View Full Version : It's Appleton

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

tonyrougier123
10-02-2019, 02:39 AM
Was just reading a bit about appleton,talks very well about how he operates on coachesvoice, and his past experiences.had some tough gigs.might actually even say im optimistic about this.oxford fans are also very complimentary of him.

10-02-2019, 03:02 AM
Was just reading a bit about appleton,talks very well about how he operates on coachesvoice, and his past experiences.had some tough gigs.might actually even say im optimistic about this.oxford fans are also very complimentary of him.

Leicester fans are also complimentary about him.

lcfcawaydays_: Did well at his stay at Leicester. Very professional in the way he stepped up as first-team manager after the departure of Shakespeare. Good luck in the future Michael Appleton.

HarnersSportsFC: Strange seeing Appleton depart. Didn’t really see it coming, to be honest. If a confirmation was required about Puel’s future, then here’s one. His staff, his players. If he doesn’t do well now, he could be sacked by November.

LedgerKurt: Really gutted to be losing Apples. But hey ho.

@mojo2490: All the best Appleton you were brilliant for us, sad to see you go

@tom_pawley: Liked Appleton. Seems a bit harsh.

@sjbrookesss: Thank you to Appleton. He was part of something quite special at our football club. Hope he goes onto getting a good standard managerial role.

The last tweeters hope came true.

10-02-2019, 05:43 AM
https://thumbs.gfycat.com/WhichDisfiguredEft-max-1mb.gif

The context of this picture is that we were 3 goals up, then salvaged a draw after conceding 5 straight goals. Still an iconic moment, of which NL has many, but it was borne out of a pretty **** situation.

brisbanehibs
10-02-2019, 06:39 AM
Not sure if this has already been posted, apologies big it has but this is well worth a read
https://www.coachesvoice.com/cut-short-leicester-city-oxford-united-portsmouth-fc-blackpool-blakburn-rovers-west-brom/

Thanks for posting this, a great read. While none of us can be sure any managerial appointment will work out, I really like the fact we make these types of appointmemts (assuming we do..). We could do the easy thing and hire one of the usual suspects, someone that will keep the pundits happy, someone Scottish or someone who has had their career here, someone safe who will play industrial football...instead it looks like we may be getting a really good thinker on the game, someone with new ideas, someone passionate about his career with a point to prove and someone who will have the Alan Prestons, Chic Youngs, Willie Millers etc seething because he isn't in the gang...I can't wait to see how the new manager works out and if it is Appleton he looks like a great hire. Hope we can all get behind him....but prospects not great going by some on here...

10-02-2019, 06:47 AM
The context of this picture is that we were 3 goals up, then salvaged a draw after conceding 5 straight goals. Still an iconic moment, of which NL has many, but it was borne out of a pretty **** situation.

The context was we needed a 10 goal swing in that game.

10-02-2019, 07:45 AM
Not sure if this has already been posted, apologies big it has but this is well worth a read
https://www.coachesvoice.com/cut-short-leicester-city-oxford-united-portsmouth-fc-blackpool-blakburn-rovers-west-brom/

Great read, feel good about this appointment, I especially like the statement he was willing to wait for the right opportunity to come along!!

10-02-2019, 08:24 AM
Me too. I thought Stubbs to the end of the season was a no-brainer to be honest.

We'd have had a manager in straight away, might not have meekly coughed up 6 points in the league which might make the difference in making the top 6, knows the club and a lot of the players, and would have bought the Board a bit of time.

I've long since stopped trying to work out how our Board's mind works though, and I suspect they'll not be telling us any time soon, either.

You say stubbs to the end of the season is a no brainer but that only works if
A) Stubbs was actually interested in the job on a short term basis. He might have said he'd come back but only on an 18 month or longer contract
B) There was also appropriate backroom staff available who would also be agreeable on a short term deal. That's unlikely to be Doolan and Taff and when we brought in Darren Jackson at St Mirren it didn't do so well.
C) There were no suitable candidates available now but we knew there would be better candidates available in the summer.

It also means when we're meant to be planning for next season, i.e.planning preseason training, finalising transfers, etc we're in the middle of managerial interview process, so we start the season on a back foot. We just about got away with it in Neil Lennon's first season due to the fact we were a premiership squad in the championship but the top flight is a lot stronger these days. Plus Neil had a settled squad with a lot of confidence, whoever we bring in next has a lot more work to do.

Procrastination in regards to this appointment just delays fixing our issues and doesn't guarantee any success.

10-02-2019, 08:31 AM
If he comes in here and after 11 games has only won 2 of them then our fans will be going nutsWell that would be similar to the last 3 brutal months under Lennon...yet we still have fans pining for him like some sort of lost puppy??

Tobias Funke
10-02-2019, 09:02 AM

Great read that, cheers.

Oxford sounded like the first job he’d had where the running of the club at boardroom level wasn’t a complete sh*t show, and he did very well. I can understand why some aren’t excited or enamoured by this likely appointment but the more I read/hear about MA the more confident I am that Hibs are making a very shrewd move here.

10-02-2019, 09:28 AM
I'm quite excited about Appleton. I think he'll do a good job.

10-02-2019, 09:42 AM

Interesting read.

His transformation is interesting also if you see the pictures of him a few years ago and now he actually looks younger and more healthy now.

He does say he has ambitions to be at the top - which isn’t a bad thing.

It would be a good to have a manager with us for longer than 2 or 3 years.

Look what Aberdeen and St Johnstone have done with the same manager. Not perfect but consistency can help.

RossScott1991
10-02-2019, 10:46 AM
Oxford fans on twitter telling me he is their favourite every manager, a decent bloke too. Likes playing out from back with pace in wide areas.

Feel good about this

Tug Wilson
10-02-2019, 11:06 AM
Interesting read.

His transformation is interesting also if you see the pictures of him a few years ago and now he actually looks younger and more healthy now.

He does say he has ambitions to be at the top - which isn’t a bad thing.

It would be a good to have a manager with us for longer than 2 or 3 years.

Look what Aberdeen and St Johnstone have done with the same manager. Not perfect but consistency can help.

Much like attracting players, if we can show that we are a club who can enhance a manager's reputation then we will find attracting quality managers.

If players do well then they are likely to move on to better things. Same with managers. We benefit from their time here.

10-02-2019, 11:09 AM
https://thumbs.gfycat.com/WhichDisfiguredEft-max-1mb.gif

Imagine what he'd have done if we actually won that game.

10-02-2019, 11:14 AM
It seems to be, expected to be named in days according to EEN

It would be an excellent appointment. He's ambitious.

10-02-2019, 11:24 AM
A lot of Oxford fans saying he’ll need time to implement his style etc. They think very highly of him though and based on what they’ve been saying I would be happy to have him here.

10-02-2019, 12:01 PM
The Sun (I know) reckons he's up here finalising things, and May thinks he'll be announced Tuesday or Wednesday.

10-02-2019, 01:38 PM
A lot of Oxford fans saying he’ll need time to implement his style etc. They think very highly of him though and based on what they’ve been saying I would be happy to have him here.

I think he's got a free shot for the rest of the league season and then pre season to implement his own ideas and style. Proof of the pudding will be his new signings and how we start next season.

10-02-2019, 01:39 PM
It would be an excellent appointment. He's ambitious.
His interview that was linked - he came across as driven and motivated.

10-02-2019, 01:41 PM
I think he's got a free shot for the rest of the league season and then pre season to implement his own ideas and style. Proof of the pudding will be his new signings and how we start next season.

In theory, you're right, but if our performances and results don't pick up, there will be people clamouring to get him sacked.

Whoever is appointed.

