due to segregation?

I'm pretty sure that they would be entitled to 20%, so yes, they will get the full end.

11-02-2019, 09:07 PM
I defiantly know we didn't. I was also there and I can assure you there were rangers fans in the Broomloan Rd end that Sunday afternoon.

The only game we got all of that end was when we beat them over two legs in the League Cup SF.

We got the whole end when we beat them 3-0 during mowbrays time. We sold 7k plus , the stand holds 8k

Min 20% are Scottish Cup rules
We’d be as well giving them FF5 lower as well, as that will be empty as usual

Yes they'll be entitled to the full South stand for this game.

We got the whole end when we beat them 3-0 during mowbrays time. We sold 7k plus , the stand holds 8k

We didn’t. There were Huns in that end as well

11-02-2019, 09:08 PM

Yes you're right. That was in the days when The Rangers home attendances weren't very clever. Sure Davie Cooper scored a cracking free kick early on, but we held on for the win.

11-02-2019, 09:08 PM
Last 2 cup winners meet Head to head

hibsfan7
11-02-2019, 09:09 PM
The last 2 teams to win the cup meet at EASTER ROAD 2-1 HIBS

11-02-2019, 09:10 PM
If you want to read what Celtic fans make of the draw?

https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/scottish-cup-quarter-final-draw-hibs-a-w-e-2nd-3rd-t135434-s20.html

Sheep_Nae_Mair
A chance to stop the treble treble!

We sold approx 5500 tickets.

There was a few dozen Rangers fans in an end section of the bottom tier of the Broomloan.

Edit: video below shows the divide between the fans at the very start

https://youtu.be/QLV-DCTD2OA

11-02-2019, 09:13 PM
We didn’t. There were Huns in that end as well

We got the whole end , the only bit we didnt sell was lower corner next to main stand , the huns sold the remaining tickets to their own fans. The stand holds 8k , we sold 7k

11-02-2019, 09:15 PM
We sold approx 5500 tickets.

There was a few dozen Rangers fans in an end section of the bottom tier of the Broomloan.

We played them on a sunday a year or 2 after and took 5k

11-02-2019, 09:15 PM
[QUOTE=Pretty Boy;5706902]We sold approx 5500 tickets.

https://youtu.be/QLV-DCTD2OA[/QUOTE

We had whole top tier and most the bottom , the stand holds 8k

11-02-2019, 09:16 PM
Have Celtic ever beaten us at ER under Brenda?

Nah there was segregation down it - i was stood right on the barrier. See attached pic below.

Have Celtic ever beaten us at ER under Brenda?

No!

11-02-2019, 09:19 PM
Nah there was segregation down it - i was stood right on the barrier. See attached pic below.

Yeah on the bottom tier

11-02-2019, 09:19 PM
We got the whole end , the only bit we didnt sell was lower corner next to main stand , the huns sold the remaining tickets to their own fans. The stand holds 8k , we sold 7k

In the bottom tier we only got to about in line with the 6 yard box. There’s another 2 sections to the left of the goals we didn’t get

11-02-2019, 09:20 PM
No!

Given he's won every domestic trophy available so far at Celtic, that's impressive from Hibs. Celtic will know they have a tough tie.

11-02-2019, 09:21 PM
Yeah on the bottom tier

So its not a whole end then :greengrin:thumbsup:

Anyway back to pumping Celtc...:flag:

Cracking draw!

The bigger they are, the harder they fall.

I fancy our boys to beat them, irrespective of who our new head coach might be.

