View Full Version : Darnell Johnson

08-02-2019, 05:18 PM
Has been cited and offered a two game ban for serious foul play. Didn’t think that could happen because he got booked? Also, if he does get cited. How has Scott Brown escaped any punishment?

08-02-2019, 05:19 PM
That’s brutal.

08-02-2019, 05:20 PM
Where you seeing that he got dealt with at the time so not possible to punish again surely?

08-02-2019, 05:20 PM
Has been cited and offered a two game ban for serious foul play. Didn’t think that could happen because he got booked? Also, if he does get cited. How has Scott Brown escaped any punishment?

What happens if we reject the two game ban?

08-02-2019, 05:21 PM
Thought if the ref seen it and took action at the time which he did then he couldn't be cited?

08-02-2019, 05:22 PM
What happens if we reject the two game ban?

We pay for the appeal and he will get an extra game.

08-02-2019, 05:22 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/

seems celtic players are untouchable

08-02-2019, 05:23 PM
:wtf:

What about Broony then and McGregor?

08-02-2019, 05:25 PM
Where you seeing that he got dealt with at the time so not possible to punish again surely?

That's my understanding.

What's going on?

08-02-2019, 05:26 PM
That's my understanding.

What's going on?

Yellows can be upgraded. Rule was changed ages ago.

we should appeal that....got a yellow card...same as Brown

Just seen it on the SFA site that’s a ***king joke btw, no Celtic players getting pulled the club need to go on the offensive on this one, farce. Making up the rules as they go.

08-02-2019, 05:28 PM
we should appeal that....got a yellow card...same as Brown

They wouldn’t look at the Brown incident unfortunately just the isolated incident.

08-02-2019, 05:28 PM
That’s a disgrace.

08-02-2019, 05:29 PM
Just seen it on the SFA site that’s a ***king joke btw, no Celtic players getting pulled the club need to go on the offensive on this one, farce. Making up the rules as they go.

They aren’t going to go for Celtic players the same day they will let Morelos off. It’s all about appeasing both clubs.

08-02-2019, 05:29 PM
Yellows can be upgraded. Rule was changed ages ago.

Wonder how often it happens? And when the last time it happened was? Referees aren't worth a sook in Scotland

08-02-2019, 05:30 PM
Who’s that cow that’s the compliance officer now get her tae ***k

berwickhibee
08-02-2019, 05:30 PM
The most corrupt league in europe. Total farce and a joke thats no longer funny. Steve clarke needs support from us here. Different rules for different clubs.

08-02-2019, 05:31 PM
:wtf:

What about Broony then and McGregor?

Mcgregor has been cited.

08-02-2019, 05:32 PM
Think our head coach should be in front of the cameras making a statement

08-02-2019, 05:34 PM
The SFA and the disciplinary process are already a joke. If Darnell is penalised and Scott Brown, McGregor or Morelos get off then that just further confirms the west coast bias.

The Tubs
08-02-2019, 05:34 PM
I actually thought the worst was simunovic. His jump didn’t require his arms to be where they were. It looked like he panicked and chucked out his arm to stop Shaw from taking the ball.

08-02-2019, 05:35 PM
The SFA and the disciplinary process are already a joke. If Darnell is penalised and Scott Brown, McGregor or Morelos get off then that just further confirms the west coast bias.

McGregor offered a 2 match ban

08-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Ive no seen browns tackle again- any replays?

To be fair, darnells was a dodgy tackle likes - couldnt complain if he was sent off at the time

08-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Is he suspended for tomorrow now? Is Sir Dave injured?

08-02-2019, 05:38 PM
McGregor offered a 2 match ban

Good, it was obviously intentional. Can't believe some pundits were saying he was just trying to protect himself.

And these Celtic clowns think the world is against them :hilarious

Is he suspended for tomorrow now? Is Sir Dave injured?

Depends if we appeal or not

08-02-2019, 05:39 PM

Can we put in an appeal after 5 tonight? Absolute farce.

08-02-2019, 05:41 PM

Tuesday is the hearing date

08-02-2019, 05:45 PM
Has been cited and offered a two game ban for serious foul play. Didn’t think that could happen because he got booked? Also, if he does get cited. How has Scott Brown escaped any punishment?Is it because the SPFL realised he plays for Hibs?

08-02-2019, 05:47 PM
What happens if we reject the two game ban?Straight to the next joint Masonic lodge / Sevco financial fair play meeting for a rubber stamp?

08-02-2019, 05:56 PM
Disgrace that this has been announced on the eve of a match
Hibs team probably picked for tomorrow
Rangers don’t play until Sunday, so they have at least a day extra

08-02-2019, 05:57 PM
Tuesday is the hearing date

Does that mean he’s not been banned yet which means he can play tomorrow? Phew.

08-02-2019, 05:57 PM

I think he can play tomorrow as his hearing is next week where they will decide if he’s banned or not.

08-02-2019, 05:58 PM

Agreed - that's why we should appeal....important game tomorrow...

08-02-2019, 05:58 PM
Does that mean he’s not been banned yet which means he can play tomorrow? Phew.:agree:

08-02-2019, 05:59 PM
Agreed - that's why we should appeal....important game tomorrow...

He’s not been banned yet so he is able to play.

I think he can play tomorrow as his hearing is next week where they will decide if he’s banned or not.

Haven’t seen it in print yet, have they offered him a 2 game ban

👍 I thought that compliance office had offered the ban already.

08-02-2019, 06:00 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/

08-02-2019, 06:00 PM
Haven’t seen it in print yet, have they offered him a 2 game ban

No, notice of complaint.

08-02-2019, 06:03 PM
👍 I thought that compliance office had offered the ban already.

Its only notice of complaint not a ban yet

08-02-2019, 06:06 PM
Who’s that cow that’s the compliance officer now get her tae ***k
You might think it is a b*llsh** decision but it is you that needs to get tae ***k making derogatory bovine comments like that.

08-02-2019, 06:10 PM
You might think it is a b*llsh** decision but it is you that needs to get tae ***k making derogatory bovine comments like that.

Too right. She should have swept it under the carpet though.

08-02-2019, 06:11 PM
What about the Celtic player who took out Shaw?

08-02-2019, 06:13 PM
What about the Celtic player who took out Shaw?

The clue is in the fourth word you wrote.

Presumably Simunovic has escaped being sited for his "challenge" on Ollie Shaw?

I wonder if Shaw will be available for tomorrow's match?

Agree. I'd offer the poster a two day ban. For the brutal lack of punctuation as well as for the stupid comment itself.

08-02-2019, 06:16 PM
It was a bad challenge and I honestly wouldn't object to it being upgraded to a red, if the rules were applied equally to other clubs.

As already said, the only difference between that challenge and Brown's was their player had to be taken off the pitch.

Galahibby
08-02-2019, 06:16 PM
Does that mean he’s not been banned yet which means he can play tomorrow? Phew.
Would it not have to be 2 league games he would miss?

08-02-2019, 06:17 PM
Would it not have to be 2 league games he would miss?

I don’t know. It’s the SFA so I would presume all games. Won’t be the cup regardless unless a replay.

madjock9
08-02-2019, 06:21 PM
It was a bad challenge and I honestly wouldn't object to it being upgraded to a red, if the rules were applied equally to other clubs.

As already said, the only difference between that challenge and Brown's was their player had to be taken off the pitch.

If you look again at the challenge and also the picture on the evening news site the Celtic players left leg is across his right which would increase the risk of injury. Had his leg stayed under then would have easily stayed on pitch.

Scotty Leither
08-02-2019, 06:23 PM
Welcome to Scotland, Darnell.

