View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic v Hibs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

06-02-2019, 07:53 PM
Dirty ****

Wee Effen Bee
Workmanlike performamce from Hibs, but a poor Celtic team is really what is making us look "decent". Celtic's problems areen't ours though, Some decent performances from Milligan, McGregor, Slivka, Kamberi and Stevenson - Shaw, Mackie and Gauld innocuous - be interesting to see how the 2nd half changes alter the game ...

So we are doing well but only because Celtic are poor? Utter *****! Give us some credit FFS!

Wull
that was a red card all day, bassa BROON

06-02-2019, 07:54 PM
Packy B. thot it was a red.

06-02-2019, 07:54 PM
Christ hows that no a red card

06-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Doubt any of us would have told Tiny Wharton to his face he was a cheat - at least not using a loudspeaker from 100 yards!
Like he would have been able to outrun you? :greengrin

06-02-2019, 07:55 PM
Even Thompson couldn’t turn a blind eye to that assault by Brown. Milligan looks like he’s struggling.

And yet....

06-02-2019, 07:56 PM

😂😂

06-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Rocky needs to practice kicking a football

HAZ2000
06-02-2019, 07:58 PM
Marciano kicks it out the park again

06-02-2019, 07:59 PM
Hibs have worked like **** tonight

To be fair to us, we should be playing ten men

**** you Thomson

GTMRossaK3
06-02-2019, 07:59 PM

Can't remember seeing too many players argue with him!!

06-02-2019, 08:00 PM
Once again the cheat does Hibs over. Another to add to the list of Hibs hating decisions.

06-02-2019, 08:00 PM

He gave J.Greig the masons grip before a SC Final v Celtic. At rat gave Hibs F All all his days.

06-02-2019, 08:01 PM
You sound like OF fans with your paranoia on bias.

You really think it’s going on, petition for a criminal investigation for match fixing.

Nae point, swept under the carpet et

06-02-2019, 08:01 PM
Can't remember seeing too many players argue with him!!

Jimmy Johnston had a few run ins with him IRC

06-02-2019, 08:02 PM
Have we had a shot on target yet ?

06-02-2019, 08:03 PM
Brown is constantly outpacing Gauld... We must be the slowest team in the league just now.

06-02-2019, 08:04 PM
Have we had a shot on target yet ?

No but we’re going to beat Raith apparently.

Brown is constantly outpacing Gauld... We must be the slowest team in the league just now.

this is why we need a manager

Mallan on for Gauld

Mallan on for Gauld.

HAZ2000
Gauld not good enough today

You sound like OF firms with your paranoia on bias.

Just the truth mate. T McLean 10 yards offside, Parlane & McDpmald dives and SC Final Colin Campbell no penalty

Gauld not good enough today

anonymous

mallan on for anonymous

ShadesLongThrow
06-02-2019, 08:05 PM
It’s games like this that I count the number of opposition players just to make sure they don’t have more than 11 on the park.

Gauld's no got much fight about him has he?

Gauld rightfully hooked. Hope Mallan play behind forwards. Poor miss/good save Rocky

Mallan on for Gauld.

Broon has had him in his back pocket all night.

Some save from rocky there.

No but we’re going to beat Raith apparently.
Oh well

GTMRossaK3
Jimmy Johnston had a few run ins with him IRC

Know who my money would be on unless JJ's boat had an outboard!!

AZhibee
Nice by Marciano

yellow card for flo

point blank save by rocky

06-02-2019, 08:06 PM
Kamberi's a bit pish isn't he?

Gauld's no got much fight about him has he?

200 million buy-out clause

Mallan on for Gauld
But but Mallan is useless, .net fact😎

06-02-2019, 08:07 PM
Gauld off injured? Fantastic

HAZ2000
Can see a mallan goal coming

But but Mallan is useless, .net fact😎

Don’t think anyone’s actually said useless? Just goes hiding, he’s also just replaced an injured player so not sure I’m understanding your point

Kamberi's a bit pish isn't he?

He's took a few touches too many a couple of times, but hes the only one up front doing anything at all, shaw got injured doing is usual downward jump for a header and McNulty has been totally invisible.

06-02-2019, 08:08 PM
Can see a mallan goal coming

Or a Celtic one

2-0 :(

2-0

And that's game over

Definitely league season over as well

HAZ2000
Luck

06-02-2019, 08:09 PM
deflected goal 2-0 sellick comes off darren

Amateur hour again. SDG down injured and Rocky decides to play it out. AT least now SDG can get treatment when we wait to take KO.

ShadesLongThrow
Lucky bassa. Rocky has that covered if it wasn’t for the deflection.

FFS Gray struggling.

2-0

06-02-2019, 08:10 PM
Luck

We should try shooting at goal, maybe we’d get some luck

sorrow sorrow
Long 25 minutes now

Could do without Gray being injured again.

David Gray off for Johnson but saying he doesn't need to come off. Asking why? ****ing amateur hour.

Wee Effen Bee
06-02-2019, 08:11 PM
Amateur hour again. SDG down injured and Rocky decides to play it out. AT least now SDG can get treatment when we wait to take KO.

Rocky didn’t see Gray go down. Watch the replay.

i'm sure SDG was ready to go back on there

MacGruber
Can honestly see Eddie May defending the deficit. Is this guy really a good influence at youth level, his footballing decisions are shocking last couple of matches and doesn't really show a great understanding of the game.

GTMRossaK3
FFS Gray struggling.

2-0

Think this could be a follow on from his injury in the Dons game - don't think he looked right in that game even though he stayed on.

06-02-2019, 08:12 PM
Poor effort McNulty, should test keeper

The coaching staff don’t trust Gray when he says he’s ok due to the number of times he’s broken down before after saying he was fine.

McNulty really has to do better there, our best chance of the night

Nevi_SOL
McNulty needs to finish that

06-02-2019, 08:13 PM
The coaching staff don’t trust Gray when he says he’s ok due to the number of times he’s broken down before after saying he was fine.

Good to see we've learned our lesson from Porteous.

Could do without Gray being injured again.