10-02-2019, 01:43 PM

Still think he needs top 6

angus hibby
10-02-2019, 02:00 PM
Richard Gordon on Sportsound yesterday suggesting Hibs fans wont be overly excited by this appointment. Querying why we are looking down south for someone?! He seemed to be suggesting it was a very strange appointment, like the guy was totally unknown.

For someone who has been an assistant manager in EPL, and will have coached top players at that level, and from what I’ve read about Appleton, I’m excited about his appointment.

10-02-2019, 02:01 PM
Richard Gordon is a prick. He hates hibs for some reason.

10-02-2019, 02:04 PM
That will be a push for whoever comes in.

10-02-2019, 02:06 PM

Beat Hamilton and Dundee, next 2 games, and we could be above St Johnstone

ben johnson
10-02-2019, 02:07 PM
Richard Gordon on Sportsound yesterday suggesting Hibs fans wont be overly excited by this appointment. Querying why we are looking down south for someone?! He seemed to be suggesting it was a very strange appointment, like the guy was totally unknown.

For someone who has been an assistant manager in EPL, and will have coached top players at that level, and from what I’ve read about Appleton, I’m excited about his appointment.

Looking forward to the new manager being someone outwith the Scottish game. Someone who treats a trip to Glasgow and Tynecastle as a challenge and not venues to be feared.
Let’s get some fresh blood in and see what can be done.

10-02-2019, 02:08 PM

For someone who has been an assistant manager in EPL, and will have coached top players at that level, and from what I’ve read about Appleton, I’m excited about his appointment.Michael Appleton is questioning why some no Mark journalist who is a complete unknown outside Scotland, and only known in Scotland for being a prick, is questioning him.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

10-02-2019, 02:08 PM

What actually is Richard Gordon? Apart from sportsound what has that welt actually ever done? Is he a sports journalist or just someone they found who can talk about football on the radio

10-02-2019, 02:14 PM
What actually is Richard Gordon? Apart from sportsound what has that welt actually ever done? Is he a sports journalist or just someone they found who can talk about football on the radio

I find it hard to understand what he's saying on Sportsound most of the time. Probably because the vacuum created by his head being so far up Willie Miller's erchie makes it difficult for the sound to escape.

10-02-2019, 02:19 PM

The discussion it led to was looking for all the ways it could go wrong.

10-02-2019, 02:22 PM

It’s by no means easy, but I don’t agree the new guy has a free hit until the summer.

We’ve got league placing and th Scottish Cup to play for, a squad to lift and needs to find a way to play.

10-02-2019, 02:30 PM
When did he stop playing cricket?

10-02-2019, 02:32 PM

How do you mean he needs the top six?

What happens if we end up in the bottom six? Surely we don't look for another manager after 3 months?

10-02-2019, 02:33 PM
It’s by no means easy, but I don’t agree the new guy has a free hit until the summer.

We’ve got league placing and th Scottish Cup to play for, a squad to lift and needs to find a way to play.
Agree

10-02-2019, 02:33 PM

What happens if we end up in the bottom six? Surely we don't look for another manager after 3 months?

If we get top 6, means he’s done well
We have to at least aim for it

10-02-2019, 02:36 PM

We wouldn’t but, whilst top six is nothing to celebrate, it would be a mini achievement given the position he is starting from.

Would buy him some goodwill from the support IMO. And would probably buy him an extra player in the summer with the additional revenue.

10-02-2019, 02:37 PM
Beat Hamilton and Dundee, next 2 games, and we could be above St Johnstone

Only if the saints lose their next two games Billy

10-02-2019, 02:38 PM
As long as we are playing consistent good football and getting wins he's done his job for the remainder of this season. If that gets us top 6 great. The critical thing is to bring back the feelgood factor because that's what will hold up our season ticket sales.

10-02-2019, 02:40 PM

OK just wondered what you meant by him "needing" top six. It just sounded like you thought there might be consequences if he didn't get us there.

Gordy M
10-02-2019, 02:44 PM
Only if the saints lose their next two games Billy

Today was their 5th defeat in a row.....they are not on the best of form at the mo.

10-02-2019, 02:45 PM

I think it's a given for any manager to aim up rather than down. What if he doesn't get top 6?

10-02-2019, 02:49 PM
I think it's a given for any manager to aim up rather than down. What if he doesn't get top 6?

If performances improve, people will blame Lennon for taking us out of the top 6 in the first place.

A lot of people oh here had given up on top 6 before we played St Mirren.

connerg
10-02-2019, 02:57 PM
Richard Gordon is a prick. He hates hibs for some reason.

connerg
10-02-2019, 03:06 PM
When did he stop playing cricket?

Ok i'll bite. Your getting mixed up with Michael Atherton. :greengrin

10-02-2019, 03:07 PM
I find it hard to understand what he's saying on Sportsound most of the time. Probably because the vacuum created by his head being so far up Willie Miller's erchie makes it difficult for the sound to escape.

Smiling Richard Gordon. He's really annoying. It's like everything is a joke to him.

10-02-2019, 03:09 PM
Today was their 5th defeat in a row.....they are not on the best of form at the mo.

Aberdeen and Rangers in their next two as well.

hibeejeebies
10-02-2019, 03:24 PM
Going against the grain here but I don't mind Richard Gordon.

10-02-2019, 03:24 PM

And then Hibs

10-02-2019, 03:34 PM
Smiling Richard Gordon. He's really annoying. It's like everything is a joke to him.

🤣 Annoyed by someone smiling...

A lot of good thins said by oxford fans in the EEN. Did say he might take time to build the team he wants and that he might need money to spend. Hopefully he gets both.

Garry79hfc

Probably why Richard Gordon is a broadcaster and not a chief exec of a football club

TelaStella
10-02-2019, 03:35 PM
https://yellowsforum.co.uk/threads/michael-appleton-hibs-manager.1836/ here’s the link to the thread on the Oxford forum if anyone’s interested

scooby
10-02-2019, 03:41 PM
Going against the grain here but I don't mind Richard Gordon.

Most pundits in Scotland are p*****.

TelaStella
10-02-2019, 03:48 PM
https://yellowsforum.co.uk/threads/michael-appleton-hibs-manager.1836/ here’s the link to the thread on the Oxford forum if anyone’s interested

If anyone gives it a good read, it’s quite surprising some of the comments and references made by what so far would appear to be a minority of their support towards us. Typical hun pish giving it the spoon burners and junkies patter[emoji23], laughable. Nice to know how well thought of we are even away down there.

10-02-2019, 03:51 PM
If anyone gives it a good read, it’s quite surprising some of the comments and references made by what so far would appear to be a minority of their support towards us. Typical hun pish giving it the spoon burners and junkies patter[emoji23], laughable. Nice to know how well thought of we are even away down there.

Their ignorance of Scottish football is pretty frustrating too.

Be interesting to know the last time these guys watched a Scottish game to form that opinion.

TelaStella
10-02-2019, 03:54 PM
Their ignorance of Scottish football is pretty frustrating too.

Be interesting to know the last time these guys watched a Scottish game to form that opinion.

One of the posts had me in stitches where on the prospect of playing each other next season in a pre season friendly they should most likely win at least 5-0 as Scottish football is quote “dire” except from the old firm who would be “lucky to make championship at least”

10-02-2019, 03:56 PM

Conference North and South teams probably think they're better than us.

horseflesh
10-02-2019, 03:58 PM

Was he discussing this with a couple of “out of work” ex Scottish footballers? Gordon is a lickspittle of the highest degree

10-02-2019, 04:00 PM

Cheers for that.

The more I read about MA the more I’m warming to the idea of him being appointed, I think I’ll now be a bit disappointed if we end up giving it to someone else. The one recurring theme with the Oxford fans was we need them give him some time to get in the type of players he wants and to implement his style of play. Top 6 this season would be nice, but if we have to write off this season to allow him the summer to really get going I’m prepared to do that.

10-02-2019, 04:03 PM
One of the posts had me in stitches where on the prospect of playing each other next season in a pre season friendly they should most likely win at least 5-0 as Scottish football is quote “dire” except from the old firm who would be “lucky to make championship at least”

Europe this year we knocked out a Greek top 4 or 5 side. Celtic knocked out their Norwegian equivalent, the Huns had a number of great results and Aberdeen drew over two legs with Burnley.

But aye, they’d pump us 5 nil and Celtc would be league one standard 😂

horseflesh
10-02-2019, 04:04 PM

Bit harsh considering who their last 3 games have been against

TelaStella
10-02-2019, 04:06 PM
Europe this year we knocked out a Greek top 4 or 5 side. Celtic knocked out their Norwegian equivalent, the Huns had a number of great results and Aberdeen drew over two legs with Burnley.

But aye, they’d pump us 5 nil and Celtc would be league one standard [emoji23]

Exactly mate. Kinda hope we do play them now

10-02-2019, 04:06 PM
Richard Gordon was pretty much saying exactly what we were once the shortlist had been put together. Before Appleton became favourite, there wasn't exactly many on here blown away with excitement at the English lower league candidates...

10-02-2019, 04:09 PM
Richard Gordon was pretty much saying exactly what we were once the shortlist had been put together. Before Appleton became favourite, there wasn't exactly many on here blown away with excitement at the English lower league candidates...

Aye but he’s paid to be an expert (stop laughing at the back), it took me about half an hour to do some digging about and realise the circumstances behind his previous jobs and how highly he is rated at the clubs he’s been at recently.

10-02-2019, 04:11 PM
Did I hear Alan Preston taking about Heckingbottom on Sportsound just after 2pm yesterday?
Impression I got from him, is he had lunch with Heckingbottom last week, but he thought Appleton was getting the job, due to a call from Sit Alex, which he said that would swing it

Glad Preston has nothing to do with who’s the Hibs manager, if this is what I thought I heard. Anyone else hear it, or have a I picked it up wrong?

10-02-2019, 04:11 PM
Aye but he’s paid to be an expert (stop laughing at the back), it took me about half an hour to do some digging about and realise the circumstances behind his previous jobs and how highly he is rated at the clubs he’s been at recently.

Precisely.

10-02-2019, 04:18 PM
Did I hear Alan Preston taking about Heckingbottom on Sportsound just after 2pm yesterday?
Impression I got from him, is he had lunch with Heckingbottom last week, but he thought Appleton was getting the job, due to a call from Sit Alex, which he said that would swing it

Glad Preston has nothing to do with who’s the Hibs manager, if this is what I thought I heard. Anyone else hear it, or have a I picked it up wrong?

You heard it all correctly.

However, to be fair to the fat Hun, he also said we should trust Dempster, her last 2 appointments have been pretty good.

10-02-2019, 04:20 PM

He's also paid to put across a fan's point of view and then let the guests do the talking.

10-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Appleton is exactly the type of manager we should be going for, and if it's him then I'm very excited.

I wanted Hibs to cast a wide net, keep an open mind, interview people and go for someone on merit over reputation.

Richard Gordon knows f all. He sits in a studio with disgruntled coaches who get nowhere in the game, the type of coach who thinks that just because you've once been on the books of Rangers or Celtic, played for Airdrie 200 times and freed players for not being big enough are simply entitled to jobs when they come along. Of course Richard Gordon is going to say that.

If it is Appleton though then we'll need to be patient. This season's league is a write-off and he needs backed in the summer to bring his own players in. And by his own player that means a strong core of players on decent length contracts who are a decent age, not a batch of loan signings who will only be here for a few months and elder statements who are here for a short while as their careers fizzle out.

EastCalderHibby
10-02-2019, 04:30 PM

then us up in perth

10-02-2019, 04:37 PM
He's also paid to put across a fan's point of view and then let the guests do the talking.

That’s probably where we disagree.

It’s not his job to be ignorant and hope someone corrects him.

I would expect him to say something like “some Hibs fans may have reservations however the reason the board are considering him are because of x,y and z”

Tbf I never heard that interview so he might have down that, the pundits I heard talking about him were Bonner and Smith and the best they could come up with was we’d only be interested in him because he’ll know of players down south people up here hadn’t heard of. Going by this thread I’m assuming Gordon’s punditry was of a similar quality.

10-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Richard Gordon is a cheerleader for the Scottish football Mafia. It sounds like we could be getting a good one in MA, and a breath of fresh air at that.

dalkeith stu
10-02-2019, 04:50 PM

Watched the clip of oxfords goals while he was manager on that link, L1 keepers and defending is brutal!!! Sure I spotted Logan and he looked even bigger than when he was with us!!

10-02-2019, 04:52 PM

To be fair, there appears to be one cretin with hun sympathies and the rest seem sound.

Most folk I know who support lower league English clubs actually have a mild interest and a bit of respect for Scottish football and especially those clubs who aren't Rangers and Celtic.

The problem with "the English" full stop is that they have such a noisy, ignorant ******** minority it makes you think they're all like that, when in fact they really aren't. Very few are.

10-02-2019, 04:57 PM
To be fair, there appears to be one cretin with hun sympathies and the rest seem sound.

Most folk I know who support lower league English clubs actually have a mild interest and a bit of respect for Scottish football and especially those clubs who aren't Rangers and Celtic.

The problem with "the English" full stop is that they have such a noisy, ignorant ******** minority it makes you think they're all like that, when in fact they really aren't. Very few are.

Pretty much same experiences myself.

10-02-2019, 05:01 PM

nah mate its well over half
if it was 52/48 uk-wide in favour of trashing my 2 kids' chances of studying, living & working abroad, and you factor in northern ireland was 56/44 and then Scotland (62/38) it looks like 55% capable of being red white & blued by anything you want to plaster on the side of a bus down there..

angus hibby
10-02-2019, 05:07 PM
That’s probably where we disagree.

It’s not his job to be ignorant and hope someone corrects him.

I would expect him to say something like “some Hibs fans may have reservations however the reason the board are considering him are because of x,y and z”

Tbf I never heard that interview so he might have down that, the pundits I heard talking about him were Bonner and Smith and the best they could come up with was we’d only be interested in him because he’ll know of players down south people up here hadn’t heard of. Going by this thread I’m assuming Gordon’s punditry was of a similar quality.

Only bit I heard was him saying Hibs seem to be looking in England for some reason, and that it wouldn’t get the Hibs fans excited. To be fair to him, he did add that we will have done our homework and he (Appleton) has obviously come across well.

10-02-2019, 05:09 PM

And we Scots are all Angels

10-02-2019, 05:10 PM
And we Scots are all AngelsEspecially the sevconians.

10-02-2019, 05:12 PM
I'm quite excited about Appleton. I think he'll do a good job.

Strangely so am I

10-02-2019, 05:34 PM
Not a Hollywood name who will get the support drooling in anticipation, but, if it's to be Appleton, let's give him a chance. I'd prefer a 'big name', as we managed when appointing Lennon, but they aren't easy to get. We'll just have to wait and see what transpires.

10-02-2019, 05:45 PM
Appleton is exactly the type of manager we should be going for, and if it's him then I'm very excited.

I wanted Hibs to cast a wide net, keep an open mind, interview people and go for someone on merit over reputation.

Richard Gordon knows f all. He sits in a studio with disgruntled coaches who get nowhere in the game, the type of coach who thinks that just because you've once been on the books of Rangers or Celtic, played for Airdrie 200 times and freed players for not being big enough are simply entitled to jobs when they come along. Of course Richard Gordon is going to say that.