08-02-2019, 06:24 PM
I’m going to go against the grain here. He over ran the ball then made an attempt to rectify that and play the ball. Reckless yes but not deliberate I thought it looked worse in real time on Wednesday night. Ref deemed it a yellow. Think he was right. The Celtic player gets up mains and complains walks to the edge of the pitch then goes down like he’s been shot. Stretchered off.������ if he ha stayed off the pitch where he’d walked to we could have got in with the game. We should tell them to bolt.

08-02-2019, 06:27 PM

Rangers game is tomorrow at 17:15 Billy.

08-02-2019, 06:27 PM
They apparently decided that Thomson didn’t see the challenge properly so it’s being upgraded. What a ****ing shambles.

08-02-2019, 06:28 PM
Just watched a video of the Scott Brown challenge.

Horrendous and how can he get away with that.

It was a shocking challenge on Slivka last celtic game at ER also.

08-02-2019, 06:28 PM
I’m going to go against the grain here. He over ran the ball then made an attempt to rectify that and play the ball. Reckless yes but not deliberate I thought it looked worse in real time on Wednesday night. Ref deemed it a yellow. Think he was right. The Celtic player gets up mains and complains walks to the edge of the pitch then goes down like he’s been shot. Stretchered off.������ if he ha stayed off the pitch where he’d walked to we could have got in with the game. We should tell them to bolt.
Like you, at the game on Wednesday I thought it was a shocker. Thought both his feet were off the ground
Watched it again, it looks like he’s trying to pull out of the challenge

08-02-2019, 06:30 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190208/5aa73a3dea4c01824ffc7981dfc04387.gif

08-02-2019, 06:31 PM
thats worse than Johnson’s

percy veer
08-02-2019, 06:37 PM

That's a shocker, Craig Thomson miss a red card against hibs..never

08-02-2019, 06:39 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190208/5aa73a3dea4c01824ffc7981dfc04387.gifPenalty to Hearts all day long

08-02-2019, 06:39 PM
The clue is in the fourth word you wrote.

Haha good point!

08-02-2019, 06:43 PM
What an absolute farce of an organisation. I actually didn't think it was that bad a tackle.

Certainly nowhere near as bad as Brown's.

08-02-2019, 06:44 PM

Wow just wow

08-02-2019, 06:46 PM

Brown gets away with assault yet again.

08-02-2019, 06:51 PM
Can someone also explain how Johnson's being threatened with a two game ban here but if he had been sent off at the time he would most likely have been banned for just one game?

08-02-2019, 06:54 PM
Can someone also explain how Johnson's being threatened with a two game ban here but if he had been sent off at the time he would most likely have been banned for just one game?

red for violent conduct is a 2 game ban

08-02-2019, 06:55 PM
You point is valid, as if you dive its a booking, yet its 2 game ban if you summoned????

08-02-2019, 06:55 PM

As was Simunovic’s assault on Oli Shaw, that’s also now been deemed OK. And Burke’s embarrassing dive in the second half apparently merits no further action either.

Stevie Clarke is absolutely spot on, there’s no consistency in applying the rules. Other than they consistently don’t apply to the Old Firm, obviously.

08-02-2019, 06:57 PM
https://twitter.com/durko92/status/1093467642780925953?s=21

Dive or not😜

08-02-2019, 06:58 PM

Perhaps because a sending off means you miss part of the match you are sent off in? Sort of miss 1.5 games. They can't obviously ban you for the time of the original match you would have missed..

08-02-2019, 07:00 PM

Dive or not😜

One of the strange made up rules are if the players dive you can only get done for it if a penalty is given and nothing to do with the cheating.

08-02-2019, 07:05 PM
Football in Scotland will never improve if they keep having awful officials and making decisions like they have been this season.

The inconsistency shown makes the game look corrupt and a farce.

Wish clubs would get together and call for strike action to force change.

08-02-2019, 07:06 PM
quite baffling broonies scissor tackle doesn't get him cited, strange

08-02-2019, 07:08 PM

Dive or not😜

i missed that one, laughable attempt to win a penalty

Galahibby
08-02-2019, 07:09 PM
They apparently decided that Thomson didn’t see the challenge properly so it’s being upgraded. What a ****ing shambles.