It's a really good draw for several reasons:

We've beaten Celtic on both their last visits to ER and hopefully with a new boss bounce we can do so again
A win would go a long way to bringing back the feelgood factor at Hibs
With Aberdeen or Rangers (and possibly both) going out before the semi-finals a win would put us right in the mix to go all the way
It's a cash boost for the club (even more so if it were to go to a replay, much as we'd want to win it the tie at ER)
Even if we lose, Celtic's continued presence provides virtually cast-iron insurance against Potter winning his first ever trophy (though I can actually see the yams going out to Thistle)

11-02-2019, 09:23 PM
So its not a whole end then :greengrin:thumbsup:

Anyway back to pumping Celtc...:flag:

We were allocated the whole stand , we didnt sell all the tickets though

11-02-2019, 09:25 PM
If you want to read what Celtic fans make of the draw?

https://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/scottish-cup-quarter-final-draw-hibs-a-w-e-2nd-3rd-t135434-s20.html

Someone needs to tell those clowns they have lost the last 2 at Easter Rd,

Despite being 8th in the league, we’ll be a different prospect under a new manager than we are right now.

5 years since they have beaten us at ER :)

11-02-2019, 09:27 PM

I was there and I had been at the previous Sproule hat trick game.

Apart from the segregated bit to the left, we got the whole stand for the cup game.

The independent, the only report I can find which mentions our fans, says we had 6000 fans. That's what I remember too.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwi3urze3bTgAhVLxIUKHarZAsoQzPwBegQIARAC&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.co.uk%2Fsport%2F football%2Fscottish%2Frangers-0-hibernian-3-sproule-shines-on-a-dark-day-for-rangers-343270.html&psig=AOvVaw2yuSGCxHsu5yD5sDccvOH6&ust=1550010640932664

Weegreenman
11-02-2019, 09:27 PM
New manager in place will give the lads a boost. I think we are well capable of causing an upset. :flag::flag::flag:

11-02-2019, 09:29 PM
I found this from the 0-3 cup game.

You can see we had the whole stand up to the corner where the segregation started.

11-02-2019, 09:29 PM
I'd have preferred an easier tie, especially as the new gaffer will still be finding his feet in the job but as others have said if you're going to have to play Celtic better to do it at ER than Hampden.

We've players who can beat Celtic, we know they can they've done it before. Won't be easy but if someone's goi g to stop the treble treble might as well be us.

green with envy
11-02-2019, 09:32 PM

Apart from the segregated bit to the left, we got the whole stand for the cup game.

The independent, the only report I can find which mentions our fans, says we had 6000 fans. That's what I remember too.

You're saying we got the whole stand, yet there were rangers fans in the bottom & top tier to the right of me as I was standing watching the game.:confused:

11-02-2019, 09:33 PM

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwi3urze3bTgAhVLxIUKHarZAsoQzPwBegQIARAC&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.co.uk%2Fsport%2F football%2Fscottish%2Frangers-0-hibernian-3-sproule-shines-on-a-dark-day-for-rangers-343270.html&psig=AOvVaw2yuSGCxHsu5yD5sDccvOH6&ust=1550010640932664

We got 3 out of 5 sections in the bottom tier

11-02-2019, 09:34 PM

You can see we had the whole stand up to the corner where the segregation started.

Quality!

green with envy
11-02-2019, 09:35 PM
We got 3 out of 5 sections in the bottom tier

Same at the top from memory. I don't think Hibs fans would have been allowed to be directly above the rangers fans of the last two sections.

11-02-2019, 09:37 PM
You're saying we got the whole stand, yet there were rangers fans in the bottom & top tier to the right of me as I was standing watching the game.:confused:

Ok. My memory is different, but I could be mistaken so no point arguing.

We definitely had about 6000 fans though. I don't know how many that stand holds.

11-02-2019, 09:37 PM
Same at the top from memory. I don't think Hibs fans would have been allowed to be directly above the rangers fans of the last two sections.

I think we had a bit further along in the top tier. Can’t really remember from the actual game, just from pics I’ve seen

11-02-2019, 09:38 PM

How good was O'Connor at that time...almost unplayable - iirc the next day news filtered through that he was off to Russia...

11-02-2019, 09:39 PM

That was a great day. Superb atmosphere :agree: