View Full Version : Scottish Cup Banana Skins

08-02-2019, 07:56 AM
Some cup Memories before Saturday

Raith game on Saturday has a whole lot of danger signs for me , due to our current situation

That said, there have been many along the years

What’s your memories of underdog victories against us in the Cup..Or near misses...

One that stands out for me , was a Scottish cup defeat at old Kilbowie against Clydebank- who I’m sure where one or two divisions below us at the time - wasn’t a great Hibs side to be fair - think we went out to a meek 1-0 defeat.

Always liked going to that ground for some reason though !

Cup days used to have a real excitement and cache over the years - slightly changed now- with some obvious amazing exceptions... Any other mementoes against the smaller clubs ?

08-02-2019, 07:58 AM
0-0 at home to Ayr and losing 1-0 in the replay through there to the most poorly defended goal in the history of the game

08-02-2019, 08:03 AM
2-1 Stirling Albion in a replay was a shocker, as was the Ross County replay defeat.

08-02-2019, 08:06 AM
2-1 Stirling Albion in a replay was a shocker, as was the Ross County replay defeat.

Was that the replay up there in circa 2010? That was a sore one indeed .. long journey home !

08-02-2019, 08:08 AM
Not really a huge shock as such but a 2-0 defeat at home to Kilmarnock on a freezing cold day sticks in my mind. Jim Leighton had an absolute nightmare.

08-02-2019, 08:13 AM
Not really a huge shock as such but a 2-0 defeat at home to Kilmarnock on a freezing cold day sticks in my mind. Jim Leighton had an absolute nightmare.

Was that when Paul Wright lobbed him from miles out after a bad kick out or something?

08-02-2019, 08:16 AM
The falkirk semi final which we lost 1 0 was a shocker. We actually played well just couldn't score.

08-02-2019, 08:18 AM
Was that the replay up there in circa 2010? That was a sore one indeed .. long journey home !

Yes it was they scored a stoppage time winner from being 0-1 down after Stokes had given us the lead. They scored 2 goals in the last 20 minutes, there was trouble after the game as a county fan invaded the pitch holding a Hearts top which led to fighting behind the main stand. Brutal journey home that.

08-02-2019, 08:20 AM
Getting beat 3-2 by the same opposition at home under Butcher. I remember leaving that game thinking we had a problem for the first time.

To make it worse Celtic got knocked out that day.

08-02-2019, 08:21 AM

Paul Wright scored two in the snow?

I was mascot that day!

08-02-2019, 08:27 AM

that was a brutal drive back down the road

Half expected the Inverness replay to go the same way, especially after the final loss. One of the best journey's home from a game that was

berwickhibee
08-02-2019, 08:28 AM

I was mascot that day!

Coldest day ever.

08-02-2019, 08:29 AM
Losing 0-2 away to East Fife at Methil early eighties.

08-02-2019, 08:29 AM
Getting beat 3-2 by the same opposition at home under Butcher. I remember leaving that game thinking we had a problem for the first time.

To make it worse Celtic got knocked out that day.

Said to my mate after that game that if We didn't buck up our ideas we would be in the play offs. Got told I was talking ***** and we would finish top 6.

As soon as that watmore started beating a couple of men they started kicking ***** out him and we never really seen him again apart from the odd performance

08-02-2019, 08:37 AM

I was in a crush trying to get in to that game - was only time my feet left the ground in a crowd ...was scared...iirc Durie destroyed us that night...we signed him soon after...

linlithgowhibbie
08-02-2019, 08:43 AM
Losing 1-3 to Montrose away, in the 70s, when we had a decent team!!!!

08-02-2019, 08:43 AM

Half expected the Inverness replay to go the same way, especially after the final loss. One of the best journey's home from a game that was

was the opposite experience that wasn't it...completely expected us to go out after the cup final just before...Was as good an away cup performance as I had seen in years - so important for the club that one..Very proud Hibee driving home that night.

08-02-2019, 08:49 AM

yes. League Cup Quarter Final that - wasn't there - but do remember it.....put out AET.. we won 1-0 at ER in a two legged game

Had a look at the Hibs team that day:

McArthur, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Barry, Blackley, Edwards, Higgins, Harper, Munro & Duncan - Decent 11!

08-02-2019, 08:53 AM

Aye Paul Wright came back to haunt us one lob the ba came doon wi snaw oan it beat Leighton all ends up and it was bloody freezing

08-02-2019, 09:04 AM

Nightmare Alan Rough played on with a broken leg and kept the score down

They had a young Gordon Marshall in goals a young Juke Box and a young Stevie Kirk scored the winner

Our Supporters Bus got lost trying to find his way this guy on the bus said he was a bus driver and knew a quick way cue abandoning the bus and sprinting to the ground to make kick off. :confused:

Happy days!

Stokesy's on fire
08-02-2019, 09:21 AM
Raith pose a serious danger to any spfl side and we have to respect them before we can beat them. i fancy us to turn them over though 4-0 Hibs

08-02-2019, 09:21 AM

That was horrible. Was still at Heriot Watt and went up on the supporters bus for the first time. When we finally arrived back in Edinburgh I just missed the first night bus, couldn't get on the second as I had no money (didn't realise it was £3) and finally got on the third after trading another guy my £10 note for slightly less money in change. Think I got back around 3am.

08-02-2019, 10:50 AM

I was there... miserable journey home that was.....

JimboHibs
08-02-2019, 11:03 AM
Raith pose a serious danger to any spfl side and we have to respect them before we can beat them. i fancy us to turn them over though 4-0 Hibs

You fancy us to beat them 4-0 but think they are a danger ?

That dont make sense 🤷*♂️

08-02-2019, 11:11 AM
1976/77, Arbroath away where we scraped a 1-1 draw thanks to a John Blackley goal. Replay at Easter Road in a game played in torrential rain we managed to lose 2-1 after leading 1-0 through an Ally Macleod goal.

08-02-2019, 11:12 AM
Last 2 home Scottish Cup defeats to Raith saw us get relegated both seasons (97/98 and 13/14) :worried:

08-02-2019, 11:16 AM
Last 2 home Scottish Cup defeats to Raith saw us get relegated both seasons (97/98 and 13/14) :worried:

Last SC win over Raith seen us win the cup. :dunno:

08-02-2019, 11:16 AM

Went up in the Tranent Hibs supporters bus, after the match went into a small grocers shop in Montrose to get something to eat for the long trek home. The shop was invaded by Hibs supporters who began stealing everything in sight. The young girl behind the counter tried to stop them and ended up getting a sore punch in the face. To top it all somebody threw a carton of milk which exploded all over me. By the time I got home I was stinking of sour milk.

08-02-2019, 11:17 AM
Last SC win over Raith seen us win the cup. :dunno:

That was away from home tho.

NthCarolinaHibs
08-02-2019, 11:19 AM
1976/77, Arbroath away where we scraped a 1-1 draw thanks to a John Blackley goal. Replay at Easter Road in a game played in torrential rain we managed to lose 2-1 after leading 1-0 through an Ally Macleod goal.

Can mind several shop windows getting tanned on Cockburn Street that night..🙄

08-02-2019, 11:19 AM
Raith are 10/1 with Hills.

Niagara Lad
08-02-2019, 11:20 AM
yes. League Cup Quarter Final that - wasn't there - but do remember it.....put out AET.. we won 1-0 at ER in a two legged game

McArthur, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Barry, Blackley, Edwards, Higgins, Harper, Munro & Duncan - Decent 11!

Still remember the Montrose winner in extra time. A 60 yard punt from their full back Les Barr.

08-02-2019, 11:20 AM
That was away from home tho.

Still our last Scottish cup win against them. :greengrin

allmodcons
08-02-2019, 11:21 AM

Raith game on Saturday has a whole lot of danger signs for me , due to our current situation

What’s your memories of underdog victories against us in the Cup..Or near misses...

One that stands out for me , was a Scottish cup defeat at old Kilbowie against Clydebank- who I’m sure where one or two divisions below us at the time - wasn’t a great Hibs side to be fair - think we went out to a meek 1-0 defeat.

Cup days used to have a real excitement and cache over the years - slightly changed now- with some obvious amazing exceptions... Any other mementoes against the smaller clubs ?

It was 1v0 Clydebank, early 1987. They were a Premier League side then. Got relegated at the end of season 1986/87.

Horrible defeat.

08-02-2019, 11:25 AM
I can remember Meadowbank thistle with a certain Arthur Duncan playing ,knocking us out the league cup at ER . Early 80s .

08-02-2019, 11:25 AM

I was at that game and pretty much all of the other ones.

What a horrible thread to start on the eve of our cup tie!

Lucky I'm not superstitious.

Aw naw, I forgot, I am. :paranoid:

08-02-2019, 11:33 AM
Raith are 10/1 with Hills.

Oh, oh, someone must have backed them.

They're in to 9s now.

Cardinal G
08-02-2019, 11:35 AM

I was mascot that day!

Was the coldest I have ever been at a match I think.

Cardinal G
08-02-2019, 11:37 AM
It was 1v0 Clydebank, early 1987. They were a Premier League side then. Got relegated at the end of season 1986/87.

Horrible defeat.

Remember having a massive support that day, was gutted as I felt this was going to be our year.
Liked the ground but surrounding area was pretty sure.

skyhibs
08-02-2019, 11:40 AM
Losing 2-1 at home to raith rovers.... oh wait that’s no till tomorrow... only joking don’t see us slipping up tomorrow.players should be right up for this one

Fergos
08-02-2019, 11:44 AM

.....after a nil nil draw at ER. Scarves thrown on pitch after replay defeat, my first real heartbreak as a Hibee!

08-02-2019, 11:50 AM

Did a lad called Barr not score from about 40 yards ?

08-02-2019, 11:52 AM
Still remember the Montrose winner in extra time. A 60 yard punt from their full back Les Barr.

Did a lad called Barr not score from about 40 yards ?

Apparently so! ;).

08-02-2019, 12:00 PM
The Falkirk 1-0 semi loss. Battered them and Allan rattled the bar before they scored.

Quarter Final against Ross County 2010. Should’ve had them buried without the need for a replay.

Both absolute sickeners at the time, A’s was the semi loss to Aberdeen two years ago but that was a wee bit different.

08-02-2019, 12:11 PM
Off the top of my head,
Beaten by Airdrie at ER

Beaten by East Fife at Bayview

Beaten by Raith at Starks Park & ER

Just finished reading the local paper where the various games between the 2 clubs are listed showing the Raith wins, didn't realize they had beaten so many times.

Mantis Toboggan
08-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Another vote for the Stirling Albion replay in 1998/99. Chris Jackson with the winner, in an era when ex players seemed to score against us constantly

08-02-2019, 12:27 PM

That's the one for me. Actually lucky to get the draw in Arbroath & thought that was the banana skin avoided, McLeod scored to put us 1:0 up at ER & I settled back & relaxed. Oyah. Ouch.

08-02-2019, 12:30 PM
.....after a nil nil draw at ER. Scarves thrown on pitch after replay defeat, my first real heartbreak as a Hibee!

Mine also. Had pretty much just started following home and away when this happened.

08-02-2019, 12:31 PM
That's the one for me. Actually lucky to get the draw in Arbroath & thought that was the banana skin avoided, McLeod scored to put us 1:0 up at ER & I settled back & relaxed. Oyah. Ouch.

had forgotten about that one - was at the home game...was a big loss at the time too! Perhaps a sign of changing times for Turnbull.

08-02-2019, 12:38 PM

Anyone remember the polythene cover East Fife had over their ****ty wee stand and a wee mannie had to keep wiping it doon because of the condensation?
It was Baltic!

08-02-2019, 12:40 PM
1958 Scottish Cup Final

Hibernian 0 v 1 Clyde

Ah know it’s ***** being a hibby!

08-02-2019, 12:43 PM

Horrible defeat.

We had beaten them 4-1 the week before too in the league😫

08-02-2019, 12:54 PM
Mine also. Had pretty much just started following home and away when this happened.
Posted ma scarf through the letter box of Gordon Marshall’s hairdressers shop at the West End later that night on the way home

08-02-2019, 01:18 PM

Horrible defeat.

I was on the Hawkhill bus that day, a couple of windows got put in IIRC.

cocteautwin
08-02-2019, 01:21 PM
I can remember Meadowbank thistle with a certain Arthur Duncan playing ,knocking us out the league cup at ER . Early 80s .

Was that the game that was all square and went to extra time? I remember getting let in for free around 80 minutes and then losing out in extra time. Painful

08-02-2019, 01:26 PM

Horrible defeat.

I remember having a scrap with the Clydebank fan on the rail track that ran parallel to their ground after the game

Change that to rail track dancing :greengrin

08-02-2019, 01:27 PM

I remember that. Me and my mate got so utterly ****ed off with Hibs that night (I think it was an evening game) that we started supporting Thistle for the tail end of the game because Hibs were so undeserving of anything from it.

08-02-2019, 01:36 PM
I remember that. Me and my mate got so utterly ****ed off with Hibs that night (I think it was an evening game) that we started supporting Thistle for the tail end of the game because Hibs were so undeserving of anything from it.

Was an evening game.

IIRC, we'd been 2 up.

08-02-2019, 01:43 PM

I remember the bus windows getting tanned a couple of times, Dumfries being one of them, but Clydebank doesn't ring a bell.

Maybe I wasn't on the bus that day.

08-02-2019, 01:58 PM
I remember having a scrap with the Clydebank fan on the rail track that ran parallel to their ground after the game

Change that to rail track dancing :greengrin

Yes, Clydebank - surrounded by many houses , always had an extra spark about it....:agree:

tynehibs
08-02-2019, 03:21 PM
Was an evening game.

IIRC, we'd been 2 up.

1984league cup ? Iost 1-2 aet

08-02-2019, 03:23 PM
1984league cup ? Iost 1-2 aet

2-3 iirc

08-02-2019, 03:24 PM
2-3 iirc

Pretty sure it was 1-2

08-02-2019, 03:31 PM
Pretty sure it was 1-2

Wiki does have it 2-1.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1984%E2%80%9385_Scottish_League_Cup

Did they do it another time?

Or was it an EOS game I'm thinking of?

Or are the drugs wearing off/kicking in?

08-02-2019, 03:33 PM
Ayr Utd in the League Cup Semi final was a shocker.

Scottish Cup wise I remember we got horsed off Dunfermline big time in a cup replay early 00s, sure it was the round after Brebner scored a hatrick?

Ross County hurt like hell too.

08-02-2019, 03:42 PM

Regularly run past Chris Jackson’s house when out jogging. I’ve still not forgiven him for that evening

08-02-2019, 03:43 PM
Yes, Clydebank - surrounded by many houses , always had an extra spark about it....:agree:

Yip! Long time ago now but remember there was a lot of trouble after the game the incident took place at a local tube station on the way back to the Weedge both sets of supporters ended up chucking stones at each other You can see the railtrack behind the goals

https://www.flickr.com/photos/tobester_35/4058603129

tynehibs
08-02-2019, 04:05 PM
Wiki does have it 2-1.

Beat them 6-0 sc78/79 and 1-0 sc79/80, lost to them1980 Eos on pens after a 0-0 and again in83/84 inEos on pens after a1-1

08-02-2019, 04:08 PM

Was it against RR that Houchy stuck the Vickies up to the fans ? Happy days :)

found it - hadn’t read this article interesting read

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwj-y7nI0KzgAhUl5uAKHXoRC6EQzPwBegQIARAC&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.scotsman.com%2Fsport%2Ffootb all%2Fkeith-houchen-thrilled-with-hibs-pressure-on-rangers-1-3950042&psig=AOvVaw3uR6n0jQETn0PXg4tmu9P_&ust=1549732227180976

08-02-2019, 04:17 PM
Was it against RR that Houchy stuck the Vickies up to the fans ? Happy days :)

Raith away Alex Miller never really fancied him and he was off

SideBurns
08-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Wiki does have it 2-1.

Think that was the game Arthur Duncan got injured, then never kicked another ba' for us? If I'm right, pretty sad end to Arthur's Hibs career! I was definitely there anyway.

08-02-2019, 04:45 PM
Posted ma scarf through the letter box of Gordon Marshall’s hairdressers shop at the West End later that night on the way home

I do remember feeling enormously gutted. Probably being so young was the reason more than anything.

08-02-2019, 05:13 PM

McArthur, Brownlie, Schaedler, Stanton, Barry, Blackley, Edwards, Higgins, Harper, Munro & Duncan - Decent 11!Was this the one where Simon Murray's dad Gary scored against us and we were so impressed we signed him?

I was at the ER game but memory isn't what it was!

08-02-2019, 05:13 PM
Was this the one where Simon Murray's dad Gary scored against us and we were so impressed we signed him?

think that was later....was he not an 80s player??

08-02-2019, 05:16 PM
Was this the one where Simon Murray's dad Gary scored against us and we were so impressed we signed him?

Are you getting confused with a game we played against East Fife? We signed Durie after that one I think.

08-02-2019, 05:19 PM
think that was later....was he not an 80s player??Will take a look at my archive when I get home. So many shocks to pick from!

08-02-2019, 05:20 PM
Was there ever a Scottish Cup game where one of our players went in goal in a replay? I’m sure this happened mid 90s and I was listening on my walkwan.

08-02-2019, 05:25 PM
think that was later....was he not an 80s player??You're right, as is CWG. Gary scored against us for Montrose in 79/80 season league cup but we managed a win! Signed for Hibs thereafter.

Where did the decades go?

08-02-2019, 05:26 PM
You're right, as is CWG. Gary scored against us for Montrose in 79/80 season league cup but we managed a win! Signed for Hibs thereafter.

Where did the decades go?

that is a good archive ! :thumbsup:

08-02-2019, 05:29 PM
that is a good archive ! [emoji106]Phoned home and instantly got the answer from our very own Jonnyboys excellent book In Colours Green and White page 203. I'm still in the pub festering about Hibs today[emoji6]

08-02-2019, 05:31 PM
Was there ever a Scottish Cup game where one of our players went in goal in a replay? I’m sure this happened mid 90s and I was listening on my walkwan.

Was it bizarrely (wild stab) Darren Jackson? Or Farrell ?

08-02-2019, 05:32 PM

Did Andy Goram not get sent off in a league cup tie? And we might have lost on pens? Or my mind could be making this up.Clydebank at ER is what im thinking.

08-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Ross County replay was horrible. I remember pies getting launched at Ian Murray who was on the floor distraught. Journey home was horrible, ended up with swine flu in the following days too. The things we go through to support our team.

08-02-2019, 05:38 PM
Phoned home and instantly got the answer from our very own Jonnyboys excellent book In Colours Green and White page 203. I'm still in the pub festering about Hibs today[emoji6]

Good choice [emoji106][emoji2]

SideBurns
08-02-2019, 05:39 PM
Did Andy Goram not get sent off in a league cup tie? And we might have lost on pens? Or my mind could be making this up.Clydebank at ER is what im thinking.

Goram scored the winning pen in a shoot out v Clydebank after a 1-1 draw in the LC. I was safely back in Mathers at the top of Broughton St by that stage 😁

hibstag
08-02-2019, 05:47 PM
Yes it was they scored a stoppage time winner from being 0-1 down after Stokes had given us the lead. They scored 2 goals in the last 20 minutes, there was trouble after the game as a county fan invaded the pitch holding a Hearts top which led to fighting behind the main stand. Brutal journey home that.

Was in the county end with my brother there was more than one with hearts stuff visible one young dafty close to me was getting fairly abusive pelters from a few county stalwarts around him. I took a few comments in the mallard here to see your big team but nothing like he got. to be honest having watched them in Highland league county's run to the final was enjoyable once we were out

08-02-2019, 05:50 PM
Goram scored the winning pen in a shoot out v Clydebank after a 1-1 draw in the LC. I was safely back in Mathers at the top of Broughton St by that stage 😁

Thats the one. Too much has happened since then

green with envy
08-02-2019, 05:53 PM
Can mind several shop windows getting tanned on Cockburn Street that night..🙄

It made the front page of Thursdays Evening News from memory.

MartinfaePorty
08-02-2019, 06:00 PM
Goram scored the winning pen in a shoot out v Clydebank after a 1-1 draw in the LC. I was safely back in Mathers at the top of Broughton St by that stage [emoji16]Pretty sure it was 0-0

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

08-02-2019, 06:02 PM
I'd add dunfermline semi final in 07 too

No goals in 180 mins with the likes of murphy, jones, sproule, boozy, Brown, whitty, benji, zemmama, Fletcher is ridiculous!!

Celtic were torture in the final as well, pretty sure they won it late on

08-02-2019, 06:03 PM
Was it bizarrely (wild stab) Darren Jackson? Or Farrell ?

I’m thinking Jackson, maybe Chris Reid sent off. I’ve no idea to be honest it’s just etched in my mind the same as we bear Aberdeen on Pens at Pittodrie round about the same time. Andy Walker either scored the winner for us or missed for the Sheep. I was about ten. And shouldn’t even had been up.

08-02-2019, 06:04 PM

No goals in 180 mins with the likes of murphy, jones, sproule, boozy, Brown, whitty, benji, zemmama, Fletcher is ridiculous!!

And only 4 weeks after we’d won the CIS cup, how a team could go from that high, to such a dreadful 2 games against the Pars

08-02-2019, 06:04 PM

Damon Gray up front on his own in the pissing rain about 5,000 hibs fans there. Murder. Was it that prick Thompson that gave the penalty that evening too?

08-02-2019, 06:07 PM
And only 4 weeks after we’d won the CIS cup, how a team could go from that high, to such a dreadful 2 games against the Pars

That was the last ever Scottish Cup Semi Final Replay as well.

08-02-2019, 06:10 PM
The meeting with Petrie happened right before the games too.

Inconsequential
08-02-2019, 06:25 PM
Was it bizarrely (wild stab) Darren Jackson? Or Farrell ? Yip Darren Jackson! :thumbsup:

08-02-2019, 06:26 PM
The meeting with Petrie happened right before the games too.

Always felt let down by that group of players reaction at the time - on the cusp of the double. Without knowing all that was going on, felt They could have ploughed on until after those games ....

SideBurns
08-02-2019, 06:39 PM
Pretty sure it was 0-0

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

I have a vague recollection of Hibs equalising, but you might be right; lots of 0-0 draws in the Miller era...

Hibees1973
08-02-2019, 06:53 PM
Worst for me was back around 1975/6.....I could search for the exact date but can’t be bothered.

Arbroath....I was sitting in the main stand at Easter Road with my dad. The Turnadoes had faded but Hibs were still consistently in the top 3 (would settle for that now). I was about 9 years old and remember Arbroath scoring 2 goals down the slope within a couple of minutes of each other.

I remember my disbelief that Hibs could not beat this team I had not heard of.

Hibs decline can be traced back to this period which lasted a good number of years (relegation and years of struggling to stay in the Premier League as it was then).

Still remember that Arbroath game clearly to this day.

08-02-2019, 07:31 PM
My first proper memory was Hibs beating Strasbourg 1-0 in a european match. Ally Mcleod scored a penalty. The whole thing was wonderful to me.Sorry nothing to do with the op but the thread has brought back lots of old memories.

08-02-2019, 07:34 PM
Always felt let down by that group of players reaction at the time - on the cusp of the double. Without knowing all that was going on, felt They could have ploughed on until after those games ....

I was the opposite. Rob Jones was the David Gray of that era, they went because Collins wouldn’t listen. All parties to blame and ultimately we (supporters) lost out. It was round about the time Collins would rip into players but leave Broony out and he didn’t give a fk as he was leaving anyway. A lot stemmed from Michael Stewart and the way he was treated when he didn’t accept a contract right away. I also think he was a **** stirring prick but that’s a different issue.

Mantis Toboggan
08-02-2019, 08:20 PM
Damon Gray up front on his own in the pissing rain about 5,000 hibs fans there. Murder. Was it that prick Thompson that gave the penalty that evening too?

That was gutting, for me the icing on the cake was McIntyre doing a panenka to score the penalty. In a way you have to respect how much of a piss take that was.

08-02-2019, 08:27 PM
That was gutting, for me the icing on the cake was McIntyre doing a panenka to score the penalty. In a way you have to respect how much of a piss take that was.

Thing is, when we won the cup in the sun it was amazing your brain goes back to **** like walking out the stadium in the piss pouring rain and cold and not having a clue where the buses are. At the time absolutely brutal but the big guy upstairs was setting us up for the greatest weekend known to mankind. No other fan of another will ever get that. It still wasn’t a pen tho the dirty cheating hearts konte 😂

Hibeesforever
08-02-2019, 08:42 PM
Ayr Utd in the League Cup Semi final was a shocker.

Scottish Cup wise I remember we got horsed off Dunfermline big time in a cup replay early 00s, sure it was the round after Brebner scored a hatrick?

Ross County hurt like hell too.

That was a sore one and bad for me after I was ejected by the stewards at half time...the old firm game had been on the night before and I was caught using the corporate facilities in the North stand...good enough for Glasgow fans but not those from he capital!

08-02-2019, 09:10 PM
They were managed by John Collins.

scooby
08-02-2019, 09:27 PM

Sol Bamba played a blinder for them, got in the way of every shot at goal, not that there were many mind you.
I had a horrible feeling it was going to end badly.

08-02-2019, 10:34 PM

Was that the same bus that left from Shades bar . Remember the bus window getting tanned . Poor wee boy got his head split with the brick . Couple of guys jumped out the smashed window in the top deck to set about the neds ,who had Rangers tops on .

08-02-2019, 10:41 PM
Another vote for the Stirling Albion replay in 1998/99. Chris Jackson with the winner, in an era when ex players seemed to score against us constantly

Stuart Lovell missed an open goal in front of the Hibs end .