So Thompson's essentially admitting to booking Johnson when he hasn't actually seen the tackle? Where was his linesman at this point? Will they be getting offered 2 match bans for being utterly pointless? 🤦

Galahibby
08-02-2019, 07:13 PM
I don’t know. It’s the SFA so I would presume all games. Won’t be the cup regardless unless a replay.

Who knows? They seem to just be making up / changing the rules to suit themselves as they go along.

jst1875
08-02-2019, 07:14 PM
Perhaps because a sending off means you miss part of the match you are sent off in? Sort of miss 1.5 games. They can't obviously ban you for the time off the original match you would have missed..

so a player sent off in the first minute would then miss 3 games 🙄

08-02-2019, 07:18 PM
This is mental. Morelos gets caught on TV a few times kicking out in the old firm game and gets no punishment at the time despite either offence being worth a red card.

They look at it and the referee says he saw it but thought it was ok so warranted no booking.

No action taken retrospectively as a result.

In this one the ref has seen it and decided it was a yellow but that's going to be upgraded?

Is that not a bit mental?

Who knows? They seem to just be making up / changing the rules to suit themselves as they go along.

True, very true. Nobody knows the rules apart from that the old firm are usually exempt. Congratulations on someone doing something about McGregor after about the 30th time he’s kicked out at someone or went down faking injury. Utter welt of a guy who gets away with it time and time again.

red for violent conduct is a 2 game ban

I always thought it was a one game ban unless it was deemed excessive but I've just read up on it and it appears to be a two game ban for all straight red card offences except for cases of using insulting language or gestures and also denying an obvious goalscoring opportunity.

08-02-2019, 07:21 PM
It’s astonishing that Jozo Simunovic escaped action for his assault on Shaw . One rule for us and another for them .

08-02-2019, 07:24 PM
This is mental. Morelos gets caught on TV a few times kicking out in the old firm game and gets no punishment at the time despite either offence being worth a red card.

They look at it and the referee says he saw it but thought it was ok so warranted no booking.

In this one the ref has seen it and decided it was a yellow but that's going to be upgraded?

Is that not a bit mental?We really shouldnt have beaten Sevco in that final. The consequences will be never ending.

08-02-2019, 07:24 PM
so a player sent off in the first minute would then miss 3 games 🙄

But he wouldn't be sent off during the first match

08-02-2019, 07:27 PM

Shocking and yet we get pulled up, one rule and all that ****

08-02-2019, 07:30 PM
We really shouldnt have beaten Sevco in that final. The consequences will be never ending.

Take all the consequences in the world. I’ll die a happy man being there 👍

08-02-2019, 07:31 PM

Rangers fans will make enough uproar in the next couple of days for that to change.

I think our ban is different from being offered a ban from the compliance wifie. Who knows though.

08-02-2019, 07:32 PM
Morelos banned for 3 matches

banned comfirmed 3 matches

Brown will definitely be done now then.

08-02-2019, 07:34 PM
Take all the consequences in the world. I’ll die a happy man being there [emoji106]Great minds think alike

Football in Scotland will never improve if they keep having awful officials and making decisions like they have been this season.

The inconsistency shown makes the game look corrupt and a farce.

Wish clubs would get together and call for strike action to force change.

I just wish they would do something!
Makes my blood boil the corruption and blatant favouritism, in Scottish football.

Brown will definitely be done now then.

Has he been cited?

Said it before and I will say it again.

The time to get hold the SFA to account was when the SPFL requested and independent inquiry into their scandalous handling of the EBT scandal and the SFA refused. Petrie, Dempster et al chose to ‘move on’ with unseemly haste .

The SFA are now emboldened and know if they can casually get away with the biggest scandal in British footbal they can take the piss out of us and do whatever they please.

Absolutely no point complaining abou anything they do now, we’ve given them the authority to do it.

08-02-2019, 07:36 PM
Has he been cited?

He can still be offered a ban. Which will happen I would guess now McGregor and Morelos are being done.

08-02-2019, 07:36 PM
Great minds think alike

Good man 👍

08-02-2019, 07:38 PM
He can still be offered a ban. Which will happen I would guess now McGregor and Morelos are being done.

Hope so because that tackle is worse than Johnsons.

08-02-2019, 07:41 PM

I’d be surprised if that happened, think they’ve reviewed the incidents from our match

08-02-2019, 07:43 PM

I have no great love for Scott Brown and especially Celtic.
However, who ever edited that clip has deliberately edited the 1 second of action before this too corrupt what actually happened.

08-02-2019, 07:45 PM
However, who ever edited that clip has deliberately edited the 1 second of action before this too corrupt what actually happened.

Doesn’t matter if he took a heavy touch the follow through shin high is a red all day long

08-02-2019, 07:45 PM

Regardless of what happened before it the tackle on MM is a shocker

08-02-2019, 07:47 PM
Brown will definitely be done now then.Wouldnt bank on it, I remember a couple of seasons ago Brown went through a Ross County player, studs ripped the players sock, Brown was shown a straight red, Celtic later appealed it and astonishingly it was reversed 😲

There is footage but I cant upload on my phone

EastCalderHibby
08-02-2019, 07:48 PM
i missed that one, laughable attempt to win a penalty

agree but if we were winning he would have got the penalty

08-02-2019, 07:51 PM

It was the second game against us on a row that he'd "done" Slivka as well.

08-02-2019, 07:52 PM
It was the second game against us on a row that he'd "done" Slivka as well.

Think it was Milligan this time

08-02-2019, 07:53 PM
Think it was Milligan this time

He did slivka in the first half a shocker aswell

08-02-2019, 07:54 PM

Was that the one he should have been booked for?

08-02-2019, 07:56 PM
Was that the one he should have been booked for?

Yeah mate I actually thought on another day he could have walked for that aswell but defo minimum a booking. Argued his first tackle then Milligan’s first tackle was as bad and went straight in the book again on another day that could have been red. Brown off Scott free again no pun intended

08-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Yeah mate I actually thought on another day he could have walked for that aswell but defo minimum a booking. Argued his first tackle then Milligan’s first tackle was as bad and went straight in the book again on another day that could have been red. Brown off Scott free again no pun intended

I haven’t seen it other than at the game and thought it should have been a booking then his assault on MM should have been a straight red

08-02-2019, 08:05 PM
agree but if we were winning he would have got the penalty

oh no doubt about that :agree: although tbf craigy has went out of his way(imo) to be fair to us since his blatant cheating was televised for everyone to see at the 'cheats' final

08-02-2019, 08:38 PM

Haver. He's a dirty ****

08-02-2019, 08:49 PM
Hibs apparently seething privately about 3 Celtic players avoiding punishment. Simunovic, Brown and Burke for the elbow, tackle and dive.

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2019/02/08/hibs-privately-furious-celtic-trio-have-avoid-punishment-after-darnell-johnson-is-pulled-up/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

08-02-2019, 08:49 PM
Hibs apparently seething privately about 3 Celtic players avoiding punishment. Simunovic, Brown and Burke for the elbow, tackle and dive.

Can we seethe publically instead of being a little bitch club for once.

08-02-2019, 08:51 PM

08-02-2019, 09:04 PM
Doesn’t matter if he took a heavy touch the follow through shin high is a red all day long
Not seen the whole clip but if I recall on the night Brown was caught on the ball and he lost control of it.

08-02-2019, 09:08 PM

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2019/02/08/hibs-privately-furious-celtic-trio-have-avoid-punishment-after-darnell-johnson-is-pulled-up/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

We should call the SFA out in that case. We won’t though. Better not rock the boat.

08-02-2019, 09:10 PM

Fed up of this "dignified silence" pish. Moaning gets results.

08-02-2019, 09:12 PM

Eddie May should take the opportunity to go ballistic about this, highlighting Brown especially and Thompson's inconsistency. If May gets a ban for his comments it really doesn't matter. Doubt he has the gumption though.

08-02-2019, 09:13 PM
Not seen the whole clip but if I recall on the night Brown was caught on the ball and he lost control of it.

How is this not a red....or cited

https://twitter.com/cammychristie97/status/1093980162625019905?s=21

08-02-2019, 09:27 PM
Eddie May should take the opportunity to go ballistic about this, highlighting Brown especially and Thompson's inconsistency. If May gets a ban for his comments it really doesn't matter. Doubt he has the gumption though.

Or smart enough. Most reluctant "manager" we've ever had and passed up perfect opportunity to shed that burden.

08-02-2019, 10:06 PM

Shocking tackle.

08-02-2019, 10:21 PM
Shocking tackle.

Shocking eh?

Sorry. Wrong thread.

BoyledEgg
08-02-2019, 11:10 PM
Hibs have rejected the ban. He’s free for tomorrow

08-02-2019, 11:13 PM
Hibs have rejected the ban. He’s free for tomorrow

He was anyway I think

08-02-2019, 11:13 PM
I remember a few years ago Hibs getting the lawyers involved over a case with the SFA which we tied them in knots and won the case. Don’t think we will just roll over here

son of haggart
09-02-2019, 12:14 AM
That's my understanding.

What's going on?

It's a Glasgow team

See the special rulebook

09-02-2019, 12:54 AM
It's a Glasgow team

See the special rulebook

It's a farce, Scott.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, and I don't think the game is corrupt, but it's hard to understand how Morelos got off with the things he did against Celtic.

That they decided to appeal the latest red card suggests that they think they've got friends in the right places.

It's reassuring to see that they don't.

09-02-2019, 01:28 AM
We genuinely have one of the most corrupt leagues in the world.

Which team got 12 consecutive home draws in the cup? And then 4 penalties in one game?

Which other team are apparently unable get a player sent off despite numerous assaults? And have the temerity to complain about being the victim of poor officiating?

We and the non Glasgow clubs in Scottish football really need to make a stand, it's an absolute joke.

09-02-2019, 09:17 AM

Is that not a bit mental?

this is why VAR will not work in Scotland our officialdom is corrupt, I never used to think this until the SFA/SPFL bent over backeards for der hun, a retired ref came out and said they gave more decisions to the glasgow two because of pressure, the officiating is terrible, you CANNOT have referees whom support the huns or hertz officiating in matches involving their supported club, its madness, as for Morelos and Broonie constantly getting let off It BEGGARS BELIEF it really does, the games ****ed in Scotland.

09-02-2019, 09:32 AM
One of the strange made up rules are if the players dive you can only get done for it if a penalty is given and nothing to do with the cheating.

So simulation doesn't count if nothing is given at the time? How are they expecting to stop this kind of behaviour if there are no repercussions at the time of the attempt?

****ing joke

Argylehibby
09-02-2019, 10:00 AM
It's a farce, Scott.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, and I don't think the game is corrupt, but it's hard to understand how Morelos got off with the things he did against Celtic.

That they decided to appeal the latest red card suggests that they think they've got friends in the right places.

They still do but now and again to at least try and display an element of fairness the friend has to rule against them. Normal service will resume now and if challenged they will point to this as proof there is no bias.

09-02-2019, 10:47 AM
Does the ref have a say in this? e.g do they go back and review decisions and then say yes I got that wrong. If so doesnt really surprise given the cheat involved.

09-02-2019, 10:57 AM
It's a farce, Scott.

I think the game is corrupt, and feel they maybe feared some sort of backlash if he was cleared again.

09-02-2019, 11:00 AM
When did the rules change to say an offence can be cited even if it was addressed at the time? I thought if the ref gave a booking then no further action could be taken?

09-02-2019, 11:21 AM

Red card all day long. Worse than that, Brown knew what he was doing. Clear intent to injure the player.