If it is Appleton though then we'll need to be patient. This season's league is a write-off and he needs backed in the summer to bring his own players in. And by his own player that means a strong core of players on decent length contracts who are a decent age, not a batch of loan signings who will only be here for a few months and elder statements who are here for a short while as their careers fizzle out.
This is the most sensible post I've read on the appointment, well thought out, excellent & well done. 👍

10-02-2019, 05:59 PM
Strangely so am I

As am I!

Having read that article posted earlier it really put into perspective the chaos involved in a few of his previous jobs.

He'll definitely get my backing and I'm looking forward to him showing what he's capable of.

Aim Here
10-02-2019, 06:02 PM

To be fair, it seems to not be merely a 'minority' but a lone bigot, so I wouldn't worry too much.

10-02-2019, 06:16 PM
It may NOT be Appleton.

10-02-2019, 06:18 PM
It may NOT be Appleton.

Oh do tell ?

10-02-2019, 06:20 PM
Oh do tell ?

I thought they were still interviewing next week.

10-02-2019, 06:23 PM
I thought they were still interviewing next week.

They may or may not be , I'd think we'd have to have someone in place by Wednesday if he's going to be in the dugout on Saturday? If he's not in until Thursday we would be as well having May in the dugout with the new boy in the stand. Would expect an announcement early in the week

10-02-2019, 06:26 PM
They may or may not be , I'd think we'd have to have someone in place by Wednesday if he's going to be in the dugout on Saturday? If he's not in until Thursday we would be as well having May in the dugout with the new boy in the stand. Would expect an announcement early in the week

I wouldn't disagree, but Speedway was right saying that it might not be Appleton.

SonOfDavidFrancey
10-02-2019, 06:27 PM
https://www.coachesvoice.com/?s=Michael+Appleton

10-02-2019, 06:28 PM
I wouldn't disagree, but Speedway was right saying that it might not be Appleton.

Oh I know I was just wondering if he had heard something more concrete.

10-02-2019, 06:33 PM
if it was 52/48 uk-wide in favour of trashing my 2 kids' chances of studying, living & working abroad, and you factor in northern ireland was 56/44 and then Scotland (62/38) it looks like 55% capable of being red white & blued by anything you want to plaster on the side of a bus down there..

What a load of *****.

10-02-2019, 06:35 PM
It may NOT be Appleton.

Of course it might not, until it is, it could be someone else.

10-02-2019, 06:47 PM

Please PM me with your address - I have just put you on my Christmas card list.

10-02-2019, 06:49 PM

Deary deary me.

TheReg!
10-02-2019, 07:43 PM

What a load of tosh 😂

10-02-2019, 07:43 PM
https://m.soundcloud.com/ntt20pod/ntt20-pod-meets-michael-appleton

Probably been posted but good listen

10-02-2019, 10:35 PM
Any idea who his assistant's gonna be ?

10-02-2019, 10:39 PM
The boy who helps him. :greengrin

Hibeewilly
10-02-2019, 10:42 PM
Derek Fazackerley has been mentioned on an Oxford fans forum as possibly joining him up here

10-02-2019, 11:51 PM

Interesting comments, most of the folk who posted certainly seem to have a positive attitude towards him which is good and most of the posts were respectful to us. Of course in any English forum you will always get the Scottish football experts who know our game is pish based on a sum total of no Scottish games attended at any time ever. Its also funny that no matter what teams forum it is there's always a bigot in residence :greengrin

11-02-2019, 07:12 AM
It says in one post that he favours a "certain formation/system", anyone know what that might be?

Edit - done a bit of research, seems it's 4-4-1-1.

11-02-2019, 07:15 AM
Derek Fazackerley has been mentioned on an Oxford fans forum as possibly joining him up here

He assisted Kevin Keegan for years including when at England.

11-02-2019, 07:36 AM
It says in one post that he favours a "certain formation/system", anyone know what that might be?

Edit - done a bit of research, seems it's 4-4-1-1.
Found this from Michael Appleton although the interview is a good few years old

MA: When I went to Denmark as a young coach I aed some of the coaches there what formation they used? they looked at me like I`d murdered somebody!! they said ” we don`t have a formation, we have a playing style!” that always stuck with me. You only really set up in a formation when the keeper of the centre back has the ball, the rest of the game there is lots of overloading and rotation going on – having a style of play is more important than an actual formation.

11-02-2019, 09:09 AM
What a load of *****.

Mate, there's a growing problem down there, and we'll all suffer if we're dragged down with it - them's the facts - https://www.erasmusplus.org.uk/brexit-update like it or not, there will be no place for Scots kids in European arrangements after 29 March. I could explain the bus reference to you too but this manager thread probably aint the place.

11-02-2019, 09:13 AM

Ichael Mappleton.

11-02-2019, 09:25 AM
He assisted Kevin Keegan for years including when at England.

I would love it if he brought him. Love it.

11-02-2019, 09:34 AM
I would love it if he brought him. Love it.
But would you really, really love it?

11-02-2019, 09:43 AM
Michael Appleton seems to be exactly the sort of (cliché alert) young, hungry coach we're looking for. The Oxford fans clearly held him in high esteem and I've just had a conversation with my sister in law, also an Oxford supporter, and she thinks we're very lucky if we get him. She can't praise him enough. Her words that "He'll need time and money" made me suck in breath however. :greengrin

I have one niggling doubt, however, and despite all the positive things I read and hear, it won't go away and that is that he sounds a lot like Stubbs.

Stubbsy had great philosophies about football and about people, he had us playing in a very attractive style and, of course, he won us the cup so he's a hero here, like Appleton is in Oxford.

Unfortunately, he's been unable to replicate that since he left and there are similarities in MAs CV so that's where my niggle comes in.

Is that because of the poor circumstances they inherited, or did they just get lucky initially with Hibs/Oxford?

Only time will tell. If we do announce Appleton, I'll obviously be hoping it's the former and I'll be excited to see what he can bring.

11-02-2019, 09:48 AM
Michael Appleton seems to be exactly the sort of (cliché alert) young, hungry coach we're looking for. The Oxford fans clearly held him in high esteem and I've just had a conversation with my sister in law, also an Oxford supporter, and she thinks we're very lucky if we get him. She can't praise him enough. Her words that "He'll need time and money" made me suck in breath however. :greengrin

I have one niggling doubt, however, and despite all the positive things I read and hear, it won't go away and that is that he sounds a lot like Stubbs.

Stubbsy had great philosophies about football and about people, he had us playing in a very attractive style and, of course, he won us the cup so he's a hero here, like Appleton is in Oxford.

Unfortunately, he's been unable to replicate that since he left and there are similarities in MAs CV so that's where my niggle comes in.

Is that because of the poor circumstances they inherited, or did they just get lucky initially with Hibs/Oxford?

Only time will tell. If we do announce Appleton, I'll obviously be hoping it's the former and I'll be excited to see what he can bring.

I've made this point before, I think. Hibs are an ideal club for a Head Coach in the mould of Stubbs.

The set-up means that they can concentrate on the first team, without many of the other distractions that a 'traditional' manager of a club our size would have to deal with.

I think in Stubbs' case, when he went to Rotherham and then St Mirren, the scale of the actual work involved was likely to have been a factor.

11-02-2019, 09:50 AM
Appointment confirmed on Skysports news. Excited. But have been on all managerial appointments for 50 years. You always hope this will be the game changer.

11-02-2019, 09:51 AM
Mate who's a Leicester City supporter says they were disappointed Puel didn't keep Appleton on, highly thought of

11-02-2019, 09:51 AM
I've made this point before, I think. Hibs are an ideal club for a Head Coach in the mould of Stubbs.

The set-up means that they can concentrate on the first team, without many of the other distractions that a 'traditional' manager of a club our size would have to deal with.

I think in Stubbs' case, when he went to Rotherham and then St Mirren, the scale of the actual work involved was likely to have been a factor.

I hadn't realised that he went from being HC at Hibs to manager at Rotherham and St Mirren.

That may well have been a factor.

11-02-2019, 09:52 AM
Appointment confirmed on Skysports news. Excited. But have been on all managerial appointments for 50 years. You always hope this will be the game changer.

Is it confirmed? Where?

Crazyhorse
11-02-2019, 10:03 AM

Don’t forget the Welsh! FFS the Welsh really screwed up the idea that it was the little englander mentality that responded to the Brexit bollox. I never understand what that was that all about? And it made it much easier for May and her inept government to claim it was a UK vote. Three countries in the UK voting firmly to remain would have raised some tricky constitutional legitimacy issues if the biggest member nation was seen to be forcing the other three out of the EU.

JXM73
11-02-2019, 10:09 AM
Totally underwhelmed, oxford united sacked or left? Hadnt even heard of the guy...

That being said, I'm no CEO and will back him as that's our manager (if appointed), how much time i give him though, see what he can do in remaining games and transfer window.... but right now can't see this working well, happily be proven wrong...

Engels74
11-02-2019, 10:14 AM
Here is some positive views of Appleton from Leicester City fans on their forum. https//www.foxestalk.co.uk/topic/118422-michael-appleton/

11-02-2019, 10:14 AM
Totally underwhelmed, oxford united sacked or left? Hadnt even heard of the guy...

That being said, I'm no CEO and will back him as that's our manager (if appointed), how much time i give him though, see what he can do in remaining games and transfer window.... but right now can't see this working well, happily be proven wrong...

He left them to be Ass Man at Leicester when they were in the Champions League.

From the Oxford U forum a couple pages back they absolutely adore him and are saying he's the best manager they've had.

11-02-2019, 10:19 AM

Do jobs like that really exist?

That's the wealth of the EPL for you. :bitchy:

Cat Stanton
11-02-2019, 10:20 AM

From the Oxford U forum a couple pages back they absolutely adore him and are saying he's the best manager they've had.

"Ass Man" - not sure that's a job everyone would want.

h185forever
11-02-2019, 10:21 AM
Do jobs like that really exist?

That's the wealth of the EPL for you. :bitchy:

Yes the previous incumbent was Andrex Wypethe****ov

11-02-2019, 10:26 AM

If you know nothing about him how can you be underwhelmed and not be able to see it working well??

I find that astonishing.

Every appointment, at every club, is a risk. I trust the process we have in place to ensure our new man has been properly assessed prior to an appointment..

Recommend a bit of research before passing judgement. There's plenty of links to forums/interviews on here and the web.

Oh, and he left Oxford to be Leicester assistant after getting them promotion, 2 cup finals and a series of big cup wins.

Liam978
11-02-2019, 10:26 AM
Don’t forget the Welsh! FFS the Welsh really screwed up the idea that it was the little englander mentality that responded to the Brexit bollox. I never understand what that was that all about? And it made it much easier for May and her inept government to claim it was a UK vote. Three countries in the UK voting firmly to remain would have raised some tricky constitutional legitimacy issues if the biggest member nation was seen to be forcing the other three out of the EU.

Better together in more ways than one. Maybe if Nicola and her cohorts had their eye on governing here things might have been different. IE get " your own house in order first". Also don't get me started on that balloon Blackford . AGGHH ! lets keep it Hibbys.

11-02-2019, 10:30 AM

I had heard of him but didn't know his record, after reading as much as I can do about the guy which I'm sure you have as well I can say I'm positive about his appointment should it happen. All appointments come with a risk obviously but reading fans comments , his interviews and philosophy on the game I can't complain

11-02-2019, 10:33 AM
You get to run the hole team.

11-02-2019, 10:34 AM
I had heard of him but didn't know his record, after reading as much as I can do about the guy which I'm sure you have as well I can say I'm positive about his appointment should it happen. All appointments come with a risk obviously but reading fans comments , his interviews and philosophy on the game I can't complain

Thouroughly enjoyed his wee podcast interview this morning. As you say, there's always risk. I like the sound of the guy.

11-02-2019, 10:35 AM
You get to run the hole team.

Have them jumping through hoops in no time.

JXM73
11-02-2019, 10:37 AM
If you know nothing about him how can you be underwhelmed and not be able to see it working well??

I find that astonishing.

Every appointment, at every club, is a risk. I trust the process we have in place to ensure our new man has been properly assessed prior to an appointment..

Recommend a bit of research before passing judgement. There's plenty of links to forums/interviews on here and the web.

Oh, and he left Oxford to be Leicester assistant after getting them promotion, 2 cup finals and a series of big cup wins.

His past is no guarantee of future success, I'll pass judgement on how well he does at hibs.

Aritch
11-02-2019, 10:40 AM
His past is no guarantee of future success, I'll pass judgement on how well he does at hibs.

I think OP's point was "I've never heard of him" isn't really a valid criticism given how the forum is currently inundated with resources specifically lauding Appleton's pedigree while somewhat mitigating his failures.

11-02-2019, 10:41 AM

Maybe Billy Gunn.

11-02-2019, 10:42 AM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11792/11634191/hibernian-set-to-appoint-michael-appleton-as-new-head-coach

NthCarolinaHibs
11-02-2019, 10:44 AM

So who would be your choice?

11-02-2019, 10:45 AM

Quite possibly the most obvious statement I've ever read on here.

My point was one of bemusement at your original post on how you don't think it'll work out well, yet had never heard of him, thus knew nothing about him. You clearly have an astonishing level of foresight.

11-02-2019, 10:50 AM

Underwhelemed because you havent heard anything about him? :rolleyes: Well why dont you do a bit of reading..Plenty posted here with articles..CEO's would generally do a bit of research before writing off potential employees. :wink:

If you had read anything you would have seen that almost every club he went to he was head hunted for....He left Oxford to go to Leicester as number two.

I wasnt pleased when I originally saw his name mentioned but I was only linking him to the basket cases he went to..After reading up on him I'm pretty excited it looks as if hes coming to us.

11-02-2019, 10:54 AM
Maybe he'll bring in Heckingbottom to be his Ass Man?

11-02-2019, 10:57 AM

Wales is England’s b**** in the way that Scotland is not.

Interesting that West Wales - Ceredigion and Gwynedd - voted Remain.

Don’t get me wrong, I live in England, and I love the English. But there is this exceptionalism and lack of self-awareness that plagues the English psyche.

JXM73
11-02-2019, 10:59 AM
Quite possibly the most obvious statement I've ever read on here.

My point was one of bemusement at your original post on how you don't think it'll work out well, yet had never heard of him, thus knew nothing about him. You clearly have an astonishing level of foresight.

Just my view on football managers in general, i also said i will back him and gladly be proven wrong. Seen many a manager with a wonderful history do hee haw, and these young genius do equally bad.

As for who else I'd want, I'm no CEO and dont have a clue.

Sorry i am not as excited as you all who bank on the past, if he improves us and we're back pushing top 4 next year then hats off to you for calling out a winner, if it goes wrong i wont be a "told ye so" as it will be the club i support suffering.

11-02-2019, 10:59 AM
Can’t find it announced on sky sports website??

11-02-2019, 11:02 AM
Can’t find it announced on sky sports website??

It's not. Only a piece suggesting he'll be appointed within next 48 hours. You've got to assume they probably have info though to be so sure.

11-02-2019, 11:05 AM
36 hours to go!

11-02-2019, 11:10 AM
Wales is England’s b**** in the way that Scotland is not.

Interesting that West Wales - Ceredigion and Gwynedd - voted Remain.

Don’t get me wrong, I live in England, and I love the English. But there is this exceptionalism and lack of self-awareness that plagues the English psyche.
What has this crap got to do with Hibs managerial appointment ?:confused:

11-02-2019, 11:11 AM
Other than Lennon, who was the last genuine big name manager we have appointed?

11-02-2019, 11:12 AM

Name's don't get much bigger than Mixu's...

11-02-2019, 11:13 AM

Mika-Matti Petteri Paatelainen

hughio
11-02-2019, 11:13 AM
Underwhelemed because you havent heard anything about him? :rolleyes: Well why dont you do a bit of reading..Plenty posted here with articles..CEO's would generally do a bit of research before writing off potential employees. :wink:

If you had read anything you would have seen that almost every club he went to he was head hunted for....He left Oxford to go to Leicester as number two.

I wasnt pleased when I originally saw his name mentioned but I was only linking him to the basket cases he went to..After reading up on him I'm pretty excited it looks as if hes coming to us.

The seperate thread "Appleton;Coaches Voices" is worth a read.
Could it be linked to this thread admins?

hibbydog
11-02-2019, 11:17 AM
Just my view on football managers in general, i also said i will back him and gladly be proven wrong. Seen many a manager with a wonderful history do hee haw, and these young genius do equally bad.

Sorry i am not as excited as you all who bank on the past, if he improves us and we're back pushing top 4 next year then hats off to you for calling out a winner, if it goes wrong i wont be a "told ye so" as it will be the club i support suffering.

That’s a brilliant post. You’ve covered so many bases so that you cannot fail to be chuffed, whatever happens.

Well done to you sir

11-02-2019, 11:23 AM

I'm not calling him out as a winner. Clearly any previous success (or failure) guarantees nothing.

However there's a heavy sense of negativity across your posts but I'm yet to understand why.

I would love to know who you would like to see given the job though?

11-02-2019, 11:24 AM
Still not seen it confirmed and would be gobsmacked if he gets the job.

I doubt very much he will get it.

11-02-2019, 11:25 AM

Terry Butcher or Colin Calderwood :greengrin

11-02-2019, 11:26 AM

Doubt very much he'll get it? After all the noises from so many sources its hardly going to be a surprise if he doesn't get it. I'd be amazed if he didn't at this stage

11-02-2019, 11:27 AM

This is going to get about a gazillion replies when he gets it.

11-02-2019, 11:33 AM

Sky only reporting that he'll be appointed within next 48 hours. Curious as to why you don't think he'll get it? I'm not saying your wrong, I'd just have thought sky would likely have heard something to release that statement.

hibbydog
11-02-2019, 11:33 AM
I'm not calling him out as a winner. Clearly any previous success (or failure) guarantees nothing.

However there's a heavy sense of negativity across your posts but I'm yet to understand why.

I would love to know who you would like to see given the job though?

Id hazard a guess that is typical of the negative hibby: Moan like hell, complain about everything then you can be proven right if things don’t go well.

If things do go well they can be hap......... actually, no they won’t. They’ll go and find something else to moan about.

And in the meantime there’s no alternatives suggested as that would require too much thought.

Kind of boring

11-02-2019, 11:35 AM
Sky only reporting that he'll be appointed within next 48 hours. Curious as to why you don't think he'll get it? I'm not saying your wrong, I'd just have thought sky would likely have heard something to release that statement.

Aren't they jsut like any news organisation and just repeating what has already been reported elsewhere?

And it is a cop out article - "Sky Sports understands" - with no sources quoted.

11-02-2019, 11:39 AM
Aren't they jsut like any news organisation and just repeating what has already been reported elsewhere?

And it is a cop out article - "Sky Sports understands" - with no sources quoted.

They never quote sources. Or they would very quickly lose their sources.

The fact they say Hibs "will" appoint suggests they know? Just my interpretation of it.

11-02-2019, 11:40 AM

Theres a difference between banking on something & taking it into consideration......How could you employ anyone without taking on board their past?

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 11:40 AM
Hopefully not another John Collins inviting everyone to the gun show when they're no training hard enough. Bit underwhelmed but happy to give him a go.

The board have to get this one right. No excuses.

11-02-2019, 11:41 AM

Can I be first in line?

11-02-2019, 11:42 AM
Hopefully not another John Collins inviting everyone to the gun show when they're no training hard enough. Bit underwhelmed but happy to give him a go.

They’ve gotten the last couple right in terms of general consensus- give them a break.

11-02-2019, 11:44 AM

Hopefully another in the mould of Stubbs and Lennon and he goes on to win something with us like they did.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 11:48 AM
Hopefully another in the mould of Stubbs and Lennon and he goes on to win something with us like they did.

Hopefully.

My post wasn't saying they didn't get those appointments right, it was saying they've got some making up to do for the past month or two.

11-02-2019, 11:49 AM
Maybe he'll bring in Heckingbottom to be his Ass Man?

I heard Ross Thompson MP is looking for a new gig...

11-02-2019, 11:51 AM
Hopefully.

My post wasn't saying they didn't get those appointments right, it was saying they've got some making up to do for the past month or two.

Why do they have making up to do?

11-02-2019, 11:51 AM
I heard Ross Thompson MP is looking for a new gig...

Ouch

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 11:53 AM
Why do they have making up to do?

Made the McGinn £ vanish into thin air
Still haven't replaced McGinn or McGeoch who were the driving force behind our two good seasons
Didn't back NL
Botched the suspension/sacking of NL

davhibby
11-02-2019, 11:55 AM
Still haven't replaced McGinn or McGeoch who were the driving force behind our two good seasons
Didn't back NL

Deary me.

11-02-2019, 11:56 AM
Deary me.

11-02-2019, 11:58 AM
Didn't back NL

Thanks for that response.

Didn't back NL

Deary me

Didn't back NL

Absolute rubbish

hibbydad
Didn't back NL
Think the Mcginn money is being paid in instalments. The 2 of them were virtually irreplaceable. I beg to differ the board did back Lennon

Bangkok Hibby
11-02-2019, 11:59 AM
Didn't back NL

How botched? You nor anyone else know what happened. Let it go FFS

joe_hfc
11-02-2019, 12:01 PM
Didn't back NL

Three out of those four points are incorrect, and the other one is a non-argument. 0/4 for me I'm afraid. I'm out.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:02 PM
Bloody hell anyone with eyes can see it was botched without knowing what's happened behind closed doors. The statement was a f'ing joke and played us all for absolute mugs.

I'll not be convinced otherwise that Leanne is out of her depth with a club this size.

11-02-2019, 12:03 PM
Absolute rubbish

Agreed. Complete drivel.

11-02-2019, 12:03 PM
Didn't back NL
McGeouch who was rumoured not to sign a new deal as he didn’t like playing under NL? Didn’t back him when spending good money on wages and/or transfer fees for Stokes, Efe, Mallan, Horgan, Flo, Marciano, Milligan?

He’s gone and he’s left us in a mess. Get over it ffs.

11-02-2019, 12:04 PM
Bloody hell anyone with eyes can see it was botched without knowing what's happened behind closed doors. The statement was a f'ing joke and played us all for absolute mugs.

I'll not be convinced otherwise that Leanne is out of her depth with a club this size.

Just so I'm getting this. You know it was botched but don't know what happened?

joe_hfc
11-02-2019, 12:04 PM

0/2 with this one. I'm out.

11-02-2019, 12:05 PM

You must be trolling

Confirmation of him getting the job wouldn’t be announced in the middle of the morning in a by the way news flash. If it is true, it will be a formal scarf over the head full on announcement, more likely later in the day ( today or tomorrow ). If we haven’t heard by teatime tomorrow, I would be starting to doubt the story.

Bangkok Hibby

You're the mug. Go and lie down for a while

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:06 PM
Just so I'm getting this. You know it was botched but don't know what happened?

How we handled the suspension publicly was botched.

Don't agree?

You've botched the spelling of her name, anybody with eyes can see that...

Just like the last 2? And in fact the only 2 in Dempsters time at Hibs.
She is going for 3 out 3 successful appointments , that would be an excellent record , im sure you’d agree 👍

11-02-2019, 12:07 PM
How we handled the suspension publicly was botched.

Don't agree?

Explain to me how it was publicly botched.

SuperSirJMcginn
You've botched the spelling of her name, anybody with eyes can see that...

Here we go again, correcting grammar and spelling because you can't argue the point... Yawn

Didn't back NL

McGinn money didn't vanish into thin air, that's just farcical. A club like Hibs was NE er going to go and spsnd3 million on one player. We still recruited a large volume of players o er the summer, some of who we paid a fee for, and most who would be on larger wages than squad players they were replacing.

We recruited players to replaced McGinn and McGeough however they've not hit the ground running. Funnily enough neither did McGinn or McGeough they grew in to their roles so maybe a little patience is required.

Neil Lennon was allowed to sign 33 players in two and a half years, including big names like Stokes and Ambrose, they also backed him to get rid of Stokes and replace both him and Murray in the Jan window, a time when clubs historically are quiet. Neil himself said the board backed him in interviews prior to leaving so where is the proof to back up claims the board didn't back him.

How exactly did they botch the end of Neil Lennon's to. E with us? Because they didn't give you a line by line update to satisfy your curiosity. The club took action they deemed appropriate by suspending Neil. This was dealt with privately by our HR and both parties representatives and an outcome both were satisfied with was reach, with a statement from both parties confirming this. Neil Lennon put his name to it so he must have agreed. The board then immediately began the process of replacing him.

Please provide some facts to back up the points you've made above?

11-02-2019, 12:08 PM
Here we go again, correcting grammar and spelling because you can't argue the point... Yawn
Argue the point? You’ve just repeated the same tag line over and over.

Tell us why the suspension was botched. Go.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:08 PM
Explain to me how it was publicly botched.

Did you not read the statement we put out after we suspended him?

11-02-2019, 12:09 PM
Didn't back NL
Deary me. Utter Tosh. Complete drivel.

Yes. Go on, explain why it was botched. Keen to hear this.

The one that was agreed by both parties in its wording? Wouldn’t read anything into that.

Next point?

11-02-2019, 12:10 PM
If it was botched as you stipulate you obviously know more than we do.Please enlighten us more then we can make judgements.

Can I get a link to the statement saying he was suspended in the first place? :confused:

Argue what point? You'll not be convinced that Leeann wasn't in the wrong. Even though you don't know the ins and outs of the situation. Pretty pointless debating or arguing with someone with views backed up by nothing.

You come across as someone that would have an argument with a wall tbh.

Confirmation of him getting the job wouldn’t be announced in the middle of the morning in a by the way news flash. If it is true, it will be a formal scarf over the head full on announcement, more likely later in the day ( today or tomorrow ). If we haven’t heard by teatime tomorrow, I would be starting to doubt the story.

I just doubt it will be him though.

BlackSheep
11-02-2019, 12:11 PM
Any chance we can discuss the potential appointment of Michael Appleton as new manager/head coach on here and keep the Lennon chat to the many threads about that particular subject. Thanks.

Welcome to Hibs Sir. I'm very excited!

SuperSirJMcginn
Hold on... No one here agrees that publicly suspending our manager and then releasing a statement saying he didn't do anything wrong and everything was fine and we're going our seperate ways was normal?

11-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Deary me. Can we get this thread back on track please?

11-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Hold on... No one here agrees that publicly suspending our manager and then releasing a statement saying he didn't do anything wrong and everything was fine and we're going our seperate ways was normal?

It's not unusual for someone to be suspended after allegations, pending an investigation, no.

11-02-2019, 12:13 PM

When did we “publicly suspend” him?

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:14 PM
It's not unusual for someone to be suspended after allegations, pending an investigation, no.

Could that not have been done privately, without anyone knowing?

11-02-2019, 12:14 PM
What, he’s not in the dugout the next game and you expect nobody to ask questions of that?

11-02-2019, 12:15 PM
Deary me. Can we get this thread back on track please?

There might be a common denominator between when this thread went off track and another thread being shut down earlier.

11-02-2019, 12:15 PM

Hibs did do it privately, unless I missed an announcement.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:17 PM
What, he’s not in the dugout the next game and you expect nobody to ask questions of that?

You're telling me they couldn't have done any of their investigations before the next game and had him bk in there without anyone being any the wiser?

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:17 PM
Hibs did do it privately, unless I missed an announcement.

You mean all the news stories that came out in every paper?

Aye, very private.

11-02-2019, 12:18 PM

You're not going to budge over your spelling of LeAnne...

BlackSheep
11-02-2019, 12:18 PM
Welcome to Hibs Sir. I'm very excited!

Have i missed something or are you prematurely reacting?

11-02-2019, 12:19 PM

It's been done to death on other threads and, without either party being able to give more details, it is impossible to come to a firm conclusion one way or the other.

Normal? Not normal? It's a matter of opinion at this point. Lennon has gone though that is fact. It is history now. We're moving on and so will he.

11-02-2019, 12:19 PM

Aye, very private.

The papers can write what they want, it doesn't make it official. It's only official if Hibs confirm and that didn't happen. You're just making stuff up the same as you have since you first started posting.

malcolm
11-02-2019, 12:20 PM

Your belief in the marvel comic like ability of ‘eyes’ is probably why you ‘believe’ things that only someone clearly bereft of logic, common sense and coupled with the suspension of critical analysis could!

Personally utilising logic, common sense and a critical appraisal of the evidence of the statement made and the subsequent silence leads me to expect that Hibs have played a blinder. The closest I get to a mug is enjoying coffee from my 2016 persevered one. :greengrin

11-02-2019, 12:20 PM

Aye, very private.

I feel like you're blaming Hibs for things out of their control. Unless you're suggesting that it was the club who were briefing the press?

11-02-2019, 12:24 PM
You're not going to budge over your spelling of LeAnne...

Saw what you did there:thumbsup:

Is he still here?

11-02-2019, 12:24 PM

You missed my post sorry, have you got a link to the public suspension please?

Caversham Green
11-02-2019, 12:25 PM
FWIW, Michael Appleton is very highly rated in this neck of the woods. Quite a few Reading Fans were calling for his appointment after Clement was sacked. Given the relationship between Oxford and Reading that's like Hibs fans calling for someone like Csaba Lazlo to manage Hibs.

I'm really hoping it is him now.

11-02-2019, 12:26 PM

Aye, very private.

People like you are actually starting to annoy me. All the conspiracy theories about the board and folk running our club , but not one ounce of any hard facts to back up the pish you spout.

Im by no means a great fan of Petrie and some of the things he has overseen in his time at the club .. But i do have brain cells , and with them i realise that the current mess is the old managers mess that we are clearing up.

Where were all you theories 2016-2018?

11-02-2019, 12:26 PM
FWIW, Michael Appleton is very highly rated in this neck of the woods. Quite a few Reading Fans were calling for his appointment after Clement was sacked. Given the relationship between Oxford and Reading that's like Hibs fans calling for someone like Csaba Lazlo to manage Hibs.

Csaba Lazlo?

11-02-2019, 12:28 PM

You hope it's Csaba Lazlo? I suppose he does meet the criteria some have been asking for as he knows the Scottish game and has won trophies :wink:

Caversham Green
11-02-2019, 12:29 PM
Csaba Lazlo?

You hope it's Csaba Lazlo? I suppose he does meet the criteria some have been asking for as he knows the Scottish game and has won trophies :wink:

:greengrin Aw c'mon lads you know what I mean.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:30 PM
The papers can write what they want, it doesn't make it official. It's only official if Hibs confirm and that didn't happen. You're just making stuff up the same as you have since you first started posting.

Why didn't they come out and publicly rubbish the stories then? There's no smoke without fire. We suspended him, it got out, we confirmed it by not denying it and then released that absolute horror of a statement.

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:30 PM
People like you are actually starting to annoy me. All the conspiracy theories about the board and folk running our club , but not one ounce of any hard facts to back up the pish you spout.

Im by no means a great fan of Petrie and some of the things he has overseen in his time at the club .. But i do have brain cells , and with them i realise that the current mess is the old managers mess that we are clearing up.

Where were all you theories 2016-2018?

I'm sorry but I'm not going to pretend it's all rosey in the garden when the board and Leanne need called out when they f it.

11-02-2019, 12:33 PM
Why didn't they come out and publicly rubbish the stories then? There's no smoke without fire. We suspended him, it got out, we confirmed it by not denying it and then released that absolute horror of a statement.

There is something wrong with you.......................

........did you get bored driving down the MHSC in your poop brown rover sporting a maroon cardigan and decide to sign up here?

Just do us all a favour and beat it.

11-02-2019, 12:33 PM
I'm sorry but I'm not going to pretend it's all rosey in the garden when the board and Leanne need called out when they f it.

What exactly have they ****ed?

Caversham Green
11-02-2019, 12:34 PM

Do you think Saba Laslo would be a good appointment too?

11-02-2019, 12:37 PM

Please explain how they Neilson-ed it up? While you are there a link to the official suspension of our former HC?

11-02-2019, 12:37 PM

It's already been explained to you many times the reason the statement is so vague but you're dogmatically holding on to this belief that Neil Lennon did nothing wrong and the board had to pay him off because they suspended him incorrectly, you won't be satisfied until Neil Lennon and Leeann Dempster sit you down and tell you to your face what happened, even then you'd likely just put your fingers in your ears and call them liars (though online, not to their faces).

Or you're just trolling.

11-02-2019, 12:40 PM
Have you ever run a business, managed a team where a knowledge of HR is required?

11-02-2019, 12:42 PM

Or - don't believe all you read in the papers.

BlackSheep
11-02-2019, 12:43 PM
No. Really.... lets keep this thread from descending into bickering and lets talk about Michael Appleton...!

SuperSirJMcginn
11-02-2019, 12:43 PM
Please explain how they Neilson-ed it up? While you are there a link to the official suspension of our former HC?

Please tell me "Neilson-ed" it up isn't a thing on here... We're no that sad are we?

11-02-2019, 12:44 PM
This thread is reeking :yw:

It's already been explained to you many times the reason the statement is so vague but you're dogmatically holding on to this belief that Neil Lennon did nothing wrong and the board had to pay him off because they suspended him incorrectly, you won't be satisfied until Neil Lennon and Leeann Dempster sit you down and tell you to your face what happened, even then you'd likely just put your fingers in your ears and call them liars (though online, not to their faces).

Or you're just trolling.

:agree: Also the "horror" of a statement was a joint effort agreed between all the parties - Hibs, NL and GP.

So if something was amiss in the way Hibs treated NL and GP, they must be liars and hypocrites to put their names to the statement. Which I am sure they are not.

SuperSirJMcginn
:agree: Also the "horror" of a statement was a joint effort agreed between all the parties - Hibs, NL and GP.

So if something was amiss in the way Hibs treated NL and GP, they must be liars and hypocrites to put their names to the statement. Which I am sure they are not.

Aye surely not...

11-02-2019, 12:46 PM
Aye surely not...

So you know better than the folks actually involved? Aye - surely not?

11-02-2019, 12:47 PM

Or you're just trolling.

Trolling 100%

Turned a perfectly healthy conversation about Appleton into a complete car crash.

This coincidently happened shortly after he managed to get another thread closed.

Quite sad really.

Aye surely not...

So the club, in particular Leeann Dempster, are liars and Neil Lennon and Gary Parker are liars but the red top papers and you know the truth?

I'd check your tin foil hat is working correctly buddy.

Caversham Green
No. Really.... lets keep this thread from descending into bickering and lets talk about Michael Appleton...!

As I've said he's highly rated down here - I think he'll be a great appointment.

11-02-2019, 12:48 PM

Hermit Crab's been launched then :greengrin

11-02-2019, 12:48 PM
Please tell me "Neilson-ed" it up isn't a thing on here... We're no that sad are we?

Off topic (Like most of this thread)..

How does it make you feel that Chris Dagnall has more winners medals than your pal Craig levein?

11-02-2019, 12:49 PM

I'll answer yours when you do mines.

11-02-2019, 12:50 PM

Again it's LEEANN!!

Lennon got suspended for making an arse of himself over several weeks culminating in a weird Friday that didn't go well for him. The statement was to save Lennon's face because if all the facts came out he'd struggle to get a job soon. These things happen all the time and Lennon being a volatile character it'll probably happen again.

Lennon was probably the wrong choice to be head coach as he went against the club's new philosophy of a young hungry up and coming coach but when Hibs knew he was interested they couldnt refuse.

11-02-2019, 12:50 PM
As I've said he's highly rated down here - I think he'll be a great appointment.

I don't know anything about him but I've faith in our current set up, based on the fact that the last two appointments have brought short term success each time and he still have a squad of players who we've seen perform at a much higher level than they currently are so if the folk involved in his recruitment think he's the man for the job I'm very happy to have him on board. Everything I've read on here over the last couple of days suggests he's a good fit though obviously it's an inexact science anytime you hire someone.

11-02-2019, 12:53 PM

Here's a link proving you correct mate;

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35453156

Spudster
11-02-2019, 12:55 PM
Didn't back NL

Made the McGinn £ vanish into thin air - no, it was invested in the internationals we signed
Still haven't replaced McGinn or McGeoch who were the driving force behind our two good seasons - we did, wether they are performing well enough is a different question
Didn't back NL - backed more than any manager since McLeish, NL even states he was happy with the backing
Botched the suspension/sacking of NL - given the settlement and then statement put in place we will never know

11-02-2019, 12:57 PM

How many user names you going to create? Seems to be a few your under now - well responses written in same tone/grammar!

11-02-2019, 12:58 PM

Given the legal minds that will have been representing both sides when drafting the statement it is not as absolute as you are presenting, when taken as a whole. My reading is that a deal was done before the disciplinary process started which clearly suited both parties.

“The suspension, put in place to allow an internal review, was lifted by the club as part of this agreement. Despite widespread speculation, the club confirms that neither Neil nor Garry has been guilty of any misconduct or wrongdoing and no disciplinary process has been commenced.

However, Neil, Garry and the club now consider that it would be in the best interests of all parties to part amicably.”

What would any desciplinary have concluded, we will never know.

11-02-2019, 12:59 PM
Made the McGinn £ vanish into thin air - no, it was invested in the internationals we signed
Still haven't replaced McGinn or McGeoch who were the driving force behind our two good seasons - we did, wether they are performing well enough is a different question
Didn't back NL - backed more than any manager since McLeish, NL even states he was happy with the backing
Botched the suspension/sacking of NL - given the settlement and then statement put in place we will never know

Don't waste your time, I've pointed this out on a couple of threads now and any time you provide a counter argument based on fact and evidence it gets ignored.

11-02-2019, 01:00 PM
Let me be the first to say, about time!