When is he not ? Maybe penny will drop we need players who don't break down so often - no room for sentiment. He was struggling again v Aberdeen and played on. We simply cannot have players who are guaranteed to have so many injuries and break downs.

Doubt anyone being realistic expected points tonight in th erace for top six. The good news is St J currently 1-0 down v Hamilton with 20 mins to go.

06-02-2019, 08:14 PM

I don't trust the coaching staff at Hibs. ;)

Fair enough I guess but that's us used all 3 subs fairly early.

Dreadful stuff. What a state Lennon has left us in.

Can honestly see Eddie May defending the deficit. Is this guy really a good influence at youth level, his footballing decisions are shocking last couple of matches and doesn't really show a great understanding of the game.

Which is why he keeps saying he doesn't want to be a manager!

06-02-2019, 08:15 PM

So nothing to do with the players then?

Okay pal

The squad is a shambles. Injuries aren’t helping right enough but not signing any more wide players in January is baffling.

So nothing to do with the players then?

Okay pal

His players.

06-02-2019, 08:16 PM
Gauld has a few fancy turns in him but he shat out a right couple of challenges against broon. Jury’s our for me on him imo.

ac1
06-02-2019, 08:16 PM
Doubt anyone being realistic expected points tonight in th erace for top six. The good news is St J currently 1-0 down v Hamilton with 20 mins to go.

More worried about Hamilton than St Johnstone - we are in relegation form. I am looking at St Mirren, Dundee and Hamilton more than any teams above us

06-02-2019, 08:17 PM
More injuries, new coach/manager not going to have his problems to seek when he comes in.

His players.

Aye okay

Wee Effen Bee

It must be so easy to be negative for you. He’s a youth coach managing the first team squad against the best team in Scotland...at their ground. Shouldn’t stop you having a go though.

MacGruber
Which is why he keeps saying he doesn't want to be a manager!

Fair enough... I'm just being grumpy

I'm not sure who's to blame ? Lennon or the recruitment team?

We should have signed a CH early in the window, we have little pace in the team and zero width

More worried about Hamilton than St Johnstone - we are in relegation form. I am looking at St Mirren, Dundee and Hamilton more than any teams above us

How did we get to this bloody stage?!!

06-02-2019, 08:19 PM
Hearing there's infighting amongst our support. Pro Lennon anti Dempster songs being challenged by pro Dempster anti Lennon.
Sad sad times

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

06-02-2019, 08:20 PM

Yep, it’s a bit mental how this seasons planned out, not seen such a difference before in the space of not even a year

By being Hibs as usual. Our decent form last season was just a blip that we’ve turned around and recovered from.

RossScott1991
Nothing in midfield.
Nothing in wide areas.
No pace.
Too many centre midfielders.

Copy and paste for rest of season.

Pessimism rules eh?

06-02-2019, 08:21 PM
Gauld has a few fancy turns in him but he shat out a right couple of challenges against broon. Jury’s our for me on him imo.

Wasn't a challenge, wouldn't have been getting anywhere near it. I agree though, has yet to make an impact.

By being Hibs as usual. Our decent form last season was just a blip that we’ve turned around and recovered from.

Sad but true

We've shot up the table😁

06-02-2019, 08:22 PM
Nothing in midfield.
Nothing in wide areas.
No pace.

lennon signed a million no.10s
except the only one we needed (scott allan)
he left us very badly balanced
an ego not a manager

We are utter pish, glad Neil Lennon is no longer around assembling this squad of duds.

Hibernian banter years

06-02-2019, 08:23 PM
[QUOTE=Springbank;5700093]lennon signed a million no.10s
an ego not a manager[/QUOT

Spot on

06-02-2019, 08:24 PM
Mallan will have to improve drastically if he wants to impress new head coach. His workrate isn't good enough. A 33 year old is closing down faster than him and running faster even though Mallan was a sub.

jonny
06-02-2019, 08:24 PM
We've shot up the table😁

and back down again...

06-02-2019, 08:25 PM
No booking for Burke for diving and a yellow for Johnson for being tackled.

This match has absolutely nothing to do with Neil Lennon.

This is May's selection, his tactics, his shape, his influence.

Lennon was gone when our new signings arrived too.

MacGruber
It must be so easy to be negative for you. He’s a youth coach managing the first team squad against the best team in Scotland...at their ground. Shouldn’t stop you having a go though.

Okay 👍

06-02-2019, 08:26 PM
Hearing there's infighting amongst our support. Pro Lennon anti Dempster songs being challenged by pro Dempster anti Lennon.
Sad sad times

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

First half couple of jakeys starting chanting about Lennon then offering folk out for square gos.

and back down again...
Dam😒

hibeerealist
I'm not sure who's to blame ? Lennon or the recruitment team?

We should have signed a CH early in the window, we have little pace in the team and zero width

And we have to persist with Hanlon ......

Celtic TV wanting Johnson sent off. :faf:

RossScott1991

Out of interest what shape can we even play with not a single wide player in squad? 10 centre midfielders.

Exactly. Thomson is a fox hunt like.

Godsahibby

Poor recruitment, unlucky with injuries, questionable tactics, a different 11 every week and players underperforming.

Hopefully with Lennon out the picture we can get a decent manager in who can bring some stability and get these players back performing.

HAZ2000
06-02-2019, 08:27 PM
I know its Celtic TV but these commentators are beyond deluded

Celtic TV wanting Johnson sent off. :faf:

To be fair it was pretty bad

Mallan will have to improve drastically if he wants to impress new head coach. His workrate isn't good enough. A 33 year old is closing down faster than him and running faster even though Mallan was a sub.

Don't think he will be at Hibs next season. He is not combative enough and has not got the innate work rate required - you need work rate as well as skill and he doesn't have the former.

Neil Lennon built this unbalanced shambles of a squad though. We badly need some proper leadership and direction from an actual manager. Raith on Saturday won’t be a walkover.

Motherwell, St Johnstone and Kilmarnock. All above us well into season. Spending and budget more than all 3. This isn't about Dempster, Petrie or anyone else.

Neil and the players... You have ****en blew it.

sorrow sorrow

Johnson either slips or it is a shocker of a challenge

allmodcons
06-02-2019, 08:28 PM
Nothing in midfield.
Nothing in wide areas.
No pace.

lennon signed a million no.10s
an ego not a manager

We are utter pish, glad Neil Lennon is no longer around assembling this squad of duds.

I hope you guys all have comfort blankets for the night. ffs get a grip.

Nevi_SOL
To be fair it was pretty bad

No worse than browns

What a shambles we are just now. The good times are well and truly over.

Don't think he will be at Hibs next season. He is not combative enough and has not got the innate work rate required - you need work rate as well as skill and he doesn't have the former.

On current form who would buy him?

Let’s not let yourself get too carried away by the negativity. His results with the development side speak for themselves.

OK Neil.

The starting lineup were all Lennons team.

Wee Effen Bee

Celtic TV say it was a sinister tackle and amazed wasn’t red. Izaguirre made the tackle, Johnson carried on. Why wasn’t Burke booked for diving?

Was the starting eleven not his signings

06-02-2019, 08:29 PM
According to the Lesser TV's commentators Johnson should have been sent off for a brutal challenge.

No mention of that gargoyle Brown's assault on Millligan.

It's embarrassing. Same can be said for most of our players. Whether it's a lack of fitness, pace, desire, fight... Our players just don't have it right now. New guy's going to have a hard time getting anything from them.

Hope he has that new manager influence from the get go cause if not then it's going to be a long few months.

Shocker of a challenge

Hibees1973
06-02-2019, 08:30 PM
Anyone getting nervous about facing Raith on Saturday?

Form an orderly queue.

He slipped then.

What a shambles we are just now. The good times are well and truly over.

Very true. We’re now due our 4/5 years of nothing

dmc1875
Was the starting eleven not his signings

Can people actually have a bit of perspective and remember that we have a recruitment team, headed by George Craig, that is responsible for the signings and stop blaming Lennon? He didn’t sign every player and if you think he did your deluded

06-02-2019, 08:31 PM

How many times? It's the recruitment team that select the players and make recommendations on who to pick. It's the coaches job to pick a team from that group of players.

sorrow sorrow
Shocker of a challenge

Think you are right having seen it again

No worse than browns

Yip I agree but was still a bad challenge

06-02-2019, 08:32 PM
Neil Lennon built this unbalanced shambles of a squad though. We badly need some proper leadership and direction from an actual manager. Raith on Saturday won’t be a walkover.

I thought the recruitment team built it for the head coach to coach it.

How many times? It's the recruitment team that select the players and make recommendations on who to pick. It's the coaches job to pick a team from that group of players.

They are called recommendations because you don't have to sign them.

Johnson was lucky not to see red for that.

2 footed tackle, both feet off the ground.

allmodcons
06-02-2019, 08:33 PM
Out of interest what shape can we even play with not a single wide player in squad? 10 centre midfielders.

We've rarely played with 2 wingers and, in case you'd forgotten, our biggest threat from wide areas is injured.

06-02-2019, 08:33 PM
Have we had a shot on target yet?

06-02-2019, 08:34 PM
If Andy Murray packs in tennis. We should ask him for a fitness plan. Look what he did from geek to Man Mountain.

skyehibee
Zero shots on target

No

I know its Celtic TV but these commentators are beyond deluded

How many times have they mentioned “paradise” I’m sure it’s written into their contract... #lame

Johnson was lucky not to see red for that.

2 footed tackle, both feet off the ground.

Probably means he’ll get the red on Friday then.

highland hibbee

Watching the Aberdeen game and I hate to say it but we need a Shinnie type in our team Graeme not Andrew!
and McGregor should have seen straight red for taking out Lewis Ferguson.
thall be King Billy Madden

He slipped then.

Red card all day long - let’s be fair here.

06-02-2019, 08:35 PM

Nope. We could play until tomorrow and not score.

We have absolutely nothing going forward.

This team, as it is right now, is awful.

I've seen this from a few people now. Can someone show some evidence that the manager/head coach had no say on who was signed and he just had to accept that. Genuinely curious as to why anyone would want to be our manager/head coach if this was the case

Red card all day long - let’s be fair here.

So was Browns

Did we expect much else tonight? We got given the runaround at Celtic Park earlier in the season and escaped with a 2 goal defeat. The same thing tonight.

It's playing out pretty much as I thought it might.

Can people actually have a bit of perspective and remember that we have a recruitment team, headed by George Craig, that is responsible for the signings and stop blaming Lennon? He didn’t sign every player and if you think he did your deluded

It’s a match day thread. Perspective is banned!

We just need to regroup and go again. Sounds like new manager will be new to Scottish fitba so let’s hope he’s a breath of fresh air.

06-02-2019, 08:36 PM
I've seen this from a few people now. Can someone show some evidence that the manager/head coach had no say on who was signed and he just had to accept that. Genuinely curious as to why anyone would want to be our manager/head coach if this was the case

I just can't believe Lennon would have accepted that

They definitely have to take their share of the blame. However Lennon surely had the final say on the players presented to him.

Absolute crap

06-02-2019, 08:37 PM

Nope

Also, St Johnston losing tonight which is something.

If Andy Murray packs in tennis. We should ask him for a fitness plan. Look what he did from geek to Man Mountain.

They definitely have to take their share of the blame. However Lennon surely had the final say on the players presented to him.

Of course he did. I’ve no doubt Lennon would be heavily involved in finding/signing players.

06-02-2019, 08:38 PM
OK Neil.

The starting lineup were all Lennons team.

All due respect, I do believe that our starting entire back line was Stubbsy's boys, which Neil Lennon inherited.

06-02-2019, 08:38 PM
So was Browns

Yip and Brown should have been booked before that too.

skyehibee
06-02-2019, 08:39 PM
Announce manager now hibs

Do the recruitment team suggested Efe did they and Commons?

How does anyone on here know who Neil wanted and who recruitment team recommend?

Is anyone inspired by Eddie May ? Not surprising and the choice for caretaker should have been Grant Murray - end of story.

Learning curve but shows the club management and Board are a little disconnected as to who is best to take charge in these situations.

Willis1875
That was absolutely dreadful

We are badly needing some leadership now. Players look lost going forward.

06-02-2019, 08:40 PM
Pretty poor overall - none of the loans impressed, which is really worrying ...

K.Marx
Expected to lose tonight. Did not expect St Johnstone to. That’s the positive I’m taking.

Did we expect much else tonight? We got given the runaround at Celtic Park earlier in the season and escaped with a 2 goal defeat. The same thing tonight.

Thought we might’ve at least managed a shot on target to be honest

All due respect, I do believe that our starting entire back line was Stubbsy's boys, which Neil Lennon inherited.

You should stop posting here since you no longer work for hibs.

You can't still be saying stuff about it being Stubbs team, that was 3 years ago, it's 2019 there's been ages to change it.

06-02-2019, 08:41 PM
We are badly needing some leadership now. Players look lost going forward.

Some serious questions about their mentality if they are not inspired playing in big games like tonight

Of course he did. I’ve no doubt Lennon would be heavily involved in finding/signing players.

Exactly. The illusion being created that Lennon wasn't backed by the board and was somehow given a team of players that he never approved of is laughable. Like I said, he isn't solely to blame for all our woes but he does brunt the greatest responsibility.

MacGruber
There's ways to lose and that's not it. That's turning up to make up the numbers and throwing in the towel. Beat before a ball was kicked. No shots at goal. Poor. Hope the new manager is in situ by Saturday and see shoots of revovery even if that is the team being set up positively with a bit attacking intent

Another strange line up tonight, not sure playing 2 up front the whole game when we were short in the middle of the park was the best idea, we really needed another midfielder then try to fit them on the break, sooner we get a new head coach/manager in the better

Hibeesforever
The new manager, when he arrives,has a tough job on his hands.

06-02-2019, 08:42 PM
It's unreal how far we've regressed in the space of a year.

Lennon has carelessly walked us into having a terribly disjointed squad with no spark or drive.

Is anyone inspired by Eddie May ? Not surprising and the choice for caretaker should have been Grant Murray - end of story.

Learning curve but shows the club management and Board are a little disconnected as to who is best to take charge in these situations.

Yep. Eddie May going around like a broken record telling anyone who’ll listen how much he hates the job and can’t wait to give it up is hardly going to inspire the players.

You have to fancy us to lose to Raith now.

Thought we might’ve at least managed a shot on target to be honest

Yeah, when the sum of our attacking efforts was a corner with a couple of minutes to go, it's fair to call it disappointing, imho.

At time I feel like Kamberi doesn’t know what he’s doing when he gets the ball, decent first half ***** second half again. Need a new manager in ASAP as we look like a team that needs direction and a fresh start which a new guy will give players.

Also think we are one of the unluckiest team going lol, Brown should have been off for the second Celtic Hibs game on the bounce the deflected goal which Marciano was clearly saving, when your down your down am guessing.

Islington Hibs
poor but could have been worse given the uncertanty the players are facing. Frankly this is simply about building for next season.

Hibees1973
06-02-2019, 08:43 PM
To be honest Parkhead should not be the place to judge us, however this is as lame a performance I have seen from us in Glasgow for a couple of years.

Not surprised though.

If we pick up a couple of victories, especially, against Hamilton at home in a couple of weeks we do not need to fret about going down.

Got to question ALL of our signings since the summer. Jesus, I can’t think of one that has improved us.

Are a few staff at ER just a bit too cosy just now. Know Lennon and Parker have gone but the guys in recruitment must be under threat as well.

it is shameful to have regressed so much so quickly.

Just to slot in a new manager under the current structure is NOT going to improve us. Some serious mistakes have been made at Hibs.

What a mess.

Fergos

Same recruitment team that supported Stubbsy in getting SJM, Dylan, SDG, Daz, Dom etc.

On paper some of NLs signings looked decent and hard to argue with, Flo, McLaren, Efe who was immense, Milligan, Hyndeman etc. But few actually performed for whatever reason. 33 players in 2.5 years with NL and only a few would get pass marks.

allmodcons

Correct, but that won't stop the usual suspects on here from going into complete meltdown.

Sad as it is but we need a clear out. We have assembled a squad that has absolutely no balance.

Our defence is weak, our midfield is a total mess and I don't know what our strikers are like as we can't get the ball into attacking areas...

It's unreal how far we've regressed in the space of a year.

Lennon has carelessly walked us into having a terribly disjointed squad with no spark or drive.

Why are we still going on about Lennon, he’s gone. Players need to take a look in the mirror.

06-02-2019, 08:44 PM

Thought that at the time to b e honest

I think there's a lot of misenderstanding of the recruitment process.

If the head coach wants a centre back, as an example, they will go to the recruitment team and make them aware of this. The recruitment guys, working with various scouts, the video analysis guys and so on will then present a selection of players and the head coach will select the 1 or 2 he wants. George Craig oversees this process and it's up to him, LD etc to secure a signature. It's also possible for the head coach to suggest a player of his own choosing; it's happened and it's quite obvious which players as well.

The idea a head coach will turn up at training and have a random player standing there with no idea where he came from is fanciful.

Aw well :coffee:

06-02-2019, 08:45 PM
when the game is such an inconvenience to the man in charge, why bother watching?

Total write off, and he didn't try to disguise the fact.

Need someone in pronto.

06-02-2019, 08:45 PM
Expected to lose tonight. Did not expect St Johnstone to. That’s the positive I’m taking.

A very faint positive. I think we are so poor that we shouldn’t worry about what’s happening above us but keeping an eye on what’s happening below us.

06-02-2019, 08:46 PM
A very faint positive. I think we are so poor that we shouldn’t worry about what’s happening above us but keeping an eye on what’s happening below us.

Motherwell have now overtaken us. Good spell for them at the moment

06-02-2019, 08:46 PM
Why are we still going on about Lennon, he’s gone. Players need to take a look in the mirror.

Because he inherited our best team in years and has left us with what looks like one of our worst for a long time. I understand he is gone but that doesn't absolve him of any responsibility.

06-02-2019, 08:47 PM
Yep. Eddie May going around like a broken record telling anyone who’ll listen how much he hates the job and can’t wait to give it up is hardly going to inspire the players.

He did say before the game tonight is was an honour and a privilege for him to be doing the role.

06-02-2019, 08:48 PM
Because he inherited our best team in years and has left us with what looks like one of our worst for a long time. I understand he is gone but that doesn't absolve him of any responsibility.

So what about the recruitment team who have played a part in these players replacing the best players we have had in years. Do they not get any of the blame, or is it just Lennon

06-02-2019, 08:48 PM
Get loan signings to ****. Bring back young hungry players who’d give everything for the club on permanent deals.

06-02-2019, 08:49 PM

I'm also curious as to which specific players were identified and recruited solely by Neil Lennon.

If Neil Lennon was solely responsible for every player we signed during his reign, then what on Earth do the backroom recruitment team do 7 days per week?

I do recall seeing a Hibs video whereby a couple of statisticians work behind the scenes compiling dossiers and stats on players from all around the world.

Why would they do this and why would we pay them if their information is not acted on?

There really is a question-mark surrounding Neil Lennons tenure regarding who actually identified and captured our signings.

Maybe this transfer window has in fact thrown some light on the situation. We have signed players without Neil Lennon and without a first team manager/coach in place.

tonyrougier123
if it's true we pulled out of efe deal at last minute,person who made that decision needs to have a word.lennon wasn't here so he doesn't get the blame for that absolute clanger!! Nigel Pearson would be a superb choice for gaffer imo,just been sacked.we need something very inspired to get us going again!!

Get loan signings to ****. Bring back young hungry players who’d give everything for the club on permanent deals.

What have the loan signing got to do with the mess we are in just now? Only 1 started tonight

If the head coach wants a centre back, as an example, they will go to the recruitment team and make them aware of this. The recruitment guys, working with various scouts, the video analysis guys and so on will then present a selection of players and the head coach will select the 1 or 2 he wants. George Craig oversees this process and it's up to him, LD etc to secure a signature. It's also possible for the head coach to suggest a player of his own choosing; it's happened and it's quite obvious which players as well.

The idea a head coach will turn up at training and have a random player standing there with no idea where he came from is fanciful.

I don't understand the process as well as you but what I do understand is that recruitment was fantastic under Stubbs and since Lennon came in it has been by and large a disappointment.

Lennon did a good job improving the talent we had but there must be more to it considering the stark contrast between Stubbs signings and Lennon signings.

06-02-2019, 08:50 PM
Call yourself a Hibs supporter?
You haven't taken an uneducated swipe at anyone at Hibs.

:hilarious normally I would but no manager and season over cools my rage

06-02-2019, 08:50 PM
So are we writing off Sparky now? No surprise at all with the result. Celtic are much better than us and shop in M&S whilst we shop in the Poundshop. Oh and those wanting a mass clear out of the defence.....go watch the Aberdeen v Rangers game. The Aberdeen defence was ripped apart.

06-02-2019, 08:51 PM
What have the loan signing got to do with the mess we are in just now? Only 1 started tonight

Exactly, why are these loan players at the club if they can’t even get a game? Squad fillers, nothing else.

Fergos
So what about the recruitment team who have played a part in these players replacing the best players we have had in years. Do they not get any of the blame, or is it just Lennon

The same recruitment team that helped Stubbsy build a Scottish Cup winning side.

They aren’t absolved from blame here but NL had the last say on signings. They provide a shortlist of positions the manager wants to fill.

Do you really think a man like NL would put up with not having the final say on signings?

Crap result but not unexpected, praying the new man brings leadership and isn’t afraid to make very tough decisions, we need them being made now.

I’ll leave the board and never post again if we lose against Raith and give £10 to chosen charity:

You fancy us to lose? Take the bet?

06-02-2019, 08:52 PM
Exactly, why are these loan players at the club if they can’t even get a game? Squad fillers, nothing else.

We had three of these loan players that played today...

06-02-2019, 08:52 PM
To be honest Parkhead should not be the place to judge us, however this is as lame a performance I have seen from us in Glasgow for a couple of years.

Not surprised though.

If we pick up a couple of victories, especially, against Hamilton at home in a couple of weeks we do not need to fret about going down.

Got to question ALL of our signings since the summer. Jesus, I can’t think of one that has improved us.

Are a few staff at ER just a bit too cosy just now. Know Lennon and Parker have gone but the guys in recruitment must be under threat as well.

it is shameful to have regressed so much so quickly.

Just to slot in a new manager under the current structure is NOT going to improve us. Some serious mistakes have been made at Hibs.

What a mess.
So you’re blaming the structure for all of the current woes? The same structure that’s won many plaudits since Leeann put it in place? I don’t think the structure is an issue at all. A lot of people have mentioned that NL didn’t seem to buy into the structure. Maybe that was the issue. I’m sure the new guy will be someone who totally buys into it and that will be a major consideration in appointing the new man.

HFC93
06-02-2019, 08:53 PM
This place is absolutely mental.

06-02-2019, 08:54 PM

I fully get what you're saying, I do think however that Lennon being in charge has taken us along this path. He has a massive part in the recruitment process and the mixture of him and the recruitment team failed whilst Stubbs and the same team did fantastic. I hold Lennon the main man responsible for watching our decline to a disjointed team and not doing enough to combat it

06-02-2019, 08:56 PM
Absolute garbage. Offered absolutely nothing.

The club need to get the finger out and sort this situation out. Pathetic performance tonight but totally expected.

Salisbury Hibby
06-02-2019, 08:57 PM
Four way battle for 6th now. Still a chance with 8 games to go.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

06-02-2019, 08:57 PM
if it's true we pulled out of efe deal at last minute,person who made that decision needs to have a word.lennon wasn't here so he doesn't get the blame for that absolute clanger!! Nigel Pearson would be a superb choice for gaffer imo,just been sacked.we need something very inspired to get us going again!!Can we give this up...Efe didn't want to be here any longer...we couldn't afford him. There's plenty ammunition to bash the board and ex manager with at present...this is not anyone at Hibs fault

06-02-2019, 08:59 PM

This is mere supposition and an understandable one.

But which players did Neil Lennon really want in last summer's transfer window and which players did he grudgingly accept because of our financial limitations?

Remember the Allan saga, which left us scratching our heads as to what exactly took place between our club and Celtic.

I'm convinced that Neil Lennon wanted him during that window and was frustrated in not getting him.

Similarly, he likely had to bite his tongue and accept inferior signings such as Mallan, but he's not going to come out and slag these players off (initially anyway), as he had to work with them to see what they might be able to do.

The statisticians/back room team would have flagged up Mallan as meeting certain criteria, which would give the go ahead for whoever at our club to approach him.

It's all to easy and tempting to simply conclude that Neil Lennon is solely to blame for the noticeable and drastic deterioration in the quality and strength of our squad.

I don't understand the process as well as you but what I do understand is that recruitment was fantastic under Stubbs and since Lennon came in it has been by and large a disappointment.

Lennon did a good job improving the talent we had but there must be more to it considering the stark contrast between Stubbs signings and Lennon signings.

For me, the deficiency in last summer's recruitment was not that the individuals were of an inadequate calibre but that they were signed as individuals without adequate thought going into how they'd combine as a team. I don't know whether that was down to the recruitment staff or the manager.

The same recruitment team that helped Stubbsy build a Scottish Cup winning side.

They aren’t absolved from blame here but NL had the last say on signings. They provide a shortlist of positions the manager wants to fill.

Do you really think a man like NL would put up with not having the final say on Saturday gnings?

Crap result but not unexpected, praying the new man brings leadership and isn’t afraid to make very tough decisions, we need them being made now.

Only McGinn and McGeough have left us from Stubbs’s squad who would make a difference to our squad right now. Them players are near enough irreplaceable unless we are going to spend large fee’s which isn’t going to happen. Our squad imo is a lot better than the likes of Livingston, Motherwell and St Johnstone. You can’t keep blaming Lennon weeks after his departure, it’s now down to the players to step up and prove their worth

It's like bonfire night.
Rockets and zoomers all over the place.

Some daft posts but equally some good discussion.

Most of us weren't expecting much from the game but it's was a inept performance with not 1 **** on target. Hopefully the new guy can give us a bit of a boost and give the players some direction. Too many players not sure what to do or where to be on the park. Lots to fix.

Well I’m not really a doom & gloomer but feel tonight that our feel good factor in now well and truly over. We slip to 8th, Motherwell, a team not that long ago were miles behind us.
Our manager has left under bizarre circumstances, our best players are for whatever reason not clicking, the transfer window has been and gone and we have signed a bunch of players not deemed good enough to get into our struggling team. And we are being linked with a list of totally uninspiring names from the English lower leagues as our next permanent manager.
All very depressing. Sorry may feel better when a rabbit is pulled out of the hat for our next manager and we batter Raith Rovers on Saturday:pray:

supermcginn
06-02-2019, 09:00 PM
So are we writing off Sparky now? No surprise at all with the result. Celtic are much better than us and shop in M&S whilst we shop in the Poundshop. Oh and those wanting a mass clear out of the defence.....go watch the Aberdeen v Rangers game. The Aberdeen defence was ripped apart.
Tbf aberdeen aren't sitting one point above 9th place in the league.

06-02-2019, 09:00 PM
I fully get what you're saying, I do think however that Lennon being in charge has taken us along this path. He has a massive part in the recruitment process and the mixture of him and the recruitment team failed whilst Stubbs and the same team did fantastic. I hold Lennon the main man responsible for watching our decline to a disjointed team and not doing enough to combat it

Would you also hold Lennon the main man responsible for getting us promoted to the Premiership and finishing 4th in the Premiership?

06-02-2019, 09:02 PM

Nah. Let’s look upwards. Well overtaking us is immaterial. Saints losing is good.

06-02-2019, 09:04 PM
4-4-2

Grey
McGregor
Hanlon
Stevenson

Gauld
Slivka
Milligan
Mackie

Kamberi
Shaw

That's how I see it

Had no expectations tonight, I’m more upset at someone getting SDG’s name wrong!

Hibees1973
06-02-2019, 09:05 PM
So you’re blaming the structure for all of the current woes? The same structure that’s won many plaudits since Leeann put it in place? I don’t think the structure is an issue at all. A lot of people have mentioned that NL didn’t seem to buy into the structure. Maybe that was the issue. I’m sure the new guy will be someone who totally buys into it and that will be a major consideration in appointing the new man.

That’s worrying.....you want a YES man then.

Can you name one player who has improved us that has been signed since the summer.

I’m questioning the guys employed to help recruit players. In any normal place of work these peoples’ jobs would be at threat given who they helped identify.

Every signing (leave out the ones signed in the last week) have not improved the team and have been a waste of money.

Salisbury Hibby
06-02-2019, 09:06 PM
Nah. Let’s look upwards. Well overtaking us is immaterial. Saints losing is good.Having games against Accies, Dundee, St Johnstone, Motherwell and Livingston to come is a positive at least. It's in our own hands.

06-02-2019, 09:08 PM

But which players did Neil Lennon really want in last summer's transfer window and which players did he grudgingly accept because of our financial limitations?

Remember the Allan saga, which left us scratching our heads as to what exactly took place between our club and Celtic.

I'm convinced that Neil Lennon wanted him during that window and was frustrated in not getting him.

Similarly, he likely had to bite his tongue and accept inferior signings such as Mallan, but he's not going to come out and slag these players off (initially anyway), as he had to work with them to see what they might be able to do.

The statisticians/back room team would have flagged up Mallan as meeting certain criteria, which would give the go ahead for whoever at our club to approach him.

It's all to easy and tempting to simply conclude that Neil Lennon is solely to blame for the noticeable and drastic deterioration in the quality and strength of our squad.
I'm sure he wanted to sign Messi and Ronaldo but we couldn't afford them. He may also have wanted to sign Shinnie and Gary Mackay Steven again probably out with our budget. What we did get was Kamberi, Maclaren, Milligan, Mallan all players that Lennon said he wanted, HE wanted. And at considerable cost to the club. I didn't want him to leave but this beatification of him is a joke. The team is a shambles and has been for a while. Even when we had a good result the team would be changed the following week. Players constantly being played out of position. Continual changes of formation. These were all Neil's doing. He threatened to leave on a number of occasions and has now left under a cloud. We will move on and hopefully the new man can sort us out to a top 6 finish and a decent cup run

06-02-2019, 09:09 PM
Would you also hold Lennon the main man responsible for getting us promoted to the Premiership and finishing 4th in the Premiership?

Of course I would. Don't see what relevance that has though, like I said earlier on he did a great job of improving the already strong squad we had and pushed our players to be near enough the best they could.

But that worked when the core of our team was made up of energetic and hungry players who have now left.

What he has done this season I also hold him fully responsible for and what he has done is left us in a terrible position compared to the one he joined us in. Whatever approach he put in place was unsustainable and I just hope we don't pay the price for a few years building a new squad.

06-02-2019, 09:09 PM
Having games against Accies, Dundee, St Johnstone, Motherwell and Livingston to come is a positive at least. It's in our own hands.

We have a better squad than all of those teams. Once the new guy comes in hopefully it boosts confidence and encourages players to work harder.

06-02-2019, 09:10 PM
Sick of reading this nonsense on here defending Lennon...he's left us in a right mess...thanks to his shocking tactics, Russian roulette team selections and awful man management we've been in freefall since Oct. Utter nonsense to suggest he didn't have control over who we signed. It's time for some posters on here to take off the lenny-tinted glasses. Best manager since Turnbull...don't make me laugh

06-02-2019, 09:11 PM

Now that's a much better argument and one I can certainly see some substance in.

Lennon was quoted a number of times about getting the players he wanted, or players that we (Lennon and the club) had been watching for a while. He never really showed much concern with the players he brought in until it became apparent that they may not have been what he had hoped.

I agree that the recruitment have to shoulder some blame and don't deny that much of what you said may have been the catalyst as to why we find ourselves where we are.

Buck stops with the manager though and once he realised the players weren't up to scratch he wanted more money to replace them. We don't have that money and this team is probably going to be the highest paid squad we've had for a good number of years. He needed to do more with what he had and wasn't capable. He's never been tactically astute and his best attribute was his fight and man management which seemed to go out the window months ago.

06-02-2019, 09:14 PM
Of course I would. Don't see what relevance that has though, like I said earlier on he did a great job of improving the already strong squad we had and pushed our players to be near enough the best they could.

But that worked when the core of our team was made up of energetic and hungry players who have now left.

What he has done this season I also hold him fully responsible for and what he has done is left us in a terrible position compared to the one he joined us in. Whatever approach he put in place was unsustainable and I just hope we don't pay the price for a few years building a new squad.

We are in the Premiership, I consider that a better position compared to the Championship anyway. We ain’t going to replace players like McGinn, McGeough and Ambrose overnight without spending money.

06-02-2019, 09:15 PM

Fanciful is understating it mate, it's borderline idiocy.

06-02-2019, 09:16 PM

Lennon wanted Mallan in the window before we got him.

06-02-2019, 09:16 PM
Lennon wanted Mallan in the window before we got him.

Good signing for the budget we have got imo

Fergos
06-02-2019, 09:17 PM
Only McGinn and McGeough have left us from Stubbs’s squad who would make a difference to our squad right now. Them players are near enough irreplaceable unless we are going to spend large fee’s which isn’t going to happen. Our squad imo is a lot better than the likes of Livingston, Motherwell and St Johnstone. You can’t keep blaming Lennon weeks after his departure, it’s now down to the players to step up and prove their worth

Yep the post mentioned that on paper few would have argued with a lot better of the players NL signed. They haven’t performed however so in essence poor signings when all is said and done,

The clearer point was that the recruitment team are the same ones that supported Stubbsy in building the cup winning side, NL signed 33 players in 2.5 years, few would be deemed a success. We are still looking at a lot of Stubbsys signings now, another mark of NLs tenure in that he failed to put his stamp on the team.

GGTTH.

06-02-2019, 09:19 PM
Yep the post mentioned that on paper few would have argued with a lot better of the players NL signed. They haven’t performed however so in essence poor signings when all is said and done,

The clearer point was that the recruitment team are the same ones that supported Stubbsy in building the cup winning side, NL signed 33 players in 2.5 years, few would be deemed a success. We are still looking at a lot of Stubbsys signings now, another mark of NLs tenure in that he failed to put his stamp on the team.

GGTTH.

Without bringing in Ambrose, Barker, Allan, Kamberi and MacLaren we arguably wouldn’t have made Europe last season.

06-02-2019, 09:24 PM
I’ll leave the board and never post again if we lose against Raith and give £10 to chosen charity:

You fancy us to lose? Take the bet?

Just to be clear, the bet is that if Hibs lose you’ll give £10 to charity and never post again?

What’s the other side of the bet?

06-02-2019, 09:25 PM
We were looking to play a quick outball all night tonight, but no Boyle, Agyepong or Horgan to provide that pace. Cutting edge totally missing due to that.

06-02-2019, 09:26 PM
Sick of reading this nonsense on here defending Lennon...he's left us in a right mess...thanks to his shocking tactics, Russian roulette team selections and awful man management we've been in freefall since Oct. Utter nonsense to suggest he didn't have control over who we signed. It's time for some posters on here to take off the lenny-tinted glasses. Best manager since Turnbull...don't make me laugh

People are getting sick of patronising posts, rightly so.

But how exactly do you respond to guff like this?

06-02-2019, 09:27 PM

Terry Butcher gets more respect

Weir07
06-02-2019, 09:28 PM

Personally, I'd respond by agreeing with it!

06-02-2019, 09:29 PM
We were looking to play a quick outball all night tonight, but no Boyle, Agyepong or Horgan to provide that pace. Cutting edge totally missing due to that.

Indeed.

Man for man though it seemed everyone of their players were quicker than their respective counterparts. Boyle like many was haven't a great run before getting injured but he was at least an outlet. Nothing sticks with Kamberi and Shaw and neither are quick enough to play the channels. Agyepong when fit (if) would be handy.

The burning question on my mind is if Bain is quicker than Rocky.

06-02-2019, 09:29 PM

I think you explain the process really well.

My frustration is with those who say that it's all Lennon's fault.

The reality is that the recruitment team will act to fill the gaps agreed with the Head Coach. The recruitment will identify a few options and they'll agree which ones to pursue.

Collectively, they'll agree which player to sign. I don't believe the Head Coach has the final say,but he's still got a major contribution to the signing.

06-02-2019, 09:32 PM

Well he is the best manager since Turnbull. Maybe you should take off your anti-Lennon glasses.

06-02-2019, 09:34 PM
Neither Whittaker or Horgan quoted for 2 matches straight.

Both injured?

06-02-2019, 09:35 PM
The club needs a new Head Coach and by the looks of things the support could do with a psychologist.

06-02-2019, 09:36 PM
Well he is the best manager since Turnbull. Maybe you should take off your anti-Lennon glasses.I'm not anti Lennon in the slightest we had a good run for 2 years with him and it was very enjoyable...but something turned sour last May after Tynecastle and it was never right since... his stats maybe show he's the best but we didn't win a trophy under him( and sorry I'm not including the championship) and his win ratio contains a whole season of 2nd tier football.

Recruitment are not blameless either but our squad is stronger than 8th in the league and we should have been doing better than we have...I've no doubt about that. Lennon had us massively under performing this season and blamed everyone except himself

06-02-2019, 09:37 PM
Good signing for the budget we have got imo

Hope he turns out that way because so far he's not done a lot to live up to that imho.

I think there's a player there, but he needs to grow into a Hibs shirt.

Fergos
06-02-2019, 09:38 PM
Without bringing in Ambrose, Barker, Allan, Kamberi and MacLaren we arguably wouldn’t have made Europe last season.

Yes he made some good signings, Commons and Holt were wise choices for the time also. But over the piece he made signings that weren’t good enough or didn’t perform. He is quoted as saying he was backed by the Board. I like NL and we had 2 good years with him. I’d no issue with him staying on at least until the end of the season and was initially surprised at what happened when the news broke. The issues were mounting however and when results don’t come in also his time was also becoming limited.

Both injured?

Horgan got injured in Paisley, not sure about Whitty.

Joan got injured in Paisley, not sure about Whitty.

Poor Joan. Is she ok?

06-02-2019, 09:39 PM

Both injured?

Yep Horgan got injured at St Mirren. Someone on here said Whitty picked up a knock in that game as well.

06-02-2019, 09:39 PM
Poor Joan. Is she ok?

She's doing better than Horgan, evidently :greengrin

06-02-2019, 09:40 PM
Sky Sports now claiming that Gray, Gauld and Shaw all went off with injuries. Precaution more than anything I hope.

06-02-2019, 09:47 PM
I'm not anti Lennon in the slightest we had a good run for 2 years with him and it was very enjoyable...but something turned sour last May after Tynecastle and it was never right since... his stats maybe show he's the best but we didn't win a trophy under him( and sorry I'm not including the championship) and his win ratio contains a whole season of 2nd tier football.

Recruitment are not blameless either but our squad is stronger than 8th in the league and we should have been doing better than we have...I've no doubt about that. Lennon had us massively under performing this season and blamed everyone except himself

So you've not considered that the players could be at fault for their poor play. And factored in that we had so many injuries, virtually a full team of injured players. Yes, it's all Lennon's fault.

06-02-2019, 09:49 PM
Sky Sports now claiming that Gray, Gauld and Shaw all went off with injuries. Precaution more than anything I hope.

That's what I thought at the time.

06-02-2019, 09:52 PM
So you've not considered that the players could be at fault for their poor play. And factored in that we had so many injuries, virtually a full team of injured players. Yes, it's all Lennon's fault.Injuries haven't helped us no doubt about that but come on...he had us all scratching our heads for months with his team selections and tactics?? He cost us 2 semi finals at Hampden with dreadful starting 11s and that was before this season. Lennon had his strengths but he also had plenty weaknesses which some posters on here just refuse to acknowledge. To paint him as blameless in all this is just bizarre...and I'm also not saying it's ALL his fault neither...serious questions need asked of our Board and our Recruitment...what has changed since the Stubbs era when recruitment was so good and all about signing and developing younger talent??

06-02-2019, 09:57 PM

Gray was taken off after being down for a couple of minutes (when the second goal was conceded), albeit against his wishes. Speedway (I think) thought it may be cause he's had previous for trying to play whilst injured and of course making his injury worse. That coupled with Porteous injury playing on the mind is probably the cause. Better safe than sorry.

Gauld was chasing shadows all night and was made to look less than average against Brown. If he wasn't injured and that wasn't the cause for his display then he'd have liekly been off anyway.

Shaw took a dull one in a challenge for the ball. Sure each player will be available at the weekend.

06-02-2019, 09:57 PM
Indeed.

Man for man though it seemed everyone of their players were quicker than their respective counterparts. Boyle like many was haven't a great run before getting injured but he was at least an outlet. Nothing sticks with Kamberi and Shaw and neither are quick enough to play the channels. Agyepong when fit (if) would be handy.

The burning question on my mind is if Bain is quicker than Rocky.

What was more worrying is that Bain looked more comfortable and composed with the ball at his feet than quite a few of our outfield players.

06-02-2019, 10:18 PM
What was more worrying is that Bain looked more comfortable and composed with the ball at his feet than quite a few of our outfield players.

I think he held onto possession more than some of our outfield players as well.

06-02-2019, 10:22 PM
It read the thread but I a chalky thought we defended reasonably well tonight for the most part. I always thought Celtic has about another three years to go up though.
We offered absolutely nothing going forward and our passing from nearly every player was abysmal.